TrustRadius
Monetate is a website optimization and personalization product. The company offers a strong product tailored to the needs of e-commerce and retailers. Customers are mostly enterprise brands.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/EN/2t/7AALPRLAT012.JPEGGreat testing platformMonetate is mostly used by our marketing & merchandising team. Monetate is used for A/B testing in a variety of different ways. We use Monetate to test customize homepages, new site features and more to better understand how our customers use our website.It helps our team change the website without using other departments for help.,Monetate does well with showing us the impact of a test in a clear, detailed way. There are many different tests that can be done in Monetate and the results can be broken down by conversion, bounce rate, add to cart rate etc. This has helped us create the best possible experience for our customers. Monetate has tons of variety of different ways you can optimize a website. From badging, product cross-sells, navigation changes and product changes, it's now easy to completely change a portion of the website without having to go to IT for help. Monetate saves and archives all tests, even after they are completed. It's nice to have the option to look at what we did the past month or year and have the results saved as well.,Monetate can be difficult to learn at first. I think having a clear way to access how-to guides or videos would help employees learn the tool faster. A small criticism but Monetate doesn't allow you to delete any experiences. It can make the platform a bit messy because there are times where we practice creating experiences and now they can't be deleted.,8,Monetate has shown us how our new site features have either helped customer experience or created a negative impact. One issue we've run into with Monetate is site speed. Too many tests or experiences going on at once will slow down the website noticeably. Monetate has made it faster and easier for us to launch our ideas without having to go through IT for changes.,8,9,9,9,9Game changer for Marketers.The marketing team uses monetate to display promotional banners to the appropriate customer channels, i.e. email customers get the message they received in the email on-site. My team uses monetate to A/B test different landing page setups and experiences.,Display marketing messages Provide data A/B testing,Custom customer segments Training videos Suppport chat,10,Greater email capture for long term growth Higher margins on acquisition customer by not giving away the farm,10,5,7Early Impressed ImpressionsMonetate is currently being used exclusively by an eCommerce focused team in an attempt to grow revenue with more relevant and personalized messaging to customers. To provide a unique customer journey to each customer is the goal. In the future, there is a strong chance that more departments or the broader organization will leverage it as a tool to reach their customers.,Intuitive UI. I am fairly technical but discussing the product with others on my team, they all agree that it is very easy to use. Monetate has taken a complex idea like personalization and has turned it into a simple problem to solve by thinking who, what, when, etc. to each situation. This was a much more elegant way to approach the problem than other vendors. They have great support and seem to really care about your success, as well as have motivation to push you, the client, to get going and find success with the tool.,In the pre-sales process, they really want to sell you billable hours. These hours do not transfer to the next calendar year and are not refundable. It is a poor system. Their technical documentation is confusing in spots and could be improved. We followed documentation, with an eyebrow raised in some cases, and then were told to go down a different path which was not listed in the documentation (but made more sense.) I can't speak to the success or not of the program, but we are currently working with a third party of Monetate (who Monetate put us in touch with, as part of our billable hours.) Its not a con per se, but feels weird.,8,I have no hard numbers yet, as I noted. The impact has not yet been seen either way.,8,7,,,8We're new users but mostly happy with it so far.We use Monetate to customize our site based on known personas within the education sector (teachers, administrators, district buyers) and to market our geographically specific workshops to visitors within range of an event.,Easy to use interface. Seamless for the end user. SEO is not affected. Personalized site means greater retention and interest.,Doesn't always work with active or JS controlled elements on the site. We use a lot of support hours to implement experiences.,8,We have seen some engagement with our local workshop enrollment but can not measure because most orders are done by PO or phone for those. Not enough direct conversion experiences set up yet to tell if there is a positive impact at this point but it certainly won't hurt engagement!,8,5,4,Monetate - 4 Stars!Monetate is being used by one department, the internet marketing department. We currently utilize the Open-time Email, Product Recs, and Onsite Content. With Monetate we are able to achieve a more personalized experience for visitors based on browsing behavior, purchase behavior, geo-targeting, weather forecast, etc. We are also able to target new vs. returning visitors, device type, and so many other options we haven't even explored yet. None of which we were able to do on our current platform.,Monetate's knowledge base has been so helpful! Before I send an email to our rep, I always search the knowledge base first and most answers you'll find there! During implementation, there are detailed check-lists on next steps. Being the project leader I found this extremely helpful. Mostly because it was easy to delegate items to the team and everyone was held responsible for their part of the implementation timeline. Monetate provides training modules to get you familiar with setting up Experiences prior to a formal training. We all found this helpful because we had came to formal training with questions about specific use cases. Once you get in the UI it's extremely easy to navigate - this was something we were really excited about. We wanted the UI to be business user friendly and it completely met our expectations.,There seems to be very limited targeting options in Open-time Email. Onsite content has much more robust options in targeting. Our rep and platform consultant aren't as responsive to questions and insights as we hoped they would be. We expect answers from them within the same day and sometimes it's days before I have to follow-up on where this is at. There are limitations on measuring the true success of personalized emails. The only email analytics you see in the UI are on the clicks on the Monetate creative. We would like to know whether someone saw the personalized content and then clicked in the header or footer in the email template. Unfortunately there's no way to achieve that in Monetate. You would have to utilize your ESP to A/B test and determine the true success of a personalized email.,7,We have only been using Monetate for about 1 month and are still working on trying to evaluate our ROI.,8,9,,5,6
Unspecified
Monetate
93 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
TRScore

Monetate Reviews

Monetate
93 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 61 of 93 Monetate ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 61)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
January 18, 2018

Monetate Review: "Great testing platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Monetate does well with showing us the impact of a test in a clear, detailed way. There are many different tests that can be done in Monetate and the results can be broken down by conversion, bounce rate, add to cart rate etc. This has helped us create the best possible experience for our customers.
  • Monetate has tons of variety of different ways you can optimize a website. From badging, product cross-sells, navigation changes and product changes, it's now easy to completely change a portion of the website without having to go to IT for help.
  • Monetate saves and archives all tests, even after they are completed. It's nice to have the option to look at what we did the past month or year and have the results saved as well.
  • Monetate can be difficult to learn at first. I think having a clear way to access how-to guides or videos would help employees learn the tool faster.
  • A small criticism but Monetate doesn't allow you to delete any experiences. It can make the platform a bit messy because there are times where we practice creating experiences and now they can't be deleted.
Read this authenticated review
August 21, 2017

Monetate Review: "Game changer for Marketers."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Display marketing messages
  • Provide data
  • A/B testing
  • Custom customer segments
  • Training videos
  • Suppport chat
Read Nick Ashton's full review
August 04, 2017

Monetate Review: "Early Impressed Impressions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Intuitive UI. I am fairly technical but discussing the product with others on my team, they all agree that it is very easy to use.
  • Monetate has taken a complex idea like personalization and has turned it into a simple problem to solve by thinking who, what, when, etc. to each situation. This was a much more elegant way to approach the problem than other vendors.
  • They have great support and seem to really care about your success, as well as have motivation to push you, the client, to get going and find success with the tool.
  • In the pre-sales process, they really want to sell you billable hours. These hours do not transfer to the next calendar year and are not refundable. It is a poor system.
  • Their technical documentation is confusing in spots and could be improved. We followed documentation, with an eyebrow raised in some cases, and then were told to go down a different path which was not listed in the documentation (but made more sense.)
  • I can't speak to the success or not of the program, but we are currently working with a third party of Monetate (who Monetate put us in touch with, as part of our billable hours.) Its not a con per se, but feels weird.
Read Reid Mirre, CPM's full review
July 28, 2017

Monetate Review: "We're new users but mostly happy with it so far."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use interface.
  • Seamless for the end user.
  • SEO is not affected.
  • Personalized site means greater retention and interest.
  • Doesn't always work with active or JS controlled elements on the site.
  • We use a lot of support hours to implement experiences.
Read Erik Ickes's full review
August 17, 2017

User Review: "Monetate - 4 Stars!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Monetate's knowledge base has been so helpful! Before I send an email to our rep, I always search the knowledge base first and most answers you'll find there!
  • During implementation, there are detailed check-lists on next steps. Being the project leader I found this extremely helpful. Mostly because it was easy to delegate items to the team and everyone was held responsible for their part of the implementation timeline.
  • Monetate provides training modules to get you familiar with setting up Experiences prior to a formal training. We all found this helpful because we had came to formal training with questions about specific use cases.
  • Once you get in the UI it's extremely easy to navigate - this was something we were really excited about. We wanted the UI to be business user friendly and it completely met our expectations.
  • There seems to be very limited targeting options in Open-time Email. Onsite content has much more robust options in targeting.
  • Our rep and platform consultant aren't as responsive to questions and insights as we hoped they would be. We expect answers from them within the same day and sometimes it's days before I have to follow-up on where this is at.
  • There are limitations on measuring the true success of personalized emails. The only email analytics you see in the UI are on the clicks on the Monetate creative. We would like to know whether someone saw the personalized content and then clicked in the header or footer in the email template. Unfortunately there's no way to achieve that in Monetate. You would have to utilize your ESP to A/B test and determine the true success of a personalized email.
Read this authenticated review
August 09, 2017

User Review: "Monetate is the best in the industry"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast: It's great that Monetate is a layer on top of our website. We are able to add things without code change and see the campaigns in action in real time.
  • Strong analytics: I like how Monetate guides you through the analytics and has goal levels to let users know if the engine feels confident in the results, or needs more time for testing.
  • Technicality: While not exactly something Monetate can fix, most of our tests require development from our team or the Monetate team. As a business user, it would be nice to be able to create my own campaigns outside of a development queue.
Read this authenticated review
August 04, 2017

Monetate Review: "Very Solid Testing Platform"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Testing
  • Personalization
  • Custom coding
  • Product recommendations
Read this authenticated review
July 28, 2017

User Review: "The State of Monetate"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A/B Testing is #1 with a bullet. It can do virtually anything and gives robust data comparing groups, plus you can add new, custom metrics on top. Not to say improvements couldn't be made, though. In particular the way they handle multi-group tests is sub-optimal.
  • Badging is also useful, though more as a convenience than a necessity, as it'd be easy enough to create the effect without them. Their implementation is simple enough that our production team can change them on their own, without any dev support.
  • Some of their provided widgets aren't made with speed in mind, which critical in these increasingly mobile based days. For example, we had a recommendation carousel at the bottom of the homepage with 5 starting images (screen width allowing) that by default populated 8 pages of products--40 images total. It loaded them immediately as part of page load. It should wait until the widget scrolls into view, or the 'more' arrow is tapped.
  • Their staffing seems to be in some upheaval currently. We had one great CSM for a long time, but now in the last year we've had at least 3 different ones (I can't even remember them all), some for as little as a month.
  • Placing a widget on a page at any point other than immediately (such as only after scrolling a certain distance, or inside an opened modal) is extremely difficult currently.
Read this authenticated review
July 25, 2017

Monetate Review: "Great Platform & Easy to Use!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The platform itself is extremely easy to use.
  • Weekly calls with support.
  • Ideas on how to improve and test are always welcome.
  • Reporting is a little difficult.
  • There has been quite a lot of changes with employees coming in and out of play.
Read this authenticated review
July 25, 2017

Monetate Review: "A Great Tool for Business Users When IT is Slow"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows for easy A/B(/C) testing setup and analytics.
  • Easy for business users with limited HTML/CSS experience to set up actions on the website.
  • I wish that endcaps and other opportunities for personalization weren't so manual to set up. I would like one action to be able to show an endcap on the homepage and display products from the category the user was just viewing. Instead, I need to set up "viewed this category, show this category on the homepage" for each category I want to show, which could be dozens.
  • Experiences should be able to have the same priority numbers or be able to be set to a permanent high priority. Every time I place a new banner or callout I don't want to have to go back and rearrange the banners from other experiences to be higher or lower. I'd like all "brand type" banners to be priority 1, "promo type" banners to be priority 2, etc. -- Maybe set priority by folder.
Read this authenticated review
September 22, 2017

User Review: "Personalization with Monetate"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A/B tests
  • Personalization
  • Great customer support
  • Better UX. Dashboard can be overwhelming.
  • Offer training sessions to utilize the platform.
  • Offer a mobile app.
Read this authenticated review
September 18, 2017

Monetate Review: "Room for Improvement"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Client services - quick to respond to issues
  • Forward looking initiatives - early access program allows clients to test out new services
  • Training documentation - educational webinars available about how to use
  • Need dev support - web development expertise is required in order to set up tests actions.
  • QA process - they seem to test on simulators which causes issues with mobile actions and experiences. We often have to send work for further QA.
  • Client-focused - focus is on monetate, not on client. Pushes programs that might not make sense for a client in order to further new products.
Read this authenticated review
August 15, 2017

"Monetate Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Dynamic test to let users test several different ideas at the same time while dynamically distributing traffic to the highest ROI.
  • Live analytics to show us where the test is at and to easily compare the experiment with original (control).
  • Faster development job is done when requested.
  • I know the company has been undergoing a change but staff has changed so often that our personalized staff has changed numerous times.
Read this authenticated review
August 11, 2017

Monetate Review: "User friendly, flexible, marketing tool."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Monetate is very user friendly, which allows multiple departments to use the tool and be self sufficient.
  • I feel Monetate is fit our needs perfectly, so can't think of anything I would have done differently.
Read this authenticated review
August 09, 2017

Review: "Monetate has been a great UX resource for our team"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Good project managers. They keep constant contact.
  • Good support. We have had great experience with their support team.
  • The way Monetate displays data makes it easy to read and understand.
  • More in depth help on formulating ideas to test.
Read this authenticated review
August 07, 2017

User Review: "New to Monetate but great so far!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great customer support
  • Easy to use UI
Read this authenticated review
July 31, 2017

Monetate Review: "Solid tool but problematic for those outside of ecommerce space"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Serve layer ads with advanced targeting
  • Run multivariate tests with advanced targeting and segmentation
  • Easily customize onsite experience based on advanced targeting
  • Services have been an issue. The business model has changed, and services once handled by Monetate are now being outsourced. Lots of turnover on the account and services side.
  • Initial integration was painful. For full integration with our e-commerce flows, we had to add instrumented tagging. The initial integration did not meet our needs but it took a full year to realize that. Integration might not be as simple as they pitch.
  • Full page A/B testing always seemed more complicated than it should be.
Read this authenticated review
July 28, 2017

Monetate Review: "Great testing platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great for testing - over the time we use the tool the constant improvements in reporting make easy to share results with the rest of the team and promote successful experiments, as well as learn from failures.
  • Easy and extensible interface - the tool is both easy to use and at the same time provides the possibility of extending a particular action for advanced users.
  • Setting up custom metrics is easy and very helpful if you have specific goals in mind.
  • Targeting URL variables not always works properly
  • Targeting javascript variables could be improved (localStore objects for example won't work)
  • In experiences, targeting construction could have more complex, nested, logic constructors - right now it only allows AND or OR - this makes it hard when you have multiple conditions for the target building process
Read this authenticated review
July 26, 2017

Monetate Review: "Excellent at the basics, but very expensive."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Testing
  • Custom code injection
  • Personalization: users are not always placed in the correct segments.
  • Too expensive
  • New features rolled out as add-ons that really should just be included in base package.
Read this authenticated review
July 25, 2017

Monetate Review: "Easy to use for starting an A/B testing program"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use with out knowledge of coding
  • Easy to make your own actions using the action builder
  • Easy to target specific segments, and good account services
  • Production could be faster, and more thorough QA before handing over a monetate-built experience. Or, if it is mostly in miscommunication between client and technical, a tutorial or briefing template to ensure higher first-time success rate.
  • An account strategist or consultant that can recommend optimizations or tests to run on a quarterly basis based on what is trending or working well with other clients.
  • A mobile emulator would dramatically help in building mobile friendly actions - currently have to rely on a third party emulator. Or make a version of the website that is mobile friendly in order to build and preview actions on phone.
Read this authenticated review
August 07, 2017

User Review: "Monetate - easy to use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Geo-target banners (can't do this internally)
  • Easy for marketers to use the tool
  • Most of the time we're using Monetate it's because of an urgent issue, sometimes we need reps to answer faster, also sometimes are expected to have 24/7 support.
  • Monetate assets load slower on our site.
  • Need more recommendations from Monetate and industry success stories.
Read this authenticated review
August 01, 2017

Review: "Monetate will help you grow your business."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quick and easy platform.
  • Support team is great. Helpful, knowledge and able.
  • Sometimes slow load speeds.
Read this authenticated review
September 11, 2015

"Monetate Review from Director of E-Commerce"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The UI is intuitive. With very little training team members start using the tools.
  • It is versatile - a testing, targeting, a second CMS, and recommendation engine which can be used virtually anywhere on the site.
  • It is light. Integration is fast and does not slow down site speed. We even use Monetate to test certain 3P functionality, integrating through Monetate and testing the application to validate impact on site KPI rather than just integrating the 3P directly into the platform.
  • Client Services team very proactive in helping our team identify opportunities and get quick results. Also very responsive when we need to use Monetate to quickly address issues affecting the business.
  • Continuous improvement in predictive analytics.
Read Parker Block's full review
September 01, 2015

Review: "Why we selected Monetate as our testing and targeting vendor."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Monetate's testing tool is extremely user friendly, reliable and robust. The tool itself allows us to test content and functionality in 2-4 weeks where it would normally take months for our IT team to prioritize and build.
  • Monetate's service is above and beyond. They assign each client a very knowledgeable and helpful client success manager who speaks with us weekly and answers emails daily when we have questions. They are proactive about testing suggestions and ideas and are extremely quick to respond to questions.
  • I truly have no areas for improvement for Monetate.
Read Laura Santoki's full review
December 23, 2015

Monetate Review: "Simple to use, Simple to see results!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of segmentation.
  • Ease of action builder. You don't need to know how to code html or java to create most of your actions. Even novice users can make substantial changes.
  • Support. The support that you get from your Client Success Managers make a big difference with the tool. You are not left to your own devices to figure out how best to accomplish a test. They make sure you are getting what you pay for.
  • I know that it is recommended to give any test at least two weeks before considering any results, but I would like to see real time reporting.
Read Richard Preciado's full review

About Monetate

Monetate is a leading personalization software for consumer-facing brands, used by QVC, Newegg Inc., J. Crew Group Inc., The North Face, and hundreds of other retailers. It enables brands to create individualized experiences for site visitors, with the goal of improving engagement and business performance.

The Monetate platform is open, designed to working seamlessly across the user's marketing stack. Monetate is real-time too, with machine learning capabilities to help deliver 1-to-1 personalization at scale.

Monetate Features

Has featureTesting
Has featureSegmentation
Has featureMachine Learning
Has featureData Integration
Has featureAPIs

Monetate Videos (3)

Watch Personalization Today: Everyone loves ice cream, but not everyone loves chocolate. Stop giving your customers the same flavor. This video is great for an introduction on the concept of 1-to-1 personalization.

Watch Introducing the Engine: It's not magic, but it feels a bit like science fiction. The Monetate Personalization Engine is your ticket to more ROI with less effort. Fabulous as a next touch once appetites have been whet with the concept of 1-to-1 personalization.

Watch Why Do We Need Machine Learning: Your customers are a multiverse of unique characteristics. Don't get caught in the infinite vacuum of scaling to all of their needs. A great touch to get people understanding the advantage that comes from a machine learning approach. Excellent follow up to "Introducing the Engine".

Monetate Integrations

Google Analytics, Adobe Analytics, SAP Hybris, Magento, Intershop, Tealium AudienceStream, Oracle DMP (Bluekai), Web Analytics Platforms, Demandware, IBM WebSphere Commerce, NeuStar PageAdvisor

Monetate Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Monetate Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Monetate Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English