TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/0I/2D/LB25RQ82W2PF.PNGUps and Downs with VWOWe use VWO for A/B testing smaller features on site (e.g. hiding some text) and split testing with larger features (e.g. layout and image changes). It's primarily used by engineering currently, but we are trying to move priorities to product and marketing (with some constraints) for the majority of tests. It allows us to make business decisions around the wording of text that's shown, or the user experience around a new UI.,General overview of which test variation is doing better Simple A/B and Split URL tests Simple testing mechanics (e.g. blanking the page before simple tests are run like with the WYSIWYG editor),UI/UX for finding certain options are confusing. Even having used the tool for a bit, can't remember where certain editing options are . Bugs with the visual editor and preview mode (having to refresh the page until it works) More complicated tests (which may involve mechanics specific to certain companies),7,Helps us A/B test features for site improvement Helps us direct traffic to one variation before we implement the feature into code Helps us plan future tests with current test results,We make business and UI decisions based on VWO tests that help improve our conversion rates on the site (e.g. overall purchase conversion and conversion through the funnel). VWO helps us test and implement these potential decisions and gives us data to make the actual decisions.,We have not targeted specific users. Though we may do so in the future if the case applies.,It allows simple tests to be done by non engineers, which allows us to direct some responsibility to non engineering teams.,Google Analytics, Woopra, Google Ads (formerly AdWords) and Clicky,Google Analytics, Google Tag Manager, WoopraVWO: Easy to realize big improvements on your websiteVWO is being used by our marketing department for optimizing our website. We will have a look at the heat maps to see what people click on and think is most useful. And we use A/B tests for continuous optimization of our homepage and landing pages. We try to answer questions like: how can we best serve our (potential) customers on our website?,Heat maps Easy set up of A/B tests Easy implementation of the tool,Last time I wanted to add a B-variant in a A/B-test on our homepage. I changed the existing content (that was separated in two columns), but in the preview it kept showing elements I already deleted. In the end I decided to skip this test, because I couldn't find a solution. Integration of Google Analytics can be more easy, so I can easily use my existing measurement goals for example. Exporting of the made heat maps into images.,8,I don't have hard figures, but we measure the conversion rate on our lead page. We continuously have an A/B test running and after a winner can be decided we test something new. I am sure the use of VWO will contribute positively to our amount of leads. By using VWO, we are triggered to think of new experiences all the time. It will help us improving our way of doing business and because we can visualize it, other colleagues will get excited about it as well.,My organization has benefit of the use of A/B testing. We have a special landing page for lead generation. We often have a B-variant live. In this variant we make one change. We tried to vary with images, or images versus video, with the colours of our page, with adding call-to-action-buttons and by the size and location of our lead form. We optimize it all the time. The variant with the best conversion rate is the winner.,I have to say we have used the targeting option yet. As our company has specific target groups this can be a good feature to use in the coming months. I would like to test if the target group would like to see specific content for their group, or more general content. And if we can see differences between the target groups: like use specific terms or not.,The WYSIWYG editor is very easy. I can easily click on the part of the website I would like change. So I just click on the text and can change the text for example. Without the help of the, always busy, IT-department. As an online marketeer the editor gives me freedom and speed. And the improvements can be easily done by other colleagues at my team as well, so we as a team feel very concerned with testing.,Google Analytics, Google Ads (formerly AdWords) and Google Tag Manager,Google Ads (formerly AdWords), Google Analytics, Google Tag ManagerVWO is effective, but sometimes clunkyOur marketing department uses it to A/B test new website organizations, promotions, and product page layouts. It lets us make temporary changes to our website strategy, see the effects, and then decide whether or not to commit to them on the live site for our entire audience.,Live previews of changes as you make them Direct HTML access or a simple UI, as needed Google Analytics integration,The first-party analytics are harder to use than the Google Analytics integration and show more inconsistent results - would be nice if these were improved The web editor is sometimes slow to load or reflect changes, and occasionally locks up Preview screenshots seem to be spliced together, so they often show multiple instances of the site header spaced down the page,7,Significantly increased sales on several products after reorganizing their product pages or adding promotions, at essentially no extra cost Ruled out proposed changes that would have damaged our ROI before we pushed them to live for all users Taught us how to design our website to best suit our specific customers (albeit through trial-and-error),We've certainly benefited from creating multiple versions of our site. We are on a cheaper plan that doesn't have enough visitors to test "hundreds" of changes, and we would refrain from testing them simultaneously to ensure that the results for each test aren't influenced by the other tests. We also don't use the built-in conversion tracking, as Google Analytics is superior for our needs, but we do appreciate the GA integration.,We've never used this feature and don't plan to.,This was very handy when I started using VWO, but as the scope of the changes we wanted to make increased, I did have to learn some HTML and CSS to fill in the gaps that the editor couldn't fill. Honestly, I appreciate this, as it's been helpful in other parts of my job, but some people might not have that kind of time and it would be nice if the editor had bit more power.,VWO has changed our ability to test and be agile in trying new things on our website!VWO is currently being used with a section of our business to optimize website performance and conversions.,You have the ability to have heatmaps recorded on any A/B or Split URL test, allowing you to investigate where users are concentrating most of their time within a control or variation. VWO's ability to allow custom conversion tags to be placed and triggered on the website allows for more robust conversion tracking. VWO's UI is very easy to use and navigate allowing users who are not familiar with coding the ability to test a website without the need of a developer in most cases.,Creating more technical documentation in the library, not just high level information. Example would be documentation on how you can run a test on your internal network before having a test go live.,9,VWO has helped to increase awareness of where our audience are most engaged with our site and were able to see more users clicking on our CTAs with changes to the callout. We are currently, in the midst of a large split URL test and are hoping to see better overall conversions to build on the successes we saw in our previous A/B tests.,We have benefited from the heatmaps to help guide us on understanding where user behavior is most concentrated and where it is not. It has helped us to also come up with additional A/B tests that we felt would help our site convert better.,We have not used this capability, and have actually turned it off.,Currently, the form analysis has not worked on our site due to how our form is coded. We are working to rectify this in the future as it would provide us valuable intel as to whether the form is causing users to disengage on certain sections.,Sometimes clunky, but always useful and valuableOur growth department works with clients using VWO to address potential areas in which their e-commerce sites could attract and keep more customers. It's the primary tool that we use to turn conversion rate optimization proposals into concrete data that we can then use to inform clients and make actionable recommendations.,Organization and management of multiple A/B tests paused or running at once is very well laid out and intuitive. Heatmaps have provided a huge amount of actionable data in focused testing areas. A/B test overview data is very easy to make inferences from because of its simple and visually outstanding presentation.,The Chrome extension tends to have issues loading Heatmaps. It's not uncommon to go to a Heatmaps page and have to refresh the page at least once in order for the extension to load correctly. The visual editor for making variations for A/B tests feels clunky and often doesn't appear in the final version (previewing the variation as a page on its own) as it does in the editor. At times the undo button has caused erratic behavior such as duplicating or "redoing" several of the same action at once rather than stepping backward. Overall, if there were any way to decrease the amount of time that the Chrome extension takes to load, I could see workflow across several areas being greatly improved.,10,I can't speak to hard numbers but as our primary analysis tool it's at the center of our conversion rate optimization business and is therefore indispensable in terms of our revenue.,The Heatmap tool has allowed us to zoom in on small hypotheses, particularly in situations where we notice unexplained friction on desktop and mobile pages. As I think on my experience, it's helped us more with determining where mobile experiences can break down in ways we wouldn't have thought of - specifically in providing insight into where users like to click (from a spacial/screen-space standpoint) and which buttons they do or don't find attractive.,Similar to the Heatmap tool, the recordings can be an extremely useful as direct evidence of certain behaviors - often behaviors that we couldn't have simply thought about and predicted ourselves. In one instance, a cluster of payment options such as credit cards, PayPal and Amazon Pay were being grossly under-utilized for no apparent reason. In a few recordings we were able to identify that users weren't scrolling down far enough to use them due to a simple layout decision that made a large checkout button more focal than it needed to be.,Although much of the data can be predictable, I've found form analysis particularly useful in areas requiring a lot of user input that appear to have unexplained friction. More often than not, this feature can be used to identify simple usability or messaging issues, such as illogical login or checkout layouts. One instance that comes to mind is a large text field labeled "Order Notes" or something to that effect which had a high amount of hesitation time. Users didn't know what the field was for but many tended to use it anyway! I think we either removed the field or provided more detailed instructions on how to use it, and if they even needed to use it.
Unspecified
VWO
129 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

VWO Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

VWO
129 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 130 vetted VWO reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (26-50 of 73)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
December 07, 2018

User Review: "Ups and Downs with VWO"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO for A/B testing smaller features on site (e.g. hiding some text) and split testing with larger features (e.g. layout and image changes). It's primarily used by engineering currently, but we are trying to move priorities to product and marketing (with some constraints) for the majority of tests.

It allows us to make business decisions around the wording of text that's shown, or the user experience around a new UI.
  • General overview of which test variation is doing better
  • Simple A/B and Split URL tests
  • Simple testing mechanics (e.g. blanking the page before simple tests are run like with the WYSIWYG editor)
  • UI/UX for finding certain options are confusing. Even having used the tool for a bit, can't remember where certain editing options are .
  • Bugs with the visual editor and preview mode (having to refresh the page until it works)
  • More complicated tests (which may involve mechanics specific to certain companies)
Good:
Simple tests like hiding and showing a button, text, etc.
Adding text onto the page
Changing the color of things
Split tests where the whole page can change

Bad:
Complicated tests regarding custom JavaScript that's run (there may be asynchronous actions happening in that script that we need the page blank for until those actions finish)
Want a smarter visual editor (e.g. we can change the layout and the test would still work, by class or id selectors)
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 17, 2018

Review: "VWO: Easy to realize big improvements on your website"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is being used by our marketing department for optimizing our website. We will have a look at the heat maps to see what people click on and think is most useful. And we use A/B tests for continuous optimization of our homepage and landing pages. We try to answer questions like: how can we best serve our (potential) customers on our website?
  • Heat maps
  • Easy set up of A/B tests
  • Easy implementation of the tool
  • Last time I wanted to add a B-variant in a A/B-test on our homepage. I changed the existing content (that was separated in two columns), but in the preview it kept showing elements I already deleted. In the end I decided to skip this test, because I couldn't find a solution.
  • Integration of Google Analytics can be more easy, so I can easily use my existing measurement goals for example.
  • Exporting of the made heat maps into images.
VWO can be used well if you want to see how your website is used. Where do people click on the page? How can we optimize our conversion path? And you can easily test your improvements on part of the visitors, so it won't have too much impact on your running business.

If you use an iframe, in our case it will not be tracked. Probably if you add the VWO code in the iframe, but it is something you should be aware of.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

User Review: "VWO is effective, but sometimes clunky"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our marketing department uses it to A/B test new website organizations, promotions, and product page layouts. It lets us make temporary changes to our website strategy, see the effects, and then decide whether or not to commit to them on the live site for our entire audience.
  • Live previews of changes as you make them
  • Direct HTML access or a simple UI, as needed
  • Google Analytics integration
  • The first-party analytics are harder to use than the Google Analytics integration and show more inconsistent results - would be nice if these were improved
  • The web editor is sometimes slow to load or reflect changes, and occasionally locks up
  • Preview screenshots seem to be spliced together, so they often show multiple instances of the site header spaced down the page
It's the best A/B testing solution we could find for our own website and it's mostly very good at what it does. It has some usability issues on occasion, and the interface can be clunky, so it's not the easiest thing to pick-up-and-go, despite appearances; simple changes should be easy enough for a beginner to make but it takes some time with the interface to understand all its quirks.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 24, 2018

Review: "VWO has changed our ability to test and be agile in trying new things on our website!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is currently being used with a section of our business to optimize website performance and conversions.
  • You have the ability to have heatmaps recorded on any A/B or Split URL test, allowing you to investigate where users are concentrating most of their time within a control or variation.
  • VWO's ability to allow custom conversion tags to be placed and triggered on the website allows for more robust conversion tracking.
  • VWO's UI is very easy to use and navigate allowing users who are not familiar with coding the ability to test a website without the need of a developer in most cases.
  • Creating more technical documentation in the library, not just high level information. Example would be documentation on how you can run a test on your internal network before having a test go live.
If you are a marketer with no technical background VWO's UI makes it extremely easy to manipulate existing elements on a webpage to create an A/B test. Whereas if you are looking to create a more complex A/B test and need to create more advanced code it can be slightly difficult to find technical specs to answer some questions a developer may have.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 03, 2018

VWO Review: "Sometimes clunky, but always useful and valuable"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our growth department works with clients using VWO to address potential areas in which their e-commerce sites could attract and keep more customers. It's the primary tool that we use to turn conversion rate optimization proposals into concrete data that we can then use to inform clients and make actionable recommendations.
  • Organization and management of multiple A/B tests paused or running at once is very well laid out and intuitive.
  • Heatmaps have provided a huge amount of actionable data in focused testing areas.
  • A/B test overview data is very easy to make inferences from because of its simple and visually outstanding presentation.
  • The Chrome extension tends to have issues loading Heatmaps. It's not uncommon to go to a Heatmaps page and have to refresh the page at least once in order for the extension to load correctly.
  • The visual editor for making variations for A/B tests feels clunky and often doesn't appear in the final version (previewing the variation as a page on its own) as it does in the editor. At times the undo button has caused erratic behavior such as duplicating or "redoing" several of the same action at once rather than stepping backward.
  • Overall, if there were any way to decrease the amount of time that the Chrome extension takes to load, I could see workflow across several areas being greatly improved.
I would say the primary determinant of Visual Website Optimizer's usefulness is the amount of data coming from the website(s) you're analyzing. In the case of sites less focused on conversions or those with less traffic, data can be volatile and/or confounding (your hypothesis might be strong but the data isn't actionable). I would recommend its use for any conversion-focused sites that have a relatively predictable and steady flow of traffic.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 24, 2018

User Review: "My VWO experience"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is used within one division of our company, CRO (conversion rate optimization). We use it to run tests on our clients' websites and improve their performance.
  • Setting up tests is fairly easy, setting up URL's, saved goals, and experiment-wide JS
  • Predictive text for CSS
  • Good response time with general questions about the product, live chat is much appreciated
  • There should be a preview button within the visual/code editor. Sometimes I need to see a page outside of the VWO window and it is a hassle to back out of the editor, click on the preview tab, open a preview, go back to the variation tab, and reopen the the editor.
  • Sometimes hard to remember where certain settings are in the menu layout. Customize traffic allocation can be difficult to find, and the 'other' tab in settings is not the most intuitive name.
  • Opening the test editor should be more prominent, since that is the main tool used for developers.
It is a good option for our clients that don't want to pay Optimizely prices to perform A/B testing. VWO support is responsive. Knowledge base can be a bit hard to search sometimes, if you have a very specific issue that you are trying to solve
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 24, 2018

VWO Review: "Great Website Optimisation Tool to help inform product decisions and improve user onboarding"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO within the product development department to test new product ideas before implementing them and make data-driven decisions of changes to our e-commerce website. Only one person in the organisation uses VWO, but experiments and hypothesis are developed in collaboration with the CEO, CTO and Head of Customer Support. It helps us address the business problem of identifying what changes can have the most impact on increasing conversion rates, while prioritising new product ideas and validating assumptions.
  • Relatively easy for people without a developer background to make tactical changes to website content that may influence customer behaviour while comparing effects on both desktop and mobile.
  • VWO provides a good overview of results and data captured, allowing teams to collaborate and structure multiple tests simultaneously with endless segmentation options that are particularly useful when optimising certain user groups.
  • The A/B testing feature is particularly useful with clear indications of when results are significant and easy interfaces to compare versions.
  • I only use A/B testing because that's the only thing someone has taught me hands-on to do.
  • I know there is more functionality available but it is not clear when you're logged in which features require an upgrade vs. which ones you can access.
  • The Demo that was organised previously was not practical with poor connectivity and not tailored to the audience (ie. our CTO and Head of Customer support were attending but learned nothing useful other than the things I had already shared previously by going through the platform.)
Very well suited for running A/B tests that require no developer support/html/code editing. Our developer team is very time-poor so any experiments that can run without their input are much easier to implement.

A lot less suited for more advanced tests that require developer support/html/code editing. The Hypothesis tool is not very practical and could be a lot more user-friendly and should not be a premium tool...
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 16, 2018

"VWO Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has several online products which are operated by different teams. Members of these teams who are responsible for product development (we simply call them our customers) along with our UX team come to our department with their ideas and tweaks on how to enhance their product and then we discuss together what should be A/B tested before they would go into any kind of development. After a test has finished we evaluate the results together and decide upon them whether to apply the tested changes or not.
  • Visitor segmentation. There is a good amount of metrics that can be used to target those visitors you desire.
  • Estimation service. The provided results sometimes look strange. It is hard to figure out if the estimated run-time of a test is a result of a buggy calculation or you simply put in the wrong numbers for calculation.
We like to use VWO for testing smaller changes which don't necessarily require coding skills as it can speed up the creation and execution of our tests.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 05, 2018

VWO Review: "Solid CRO Software, Good Support"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO has high functionality and great support. I was pretty amateur at CRO, but VWO's team really helped me fix problems when my tests weren't set up correctly—and they were fast to respond. The only downside is the price and annual commitment. They're cheaper than some alternatives, so I don't doubt it's a good deal. But it's an investment so make sure you have someone dedicated to getting the most out VWO.
  • Functionality.
  • Customer support.
  • Price.
  • From a UX perspective, it take a lot of clicks to see the results of something.
A marketing team that's ready to dedicate time and resources to CRO.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 21, 2018

Review: "VWO is a reliable split testing platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is being used by our front end design and development team. We split test new ideas frequently in hopes of increasing our overall conversion rate over time and we have recently contracted a conversion rate optimization company to provide additional ideas for tests. The 3rd party contractor has been using VWO to set up surveys and perform additional research through the platform to provide more insight into the visitors on our website which helps structures additional tests.
  • Allows for easy split URL testing and goal tracking through an intuitive user interface
  • Provides easy to interpret analytics and graphs on all the various research and testing components that the VWO platform offers
  • Includes a research component which tracks a subset of overall visitors which helps us decide what to test and why
  • The VWO team is very knowledgable and provides excellent customer support
  • Really easy to implement and start testing with their tracking code
  • Setting testing parameters can be confusing sometimes (or I just have no idea what I'm doing)
  • Billing and upgrading your account can be challenging, although it seems like they are figuring it out with the latest release of their platform
VWO is well suited to split url and a/b testing. Using this tool properly is key to improving conversion rates on your website. Performing research on your visitors is crucial to learning how people are interacting with your website and VWO's research and funnel platform have allowed for a much better analysis.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 14, 2018

User Review: "VWO - A great self service solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO within our ECommerce department on all 4 of our websites. We use it for A/B testing, user surveys, visit recording, and much more. Since we've had VWO it's helped us make informed decisions on the user experience elements on the site, and showed us where we may have potential problems.
  • Visit recording
  • Form drop out
  • A/B Testing
  • Multivariate testing
  • Smoother interface
VWO is very suited to MV and AB testing, finding where people are dropping out of forms, and user recording. We've also used the user survey function that works as expected. It wouldn't be appropriate to use VWO for permanent site changes, only indications of what works and what might not work.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 28, 2018

User Review: "VWO - Good A/B Testing Tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently using Visual Website Optimizer for clients to test large business questions, test out new products and/or features, and continuously optimize and improve their websites and other marketing channels. The business problems vary from client to client and is very dependent upon the business context and particular industry.
  • When QAing experiments, it is extremely quick as goals fire immediately greatly reducing the time it takes to QA.
  • Dashboards are easy to understand.
  • The enterprise package has comprehensive add ons.
  • Redirect experiments are difficult to create and the wildcard rules are often incorrect and can create problems for the user of the platform as well as the visitors.
  • The main dashboard for experiments is actually based on cumulative transactions, not conversion rates of the specific variations which is confusing for newer users. Not communicated very well.
  • The support and resources center are not very robust and often I find myself with more questions than answers.
Basic A/B testing of websites as well as redirect experiments - If you are testing CTA colour, headlines, etc. and are just starting out your experimentation program, this will be very beneficial and help get you started. Conversely, if you are looking for a more robust solution, are more familiar with experimentation, and need more technical questions answered, it may not necessarily be the best place to start.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 24, 2018

VWO Review: "Great Value for the Breadth of Features"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Online Growth team is using VWO for A/B testing the website. The main goal is to increase website conversions, specifically for people to sign up for a trial of our cloud software. The plan for A/B testing is to also increase the conversion rate of our trial users to become paid users by A/B testing specific pages in our software. We're testing copy and images and integrate the data with Google Analytics for a wider view of the results.
  • The support has been fantastic and they really do all they can to explain or help you set up experiments or account settings. The chat access is awesome because I can get help immediately while I'm setting up my account, whereas other companies only have email support, which disrupts my flow.
  • The options for testing is practically endless. They've thought of almost everything! I've trialed other A/B testing tools which did have limits on how I could set up the tests, which is one of the reasons why I chose VWO instead even though the other ones were cheaper.
  • The additional features besides A/B testing made this a very useful and valuable tool, such as heat maps, form analysis and website surveys, where I didn't have to purchase other tools, and they were pretty full featured in themselves that I didn't find much shortcomings that would make me look elsewhere for a better solution.
  • I have to admit, the phone support was difficult for me to use because of the language "barrier". I use that in quotes because even though they know English fluently, the thick Indian accents made it very very difficult for me to understand what they were saying, and I was trying really really hard to understand.
  • Their visual editor didn't work as well as I had hoped for. For some copy changes, doing a direct text edit didn't work. They ended up giving me code to use in their CSS editor, which inadvertently, messed up our popup trial signup form (which we didn't realize it was messing it up until months later).
  • I think the "quota" amounts are pretty low, especially when using them for their research features, when compared to the competitors I was trying out.
I think VWO is great for small to small-medium sized companies, because of the breadth if features it offers, but at a higher price tag than the lower priced competitors. I think they're trying to compete with the bigger A/B testing platforms that charge much more such as Optimizely. I think the lower priced options are suitable for small companies with smaller budgets. VWO can get pretty expensive if you want their advanced features, which a company of any size could use but may stay away from because of the higher pricing.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 24, 2018

VWO Review: "Easy to use A/B testing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product team uses it to A/B test copy, images and design across our website. It allows us to roll out and test features quickly instead of having to go through the dev team for minor requests. Once the A/B test is concluded, we put the change in the dev queue.
  • Easy to design and implement tests
  • Hypothesis feature makes it easy to keep track of tests
  • The A/B test designer doesn't always work well with pages that involve multiple steps to get to (i.e., the last page of an order flow)
  • The dashboard doesn't seem to change based on what level subscription you have, which is confusing
Suitable for companies that have a decent amount of web traffic and want to quickly and easily test out new features without going through their dev team. Less appropriate for companies that with small web traffic (won't get statistical significance) or whose websites are very complex (in which case the tests may break design).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 21, 2018

Review: "VWO - Easy to use capable tool with some (fixable) lackings"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use it for A/B tests - our product owners define a test they want to run - and the web team runs it.
We also use user recordings in order to locate potential problems in our flows.
We use heatmaps the least, because the info is not that actionable - we get the same data from GA and recordings
  • Intuitive UI
  • Easy to set up A/B tests
  • Integration with different tools for more detailed insights
  • Testing preview functionality is weak
  • Products behind general paywall - I need to pay $300/mo more in order to get scroll maps for the heatmaps
  • Support could be faster and take more of a personal approach
  • VWO is suited for most websites - The tool works with classical websites as well as SPAs.
  • Tests are easy to implement and success metrics are defined for each test individually - which gives accurate insights.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

VWO Review: "All in one insights and testing"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Website Optimizer (VWO) is being used to track and run A/B tests on our website.
  • It's visually appealing
  • It's easy to implement
  • And yet it's still has very sophisticated capabilities
  • Faster Load times
  • Better directions for setup
  • Provide ideas for different tests to run
Overall, it's a beneficial tool for any company. The issue is that it is yet another tool to manage. Unless you have dedicated resources, you probably aren't getting the most out of it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2018

VWO Review: "Extremely robust website testing tool. Highly recommended!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO to test new website designs and to tweak existing designs improve conversion rate.
  • We run A/B tests for page design changes.
  • We also run split URL tests for major page redesigns.
  • We run ongoing conversion campaigns.
  • I've found that creating a campaign which involves multiple pages is extremely time-consuming to set up. I haven't done this in a while so maybe the process has improved, but I'm not aware if it has.
I think it's well suited for many types of testing. I'm not sure where it would not be appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 18, 2018

VWO Review: "Short and compact"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently only one department for improving conversion.
  • Form analysis is pretty cool.
  • Targeting and segmentation is quite extensive.
  • Implementing A/B tests works well.
  • More filtering options for form analysis.
  • Increase sampling ratio for heatmaps.
  • Increase sampling ratio for recordings.
Suitable if your company has a big budget to afford the Enterprise edition. Cheaper subscriptions lack a lot of the most usable features.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 17, 2018

Review: "Switched from Optimizely to VWO and love it"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is mostly being used in our marketing & product team. It mostly solves the research problem with its visitor recordings.
  • Visitor research.
  • User friendly for multiple users / departments.
  • Good workflows.
  • Goal tracking is hard to setup and confusing to use.
VWO is great when you have an AB testing team and want to organize AB testing flow end-to-end including user research & hypothesis creation.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 14, 2018

User Review: "VWO usage for Higher Education"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our marketing team has assembled a core conversion rate optimization team to monitor our partner's microsites to ensure that they're as effective as they can be and that the conversion rates are performing well. We use VWO to discover shortcomings in the websites and hypothesize about potential solutions in addition to running tests.
  • Easily track test performance and stats as it runs
  • Seeing heatmaps and user recordings
  • Form usage statistics
  • Integration with Google Analytics
  • Split URL tests with multiple pages are notoriously difficult to setup
  • Form usage statistics, while helpful, are incomplete
If you have a substantial amount of traffic on a website that you put a lot of money (ie. advertisements, search engine marketing) into. Without a substantial volume of traffic, the stats take a while to accumulate and you could be waiting a while to see a result. The results you do get are somewhat incomplete. Much better with a large audience sample
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 14, 2018

VWO Review: "A tool to checkout the user"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A/B Testing, MVT, Screen recording, Heatmaps - It's used by several departments that are working in an Agile environment and want to know better their customers. Screen recording is a very great feature (especially if we are able to filter the recordings based on specific actions). Easy to use and everyone is able to create a A/B test.
  • Screen recording (if you want based on specific actions)
  • Personalisation (show this version only at location XY at this time range)
  • Set up A/B testings easily
  • Implementation not that easy (depending of technology)
  • Setting up an A/B Test that is affecting one element that occurs to be on several items (e.g. price comparison cards)
  • Adding VWO to 3rd party analytics tools
A/B Testing, MVT, Screen recording, Heatmaps. Always good to do. In the end the tool is good for testing websites that are already live - you are able to make changes easily. But you are not able to "create" something new. Qualitative testing before is needed for sure to get a better "feeling"
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 24, 2018

User Review: "VWO Trial"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently being used by the IT department to run small to medium scale multi-variant tests with the aim to improve conversion rate of the website
  • Easy to use dashboard/interface
  • Relatively quick/simple to install VWO on site
  • Easy to quickly setup variants
  • Lack of default reporting information - goals have to be specified per campaign
  • In coding view for variants - lack of live preview of changes
Ideal for quick small scale MVTs where simple goals are defined such as revenue. We used VWO to test adding a visual navigation to our homepage which saw a conversion rate increase of nearly 4% which has allowed us to continue the "visual navigation" theme through onto other areas of our website.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 21, 2018

VWO Review: "Great product for our A/B tests. Great support."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using this as a simple way to A/B test our website in an effort to increase out e-commerce conversion rate. We also use this tool to gain some insight on where people are looking and clicking via the heatmap feature. We're a small business so there's not a particular department that uses this.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Super helpful and responsive support team.
  • Does exactly what it says it does.
  • None that I can think of honestly...
Only thing is pricing could be lower for a small company.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

VWO Review: "Optimizely at a Low Cost"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use it for testing and optimization of our website.
  • Easy to implement and get going
  • Support is very helpful and easy to work with via the chat box on the VWO platform
  • Quick to set up tests and preview them before going live
  • I haven't used it enough to have much feedback on this
VWO is well suited for smaller companies just getting started in the testing and optimization space. They are helpful and easy to use and very reasonably priced for what you get.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

User Review: "VWO is great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Presently we use it for testing and heat mapping our weekly promotional landing pages.
  • Great customer support
  • Great Interface
  • Comprehensive testing quiver
  • I love all kinds of testing
  • We haven't been using it long enough to find holes.
  • Great documentation - I would expand on it a little though.
I can't think of anything it's not suited for, as far as testing your site, A/B testing, multivariate testing, or split URL testing. It's got all the tools you need for that. I wouldn't ask it to make me a club sandwich.
Read this authenticated review

About VWO

VWO is an A/B testing and conversion optimization platform that enables growing businesses to conduct qualitative and quantitative visitor research, build an experimentation roadmap and run continuous experiments on their digital properties.

With its 5 capabilities Plan, Track, Test, Analyze, and Target, it brings the entire CRO (conversion rate optimization) process at one place. VWO helps online businesses follow the process- and data-driven conversion optimization to boost their conversion rates.

With features like heatmaps, surveys, visitor recordings, and others, VWO enables businesses to develop an in-depth understanding of on-site visitor behavior. VWO facilitates conducting research-driven A/B testing to optimize web experience across desktop, mobile, and other devices, to deliver a unique experience based on visitor preferences.

According to the vendor, VWO has helped more than 4,500 brands across the globe to run over 600,000 experiments to date. VWO’s global customer base includes brands like Vodafone, Samsung, Toyota, and eBay.


VWO Features

Has featureA/B Testing
Has featureMultivariate Testing
Has featureSplit Testing
Has featureCode Editor
Has featureMulti-Page Tests
Has featureGeo Behavioral Targeting
Has featureOn-Page Survey
Has featureSelf Hosting
Has featureComprehensive Reporting
Has featureRevenue Tracking
Has featureIntegrated Heatmaps, Clickmaps and Scrollmaps
Has featureDIY Visual Editor (WYSIWYG)
Has featureAdvanced jQuery based API
Has featureEnterprise Level Security
Has featureLog Observations
Has featureTesting for Mobile and Tablet Websites
Has featureAdvanced Segmentation
Has featureCross-Browser Previews
Has featureMobile App A/B

VWO Screenshots

VWO Video

VWO Integrations

VWO Competitors

Adobe Target, Optimizely, AB Tasty, Omniconvert, Frosmo, Google Analytics, Convert.com, Adobe Test & Target

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TESTINGGet a DemoThe classic VWO A/B testing solution
CONVERSION OPTIMIZATIONGet a DemoThe all-in-one platform for all your optimization needs
ENTERPRISEGet a DemoCustomized solution with advanced AB testing and conversion optimization capabilities

For any additional information about pricing and plans, visit https://vwo.com/pricing/

VWO Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

VWO Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No