Sugar Sell (SugarCRM) Reviews

194 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 49)

Edward Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

It makes everything easier, the best CRM software, all better in one place.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Intuitive, simple and very robust user interface.
  • Organize your work better with lots of information you can add.
  • Needs some ways to automatically purge or self-clean old data.
  • Sometimes it's slow, and reports can be better and that affects the global search that doesn't always work.
Read Edward Smith's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

The CRM You've Been Searching For

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The product is highly customizable.
  • It has powerful reporting features.
  • It performs much faster than other CRM products we've used.
  • Integrations with other systems work well.
  • Initial setup / configuration is involved and takes time.
  • There are limitations on logging into multiple devices.
  • The menus across the desktop and mobile versions are inconsistent.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Sugar Cell Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great user-interface and visualization.
  • Easy set-up for SSO which aligns with IT policy.
  • Less features than other CRM products.
  • Mobile application can be cumbersome.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2018

SugarCRM - great product

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy to set up and configure reports among teams. Very customizable and allows me to build reports that illustrate how the team is performing.
  • Exporting granular reports into excel for in depth analysis and actionable measures.
  • Ability to mass upload lots of information and leads. Important for our team to import lots of information on prospecting clients.
  • UI is sufficient but seems a bit outdated compared to SFDC.
  • Inability to login to multiple devices computers.
  • The email marketing tool is decent but far from the best, overall other solutions that have better marketing platforms.
Read this authenticated review
Emma McCarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2018

Sugar is a great, customizable solution - just make sure you have a good tech team behind it

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Extremely flexible. Sugar is open source, and so you're able to build customized modules to fit your needs readily and easily.
  • Robust reporting capabilities. I appreciate how it's quick and easy to pull the data that my clients need.
  • Easy to use. Sugar has a fairly straight user interface, and so is usable even by those who are not particularly tech savvy.
  • More approachable user interface. At its core, it's a complex database, and it's not always intuitive.
Read Emma McCarthy's full review
Peter Fletcher | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2018

SugarCRM - 10 out of 10

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Sugar gives full account and contact visibility so any member of the organisation can have a full and accurate view of all related activities, products install, contracts in place and much more. It gives the proverbial One View.
  • Dashboards are one of the strongest parts of Sugar giving each user their own view of the way they can and want to interact with the customer. The dashboards are a key feature in that they are very easy to customize so that each user has a personal view with tasks, data views etc. appropriate to their role. Customizing these dashboards by role is also very easy. No coding is required, it is largely a matter of dragging and dropping fields.
  • Sugar's Forecasting Module makes the forecasting process quick and easy by using the Opportunities already created by the Sales Team. It also provides great individual feedback to the Team regarding YTD & QTD performance against Quota.
  • Sugar Mobile is a very strong mobile app for IOS and Android that is both easy to use and comprehensive. I t can be used both of-line and on-line mode.
  • With Version 8, there's not much Sugar can't do for us. With Plug-ins for most extra requirements that Sugar doesn't deliver at no/very low cost it's easy to build/deliver what we really need.
  • S
Read Peter Fletcher's full review
Marc Prince | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2016

Sugar is the sweeter CRM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Pricing is a major consideration with Sugar. When comparing Sugar with competitors, the cost to value ratio is outstanding.
  • I really like the ability to customize the reporting.
  • I have my dashboard really locked in. I log in, view the dashboard, and drill down into the issue of the day.
  • Sales funnel.... Knowing how much we are promoting, how those promotions are affecting our target, and how we are engaging with those who have responded. Sugar has made this a simple process that we have integrated into every workflow touching the sale.
  • PSA connectors. I have not found a PSA with a great CRM integrated, so I let the PSA do what it does best. Problem is getting the Sugar to more closely integrate with the PSA.
  • Sugar's flexibility is great, but it sometimes seems like I am handing out a lot of nickels and dimes to third party developers for their modules.
  • Desktop and mobile menus could be a bit more homogenous.
Read Marc Prince's full review
Aaron Fisher | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2016

SugarCRM Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • SugarCRM's number one strength is the ability to host your instance on-site. This make any customization and changes possible as you have full control over every aspect of the CRM, including the source code.
  • The price of SugarCRM is its second strength. It has essentially all of the features of Salesforce and more but at a dramatically lower price.
  • The integrated Project Management module was another top selling point for my organization.
  • SugarCRM is hard to use at the administration level, plain and simple. Of all of the CRMs I reviewed SugarCMR had the steepest learning curve and was the most difficult to understand.
  • I also needed to make some customizations that weren't "out of the box" I was able to make these customizations easily in Salesforce but had to program everything by hand in Sugar and still wasn't able to implement my customizations fully.
  • At a developer level the Sugar Framework is quite a bit to learn. I thought that it would actually be easier to develop in Sugar since it uses common programming languages however the framework that Sugar is built on is very confusing and bloated with far from adequate documentation.
  • Developing and administering Sugar feels like you need to have some secret insider info that you can only get if you hire one of their "partners" to actually do the development and administration for you. It is not something that can be done easily in house like some of the other CRMs
Read Aaron Fisher's full review
Marissa Schuchat | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2016

Queen of the Details

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • SugarCRM includes a number of fields for details, so the requests are complete in their level of detail.
  • SugarCRM has a number of dropdowns that exactly capture the description of the service.
  • SugarCRM integrates with email, so users get an email update whenever a status is changed.
  • Initially you discover that using the Back button is futile, and you have to navigate via the breadcrumbs in the page hierarchy. Having Back button capability would be great.
Read Marissa Schuchat's full review
Jeff Bickart | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 29, 2015

Partner's view of SugarCRM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Account Managment
  • Integration with many 3rd party tools such as Marketo and Act-On
  • Choice of deployment; On-premise or On-Demand
  • Documentation is functional but it is not great
  • Updates to the product are not earth shattering
Read Jeff Bickart's full review
Sid Haas | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2015

Flexible and powerful CRM that does the job for our company

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reporting - creating and editing reports is easy and intuitive. We find this aspect of SugarCRM to be much better than our previous solution.
  • Navigation - I find it very easy to drill into the information I need. Moving from accounts to contacts to opportunities, etc.
  • Custom Fields - Sugar makes it extremely convenient and easy to add custom data fields whenever and wherever we need them. We've made Sugar do what we need it to with the use of these and we continue to add new ones regularly.
  • Bugs - Each new release contains bugs and glitches that aren't always fixed before the next releas. Unfortunately, we never know where we'll find these. There have been times when functionality has been broken for extended periods of time due to minor updates that are automatically installed for us (we use their SugarOnDemand hosting).
  • Support - There's no point in entering a support ticket with any status other than the system being down/impaired. We never get a response to tickets submitted with any other status. Initial response time from the support team is good. But if an issue requires explanation, prepare to wait for a solution.
  • Direct Mail - We still execute direct mail campaigns as they are effective for us. Unfortunately, Sugar is designed around e-mail campaigns and has little support for direct mail. Simple things cause us problems. For example, we can't export the first and second lines of a street address separately even though we enter them that way. Sugar ends up putting both street address lines together.
  • Integrations - While it's getting better, Salesforce still dominates the market. So 3rd party integrations with SugarCRM aren't as prevalent as we would have hoped.
Read Sid Haas's full review
Theresa Monturano | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 10, 2015

Sugar CRM is sweet.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Highly customizeable
  • The team at Sugar actually listened to my feedback and made changes to their system based on my company needs.
  • It was way more affordable and then SalesForce and easier to maniuplate.
  • Integrating the data at the time needed more finesse, this may have been changed
  • Mapping sales data was also a little difficult
Read Theresa Monturano's full review
Zoe Leanza | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2015

Sugar and spice and...not so nice: A review of SugarCRM

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • SugarCRM is easy to learn and can be mastered in a matter of hours. It is laid out in a very intuitive manner and can manage thousands of entries and customers.
  • It can record a wide variety of information - not only customer names and contact informations - but also a description of their work and an ability to select biotechnological tools in which they may be interested.
  • Profiles can be annotated and updated constantly; and grouped into larger laboratories. The corresponding profile of each customer can reveal Sales Representatives and their interactions with each customer, which is helpful in avoiding redundant or irrelevant cold calls.
  • When trying to edit or annotate a subsection of a customer's profile, a new page opens entirely. Thus, rather than being able to see all the information at all times, you have to navigate back and forth in a very inefficient and frustrating way. It makes entering things into SugarCRM very tedious.
  • Duplicate entries are a regular occurence in SugarCRM, thanks to the program's inability to differentiate between small differences (such as a capitalized first name or a suffix).
  • SugarCRM does not allow you to very easily merge duplicate entries, and data will get lost in the transfer or consolidation of information.
Read Zoe Leanza's full review
Andrew Dunifer, MBA/MS MIS | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2014

SugarCRM Professional - Gets the job done when your organization is tight on a CRM solution budget.

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The CRM application is great at tracking sales stages and allowing easy customization of dashboarding and the navigation for sales teams is intuitive.
  • The application is Cloud based so accessing the application is anywhere is easy.
  • There are several plugins which are helpful including one for Outlook which allows you to archive email communications.
  • The application can be clunky at times. We have had to call into the support team because certain buttons stop working as browser updates occur periodically.
  • The email campaign function is much more difficult to use than some more automated platforms like Mailchimp or Constant Contact. You must build target lists only by running reports first. Once target lists are built you must manually build your own templates and trackers are not auto-generated as they are in the aforementioned applications. Everything is quite manual and not as automated as it could be.
  • The HTML coding doesn't always move over from other applications like Dreamweaver as nicely as it could. The formatting of HTML templates isn't as exactly as you built and takes some correction to get it right.
Read Andrew Dunifer, MBA/MS MIS's full review
Jennifer Stewart | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2013

SugarCRM

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The SugarCRM system allows for us to customize modules creating opportunities for the company to streamline and incorporate pieces of our larger initiatives.
  • SugarCRM is a great tool for our sales department. The opportunities & forecasting modules allow for accurate pipelines and better management of goals.
  • We are marketing multiple events to different target lists at any given point during the year. SugarCRM allows for us to manage both our attendee and sponsor marketing in one place. Everyone within the company can see activities and be aware of what is happening in both our sales and marketing realms.
  • I cannot say enough about how the customization has played a part in allowing us, as a company and marketing department, to run as lean as possible.
  • The reporting capability is an area where I would like to see improvement. It is great on basic reports but would benefit from additional capabilities for more complex reporting.
  • The inability to mass update from reports is frustrating.
Read Jennifer Stewart's full review
Stewart Sylvester | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2013

Sugar CRM - The Most Agile CRM Out There

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • SugarCRM has really helped me in my job as a marketer in a tech company allowing me increased visibility as to where the leads I generate go and how they are being followed up on. It lets me integrate my marketing automation platform directly into Sugar and lets me work closer with the sales team.
  • Sugar has helped us increase profitability by decreasing admin time with business process automation.
  • Sugar is flexible and completely customizable - very agile and allows us to use it however we like.
  • The calendar needs some more work. Sugar has a great new Sugar 7 edition but they didn't even touch the calendar!
  • Can be slow at times.
Read Stewart Sylvester's full review
Danniel Condez | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2013

Great for account management and easily customizable.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast and easy custom reporting
  • Easy creation and integration of new modules
  • Adding new custom fields to Customer or Accounts module
  • Access control and user management. The design has to be more simpler for assigning custom fields for specific profiles
Read Danniel Condez's full review
Joelle DiBenedetto | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2013

Sugar CRM Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to learn.
  • Easy to customize to whatever industry you are in.
  • Great reporting.
  • Email plugins to be automatic to which ever Module you want it to go to.
  • Team/role management
  • Sync/Outlook on the community version
Read Joelle DiBenedetto's full review
Jennifer Schnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2013

Tracking leads/sales in Excel still? See how SugarCRM helped my company

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customization - Being an administrator, I was able to make small to large scale changes without knowing code.
  • Inexpensive - SugarCRM is inexpensive and that is one of the reasons we chose it over Salesforce.com. Plus it was open source, so our developers could customize it as needed.
  • User-friendly - I found SugarCRM very easy to use and when I didn't know how to do something, I could always go online and find the answer quickly.
  • SugarCRM is better suited for SMB vs Enterprise, would be nice if they could scale it for Enterprise.
  • Reporting: subpar reporting in general. But you can get plugins that help this out.
Read Jennifer Schnell's full review
Collin Yanez | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2013

My Morning Coffee Would Taste Better Without Sugar

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Running call/email logs allowing our company to monitor performance as it happens
  • The ability to link records together through a (fairly) seamless process
  • Viewing a summary for a particular module that allows you to encompass all data at a glance
  • The overall interface isn't aesthetically pleasing, and overall processing of most requests is a dreadful experience
  • Auto-populates almost everything BUT the record that you're actually looking for
  • Creating mass reports to include every detail you desire is almost near impossible. I would challenge the developers themselves to create a flawless report for my team
Read Collin Yanez's full review
Emmanuel Mwangi | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2013

Great CRM system that needs to be customized carefully.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User organization - Onboarding users, getting them setup and setting scope and access level is great in SugarCRM
  • Phone Integration - The feature that we really wanted SugarCRM for; it's integration with sales calling systems is great.
  • Sales Funnel - The ability to view the sales funnel for our team and to see the value for our pipeline at a given time was amazing.
  • UI Complexity
  • UI Customizability - We were always confident that SugarCRM could do what we wanted but, the complexity and thus cost of making SugarCRM into exactly the CRM we needed was a big question.
Read Emmanuel Mwangi's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Customer data management / contact management (25)
7.9
Workflow management (22)
7.8
Territory management (19)
7.5
Opportunity management (20)
8.2
Integration with email client (e.g., Outlook or Gmail) (21)
7.2
Contract management (20)
6.8
Quote & order management (18)
7.7
Interaction tracking (23)
7.0
Channel / partner relationship management (18)
7.6
Case management (17)
6.5
Call center management (13)
7.7
Help desk management (12)
7.1
Lead management (17)
8.1
Email marketing (17)
6.7
Task management (20)
7.8
Billing and invoicing management (12)
7.0
Reporting (18)
7.5
Forecasting (19)
8.2
Pipeline visualization (20)
7.5
Customizable reports (21)
8.2
Custom fields (23)
8.4
Custom objects (20)
7.6
Scripting environment (14)
7.7
API for custom integration (20)
7.8
Single sign-on capability (16)
8.7
Role-based user permissions (19)
8.9
Social data (13)
8.8
Social engagement (11)
8.7
Marketing automation (14)
7.8
Compensation management (8)
8.8
Mobile access (15)
7.2

About Sugar Sell (SugarCRM)

Sugar Sell from SugarCRM is a collaborative CRM, allowing users to track and monitor activities, map each customer’s journey and automate as many workflows as you need to. Sugar Sell is presented by the vendor as lean, fast and integratable with anything.

Sugar Sell replaces former editions of the SugarCRM product, including the SugarCRM Community Edition, the open source edition, which is discontinued.

Sugar Sell (SugarCRM) Integrations

Sugar Sell (SugarCRM) Competitors

Sugar Sell (SugarCRM) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No