TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/jh/0V/2BCKRRJTQICX.JPEGTriNet PEO is a must for IT providersOutsourced HR for the whole organizationAddresses problems of:1. Lower cost for benefits allowing us to offer more perks to employees2. Automation and management of HR functions and reporting3. HR expertise that I and my other managers lackThis allows us to concentrate our time on functions directly to the business to generate more value,Pricing is excellent. Rather than % of employee salary, like other providers, they charge a fixed fee. This does not discourage me from raising people's salaries (i.e. I don't have to "share" that cost by added costs from Trinet thereby limiting my ability to improve compensation packages. Benefits are incredible. I know from competitors of mine who directly source their own benefits packages and just outsource payroll that we're paying 15-25% less for critical need items like Medical Insurance and can offer benefits like Disability , AD&D, Life that much larger companies than mine cannot afford. This makes me competitive against even the largest and most established providers. Key when you're in a field where competition for top-notch employees is very, very fierce. Sales / Account Management are very experienced, knowledgeable and didn't make me do all the legwork to get the numbers and comparatives I needed to make and accept the business case to switch. And they maintain a relationship going forward which is most helpful.,Auto-generated notifications from the various HR regulatory and enrollment/administrative requirements and updates are frankly impossible to understand. These need to be written in plain English with clear instructions on what exact next steps need to be taken. They also need to be tailored to the right recipients. i.e. many do not apply to companies with less than XX number of employees. The TriNet system should determine that and not send me urgent "must dos" that aren't applicable to me. While I really appreciate having a dedicated HR representative assigned to help me with any payroll, benefits or HR activities, it would be better if that person was trained in the full range and able to take the initiative to walk me through / assist with new activities as are periodically needed to perform. Basically I'm looking for the care and attention I received being onboarded whenever a new function is required (or I have a problem). One major thing I look for in outsourcing this function is a vast reduction in the amount of time I have to spend on it. If I have to research and talk to all sorts of different departments, this does not save me time. The web interface of the TriNet online application is very difficult and cumbersome for: Simply approving/entering Time Off requests; Viewing my invoices and other "reports"; and we won't even talk about Annual Enrollment setup - that was a nightmare!,10,8,8,Positive - Save me and my managers time. Huge impact. Positive - provide highly competitive benefits at affordable costs making my company more attractive to highly desired talent and retain the excellent talent I've already required. A huge boost to employee satisfaction. Positive - improve payroll accuracy, stay withing HR compliance and make sure I'm doing all the right things Negative impact on how easy it is to manage my HR costs from an Accounting Perspective (added a burden to budgeting, payables, bank cash management) and an unease that TriNet really understands and is caring for all the obligations I have with State as well as Federal regulators / gov's for tax reporting.,Happy with TrinetIt is used for the whole organization. TriNet handles all of our HR, payroll, benefits and they interface to our 401k provider. By using TriNet we are able to provide excellent HR services to our employees without having to dedicate staff to that function. Perhaps the biggest problem TriNet addresses for us is the ability to provide excellent benefits to our employees.,Wide selection of medical insurance plans. Our employees appreciate the ability to choose a plan that best fits their situation. Online portal provides all the tools needed for management or for individual employees to access their payroll and benefits information. Trinet has been very good about making sure I always know who to call and are quick to resolve issues and answer questions.,Frankly, the improvements I can think of are very minor and would only be continuing to refine the processes. It would be nice if employees could enter their own payroll hours (vacation, overtime, etc.) so that managers only have to approve each pay period.,9,10,9,We rely on TriNet to keep us compliant with best HR practices. The wide choice of benefits we are able to provide through TriNet has allowed us to retain important employees. The detailed payroll reporting has allowed us to minimize the need for external bookkeeping help.,ADP TotalSourceTriNet helps us to offer competitive benefits and an excellent Human Resources team to our employeesIn my current company, we are using TriNet across the whole organization. It addresses the problem of providing a competitive 401K and benefits offering to our employees, as we are a very small team. It streamlines payroll and taxes and other compliance methods for us, as we do not have a professional human resource manager in house.,Good interface, simple and easy to locate what you need Excellent customer service, having a dedicated client services representative and the helpful employee call line Really excellent benefit plans are available through the TriNet network Having the resources of a termination team, a payroll team, a compliance team, so helpful for every issue that comes up,The reports are kind of clunky, hard to pull, I have to pull 4 different reports to get all of the information I need to make my payroll journal entries each month. Sometimes the reaction time isn't fast enough, it would be helpful to have a resource available later into the evening for emergencies, ie a termination that needs to happen urgently the following day, to get a net check amount, to get help on a difficult and volatile situation. Sometimes, especially when the termination department is in Florida on Eastern Time and we are in Mountain Time, it creates issues when you need help or advisement quickly. It would be awesome if TriNet had an integrated PTO/vacation system. Not an additional vendor who is partnered with TriNet, but a way to have employees track PTO and vacation within the TriNet system, to make an employee exit vacation payout easier to process, and to give the employees more visibility of their available time off in the system they are familiar with.,10,10,9,It has greatly reduced the time I spend processing payroll, onboarding and off boarding employees and takes care of all of the compliance and tax information that I wouldn't even know how to do. We offer an extremely competitive benefits package to our employee's thanks to TriNet. It's simple to get your W2 online each year, instead of waiting for it to come in the mail or wondering if you have the wrong address on file with a former employee.,ADP Enterprise eTIME, When I Work and GustoIt's OkayWe use TriNet to support payroll and tax functions, and to track leave time. We also use TriNet for our benefits program.,Payroll for salaried employees is effortless, we don't have to worry about changing anything. Benefits management is very easy. Onboarding new Employees is fairly simple.,Website is consistently buggy, sometimes crashes during the work day, and new features don't come with training or good manuals to learn the operations. Our company rep is generally uninformed about who he needs to contact for the answers to more detailed HR questions that we rely on you to be able to answer. If we have an outsourcing company to supplement a small in-house HR team, we expect the outsourcing company to provide all of the services that we cannot perform in-house, not give us inaccurate or poorly informed answers, or take so long to answer that we find another source for the information before our TriNet rep gets back to us. Your organizational structure seems very opaque, not just to us but to your employees. I find myself being referred by our client services rep to other TriNet employees/departments for certain tasks, and then having to contact two or three people for those specific issues (such as visas or tax questions), or not being able to get any answer at all (how is the money we pay TriNet broken down into fees for certain services). We ended up having to retain an immigration attorney for visa issues because the TriNet services were so unhelpful. When we rolled out the integrated Vacation and Sick time on our TriNet payroll, the entire process was awful, it took months after we wanted to start for the system to start working, and then there were still errors in how things had been set up that I'm not sure ever really got corrected. This was another instance where we started working with our Client Services rep, only to be referred to someone else to complete the project. This time we had problems because not all of the information I gave to one person was making it to the other person. We have had a few problems with our hourly employees getting paid on time or in correct amounts, I'm not sure if the problem stems from how they are being entered, a system glitch, or something being done incorrectly on the back end. It's incredibly frustrating because typically our hourly employees are interns, and will not be working here for long, we should be paying them consistently and in the correct amount. Also I am not confident that our employees who are international are being paid in the correct tax brackets, we've had that problem in the past and we may very well have it again.,7,5,6,No visible impact on the business.Great ProductTriNet is deployed across the whole US organization. We use the payroll, HR and benefits capabilities. It has been a great tool as we do not have a full time dedicated HR function in the US yet, and helps us manage all the HR responsibilities through a single platform. The support is great between our payroll rep, benefits rep and other the folks we have interacted with at TriNet.,Support Payroll HR assistance Ease of use for our employees,On-boarding process for new hires Allowing the admin a little more capability Reporting,8,10,8,HR compliance Payroll is an easy task Daily HR management,ADP Workforce NowTriNet and Earle Baum CenterWe use TriNet for Payroll and Paid Time off requests/approval and tracking. We run multiple reports for our financial records, track time off, banked time off, expense tracking. Our CEO meets with the HR support person on a regular basis to keep her up to date. We utilize financial and HR support on a regular basis. We work closely with our TriNet representatives on sensitive employee matters.,HR support person is excellent. She is available and understands our business and our business needs. Because we stay in touch, it is easy to review situations going on without having to backtrack. We appreciate that this position is not frequently moved, as our personal relationship really helps us to make a quick decision. The financial support is excellent. They are available and always helpful for quick and more extensive issues. For me (I am fully sighted) the online HR Passport is easy to use and helps me get to information quickly.,Insurance (disability) and other notification are often difficult to understand. Our company has lost our CEO and Finance director in the past year so many things are new to us. If these types of documents came with a link or definition it would be helpful. I love our support people but it seems that they carry such a heavy workload they often don't get back or are available as needed. This seems to have increased at TriNet over the past 15 years I have been with them (over two separate jobs). I'd like TriNet to appreciate what great support their Finance and HR support folks do and try not to overload them. We are still waiting for accessible access to HR Passport for our employees with sight loss. We have offered to have experts test and give feedback.,9,9,6,We do not take advantage of many of the offerings around performance planning for staff, succession, recruiting, onboarding and performance goals, but we are looking into it. We do not use report building but plan to take the class to take advantage. Our HR representative has been instrumental in supporting and advising on employee issues and business objectives.,ADP ResourceTirNet: A Sound PEO ChoiceWe use TriNet across the entire organization to assist in managing our human resources. A major business problem it addresses is giving our employees a good choice of benefits, which was difficult for us to provide as a small company without going to a PEO. Also, TriNet enables us to use them as our HR department, rather than hiring additional staff to manage HR.,The reports module provides excellent payroll reports for accountants to track costs in a number of ways. The hiring process is simple and quick to use to bring a new employee on board. The payroll submission process is straightforward and not time-consuming.,At one point, enrolling employees in the company retirement savings plan was a functionality that was not working properly. I would receive confirmation of enrollment but, in fact, the enrollment had not gone through. I believe that functionality has been repaired. Occasionally, windows have frozen while I've been in the process of inputting data, and I've had to start over. That can be frustrating. Getting information on employee benefits for analysis has not been particularly straightforward to access. I had some trouble setting up a leave of absence for an employee; the questions were not clear, and I had to engage help over the phone.,9,8,9,We used TriNet to upgrade the benefits we could provide employees. We used TriNet to improve our HR compliance; there are too many pitfalls for small companies without an HR dept. We believe employee satisfaction is higher than if we were trying to manage HR and benefits on our own. Before TriNet, complaints about unaffordable benefits were a major issue.,GustoWitFoo ReviewTriNet is our HR platform used for Employee Hiring, administration of benefits, payroll and expenses. Every employee has their own login, but I'm the only administrator.,The platform is easy to use. Benefits are competitive for an SMB. Customer support is very responsive and helpful.,It's clumsy having to switch from the main platform UI to the Expenses module. In the main dashboard, the Benefits selection should provide links to the actual benefits for quick review and sharing with employees/prospects. Notices should go away once employee/admin has acknowledged them. Or there should be a way to dismiss them.,9,10,8,Alleviates the need for us to hire a full-time employee dedicated to HR. Simplifies expense reports and reimbursement Onboarding of new employees is easy once you've done it a couple times.,Insperity PerformSmart and ZenefitsA Happy TriNet CustomerOur company uses TriNet for all our US Employees. We utilize the payroll, benefit and HR services. As a smaller company we have a PEO relationship to help manage benefit costs as well as the ever changing legal and compliance landscape of human resources in the United States. It is important to us that with employees in multiple states we are compliant to all laws and regulations and TriNet helps us do that.,Last year TriNet launched a new website and it has definitely made a difference. It is much easier to navigate the site now and find what you need both as an Admin or an Employee. TriNet also provides a suite of benefits and services that is helpful for small companies with a 1-2 person HR team.,TriNet is always open to hearing our feedback. One area that we would like to see improved is the overlap of a new hire and a pay cycle closing. We have to remember to make sure that an employee gets paid via a special payroll if they started after a pay cycle has already closed.,9,9,9,Positive impact has been around ensuring compliance in multiple states as well as definitely reducing time on administrative tasks.,ADP TotalSource and Paychex FlexTriNet works for CivicActions!We are a completely distributed professional services company with employees in about 20 states. This is a very generous company and we pay 100% of medical and related benefits for our employees and their dependents. As we started growing, the two issues we could easily see spiraling out of control were compliance and costs. We interviewed several PEOs and ultimately decided on TriNet because the medical, etc. insurances were nationwide and there were significant savings on our premiums. As far as compliance, it's hard enough to keep up on requirements in one state, never mind multiple. It would have been impossible. It was difficult at first. As a co-employer, TriNet had requirements of their own which were not a perfect fit with our culture. Adjustments on both sides were required and now things seem to be going smoothly. The people I work with always respond promptly to my questions and help me out when I've made an error. I have little experience with TriNet support but rarely am informed of a problem experienced by one of our team. We have come to rely on TriNet heavily in several areas.,It's difficult because they take care of so many things I never see, e.g., tracking taxes for people in so many different states The customer facing people are very responsive They have considerable expertise with immigration, including providing excellent legal representation.,The beta site was released prematurely and by the time I was forced to use it, I had very low expectations. I like it very much now. It's difficult to find somethings on the new platform for the administrator. Not sure about individuals because I don't go to my own very often. For example, finding where retirement information goes. A case of you can't find it unless you've been there before.,9,9,7,The HR compliance is the big one. Having that on TriNet's plate frees up everyone. We had a payroll service before but I still had to calculate payroll and report it to the service. Having TriNet do payroll is sort of magic.,Positive Experience with TriNet for a Rapidly Growing CompanyTriNet is being used for benefits management and payroll across the entire company. It allows us to outsource our compliance reporting and maintains legal compliance across the many states in which we work.,Human Resources consulting Help desk for user issues and benefits questions Employee visibility to their benefits choices, taxation, pay stubs, and W2 information,Ability to mange payroll changes Process integration across the departments impacting payroll Client communication management,10,7,8,We've been able to re-deploy about 75% of our HR generalist. The self service has reduced the need to produce documentation.,Great HR partner for small organizationsTriNet is used across our small nonprofit organization. It has allowed us to offer a great variety of and better benefits. It also allows us to consult with their experts regarding special or tricky HR situations.,Great payroll processor. We now can view earnings statements and W-2 forms online. It manages our PTO tracking and reporting efficiently. It handles the whole benefits open season very well.,More video-based training available online especially for new HR administrators. I wish it managed 403(b) retirement plans (e.g. TIAA for nonprofits).,9,7,9,Better benefits at the same or lower cost. Professional guidance through tricky HR/personnel situations.,Why You Should Trust TriNet with Your Most Important Resource: Your Employees!We use TriNet as our third party HR and benefits provider. We also process payroll through TriNet. It is a tremendous resource to a one person HR department and provides effective, streamlined management of the overall HR function. TriNet has delivered on its promise of customer service from payroll to HR guidance to technology/portal usage support. Additionally, employees have access to online, email and phone support to answer questions. It has alleviated the substantial day-to-day support that was previously required to support our employees.,Provide guidance on employee discipline and termination challenges Deliver excellent daily support to HR administrators Outstanding employee support resources to provide a smoot and seamless experience,PTO time requests. Would be nice for PTO request emails to go to direct supervisor AND administrator for review and approval.,10,10,10,TriNet has reduced the time spent by internal HR resources considerably. TriNet provides a tremendous employee/user experience through portal, online chat, email and telephone. Always willing to research the "hard to figure" out scenarios and provide feedback/support.In general, a satisfied customerWE USE TRINET FOR PAYROLL ONLY.,Customer service: always get an answer right away. Implantation staff: really well trained. Software: user-friendly.,Insurance: as I have some complaints about the provider. When we have some more intense, precise questions sometimes it takes times to answer. WE HAVE AN EMPLOYEE WITH A TAX ISSUE. IT WAS A TRINET ERROR, THAT SHOULD NOT HAPPEN.,8,8,9,Cost: we were looking at lowering our cost and Trinet did that. As we are not using the HR, that does not affect us but we did not need it. Reporting is good: a lot of reports that we do not need but if we do, they are available.,5 years with TriNetTriNet is our PEO. They manage payroll, benefits, wage, and hour tracking, etc. We have our own internal handbook but do rely on TriNet for HR and labor law guidance. We use the “hire” module and our staff relies on the portal heavily.,Staff portal to enable to staff to track and manage all their wage and benefits matters. Great benefits pricing - beats all our peers, enabling us to deliver high-quality benefits while remaining in budget. HR guidance.,The performance management tool was new and had too many issues a year ago. We’ve had a few admin errors recently, but the team has been attentive in resolving them and working to fix the underlying problem. We wish the HRIS had better APIs to connect it to other systems.,9,7,8,They’ve been transformational around benefits offerings due to the low cost. Allowing us to better recruit and retain staff. As we expand to new cities, TriNet has allowed us to do this quickly and with low administrative cost. Not being able to integrate old HRIS data from pre-TriNet has not been ideal, though it matters less as the years pass.,ADP TotalSource, Insperity ExpensAble, Zenefits and JustworksTriNet - Good for the BasicsTriNet is used across the organization in the USA. We use TriNet for payroll processing and to administer benefits.,Quick response turnaround time from our payroll and benefits representatives Visually easy and intuitive to process payroll using the payroll grid Short wait time for TriNet customer support hotline,TriNet needs to upgrade its software. Their system cannot pick up on retro payment for new hires who start after the last pay run has closed. I have to manually email our payroll rep to include this every single time this happens. There isn't a pre-onboarding process built out for employees to enter in their profile information before their hire date. A lot of other PEOs have this feature. Their reporting tool is not intuitive and outdated. You can only use their standard reports because their report tool is so hard to use.,7,9,7,TriNet has helped us stay in compliance with HR state and federal policies. TriNet has helped us provide our employees with payroll and benefits.,ADP TotalSource, Insperity PerformSmart, Justworks and Workday Human Capital ManagementMore than a payroll companyWe have used TriNet across our whole organization as a PEO since the company's inception in 2001. What we see as an advantage is that TriNet offers payroll, benefits, hr support, etc. as a complete package. We don't have to contract a payroll company and then try to find benefits that will work for our people.,Supportive of our company through several transitions, growth spurts, as well as downsizing. Provides a comfort level that our payroll will happen on a timely and accurate basis. Provides several levels of support based on questions or needs that allow for answers quickly.,We have had a few problems in the area of payroll as it relates to additional deductions such as 401K. It appears to be a timing issue that took a while to resolve. They have limitations on who I can talk to. For example, I would like to sometimes talk directly to a payroll representative for back and forth dialogue, but instead I have to provide details on the issue to my rep and she goes back to payroll. I still have some trouble creating specific reports through passport -- it may be just user error, but it is frustrating.,9,9,7,TriNet has definitely had an impact on the time I spend on payroll.,Paycor and ADP TotalSourceTriNet: Offering Big Benefits to Small CompaniesWe use TriNet for all of our HR and payroll requirements, including healthcare, 401k, and expense reporting. We needed a full cafeteria of services to attract and retain employees, and found TriNet's options equal or superior to alternative suppliers.,Great selection of healthcare plans. The website is clean and easy to navigate. Excellent service. When I have questions, I can email/chat/call and get well-informed answers.,The "Help" function could use a better search engine. I often find myself calling the helpline because I can't find an answer using the search function. 401k investment options are way too restrictive. Alternatively, setting up a self-directed investment account is complex and confusing.,10,10,9,The ability to offer attractive benefits. TriNet is a huge time saver. We spend very little time managing payroll and HR functions. TriNet allows me to remain focused on running my business. They handle the HR stuff.,Great for a Small CompanyTriNet is our HR department. We use them for payroll, benefits and all related HR needs.,Accurate and on time payroll Great range of benefit offerings Responsiveness to questions or issues,Better push information about benefits Maintain competitive pricing,10,10,9,Payroll is on time and accurate PTO tracking is simple and straight forward,ADP Enterprise eTIME and Paychex FlexTriNet Was the Right Fit for SMITHI wanted to outsource my HR functions and provide more robust benefits options to my employees. I have employees all over the world and I needed a partner that could help me in multiple locations. TriNet was able to meet my goals and I have been very pleased with both their service and their responsiveness.,Keeping my company in compliance across multiple states is important for the company's reputation Providing quick responses to important HR questions allows me to respond to current and potential employees I appreciate the yearly review to look at ways things can be improved and to have an overall view of the services that are available,Would like to see some integration of time reporting with DCAA More robust international offerings,10,9,10,TriNet allowed me to focus on my core business and not HR issues I believe that SMITH can grow with TriNet as they will be able to assist me with our changing needs,,2,1,Payroll Benefits Responsiveness to questions or issues,We are able to offer more robust benefits that are common in larger companies Employees have a portal for answering their questions so that they can resolve things on their own Payroll is always on time and accurate,Plans to implement review process Leverage training that is available,9,ClearCompanyMy Client Rep Makes TriNet EasyI use TriNet to handle all my HR needs in payroll and insurance. Including my 401K.,My rep assigned to me always gets me an answer to all my questions. I know my taxes on my payroll are always paid. My 401k plans are handled properly and legally.,The platform reports are hard to use. I would like a lesson on just how to use all of the reports. A book on the use of the reports. Getting answers from their IT department is not always fast.,8,10,6,Payroll is always accurate. 401k is always accurate.TriNet is almost perfectTriNet is used as the payroll/HRIS system at the company I am consulting for. The main issue is that it doesn't have the capability to onboard international employees, so SuitePeople must be used alongside as the "voice of truth" for company-wide demographics,The platform is easy to use -- employees rarely have questions about where to find personal documents. It limits the time HR has to train or retrain employees. Customer service -- fairly easy to get responses when we have a question or concern about an issue. Advise on legal issues -- limits the time we need to bring our employment lawyers in for LOA and FMLA cases. Nice to have another opinion if we do.,The capability to pull international employees in. A chat window on trinet.com to get help during the day for quick questions.,8,9,8,The ability to deal with LOA/Short and Long term disability. TriNet helps with benefits questions -- we don't have to deal with specific questions around medical plans Allows employees a lot of flexibility to make changes,ADP Health Compliance, Zenefits and Deloitte ConsultingTriNet supplies a full range of products and services to accomodate all size companies.We specifically use Trinet for payroll and benefits. The Health Benefits and the additional items such as Vision, Dental and the option to start a 401K were important factors as to why we chose Trinet. As a small company, it is hard to find Health Benefits at reasonable prices. We also like the one-stop shopping aspect.,Trinet has a great accessible online product. I like the fact that I can enter my own information to onboard employees, process payroll and be able to access all aspects of it at any time. Trinet assigns you a representative that can answer any and all of your questions and our representative has always been accessible and if not she calls you right back. You do not get switched around to multiple people for different questions. Trinet offers an array of products for your employees as well as workers compensation for the company. Being able to manage all of these products along with payroll is a huge plus for us.,Choosing benefits each year for our company is a bit confusing the way you have to go about it. I would like to see a more streamlined solution. Reports for upcoming payroll cannot be accessed until after the pay date. I would like to have the invoice and the backup reports accessible once you have finalized payroll so when I receive the email on how much you will deduct from our account I can also see the backup to assure everything is correct.,9,10,9,TriNet has had a positive impact on the amount of administrative time spent handling payroll, taxes, benefits and workers comp. The employees are happy with their choices in benefits and when the employees are happy, we are happy.,TriNet - Best in Class PEOTriNet is our trusted business advisor for payroll and HR and provides all of your payroll and HR support services including benefits administration.,TriNet has a very strong HR function. TriNet's website makes benefits open enrollment easier for our employees. TriNet's HR contact has deep expertise to handle complex HR issues.,TriNet's reporting tools need to be easier to use. TriNet's benefit/costs need to be more competitive. Their HR contact is great, but their customer service reps need more training and experience.,10,7,8,TriNet provides HR compliance that would be cost prohibitive and complex to do internally. TriNet provides Fortune 500 level benefits packages that otherwise would be unavailable to small companies. TriNet is the employer of record for payroll.,,25,1,Payroll processing Benefits administration HR policies,TriNet gives us flexibility in hiring Canadian citizens TriNet offers a variety of benefit packages TriNet helps us manage our workers comp costs,Performance management Training Additional HR support,10,Webex Meetings, Microsoft 365 Business, Skype for Business (formerly Lync),No,Price Product Features Product Usability,A more detailed review of how payroll taxes are handled as it varies by PEO,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was minimal,Standard change/understand of a new system and process Ability to get reports Training employees,10,No,Yes,Yes, TriNet has on numerous occasions provided outstanding HR support to handle challenging employee issues,Benefits enrollment Payroll entry Overall functionality,Custom reporting Some canned reports Finding training results,YesMostly positive and some negative experience with TriNetTriNet is being used by our small company (2 employees total) primarily for access to health insurance. It is cheaper for us to receive health insurance through TriNet than through the healthcare exchange. Also, we receive better health insurance going through TriNet than the healthcare exchange. The healthcare exchange in Arizona only gave us one insurance company to choose from.,Providing very good health insurance. Fast response to support questions. Lots of reporting options.,Difficult/complicated to manage payroll/W2 reporting in boxes. Expensive for a very small company. Did not make it clear to me that I had to change/manage payroll/W2 reporting in boxes. I sent emails but nothing was revised.,9,7,7,Positive is that TriNet has enabled us to have good health insurance. Negative is that the costs are high. Big Negative is that health insurance premiums were not placed in the correct W2 box. Since we are taxed as an S-Corp they need to be in Box 14 not Box 12a. This could have a very big financial cost to us.,
Unspecified
TriNet
613 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TriNet Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TriNet
613 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 613 vetted TriNet reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 384)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Catherine Baird profile photo
June 07, 2019

User Review: "TriNet PEO is a must for IT providers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Outsourced HR for the whole organization
Addresses problems of:
1. Lower cost for benefits allowing us to offer more perks to employees
2. Automation and management of HR functions and reporting
3. HR expertise that I and my other managers lack
This allows us to concentrate our time on functions directly to the business to generate more value
  • Pricing is excellent. Rather than % of employee salary, like other providers, they charge a fixed fee. This does not discourage me from raising people's salaries (i.e. I don't have to "share" that cost by added costs from Trinet thereby limiting my ability to improve compensation packages.
  • Benefits are incredible. I know from competitors of mine who directly source their own benefits packages and just outsource payroll that we're paying 15-25% less for critical need items like Medical Insurance and can offer benefits like Disability , AD&D, Life that much larger companies than mine cannot afford. This makes me competitive against even the largest and most established providers. Key when you're in a field where competition for top-notch employees is very, very fierce.
  • Sales / Account Management are very experienced, knowledgeable and didn't make me do all the legwork to get the numbers and comparatives I needed to make and accept the business case to switch. And they maintain a relationship going forward which is most helpful.
  • Auto-generated notifications from the various HR regulatory and enrollment/administrative requirements and updates are frankly impossible to understand. These need to be written in plain English with clear instructions on what exact next steps need to be taken.
  • They also need to be tailored to the right recipients. i.e. many do not apply to companies with less than XX number of employees. The TriNet system should determine that and not send me urgent "must dos" that aren't applicable to me.
  • While I really appreciate having a dedicated HR representative assigned to help me with any payroll, benefits or HR activities, it would be better if that person was trained in the full range and able to take the initiative to walk me through / assist with new activities as are periodically needed to perform. Basically I'm looking for the care and attention I received being onboarded whenever a new function is required (or I have a problem). One major thing I look for in outsourcing this function is a vast reduction in the amount of time I have to spend on it. If I have to research and talk to all sorts of different departments, this does not save me time.
  • The web interface of the TriNet online application is very difficult and cumbersome for: Simply approving/entering Time Off requests; Viewing my invoices and other "reports"; and we won't even talk about Annual Enrollment setup - that was a nightmare!
I honestly think the only scenarios where TriNet is not well suited would be those with large numbers of low-paid (hourly, non-exempt) W-2 employees -- retail, hotel staff, etc. Or if the employer for some reason cannot co-employ their staff with a PEO. Otherwise it's a better solution than having internal HR across the board for any Professional Services / Information Worker / established companies.
Read Catherine Baird's full review
Ken Owens profile photo
May 27, 2019

User Review: "Happy with Trinet"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for the whole organization. TriNet handles all of our HR, payroll, benefits and they interface to our 401k provider. By using TriNet we are able to provide excellent HR services to our employees without having to dedicate staff to that function. Perhaps the biggest problem TriNet addresses for us is the ability to provide excellent benefits to our employees.
  • Wide selection of medical insurance plans. Our employees appreciate the ability to choose a plan that best fits their situation.
  • Online portal provides all the tools needed for management or for individual employees to access their payroll and benefits information.
  • Trinet has been very good about making sure I always know who to call and are quick to resolve issues and answer questions.
  • Frankly, the improvements I can think of are very minor and would only be continuing to refine the processes.
  • It would be nice if employees could enter their own payroll hours (vacation, overtime, etc.) so that managers only have to approve each pay period.
TriNet is an excellent solution for small to mid-sized businesses and takes most of the HR worry out of running the business to allow us to focus on the products and customers that make us successful. For us, the biggest advantage is to be able to offer benefits that are as good or better than large companies.
Read Ken Owens's full review
Julia Eiszner profile photo
May 23, 2019

Review: "TriNet helps us to offer competitive benefits and an excellent Human Resources team to our employees"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my current company, we are using TriNet across the whole organization. It addresses the problem of providing a competitive 401K and benefits offering to our employees, as we are a very small team. It streamlines payroll and taxes and other compliance methods for us, as we do not have a professional human resource manager in house.
  • Good interface, simple and easy to locate what you need
  • Excellent customer service, having a dedicated client services representative and the helpful employee call line
  • Really excellent benefit plans are available through the TriNet network
  • Having the resources of a termination team, a payroll team, a compliance team, so helpful for every issue that comes up
  • The reports are kind of clunky, hard to pull, I have to pull 4 different reports to get all of the information I need to make my payroll journal entries each month.
  • Sometimes the reaction time isn't fast enough, it would be helpful to have a resource available later into the evening for emergencies, ie a termination that needs to happen urgently the following day, to get a net check amount, to get help on a difficult and volatile situation. Sometimes, especially when the termination department is in Florida on Eastern Time and we are in Mountain Time, it creates issues when you need help or advisement quickly.
  • It would be awesome if TriNet had an integrated PTO/vacation system. Not an additional vendor who is partnered with TriNet, but a way to have employees track PTO and vacation within the TriNet system, to make an employee exit vacation payout easier to process, and to give the employees more visibility of their available time off in the system they are familiar with.
I have had the most excellent assistance and advisement from my client services representatives and always receive excellent help even when my own representative is unavailable. It is really simple to onboard new employees. It isn't the most well suited to urgent HR situations. If you need someone to come up with a net check amount or help with a separation agreement or a volatile employee, it's not always possible to get help right away. Which is totally understandable, but also sometimes problematic, since I think we depend on TriNet for HR advisement and do not have an experienced person in-house. Sometimes I get questions from people who are still in the hiring process about the benefit packages that would be available to them if they accept our offer. There are not many resources to provide to candidates who want to see their benefit options if they are not yet an active employee with the open enrollment module.
Read Julia Eiszner's full review
Sarah Gentile profile photo
May 23, 2019

TriNet Review: "It's Okay"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TriNet to support payroll and tax functions, and to track leave time. We also use TriNet for our benefits program.
  • Payroll for salaried employees is effortless, we don't have to worry about changing anything.
  • Benefits management is very easy.
  • Onboarding new Employees is fairly simple.
  • Website is consistently buggy, sometimes crashes during the work day, and new features don't come with training or good manuals to learn the operations.
  • Our company rep is generally uninformed about who he needs to contact for the answers to more detailed HR questions that we rely on you to be able to answer. If we have an outsourcing company to supplement a small in-house HR team, we expect the outsourcing company to provide all of the services that we cannot perform in-house, not give us inaccurate or poorly informed answers, or take so long to answer that we find another source for the information before our TriNet rep gets back to us.
  • Your organizational structure seems very opaque, not just to us but to your employees. I find myself being referred by our client services rep to other TriNet employees/departments for certain tasks, and then having to contact two or three people for those specific issues (such as visas or tax questions), or not being able to get any answer at all (how is the money we pay TriNet broken down into fees for certain services). We ended up having to retain an immigration attorney for visa issues because the TriNet services were so unhelpful.
  • When we rolled out the integrated Vacation and Sick time on our TriNet payroll, the entire process was awful, it took months after we wanted to start for the system to start working, and then there were still errors in how things had been set up that I'm not sure ever really got corrected. This was another instance where we started working with our Client Services rep, only to be referred to someone else to complete the project. This time we had problems because not all of the information I gave to one person was making it to the other person.
  • We have had a few problems with our hourly employees getting paid on time or in correct amounts, I'm not sure if the problem stems from how they are being entered, a system glitch, or something being done incorrectly on the back end. It's incredibly frustrating because typically our hourly employees are interns, and will not be working here for long, we should be paying them consistently and in the correct amount. Also I am not confident that our employees who are international are being paid in the correct tax brackets, we've had that problem in the past and we may very well have it again.
For a small business that does little business overseas and doesn't hire outside the US much TriNet is a great resource. There are a lot of problems with anything more complex or that goes beyond basic HR functions.
Read Sarah Gentile's full review
Karan Bathija profile photo
June 01, 2019

TriNet Review: "Great Product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TriNet is deployed across the whole US organization. We use the payroll, HR and benefits capabilities. It has been a great tool as we do not have a full time dedicated HR function in the US yet, and helps us manage all the HR responsibilities through a single platform. The support is great between our payroll rep, benefits rep and other the folks we have interacted with at TriNet.
  • Support
  • Payroll
  • HR assistance
  • Ease of use for our employees
  • On-boarding process for new hires
  • Allowing the admin a little more capability
  • Reporting
Payroll and daily HR management

It is tough to provide severance because TriNet deactivates direct deposit of terminated employees and then a check is sent to the company without any notice.
Read Karan Bathija's full review
Kati Aho profile photo
May 29, 2019

User Review: "TriNet and Earle Baum Center"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TriNet for Payroll and Paid Time off requests/approval and tracking. We run multiple reports for our financial records, track time off, banked time off, expense tracking. Our CEO meets with the HR support person on a regular basis to keep her up to date. We utilize financial and HR support on a regular basis. We work closely with our TriNet representatives on sensitive employee matters.
  • HR support person is excellent. She is available and understands our business and our business needs. Because we stay in touch, it is easy to review situations going on without having to backtrack. We appreciate that this position is not frequently moved, as our personal relationship really helps us to make a quick decision.
  • The financial support is excellent. They are available and always helpful for quick and more extensive issues.
  • For me (I am fully sighted) the online HR Passport is easy to use and helps me get to information quickly.
  • Insurance (disability) and other notification are often difficult to understand. Our company has lost our CEO and Finance director in the past year so many things are new to us. If these types of documents came with a link or definition it would be helpful.
  • I love our support people but it seems that they carry such a heavy workload they often don't get back or are available as needed. This seems to have increased at TriNet over the past 15 years I have been with them (over two separate jobs). I'd like TriNet to appreciate what great support their Finance and HR support folks do and try not to overload them.
  • We are still waiting for accessible access to HR Passport for our employees with sight loss. We have offered to have experts test and give feedback.
Love the support from our HR and Finance support. The help desk is also good and I am happy to recommend them to our staff. The availability of insurance (Medical, Vision and Dental) for our staff is highly valued for a small business like ours (16 FTE employees).
Read Kati Aho's full review
Linda Ashfield profile photo
May 27, 2019

TriNet Review: "TirNet: A Sound PEO Choice"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TriNet across the entire organization to assist in managing our human resources. A major business problem it addresses is giving our employees a good choice of benefits, which was difficult for us to provide as a small company without going to a PEO. Also, TriNet enables us to use them as our HR department, rather than hiring additional staff to manage HR.
  • The reports module provides excellent payroll reports for accountants to track costs in a number of ways.
  • The hiring process is simple and quick to use to bring a new employee on board.
  • The payroll submission process is straightforward and not time-consuming.
  • At one point, enrolling employees in the company retirement savings plan was a functionality that was not working properly. I would receive confirmation of enrollment but, in fact, the enrollment had not gone through. I believe that functionality has been repaired.
  • Occasionally, windows have frozen while I've been in the process of inputting data, and I've had to start over. That can be frustrating.
  • Getting information on employee benefits for analysis has not been particularly straightforward to access.
  • I had some trouble setting up a leave of absence for an employee; the questions were not clear, and I had to engage help over the phone.
TriNet is excellent for small companies for whom having their own HR department is not cost-effective, and for whom accessing good benefits for their employees is difficult. TriNet's fees are high, however, and could be a burden for some small organizations. In addition to the company in which I currently use TriNet, in a prior position in a non-profit it was a good solution for them, because it provided a professional level of services difficult for non-profits to obtain elsewhere.
Read Linda Ashfield's full review
Tim Bradford profile photo
May 27, 2019

TriNet: "WitFoo Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TriNet is our HR platform used for Employee Hiring, administration of benefits, payroll and expenses. Every employee has their own login, but I'm the only administrator.
  • The platform is easy to use.
  • Benefits are competitive for an SMB.
  • Customer support is very responsive and helpful.
  • It's clumsy having to switch from the main platform UI to the Expenses module.
  • In the main dashboard, the Benefits selection should provide links to the actual benefits for quick review and sharing with employees/prospects.
  • Notices should go away once employee/admin has acknowledged them. Or there should be a way to dismiss them.
TriNet is a great HR platform for any SMB seeking competitive benefits. We do not have the budget to staff a full time employee dedicated to HR. TriNet simplifies the process of onboarding new employees, explaining and delivering benefits. Easy admin and employee access to pertinent information. I believe even larger organizations could benefit from TriNet.
Read Tim Bradford's full review
Kari Kidwell profile photo
January 29, 2019

User Review: "A Happy TriNet Customer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses TriNet for all our US Employees. We utilize the payroll, benefit and HR services. As a smaller company we have a PEO relationship to help manage benefit costs as well as the ever changing legal and compliance landscape of human resources in the United States. It is important to us that with employees in multiple states we are compliant to all laws and regulations and TriNet helps us do that.
  • Last year TriNet launched a new website and it has definitely made a difference. It is much easier to navigate the site now and find what you need both as an Admin or an Employee.
  • TriNet also provides a suite of benefits and services that is helpful for small companies with a 1-2 person HR team.
  • TriNet is always open to hearing our feedback. One area that we would like to see improved is the overlap of a new hire and a pay cycle closing. We have to remember to make sure that an employee gets paid via a special payroll if they started after a pay cycle has already closed.
As I mentioned before, I think that TriNet provides a number of benefits to small companies who want to be as competitive with large companies as they can. Better benefits for small companies through the PEO relationship, compliance support for companies with employees in multiple states, an advisor to ensure compliance around hiring and firing and an endless number of reports.
Read Kari Kidwell's full review
Judy Raiten profile photo
January 29, 2019

User Review: "TriNet works for CivicActions!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a completely distributed professional services company with employees in about 20 states. This is a very generous company and we pay 100% of medical and related benefits for our employees and their dependents. As we started growing, the two issues we could easily see spiraling out of control were compliance and costs. We interviewed several PEOs and ultimately decided on TriNet because the medical, etc. insurances were nationwide and there were significant savings on our premiums. As far as compliance, it's hard enough to keep up on requirements in one state, never mind multiple. It would have been impossible.

It was difficult at first. As a co-employer, TriNet had requirements of their own which were not a perfect fit with our culture. Adjustments on both sides were required and now things seem to be going smoothly. The people I work with always respond promptly to my questions and help me out when I've made an error. I have little experience with TriNet support but rarely am informed of a problem experienced by one of our team. We have come to rely on TriNet heavily in several areas.
  • It's difficult because they take care of so many things I never see, e.g., tracking taxes for people in so many different states
  • The customer facing people are very responsive
  • They have considerable expertise with immigration, including providing excellent legal representation.
  • The beta site was released prematurely and by the time I was forced to use it, I had very low expectations. I like it very much now.
  • It's difficult to find somethings on the new platform for the administrator. Not sure about individuals because I don't go to my own very often. For example, finding where retirement information goes. A case of you can't find it unless you've been there before.
It's perfect for a company that is too small to have departments for every function. I can't remember how many employees we had when we started with TriNet - I think about 40. We are 60 now. I anticipate TriNet fulfilling more and more of our needs as we continue to grow.
Read Judy Raiten's full review
JULIE HASTRUP profile photo
May 21, 2019

Review: "Positive Experience with TriNet for a Rapidly Growing Company"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TriNet is being used for benefits management and payroll across the entire company. It allows us to outsource our compliance reporting and maintains legal compliance across the many states in which we work.
  • Human Resources consulting
  • Help desk for user issues and benefits questions
  • Employee visibility to their benefits choices, taxation, pay stubs, and W2 information
  • Ability to mange payroll changes
  • Process integration across the departments impacting payroll
  • Client communication management
Well suited to a multi-state, distributed workforce run by a lean operational team.
Read JULIE HASTRUP's full review
Katie Tremper profile photo
May 21, 2019

TriNet Review: "Great HR partner for small organizations"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TriNet is used across our small nonprofit organization. It has allowed us to offer a great variety of and better benefits. It also allows us to consult with their experts regarding special or tricky HR situations.
  • Great payroll processor. We now can view earnings statements and W-2 forms online.
  • It manages our PTO tracking and reporting efficiently.
  • It handles the whole benefits open season very well.
  • More video-based training available online especially for new HR administrators.
  • I wish it managed 403(b) retirement plans (e.g. TIAA for nonprofits).
I've now worked for 2 small nonprofits (fewer than 20 staff) that use TriNet to handle payroll, benefits, and provide HR advice. In fact, I liked it so much with the first organization, I recommended it in my leadership role for my current org, and we implemented it 2 years ago. It makes so many aspects of HR administration easier and more efficient for small organizations and allows us to purchase much better benefits for the same cost to the organization.
Read Katie Tremper's full review
Chris Cassino profile photo
May 17, 2019

Review: "Why You Should Trust TriNet with Your Most Important Resource: Your Employees!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TriNet as our third party HR and benefits provider. We also process payroll through TriNet. It is a tremendous resource to a one person HR department and provides effective, streamlined management of the overall HR function. TriNet has delivered on its promise of customer service from payroll to HR guidance to technology/portal usage support. Additionally, employees have access to online, email and phone support to answer questions. It has alleviated the substantial day-to-day support that was previously required to support our employees.
  • Provide guidance on employee discipline and termination challenges
  • Deliver excellent daily support to HR administrators
  • Outstanding employee support resources to provide a smoot and seamless experience
  • PTO time requests. Would be nice for PTO request emails to go to direct supervisor AND administrator for review and approval.
TriNet is well-suited to provide the needed support to administrators and employees across the company on any/all matters related to human resources.
Specifically:
1. Defining risk on employee discipline and termination.
2. Support of Leave of Absence (childbirth) process and explanation and direct interaction with employees.
3. Alleviating the daily support requirements normally required of in-house HR team.

I have not experienced any circumstances where TriNet was unable to properly assist me.
Read Chris Cassino's full review
Lise Babin profile photo
April 27, 2019

TriNet Review: "In general, a satisfied customer"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WE USE TRINET FOR PAYROLL ONLY.
  • Customer service: always get an answer right away.
  • Implantation staff: really well trained.
  • Software: user-friendly.
  • Insurance: as I have some complaints about the provider.
  • When we have some more intense, precise questions sometimes it takes times to answer.
  • WE HAVE AN EMPLOYEE WITH A TAX ISSUE. IT WAS A TRINET ERROR, THAT SHOULD NOT HAPPEN.
The implantation staff was really good, the platform is user-friendly.
Read Lise Babin's full review
Michael FranciscoMcGuire profile photo
April 27, 2019

User Review: "5 years with TriNet"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TriNet is our PEO. They manage payroll, benefits, wage, and hour tracking, etc. We have our own internal handbook but do rely on TriNet for HR and labor law guidance. We use the “hire” module and our staff relies on the portal heavily.
  • Staff portal to enable to staff to track and manage all their wage and benefits matters.
  • Great benefits pricing - beats all our peers, enabling us to deliver high-quality benefits while remaining in budget.
  • HR guidance.
  • The performance management tool was new and had too many issues a year ago.
  • We’ve had a few admin errors recently, but the team has been attentive in resolving them and working to fix the underlying problem.
  • We wish the HRIS had better APIs to connect it to other systems.
Anyone looking to lower their cost of benefits for staff should take a look. Obviously, it depends on the profile of your employees/risk exposure, but they continue to beat other competitors in this regard.
Read Michael FranciscoMcGuire's full review
Jennifer Phan profile photo
April 22, 2019

User Review: "TriNet - Good for the Basics"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TriNet is used across the organization in the USA. We use TriNet for payroll processing and to administer benefits.
  • Quick response turnaround time from our payroll and benefits representatives
  • Visually easy and intuitive to process payroll using the payroll grid
  • Short wait time for TriNet customer support hotline
  • TriNet needs to upgrade its software. Their system cannot pick up on retro payment for new hires who start after the last pay run has closed. I have to manually email our payroll rep to include this every single time this happens.
  • There isn't a pre-onboarding process built out for employees to enter in their profile information before their hire date. A lot of other PEOs have this feature.
  • Their reporting tool is not intuitive and outdated. You can only use their standard reports because their report tool is so hard to use.
TriNet is well suited for small companies (1-250 employees) because they can provide basic needs such as payroll and benefits. They may not be the best option for bigger companies because they are missing features that are "nice to have" such as trainings and pre-onboarding tools.
Read Jennifer Phan's full review
Bettyann Hale profile photo
April 20, 2019

TriNet Review: "More than a payroll company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used TriNet across our whole organization as a PEO since the company's inception in 2001. What we see as an advantage is that TriNet offers payroll, benefits, hr support, etc. as a complete package. We don't have to contract a payroll company and then try to find benefits that will work for our people.
  • Supportive of our company through several transitions, growth spurts, as well as downsizing.
  • Provides a comfort level that our payroll will happen on a timely and accurate basis.
  • Provides several levels of support based on questions or needs that allow for answers quickly.
  • We have had a few problems in the area of payroll as it relates to additional deductions such as 401K. It appears to be a timing issue that took a while to resolve.
  • They have limitations on who I can talk to. For example, I would like to sometimes talk directly to a payroll representative for back and forth dialogue, but instead I have to provide details on the issue to my rep and she goes back to payroll.
  • I still have some trouble creating specific reports through passport -- it may be just user error, but it is frustrating.
To use an old term, TriNet allows for one-stop shopping for payroll and benefits at very reasonable pricing.
Read Bettyann Hale's full review
Chris Quilty profile photo
April 19, 2019

Review: "TriNet: Offering Big Benefits to Small Companies"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TriNet for all of our HR and payroll requirements, including healthcare, 401k, and expense reporting. We needed a full cafeteria of services to attract and retain employees, and found TriNet's options equal or superior to alternative suppliers.
  • Great selection of healthcare plans.
  • The website is clean and easy to navigate.
  • Excellent service. When I have questions, I can email/chat/call and get well-informed answers.
  • The "Help" function could use a better search engine. I often find myself calling the helpline because I can't find an answer using the search function.
  • 401k investment options are way too restrictive. Alternatively, setting up a self-directed investment account is complex and confusing.
TriNet is a great platform for small companies to offer the type of services (healthcare, 401k) that were traditionally only available through larger companies. The setup and administration effort are relatively easy, and TriNet does a good job of keeping me updated on payroll, regulatory issues, etc.
Read Chris Quilty's full review
Frank Muller profile photo
April 18, 2019

TriNet Review: "Great for a Small Company"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TriNet is our HR department. We use them for payroll, benefits and all related HR needs.
  • Accurate and on time payroll
  • Great range of benefit offerings
  • Responsiveness to questions or issues
  • Better push information about benefits
  • Maintain competitive pricing
TriNet has met all my needs as it relates to HR. They are responsive to any questions that I or my team have and they allow me to concentrate on my business rather than regular HR activities.
Read Frank Muller's full review
Frank Muller profile photo
April 17, 2019

User Review: "TriNet Was the Right Fit for SMITH"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I wanted to outsource my HR functions and provide more robust benefits options to my employees. I have employees all over the world and I needed a partner that could help me in multiple locations. TriNet was able to meet my goals and I have been very pleased with both their service and their responsiveness.
  • Keeping my company in compliance across multiple states is important for the company's reputation
  • Providing quick responses to important HR questions allows me to respond to current and potential employees
  • I appreciate the yearly review to look at ways things can be improved and to have an overall view of the services that are available
  • Would like to see some integration of time reporting with DCAA
  • More robust international offerings
For a small business like SMITH, TriNet has met my expectations. My goal was to outsource HR so that I could focus on the core needs of my business. TriNet provides the reporting and tracking needed so that I do not have to worry about compliance. As we grow there are other tools available that SMITH might consider.
Read Frank Muller's full review
Lisa Rappaport profile photo
April 12, 2019

User Review: "My Client Rep Makes TriNet Easy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use TriNet to handle all my HR needs in payroll and insurance. Including my 401K.
  • My rep assigned to me always gets me an answer to all my questions.
  • I know my taxes on my payroll are always paid.
  • My 401k plans are handled properly and legally.
  • The platform reports are hard to use.
  • I would like a lesson on just how to use all of the reports.
  • A book on the use of the reports.
  • Getting answers from their IT department is not always fast.
Any company wanting to have payroll done properly and efficiently.
Read Lisa Rappaport's full review
Chrissy Rothschild Roberts profile photo
March 01, 2019

User Review: "TriNet is almost perfect"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TriNet is used as the payroll/HRIS system at the company I am consulting for. The main issue is that it doesn't have the capability to onboard international employees, so SuitePeople must be used alongside as the "voice of truth" for company-wide demographics
  • The platform is easy to use -- employees rarely have questions about where to find personal documents. It limits the time HR has to train or retrain employees.
  • Customer service -- fairly easy to get responses when we have a question or concern about an issue.
  • Advise on legal issues -- limits the time we need to bring our employment lawyers in for LOA and FMLA cases. Nice to have another opinion if we do.
  • The capability to pull international employees in.
  • A chat window on trinet.com to get help during the day for quick questions.
For small to medium-size companies in the US, it is perfect. For companies with large international presence, it may be cumbersome to use two systems.
Read Chrissy Rothschild Roberts's full review
Paulette Andre profile photo
March 01, 2019

Review: "TriNet supplies a full range of products and services to accomodate all size companies."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We specifically use Trinet for payroll and benefits. The Health Benefits and the additional items such as Vision, Dental and the option to start a 401K were important factors as to why we chose Trinet. As a small company, it is hard to find Health Benefits at reasonable prices. We also like the one-stop shopping aspect.
  • Trinet has a great accessible online product. I like the fact that I can enter my own information to onboard employees, process payroll and be able to access all aspects of it at any time.
  • Trinet assigns you a representative that can answer any and all of your questions and our representative has always been accessible and if not she calls you right back. You do not get switched around to multiple people for different questions.
  • Trinet offers an array of products for your employees as well as workers compensation for the company. Being able to manage all of these products along with payroll is a huge plus for us.
  • Choosing benefits each year for our company is a bit confusing the way you have to go about it. I would like to see a more streamlined solution.
  • Reports for upcoming payroll cannot be accessed until after the pay date. I would like to have the invoice and the backup reports accessible once you have finalized payroll so when I receive the email on how much you will deduct from our account I can also see the backup to assure everything is correct.
Just because of cost, I think Trinet is better suited to the medium to larger companies. For a small company the per person per payroll cost is quite significant. As a smaller company we do not use any of the human resource side but we obviously pay for that in the per person per payroll cost. But because as a smaller company we are able to get a decent cost on Health insurance per employee we are managing to cover the cost of the per person per payroll fee currently.
Read Paulette Andre's full review
David White profile photo
March 01, 2019

User Review: "TriNet - Best in Class PEO"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TriNet is our trusted business advisor for payroll and HR and provides all of your payroll and HR support services including benefits administration.
  • TriNet has a very strong HR function.
  • TriNet's website makes benefits open enrollment easier for our employees.
  • TriNet's HR contact has deep expertise to handle complex HR issues.
  • TriNet's reporting tools need to be easier to use.
  • TriNet's benefit/costs need to be more competitive.
  • Their HR contact is great, but their customer service reps need more training and experience.
TriNet provides a higher level of service than it's competitors.
Read David White's full review
Gary Hart profile photo
March 01, 2019

Review: "Mostly positive and some negative experience with TriNet"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TriNet is being used by our small company (2 employees total) primarily for access to health insurance. It is cheaper for us to receive health insurance through TriNet than through the healthcare exchange. Also, we receive better health insurance going through TriNet than the healthcare exchange. The healthcare exchange in Arizona only gave us one insurance company to choose from.
  • Providing very good health insurance.
  • Fast response to support questions.
  • Lots of reporting options.
  • Difficult/complicated to manage payroll/W2 reporting in boxes.
  • Expensive for a very small company.
  • Did not make it clear to me that I had to change/manage payroll/W2 reporting in boxes. I sent emails but nothing was revised.
Read Gary Hart's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (211)
7.7
Employment history (229)
7.3
Job profiles and administration (221)
7.2
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (273)
7.9
Organizational charting (190)
7.2
Organization and location management (189)
7.4
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (257)
8.2
Pay calculation (364)
8.8
Support for external payroll vendors (5)
8.0
Benefit plan administration (370)
9.0
Direct deposit files (342)
9.2
Salary revision and increment management (292)
8.5
Reimbursement management (172)
8.0
Approval workflow (180)
8.4
Balance details (224)
8.4
Annual carry-forward and encashment (179)
8.9
View and generate pay and benefit information (347)
8.6
Update personal information (355)
8.8
View company policy documentation (300)
8.2
Employee recognition (94)
6.4
View job history (243)
7.6
Tracking of all physical assets (1)
1
Report builder (227)
6.7
Pre-built reports (277)
6.9
Ability to combine HR data with external data (130)
6.5
New hire portal (291)
8.5
Manager tracking tools (164)
7.3
Corporate goal setting (31)
6.9
Individual goal setting (34)
6.9
Line-of sight-visibility (33)
7.3
Performance tracking (33)
7.3
Performance plans (60)
7.4
Performance improvement plans (59)
7.8
Review status tracking (58)
8.0
Review reminders (61)
7.8
Multiple review frequency (3)
7.2
Candidate ranking (1)
8.2
Candidate search (25)
7.0
Candidate development (22)
7.6
Job Requisition Management (26)
7.2
Company Website Posting (1)
5.5
Publish to Social Media (20)
6.8
Job Search Site Posting (26)
7.2
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (1)
9.1
Applicant Tracking (27)
7.1
Notifications and Alerts (31)
7.6

About TriNet

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR solutions tailored by industry. The vendor aims to free SMBs from HR complexities by offering access to human capital expertise, benefits, risk mitigation and compliance, payroll and real-time technology. From Main Street to Wall Street, TriNet's goal is to empower SMBs to focus on what matters most—growing their business.
Categories:  Payroll,  HR Management

TriNet Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Does not have featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle checks
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Does not have featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Does not have featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Does not have featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Does not have featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Does not have featureCreate succession plans/pools
Does not have featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Has featureJob Requisition Management
Does not have featureCompany Website Posting
Has featurePublish to Social Media
Has featureJob Search Site Posting
Does not have featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts

TriNet Video

AeroComputers, Inc. - TriNet Client

TriNet Integrations

TriNet Competitors

ADP TotalSource, Insperity, Paychex PEO, Oasis

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

TriNet Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

TriNet Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android