TOPdesk Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
264 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 126)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 20, 2020
Timo Snijders | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk as our Incident Management system - every user within the NOS can reach our FrontOffice (helpdesk) via the TOPdesk Self-Service portal in addition to telephone and email.
With this portal, a malfunction can be reported, a request (hardware / software / access) can be submitted, a meeting room can be reserved, and a business gift can be requested.
Employment and disengagement procedures can also be started from this portal.
All these matters are resolved by our Front Office as First Line incidents, and otherwise pass on Second Line incidents to IT service management, facilities management and developers.
The Change Management module is used to handle request workflows, such as employment procedures, disengagement procedures, hardware, software, promotional gifts and access.
We use the module Operations Management the schedule our Operational Activities.
With the Reservations Management module, hardware such as cameras, special laptops, various broadcast equipment and meeting rooms can be reserved.
The Item Management module includes the articles that we offer through a kind of webshop on the Self-Service portal.
The Configuration Management module is used to register all objects such as hardware, software, licenses and telephones.
With the Knowledge Management module we keep track of our manuals, descriptions and work instructions. Relevant Knowledge Items are also displayed via the Self-Service portal as FAQs and items that indicate which services and production we offer.
The Action Management module is used for triggers for sending emails or setting statuses.
TOPdesk mobile is used by, among others, cleaning and janitor to view and log off their tasks.
We use a different instance of TOPdesk for our Public relations department. In it, reactions, complaints, suggestions and questions from the public are registered and handled as incidents.
  • The clear distinction in terms of modules and their functions, but you can easily link the different parts together.
  • Users are involved in the TOPdesk product. Much attention to customer wishes. Free webinars about new developments or the exploration of certain parts.
  • Easy to link to third-party applications.
  • Every version that has been released has been thoroughly tested and therefore there are few bugs in production.
  • Linking TOPdesk environment of customers and / or suppliers (Collaboration Center).
  • Due to the many functionalities of the modules, you sometimes [do] not see the wood for the trees. With Asset Management they are taking a step in the right direction.
If you work with the standard ITIL processes, TOPdesk meets everything.
If you want to configure and organize everything yourself, TOPdesk does not meet your wishes.
Easy to link to third party applications.
Linking TOPdesk environment of customers and / or suppliers (Collaboration Center).
See also my use case how we use TOPdesk.

An extensive FAQ for all modules can be found on the TOPdesk extranet. And also various manuals. You can choose between creating an incident yourself and calling TOPdesk. In both cases, incidents are created, and properly and clearly recorded. When you call, you will generally get an expert on the line, otherwise someone with more knowledge will be called in.
The consultants are always enthusiastic people who know a lot and can think along with us and switch quickly.
In general TOPdesk meets our wishes and requirements. It is stable and reliable. Good support. And as a customer you are involved in many things, and you can go in depth if you want via all kinds of webinars.
Read Timo Snijders's full review
November 09, 2020
Rob Slinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk in several departments for the registration and follow up of incidents, changes, problems and operational tasks at customer sites. We are a managed service provider (servers, network, retail, cloud and security). Customers (and monitoring tools) report calls through telephone, mail, mail import, API connections to other service management apps and portal functionality.
  • They are making good progress in developing API's for communication with other apps which is becoming more and more important. Also the development of a collaboration platform for easy connecting to other/customer (TOPdesk) systems is a positive move.
  • In our company we will build a extensive API configuration to communicate with MS Dynamics and we already have several connections with customers that gives a better user experience.
  • The events and actions module gives extra power to the system to overcome some limitations or automate manual actions.
  • We use this option for a lot of different activities. One is for a notification when a certificate or application license is almost expired but there are a lot more applications for this function.
  • Technical support department performs nicely and in a professional way.
  • Room for improvement is in workflows and in mandatory fields based on where you are in a proces. E.g. when closing an incident you have to be forced to check if you made the right decisions at registration time. Also skipping statuses is possible but not wanted.
  • On several places it would helpful if you could make more field dependent on what you chose in a earlier field. E.g. in the new asset management templates showing only the models of the brand you choose. Also a third level under category/subcategory is needed.
With some of the improvements mentioned earlier TOPdesk is working fine in a managed service provider environment. API possibilities are great and makes it flexible in connecting to other systems. Change management module could need improvement and is sometimes more administrative work then the actual change.
The level of experience of the technical support department is fine, reaction times are sometimes a bit varying, sometimes fast and sometimes slow. This also goes for the overall support.
We work fine with the product and there are several ways to build solutions for challenges. There is room for improvements as mentioned earlier and more feedback on, if a function will be added and when would be nice.
Read Rob Slinger's full review
August 31, 2020
Bernd Fredriks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used within Fujifilm in two areas. First, it is used as a ticketing system for our European Logistics, logging all mistakes, questions, problems that appear during the distribution from our Central Warehouse, and our 5 hub warehouses to our customers in Europe. Second, it is used as a ticketing system for our shared service organization, located in Gdansk, to register all issues and questions between them and the finance departments in the different local entities in Europe.
  • TOPdesk is simple to use for the creators of a ticket by the Self Service Portal
  • The input forms are easy to design and have not much possibility for fancy stuff. Therefore they keep it simple and it can easily be created and designed.
  • Process Flows can easily be modeled in TOPdesk by internal administrators.
  • By defining user groups and assigning specific operators or callers, the business process can quickly be created. For more complicated workflows there is a so-called Change Management Module. For designing process flows for this module training is recommended.
  • TOPdesk provides raw data reports that can be handled in Excel.
  • Pivot tables in Excel let you easily be in control of reports.
  • For application in the Scrum of Agile job assignment processes, TOPdesk offers the so-called Kanban board, which is very useful to show the overall status of tasks to be done.
  • Modeling more complicated workflows is difficult and could need the support of a consultant
  • Graphical output of Topdesk is very limited. Users mainly will rely on Excel as reporting tool, except for some basic graphs that are provided in your dashboard by Topdesk itself.
For the application of standard ticketing processes, TOPdesk is very suitable. Especially as you do not want to spend time on training at your callers (if this is a potentially big group). Also, escalation processes within the operating company can well be handled by TOPdesk. Operators have a simple and clear view of their tasks and the tasks of their direct colleagues.

Complicated multistep process flows need to be designed carefully (consultancy). Also, the connection to graphical interfaces for daily dashboards outside TOPdesk can be troublesome.
Contacts are always very quick and efficient. Pre-sales and on-boarding were done in a cooperative way. After installation of the cloud software, we participated in a question and answer session which was really useful.
But the real excellence of the TOPdesk organization can be found in their helpdesk. Issues are treated very seriously, solutions are provided free of charge, and the limits of the system are shared in an honest way.
If I should mention a weaker point, it is the speed of development to get rid of certain annoying things. However, these annoying characteristics were not very important.
Read Bernd Fredriks's full review
December 14, 2020
Mark Coutinho | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk within different parts of the organization: IT, reception, planning, CRM.
It's mainly used as a helpdesk tool in which colleagues can address problems/questions/whatever. Besides that, the meetingplanner is a very powerful tool which prevents people to book meetingrooms which are already given.
Once every 3 months we use the possibility of making an overview of incoming calls, which come with ratings of how much time is spent on each call and which sort of call is being made most frequently.
  • Making forms of standard routines.
  • Making overviews of activities made.
  • Integration with intranet (you have to set up that yourself though).
  • In the SAAS version the most usual Windows shortcuts don't work.
  • Using the TAB-key doesn't always work as you'd expect.
  • TOPdesk is not quite pro-active in advising/schooling in different not-so-many used modules.
For helpdesk purposes, at the IT department or any other department for that matter, TOPdesk is the software to use. We have been using it for more than 15 years now and through the years they kept on developing the software with new additional functionalities of which I wasn't even aware of I was missing it.
Streamlining calls with TOPdesk saves a lot of phone calls and emails.
The use of TOPdesk speaks for itself. This, and the fact that we have experienced little to no problems with the software means that we have not used their helpdesk that often.
However, if and when we needed their help... I can't say other than that it is superior to any other helpdesk of any other company: easy to be reached, very friendly, extremely helpful even to an extent that they look beyond the original question.
TOPdesk is very usable in various departments of our organization.
I couldn't think of a thing that wouldn't add to my wishes.
Yes - The upgrade from 'on premise' to the new SAAS solution went quite smoothly. Not in the least because we had the help and use of a professional TOPdesk consultant who ticked all the boxes that had to be ticked - from designing how your TOPdesk should look like and what it could do, to (sort of) training the admins.
Read Mark Coutinho's full review
November 11, 2020
Rianne Willems | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently it is used at the IT department to register tickets/issues/changes and to register hardware. It is also being used by our security department to register keys. We would like to expand the use for our facility department. We are currently using the on premise software.
  • [Register] incidents.
  • Logging.
  • [Register] products.
  • It would be nice if the status of a product can automatically change when they are registered to a product.
  • More layout options in ssp.
We import the incidents by e-mail. The managing of tickets works really wel. The communication is clear and easy to find. The reports are good.
The service is really good and the consultants are friendly. Sometimes I think the knowledge can be a bit better (it probably depends on work experience). I think the consultancy price is pretty high.
Sometimes I think some things are hard to find. I often do not know if I have to search in Settings or in Modules. In some cases the user has to do a lot of clicks for example to link a key to a user. Something could work a little smarter.
Read Rianne Willems's full review
November 02, 2020
Arjan Sip | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk helps our Managed Services department with delivering proper services to our customers. We keep track of our contracts, tickets changes, our own assets, etc. Provides us with SLA reports. And we can correlate with other TOPdesk using companies and services to provide a smooth integration with our ITSM-tooling.
  • Collaboration.
  • Intuitive use.
  • Filtering to keep track of things.
  • Collaboration could be a bit smoother.
  • Some things are a lot of work to maintain (mails in the action module).
Rather fast to set up and implement, and since it is modular we are able to expand the services when we are ready for it.
Service is excellent, not much more to say.
Normal day to day use is very simple.
Read Arjan Sip's full review
October 02, 2020
Robin Exoo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an ICT cooperation that supports 6 local governments and local government cooperation. We use TOPdesk as the primary tool for all our workloads using ITIL standards. All colleges are able to log in to the Self-Service Desk and access the knowledge base, make an incident call, or ask for a change through various forms. All incidents will be handled by our ICT department or functional engineers within the government. Due to the use of forms on the Self-Service Desk page, we can direct all questions, incidents, and changes to the right support group of the Service Desk. In our case, the Service Desk can focus on the telephone and solving problems instead of rerouting service calls. The knowledgebase is updated weekly with manuals for end-users or ICT colleges. We made sure that the 2 are separated, even between operators.
  • Software updates as a standard change for all steps to be taken
  • All employee changes between multiple organizations managed in 1 change
  • One place for all your questions
  • Reports about changes and incidents in one view
  • Easy report wizard for people who don't use TOPdesk daily
  • Bulk changes for IT hardware
The biggest collaboration between us and the government is through the change management tool. We made a big effort to merge all the changes to one for all the things which need be done when a new employee starts, of a college leaves. These changes start within the company where the college starts. Every department and our ICT department all get activities in the right order to get all preparation done. From HR contract to the user account and e-mail, but also things like mobile phone, connected to a digit telephone number, user accounts in programs, and tools for that specific function.

We have been able to make standard changes to update and upgrade the procedure of the software, even with an extensive change, which includes all steps to be taken, starting at the change advisory board through to delivery to the end-user.
Support on-site is always great. We have had help from multiple people from TOPdesk on-site, to help us with implementing big changes. The way they think. They know how multiple businesses work. And can use that info, to give you the best solution when making a new template for a big change with planning between multiple businesses.

The helpdesk is very helpful. When stuck, a quick call or e-mail to their Self-Service Desk, and I can move on with my work. No complaints so far.
Read Robin Exoo's full review
July 31, 2020
Jay Hamel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk for incident, change and asset management internally and also for our B2B customer base. It gives us a central location to manage our global customer's issues and needs, and provides a simple way to delegate and track workflow. Additionally, the data we are able to report on allows us to pinpoint areas of improvement.
  • Versatility. The ability to customize the interface.
  • The ability to customize workflows for Incident and Change management is the best I have seen.
  • The ability to segregate customer groups and manage them in one instance of TOPdesk is great.
  • Would love to see stronger Self Service functionality, such as AI.
  • Would like to see TOPdesk further embrace customer management of the platform.
  • This is a bit more subjective: The interface continues to improve, but I would like to see it be a bit more intuitive.
TOPdesk is well suited to managing internal and external incidents and changes. We have not run into a customer type who would not benefit from the functionality. The only potential issue would be cost. Perhaps the price is out of reach for smaller groups. The customization really goes a long way.
TOPdesk technical support is always very responsive and as involved as you need them to be. We seldom require their involvement -- and when we have in the past, the vast majority of issues have been user configuration error (we set up something incorrectly). Account level support is also very accessible and helpful. We have been on TOPdesk for 10 years; the onboarding experience was great and I would guess it has only improved.
Have been a customer for a long time and the sheer uptime of this system has been legendary.
Read Jay Hamel's full review
July 29, 2020
Rob Hoogeveen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used almost across the whole organization. But also our customers have access to it. TOPdesk is used by customers and our internal user for filing incidents and changes. We also hope to implement the project management and change control modules in the near future.
  • It creates a very plain system wich is easy to understand for the employees.
  • The amount of features within TOPdesk makes the sky unlimited. It is so advance that there simply isn't a "no" when you want something done in TOPdesk.
  • On the management side, it's pretty hard to find and edit specific items if you don't know where to find it. It could be a bit more organized and easy for people who have to manage TOPdesk in their environment.
Implementing TOPdesk in an ITIL environment is just a great outcome. The possibilities are endless and if you want something to be done it's definitely possible in TOPdesk. Also, TOPdesk is very user-friendly when it comes to the user side of it.
Pretty straightforward. Haven't really contacted the TOPdesk support that much but when I did the response time was good and their information regarding my question as well.
In general TopDesk is still the leading software as a registration tool for not only IT departures but almost the whole business. The amount of options that are available within TopDesk is so big that it would fit literally any business where they can create their own environment that suits their business.

The overall usability is also on the responsability of the one that implements it. Aslong as you know what your business wants and needs it is the best software you can think of in the current market.
Read Rob Hoogeveen's full review
July 29, 2020
Paolo Staal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used by several departments: IT, Facility Management and Quality Management. The top users are the IT employees. The rest of the organization is well known with the SelfServiceDesk to submit incidents or changes and to track the status of their requests. It helps to centralize the support questions (IT, Facility Management ) and accident registration (Quality Management) from the entire organization. The CMDB is leading for the purchased hardware (varying from SIM-cards to beamers etc.) and to keep track of it.
  • The interface is well designed and through the years this has only improved.
  • Reasonably easy to customize for your own needs. The management of the application is not too complex.
  • Good and professional support from the TOPdesk support team.
  • I would like to see more functionality for TOPDesk reports. It is not possible to create a complete report with several indicators from different categories. It would be great if I just could combine everything into one big management report which I could send monthly (automatically).
  • Splitting the use for different departments in one TOPdesk environment is quite difficult. There are possibilities, but there can easily be cross contamination.
  • The SelfServiceDesk is quite basic (but functional). It would be great if you could enrich these with widgets to retrieve realtime information from your environment (like specific uptime or live service status from business applications).
TOPDesk would be great for bigger sized companies where there is a reasonable number of support questions. I think it is less suitable for maintenance departments who want to plan replacements and keep track of (almost) outdated equipment. Instead of TOPDesk, our own organization has chosen another product for this use to fit their requirements.
The support I experienced was always professional and they took the time to solve every question. There are no long waiting times, even with the more complex issues the resolution time was very acceptable.
Read Paolo Staal's full review
July 28, 2020
Jeffrey Ing | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used by the whole organization. It addresses any ticketing management needs to maintain records and IT/Web/GIS/Design communications with staff.
  • Workflow Managments and uptime.
  • Easily create forms for any new self service desk. Fast implementation of new workflows.
  • Creating new users and archiving old users.
  • Customizing more complicated workflow with different external teams.
  • More options in creating more elaborate forms, adding pictures for example.
  • more integration options for Azure, we currently cannot integrate fully with azure and manually upload everytime we create a new user.
It is well suited in helpdesk ticket management.
It is well suited for ticket history and records retrieval.
It is not suited for team collaboration or collaboration with external users.
It is not suited with integration with office365.
Service has been excellent, everyone is very responsive. I like the new communications [features], it has definitely improved in the past 5 years. Sometimes, I feel a bit brushed off with more complicated integration questions.
It's a great product once setup and is pretty autonomous. If you need to setup anything new, it can be sometimes painful dependent on what you need to setup. Creating portals is very straight forward and easy but creating flows for different forms or operator groups is a great hassle with little explanation.
Read Jeffrey Ing's full review
July 28, 2020
Kimberly Wamble | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by various departments across our organization mainly as a ticketing system.
  • An employee is able to enter an IT problem or communication request in TopDesk.
  • IT then receives the ticket and services it appropriately.
  • We looked at using it as a project management system but found that it was more cumbersome for the novice user than some other systems that we looked at.
I don't have any areas of less well-suited situations. I think that the ticketing system is excellent and works well for our environment. The project management system is also great. It is very thorough and a great organization tool but was more in-depth than what we need at the moment.
TopDesk reps have been an invaluable resource. Anytime we have had questions or concerns, they were solved with a quick email or phone call. The initial web conference walkthrough of TopDesk was very helpful.
There are some things that could be improved but overall it serves it's purpose.
Read Kimberly Wamble's full review
July 28, 2020
Randy MacFarland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as our main ticketing system across the company. We used to use it with a previous company we owned. Tickets are either emailed to TOPdesk and a ticket is created automatically, or we manually create them. We also use it for our Change management approval process as well.
  • The ability to customize it.
  • Ability to access anywhere there is an internet connection.
  • Cost.
  • Support is really good. I had an issue where tickets were deleted and they were able to restore our company to a test envoirment so I could re-create them at no cost.
  • Maybe a little easier to customize.
  • Fix the Canadian phone support number. I called a few times and it just rings and rings.
  • Be able to drag and drop a pic into the comment area while updating a ticket.
  • Emailing us if it's down versus us calling support or checking their status page.
It's good for IT ticketing, but the users in the office find it too hard to log in and complete the ticket. 99% of user tickets are created by an email to TOPdesk.
Support has been good if someone answers the phone. We had issues where the phone would ring and ring with no answer. I have never spoken with our account manager or onboarding so I can't comment.
I haven't used other ticketing systems so I can't compare it to another else. There are some good and bad features but that would be the same with all ticket systems.
It seems to work great for us. We are a small company and we've had no issues.
Read Randy MacFarland's full review
August 12, 2020
Wil Kuijpers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using TOPdesk for many years. And especially the new version is really appreciated. The whole organization is using it. We register our calls at the ServiceDesk and track the progress of the solution. The report tool is powerful and helps with reporting for our clients. The self-service tool became available a while ago. We will see if it works.
  • User-friendly graphical interface
  • Good reporting tool
  • Possibility to build a knowledge base for FAQ
  • We are not using all of the modules, so I would like to be careful with comments. Maybe some functions are available in other modules
  • CSM functionality
It's perfectly suited for incident management--the whole process, including the knowledge base and the assets register.

Less suitable for Customer Support Management.
We had only some support for the original implementation and when we switched to the latest web-based version. Overall the support was always sufficient. The sale also went fine. We could always arrange a special contract. We are only a small not-for-profit organization. We never needed all the support days offered, and a smaller amount of days was possible.
Our organisation is working with Topdesk already for many years. With good experiences
  • in-person training
Topdesk is a saas solution. As far as we can notice, there are no scalability problems. We are a small organization, so performance issues are for now not an issue.
Read Wil Kuijpers's full review
August 05, 2020
Bas Verschuren | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by a department. It's used for incident management for our external customers for incidents in the industry related to software, process, and hardware.
  • Fast to address incidents, reported by telephone
  • Fast tool to get information about customers
  • Modular, so we started with only incident management, but now we have change management, operations management, and object management
  • Fast replies of questions.
  • In the SSP it is not possible for our customers to get an export of their own incidents in, for example, Excel.
  • Email notification of incidents in the organization, For example, to client managers at our site and customer site.
  • Integration with other tools like Power BI, report manager.
Incident management is excellent. It's less suited for modifications at the software site to get the interaction. Extern customers, instead of in-house.
Reacts very fast. If they didn't, they didn't charge a fee of the consultant.
it does the job well
It is very scalable but not everything
Yes - Very smoothly, no problems occured, didn't need the support of TOPdesk
Read Bas Verschuren's full review
July 29, 2020
Peter Reus | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used in a mix of 3 (totally different) departments in our organization, it's caught incidents, requests, and informational items. The total number of engineers is about 20 at this time. The ease of use is a big plus for our organization, and that it is available in the Dutch language.
  • Feedback to the employee is very flexible
  • Ease of use
  • SAAS application, available anywhere, anytime
  • Way of editing feedback email is in HTML, what can be a pain to edit for some
TOPdesk can be used in any scenario, as we did. It is used in 3 totally different departments and for different uses. There are other places I can think of a few more departments who could make use.
After implementation, I talked to the Support team about changing filters and more. The gave very quick help!
Easy to use
Read Peter Reus's full review
July 28, 2020
Bart Wessels | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TOPdesk to service our customers and manage our devices.
  • managing incidents
  • hardware configuration
  • self service portal
  • Mobile apps where you can sign a signature by the customer.
Incident management, configuration management. Maybe also project management, but we do not use this right now.
It is easy to use, it has a good integration for MFA(security reason). We can create new customers instantly, without going through a manual. New employees can handle TOPdesk instantly.
easy to use when all is setup right
  • Online training
Read Bart Wessels's full review
August 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The ECNO Shared Technology Services team uses TOPdesk as a one-stop ticket management and queue system for both our internal processes via Change Management, and for our external clients at 33 different school boards to enter support requests for our products and services. It provides both real-time monitoring of our current support requests shared between a team of 3 remote technicians, and allows historical data to be stored and accessed by both our clients and internal teams.
  • TOPdesk provides easy to customize reports based on user or organization designed selections, allowing the data stored inside the helpdesk solution to be extracted, analyzed, and acted upon. Using simple visual queries, any user is able to build data extracts on the fly
  • Importation of data is easy to arrange and insert into the system. From existing support requests to a customer knowledge database, the data can be imported once, or as part of a constantly updating system for user changes, asset management, or user-facing data.
  • The ability to reply to emails to update tickets, both as the person making the support request and as the person working on the support request, makes it much easier to keep everyone informed as to the progress of the tickets and the eventual resolution.
  • The initial setup curve is very high, with it being strongly recommended that you involve the company in the design and setup phases to be able to get the most out of the program. The complexity of the setup is more than offset by the functionality of the product.
TOPdesk is well suited to any information technology department or organization that operates on a ticket based system. The tracking and management of workloads is excellent, and in fact, the system is appropriate for any organization that track work based on tickets.
Any appointment based system can be modeled inside TOPdesk using the appointment planning board, allowing managers to see the planned appointments of employees.
TOPdesk support is TOPnotch. The support engineers and setup people we encountered during our setup phase were knowledgeable and experienced with the design and setup of the optimum TOPdesk based on our requests, and were able to help us avoid snags that we would have otherwise encountered based on our unique setup. Requests since the initial setup period have been met with quick, easy to follow instructions to resolve the issues.
Read this authenticated review
November 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TOPdesk in various parts of the organization, both as an Incident Management tool as well as CMDB. TOPdesk is used by corporate IT as well as specific engineering and professional services departments. It allows us to keep track of internal IT related incidents and IT inventory that is present.
  • Gives a clear, configurable overview of open incidents.
  • Has an easy-to-use self-service facility.
  • Ability to create KPI based reporting.
  • Azure SSO connector is cumbersome to configure.
  • Office365 mail import configuration requires way too much permissions on your mail environment.
  • UX can be improved.
TOPdesk is well suited for on-premise deployments for incident management, CMDB, visitor management. It will require a robust implementation trajectory and staff training, but that goes for all such solutions. Cloud deployments are also possible, however in my experience the integration with other cloud services is still immature and can be improved.
Support is fine, however now and then we encounter problems where a solution is not possible using the current software release version.
It's is fine incident management and CMDB solution.
Read this authenticated review
October 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk to register and manage customer issues, questions and requests. It is also used to keep a registration of customer hardware (CMDB) and service contracts and to provide our customers with an up-to-date overview of their repairs and hardware.
  • Registration and management of 1st/2nd line incidents.
  • Asset management.
  • Customized and automated emails.
  • Mobile access (the functionality is limited).
  • Reporting.
TOPdesk is excellent for registering, managing and reporting on customer issues/questions/change requests.
Fast customer support, good instruction manuals and documentation, excellent customer portal with knowledgebase, manuals and software downloads.
Read this authenticated review
August 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk within our organization to register and follow up on issues that users have with the various other systems that are used. It is very useful to track each issue and communicate with users without the hassle of sending/reading separate emails. Users can also use the self-service desk to see what the status of the issues is, without the need to check with someone within our department.
  • Very easy to use, it's rather self-explanatory.
  • Default it offers a lot of functionalities, like Plan Boards, Task Boards, Time Registration, Knowledge Management, Contract Management etc. and one can choose to use it (or not to use it, if it's not needed).
  • Very configurable so that you can set up your organizational needs very well.
  • Easily differentiate between private and public remarks for internal / external communication.
  • Can't name any real Cons for the system. There will always be some small improvements which would be nice to have, but in general, everyone should be able to get up and running in no time and reap the fruits of being able to track issues decently.
I've used several issue tracking systems and I must admit that TOPDesk is the first system which actually got it right! Since 2019 we moved to the SaaS version of TOPdesk, which means we don't have to deal with the hosting and get updates on a regular basis. TOPdesk gets better with each update!
Even though we almost never need support, if it is needed then we are served by professionals which follow up our questions by using their own TOPdesk system. They also pro-actively send information about problems they detect and their folloup actions for these problems. The current status of their system can be easily viewed at https://status.topdesk.com/ and there's also a personal environment with more details to report issues yourself.
Read this authenticated review
July 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using TOPdesk to be able to meet SLA criteria for an ICT hardware and services contract with the Dutch government. We have defined multiple services, each with their related SLAs. Every customer interaction between the Dutch government and Bechtle-Buyitdirect is logged and processed in TOPdesk. SLA performance of the contract is reported on a weekly basis for each related service. Based on the positive results we currently expanding the use of TOPdesk within our public vertical. We mainly use TOPdesk to support the RMA process for a demanding set of our public customers.

  • Easy to understand end-user interface (both internal as well as self service portal)
  • Easy to configure / maintain
  • Easy to add new developed features to your SAAS platform (marketplace)
  • Easy import facility to do relative simple data imports for base entities
  • Search for specific data in your recorded interactions (both internal as well as from the self service portal)
  • Increasing workflow automation possibilities using APIs
  • Using custom fields in your SSP web forms. Currently, every field you enter (despite some standard ones like objects, contact details, category, short description,...) is stored in the request field. This makes it difficult for further process this data using HTTP actions.
  • Plugin to push planned tasks to outlook is difficult to setup. Take a look at Salesforce.......
Suited for:
Provding support services in the public domain. We noticed it is really an advantage since many of our customers in the public domains also use TOPdesk.
Quick start for base first- and second line processes with less human resource effort. TOPdesk OOTB comes with ready to used first- and second line processes. There is not much knowledge and effort required to get started and keep your base configuration maintained. Also the license model is flexible to grow with your business. Overall this allows you a quick start of using TOPdesk with a minimum of exploitation effort and costs.
The support is very good. Good knowledge base, easy to access support (never run into discussion about whether a question is support or consultancy), transparant roadmap, many new features launched, new features are easy accessible. Also communication with account management is very good.
I completely fits our current needs, it is easy to use and maintain (low costs) and new developments get seamlessly integrated.
We have not yet much experience for scalability. There are some good features to make TOPdesk more scalable, for example the value mapping as part of action sequences.
Read this authenticated review
July 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk as our primary system at the IT service center (department). We use it for everything we do and use it in combination with our customers.
  • With the help of the topdesk, the projects, incidents and changes are billed to the customers
  • At the moment we have an improvement that we first have to make that already is already offered by the topdesk in functionality but it lacks time and know how to further refine and fine-tune this.
TOPdesk offers us a clear overview of the incoming incidents, changes and projects. It offers us the possibility to switch quickly and register everything.
TOPdesk support offers direct support by telephone. Problems are picked up immediately and when it can not be resolved at that moment, a message or phone call will soon be sent.
Read this authenticated review
July 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using TOPdesk to field all of our trouble tickets across the organization. Multiple internal departments have found it useful to keep track of their support tickets.
  • It's well priced
  • Highly customizable
  • Asset management needs a lot of work.
  • Knowledge base is very bare bones.
TOPdesk is suitable for small- to medium-sized businesses that are looking to get into a professional incident management system. It has a lot of basic features that can give an organization an understanding of why they need an incident management system. You can easily grow within the platform, and hopefully, as TOPdesk improves their product you will continue getting a good product for the price you paid.
When a question has been asked, TOPdesk has been helpful. When they released their API, there were a few issues with it, and they worked with our staff to fix and update their documentation. They seem open to working with the customer.
Read this authenticated review
July 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Topdesk as a service management tool to support the organization and to have one tool where the IT department can do all administrative work.
  • Single source of data for administrative purposes
  • Quick tickets are real time savers!
  • Showing relations between objects.
  • No WYSIWYG editor, real pain in the ass.
  • Building configurations of different objects can consume relatively a lot of time
  • Search engine can be optimized
Your organization needs to fit in the framework that Topdesk provides, we didn't get a proper image of the framework beforehand so we made a lot of (needed) changes in the organization to make Topdesk work. With these changes in places it works like a charm.
Support knows what they are talking about and have a quick response time!
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (126)
8.6
Expert directory (83)
7.1
Service restoration (79)
7.9
Self-service tools (116)
8.7
Subscription-based notifications (87)
8.0
ITSM collaboration and documentation (95)
8.2
ITSM reports and dashboards (101)
7.4
Configuration mangement (99)
7.6
Asset management dashboard (84)
7.1
Policy and contract enforcement (70)
8.3
Change requests repository (97)
7.6
Change calendar (80)
6.9
Service-level management (80)
7.6

What is TOPdesk?

Excellent service management made easy
TOPdesk is a service management solution that aims to help users improve customer communication, manage workflows and keep track of assets. According to the vendor, the software is simple and attractive, making it pleasant to use and quick to adopt. On-premises and SaaS deployments are available.

4 key differentiators:
1. Easy to use, quick to set up
2. Suitable for IT, FM or HR.
3. Seamless integrations with other packages.
4. Guaranteed service excellence.
5.Attractive and flexible licensing model TOPdesk has 20+ years experience in helping 5000+ organizations worldwide deliver the best service.

TOPdesk Features

Incident and problem management Features

Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Has featureExpert directory
Has featureService restoration
Has featureSelf-service tools
Has featureSubscription-based notifications
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureITSM reports and dashboards

ITSM asset management Features

Has featureConfiguration mangement
Has featureAsset management dashboard
Has featurePolicy and contract enforcement

Change management Features

Has featureChange requests repository
Has featureChange calendar
Has featureService-level management
Additional Features
Has featureResource Plan Board
Has featureOperations Management
Has featureOpen API
Has featureIntegrations Market Place
Has featureReservations Management

TOPdesk Video

The Total Economic Impact™ Of TOPdesk Enterprise is an October 2016 commissioned study conducted by Forrester Consulting on behalf of TOPdesk.

TOPdesk Integrations

Snow License Manager, QlikView, Qlik Sense, Lansweeper, Nagios Core, The Okta Identity Cloud, Microsoft Azure, OneLogin, Microsoft System Center, Microsoft BI (MSBI), Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central (formerly Dynamics NAV), Skype for Business (formerly Lync), Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), BeyondTrust Remote Support (formerly Bomgar), Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM), Ivanti IT Asset Management Suite (formerly LANDESK IT Asset Management Suite), Ivanti Endpoint Manager (formerly LANDESK Management Suite), RES Service Automation, Microsoft Active Directory, UMRA Access & Identity Management, Mavim Rules, ISM

TOPdesk Competitors

TOPdesk Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

TOPdesk has a unique license model: - Modular: Select the modules you need and easily expand as your business grows - Saas or On premise - Unlimited number of assets. Successful asset management should not be dependent on the license of your product. - End users OR service agents based, whichever fits your situation best. If you are looking for flexibility in the number of agents for e.g. extra busy times of the year, the flexible end user license lets you add agents without any restrictions, no day passes needed.

TOPdesk Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
5%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
55%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

TOPdesk Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

TOPdesk Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, French, Portuguese, Dutch, Danish, Swedish, Hungarian, Italian, Polish, Norwegian