TriNet Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
813 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 500)

David Sayroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

Try TriNet and you'll have no regrets

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I have recommended TriNet to multiple colleagues over the past 2+ years. I have been tasked with assisting a new implementation for one of my previous clients within the coming months. I potentially have another prospect within 6-12 months as well. The workload it can remove from your daily/weekly task list is likely much higher than most companies (that handle their payroll and benefits in-house) would expect. The referral they offer is also quite a nice bonus.
Read David Sayroo's full review
Devin Schubbe | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Review of TriNet's services for a small investment banking firm

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I guess it really depends on the type of business the person works for, but I would highly recommend TriNet for smaller firms like ours, as they have much more competitive pricing compared to other big PEO names and a great selection of benefits. Also, we like that those we correspond with at TriNet are familiar with our line of work.
Read Devin Schubbe's full review
Kathleen Zero | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Truly Happy with TriNet

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We are very happy with all the services we have with TriNet\. We get calls all the time to change but we feel really comfortable with our benefits and those who assist us.
Read Kathleen Zero's full review
Rebecca Lopez | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2020

TriNet is a must-have

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I have never had an issue with TriNet. Everyone from that company is really helpful and knowledgeable. My team specifically is amazing. Let TriNet handle human resources and payroll for you, you will not regret it.
Read Rebecca Lopez's full review
Selene Benavides | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

TriNet can save you time and money!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is a one-stop source for all HR needs. We do not have a trained HR person in-house but know we can count on TriNet for all personnel issues, benefits, and retirement, transparency, and reporting. In addition, it is helpful to know that TriNet keeps us in compliance with state filings and regulatory requirements with little help from us.
Read Selene Benavides's full review
Annie Erner | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Insurance benefits made easy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I am very happy with what they provide for me. I understand that the offering is more encompassing and as I grow my business, I look forward to increasing usage of other human resource functions that are provided. I recommended TriNet to some family members and friends.
Read Annie Erner's full review
Teresa Bowmar | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Promises not kept!

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If a company is not set up to perform payroll and HR they may consider TriNet. TriNet is very disorganized and costly so a small company starting out would benefit. A manual assembly manufacturer, with a staff of Spanish speakers who are not computer savvy, get the short end of the stick.
Read Teresa Bowmar's full review
Judith Logsdon | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

The Most Viable Management Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

TriNet fits well with a variety of industries. Payroll expertise can be extremely beneficial when a company has a variety of payroll classifications and/or a larger number of employees. From a liability perspective, there would certainly be some industries that TriNet, or any PEO, would most likely not want to contract, but a healthy mix of work comp codes is a positive. The relationship between TriNet and the client company works best when the client company is engaged and recognizes the expertise afforded to them.
Read Judith Logsdon's full review
Robin Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Very Satisfied

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Overall efficiency of processing payroll and reporting. As stated, the termination process is too long. The time to be able to terminate an employee is way too long and the system to do it is not very clear.
Read Robin Silva's full review
Kimberly Schick | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

TriNet Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We have used TriNet for almost 15 years and we have grown with them. They keep the benefits pricing down so our employees have better choices to pick from.
Read Kimberly Schick's full review
LEE SMITH | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

TriNet Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

TriNet is suited to those medium-sized companies that want a full-service payroll and human resource provider.
The price point may be an issue for some smaller companies that are doing without and will continue to do without.
Read LEE SMITH's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

Excellent combined HR & benefits management solution for our growing business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

TriNet is well suited for a company that has reached a certain size where HR expertise and resources are needed, but has *not* yet reached a size where building its own HR department is feasible. After we reviewed several PEOs carefully, TriNet stood out as the best-combined HR and benefits management solution, especially for a company like ours with employees in multiple states. It is a bit more expensive than some other PEOs, so some small companies would not be able to afford TriNet.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2020

Useful, especially for smaller companies!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

TriNet is good if you're a smaller company and need help with staying compliant, especially if you have offices all over the world. If you have a big company, maybe their services won't be as useful. I believe that certain services offered by TriNet, such as help with remaining compliant, wouldn't be useful if you have an in-house law department or someone that specializes in the legalities surrounding employment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2020

Not on par!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The best scenarios for TriNet would be small companies with HR leadership that is not aware of what a robust PEO should be providing, seamlessly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

TriNet Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Overall, TriNet is a good product for benefits and payroll, but not all the best when non-normal issues arise. The benefits are great if you're doing normal day to day business--you're all set. But when complicated matters come up, we have not been very happy with their lack of attention to detail and me having to constantly ask follow-up questions to get answers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

TriNet is great in theory, with a good interface for employee experience.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

TriNet was great when we started out with them 6 years ago. Our HR support was awesome, they solved the issues we had with payroll and benefits administration, and we had a great relationship. Now, we have a good relationship with our Account Manager which has really been part of the reason we've stayed with TriNet, but also we were seeing a decline in the quality of HR support. (This does not include our CURRENT HR Support, Whitney.) The main issue we have with TriNet at this point is the significant increases we are seeing to benefits two years in a row that are based on TriNet's internal "tier system" that is in place. That increase on top of increased administration costs starts to be too much for a smaller business that is essentially a start-up. So, long story short, if a colleague were to ask me if I recommend TriNet, I would say yes, but only if they have a really strong HR Team internally and as long as they recognize that they would have big plan rate increases year over year. (This is especially true for companies with smaller employee populations.)
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

Excellent Payroll and HR Provider for Smaller Businesses - Significant Time Savings

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We use TriNet for our entire team of 15-20 for all of our HR functions. I think they handle payroll well (although it is not always intuitive, it takes some initial training) and benefits. Their reporting functionality has improved greatly and they've done a good job anticipating the needs of their customer base by being proactive in creating reports for the PPP loan program.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Not Worth the Cash and Time - Beware Small Businesses

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

TriNet was highly rated online and, as a publicly-traded company, seemed to have the bona fides that we were searching for. Unfortunately, there has not been one element of this firm that has been worth the very high premium that we pay for services.

As a small government contractor, we were searching for a firm that could take the many hours we spent handling these issues off of our owners' plate. However, even though we pay a fee that is equivalent to a full time employee, we are still handling payroll integrations, healthcare signups and payments, FSA, 401K signups and withholds and so many other things. In fact, between all of the TriNet errors, employee complaints/questions, and still having to manage all of these programs that we pay TriNet to manage, we actually spend more time now than before handling HR issues. And if that is not bad enough, the customer service is horrible. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

Quality with room to improve

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

TriNet is a big help to us when it comes to payroll, PTO tracking, and HR support. TriNet could definitely improve when it comes to benefits management. The site for choosing your plan options if you have an eligible life status change is not easy to use and I cannot confidently select the best benefits options with the lack of functionality and information provided on the benefits site.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Great offering for a small company or startup

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

TriNet is great for a small company with little time or desire to handle the administrative tasks related to payroll and benefits enrollment. Larger companies may find it cost-effective to self-manage the benefits, but I am not sure where the breakpoint is.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (280)
8.4
Employment history (311)
8.3
Job profiles and administration (295)
8.1
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (361)
8.0
Organizational charting (250)
7.2
Organization and location management (247)
7.4
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (337)
8.0
Pay calculation (473)
8.8
Support for external payroll vendors (5)
8.0
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (13)
8.2
Benefit plan administration (481)
8.7
Direct deposit files (444)
9.2
Salary revision and increment management (385)
8.8
Reimbursement management (229)
7.8
Approval workflow (237)
8.0
Balance details (292)
8.2
Annual carry-forward and encashment (230)
8.2
View and generate pay and benefit information (455)
8.8
Update personal information (466)
8.9
View company policy documentation (394)
8.4
Employee recognition (125)
7.9
View job history (327)
8.2
Tracking of all physical assets (1)
1
Report builder (315)
7.2
Pre-built reports (365)
7.4
Ability to combine HR data with external data (177)
6.6
New hire portal (387)
8.5
Manager tracking tools (223)
8.5
Corporate goal setting (40)
7.9
Individual goal setting (43)
8.0
Line-of sight-visibility (41)
7.5
Performance tracking (42)
7.9
Performance plans (82)
6.1
Performance improvement plans (81)
6.3
Review status tracking (78)
7.1
Review reminders (82)
5.7
Multiple review frequency (3)
7.2
Candidate ranking (1)
8.2
Candidate search (31)
6.4
Candidate development (28)
6.9
Job Requisition Management (32)
6.5
Company Website Posting (1)
5.5
Publish to Social Media (26)
6.4
Job Search Site Posting (34)
6.9
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (1)
9.1
Applicant Tracking (36)
6.6
Notifications and Alerts (40)
6.7

About TriNet

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR solutions tailored by industry. The vendor aims to free SMBs from HR complexities by offering access to human capital expertise, benefits, risk mitigation and compliance, payroll and real-time technology. From Main Street to Wall Street, TriNet's goal is to empower SMBs to focus on what matters most—growing their business.
Categories:  Payroll,  HR Management

TriNet Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Does not have featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Does not have featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Does not have featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Does not have featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Does not have featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Does not have featureCreate succession plans/pools
Does not have featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Has featureJob Requisition Management
Does not have featureCompany Website Posting
Has featurePublish to Social Media
Has featureJob Search Site Posting
Does not have featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts

TriNet Videos (2)

TriNet Integrations

TriNet Competitors

ADP TotalSource, Insperity, Paychex PEO, Oasis

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

TriNet Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

TriNet Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android