Skip to main content
TrustRadius
TriNet

TriNet

Overview

What is TriNet?

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR and payroll solutions tailored by industry. TriNet also offers specialized services through client access to HR representatives for advice and notifications on impactful regulatory changes.

Read more
Recent Reviews

It's Been Challenging!

1 out of 10
February 26, 2024
TriNet is our PEO/HRIS system. We use TriNet in almost every aspect of our jobs. We have struggled with TriNet in almost every one of …
Continue reading

TriNet

8 out of 10
February 22, 2024
Incentivized
PEO Partnership with TriNet. Payroll, HR, Workers Comp, Time & Attendance, benefits, Training, labor law compliance, etc, we are …
Continue reading

Optimistic for some improvement.

5 out of 10
February 19, 2024
We use TriNet as our PEO with a scope that includes payroll, employee benefits, time-tracking, among other things. The major business …
Continue reading

TriNet.

10 out of 10
February 12, 2024
Incentivized
TriNet is something I use every day for our company, from processing payroll to updating all employee files. The knowledge center has …
Continue reading

TriNet is awesome!

10 out of 10
February 09, 2024
Incentivized
Benefits, Payroll, Onboarding/Offboarding, Recruitment, Leaves of Absences.

The business problems that the product addresses are …
Continue reading

Review

7 out of 10
February 07, 2024
Incentivized
I use Trinet for multiple purposes, for payroll, for time management and for hiring new employees and on boarding them
Continue reading

TriNet Review

3 out of 10
January 31, 2024
Incentivized
Our primary use is payroll. We are currently evaluating using it for its HRIS features such as; Recruiting, time off, performance …
Continue reading

More 4 Less

10 out of 10
January 31, 2024
HarvestIQ uses TriNet as our one stop shop for people related needs, from payroll to benefits and inclusivity within our organization. As …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 47 features
  • View and generate pay and benefit information (633)
    9.0
    90%
  • Update personal information (647)
    8.3
    83%
  • Pay calculation (646)
    8.1
    81%
  • Benefit plan administration (657)
    7.8
    78%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is TriNet?

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR and payroll solutions tailored by industry. TriNet also offers specialized services through client access to HR representatives for advice and notifications on impactful regulatory changes.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

32 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Gusto?

Gusto offers payroll, benefits and compliance capabilities. Gusto is scaled for small to mid-sized businesses, and emphasizes an easy to use interface.

What is Justworks?

Justworks offers a platform for payroll, benefits, compliance support, with HR tools. As a Professional Employer Organization (PEO), Justworks offers PEO solutions that can bundle payroll, compliance, HR, and benefits under the Justworks umbrella, and help to administer employment-related…

Return to navigation

Features

Human Resource Management

Organizing, tracking and providing instant access to critical employee data, job profiles, transfers, promotions, and benefits information.

6.9
Avg 7.8

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

8.1
Avg 8.0

Leave and Attendance Management

Streamlines communication between HR and employees and facilitates efficient management of employee leave including requisitions, approvals, balance calculation, and annual carry-forward.

6.7
Avg 8.0

Employee Self Service

Employee portal allowing employees to view and update their personal information.

8.1
Avg 8.1

Asset Management

Maintaining a record of assets such as laptops, pagers, cell phones, etc. issued to employees. Record typically includes asset type, number, serial number and date of issuance.

1
Avg 7.8

HR Reporting

Pre-built and custom reports, and integration with external data.

7.4
Avg 7.6

Onboarding

Employee onboarding is the process of orienting new hires to the social and performance aspects of their jobs so that they are able to function in their new roles as quickly as possible.

8
Avg 7.9

Performance and Goals

Goal alignment is the practice of ensuring that all employees have clearly defined goals in support of the overall corporate strategy.

6.5
Avg 8.1

Performance Management

Performance management is the process of ensuring employees meet pre-determined objectives and goals through regular check-ins and appraisals.

7.3
Avg 7.9

Succession Planning

Succession planning is the identification and development of internal employees with the potential to fill key business leadership positions in the company.

7.1
Avg 7.9

Recruiting / ATS

Recruiting or Applicant Tracking Software is software used to manage the recruitment process electronically by handling job postings, applicant status, resume management, etc.

6.6
Avg 7.8
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is TriNet?

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR solutions tailored by industry. The vendor aims to free SMBs from HR complexities by offering access to human capital expertise, benefits, risk mitigation and compliance, payroll and real-time technology. From Main Street to Wall Street, TriNet's goal is to empower SMBs to focus on what matters most—growing their business.

TriNet Features

Human Resource Management Features

  • Supported: Employee demographic data
  • Supported: Employment history
  • Supported: Job profiles and administration
  • Supported: Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
  • Supported: Benefits information
  • Supported: Organizational charting
  • Supported: Organization and location management
  • Supported: Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Off-cycle/On-Demand payment
  • Supported: Payroll history for each employee
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Payroll tracking and auditing
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

  • Supported: Approval workflow
  • Supported: Email notifications
  • Supported: Balance details
  • Supported: Annual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

  • Supported: Employee login
  • Supported: View and generate pay and benefit information
  • Supported: Update personal information
  • Supported: Request time off
  • Supported: View job history
  • Supported: View company policy documentation
  • Supported: View company news and information
  • Supported: Employee recognition

HR Reporting Features

  • Supported: Report builder
  • Supported: Pre-built reports
  • Supported: Ability to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

  • Supported: Performance plans
  • Supported: Performance improvement plans
  • Supported: Review status tracking
  • Supported: Review reminders

Succession Planning Features

  • Supported: Candidate search
  • Supported: Candidate development

Onboarding Features

  • Supported: New hire portal
  • Supported: Manager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

  • Supported: Corporate goal setting
  • Supported: Individual goal setting
  • Supported: Line-of sight-visibility
  • Supported: Performance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

  • Supported: Job Requisition Management
  • Supported: Publish to Social Media
  • Supported: Job Search Site Posting
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Notifications and Alerts

TriNet Competitors

TriNet Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android

Frequently Asked Questions

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR and payroll solutions tailored by industry. TriNet also offers specialized services through client access to HR representatives for advice and notifications on impactful regulatory changes.

ADP TotalSource and OASIS are common alternatives for TriNet.

Reviewers rate View and generate pay and benefit information highest, with a score of 9.

The most common users of TriNet are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(1128)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 688)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our organization uses TriNet as our PEO. As a small nonprofit, TriNet provides a platform solution for our payroll and benefits and compliance and policy support. We've utilized TriNet's support through workforce planning, state and federal leave compliance changes, policy builds, benefits enrollment, and remote I9 verification compliance.
  • TriNet has an expansive repository of resources, which is particularly helpful as a small organization.
  • TriNet provides support for a range of HR functions that allow us to have a go-to support option in one location.
  • TriNet utilizes webinars, newsletters, announcements, and other convenient and accessible avenues to stay up-to-date on the often-changing compliance measures, as well as feature announcements, trainings, and updates.
  • TriNet's customer service has always been respectful but nearly all interactions have had a point where there was follow-up promised and not received and where I'm unable to reach anyone or get a response mid-case. It's common that I'll finally get to someone that can help me, only for them to say they'll email me information. When that information is received, it's missing aspects of my question/need, and it takes several emails (and sometimes weeks/months of repeated follow up) to get the rest of the information needed.
  • TriNet's chat support almost always has to transfer me to another team, oftentimes 2-3 times because a representative transferred incorrectly. This is very frustrating and causes me to have to have longer wait times and repeated questions/explanations to get caught up.
TriNet provides valuable PEO support for our small nonprofit organization. With an "HR Department of One" with a nationwide full remote staff, we rely heavily on TriNet's support in payroll services, onboarding, compliance, benefits administration, training (especially for managers and for DEI initiatives), policy, and many other aspects of HR. We have not utilized the add-on services as a small organization, such as their ATS or performance management system.
February 26, 2024

It's Been Challenging!

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
TriNet is our PEO/HRIS system. We use TriNet in almost every aspect of our jobs. We have struggled with TriNet in almost every one of these aspects. We have also had to create extensive work around for many of the processes in TriNet. Over all I would say TriNet has added an extensive amount of admin time on to my teams plates. We also feel that we have to constantly audit the system as it seems to fail at odd time in odd ways. For instance, a team member takes vacation, it shows paid in the system, but their taken balance shows 0. Or even though we set the system up upon implementation to not allow team members to go into the negative on their leave balances, after over a year they still do. When we bring it up, there is no good explanation or it is indicated that it must some how be our fault. We also have issues with response time, the understaffed leave team, the seemingly understaffed tax team, the time and attendance platform, the training platform, the reports and analytics platform, etc.
  • Compliance
  • Non integrated time and attendance platform
  • Final pay - term process
  • Reports and analytics
  • Fees, so many fees
  • No job costing for multiple locations
I feel like I already went over those in the previous questions. I do like how compliant TriNet is, though I think that does seem to be rather self-serving as well. In my opinion, TriNet seems to take a blanket approach to compliance which ends up costing our company more money than is necessary.
Gretchen Crist | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
TriNet is an excellent partner for small to medium-sized businesses - 10-250+ employees and a company that cannot invest in experienced HR talent. TriNet is a one-stop shop for all your HR operational needs, such as benefits, payroll, recruiting, compliance, employee training, etc. The model is designed to be self-service. They have significantly improved their 24/7 chatbot feature, which can get you answers to most questions quickly. You do, however, have to be comfortable with not being able to have individually customized benefits and programs for your employees. But, TriNet has an expansive list of benefit program designs and providers, and the overall cost is far more effective than going through a broker. I highly recommend it to small to medium-sized businesses.
  • Extensive variety of benefit program plan designs and partners. Something for everyone.
  • One stop shopping for all health and wellness benefits.
  • Continue to add new offerings, such as access to Salary.com at a discount and access to Carta at a discount to manage employee stock programs.
  • On top of compliance by state.
  • Performance Management program functionality is "clunky" and not customizable.
  • You have to submit a ticket for almost every question or use the chatbot feature. Ticket timing turnaround is 24-36 hours.
  • They will not share all information regarding your employees. For example, your employee has a question about their W-2. TriNet will not share employee W-2s with you.
The level of benefits and cost is very attractive for smaller companies, who normally would not be able to offer "big company benefits" if they had to manage each of these benefits directly with a broker or other. Has been a very position employee acquisition and retention feature for our small company of 50 employees. TriNet is not for you if you prefer to customize all of your employee benefits programs and other offerings. TriNet is one approach, and either you can make it work, or it may not be for you.
February 22, 2024

TriNet

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PEO Partnership with TriNet. Payroll, HR, Workers Comp, Time & Attendance, benefits, Training, labor law compliance, etc, we are under-utilizing the program.
  • Time & Attendance weekly Time tracking & Meal Penalty tracking.
  • LOA management.
  • Payroll
  • Time Off
  • Integration with Accounting GL.
  • Time & Attendance Report that cover more than one pay period.
  • HR Specialist support on special cases and enquiry.
Payroll and report are great. We could use more HR support.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use TriNet as our PEO with a scope that includes payroll, employee benefits, time-tracking, among other things. The major business problems that I was hoping TriNet would address as we switched from ADP (please note that we have only been with TriNet for approximately seven months) were skyrocketing health care premiums, employee relations issues, issues of implementation, and assistance with ongoing tax issues that were the fault of ADP and not our organization. When we switched, we were happy to find an absolute bevy of healthcare options that were much more appropriate to our needs at better pricing, but the other issues are ongoing.
  • They are very good at compliance, almost problematically so.
  • The open enrollment and benefits renewal processes are excellent.
  • Their employees are very kind and responsive.
  • The portal is often problematic: time-tracking has little to no flexibility; notifications on the dashboard never. go. away.; getting anything updated or implemented can take forever; and there are a lot of things in the payroll process that make absolutely no sense whatsoever (i.e. not being able to verify, even at an approximation, what the pay for an employee is on their final payroll after termination until the payroll has already been approved and processed.)
  • Administrators are entirely unable to make adjustments to employees in the system without strict oversight by TriNet. It is rather absurd considering that there has to be some amount of shared responsibility there.
  • TriNet reps told us what we wanted to hear in getting us to switch to their service. When we finally did switch, there was not nearly enough onboarding, and a few things that we were told would be possible were, in fact, not possible.
I think there is potential for improvement, and I do believe that they take my feedback seriously, which is really important to me. I've used a lot of PEOs, but this experience has been quite frustrating. The portal is much less clunky than we had with ADP, but it is also (ironically) much less user-friendly in my experience. And for quite awhile after we first switched to TriNet, it was difficult to get any help that led to real action.
Judy Keesecker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Trinet for our payroll processing, Medical and Dental Benefits, 401K, and HR for assistance. I have been with my company for over 4 years and the company has been using Trinet since 2016. The online processing is simple along with the onboarding of new employees. Of all the payroll companies I have used in other jobs this one is simple and straightforward. They answer questions as they arise. Very professional with their clients. Trinet being a PEO company is best to use as the HR laws are cumbersome and keep changing. They have all the tools we need available to use. They take care of the taxes and reporting. Their reports are simple to use and during PPP they had sample reports to use and enter our information. They keep their clients apprised of new laws or changes for HR or Payroll.
  • Payroll processing
  • Communication via email with their clients
  • payroll reports
  • Benefit process
  • onboarding new hire
  • Vacation and sick leave tracking etc
  • To have some reports readily available like SOC
  • Workers comp reporting to have access in the reports
  • Cobra information if former employees opt-in having that information available in the reports section would help
Their platform is simple to use and user-friendly. Administrators have access to employee info which is good. All reports are in the reports section and you can customize the reports to fit your payroll periods and what you want to see on the reports. They have custom reports you can build your own. I have not tried it yet. It can integrate with your accounting software depending on which one you use. Yet it will not work for all clients if they have more than one Chart of account numbers for their payroll in their accounting system. So having that to work for clients on how they break down their payroll in the system would be helpful, for example, expenses. In payroll, it is entered as 1 number, but that one number in the expense report employees submit tends to be broken down to more than one Chart of Account. So that integration with clients' accounting software would not help.
Kristen Albertsen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are an organization of about 50 employees nationwide (~25 states), and TriNet is our PEO (professional employer organization). TriNet manages our payroll, state and federal tax filings, I-9 and W2 reporting; benefits (and acts as insurance broker); handbooks and record keeping. We also leverage TriNet Expense for our expense submission and reimbursement ; TriNet Perform for our annual Performance Reviews, and TriNet Hire for our Applicant Tracking.
  • comprehensive
  • responsive
  • bespoke
  • high quality
  • qualitative / workforce analytics reporting
  • ATS tailoring
  • seamless API integrations
TriNet is well suited to a rapidly growing organization with colleagues in many different states, that needs a comprehensive platform to support a leanly resourced in house HR / payroll / benefits team. As part of their single (base) plan, TriNet offers benefits coverage (including access to large-group insurance rates), comprehensive payroll & tax reporting; workforce analytics; easy on / offboarding, and other additional platforms (expense, perform, etc).
February 12, 2024

TriNet.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
TriNet is something I use every day for our company, from processing payroll to updating all employee files. The knowledge center has amazing resources. We have been able to use the handbook wizard to create our company's handbook and make sure it is very comprehensive. The customer support that we have with TriNet is top-notch. They always are available to assist, and if they don't have the answer, they will reach back out to you. I think every company should invest in this platform.
  • Payroll
  • Handbook wizard.
  • excellent customer service.
  • None
TriNet has assisted with the new company handbook for our company, and not only do they have an amazing handbook wizard, but they also provide us with an HR resource agent who is amazing and available whenever I need assistance. We also have a payroll specialist who can assist with all payroll issues as they arise.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We work with TriNet as our HR system. TriNet makes it easy to stay in compliance when we have employees scattered around the U.S. and different state compliances to be in line with. We also use TriNet to pay our employees as well as capture Time off and Expense reports. The expense reporting is much easier to gather data with and get approvals.
  • Expense Reporting.
  • Compliance.
  • HR Notices.
  • Time Off has been finnicky. Currently, our entire staff shows negative time for sick time accruals.
  • The dashboard can be used in Dark mode, but the accessibility doesn't work in Dark Mode.
  • The UI can be clunky.
Trinet is very well suited to handle a variety of time-consuming HR tasks, making them easier and faster. The Money section works well. The time off section has bugs. Notifications could use some work as there is no way to mark notices as read in the interface and the notification doesn't go away.
February 12, 2024

Thumbs up!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are a small business that uses TriNet for payroll and benefits for our employees. TriNet services make labor management both time and cost effective. TriNet offers a number of HR and benefits tools and features including PTO, health insurance, 401(k) plans, life and disability insurance, etc. The onboarding process is simple and allows a smooth transition for new employees to become engaged.
  • Payroll tracking and auditing, salary revision and increment management
  • Benefit synopsis
  • Providing employee and company reports
  • I would love to have one person to contact (account manager per say) that can point me in the right direction with any issue that arises.
  • Provide client notice of any charges/fees in a reasonable timeframe.
For the most part, TriNet has been responsive to our company's needs as a whole. However, there has been times when no response on certain issues have been addressed. I am still waiting for response on a 401K issue from December.
I would love to have hyperlinks for the different departments within TriNet readily available on the dashboard.
February 09, 2024

TriNet is awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Benefits, Payroll, Onboarding/Offboarding, Recruitment, Leaves of Absences.

The business problems that the product addresses are streamlining our organization's operations, as well as ensuring that we are operating at maximum efficiency. TriNet has been a huge help to us in every single way imaginable from an HR perspective. The PEO model is the way to go in my opinion.
  • Recruitment
  • Benefits
  • Payroll
  • Leaves of Absences
  • Onboarding
  • Offboarding
  • Interface
  • Mobile access
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service
I think that TriNet really adapts to scale. So organizations of any size can utilize it effectively. I think that TriNet will be most effective for small sized businesses, medium sized businesses, and not for profit organizations. The way that TriNet bundles all of its features into one easy to access package is absolutely remarkable.
February 07, 2024

Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Trinet for multiple purposes, for payroll, for time management and for hiring new employees and on boarding them
  • payroll
  • time management
  • HR
  • The staff does not return call on time
  • the time keeping portal glitches a lot
  • the on boarding seems to complicated for some employees
I like that its a one stop shop and you could do everything under one platform. I believe it is very expensive and they don't seem to want to work with the individuals about their payment concerns
February 03, 2024

Honest Review of Trinet

Sue Hemmer, MA, SPHR, SHRM-SCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Trinet is used as a PEO for our organization. We utilize the benefits, performance, hiring, employee, and reporting functions daily. I love the chat because it is real time answers for most questions I have. Trinet allows us to house all of our needs for business within one entity.
  • Benefits
  • Hiring/ATS
  • Basic Reporting
  • Performance
  • Home page or dashboard
  • Response time to some claims
For small business, this is a great platform. But, as the business grows, it may be more advantageous to seek independent benefits, work comp, or other services due to cost.
January 31, 2024

TriNet Review

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our primary use is payroll. We are currently evaluating using it for its HRIS features such as; Recruiting, time off, performance management, document management, onboarding/offboarding...
  • Payroll processing is simple
  • Updates to federal/state/local requirements are conveyed to us via email.
  • Access to webinars and training are good.
  • Customer service from dedicated rep - Responses not timely, unclear responses, no follow up or confirmation from rep. Often times I need to follow up several times on emails. My rep has never picked up the phone when I called, or returned messages I've left. Lack of expertise in my opinion.
  • Text and phone support should be available for basic questions and they should have more knowledge so responses are available quickly. For general questions that I chat in or phone customer service about, they will simply create a ticket that goes back to my rep and then I still have to follow up to try and get assistance.
  • Training (such as performance reviews) should be recorded so that we can rewatch them. If there are concerns about changes affecting the info, there should be several disclaimers explaining that this information can change at any time and that it's highly suggested to watch the video within the next month of the recording date, for example.
From my experience, TriNet is not user friendly or intuitive. In many cases, I feel it is not straightforward and there is a lot of red tape to make simple changes. We are often running into situations when we can't get something to work, due to permissions, which need to be adjusted by TriNet. Simple things like changing the name of a location.
January 31, 2024

More 4 Less

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
HarvestIQ uses TriNet as our one stop shop for people related needs, from payroll to benefits and inclusivity within our organization. As an administrator I touch TriNet everyday.
  • Broad benefits offerings
  • Customer service with real time response
  • Training selections
  • Ability to upload tables and libraries for customized App Integration syncing
  • Podcast for community outreach and human resource channel
  • Career building tools that can help teams highlight and advance their skill sets
I found TriNet's buy in ability to be world class. Their consistency to engage with us without the overbearing pitching was well mannered and timely. TriNet checked all the boxes of why our company needed them.
October 17, 2023

New To TriNet

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are a small startup with a team of around ten employees. TriNet offers incredible support and tools for us to provide to our employees. We are able to get the help we need when we need it. We are also able to understand what is considered competitive in benefit markets. The only downside is the platform is quite expensive compared to others that offer the same or better
  • Benefits
  • Support
  • User-friendly Platform
  • Price
  • not including 401k in the high prices
Prior to me being in my position and managing our TriNet site, the person in my position failed to properly document the relocation of an employee from one state to another. TriNet was very responsive whenever I brought it to their attention to get it handled. However, once they recognised the issue, it took months for the resolution to occur
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it as our HRIS, applicant tracking system, payroll provider, benefits broker, and I'm sure some other things that I can't think of off the top of my head! Our headquarters are located in a different country and our team in the US is small, so we have a limited number of employees on each team. I'm an HR department of one, so having the support of TriNet on the administrative side of things has been great so that I can also focus on the strategic side of my job.
  • Responsive support team, chats are answered quickly and the staff on the phone are easy to work with as well.
  • Payroll is easy, I just have to make sure that time off requests are approved in time, but if they're not they are easily added to the next payroll.
  • They make sure that we stay in compliance with all local, state, and federal laws and ordinances.
  • Building reports is not intuitive, especially the filter features. Most of the time I create a report that has way too much information and I have to go through and delete what I don't need.
  • As an HR professional, it's tough not being able to do some things myself - like adjusting PTO hours if needed. Though I understand that many companies using TriNet may not have anyone in HR or people without a lot of experience, so it is ultimately to protect their clients.
If a company has a small or non-existent HR department, TriNet will be useful since they make sure your business is in compliance with federal, state, and local laws. If you don't have someone dedicated to payroll, they handle it and make it really easy. If you have a small team in general, in particular one that has employees in multiple states, it's great to be part of their benefits since you don't have to worry about only getting one expensive option and/or having to do something convoluted in order to make sure that team members in different states have health benefits that work for them. All employees in any state are offered a variety of coverage options and different price points.
October 02, 2023

All-In-One

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Trinet is used by our organization to run payroll for approx. 18 employees. I frequently use the Chat for Admin questions about handling new hires, terminations, pay codes, etc. <br>However, the one key concern that employees have is understanding what benefits are available to them for their state. These information on their specific/unique coverage, premiums, and deductibles should be available and easy to access.
  • Convenience of all in one service for payroll, benefits, HR
  • Payroll entry is easy
  • I-9 verification is convenient
  • Lower Pricing
  • Communication on Benefits
Trinet is well suited for our company because it takes control of the compliance issues I would have to manage if I were not using a PEO.
It might be less appropriate if we wanted to save money and have an in house HR representative while using payroll software to process pay.
September 30, 2023

Happy we switched to TriNet

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use TriNet for our Payroll, HR and Benefits. We are a smaller company, so being able to use TriNet's benefits selection makes it affordable and work for all the employees. TriNet makes the payroll process seamless!! I had an employee tell me the other day "switching to TriNet was the best thing we could have done". So not only do the managers appreciate TriNet and the solutions they offer, but so do the employees.
  • Payroll - Seamless
  • PTO Tracking - Accurate
  • Benefits - Large Selection
  • None at this time
We had an employee that was having a baby, TriNet walked me though the steps needed for Him to take Leave.
September 23, 2023

Cadillac service provider

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use TriNet for payroll, for benefits, and employment verification.
  • Payroll for multiple states
  • EE onboarding to platform is easy
  • Chat times out too quickly. I'm still typing my Question and I have the orange banner up telling 10 sec left.
  • Better turnaround time on questions. If an item is escalated, forget it. It takes days to weeks to get an answer. (If Chat people know, then all is good)
  • Integrate with our 401K provider, Fidelity, so that process is automated.
Small company who can afford to spend on this service (you're not cheap!). To have payroll and benefits on 1 platform is beneficial to the employee. Really nice when you're dealing with multiple states with different rules and tax rates. I thought there would be more client services when an EE has a question on benefits. Often they're just told to call BCBS, who wants to be on hold with them?
August 17, 2023

TriNet for the Win!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use TriNet for processing payroll and providing benefits to our employees. We also use it for HR functionality. As a very small company with less than 10 employees, TriNet allows us to have the bargaining power of a much larger company and enables us to provide very competitive benefits to our employees. It also allows us to maintain a small team since TriNet can assist in areas where we do not currently have a dedicated team lead - such as for HR.
  • Benefits Administration
  • Assistance with reduction in force and all appropriate state and federal paperwork
  • Ease of processing payroll
  • It is sometimes difficult to find the appropriate report I'd like to run in Workforce Analytics
  • Afterhours support on chat would be very beneficial
TriNet has been a gamechanger for our company. We use TriNet for payroll, benefits, and HR support and it has made things significantly easier for our internal team. Processing payroll is very straight forward and reminders are posted in the platform so there is never a risk of missing the submission. TriNet also engages directly with employees when it is benefits open enrollment time -- our employees then select and register for benefits on their own. The only area I wish we had better support is with after-hours chat support. Some of our team members work outside of the US occasionally, so time zones can be complicated with getting live support.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We utilize many of the solutions and tools TriNet has to offer. The primary use is to manage payroll, benefits, employee relations and compliance. We leverage forms, policies, library for advice and guidance. We have a great business partners supporting us in payroll and HR needs. The support teams are outstanding as well.
  • All things Payroll related are outstanding!
  • Benefit Tools and Annual Enrollment Process
  • Customer Relationship Manager Partnership
  • Performance Management
  • Talent and Organization Assessment
  • Compliance documentation for onboarding and off-boarding employees
  • HR Support Employee Relations
  • Workflow Management, it's very difficult to correct or pull back something once processed
  • Org Chart Reporting
  • Outstanding Client Relationship Management creates a great partnership which is key to successful relationship
  • Top notch payroll tools, management and support
  • Intuitive and user friendly applications
  • Strategic resources available
Krystyna Hales | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are a small remote organization and had been managing all HR, payroll, etc. in house and we outgrew ourselves. TriNet has made managing hiring, exits, payroll, and insurance very smooth as has brought piece of mind that we're with complying with all employment laws across the several states we employ people in.
  • Onboarding/exit management
  • Ensuring compliance with all employment laws
  • Support availability and assistance
  • When we first onboarded we weren't getting responses to our emails which was concerning after we had just signed the contract. Turns out all of our emails were getting blocked/held so that was frustrating. Since then we have had a great experience.
  • To process payroll, you have to create the record in their time keeping portal and then upload it to the payroll system. It would be great to be able to skip that step with the different systems syncing together.
  • We've abandoned the employee review platform as it's never been a smooth experience. We've had issues with: scheduled reviews for a group that launches early or late, not being able to end the group reviews because 1 person has left the company, the platform not being intuition enough to find what we're looking for.
As a smaller organization TriNet has been a great move. It has saved us a LOT of time managing personnel, timesheets, vacation/sick time off; provides historical records and tracking; ensures we're in compliance with all employment laws, for each state we employee people. They provide great support and do their best to assist as quickly as possible.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use TriNet to host our payroll, administer all our benefits, and as an HR Consulting tool to navigate new cases within our team.

TriNet helps streamline our processes for onboarding and new employees.

Their workforce analytics tools help us often when we need to pull reports and is very intuitive
  • Their HR consulting is a great resource for our growing company
  • Their customer service is quick and always professional
  • Their onboarding process for new hires and their mobile app makes it easy to navigate
  • Simple reporting. Pulling reports takes a lot to work- the content is great but often have to call to pull a report
  • They need to expand further than the US and Canada
TriNet is great for mid sized companies such as ours. As we continue to grow, it’ll be harder to scale with TriNet.
Return to navigation