TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/pq/XT/9CJW1AZGWJJM.PNGWhy every high-tech startup should outsource HR functions to a full service provider like TriNet.I began using TriNet in 2003, primarily to facilitate the availability of competitive benefits and payroll services for startup portfolio companies. TOYOTech is the fourth of our portfolio companies to utilize TriNet for HR services, payroll services, statutory compliance and tax reporting. My experience with TriNet as a management tool has been positive on all fronts. More importantly, our employees generally report positive experiences with TriNet's benefits and payroll administration. As our companies have grown, TriNet's geographic reach has grown with us. We are thus able to offer comparable benefits and tax collection and reporting services for all U.S. offices.,TriNet offers excellent employee benefit programs, competitively priced with flexible employer co-funding options. It would be difficult - if not downright impossible - to attract good talent in Silicon Valley without these sorts of benefit offerings. TriNet's on-line portals for management and employee use are functional, available, and secure. Management reports are configurable and provide all necessary financial data. Payroll tax submission and reporting is reliable and available for all 50 States. TriNet provides all required State and Federal HR statutory compliance reporting.,TriNet utilizes Transamerica Financial Services as its 401K provider partner. Unfortunately, 401K reporting and individual account management is not integrated into TriNet's on-line "HR Passport" portal. Accordingly, additional steps are required to manage 401K programs, services, and safe harbor employer contributions. I would like to see these services integrated into HR Passport. Payroll submission and customer management - while improving - still could use more simplification. Recent changes have made it easier to assign the day-to-day payroll tasks to others without compromising employee personal information, but it is still difficult to assign privileges.,10,10,9,We have successfully recruited senior level engineers and scientists partly due to the benefit offerings through TriNet. TriNet has enabled geographic expansion and personnel transfer with a unified approach to benefits and payroll irrespective of location. This has been very important to our growth. I don't worry about payroll taxes and statutory compliance reporting - TriNet does. This saves an inordinate amount of time and management attention.,TriNet has improved our efficiencyDiscovery Data uses both TriNet HR Passport and TriNet Expense to manage most of our HR and payroll tasks. It helps our small accounting team work more efficiently by eliminating the hassles of tasks such as maintaining employee hours, calculating appropriate withholding, administering benefits, managing reimbursable expenses, and maintaining PTO balances.,TriNet's benefit management functionality is a life saver. There are plenty of available medical , dental , and vision plans to select from and the costs are very reasonable. Once upper management narrows down the plans that we would like to offer employees, the enrollment process for the employees is effortless due to the user-friendly system and number of resources available. Maintaining paid-time-off in TriNet is great. Employees are able to easily submit PTO requests and, once approved by their manager, the balances are automatically updated and reflected on their earnings statements. At any time, employees can log in to check their current balances and even estimate year end balances in order to plan ahead.,Since the update to the "Beta Site", the system does not always function properly. Often, I will have try to access information and the screen will just remain white and never load, causing me to have to log out and try again later. Employees and administrators have also noticed that the system often moves very slowly. The delayed response time after clicking an option causes completing tasks to be less efficient. Although TriNet offers a number of reports, the reports system is "down" a lot. This can be a huge problem when trying to complete tasks by a deadline. Especially when the solutions center can offer no explanation or anticipated resolution time for the problem.,8,9,8,TriNet has made our payroll and benefit administration processes more efficient.Trust TriNet For Your Company's PEO NeedsWe use TriNet across our entire company to provide payroll services, benefits, and other HR outsourcing services. We are a small business, about twelve employees, but as an IT service provider all our people are professionals and have an expectation of receiving benefits in line with their type of position regardless of the size and scale of our company. TriNet allows our firm to provide big company benefits at our relatively small scale.,Excellent benefit offerings and packages. Good online portal for management and users. Direct access for management and users to a dedicated account rep.,Expensive, but you get what you pay for. We've seen a high turnover in our dedicated account representative leading to a somewhat less than desirable continuity. The reporting can be tough for management.,9,8,9,TriNet allows us to offer competitive benefits to incoming employees as well as help with employee retention. I feel TriNet provides another layer to make sure we are on top of our HR compliance.,Insperity PerformSmart and ADP TotalSourceHappy TriNet User ReviewWe use TriNet for payroll, benefits, time off tracking and human resources for all three of our companies,Human Resources compliance questions. Integration of PTO tracking with payroll. Benefit offerings.,It might be nice if their were the ability to open a chat window with someone on the TriNet website if I had a quick question.,9,9,9,TriNet saved us money over our prior PEO provider - the fee structure was better suited for our companies.,ADP TotalSourceReviewTriNet is being utilized across the whole organization. We are a small nonprofit with 10 employees. TriNet addresses benefits and payroll for our organization.,Benefit options for our employees Payroll processing Online system to house all HR relevant information to make it easy for employees to access,Tracking of time. Currently, it is another product that has to be utilized, but isn't a TriNet product. Need a TriNet product to track time for hourly employees. And that should be included in the package since it is an essential function of payroll.,9,10,8,The recruiting function doesn't seem to be really user-friendly. Takes a while to sort through applications and make responses. TriNet keeps our organization within HR compliance.
Unspecified
TriNet
416 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

TriNet Reviews

TriNet
416 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 419 vetted TriNet reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 268)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
March 13, 2018

Review: "Why every high-tech startup should outsource HR functions to a full service provider like TriNet."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I began using TriNet in 2003, primarily to facilitate the availability of competitive benefits and payroll services for startup portfolio companies.

TOYOTech is the fourth of our portfolio companies to utilize TriNet for HR services, payroll services, statutory compliance and tax reporting. My experience with TriNet as a management tool has been positive on all fronts. More importantly, our employees generally report positive experiences with TriNet's benefits and payroll administration. As our companies have grown, TriNet's geographic reach has grown with us. We are thus able to offer comparable benefits and tax collection and reporting services for all U.S. offices.
  • TriNet offers excellent employee benefit programs, competitively priced with flexible employer co-funding options. It would be difficult - if not downright impossible - to attract good talent in Silicon Valley without these sorts of benefit offerings.
  • TriNet's on-line portals for management and employee use are functional, available, and secure. Management reports are configurable and provide all necessary financial data.
  • Payroll tax submission and reporting is reliable and available for all 50 States.
  • TriNet provides all required State and Federal HR statutory compliance reporting.
  • TriNet utilizes Transamerica Financial Services as its 401K provider partner. Unfortunately, 401K reporting and individual account management is not integrated into TriNet's on-line "HR Passport" portal. Accordingly, additional steps are required to manage 401K programs, services, and safe harbor employer contributions. I would like to see these services integrated into HR Passport.
  • Payroll submission and customer management - while improving - still could use more simplification. Recent changes have made it easier to assign the day-to-day payroll tasks to others without compromising employee personal information, but it is still difficult to assign privileges.
TriNet is immensely helpful for technology startups, where recruiting the best talent is fundamental to the success of the business. Outsourcing AR, payroll and statutory reporting functions permits management to focus on the business. TriNet has the depth of experience to work seamlessly with management while providing 95% of its services to employees without F2F interactions.
Read Bill Berkman's full review
March 09, 2018

User Review: "TriNet has improved our efficiency"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Discovery Data uses both TriNet HR Passport and TriNet Expense to manage most of our HR and payroll tasks. It helps our small accounting team work more efficiently by eliminating the hassles of tasks such as maintaining employee hours, calculating appropriate withholding, administering benefits, managing reimbursable expenses, and maintaining PTO balances.
  • TriNet's benefit management functionality is a life saver. There are plenty of available medical , dental , and vision plans to select from and the costs are very reasonable. Once upper management narrows down the plans that we would like to offer employees, the enrollment process for the employees is effortless due to the user-friendly system and number of resources available.
  • Maintaining paid-time-off in TriNet is great. Employees are able to easily submit PTO requests and, once approved by their manager, the balances are automatically updated and reflected on their earnings statements. At any time, employees can log in to check their current balances and even estimate year end balances in order to plan ahead.
  • Since the update to the "Beta Site", the system does not always function properly. Often, I will have try to access information and the screen will just remain white and never load, causing me to have to log out and try again later. Employees and administrators have also noticed that the system often moves very slowly. The delayed response time after clicking an option causes completing tasks to be less efficient.
  • Although TriNet offers a number of reports, the reports system is "down" a lot. This can be a huge problem when trying to complete tasks by a deadline. Especially when the solutions center can offer no explanation or anticipated resolution time for the problem.
TriNet works very well for small to medium sized organizations with small accounting/HR departments. The fact that the employees are able to log in and update their personal information (name, address, W-4, direct deposit) and request and manage paid time off is a huge plus. Processing payroll is very efficient.
Read Cortnee Stephens, CPA's full review
June 18, 2018

Review: "Trust TriNet For Your Company's PEO Needs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TriNet across our entire company to provide payroll services, benefits, and other HR outsourcing services. We are a small business, about twelve employees, but as an IT service provider all our people are professionals and have an expectation of receiving benefits in line with their type of position regardless of the size and scale of our company. TriNet allows our firm to provide big company benefits at our relatively small scale.
  • Excellent benefit offerings and packages.
  • Good online portal for management and users.
  • Direct access for management and users to a dedicated account rep.
  • Expensive, but you get what you pay for.
  • We've seen a high turnover in our dedicated account representative leading to a somewhat less than desirable continuity.
  • The reporting can be tough for management.
I would say TriNet is well suited to companies where the high-quality HR/benefits experience is required regardless of cost. For companies where benefits are a competitive advantage for employee acquisition and retention, this is a great option. Also, it can be great for smaller firms wanting big company style HR at a smaller scale.

Read Chad Lauterbach's full review
June 18, 2018

"Happy TriNet User Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TriNet for payroll, benefits, time off tracking and human resources for all three of our companies
  • Human Resources compliance questions.
  • Integration of PTO tracking with payroll.
  • Benefit offerings.
  • It might be nice if their were the ability to open a chat window with someone on the TriNet website if I had a quick question.
In my opinion TriNet takes the place of one dedicated human resources employee.....
Read CJ Patzelt's full review
March 14, 2018

TriNet: "Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TriNet is being utilized across the whole organization. We are a small nonprofit with 10 employees. TriNet addresses benefits and payroll for our organization.
  • Benefit options for our employees
  • Payroll processing
  • Online system to house all HR relevant information to make it easy for employees to access
  • Tracking of time. Currently, it is another product that has to be utilized, but isn't a TriNet product. Need a TriNet product to track time for hourly employees. And that should be included in the package since it is an essential function of payroll.
TriNet allows small organizations to not have to go into the insurance market themselves by providing benefits packages.
Read Jennifer Johnston's full review
March 09, 2018

User Review: "TriNet's been a blessing."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All employees are covered with TriNet. Outsourcing our HR needs, including insurances, and payroll to TriNet means we can focus on our core business.
  • Excellent portal for employees to manage their HR needs.
  • Generally quick responses to questions or issues, with competent staff.
  • Insurance renewal, and annual renewal good very smooth.
  • Great selection of benefits, including health and dental plans.
  • Their admin portal can be enhanced, especially reporting. Also, processing time has lagged in last 6 months.
  • We use another firm for our 401(k) but still run the calculations through TriNet. Very clunky system.
  • Too hands off, no contact with a representative since we signed on. Our HR/Payroll rep is great but their job is focused on those tasks, not the big picture.
They state they are geared toward small businesses but most small business that need outsourced HR needs don't have in-house specialists, and TriNet needs to realize that and have a little more empathy to helping in all HR & payroll matters.
Read Paul Johnson's full review
March 09, 2018

Review: "TriNet - doesn't suck, better than doing it yourself for small companies"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses TriNet. It allows us to minimize our internal administrative personnel onsite by covering benefits and payroll services.
  • Handling all payroll execution
  • Handling all employee insurance options and issues
  • Keeping track of PTO for employees
  • The website is difficult to use to find rarely used options, such as modifying employee data.
  • The reports are poorly labeled and organized.
Well suited for:
Any small company that wants a larger pool to lower the price/raise the quality of employee insurance.

Any small company that wants to avoid adding an HR head until they are large enough to justify adding this.

Any small company that wants to outsource their payroll.
Read Gordon Walton's full review
March 09, 2018

User Review: "TriNet - A viable option"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a small business consulting business it was difficult finding the level of insurance products that we have been use to coming out of the corporate environment. We found the cost of doing business with TriNet was worth all the benefits that we needed along with the processing of our payroll and providing us with Workers Compensation. We have been consulting other business owners for more than 25 years to use the services of a PEO and TriNet has a great platform for businesses that allow you to customize your options based on your organizations size.
  • TriNet is the only PEO that recognizes the growth patterns of smaller companies. They provide an accessible services and benefits platform to the entrepreneur with a start up organization. This type of offering will provide a small business the necessary tools to attract and retain quality employees
  • The technology makes it easy to change your personal information or manage your employees data in order to process payroll
  • Their HR compliance tools are very informative and the notifications of law changes are very beneficial
  • The client implementation process is probably the most tedious and time consuming I have been a part of. For our company and others that I have referred to TriNet the implementation process was difficult. Multiple conference calls at an hour each takes up a lot of time. I feel their process can be streamlined into one call possibly two.
  • During open enrollment there seems to be a lot of communication that did not apply to our company and was confusing. Several messages were worded in a way that made me feel like I had missed something and was in jeopardy of losing my coverage. I must have sent my account manager half dozen messages asking him if we needed to address a particular email. He was great and responded quickly however it was frustrating.
I believe for the right company TriNet is an excellent fit. Someone who appreciates technology, the ability to self serve, the large corporate support model. Someone with patience and understanding. If you have a company that doesn't really understand what a PEO is and what they signed up for then I feel TriNet can be overwhelming.
Read Bill Rhodes's full review
March 07, 2018

TriNet Review: "Great for Benefits, but don't use the PTO system."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole organization utilizes it for HR services, benefits and payroll. It really streamlines the process to put all of that into one and it also provides us with great benefits.
  • Their Benefits are top notch. We love the insurance.
  • If you have the right consultant, their HR consulting is great.
  • Their PTO system is horrible. The functionality is very basic.
  • Their IT support for their website is almost lacking completely.
  • It needs to be more customization.
  • Not all of the HR staff is knowledgeable. Our first constulant was horrible, but the one we have now is great.
Their payroll is pretty easy to work with and their benefits are amazing. They need to make the website a little more customization and fix their PTO system.
Read Sandy DiCocco's full review
March 06, 2018

User Review: "TriNet user and consultant."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The TriNet platform is being used for payroll and benefits for all employees in the US and Canada. It allows for both part-time and full-time employees and provides a wide range of benefits at reasonable costs to the company.
  • Wide variety of reasonably priced benefits across the country.
  • Excellent customer service and resolution management.
  • Additional offerings such as assistance with visas and non-typical employee benefits, e.g. marketplace and commuter benefits.
  • Seamless handling of 401(k) with Transamerica.
  • Ability to customize reports without special requests.
  • Lower administrative fees for start-ups with few employees.
TriNet is an excellent choice for young companies in more than one state. It is also helpful in that it can assist, if not replace, a full-time HR person as a company grows to a certain size while providing employee guidelines and handbooks.
Read Joel Adler's full review
March 05, 2018

TriNet Review: "Quick payroll/benefits solution for new businesses, becomes a huge mess as the business grows"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TriNet for payroll, benefits and workers comp. As a small, growing, 100% remote company, we were able to hire employees in many states very quickly and provide them with benefits.
  • TriNet's minimum number of employees is 1. That was key for us as we were just getting started and needed to provide benefits in order to start attracting talent.
  • TriNet keeps clients up to date on regulatory changes.
  • TriNet allows quick hiring of employees in new states. (Quick, but as I found out later, not easy.)
  • Website is unavailable during key payroll review times.
  • No transparency into state filings-- impossible to get state tax records of our own payments.
  • Difficult to get straight answers or explanations from staff.
  • Administrative cost is very high for companies who don't need all included services like HR advising or recruiting.
TriNet is the only option available if you have only one or two employees who need benefits, and it's easy to hire in multiple states quickly-- TriNet's service agreement promises they will take care of state registrations, state taxes, set up workers comp and provide available benefits. However, as a company grows, the administrative cost becomes very expensive. If the company needs to unwind the PEO relationship, it's very difficult to re-register in all applicable states.
Read Jackie Markot's full review
March 02, 2018

"TriNet review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses TriNet. We moved to them for their group benefits option and use payroll services as well.
  • Quality benefits package at very competitive rates
  • Always very responsive to my technical questions
  • Don't currently have their own time keeping option for my employees to use and automatically upload into the payroll software.
Fortune 500 benefit packages for small businesses.
Read Chip Krull's full review
March 02, 2018

TriNet Review: "Payroll & Benefit Program Outstanding"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize TriNet for our US entity employee. Payroll and benefits are fully transacted thru TriNet who administers the US state and federal governances for payroll and benefit reporting functions. This has created such an ease where we have had no knowledge base to build from.
  • Customer Service - Amazing - Always just a phone call away - with a person answering every single time!
  • Benefits Admin
  • Payroll and ease of reporting
  • Ease of Report Access
  • User site can be difficult to use in the initial understanding of where to go to record payroll
  • The need for an administrator to have an employee login seem unneccessay
Payroll and Benefits admin is very well suited
Administrator employee login required seems less suited
Read Laura Wild's full review
March 02, 2018

User Review: "TriNet for the Future"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TriNet to handle our payroll and benefits. We also use the Time & Attendance through NetTime.
  • TriNet is extremely good at making sure support staff is available and knowledgeable.
  • TriNet has kept our health insurance rates down.
  • TriNet does a great job with open enrollment.
  • Employee deductions for items out of the norm are a difficult task. We just try to handle these outside of payroll.
  • The time and attendance module can be a huge problem. Do not use it if you must have accurate information at all times.
TriNet is excellent for our company but can be very pricey for a company with just a handful of employees.
Read Cheryl Staritz's full review
March 01, 2018

TriNet Review: "Very happy customer!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a UK company and TriNet has been a key part of the company's plan in moving to the US market. TriNet is currently used by our US staff and UK managers of that staff and TriNet has helped us get to grips with the expectation of hiring US staff.
  • TriNet's benefits offering to employees are fantastic and gives our employees a range of benefit that our company could not offer alone.
  • The support we received from TriNet on a day to basis has been incredibly useful. My HR Consultant is always on hand to answer my questions.
  • TriNet has done a lot to upgrade their platform, which was very much needed. The current platform is far superior than it was.
TriNet is great if you are a young or small business who cannot offer the benefits and expertise of a larger company, I would certainly recommend it for UK companies moving into the US. Once a company is established and grown it may become suitable to provide the service in-house as you would have more choices of HR software.
Read Victoria Henley's full review
March 01, 2018

User Review: "TriNet - A Realistic View"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TriNet for all our HR related functions, specifically Payroll and Benefits.
  • Provides a robust benefit package for our employees
  • Has a nationwide operation
  • Has designated client service personnel
  • The systems are adequate, not great.
  • Client personnel are constantly changing. We are on our third representative in 26 months.
  • Initial implementation was good, but we found out later that things were missed.
I think it is good for small companies like ours. I am not sure how good it would be at handling more complex organizations.
Read Taryn Howard's full review
June 21, 2018

TriNet Review: "Feedback and Experience"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire organization uses it. It addresses payroll, and benefits.
  • Excellent customer service
  • Good benefit management
  • Good communication
  • Easier and more flexible reporting
It is costly for smaller companies, which is unfortunate since it scales well.
Read Lynne Lipinsky's full review
June 18, 2018

TriNet Review: "The Payroll and Benefits Alternative"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TriNet for payroll and benefits across the whole organization.
  • Timely notices
  • Good benefits options
  • Accurate processing of data
  • Good customer service
  • They fixed the area I had the most complaints with which was reporting. It was dreadful, but in recent months have really improved this.
Great for a small company in need of a good benefits package. The monthly fees are quite pricey for a small company. That's the trade-off.
Read Michael Schiavo's full review
June 15, 2018

User Review: "TriNet for medium sized firms"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the entire organization as our HRIS platform and team.
  • Payroll processing including bonus, commissions, HSA and 401k deductions
  • Benefits administration - plan offering, enrollment, eligibility
  • Customer service and support of any question and/or issue that could arise
  • The old website design was more intuitive to use.
I think TriNet is an excellent way for a small or midsize company to outsource HR and still maintain control over their employment practices as well as stay compliant with the ever-changing laws.
Read Timothy N. Teen's full review
March 13, 2018

Review: "Great Experience with Trinet - both large and small organizations."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We formerly used it at Sencha, starting with Gevity in 2007 when we were 3 people, growing to close to 200 and then back to close to 100 before we sold the company in 2017 - when the purchaser moved to their payroll. Used for all US and CA emps.

I also use Trinet for Alta5 which is a pre-revenue startup with 2 employees.
  • I love that Trinet manages the HR fullstack and all I have to worry about is assuring the $$ is in our account to make payroll.
  • I've found Trinet very responsive to employee issues (benefits, etc.).
  • It can be difficult to get started for very small groups (1-3) and would be nice if you had a specific incubator program.
  • I'm a fan, so I haven't experienced issues that I'd like to see improved.
I like the idea of offloading HR and I've had good experiences with Trinet.
Read Adam Mishcon's full review
March 12, 2018

User Review: "TriNet is great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TriNet is being used by our entire organization for HR support, benefits, and payroll.

  • HR Administration
  • Onboarding of new employees
  • Payroll processing
  • N/A
TriNet enables our company to provide a comprehensive benefits package to our employees.
Read Robert Pavese's full review
March 09, 2018

TriNet Review: "One Stop. One Answer."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It handles payroll and allows us to offer full benefits--very important.
  • Good customers support. You always get to talk to a live person.
  • New website is good.
  • Right number of update emails. Not too much.
  • I needed more information on how payroll changes can be made and what minium pays are in various parts of the country.
The fees are at little higher than I want them but I need the full services of Trinet.
Read Arnold Leitner's full review
March 02, 2018

User Review: "TriNet is Terrific!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a small company and use TriNet accross the whole company for payroll and benefits. TriNet has addressed many issues for us. It has addressed the issue of having employees in multiple states and the administration that causes. TriNet has given us the ability to offer our employees benefits similar to what large companies offer so we can attract top talent and make sure our employees have the best possible health care. It has reduced our workers comp rates.
  • Benefits - TriNet has a huge selection of benefits that are offered to the employees at reasonable rates. They do a wonderful job at the administration of the benefits and offer great training and resources to educate everyone on what is offered.
  • New Hire Process - It is so easy to on board a new employee.
  • Payroll - The payroll entry portal is so quick and easy to use.
  • Support - They have wonderful support for both the company and the employees. I like that they give options to either call or email. The reps are friendly and knowledgeable.
  • Termination - I find the process to terminate an employee a little confusing. It would be nice if they had a video the manager could watch to help walk them through the process.
  • Time Off Dashboard - This is really not a big deal but I wish the time off dashboard would show the available hours instead of the estimated balance.
  • It would be nice if they would rearrange how they show the available time. (Accrued Hours - Taken Hours = Available Hours - Planned Hours = Estimated Balance)
I have already recommended TriNet to others. It is great for smaller companies because it takes away a lot of the administration of payroll and benefits. It helps because it gives us smaller companies an edge so we can market our benefits to attract top talent.
Read Marci Tucker's full review
March 02, 2018

TriNet Review: "Multi-state nonprofit"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the whole organization for payroll and benefits.
  • Nation-wide benefit programs
  • Responsive customer service
  • Website is sometimes slow or doesn't function
Well-suited for multi-state orgs of 50-100 people, where these processes are too much for a non-professional, but the org isn't quite big enough to make it worth doing by an in-house specialist.
Read Lorri Bentch's full review
June 14, 2018

User Review: "TriNet a happy journey"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TriNet is used to provide HR services including payroll management and administration, benefit management and administration, vacation management, etc. Our users access TriNet via the web. For a small company, one of the major benefits is the broad benefit package which has allowed us to attract and retain critical and experienced talent from larger organizations. It is also, for us, a more cost effective alternative than managing these services ourselves.

We have recently recommended TriNet to several others and I understand that one of those companies is proceeding to sign up with them
  • Benefits - TriNet offers a very broad array of employee benefits including health, dental, disability, life insurance, 401-K, and supplemental coverages. The cost per employee is effective and much better than a company of our small size could obtain on our own.
  • Manages continuation of benefits for employees leaving the company.
  • Handles payroll and various state reporting requirements. We have locations in several states and having TriNet manage the state reporting requirements assures it is done properly. When problems arise, TriNet's expert team swings into action and rectifies them.
  • Employee discounts is an area that TriNet could improve. They offer thru TriNet marketplace discounts on purchases such as hotels, car rentals, travel. However, the discounts are very small and we have often been able to do better on our own. We suggest that TriNet better use its combined purchasing power to negotiate discounts on travel (hotel, car rental, airlines) more akin to those realized by large corporations.
  • Issues with health benefits: TriNet has an employee customer service number but they often just defer to the insurance carrier. TriNet should be more proactive in advocating for the employee with the insurance carriers.
TriNet is particularly suited for small startup enterprises, individual and small group LLCs or professional service organizations in addition to mid-size corporations. It can handle international employee locations. The broad and cost-effective benefits programs offered by TriNet allow organizations to attract and retain employees from much larger firms. Working with your TriNet HR associate, the benefits offered can be tailored to the specific needs of the company.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (151)
6.4
Employment history (164)
7.2
Job profiles and administration (159)
5.3
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (195)
7.1
Organizational charting (142)
6.0
Organization and location management (140)
7.3
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (178)
8.7
Pay calculation (253)
9.1
Support for external payroll vendors (5)
8.0
Benefit plan administration (261)
9.0
Direct deposit files (238)
9.6
Salary revision and increment management (211)
8.8
Reimbursement management (121)
7.7
Approval workflow (125)
7.7
Balance details (161)
7.5
Annual carry-forward and encashment (130)
7.5
View and generate pay and benefit information (243)
9.3
Update personal information (248)
8.9
View company policy documentation (221)
7.3
Employee recognition (65)
7.4
View job history (177)
8.0
Tracking of all physical assets (1)
1
Report builder (164)
5.5
Pre-built reports (199)
6.0
Ability to combine HR data with external data (90)
6.8
New hire portal (206)
8.7
Manager tracking tools (113)
7.7
Corporate goal setting (20)
7.0
Individual goal setting (22)
6.4
Line-of sight-visibility (22)
6.3
Performance tracking (22)
6.5
Performance plans (42)
7.1
Performance improvement plans (42)
7.0
Review status tracking (39)
6.8
Review reminders (42)
6.9
Multiple review frequency (3)
7.2
Candidate ranking (1)
8.2
Candidate search (17)
7.3
Candidate development (16)
7.0
Job Requisition Management (20)
7.2
Company Website Posting (1)
5.5
Publish to Social Media (16)
7.2
Job Search Site Posting (20)
6.8
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (1)
9.1
Applicant Tracking (20)
7.0
Notifications and Alerts (22)
7.3

About TriNet

TriNet is an HR solution designed for small and midsized businesses. The vendor says it provides small and midsize businesses with a full-service HR solution so they can free themselves from the complexities of HR and focus on their goals. As their trusted HR business partner, TriNet assumes many of the responsibilities of being an employer and helps these companies contain HR costs, minimize employer-related risks and relieve the administrative burden of HR. It combines TriNet Cloud applications and strategic HR services (benefits, payroll, etc.), bundled for specific industries like life sciences and non-profits. Depending on the package, the online platform can include expense management, applicant tracking, employee learning management, employee performance management, and/or time & attendance tracking.

TriNet services include payroll processing, human capital consulting, employment law compliance and employee benefits, including health insurance, retirement plans and worker's compensation insurance. The proprietary, cloud-based technology platform allows TriNet's clients and their employees to conduct their HR transactions anytime and anywhere.
Categories:  Payroll,  HR Management

TriNet Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Does not have featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle checks
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Does not have featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Does not have featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Does not have featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Does not have featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Does not have featureCreate succession plans/pools
Does not have featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Has featureJob Requisition Management
Does not have featureCompany Website Posting
Has featurePublish to Social Media
Has featureJob Search Site Posting
Does not have featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts

TriNet Video

AeroComputers, Inc. - TriNet Client

TriNet Integrations

TriNet Competitors

ADP TotalSource, Insperity, Paychex PEO, Oasis

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

TriNet Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

TriNet Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android