TrustRadius
8x8 Virtual Office is a unified business phone and VoIP communications service. It includes features such as instant messaging, softphone, video calling, web conferencing, call recording, visual voicemail. Prices range from $22-$175 per user per month, depending on amount of features desired.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Oc/Vs/0PHO4ZRX25XQ.JPEG8x8 is number oneWe work across three locations and out on the road much of the time. Using a cloud-based VOIP PBX is the only way we can have the flexibility we need to work seamlessly as a team and be always contactable by our customers. The combination of desktop handsets and the iPhone app is superb in that from a client point of view, it doesn't matter where we are, we are always "at our desks.",The control panel is great and gives us full flexibility over how our system is configured. The customer support at initial setup was superb and we had a dedicated account manager who ensured that we were fully configured and working the way we wanted before handing over to the ongoing support team. The smartphone app is great and is just like having your fully-functional desk phone in your pocket.,A good VOIP experience relies on good connectivity, so it's frustrating when your mobile phone network doesn't give you a strong or fast enough signal for a seamless experience. This isn't an 8x8 issue, but 8x8 are affected by the weak links in the chain.,10,8x8 has enabled us to totally streamline our voice calls. We now no longer publish our mobile phone numbers as we receive direct line calls straight to the 8x8 mobile app, eliminating the need to give out additional and personal number details. One single, fixed price gives us all the calls we need so we can budget precisely.,Vonage Business Cloud,SkypeWhat 8 x 8 Means to Our BusinessWe turned to 8 x 8 in 2016 when the cost of traditional phone service was getting out of hand. I worked with Ferman Smith to get the transition rolling and we have never looked back. We use the system throughout our office and is has made all the difference in the world. The system is reliable and if there are ever any questions, I just call and there is always someone to help me.,I love the 8 x 8 virtual office where I am able to set the phone system up and let it run without any issues. The customer service department is amazing and always there to help and guide you through setting up the system. I love that there are multiple ways to speak with customer service, ex. chat, phone, and a self-service support page.,Sometimes setting up the system can be a little hard, however, there is always someone available to walk you through it, or help set it up.,10,The cost of the 8 x 8 system is less expensive than traditional phone systems and offers so much more which allowed us to put more money into advertising the business.,,RingCentral, ChiroTouchVery good decision for small businesses, looking to get set up ASAPWe use 8X8 to make international calls, so basically, we required a VOIP service. Since we are traveling and on the go, it doesn't make sense for us to be paying Network fees so 8x8 was the cheapest option. The company is relatively small, we are three people and the receptionist also answers the VOIP. We are making many calls individually to businesses (internationally) and looking for their overstock/opportunities in the market.,The sales guy I got in touch with when making the purchasing decision was great Sav Eswaravel. The set up was quicker than anticipated. I think your pricing is bang on and we get a lot for it. The app is very easy to use and is the desktop app.,SMS feature would be great as I don't always want to give my personal number to clients. You frequently have bugs which you do report on via email. Nonetheless it was an inconvenience sometimes.,9,Practically a VOIP service isn't going to effect our ROI. We can always use our own phones if needed. Nonetheless, not having to deal with a problem is an investment in any business.,,Google Analytics, Google Ads (formerly AdWords), Microsoft Office 365Great step in the right direction.8x8 Virtual Office is our primary phone system at all our facilities. It addresses a number of issues we had in the past: It unified a multiple of locations under one system where previously we had a mixture of systems.With its virtual office functions, we are able to tie in mobile users via the apps and treat them as if they were in the office. Even those who work from home can operate the same with caller ID and directory access and using their office extension to ring on their cell.It allowed us to eliminate a fax machine and POTs. Users use their 8x8 Virtual Office app to send and receive faxes.Easy to transition phone numbers and fax numbers over to 8x8 Virtual Office to ensure customers have key contacts retained.We can manage multiple directories for multiple companies and allow calling between multiple companies. Also, ring groups and pickup groups are amazing.,Retains very efficient individual fax services per user. Each user can now schedule their own meetings and conference calls. There's no need for third-party apps, service, or staff. User can now manage their own call forwarding and rules for call management and not IT. Users are empowered to use the service. The app is helpful and enables proactive actions.,The service uses third-party phones and the interface needs improving. Not very user-friendly and not easy to change key functions. Changing users on third party phones can be tedious, especially moving extensions from one phone to another. Very little tolerance from internet slowdowns. Phones need peak internet. Although outages are few and far between, when it does, a drop in phone connectivity is not a welcomed additional problem to have.,10,Provides a level of reliability that phone performance is not limited to local weather conditions. It showcases a level of solidarity with the whole company It dreads personnel changes.,,G Suite, HelpSystems Automate, Wing FTP Server,300,1,multiple phone directories ring groups and pick-up groups virtual office pc app virtual office android app,individual fax function caller ID on screen while ringer is off on physical phones company directory missed call and caller id on screen.,call recording call forwarding specialized call routing,10,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor Third-party Reviews,I would have gotten extra phones.,Implemented in-house,Yes,Change management was a big part of the implementation and was well-handled,having a plan for partial deployments shared with employees third party phones need to be externally sourced be more transparent with deployment,7,No,No,in adding my virtual numbers is easy.,10,make calls send faxes directory search,setting meetings using hangouts link chat function,Yes,108x8 = 64 Karat Gold Phone System8X8 was selected as our VoIP system throughout the organization. The ability to be able to have access to the company's phone system anywhere in the world was a key selling feature. It also integrates into our CRM system, which is an added bonus.,Easy to use interface Click to dial Ability to sync from PC to laptop. No need for a physical desk phone anymore.,Ability to read international numbers with brackets in it, i.e. +41 (0) 7220 does not work on click to dial at present. Easier navigation through setting up call queues and auto attendants. Some free templates of hold music.,10,Saved a lot compared to other price plans as we dial internationally daily. Installed within minutes. Set up and configuration was lightening quick Syncs with most 3rd party systems, email, CRM, etc.,CloudCall,Bullhorn, Microsoft Office 365, LinkedIn TalentGreat accessibility and value for money!We are a small company and have only a couple of people so 8x8 is used with one account, with more to be added. It’s easy to use with a great connection and solves the problem of having to have a physical handset. I can take it wherever I want in the world.,Great connection Great accessibility Well priced,Some times the phones go down and take a while to get back up.,10,Cheaper call rates. Great accessibility wherever I am. Professional with an 0203 number.,PipedriveGreat product! Helps us stay on track.Currently. we have 8x8 in our office. It is used from the front desk all the way to administration. We changed over from an old Nortel system and it has been a wonderful experience. Now all our voicemails are accessible from any phone. I have the ability to change the auto attendant through a website and adjust messages and holiday hours with ease. eFax is also very nice. Having fax numbers for every phone number and the main office fax ensures that when a fax does come in it goes to the appropriate line without any confusion or misplaced paper.,Voicemail access Desktop app eFax Online management of the entire system, including voice recordings,The desktop app is very nice but it is updated regularly and not always for the better. I would like to have a volume selection with each message. The online management site is easy to work with but I have always had issues with the recorded voice messages never playing through my computer.,10,I have the ability to leave the office and not be out of touch with the office staff with the mobile app. I can be more productive without being at the office. Decreased time spent answering messages. Better communication with patients about information needed and closings.,,PDS MDsuite, Dashlane8x8 Virtual Office service offers freedom in running my business...I utilize 8x8 Virtual Office to allow me to have two geographical phone numbers, remotely answerable so that I'm available to help existing or potential clients even when on the road.,Accessible on a range of platforms. Offers customization in answerphone messages. Allows multiple phone numbers to be answered within one account.,The service currently fulfills all our business needs.,10,Offered the opportunity to give up the office, thus reducing overheads. Allowed the expansion into new geographical areas. Simulates a professional presence in the marketplace.,Skype,ARCHICAD, Apple iCloudGreat or anyone looking for SoftPhone services on the go or in-office8x8 allows us to make and receive telephone calls in the office and outside of the office. We have them hooked to hardwired internet telephones that were kindly provided by 8x8 and allow us to divert, transfer, make and receive calls quickly and easily. We are also using the app to make and receive calls on the go and call record which is useful for our sales team.,Make calls. Receive calls. Call recording.,Set up. Installation of hard wired phones. Online user settings.,10,Cheaper than a landline, easier and more flexible.Definitely recommend this company for anyone looking for VOIP needs.We use 8x8 to receive calls from customers and clients and to make sales calls. What makes this product exceptional is the ability to use the app when I'm away from my desk so I never miss a work call which is very important.,Rarely in the last 13 years has the service gone down. The app keeps me available to clients when I'm out of the office. Price compared to service is worth every penny.,The ability to block spam calls from my desk VoIP phone or my app should be added.,10,The phone I've been using has worked perfectly for 7 years with no negative issues.,Five9 Predictive Dialer,Rackspace Cloud Hosting8x8 Virtual Office, always be at the office... even at the beach.We use 8x8 Virtual office as our exclusive VoiP communication tool for every department in every office. Using Virtual Office gives us a consistent communication tool. From the office, to the home office, even when out of office, 8x8 Virtual Office lets me take and make calls with the same quality. Managing the lines, ring groups, voicemail recordings, and call recordings are all a breeze with 8x8 Virtual Office.,100% compatibility across any platform you can think of. You will also be connected and appear to your client as if you're at the office. Customer service is the best! Incredibly attentive. Respectful. Helpful. If the product was weaker, I might stay just for the support I've received. Incredibly robust options, but with a very intuitive UI. It's not hard to reset a password or set up a phone. Call recording quality is clear and easy to access and share. For someone in sales, this is incredibly helpful, as it allows me to improve myself and coach others with ease.,SMS functionality is hit and miss. I receive SMS consistently, but cannot consistently reply. The click to dial app needs work. This is maybe more of a windows issue, but 8x8 has no "app" for windows. Therefore it cannot be set to a default "tel" per windows. It'd be helpful if the mobile app could be more easily closed. This is especially problematic with an iPhone. Updates don't seem to be uniformly applied. Meaning in our office, it may take weeks for every app to be updated when a new patch comes out.,9,Consistent quality is key, as nearly 100% of our sales interactions are done via phone. Without 8x8, I shudder to think where we'd be. The inconsistent SMS replies hurt. Most people who text want a text back, not a call. At least 8x8 tells me when the message fails.,,PipelineDeals CRM, SlackExcellent Communications Platform8x8 is deployed across our entire organization and it helps bridge the communication gap between all of our offices across North America. The mobile applications also enable us to be mobile and continue to stay connected to our business by allowing us to take and make calls on it and not miss a beat.,We've received excellent support from our account manager, who is always attentive to our needs and always has a suggestion on how to improve our experience. The service is always up when we need it and we have never experienced major outages. The 8x8 support team is well trained and can give a resolution to most problems on the first contact.,The fax function on 8x8 Virtual Office Pro is not as reliable as I would expect. Sometimes it takes 2 or 3 tries to connect to the destination machine. The Virtual Office app for Android will behave differently on different vendor implementations of the system. On Samsung phones running Android 9.0, the phone will ring but it will sometimes not pick up the call when the phone is locked. I'd like the ability to switch external phone numbers from one device to another from the 8x8 Account Manager portal rather than to have to go through support to do this. It would be nice to have the option to change Virtual Office plans on the fly and add Pro licenses to different extensions. The web admin interface is a little clunky and looks outdated. It would look better if it followed the design guidelines that 8x8 uses for the application picker and the Virtual Office Desktop app,10,I consider that we get our money's worth out of the platform considering that a large part of our business depends on the use of phones to communicate. Part of our business depends on using fax that we have with Virtual Office Pro but this is not worth the cost for this feature alone. The call recording makes Pro worth it since it allows us to monitor what messages we are giving to customers. Call reporting and analytics allow us to view which of our employees are productive when their job requires them to stay on the phone with customers.,Jira Service Desk, JIRA Software, Microsoft Office 365, Ubiquiti Networks UniFi, Ubuntu Linux, GoToMeeting,65,1,Internal communication Communication with customers Call quality metrics,With the help of an auto-responder and a call queue system we have set up a call center tailored specifically to our support team We use 8x8 Virtual Office Analytics to track which support agents are still connected during the night shift We use 8x8 Virtual Office to log calls to customers on Salesforce,We may use the service to track remote workers in the future,10,Not Sure,Implemented in-house,No,9,Self-taught,I speak for myself and a few other users in our organization when I say that it is very easy to pick up and use in a flash. There is enough support material on the 8x8 knowledge base to learn the basics and work with Virtual Office on a daily basis. I even forward some of 8x8's own materials to new hires to teach them about setting their voicemail greetings and sending faxes.,No,Whenever I ask for the support team to change the phone numbers of our extensions, I get exceptional support from them. I will ask them if they have a specific area code within their pool of numbers and if they don't they react and find me the closest number to the area code that I am looking for instead of having me look for them.,10,Changing extension numbers Editing extension information Creating user profiles,Sending faxes,Yes,9,8,8,9,Salesforce Desk.com,JIRA,AppExchange or similar marketplace,8,The best way to go is to check with 8x8 support if the app or software that you are looking to integrate with is already supported as this will definitely require much less work on your part. If not, most likely you will need to have a developer that can interface with their APIs to integrate whatever you need.Worth the costs. Ease of setup and management cannot be deniedInitially, it was purchased as a "we need a quick phone system" for a new building being set up after a corporate divestiture. After our initial experience with that building, we have now implemented it in two other facilities and have plans for at least 2 more as the phone systems reach end of life. In these buildings, it is the primary phone system used by employee's both traveling and local. It has also allowed us to give some remote employee's business phone extensions out of their home office.,Audio Quality: I've just never had a single complaint which is normally a concern with a VOIP service. Mobility: The versatility allowed moving between desk-phone, cell phone app and or computer all working interchangeability Available sales force: I have never once had difficulty getting in touch with my account manager when needed.,When things go right with a phone setup, they go very well and take moments. When there are issues particularly when swapping devices, the troubleshooting steps are not always clear. Improved user documentation. While the technical materials are generally pretty good, the user documentation is not as clear on features as it might be. Technical Support team (sometimes) feels like they are reading straight from a station book. After issue escalation the teams are fantastic, but sometimes the level of detail wanted to get to that point is a bit out of step with the issue.,10,It has allowed us to be very versatile and agile in managing new and sometimes rapidly changing telephony needs. One person with multiple other duties is able to manage Low overall monthly cost compared to other business telephone systems including from the big 3. Long distance savings enormous.,,Microsoft Office 365, Adobe Acrobat DC, TeamViewer8x8 is good for the value it bringsWe use 8x8 for the attendant to professionally greet our customers and offer information to our customers calling in with questions. It helps, especially around holiday times and peak seasons.,Communication is key. Letting people know when your shop is open and when holiday hours are is important. A professional greeting makes customers feel welcomed and important at our business. Placing people on hold with music is nicer than silence.,A sample script would be nice. More selections of hold music. Annual account review to make sure we are getting the best rate.,9,Affordable Competivie Professional,Comcast VOIP8x8 Virtual Office Highly Recommended for a Sole Business User8x8 Virtual Office is used for VOIP calling so that I can have a fixed landline number regardless of where I am operating my business from. This could be from home, my office or any other location, often in areas where I do not get good enough mobile signal to rely on that solely.,Ease of use - The virtual desktop app is self-explanatory and even though I am not particularly great with IT, I have never struggled getting to grips with the app from the first time using it. Reliability of use - The app pairs seamlessly with my Jabra headphones and very rarely do I have any service related issues with, for example, connecting to the server. If it does drop off, which it only tends to once a fortnight or so, it pretty much comes back on almost straight away. Cost-effectiveness - When I looked at other offerings from similar providers, they did not have solutions for 'one man bands' like myself. Their services were, at a minimum, twice as expensive than 8x8 Virtual Office. Most were in excess of three times as expensive for a single user like me.,Very rarely, it has downtime. This is infrequent enough that it does not effect my business.,10,Saved me a large amount monthly compared to similar products available from other providers who do not cater to small businesses like mine.,RingCentralNot very satisfied with 8x8It is mainly used for internal communication. Only managers use it to call externally. 8x8 is used across the entire organization. It used a lot for chatting; we use it in a group chat. It should be used more for meetings in the same way we use WebEx. So basically it is used for internal chat and communication. We have one office in Toronto and one in New York.,Phone calls are usually good. Support is good.,Online Meetings 8x8 Virtual Office functionality and desktop phone setup could be easier.,3,Negative: It is too expensive for us for only internal communication. Positive: Better staff communication.,Skype for Business (formerly Lync),Slack, Skype for Business (formerly Lync)Supportive8x8 Virtual Office is the primarily telephone communication device. We use across the whole organization. 8x8 Virtual Office addresses clients reaching the company and the direct person in a timely and cost effective manner. It also provides a consistent structure to make changes when employees are first hired or when an employee leaves the company.,8x8 Virtual Office provides as many ring groups that a company requires. We have 6 rings that help clients reach the person they need to reach. 8x8 Virtual Office provides as many fax numbers that a company requires. We have 6 fax numbers that help employees receive a client's fax in a timely manner. And can verify receipt quickly.,Periodically, the 8x8 Account Manager information changes without me making the change. For example, one department's faxes are set up to receive an notification email and the faxed attachment when the department receives a fax. I was informed that they were no longer receiving the attachment. When I went into the Solo account, I found that the setup had changed. I changed the set-up once more and the employees confirmed that they were now receiving the attachment. Periodically, I have to call the customer service with 8x8. The representatives are professional and thorough with what they have been trained for. However, the call to resolve an issues seems to last too long.,8,We have had a 6 year business collaboration with 8x8 Virtual Office. We will continue with them since we are able to achieve our business objectives.,Simple, full-featured and perfect for small businessesMy company has one employee and that's me. Therefore I need to have access to all of the 8x8 features whether I'm in the office or out. It automatically forwards my phone calls to my cell phone and allows me to change my phone settings even when working remotely.,Remote access to my phone system to make changes or to use its many features. The ability to view voice mail transcripts - very helpful during meetings when listening is not an option. The new contacts search feature allows you type in partial names and all that apply pop up.,Improve the interface for the mobile version to be more similar to the PC version. Forwarding phone calls is a bit cumbersome on the mobile version. Improve voice mail transcriptions on the mobile version.,9,I needed something simple and inexpensive for a one-man operation. Monthly fee keeps going up though and that is concerning. Needed something that works from remote locations as this fits that requirement.,,QuickBooks Desktop Pro, Microsoft Office 2016NextGen Phone System Management!It is being used across the whole organization. It provides one central location for management of our telecom services, and makes it easy to make changes within the phone system, add/remove lines/extensions, change passwords, etc. It also provides easy access to voicemails and users can choose how they would like to receive voicemails (audio link, e-mail notification and attachment, etc.). The auto-attendant feature is awesome as well.,Voicemail management is great. Users don't have to sit and listen to all voicemails at once. They can target a particular voicemail and listen to just that one if they want. Altering phone lines and extensions is as simple as the click of a mouse! Super convenient! Auto attendant is a quick, easy way to direct incoming calls without having to have an actual person answer each call. Callers can quickly be routed exactly where they need to go with the wide variety of auto-attendant settings!,Voicemail passwords. 8x8 imposes certain limitations on voicemail passwords, like not letting you use any number combination that is also a year between 1900 and 2019 I think. We have used the number combination 1957 for a particular purpose, not related to the year, but 8x8 will not allow us to use this as a voicemail password. I think users should be able to choose whatever passcode they'd like for their voicemail, as long as it's 4-digits or more, or whatever the parameters are.,10,The service is expensive, but it's more than worth it when you compare it to the time you save! You might traditionally spend several hours setting up a new phone system with multiples lines, i.e. setting up extensions, names, call routing, etc. I've done it on a traditional system, and it can be a full-day project! Virtual Office has everything automated and practically set up for you. Set up is as simple as going to the dashboard online, and clicking the appropriate buttons to do what you need to do. So easy! You also save time with voicemails. With a busy office and most callers calling into the main line (not into individual/direct lines), voicemails can pile up pretty quick. If you missed an important call, you can go directly to THAT particular voicemail and listen, and save the others for later. And you can get that voicemail however you'd like. You don't have to dial up your voicemail, press this or that to listen, bypass other voicemails, etc. You can listen right on your PC or laptop, you can receive an audio file sent to your e-mail, etc. So very convenient and saves a load of time!,Microsoft 365 Business, Mailchimp, WizeHive Zengine8x8 Virtual Office - Great VoIP solution for small businesses and teleworker-centric businesses8x8 is used extensively throughout the office and somewhat by sales staff. The auto attendant and flexibility of defining inbound call handling is highly useful and easy to reconfigure once familiar with the 8x8 Admin panel. Having Ring Groups and Call Queues as options for call handling is absolutely needed to correctly handle the volume of inbound calls. An Auto Attendant is an absolute necessity to block robo calls. Nearly all of the features are used, including virtual numbers (homing legacy geographical numbers into the main number), call recording, downloading and emailing call recordings as needed, daily reporting, whisper and barge in features when needed, as well as call parking and voicemail to text. Support is generally knowledgeable. If I find a Level 1 support rep is lacking knowledge, I ask for a supervisor to get support issues resolved more quickly. The Virtual Office Desktop app is very functional as well as the mobile app for call support and texting within the organization.,Inbound call handling through Auto Attendants, Ring Groups and Call Queues, along with customized messages and BYO music on hold. Call recording management and visibility within the Virtual Office Desktop. Call processing through call transfers, blind transfers to voicemail, and conference calling. Using combination of telephone instruments and VOD to display caller ID and name as available.,Virtual Office Desktop could be more intuitive for first time user. Virtual Office needs a "Lite" version, more than minimized but not using as much screen real estate as a full-size mode. Would like to see Call Recording server replicating in near real-time to East Coast switch instead of residing at only West Coast switch.,10,Much better handling of inbound call volume, ensuring secondary and tertiary backups to answering calls. Call recording ensures consistency of call etiquette and professionalism while allowing replaying to capture the content of the call and holding customers accountable for their request and authorizations. ROI is hard to measure, but ensuring no lost/abandoned calls has positive impact on business financially. Using mobile devices during internet interruptions is invaluable for business continuity and customer access to business.,RingCentral, Vonage Business Cloud, Comcast VOIP, Cisco ASA, Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) and MiCloud Connect (formerly ShoreTel),Zerto, Dropbox Business, Acronis Backup Cloud8x8 is good though nowhere near great.8x8 virtual office suite was an add on to a package I purchased at our company's new headquarters. It was going to be our go-to telecommunications platform and help to ease our budget in replacing traditional telecommunication options.,8x8 set up is straight up yellow for dummies version easy. This is incredibly important as that was promoted as one of its selling points and they followed through with it. It is accessible from anywhere and there is even an app for Android and iOS. I can not see this as a plus though because with all of the competition available, NOT having these options on your mobile is a death sentence for customer retention. Customer support was positive. They were responsive whenever we would encounter any issues or need clarifications on our package.,The user interface feels is incredibly boring and definitely reminds you that you are at work, though feels like you are at work on a Windows 95 computer. Pricing was way too high compared to the competition and e-fax was even more expensive. It is not special. There is absolutely nothing in it that made me feel impressed to any significant degree. I say this not to be mean, but they do not offer anything that is worth paying even half the price they are asking for.,4,We broke even. After the initial trial I switched to another service that was more friendly towards non-profits in that they offered discounts and other perks. I just wish I would have had other options to choose from initially without having to be auto enrolled, then cancel the service and go out and find an alternative that worked for us.,,Airtable, PromoRepublic, Evernote8x8 Good in a pinchIt is being used in support of a contracted Contract Center. It addressed the issue of providing call routing and allowing office and remote workers a robust platform for handling calls as well as the management team the reports we needed to meet the customer requirements.,User-friendly Provides in-depth call reporting Great call flow,Reports interface could be easier and more intuitive. Make it easier to move from desk phone to softphone to cell. Price is a little high.,7,For remote and in the field workers we do not have to issue a handset and they use the cell phone app. Do not have to install physical lines at all of our office locations.,Jibe and RingCentral,ServiceNow, MS SharePoint, 3CX Phone System, Google Cloud DNS,100,2,General office Call Center Support Presence,6A useful addition to any companyWe currently use 8x8 in our tech startup. We are a relatively small team and are on the phone quite regularly to engage with new clients and resolve issues with existing customers, and our use of 8x8 has been incredibly useful. We were initially simply using our personal mobile phone numbers which of course is not entirely professional, and 8x8 seemed like the perfect VOIP to implement.,Account managers are fast to reply, providing useful guidance in using the product. The very in depth user guide is very easy to understand. Being able to be 'on call' away from the office is incredibly useful.,No customer service phone number, when trying to contact we are directed to customers who know the product well but it is hard to communicate our issues to them adequately. Conversations are frequently low quality and customer cannot hear us properly. Sometimes calls only show up as a notification on lock screen rather than actually ringing through.,6,8x8 has had some positive impact on our business objective as we have been able to make multiple business calls gaining clients through the system.,,HubSpot CRM8x8 Virtual Office - Perfect for just about any business with telephony needs8x8 Virtual Office provides the perfect blend of cost-effective communication for our team, with quick and easy setup and management of telephony services. We are currently using 8x8 Virtual Office in our head office instead of using the hard-wired telephone services from BT or other standard telephone suppliers. The set up can be quite quick, however, we purchased the hardline telephones and the set-up was more complicated than expected. There was no plug and play. Instead, we had to wait for a telephone appointment to run through set up with a service representative, and there were a few issues. Don't get me wrong though, once it was set up it was really easy to use. Just pick up the phone or dial out on the keypad. Just like using a normal phone except we have the capability to have multiple local telephone lines into one building and have a system to run things like forwarding, hold systems, call handling, and the like. The system really shines for employees, like me, who use the app and go out on the road a lot. We can make calls from landline numbers and hold conferences through the app.,Soft phone used as hard phone. Call recording and call handling Answering software and round-robin distribution.,The set up could be slicker, especially when configuring the hard wired phones. The back end software system could be a little more streamlined. The up time isn't as perfect as we wanted.,9,Allowed us to save on restrictive landline contracts. Allowed us a fair usage policy for calls and minutes which landlines don't provide. Saved us the need to move our physical location somewhere else to be able to use a valuable area code for our business number.8x8 a functional and stable product for basic needsFor our supply centers and manufacturing plants where little phone features are required. It is not being used at corporate or for any call center functions. It addresses the problem of being able to quickly get a system up and running for minimal cost and minimal equipment Removing our POTS lines is also a positive.,Phone and user configuration relatively easy and quick. Limited steps to complete for system programming. Ordering new services quick.,Many extension ranges no available for use. Music on hold configuration is cumbersome and not functional. Phone button programming very time consuming and slow.,7,Saved monthly costs by removing POTS lines. Saved on purchasing on-prem PBX systems. Ability to purchase phones and not lease.,RingCentral,Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager), Cisco Unified Contact Center, Cisco ASA
Unspecified
8x8 Virtual Office
115 Ratings
Score 7.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

8x8 Virtual Office Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
8x8 Virtual Office
115 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.1 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 116 vetted 8x8 Virtual Office reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 73)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
Andrew Steven profile photo
July 17, 2019

8x8 is number one

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We work across three locations and out on the road much of the time. Using a cloud-based VOIP PBX is the only way we can have the flexibility we need to work seamlessly as a team and be always contactable by our customers. The combination of desktop handsets and the iPhone app is superb in that from a client point of view, it doesn't matter where we are, we are always "at our desks."
  • The control panel is great and gives us full flexibility over how our system is configured.
  • The customer support at initial setup was superb and we had a dedicated account manager who ensured that we were fully configured and working the way we wanted before handing over to the ongoing support team.
  • The smartphone app is great and is just like having your fully-functional desk phone in your pocket.
  • A good VOIP experience relies on good connectivity, so it's frustrating when your mobile phone network doesn't give you a strong or fast enough signal for a seamless experience. This isn't an 8x8 issue, but 8x8 are affected by the weak links in the chain.
Any business that has workers in multiple locations or workers who are based out for the office for significant periods of time will really benefit from the 8x8 cloud-based system. Your direct line follows you around, but because of the Virtual Attendant, office hours and out of hours can be configured so that you only receive calls when you're "at work."
Read Andrew Steven's full review
Kristi Saxon profile photo
July 25, 2019

What 8 x 8 Means to Our Business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We turned to 8 x 8 in 2016 when the cost of traditional phone service was getting out of hand. I worked with Ferman Smith to get the transition rolling and we have never looked back. We use the system throughout our office and is has made all the difference in the world. The system is reliable and if there are ever any questions, I just call and there is always someone to help me.
  • I love the 8 x 8 virtual office where I am able to set the phone system up and let it run without any issues.
  • The customer service department is amazing and always there to help and guide you through setting up the system.
  • I love that there are multiple ways to speak with customer service, ex. chat, phone, and a self-service support page.
  • Sometimes setting up the system can be a little hard, however, there is always someone available to walk you through it, or help set it up.
8 x 8 Virtual Office is suited for all business small to large, that wants to have the option of "set it and leave it". If and when you ever want to make a change it is easy to log in and take care of it.
Read Kristi Saxon's full review
Joseph Lever profile photo
July 24, 2019

Very good decision for small businesses, looking to get set up ASAP

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use 8X8 to make international calls, so basically, we required a VOIP service. Since we are traveling and on the go, it doesn't make sense for us to be paying Network fees so 8x8 was the cheapest option. The company is relatively small, we are three people and the receptionist also answers the VOIP. We are making many calls individually to businesses (internationally) and looking for their overstock/opportunities in the market.
  • The sales guy I got in touch with when making the purchasing decision was great Sav Eswaravel.
  • The set up was quicker than anticipated.
  • I think your pricing is bang on and we get a lot for it.
  • The app is very easy to use and is the desktop app.
  • SMS feature would be great as I don't always want to give my personal number to clients.
  • You frequently have bugs which you do report on via email. Nonetheless it was an inconvenience sometimes.
Any small business which needs international calling in a cheap and quick set up. Many businesses (in my experience) collapse and fail regularly, so being able to set up shop quickly and get the ball moving with international sales is important. Now that I have used your VOIP I would definitely recommend it. I was using another one for a different business 2 years ago and your tech and service was incomparably better.
Read Joseph Lever's full review
Kwame H. Baptiste profile photo
July 19, 2019

Great step in the right direction.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
8x8 Virtual Office is our primary phone system at all our facilities. It addresses a number of issues we had in the past:
  • It unified a multiple of locations under one system where previously we had a mixture of systems.
  • With its virtual office functions, we are able to tie in mobile users via the apps and treat them as if they were in the office. Even those who work from home can operate the same with caller ID and directory access and using their office extension to ring on their cell.
  • It allowed us to eliminate a fax machine and POTs. Users use their 8x8 Virtual Office app to send and receive faxes.
  • Easy to transition phone numbers and fax numbers over to 8x8 Virtual Office to ensure customers have key contacts retained.
  • We can manage multiple directories for multiple companies and allow calling between multiple companies. Also, ring groups and pickup groups are amazing.
  • Retains very efficient individual fax services per user.
  • Each user can now schedule their own meetings and conference calls. There's no need for third-party apps, service, or staff.
  • User can now manage their own call forwarding and rules for call management and not IT.
  • Users are empowered to use the service. The app is helpful and enables proactive actions.
  • The service uses third-party phones and the interface needs improving. Not very user-friendly and not easy to change key functions.
  • Changing users on third party phones can be tedious, especially moving extensions from one phone to another.
  • Very little tolerance from internet slowdowns. Phones need peak internet. Although outages are few and far between, when it does, a drop in phone connectivity is not a welcomed additional problem to have.
It's best suited for a static office environment for small to mid-size businesses who are looking to save some money on third-party phones.

It's not good for large scale corporations who demand more hands-on programming of the phone and customized solutions. Also not good for offices that change locations and employees often. Phones are POE, but adding and changing users is tedious.
Read Kwame H. Baptiste's full review
Mark Savage profile photo
July 17, 2019

8x8 = 64 Karat Gold Phone System

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
8X8 was selected as our VoIP system throughout the organization. The ability to be able to have access to the company's phone system anywhere in the world was a key selling feature. It also integrates into our CRM system, which is an added bonus.
  • Easy to use interface
  • Click to dial
  • Ability to sync from PC to laptop.
  • No need for a physical desk phone anymore.
  • Ability to read international numbers with brackets in it, i.e. +41 (0) 7220 does not work on click to dial at present.
  • Easier navigation through setting up call queues and auto attendants.
  • Some free templates of hold music.
If you are looking for a VoIP provider that integrates well with 3rd party systems, has very quick support ticket response and doesn't drop packets, look no further. Even on my mobile device on mobile internet, the call quality is very good, very rarely do I get a complaint.
Read Mark Savage's full review
Oliver R. profile photo
July 17, 2019

Great accessibility and value for money!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a small company and have only a couple of people so 8x8 is used with one account, with more to be added. It’s easy to use with a great connection and solves the problem of having to have a physical handset. I can take it wherever I want in the world.
  • Great connection
  • Great accessibility
  • Well priced
  • Some times the phones go down and take a while to get back up.
8x8 is well suited for small to large companies. Particularly for sales organizations, this works very well. It’s great for multinational companies and for anyone looking for a cheap, good quality service for their company. I don’t think there would be a situation where 8x8 wouldn’t be good as it has changed the way telephone systems are done and can add value to all.
Read Oliver R.'s full review
David Sluder profile photo
July 17, 2019

Great product! Helps us stay on track.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently. we have 8x8 in our office. It is used from the front desk all the way to administration. We changed over from an old Nortel system and it has been a wonderful experience. Now all our voicemails are accessible from any phone. I have the ability to change the auto attendant through a website and adjust messages and holiday hours with ease. eFax is also very nice. Having fax numbers for every phone number and the main office fax ensures that when a fax does come in it goes to the appropriate line without any confusion or misplaced paper.
  • Voicemail access
  • Desktop app
  • eFax
  • Online management of the entire system, including voice recordings
  • The desktop app is very nice but it is updated regularly and not always for the better. I would like to have a volume selection with each message.
  • The online management site is easy to work with but I have always had issues with the recorded voice messages never playing through my computer.
I have a healthcare office and it is a great fit for us. Multiple fax lines and ring groups make it a great tool. Voicemail is a huge part of the daily operation and it is nice to be able to listen to voicemail on my computer and be able to call patients back with the click of a button. It helps streamline this process. It once took half a day to answer voicemails and now it is down to just a couple of hours.
Read David Sluder's full review
Adam Harris profile photo
July 09, 2019

8x8 Virtual Office service offers freedom in running my business...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I utilize 8x8 Virtual Office to allow me to have two geographical phone numbers, remotely answerable so that I'm available to help existing or potential clients even when on the road.
  • Accessible on a range of platforms.
  • Offers customization in answerphone messages.
  • Allows multiple phone numbers to be answered within one account.
  • The service currently fulfills all our business needs.
Where people work remotely, 8x8 Virtual Office offers the opportunity of having a physical presence without having the financial burden of an office. Whilst the service allows making and receiving calls through a smartphone or desktop app, it is also possible to connect by means of a VOIP handset.
Read Adam Harris's full review
Myles George profile photo
July 09, 2019

Great or anyone looking for SoftPhone services on the go or in-office

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
8x8 allows us to make and receive telephone calls in the office and outside of the office. We have them hooked to hardwired internet telephones that were kindly provided by 8x8 and allow us to divert, transfer, make and receive calls quickly and easily. We are also using the app to make and receive calls on the go and call record which is useful for our sales team.
  • Make calls.
  • Receive calls.
  • Call recording.
  • Set up.
  • Installation of hard wired phones.
  • Online user settings.
It is well suited to any business with Sales teams or looking to make and receive calls using a virtual number. Not so well with users who are on the go all the time or trying to use the app in areas of patchy signal as the app does require some rather good signal to work to it's best.
Read Myles George's full review
Zachary Valentine profile photo
June 13, 2019

Definitely recommend this company for anyone looking for VOIP needs.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use 8x8 to receive calls from customers and clients and to make sales calls. What makes this product exceptional is the ability to use the app when I'm away from my desk so I never miss a work call which is very important.
  • Rarely in the last 13 years has the service gone down.
  • The app keeps me available to clients when I'm out of the office.
  • Price compared to service is worth every penny.
  • The ability to block spam calls from my desk VoIP phone or my app should be added.
Since it is a VOIP phone, it can essentially be moved if needed.
Read Zachary Valentine's full review
Jeremy Snider profile photo
June 01, 2019

8x8 Virtual Office, always be at the office... even at the beach.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use 8x8 Virtual office as our exclusive VoiP communication tool for every department in every office. Using Virtual Office gives us a consistent communication tool. From the office, to the home office, even when out of office, 8x8 Virtual Office lets me take and make calls with the same quality. Managing the lines, ring groups, voicemail recordings, and call recordings are all a breeze with 8x8 Virtual Office.
  • 100% compatibility across any platform you can think of. You will also be connected and appear to your client as if you're at the office.
  • Customer service is the best! Incredibly attentive. Respectful. Helpful. If the product was weaker, I might stay just for the support I've received.
  • Incredibly robust options, but with a very intuitive UI. It's not hard to reset a password or set up a phone.
  • Call recording quality is clear and easy to access and share. For someone in sales, this is incredibly helpful, as it allows me to improve myself and coach others with ease.
  • SMS functionality is hit and miss. I receive SMS consistently, but cannot consistently reply.
  • The click to dial app needs work. This is maybe more of a windows issue, but 8x8 has no "app" for windows. Therefore it cannot be set to a default "tel" per windows.
  • It'd be helpful if the mobile app could be more easily closed. This is especially problematic with an iPhone.
  • Updates don't seem to be uniformly applied. Meaning in our office, it may take weeks for every app to be updated when a new patch comes out.
Unless you use an "off brand" CRM or need to fully rely on SMS communication, 8x8 Virtual Office is the best tool I've used. Call quality is almost always going to be the biggest factor, and it is the clearest VoIP system I've used. As someone who manages the account, the usability and functionality are second to none. I am able to quickly forward an ext if they're on vacation, update a voicemail password, and download all recordings to a specific number with just a few clicks. Any quality issues I've ever had were hardware related (don't cheap out on a headset). Any tech issues are quickly addressed (and were often my fault).
Read Jeremy Snider's full review
Daniel Herrera profile photo
May 31, 2019

Excellent Communications Platform

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
8x8 is deployed across our entire organization and it helps bridge the communication gap between all of our offices across North America. The mobile applications also enable us to be mobile and continue to stay connected to our business by allowing us to take and make calls on it and not miss a beat.
  • We've received excellent support from our account manager, who is always attentive to our needs and always has a suggestion on how to improve our experience.
  • The service is always up when we need it and we have never experienced major outages.
  • The 8x8 support team is well trained and can give a resolution to most problems on the first contact.
  • The fax function on 8x8 Virtual Office Pro is not as reliable as I would expect. Sometimes it takes 2 or 3 tries to connect to the destination machine.
  • The Virtual Office app for Android will behave differently on different vendor implementations of the system. On Samsung phones running Android 9.0, the phone will ring but it will sometimes not pick up the call when the phone is locked.
  • I'd like the ability to switch external phone numbers from one device to another from the 8x8 Account Manager portal rather than to have to go through support to do this.
  • It would be nice to have the option to change Virtual Office plans on the fly and add Pro licenses to different extensions.
  • The web admin interface is a little clunky and looks outdated. It would look better if it followed the design guidelines that 8x8 uses for the application picker and the Virtual Office Desktop app
8x8 is a great solution for any business phone needs, from a single phone line to an entire organization. The virtual meeting rooms are useful as well to conduct meetings with clients or with other members of the staff. The implementation of the mobile apps on Android still needs some work (perhaps more testing against the implementation of different vendor skins for Android). One pitfall of the current implementation is that the 8x8 Account Manager portal is still limited and you have to make certain changes through support or the Account Rep.
Read Daniel Herrera's full review
Steven Powell profile photo
May 27, 2019

Worth the costs. Ease of setup and management cannot be denied

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially, it was purchased as a "we need a quick phone system" for a new building being set up after a corporate divestiture. After our initial experience with that building, we have now implemented it in two other facilities and have plans for at least 2 more as the phone systems reach end of life. In these buildings, it is the primary phone system used by employee's both traveling and local. It has also allowed us to give some remote employee's business phone extensions out of their home office.
  • Audio Quality: I've just never had a single complaint which is normally a concern with a VOIP service.
  • Mobility: The versatility allowed moving between desk-phone, cell phone app and or computer all working interchangeability
  • Available sales force: I have never once had difficulty getting in touch with my account manager when needed.
  • When things go right with a phone setup, they go very well and take moments. When there are issues particularly when swapping devices, the troubleshooting steps are not always clear.
  • Improved user documentation. While the technical materials are generally pretty good, the user documentation is not as clear on features as it might be.
  • Technical Support team (sometimes) feels like they are reading straight from a station book. After issue escalation the teams are fantastic, but sometimes the level of detail wanted to get to that point is a bit out of step with the issue.
For small offices in the 1 - 300 range, it is both cost-effective and easy to manage by one person. Beyond that, it may require a small team.
Read Steven Powell's full review
Jennifer Powell profile photo
July 17, 2019

8x8 is good for the value it brings

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use 8x8 for the attendant to professionally greet our customers and offer information to our customers calling in with questions. It helps, especially around holiday times and peak seasons.
  • Communication is key. Letting people know when your shop is open and when holiday hours are is important.
  • A professional greeting makes customers feel welcomed and important at our business.
  • Placing people on hold with music is nicer than silence.
  • A sample script would be nice.
  • More selections of hold music.
  • Annual account review to make sure we are getting the best rate.
8x8 is well suited for a small business to have a great professional presence.
Read Jennifer Powell's full review
Nathan Baxter CeMAP profile photo
July 11, 2019

8x8 Virtual Office Highly Recommended for a Sole Business User

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
8x8 Virtual Office is used for VOIP calling so that I can have a fixed landline number regardless of where I am operating my business from. This could be from home, my office or any other location, often in areas where I do not get good enough mobile signal to rely on that solely.
  • Ease of use - The virtual desktop app is self-explanatory and even though I am not particularly great with IT, I have never struggled getting to grips with the app from the first time using it.
  • Reliability of use - The app pairs seamlessly with my Jabra headphones and very rarely do I have any service related issues with, for example, connecting to the server. If it does drop off, which it only tends to once a fortnight or so, it pretty much comes back on almost straight away.
  • Cost-effectiveness - When I looked at other offerings from similar providers, they did not have solutions for 'one man bands' like myself. Their services were, at a minimum, twice as expensive than 8x8 Virtual Office. Most were in excess of three times as expensive for a single user like me.
  • Very rarely, it has downtime. This is infrequent enough that it does not effect my business.
8x8 Virtual Office is easy to use and suits the needs of a small business perfectly. There are a lot of functions available to me which I do not even require, but which are available should I ever require them or expand my business. If my business expands in the future I know I have video conferencing and audio conferencing features available at no extra cost and these may come in handy in the future, so it's nice to know there is additional functionality at hand should it ever become a requirement.
Read Nathan Baxter CeMAP's full review
Srecko Anzic profile photo
April 01, 2019

Not very satisfied with 8x8

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is mainly used for internal communication. Only managers use it to call externally. 8x8 is used across the entire organization. It used a lot for chatting; we use it in a group chat. It should be used more for meetings in the same way we use WebEx. So basically it is used for internal chat and communication. We have one office in Toronto and one in New York.
  • Phone calls are usually good.
  • Support is good.
  • Online Meetings
  • 8x8 Virtual Office functionality and desktop phone setup could be easier.
[There are] A lot of issues when setting up physical phones. Sometimes 8x8 is unable to solve issues. I had to create my own documents on how to troubleshoot problems in 5 minutes instead of being on the phone for 3 hours with 8x8 support. Support is great and they are ready to help but sometimes even experts are unable to solve certain issues.

The 8x8 Virtual office windows app is acting up and not syncing well. The Iphone app is acting up and sometimes shows weird numbers when you call someone instead of showing your number or it is simply failing to call.
A lot of effort is put into setting up a phone (8x8 VO Window apps and smartphone apps).
Read Srecko Anzic's full review
No photo available
July 11, 2019

Supportive

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
8x8 Virtual Office is the primarily telephone communication device. We use across the whole organization. 8x8 Virtual Office addresses clients reaching the company and the direct person in a timely and cost effective manner. It also provides a consistent structure to make changes when employees are first hired or when an employee leaves the company.
  • 8x8 Virtual Office provides as many ring groups that a company requires. We have 6 rings that help clients reach the person they need to reach.
  • 8x8 Virtual Office provides as many fax numbers that a company requires. We have 6 fax numbers that help employees receive a client's fax in a timely manner. And can verify receipt quickly.
  • Periodically, the 8x8 Account Manager information changes without me making the change. For example, one department's faxes are set up to receive an notification email and the faxed attachment when the department receives a fax. I was informed that they were no longer receiving the attachment. When I went into the Solo account, I found that the setup had changed. I changed the set-up once more and the employees confirmed that they were now receiving the attachment.
  • Periodically, I have to call the customer service with 8x8. The representatives are professional and thorough with what they have been trained for. However, the call to resolve an issues seems to last too long.
8x8 Virtual Office is a convenient and cost-efficient office service. However, realistically be prepared that there will be issues that come up that are difficult to resolve. For example, our office is unable to use the computer to answer phone calls because our computer setup is not compatible with the VoIP system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 11, 2019

Simple, full-featured and perfect for small businesses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company has one employee and that's me. Therefore I need to have access to all of the 8x8 features whether I'm in the office or out. It automatically forwards my phone calls to my cell phone and allows me to change my phone settings even when working remotely.
  • Remote access to my phone system to make changes or to use its many features.
  • The ability to view voice mail transcripts - very helpful during meetings when listening is not an option.
  • The new contacts search feature allows you type in partial names and all that apply pop up.
  • Improve the interface for the mobile version to be more similar to the PC version.
  • Forwarding phone calls is a bit cumbersome on the mobile version.
  • Improve voice mail transcriptions on the mobile version.
The 8x8 Virtual Office is nicely designed and especially well suited for small companies or even sole proprietors like myself. The features included are fairly intuitive and don't require extensive training to use. I've always believed in the "Keep it simple, stupid" philosophy and the 8x8 Virtual Office does just that.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 11, 2019

NextGen Phone System Management!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization. It provides one central location for management of our telecom services, and makes it easy to make changes within the phone system, add/remove lines/extensions, change passwords, etc. It also provides easy access to voicemails and users can choose how they would like to receive voicemails (audio link, e-mail notification and attachment, etc.). The auto-attendant feature is awesome as well.
  • Voicemail management is great. Users don't have to sit and listen to all voicemails at once. They can target a particular voicemail and listen to just that one if they want.
  • Altering phone lines and extensions is as simple as the click of a mouse! Super convenient!
  • Auto attendant is a quick, easy way to direct incoming calls without having to have an actual person answer each call. Callers can quickly be routed exactly where they need to go with the wide variety of auto-attendant settings!
  • Voicemail passwords. 8x8 imposes certain limitations on voicemail passwords, like not letting you use any number combination that is also a year between 1900 and 2019 I think. We have used the number combination 1957 for a particular purpose, not related to the year, but 8x8 will not allow us to use this as a voicemail password. I think users should be able to choose whatever passcode they'd like for their voicemail, as long as it's 4-digits or more, or whatever the parameters are.
8x8 Virtual Office is well-suited in environments where those who administrate logistics are technology-literate and able to quickly grasp the features to save time and make phone system management ultra convenient and hassle-free. I think Virtual Office would be confusing or hard to figure out for people who may be less technologically-inclined, and may actually end up slowing them down.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 10, 2019

8x8 Virtual Office - Great VoIP solution for small businesses and teleworker-centric businesses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
8x8 is used extensively throughout the office and somewhat by sales staff. The auto attendant and flexibility of defining inbound call handling is highly useful and easy to reconfigure once familiar with the 8x8 Admin panel. Having Ring Groups and Call Queues as options for call handling is absolutely needed to correctly handle the volume of inbound calls. An Auto Attendant is an absolute necessity to block robo calls. Nearly all of the features are used, including virtual numbers (homing legacy geographical numbers into the main number), call recording, downloading and emailing call recordings as needed, daily reporting, whisper and barge in features when needed, as well as call parking and voicemail to text. Support is generally knowledgeable. If I find a Level 1 support rep is lacking knowledge, I ask for a supervisor to get support issues resolved more quickly.
The Virtual Office Desktop app is very functional as well as the mobile app for call support and texting within the organization.
  • Inbound call handling through Auto Attendants, Ring Groups and Call Queues, along with customized messages and BYO music on hold.
  • Call recording management and visibility within the Virtual Office Desktop.
  • Call processing through call transfers, blind transfers to voicemail, and conference calling.
  • Using combination of telephone instruments and VOD to display caller ID and name as available.
  • Virtual Office Desktop could be more intuitive for first time user.
  • Virtual Office needs a "Lite" version, more than minimized but not using as much screen real estate as a full-size mode.
  • Would like to see Call Recording server replicating in near real-time to East Coast switch instead of residing at only West Coast switch.
8x8 is a perfect solution for small businesses needing less than 50 phones in an office environment or for businesses that extensively rely on remote teleworkers.

Once an office reaches somewhere between 75-100 extensions, it may be more cost effective to have an in-house VoIP telephone switch and then using SIP connections to connect to the outside PSTN.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 08, 2019

8x8 is good though nowhere near great.

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
8x8 virtual office suite was an add on to a package I purchased at our company's new headquarters. It was going to be our go-to telecommunications platform and help to ease our budget in replacing traditional telecommunication options.
  • 8x8 set up is straight up yellow for dummies version easy. This is incredibly important as that was promoted as one of its selling points and they followed through with it.
  • It is accessible from anywhere and there is even an app for Android and iOS. I can not see this as a plus though because with all of the competition available, NOT having these options on your mobile is a death sentence for customer retention.
  • Customer support was positive. They were responsive whenever we would encounter any issues or need clarifications on our package.
  • The user interface feels is incredibly boring and definitely reminds you that you are at work, though feels like you are at work on a Windows 95 computer.
  • Pricing was way too high compared to the competition and e-fax was even more expensive.
  • It is not special. There is absolutely nothing in it that made me feel impressed to any significant degree. I say this not to be mean, but they do not offer anything that is worth paying even half the price they are asking for.
I would not recommend it. There are far too many alternatives that outperform it for less of the price. A scenario where I can see it still being viable is if it is included either for free or heavily subsidized as a part of some deal. Still, even free, I would likely use something else if I had the money to spend on it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 09, 2019

8x8 Good in a pinch

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in support of a contracted Contract Center. It addressed the issue of providing call routing and allowing office and remote workers a robust platform for handling calls as well as the management team the reports we needed to meet the customer requirements.
  • User-friendly
  • Provides in-depth call reporting
  • Great call flow
  • Reports interface could be easier and more intuitive.
  • Make it easier to move from desk phone to softphone to cell.
  • Price is a little high.
It is great for a call center but the price point may make it more difficult for larger centers where a premise-based system is less expensive.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 23, 2019

A useful addition to any company

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use 8x8 in our tech startup. We are a relatively small team and are on the phone quite regularly to engage with new clients and resolve issues with existing customers, and our use of 8x8 has been incredibly useful. We were initially simply using our personal mobile phone numbers which of course is not entirely professional, and 8x8 seemed like the perfect VOIP to implement.
  • Account managers are fast to reply, providing useful guidance in using the product.
  • The very in depth user guide is very easy to understand.
  • Being able to be 'on call' away from the office is incredibly useful.
  • No customer service phone number, when trying to contact we are directed to customers who know the product well but it is hard to communicate our issues to them adequately.
  • Conversations are frequently low quality and customer cannot hear us properly.
  • Sometimes calls only show up as a notification on lock screen rather than actually ringing through.
8x8 is wonderful if you are working remotely, either from home or from a cafe. If at any point you need to take a business call out of the office, it is seamless, and the addition of team messaging is incredibly useful when away from the office. Everything that you may need to do is found within the app.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 20, 2019

8x8 Virtual Office - Perfect for just about any business with telephony needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
8x8 Virtual Office provides the perfect blend of cost-effective communication for our team, with quick and easy setup and management of telephony services. We are currently using 8x8 Virtual Office in our head office instead of using the hard-wired telephone services from BT or other standard telephone suppliers.

The set up can be quite quick, however, we purchased the hardline telephones and the set-up was more complicated than expected. There was no plug and play. Instead, we had to wait for a telephone appointment to run through set up with a service representative, and there were a few issues. Don't get me wrong though, once it was set up it was really easy to use. Just pick up the phone or dial out on the keypad. Just like using a normal phone except we have the capability to have multiple local telephone lines into one building and have a system to run things like forwarding, hold systems, call handling, and the like. The system really shines for employees, like me, who use the app and go out on the road a lot. We can make calls from landline numbers and hold conferences through the app.
  • Soft phone used as hard phone.
  • Call recording and call handling
  • Answering software and round-robin distribution.
  • The set up could be slicker, especially when configuring the hard wired phones.
  • The back end software system could be a little more streamlined.
  • The up time isn't as perfect as we wanted.
This software is perfect for most businesses really. I think everyone deserves the flexibility of not being hard-wired to a property or tied into a contract. We can pick up the phone and dial and answer calls just as you would normally with a landline except we are allowed multiple lines, area code numbers, and more locations than from one property. Not only that, because it's digital, we can now record all of our sales calls or customer service calls as well as having a professional call answer service, which makes our business appear more professional.

For a professional services business such as us, this product works perfectly. If you have any department of people who need to be contacted or make contact with others, this works. Where doesn't 8x8 Virtual Office work? Maybe if you didn't need any telephony services, or if you were in a serviced office. The app is mostly flexible but does rely on an internet connection from your device, whether it be wifi or mobile data. You'll usually need at least 4G or very strong 3G connection which makes it less flexible on the road than if you were using a proper mobile phone.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 19, 2019

8x8 a functional and stable product for basic needs

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For our supply centers and manufacturing plants where little phone features are required. It is not being used at corporate or for any call center functions.

It addresses the problem of being able to quickly get a system up and running for minimal cost and minimal equipment Removing our POTS lines is also a positive.
  • Phone and user configuration relatively easy and quick.
  • Limited steps to complete for system programming.
  • Ordering new services quick.
  • Many extension ranges no available for use.
  • Music on hold configuration is cumbersome and not functional.
  • Phone button programming very time consuming and slow.
In my opinion, it is well suited for environments or companies that need basic programming and simple call flows. Situations with many sites and complex routing and messaging requirements may not be the best as it takes a lot of work and workarounds to get to function properly, if at all.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Hosted PBX (43)
8.0
Multi-level Interactive Voice Response (IVR) (37)
8.5
User templates (40)
6.5
Call reports (54)
7.5
Directory of employee names (54)
8.6
Answering rules (60)
8.5
Call recording (51)
8.8
Call park (50)
8.1
Call screening (47)
8.5
Message alerts (53)
8.8
Video conferencing (24)
7.3
Audio conferencing (44)
7.9
Mobile app for iOS (51)
7.5
Mobile app for Android (38)
7.6

About 8x8 Virtual Office

8x8 Virtual Office promises smarter, more efficient ways to connect with customers and employees. 8x8 says its Virtual Office delivers a powerful Unified Communications platform that provides one solution for voice, video and chat across any device, anytime and anywhere. The vendor says 8x8 Virtual Office includes these communication tools:

Virtual Office cloud phone service—Reliable, feature-rich cloud based phone service
Advanced call forwarding—Never miss an important call again by forwarding your office calls to your cell phone, home phone
Chat/Messaging—Quickly resolve questions with inter-company chat that’s safe and secure
Business SMS—Send, receive and track text messages
Presence —See who is on the phone and who is available by checking their status icon; no more chasing people down
Mobile and Desktop apps—Virtual Office desktop and mobile apps make it simple to call, IM, schedule meetings and more
Online meetings—Collaboration with web, audio and video conferencing
Internet faxing—Send and receive unlimited faxes online
Call recording—Easily record and save telephone calls
International Calling—With a global plan, you get unlimited calling to 40 international locations
Call Quality Analytics —Visibility into all communications
Supervisor Analytics - Trend analysis and metrics on sites, endpoints and call queues



8x8 Virtual Office Features

Cloud PBX Features
Has featureHosted PBX
Has featureMulti-level Interactive Voice Response (IVR)
Has featureUser templates
Has featureCall reports
Has featureDirectory of employee names
Call Management Features
Has featureAnswering rules
Has featureCall recording
Has featureCall park
Has featureCall screening
Has featureMessage alerts
VoIP system collaboration Features
Has featureVideo conferencing
Has featureAudio conferencing
Does not have featureVideo screen sharing
Does not have featureInstant messaging
Mobile apps Features
Has featureMobile app for iOS
Has featureMobile app for Android

8x8 Virtual Office Integrations

G Suite, Bullhorn CRM (unpublished), Slack, Zendesk, Okta Workforce Identity, NetSuite, Desk.com, Salesforce Sales Cloud, Skype for Business (formerly Lync)

8x8 Virtual Office Competitors

8x8 Virtual Office Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

8x8 Virtual Office Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android