Zoho Projects Reviews

74 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-21 of 21)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 21, 2020
Emily Muhoberac | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Swiss Army Knife: The suite of Zoho projects can be tailored to fit the needs of any business. It's great to have a bunch of different software offerings that will work together seamlessly.
  • Task Customization: Zoho allows you to customize your tasks more than other platforms (add start dates, due dates, dependencies, subtasks...)
  • UI: I wouldn't say Zoho was ever pleasant to use. Having used Asana for many projects in the past (and believe it's one of the prettiest, most intuitive options), I found Zoho extremely clunky. It's also missing basic functionality like recurring tasks.
  • Too Complex: We are a technically-minded team, but project management novices. Zoho offers too much customization and due to the poor UI, it was tough to make it our own without the help of our CTO.
Read Emily Muhoberac's full review
November 14, 2019
Vikash Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Can create many projects at the same time and its very easy to switch between projects
  • Very cheap and useful
  • Give full control of the activity by their manager.
  • User-friendly interface
  • I often have login issue, and it has some minor bugs
  • Invoice function seems useless sometimes
Read Vikash Kumar's full review
January 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The calendar is very intuitive
  • The forums work very well for sharing information between the team
  • Email notifications for calendar events
  • Occasionally buggy and has service outages
  • The time tracking is not the smoothest
  • Mobile version is almost unusable
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Jaideep Tibrewala | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • No restrictions on number of projects you can create. Easy to switch between projects in the same online interface vs managing multiple files.
  • Ability to create workflow automations that trigger on event based activities, which enables standardization of processes.
  • Ability to share projects with outside vendors/project participants and improve the collaborative nature of Project management.
  • More flexibility on making the user interface more compact (like Excel or MSP). Current interface is well spaced, but some users may like a more compact view.
  • More simplified Gantt Charts that help us understand progress and dependencies.
  • Ability to export projects to Excel for sharing with others we can't/don't want to bring on to Zoho projects
Read Jaideep Tibrewala's full review
July 31, 2019
Vinoth kanagaraj ☁☁ | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reporting and exporting funtionallity
  • Time Sheet and Dashboards
  • Project Dashboard
  • Portablity across all machine and tabs
  • Integration with leave management system and attendance system
  • Calendar integration
Read Vinoth kanagaraj ☁☁'s full review
August 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simplistic User Interface
  • Ability to track projects forward or backward
  • Comprehensive & Robust functionality
  • Task & Time Tracking could use some additional refining
  • Need for a larger knowledge base and help sections - Have to figure out a lot on my own or calling their help desk
  • UI could use some improvements
Read this authenticated review
November 30, 2018
James McQuillin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Multiple views are available which allow me to choose which is easiest for me to review my projects and tasks.
  • The ability to see others' tasks and responsibilities helps me to see where a project is in its timeline and estimate or know exactly when my tasks will be available and need to be completed.
  • The dashboard view offers customizable widgets so I can truly make my dashboard work for me by only displaying the pieces that are relevant to my work and not be bombarded with illustrated graphs of data that have no relevance to my responsibilities.
  • Onboard training seemed a bit lackluster as far as my feeling excited and/or prepared to dive right into using Zoho. (In fairness, as our organization is early in the adoption phase, few projects have been implemented into Zoho and so there is not a lot to explore just yet).
  • No initial drive or motivation to get started. Generally I am excited to use and explore new software or SAAS but, for reasons I have not yet identified, I did did not feel this with Zoho. Instead I quickly adopted a procrastination mindset of "I'll take a look at this later."
Read James McQuillin's full review
August 21, 2018
Bryan Buford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The software allows for the inclusion of multiple users.
  • It has multiple report options to generate result data .
  • It lets you organize and process task lists with more structure.
  • It could offer better integration with other software like Google Docs and Gmail, etc.
  • The document storage component doesn't work great with a wide variety of documents. It looks good, but in functionality we find it lacking and prefer to use more traditional cloud storage.
Read Bryan Buford's full review
November 14, 2017
Vivek Jaiswal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's particularly easy to get started for development projects. You can easily set it up with milestones for your projects and keep the activities on track.
  • Bug reporting and tracking is good, although there are better tools in the market now. However, for a small startup, the free package of zoho projects adds huge value
  • The best thing I liked about Zoho Projects was the ability to switch between kanban and list mode. This helps me give a clear picture of where we are with different types of activities, and then show me a list of activities with their details in one listical view.
  • I think providing more functionality that can be directly used in a Scrum team would add immense value to the product.
  • Reporting could be better. It might be that I wasn't aware of all reporting features, but I definitely struggled with getting insights from reports.
  • Integration with Gitlab would help.
Read Vivek Jaiswal's full review
November 13, 2017
Hansa Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple and easy to set up and start using
  • Very effective for projects and tech sprints for a software development company like ours
  • Very rare to find any bugs or data loss
  • Allows seamless collaboration and monitoring
  • Constant innovation and new features which keep us loyal
  • Excel reports could be more easy to download
  • Meeting rooms should become part of the projects as it will enable further collaboration
Read Hansa Sharma's full review
June 19, 2017
Stephen Lalla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We use it to manage our sales orders as there are lots of moving parts which are necessary to get client orders done properly.
  • I use it anytime I have a new idea I want to put into motion. As I can create a list for brainstorming, feedback, specific actions necessary in order to test and or implement the idea.
  • Unrelated to business, it's a great way to plan travel in order to make sure you don't forget those important things like passport, flight arrangement, client meeting confirmation, and meeting prep as far as what specific documents or things do you need to bring with you.
  • And since everyone is on the go and expected to keep up with work, the mobile/tablet app makes it a breeze to keep up, work on, and create new projects.
  • It would be great if some of the project printing functions could be enhanced. I love the way it visually looks on screen but on paper not so great.
  • Pricing isn't crazy expensive at $25/month per user but would be great if there was a discount provided or a package deal if using many of the other Zoho Suite of products.
  • The trial allows for 1 Project which is nice but I don't think it adequately allows someone to properly evaluate the app and to get a feel for it. Seems like allowing about 5 would be a much better way for someone to get the feel for it.
Read Stephen Lalla's full review
March 21, 2017
Hannibal Pharaon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Assigning Tasks
  • Including artwork and banner ads that need to get implemented in web development
  • Assigning timelines and deadlines
  • Having them be monitored by other team members
  • Accountibility
  • Comments sometimes buffer and don't get published immediately.
  • Projects is good but there is a need to make deliverability more urgent with a point system rewarding those staff members that are most prolific in completing tasks and punishing those that are not as good (or timely), much like the FACEBOOK news-feed rating in likelihood of getting speedy response time while MESSAGING.
  • Chronological vs. IMPORTANT outstanding tasks that need TLC
Read Hannibal Pharaon's full review
June 28, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of customization, without introducing a level of complexity that makes it difficult to manage.
  • Simple workflows for common tasks like adding and assigning issues.
  • Integration with other Zoho tools for organization-wide collaboration and information sharing.
  • The user interface design tends to lag behind other similar products.
  • Reporting tools are limited.
  • Requires customization to be suited for a real agile workflow.
Read this authenticated review
September 11, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to define templates for task lists and projects
  • Easy to see tasks by day and by project to always know what's ready or missing
  • Easy to assign tasks to team members ad-hoc to ensure tracking is complete
  • Google Docs integration would simplify our workflow immensely
  • More customizable data storage
Read this authenticated review
February 25, 2015
Sudip Chakraborty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Zoho Projects is web-based so anyone can access it.
  • Zoho Projects has a fairly comprehensive set of features for project management, task and time tracking.
  • The pricing is reasonable and affordable for small businesses.
  • There is no ability to add custom fields in the "Bugs" module - for example, if we want to add fields such as Version Number.
  • Reporting is not integrated - its a fairly expensive add-on.
  • There is no easy way to track actual and completed dates for tasks - so historical variance analysis is not easy.
Read Sudip Chakraborty's full review
February 25, 2015
Cassandra Stephens | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • There are so many ways to log hours! Each employee can choose the method that works best for them. Having choice empowers the employees.
  • The BugTracker feature is amazing! The BugTracker allows custom fields to better fit our needs. Also, the ability to add files, images and comments to each issue has saved us time and headaches!
  • The reports export with all of the important information we and our clients need.
  • Zoho Projects can be customized in so many ways. No matter what your company does or in what field, Zoho Projects will work for you!
  • Zoho Projects keeps getting better! Recent new enhancements makes it even easier to navigate and the new keyboard shortcuts are amazing!
  • Within a task, to log hours you must scroll all the way to the bottom. If there are a lot of entries, this can be tiresome. The Add Log Hours link should be at the top of the entries.
  • The default font size in Pages is very small. Even if you select all of the text and increase the font size, any links will remain in the small font size. You must edit the source code to change the font size of links.
  • In the Timesheet Calendar view, it would be helpful to break apart the non-billable and billable on hover like it does when you hover over the Time Log column in Tasks.
Read Cassandra Stephens's full review
March 11, 2015
Khashi Rahmani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ability to track multiple projects at the click of a button: Zoho Projects has the unique feature to jump between identical screens of a project (E.G., viewing tasks) in one click. You can select another project at the top nav-bar, and instantly be put at the same screen as the previous project, but for the now selected one. When viewing resources, tasks lists, its easy to jump to other projects without sifting through multiple channels to see the same information.
  • Staying on top of tasks: Zoho has a variety of ways of telling users that they have tasks due or that are overdue. There are different mechanisms that allow easy tracking: Email confirmations, a clear and concise user dashboard, and also a Google Calendar integration that keeps employees abreast of what tasks they should be engaging in.
  • The famous Gantt Chart: As an Engineering company, the Engineers that use the software have found the Gantt Chart feature both simple and productive. Having the ability to customize the charts with filters and convert them to PDFs allows any department to easily relay project timelines both internally and externally without having superfluous information left in the visuals. When showing accounting tasks or sales tasks within a project, users can easily with as little as two clicks, get the information they need in Gantt Chart format and ready to print.
  • Support Feature: Currently Zoho does not offer direct phone support. They allow emailing to customer care and on rare occasions will ask to setup a phone conference to discuss details/problems that users are experiencing. The turn around time on getting questions answered is mediocre at best. In urgent cases, one can expect at least 6-8 hours before a response is given.
  • Customer Access: Although Zoho does offer a customer portal for clients to view project timelines and details, it has little ability to manage what exact information a client can see. There are general limitations in privacy where you either allow a customer to see all information, some, or little at all. There is no 'nit picking' where you have to conceal certain information.
  • Requesting Features: When it comes to business-specific needs, Zoho does not seem to be thrilled about adding customization to our company. Asking for items such as an 'information sheet' for a project that would need to be filled prior to creation seems to be a daunting task and replies from support are generalized saying they 'will implement in the future'.
Read Khashi Rahmani's full review
November 13, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The best tool for planning projects (for non-certified project planners or beginners).
  • It allows the division of complex projects in milestones, tasks, and subtasks, and to schedule activities according to deadlines.
  • It is also good for task monitoring and projects discussion.
  • The best features: Mobile app, project organization, calendar, and email integration.
  • Some minor UI bugs in the web app and the mobile app (but can be fixed or patched).
  • No possibility of cloning or copying repetitive projects with all the content and people managing the projects (could help gain a lot of time especially on complex long projects with a lot of milestones and tasks).
Read this authenticated review
April 17, 2013
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Task assignment and time tracking for project and service work by customer.
  • Specifically, we set up clients as distinct projects and use the milestones, task lists, and tasks to manage deliverables. Zoho allows us to track time per task and generate invoices
  • Generates easy report to create invoices.
  • There is no differentiation between a task’s duration (ie, budgeted hours) and due date. These are linked in Zoho Projects, which is fairly useless for a project management tool.
  • I don’t believe we can add custom fields to tasks, only to bugs (which we don’t use). This is a major weakness.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (17)
7.3
Resource Management (16)
6.9
Gantt Charts (13)
7.0
Scheduling (15)
7.5
Workflow Automation (12)
8.2
Team Collaboration (17)
7.1
Support for Agile Methodology (5)
6.3
Support for Waterfall Methodology (8)
8.5
Document Management (13)
8.3
Email integration (13)
7.6
Mobile Access (16)
6.8
Timesheet Tracking (16)
7.0
Change request and Case Management (6)
6.9
Budget and Expense Management (11)
7.2
Quotes/estimates (5)
5.5
Invoicing (10)
6.1
Project & financial reporting (5)
6.5
Integration with accounting software (10)
7.5

What is Zoho Projects?

Zoho Projects is a web-based project management and planning software that provides project teams with a web-based collaborative environment. It contains the requisite features for project management platforms, such as time and resource allocation to tasks, issue tracking, milestones, Gantt chart, timesheets and reporting tools, task workflow automation and a feed modeled after social networking sites with the goal of approachability. It also includes a bug tracking module specifically designed to support software development projects, and is integrated with other Zoho products including Zoho CRM. It manages documents, contains calendar and list views, a team intranet and chat, and more. Its functionality is expandable with apps (Google Apps) and Zoho Projects is mobile accessible.

Presently it is free to manage two projects in Zoho Projects. The vendor says relatively low cost paid versions, on three tiers, allow management of increasing numbers of projects (up to infinite with the top tiered Enterprise level) and increased storage space. Live customer support is accessible via email and chat.

Zoho Projects Features

Project Management Features

Has featureTask Management
Has featureResource Management
Has featureGantt Charts
Has featureScheduling
Has featureWorkflow Automation
Has featureTeam Collaboration
Has featureSupport for Waterfall Methodology
Has featureDocument Management
Has featureEmail integration
Has featureMobile Access
Has featureTimesheet Tracking
Has featureBudget and Expense Management

Professional Services Automation Features

Has featureInvoicing
Has featureIntegration with accounting software

Zoho Projects Screenshots

Zoho Projects Videos (2)

Zoho Projects Integrations

Zoho Books, Zoho CRM, Zoho Desk, Zoho People, Zoho Analytics (formerly Zoho Reports), Zoho Invoice, Zoho Assist, Zoho Meeting, Google Drive, OneDrive, Microsoft 365 (formerly Office 365), Microsoft Teams, Dropbox, Box, GitHub, Bitbucket, Slack, Zapier, Zoho Mail, Google Tasks, Zoho Docs, Zoho Cliq, Google Calendar, Google Spreadsheets, Google Apps Marketplace, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Projects, MS Outlook Calendar, Crashlytics

Zoho Projects Competitors

Zoho Projects Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Premium$4per user/per month if billed annually
Enterprise$9per user/per month if billed annually

Zoho Projects Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Zoho Projects Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: Czech, Danish, Dutch, English(US), French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Portuguese (Brazil), Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Chinese, Polish, Turkish, Korean

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Zoho Projects?

Zoho Project is online project management and planning software that provides project teams with a web-based collaborative environment. Zoho Projects can also include a bug tracking module specifically design to support software development project. It is integrated with other Zoho products including Zoho CRM.

What is Zoho Projects's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support for Waterfall Methodology highest, with a score of 8.5.

Who uses Zoho Projects?

The most common users of Zoho Projects are Small Businesses from the Information Technology & Services industry.