Skip to main content
TrustRadius
TriNet

TriNet

Overview

What is TriNet?

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR and payroll solutions tailored by industry. TriNet also offers specialized services through client access to HR representatives for advice and notifications on impactful regulatory changes.

Read more
Recent Reviews

TriNet

8 out of 10
February 22, 2024
Incentivized
PEO Partnership with TriNet. Payroll, HR, Workers Comp, Time & Attendance, benefits, Training, labor law compliance, etc, we are …
Continue reading

Optimistic for some improvement.

5 out of 10
February 19, 2024
We use TriNet as our PEO with a scope that includes payroll, employee benefits, time-tracking, among other things. The major business …
Continue reading

TriNet.

10 out of 10
February 12, 2024
Incentivized
TriNet is something I use every day for our company, from processing payroll to updating all employee files. The knowledge center has …
Continue reading

TriNet is awesome!

10 out of 10
February 09, 2024
Incentivized
Benefits, Payroll, Onboarding/Offboarding, Recruitment, Leaves of Absences.

The business problems that the product addresses are …
Continue reading

Review

7 out of 10
February 07, 2024
Incentivized
I use Trinet for multiple purposes, for payroll, for time management and for hiring new employees and on boarding them
Continue reading

TriNet Review

3 out of 10
January 31, 2024
Incentivized
Our primary use is payroll. We are currently evaluating using it for its HRIS features such as; Recruiting, time off, performance …
Continue reading

More 4 Less

10 out of 10
January 31, 2024
HarvestIQ uses TriNet as our one stop shop for people related needs, from payroll to benefits and inclusivity within our organization. As …
Continue reading

New To TriNet

9 out of 10
October 17, 2023
Incentivized
We are a small startup with a team of around ten employees. TriNet offers incredible support and tools for us to provide to our employees. …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 47 features
  • View and generate pay and benefit information (629)
    9.0
    90%
  • Update personal information (643)
    8.3
    83%
  • Pay calculation (642)
    8.1
    81%
  • Benefit plan administration (653)
    7.8
    78%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is TriNet?

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR and payroll solutions tailored by industry. TriNet also offers specialized services through client access to HR representatives for advice and notifications on impactful regulatory changes.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

32 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Gusto?

Gusto offers payroll, benefits and compliance capabilities. Gusto is scaled for small to mid-sized businesses, and emphasizes an easy to use interface.

What is Justworks?

Justworks offers a platform for payroll, benefits, compliance support, with HR tools. As a Professional Employer Organization (PEO), Justworks offers PEO solutions that can bundle payroll, compliance, HR, and benefits under the Justworks umbrella, and help to administer employment-related…

Return to navigation

Features

Human Resource Management

Organizing, tracking and providing instant access to critical employee data, job profiles, transfers, promotions, and benefits information.

6.9
Avg 7.8

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

8.1
Avg 8.0

Leave and Attendance Management

Streamlines communication between HR and employees and facilitates efficient management of employee leave including requisitions, approvals, balance calculation, and annual carry-forward.

6.7
Avg 8.0

Employee Self Service

Employee portal allowing employees to view and update their personal information.

8.1
Avg 8.1

Asset Management

Maintaining a record of assets such as laptops, pagers, cell phones, etc. issued to employees. Record typically includes asset type, number, serial number and date of issuance.

1
Avg 7.7

HR Reporting

Pre-built and custom reports, and integration with external data.

7.4
Avg 7.5

Onboarding

Employee onboarding is the process of orienting new hires to the social and performance aspects of their jobs so that they are able to function in their new roles as quickly as possible.

8
Avg 7.9

Performance and Goals

Goal alignment is the practice of ensuring that all employees have clearly defined goals in support of the overall corporate strategy.

6.5
Avg 8.1

Performance Management

Performance management is the process of ensuring employees meet pre-determined objectives and goals through regular check-ins and appraisals.

7.3
Avg 7.9

Succession Planning

Succession planning is the identification and development of internal employees with the potential to fill key business leadership positions in the company.

7.1
Avg 7.9

Recruiting / ATS

Recruiting or Applicant Tracking Software is software used to manage the recruitment process electronically by handling job postings, applicant status, resume management, etc.

6.6
Avg 7.7
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is TriNet?

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR solutions tailored by industry. The vendor aims to free SMBs from HR complexities by offering access to human capital expertise, benefits, risk mitigation and compliance, payroll and real-time technology. From Main Street to Wall Street, TriNet's goal is to empower SMBs to focus on what matters most—growing their business.

TriNet Features

Human Resource Management Features

  • Supported: Employee demographic data
  • Supported: Employment history
  • Supported: Job profiles and administration
  • Supported: Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
  • Supported: Benefits information
  • Supported: Organizational charting
  • Supported: Organization and location management
  • Supported: Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Off-cycle/On-Demand payment
  • Supported: Payroll history for each employee
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Payroll tracking and auditing
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

  • Supported: Approval workflow
  • Supported: Email notifications
  • Supported: Balance details
  • Supported: Annual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

  • Supported: Employee login
  • Supported: View and generate pay and benefit information
  • Supported: Update personal information
  • Supported: Request time off
  • Supported: View job history
  • Supported: View company policy documentation
  • Supported: View company news and information
  • Supported: Employee recognition

HR Reporting Features

  • Supported: Report builder
  • Supported: Pre-built reports
  • Supported: Ability to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

  • Supported: Performance plans
  • Supported: Performance improvement plans
  • Supported: Review status tracking
  • Supported: Review reminders

Succession Planning Features

  • Supported: Candidate search
  • Supported: Candidate development

Onboarding Features

  • Supported: New hire portal
  • Supported: Manager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

  • Supported: Corporate goal setting
  • Supported: Individual goal setting
  • Supported: Line-of sight-visibility
  • Supported: Performance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

  • Supported: Job Requisition Management
  • Supported: Publish to Social Media
  • Supported: Job Search Site Posting
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Notifications and Alerts

TriNet Competitors

TriNet Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android

Frequently Asked Questions

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR and payroll solutions tailored by industry. TriNet also offers specialized services through client access to HR representatives for advice and notifications on impactful regulatory changes.

ADP TotalSource and OASIS are common alternatives for TriNet.

Reviewers rate View and generate pay and benefit information highest, with a score of 9.

The most common users of TriNet are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(1121)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 685)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I think there is potential for improvement, and I do believe that they take my feedback seriously, which is really important to me. I've used a lot of PEOs, but this experience has been quite frustrating. The portal is much less clunky than we had with ADP, but it is also (ironically) much less user-friendly in my experience. And for quite awhile after we first switched to TriNet, it was difficult to get any help that led to real action.
Judy Keesecker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Their platform is simple to use and user-friendly. Administrators have access to employee info which is good. All reports are in the reports section and you can customize the reports to fit your payroll periods and what you want to see on the reports. They have custom reports you can build your own. I have not tried it yet. It can integrate with your accounting software depending on which one you use. Yet it will not work for all clients if they have more than one Chart of account numbers for their payroll in their accounting system. So having that to work for clients on how they break down their payroll in the system would be helpful, for example, expenses. In payroll, it is entered as 1 number, but that one number in the expense report employees submit tends to be broken down to more than one Chart of Account. So that integration with clients' accounting software would not help.
Kristen Albertsen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
TriNet is well suited to a rapidly growing organization with colleagues in many different states, that needs a comprehensive platform to support a leanly resourced in house HR / payroll / benefits team. As part of their single (base) plan, TriNet offers benefits coverage (including access to large-group insurance rates), comprehensive payroll & tax reporting; workforce analytics; easy on / offboarding, and other additional platforms (expense, perform, etc).
February 12, 2024

TriNet.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
TriNet has assisted with the new company handbook for our company, and not only do they have an amazing handbook wizard, but they also provide us with an HR resource agent who is amazing and available whenever I need assistance. We also have a payroll specialist who can assist with all payroll issues as they arise.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Trinet is very well suited to handle a variety of time-consuming HR tasks, making them easier and faster. The Money section works well. The time off section has bugs. Notifications could use some work as there is no way to mark notices as read in the interface and the notification doesn't go away.
February 12, 2024

Thumbs up!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
For the most part, TriNet has been responsive to our company's needs as a whole. However, there has been times when no response on certain issues have been addressed. I am still waiting for response on a 401K issue from December.
I would love to have hyperlinks for the different departments within TriNet readily available on the dashboard.
February 09, 2024

TriNet is awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I think that TriNet really adapts to scale. So organizations of any size can utilize it effectively. I think that TriNet will be most effective for small sized businesses, medium sized businesses, and not for profit organizations. The way that TriNet bundles all of its features into one easy to access package is absolutely remarkable.
February 07, 2024

Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I like that its a one stop shop and you could do everything under one platform. I believe it is very expensive and they don't seem to want to work with the individuals about their payment concerns
January 31, 2024

TriNet Review

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
From my experience, TriNet is not user friendly or intuitive. In many cases, I feel it is not straightforward and there is a lot of red tape to make simple changes. We are often running into situations when we can't get something to work, due to permissions, which need to be adjusted by TriNet. Simple things like changing the name of a location.
January 31, 2024

More 4 Less

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I found TriNet's buy in ability to be world class. Their consistency to engage with us without the overbearing pitching was well mannered and timely. TriNet checked all the boxes of why our company needed them.
October 17, 2023

New To TriNet

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Prior to me being in my position and managing our TriNet site, the person in my position failed to properly document the relocation of an employee from one state to another. TriNet was very responsive whenever I brought it to their attention to get it handled. However, once they recognised the issue, it took months for the resolution to occur
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
If a company has a small or non-existent HR department, TriNet will be useful since they make sure your business is in compliance with federal, state, and local laws. If you don't have someone dedicated to payroll, they handle it and make it really easy. If you have a small team in general, in particular one that has employees in multiple states, it's great to be part of their benefits since you don't have to worry about only getting one expensive option and/or having to do something convoluted in order to make sure that team members in different states have health benefits that work for them. All employees in any state are offered a variety of coverage options and different price points.
October 02, 2023

All-In-One

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Trinet is well suited for our company because it takes control of the compliance issues I would have to manage if I were not using a PEO.
It might be less appropriate if we wanted to save money and have an in house HR representative while using payroll software to process pay.
September 23, 2023

Cadillac service provider

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Small company who can afford to spend on this service (you're not cheap!). To have payroll and benefits on 1 platform is beneficial to the employee. Really nice when you're dealing with multiple states with different rules and tax rates. I thought there would be more client services when an EE has a question on benefits. Often they're just told to call BCBS, who wants to be on hold with them?
August 17, 2023

TriNet for the Win!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
TriNet has been a gamechanger for our company. We use TriNet for payroll, benefits, and HR support and it has made things significantly easier for our internal team. Processing payroll is very straight forward and reminders are posted in the platform so there is never a risk of missing the submission. TriNet also engages directly with employees when it is benefits open enrollment time -- our employees then select and register for benefits on their own. The only area I wish we had better support is with after-hours chat support. Some of our team members work outside of the US occasionally, so time zones can be complicated with getting live support.
Krystyna Hales | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
As a smaller organization TriNet has been a great move. It has saved us a LOT of time managing personnel, timesheets, vacation/sick time off; provides historical records and tracking; ensures we're in compliance with all employment laws, for each state we employee people. They provide great support and do their best to assist as quickly as possible.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I recently had to find out the process of how to terminate myself and explain it to the person who would be taking over my job responsibilities. TriNet walked me through the process using another employee on the system and answered questions all along the way. They made the process intuitive on the system but also easy to understand as they coached me. When I went to explain it to the new employee it was easy for me to explain.
July 11, 2023

How TriNet helps

Maria LaDuca | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
They do my new employee input only it takes at least 5 days before the new employee is entered into the system but lately it was 2 days which is still too long. Our employees do not want others to know the information and wishes i could do the whole employee thing without going through this people.
Return to navigation