Skip to main content
TrustRadius
8x8 X Series

8x8 X Series

Overview

What is 8x8 X Series?

8x8 XCaaS aims to erase the boundary between Unified Communications as a Service (UCaaS) and Contact Center as a Service (CCaaS) to help organizations deliver modern communications experiences. With one integrated platform for customer and employee communications, businesses can…

Read more
Recent Reviews

Great!

10 out of 10
February 11, 2024
Incentivized
This is our main phone answering system. It allows all of us in the office to utilize the phones and answer or make calls from remote …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 16 features
  • Call recording (292)
    9.0
    90%
  • Answering rules (339)
    8.9
    89%
  • Directory of employee names (298)
    8.8
    88%
  • Message alerts (328)
    8.7
    87%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

1 video

User Review: Small Business Uses 8x8 X Series To Keep Communication Flowing Between Employees
01:51
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

X2

$24

Cloud
Per User/Per Month

X4

$44

Cloud
Per User/Per Month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.8x8.com/products/plans-and…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $24 per month
Return to navigation

Features

Cloud PBX

A cloud PBX system is based on cloud computing technology where data is stored and transferred over the intenet without any need for on-site PBX equipment

8.8
Avg 8.2

Call Management

Customized phone system settings

8.6
Avg 8.4

VoIP system collaboration

Team collaboration via cloud phone system

8.8
Avg 8.3

Mobile apps

Apps are compatible with mobile devices.

9.3
Avg 8.3
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is 8x8 X Series?

8x8’s Experience Communications as a Service (XCaaS) brings customer and employee experience together with contact center, voice, video, chat, and APIs on one cloud-native platform. The 8x8 eXperience Communications Platform™ is a XCaaS platform that optimizes omnichannel customer experience with data-driven insights while enabling employee engagement in a work-from-anywhere world.

8x8 XCaaS aims to erase the boundary between Unified Communications as a Service (UCaaS) and Contact Center as a Service (CCaaS) to help organizations deliver modern communications experiences that drive revenue, cut costs, and optimize operations for the new world of work.

  • An omnichannel contact center solution supporting inbound/outbound interactions for all voice and digital channels.

  • A conversational AI solution for automated self-service experiences with turnkey integrations to other systems to optimize the level of personalization during interactions.

  • A suite of Workforce Engagement Management applications that include native Quality Management and Speech and Text Analytics.

  • Enterprise-grade PBX features that include auto-attendant, voicemail, flexible call flow rules, and number coverage in over 100 countries.

  • Business SMS/MMS and internet fax.

  • End-to-end encrypted video meetings for up to 500 participants for deeper collaboration, supporting a global workforce.

  • Support for informal call queues, such as internal help desks for HR or IT.

  • 1-1 or team chat and private or public chat rooms for faster collaboration between employees.

  • Access via a wide variety of desk phones, mobile and desktop apps, or any web browser.

  • In-depth reporting and robust analytics across all communications for IT admins and lines of business.

  • Unified administration capabilities for license management, number porting, provisioning, and configuration.

  • Streamlined workflows with a shared integration framework to embed communication features into productivity tools like Microsoft Teams or business apps like CRM and service management systems.

  • An API library with no-code and low-code technology used to customize digital channels to engage with customers.

  • Composed, personalized experiences for key organizational roles, such as contact center agents, supervisors, IT administrators, and receptionists, to boost user productivity.

  • Progressive, multi-modal communications with a financially-backed 99.999% uptime SLA for UCaaS and CCaaS.

8x8 X Series Features

Cloud PBX Features

  • Supported: Hosted PBX
  • Supported: User templates
  • Supported: Call reports
  • Supported: Directory of employee names

Call Management Features

  • Supported: Answering rules
  • Supported: Call recording
  • Supported: Call park
  • Supported: Call screening
  • Supported: Message alerts

VoIP system collaboration Features

  • Supported: Video conferencing
  • Supported: Audio conferencing
  • Supported: Video screen sharing
  • Supported: Instant messaging

Mobile apps Features

  • Supported: Mobile app for iOS
  • Supported: Mobile app for Android

8x8 X Series Video

8x8 X Series Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android

Frequently Asked Questions

8x8 XCaaS aims to erase the boundary between Unified Communications as a Service (UCaaS) and Contact Center as a Service (CCaaS) to help organizations deliver modern communications experiences. With one integrated platform for customer and employee communications, businesses can respond to customer inquiries faster while maintaining the context and content of each engagement as it progresses through the customer journey.

8x8 X Series starts at $24.

Reviewers rate Multi-level Interactive Voice Response (IVR) highest, with a score of 10.

The most common users of 8x8 X Series are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(706)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 399)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
February 11, 2024

Best Work System By Far.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use 8x8 primarily for patient communication. This product has helped us streamline the use of a single main line while being able to take calls remotely. Scheduling and managing appointments has become much much easier since implementing this system. Since we often see patients offsite as well, 8x8 mobile has allowed us to keep our personal numbers private, setting the office number as the caller ID. This also looks more professional, considering we are a small practice and do not have a centralized call center.
  • Call integration with office desk phones.
  • Voice quality on mobile app.
  • Text communications with patients who are hard of hearing.
  • Admin console being shareable to other users.
  • Setting desk phone as main audio/mic source without additional inputs.
  • Admin console access on desktop app vs web.
8x8 is well suited for our small private practice. Even though we are close to each other, it makes managing and transferring calls effortless. Concurrent calls are also a strong suit. Even if two people are logged into the same user account, being able to answer two lines at the same time and flip between devices is a great feature to have.
February 11, 2024

Great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
This is our main phone answering system. It allows all of us in the office to utilize the phones and answer or make calls from remote locations, too. Very easy to use with the app. Also, have it connected to our computers. The voicemail transcript is useful as well. I highly recommend it.
  • Remote
  • Accessible
  • Adaptable
  • App
  • Change voicemail machine.
  • Make accounts.
Great for a smaller office in which multiple people can use the phones. It’s a central connection. Great for tech-savvy offices. It's not great if you do not want to use your phone. I am not sure how this would operate in larger offices. Maybe consider this when thinking of a system.
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
8x8 X Series provides our building phones. The network is connected, with 4 digit extension dialing within the building.
  • Caller ID
  • Voicemail
  • Recording missed call information
  • Transfer feature is glitchy
  • Communication with 8x8 X Series is not smooth
  • Installing new hardware is complicated
8x8 X Series is internet-based, so we do not have phone service when the internet goes down. There is no landline or cellular backup. The hardware is very expensive, and we find ourselves replacing cords more frequently than with our old system.
Evelyn Chapman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use 8x8 X Series every day. I love the fact that I don't have to be at my desk when I receive calls. I can step away and answer through my cell phone.
  • With these webinars, I'm learning more and more each time.
  • Being able to transfer from desktop to the cell phone (vice versa) when calls come in has been really helpful.
  • Doing meeting calls on the 8x8 X Series app is awesome.
  • Prevent from having a lot of dropped calls.
  • When on a cell phone call and a call comes in from 8x8 X Series. It does not allow you to transfer the call.
  • Being able to have access to changes would be nice in 8x8 X Series. In my app.
Well suited is you are able to be away from your desk and still answer incoming calls. Not being able to transfer calls if you are on a call from your cell phone.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our previous provider has a messy interface, lack of support and consistent failures in service. Dropping calls multiple times with one customer is not what any business wants. We server international customers as well and many of the services I explored could not support that. 8x8 X Series has given us a clean interface to work with, easy metrics to review and we have had no interruptions in service. Our team is pleased with the ease of use and the quality if each call we make.
  • User friendly interface and visually appealing
  • Excellent Admin support and access to training
  • Ease of use for all users
  • Excellent support all around
  • Warm call transfers on the desktop app
  • More visibility or choices on default messages and hold music
  • Making sure users know they cannot do a Barge, Whisper or Monitor group without hardware
This is good for small businesses looking for a great way to manage calls. Work from home companies who need to connect their users with each other.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use 8x8 X Series for upgrading old telephones systems to new ucaas.We port thier numbers into 8x8 X Series and provide appplication training.We also add new numbers to the account as per requirement.We use latest 8x8 X Series functions to make complex things into simple and easy to use.We also port the old carrier telephone numbers into 8x8 X Series, where physical phones start working on 8x8 X Series.
  • auto attendants are easy to configure,
  • variety of work groups make life easier,
  • User Friendly interface
  • provide some live examples of scenarios based in real world.
8x8 X Series can suit most of the companies but i dount if they can withstand large customer base.
January 11, 2024

Working in 8x8 is easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
8x8 allows us to message in real-time across various departments. It is easy to move a chat into a meeting when needed. This works for people with and without 8x8. It's great!
  • Phone, chat and live meetings simply.
  • Great connections and low sound lag.
  • Integrate with TEAMS.
  • Ability to reply to a single message without commenting to the entire chat.
Remote offices.
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We utilize 8x8 for each of our employees to have a dedicated phone line that can link to their cell phones, desk phones, and Microsoft Teams accounts. We also utilize the options for rerouting calls as needed for if someone is unavailable or not answering their phone in a timely manner.
  • Ease of setting up phone line
  • Usually good uptime
  • Able to make modifications on the fly
  • In my opinion, desktop application is very finicky
  • I think the customer/technical support is lacking
  • Unable to create a fixed VOIP line
8x8 is effective as an entry-level application where there are users in multiple different locations/environments. However, its effectiveness is questionable in more involved scenarios, especially in the compliance sector, as well as the difficulty of getting effective support if there are any issues. Another issue we have is the ability to sync with new phones - it rarely takes the first time.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We Use it in Our Organization in San Francisco and New York. Also we are planning to increase 8x8 License in our new showroom which is opening shortly in Los Angeles. Our Employee use 8x8 to connect with their Clients and I Manage Admin Console. It's Quick and easy to use 8x8, Really Happy !!
  • Easy
  • Quick
  • User Friendly
  • Manageable
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to configuration
  • No other comment
Managing it's Admin console part and Configuring is easy after procuring new license or Polycom phone. I myself has done. Best thing is we can claim phone numbers as per the choices.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Talking self training & Demo for self understanding of the application and usage.The Product solves many problems such as its voice for MS teams, providing PSTN connectivity to many countries, Superior voice & video clarity, sms and team chat options etc.Scope is I have implemented it for the clients who has issues with traditional/legacy phone systems , got thier numbers ported and system moved across 8x8.
  • Traning content helps if got stuck somewhere
  • 8x8 Ui is user freindly ,thus navigaion becomes easy
  • At this point, getting connected to actual agent/executive is difficult as vitual agent is not able to answer queries properly
  • Introduce AI technology soon
Well 8x8 can suit for any place which has internet connectivity and people do international calling.

Using 8x8 at a remote place where is poor internet, it would be very difficult to use
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Zakiant has been using 8x8 for many years now, and we are using it both in-house and to support our clients as well. We have been very impressed with its performance and capabilities. The 8x8 X Series has helped us to solve a number of business problems, including Improved communication and collaboration. The platform's features, such as video conferencing and screen sharing, have helped our team to connect with customers and prospects more effectively. Overall, we are very pleased with 8x8 X Series.
  • Automatically routes incoming calls to the available agent with the appropriate skills, ensuring that customers are served promptly.
  • Integrates with email systems to provide a unified view of customer interactions.
  • Allows sales representatives to share their screens with customers and prospects, demonstrating products and services effectively.
  • The mobile app for 8x8 X Series could offer a more comprehensive and feature-rich experience.
  • 8x8 X Series should continuously enhance its security measures to protect user data and privacy.
Businesses that need a unified communications platform that can support a variety of communication channels, such as voice, video, messaging, and collaboration tools. The subscription-based model saves upfront investment in hardware or software.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
8x8 replaced a legacy Avaya system in our organization. One of the biggest issues we were facing at the time was the inability for employees to answer calls when they were not in the office. 8x8 solves this by allowing any device to be a phone. The 8x8 Work app for your computer or smart phone works as advertised and now users can receive work calls where ever they are. As a phone system it does the job. There are some limitations which is why I don't give it a 10 out of 10. Unless otherwise specified the total number of voice mails any user can have is 20 out of the box. If you need to integrate to a paging system, do you homework first, they are very limited in the systems they can natively integrate with. You cannot setup a global fax cover sheet if you plan to use eFaxing. You have to use their cover sheet or each user must add one individually. Call filtering for Spam and Robocalls is non existent. Be prepared to start receiving a lot more unwanted spam and Robocalls. Overall the system does what it needs to do even with the issues mentioned here it's a good system.


  • User Management
  • 8x8 Work App
  • Technical Support
  • eFaxing
  • API Integration
  • Paging
8x8 does what it is supposed to do it's a good phone system. We rarely if ever have an outage. It works on all platforms and is pretty easy to setup. Onboarding was pretty easy too.

Where 8x8 falls short is in it's overall feature set. There are areas such as voice mail storage, eFaxing and spam/robo calls where I think they could do better.
November 07, 2023

8x8 product review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We work at the district. We have deskphones and 8x8 apps through out the school. We want to be able to manage bulk number of accounts, devices at one. We don't want to manually modify each devices.

For admin, like to have some of these features.
1. Reporting/trace call or failing calls. Teacher report issue and we don't have away of troubleshoot this issue.
2. Backend server access, i.e., push out firmware on the handset.

  • Handle incoming calls on deskphone.
  • 8x8 apps is ease of use
  • Transfer and park calls are good
  • Smart phone app is good
  • Reporting and troubleshoot for incoming calls or fax
Ease of use. Price is right. Support many devices.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
8x8 X is a Dream for the New User and their Customer Service team feels like in-house support. The All Company Message Room has become our company chat which gives our Project Manager the ability to stay on top of everything, not to mention the quality of calls and easy to use Analytics with detailed reports on Dials, phone time and immediate access to recorded calls. 8x8 not only gives us a Professional look with the Company Caller ID and Department Extensions, but it has helped us Improve our Productivity by 30%. I cant see my company being where it is without it.
  • Records every call
  • Allows you to Communicate with your team in private messaging rooms
  • Great Quality Calls
  • Training on all their Features
  • To be honest up to this point I have not encountered any problems, I love my 8x8.
If you are a Phone Driven Business with Remote Staff and need a Reliable Service with Excellent Support and the Ability to provide you with Detail Reports on Everything from a Single Extension or a Company Wide Report in seconds, then do yourself, your staff and your Business a Favor, Hire 8x8 for Exceptional Results!
November 05, 2023

8x8 is GREAT!

Darlene Downs-Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
8x8 is the main telephone system throughout the organization from incoming calls, outgoing calls, interdepartmental, voicemail, faxing, and computer access. I depend on 8x8 to provide quality services for my daily work schedule and need documentation for credentialing providers to obtain confidential documentation. The 8x8 system is reliable, easy to navigate through, and offers great customer service with follow-up. I am confident that I can produce and have multiple tasks completed via 8x8.
  • Caller ID - I never miss a call with the caller ID of all incoming calls
  • Faxing- documents that need to be sent right away
  • Voicemail- calls do not get cut off - voicemail is detailed to accommodate the longest message
  • Have a function that when on Do Not Disturb when in a group to have direct calls go through for the extension
8x8 is well suited for the busy office that has many calls coming in daily.
November 03, 2023

Happy Camper

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I couldn't be happier with their services. The phone service has consistently delivered excellent call quality. I am able to use my phone in various places by downloading their app. Their price plans are competitive and offer great value for the features provided. Whenever I have a question their customer support has been top notch & Stephenie Watson is super helpful. 8x8's app is user friendly and allows me to manage my account and accept calls. 8x8 provides me with training sessions and updates so I can utilize my services available. In conclusion I wholeheartedly recommend to anyone in need of reliable and affordable phone services. Their dedication to quality, customer satisfaction, and innovation truly sets them apart.
  • Provides Training for their customers.
  • Make sure we have all the equipment that is needed.
  • Response time is great
  • Provide a kick back to Customers to show Appreciation!
n/a
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The 8 x 8 Series is used as our phone product for the entire building. The product helps to address situations when an employee needs to work from a different location for example. The best thing about the product is it can be utilized from a cell phone or at any desktop location anywhere.
  • Organizes Users
  • cell phone capability
  • call Queue
  • Call monitoring
  • Contact information
  • Adding an Extension
  • Fax capability
  • Reply to a Fax
In my experience 8 x 8 series is well suited for larger Business with multiple departments. It may be less appropriate for a smaller business.
November 03, 2023

Medical Office Use

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Queues to reach proper department.
  • Incoming Call Quality
  • Out Going Call Quality
  • Call Queue
  • Admin Setup - Desktop
  • Call Routing of other Numbers to main number
  • Easier Phone Tree Menu Setup and Visualizations
  • Preventing Users from not getting calls in call queue by user disabling or working around
In my opinion, call queue doesn't seem to be working well all the time. Users are able to change status which affects call queue agents which needs to be disabled from admin
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use the 8x8 system as our main line for client calls and for internal office extensions. We use 8x8 on a daily basis with phones that we acquired through 8x8. The delivery of the hardware and install were very efficient. Only drawback to date is that the system either needs a direct ethernet connection or a very strong Wifi connection (with adapters) which we did not confirm adequately before installation.
  • Customer service - efficient and well trained representatives
  • Efficient implementation of new service
  • User friendly website
  • Difficulty in setting up specific configurations for internal call management
  • More inquiry regarding client infrastructure with new service
  • Dedicate a representative for the "go-live" day to trouble shoot in real time
I had tried another VOip service which only lasted 5 days in our clinic since due to poor representative training they were simply not able to troubleshoot. 8x8 definitely solved this problem and can address our problems easily. However, I do feel that 8x8 is most likely geared toward larger business but there could also be a niche with working with small businesses such as ours. Small independent businesses tend to struggle with service based companies since we usually do not have an IT staff and because we do not represent corporations. Nonetheless, small businesses are loyal and can definitely promote your services within small business owners who otherwise may not have heard about 8x8.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
8X8 has been highly functional for our Outreach Sales Purposes. It provides Seamless Integration with our in-house developed CRM. Its functionality is varied and expansive and really meets the demands or our requirements overall. It has been perfectly suited for us.
  • It registers all outbound calls by date and time.
  • It keeps all calls organized
  • It allows for Texting between Parties
  • It provides a Voicemail function which is useful
  • It sometimes drops calls
For our purposes, 8X8 is well-suited as an overall application for Sales and Marketing Outreach by phone.
October 18, 2023

8X8 in the work place

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use 8x8 X Series for our phone tree system. We needed an update to our system and this provided such. We are now able to use the system virtually which solved our issue of employees who work remote or in different countries being able to use our phone system. We have also been able to eliminate physical phones and have a cost savings. The meetings platform is used for our virtual meetings with clients also letting us cancel our subscription to zoom.
  • Setting up the call tree is simple and very user friendly
  • Easy to use moblie app
  • Comprehensive meeting functions
  • Reception is sometimes spotty
  • The voice for the automated system could be more "human"
  • Being able to pull physical extension lists
Setting up different call queues and ring groups has helped us direct clients to the correct people in our office. The mobile and desktop app has given us freedom to use our phone system more effectively. We have people wanting meeting codes and passwords for the meeting platform so that it is more like zoom or teams.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use 8x8 X Series as our VOIP phone system for our office and in connection with our personal mobile phones through its app. We use its features for phone calls, voicemails, and auto-attendant backup when our secretary is unavailable. These features are sufficient for our purposes to keep us in contact with our clients. We have used its text features and video conference features as well, but only in limited amounts given availability of other third party software that we also use.
  • Phone call quality is consistently good.
  • The ability to set up and manage users through its dashboard is very useful, eliminating the need to contact someone at 8x8 to perform the work.
  • 8x8 offers a lot of customizable features, so it is easy to tailor the system towards your needs.
  • 8x8 is very responsive and proactive when issues affect their systems.
  • 8x8's emails with billing info or auto-payments does not attach a pdf copy of the invoice for reference; you have to log in to your dashboard and navigate through several links to obtain a copy of your invoice, which is frankly just inconvenient.
  • While 8x8 is very feature rich, a lot of it appears to be oriented towards call centers and therefore may not be required or useful for small offices (like ours).
  • While 8x8 is very responsive to issues affecting its system, the frequent update alerts can become distracting.
I think 8x8 can be tailored to any work environment thanks to its customizable nature. However, as I mentioned elsewhere in this review, a lot of features are primarily oriented to call centers or call volume heavy workplaces. Small offices that do not receive heavy call volume may find the system a little complicated at first. However, if they are willing to invest the time and learn the system, it is a great system that lets you tailor it for your needs.
October 17, 2023

Communication is key

Nick Kershaw | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
For my profession it is all about communication and 8x8 allows to me to connect with my clients to make sure I take care of the services that each customer has entrusted in me to carry out for them. The only way to complete this is by communication on all all ends and 8x8 allows me the resources to do this.
  • Communication
  • Connecting
  • Monitoring
  • Too many updates
  • Sometimes loading
It is suited for my business as I allow it to be, with the scenarios where it is less I don't use or implement it.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Mobile app
  • contact centre analytics dashboard
  • accessibility to connect via call, text, video call
  • voice to text voicemail
  • User Manuals
8x8 is our primary communication tool, connecting employees across our head office and various store locations. We rely on its video conferencing feature for all digital meetings within our organization. Furthermore, our HR department finds it exceptionally user-friendly for digital interviews and storing training videos and live demos for future reference. It's a versatile tool that fulfills the needs of different departments and meets all our requirements. The analytics dashboard, especially for our contact center operations, is a standout feature, seamlessly integrating with our CRM system. The mobile app is equally impressive, offering all the necessary features and ensuring smooth communication through calls, texts, and video calls. Its user-friendliness is an added bonus. The app has significantly improved our call routing process, resulting in a more streamlined business operation and cost savings. I highly recommend 8x8 for companies of all sizes – small, medium, and large. Transitioning to the 8x8 communication system facilitates swift communication and provides detailed reporting, making it a valuable asset for any organization.
Return to navigation