VWO Reviews

176 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-50 of 99)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 17, 2018
Mark Sullivan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We decided to use VWO as our primary conversion optimization platform for website content. The main person using it was our Conversion Optimization Manager, who is responsible for the quality and quantity of lead conversions from our website, in addition to lower funnel conversions.
  • Fairly inexpensive for the suite of conversion optimization tools
  • UI is confusing and there is not enough help tips (or they are poorly written) to denote what each setting or metric actually does/is.
  • Support is provided by obviously non-native English speakers and we had a hard time getting each support rep to understand what we were asking, which was typically a question about what something within the platform (setting/metric) actually means.
  • Statistics engine underlying result data is not explained well and often doesn't line up with other conversion tracking applications (by a large margin).
  • Form analysis feature, which is something that we really wanted, doesn't work natively with Marketo forms without significant custom development.
  • VWO uses sampling on the overall goal tracking, despite us explicitly negotiating a visitor/session quota price point so that we could track everything on our website. This was one of the most frustrating parts of using VWO--we couldn't trust the accuracy of the data for our overall goal tracking due to this sampling issue because it was wildly different from our actual conversions as tracked in our application.
If you have the time and energy to work through a confusing and poorly documented application UI and you're willing to deal with sub-par support (although they were timely in their responses) from reps that might not often understand what you're asking about, then this is a good tool.
Read Mark Sullivan's full review
September 14, 2018
Marceau Boulenger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using VWO only for the marketing department on all our different websites. We are using it mainly to understand better the behavior of our web visitors and how we can improve the website for better conversion and better user experience. By using VWO to test new designs or pages, we are able to have data to back what we think is the best for the user experience.
  • Heatmaps automatically on all pages of the website
  • A/B testing quick/small changes on a page and see the results in term of form filled or button clicks
  • Split URLs for bigger A/B tests where we test some brand new designs
  • Targeting specifics users (new visitors, mobile users) for some A/B tests
  • The hypothesis part where we need to enter the hypotheses before doing A/B test seems to be useless in our case, as we do that more outside of VWO and don't really see the added value of that to be inside the software
  • The sampling of recording/heatmap seems to sometimes be pretty low for automatic recording, and the fact that we need to explicitly ask for one page to be tracked with more sample is sometimes a bit irritating
I believe that the perfect scenario for VWO is when you want to test changes on your website and that you are really focusing on getting the data to validate your findings. By having the recording, the heatmap and the AB testing in one single platform is a perfect one-stop software to improve your website base on data instead of intuition
Read Marceau Boulenger's full review
September 14, 2018
Shubham Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO to conduct A/B testing, anything from moving elements on the page, testing new CTA verbiage to straight up redesigning the whole page. This is a fantastic choice if you want to conduct some serious UX testing and gain insight on how users behave on your site using heatmaps. It's a great option if you want to be able to set up AB testing experiments for a website fairly quickly!
  • AB testing
  • Removing Outliers from the data and provide actionable insights
  • Provide lots of options as a filter to target a specific audience set
  • Heatmap and Visual recording of all the test
  • Provide a Mobile app or an improved version of Mobile web.
  • Send alerts of any actionable results happening on my AB test
  • Algorithm to sample and remove outlier needs a lot of improvement

VWO isn't perfect, but it is a great tool if your organization is looking to get its feet wet with Conversion Rate Optimization. They are developing great tools and features, as well as providing a library of testing ideas and case studies in case you're having trouble thinking of what to test.

Their results reporting isn't iron-clad, but for many efforts it's good enough. I personally am not a big fan of how "confident" they are in their declaring winners - I've seen tests where one day it says a variation is a winner at 100% confidence, then the next day that's down to 81% (think about that for a second).

However, for most new testers, it's a great tool and definitely a lot easier to use than a tool like Google Optimize.

The price point is very reasonable as well, making it accessible to companies of all sizes.

Read Shubham Gupta's full review
August 24, 2018
Sergio Cano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Website Optimizer (VWO) helps our clients test different versions of landing pages and websites in order to increase revenue and lead goals before going fully into production. This allows up to prevent any issues when fully launching, so we have a deeper understanding of what is working and what is not.
  • Heat maps between variations
  • Recorded Sessions
  • Surveys
  • The editor is a little buggy
For setting up more advanced A/B tests beyond just Google Optimize.
Read Sergio Cano's full review
August 21, 2018
Parth Shrivastava | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO for our product's website. We started with a mere CTA button and A/B tests and now have moved on to Split URL and multivariate tests. Now, most of the things which go into the website are first thoroughly tested using VWO to make a data-driven decision rather than just relying on guts.
  • Their UI for creating tests is brilliant. Does not require coding knowledge to set up basic to intermediate tests.
  • VWO's support team is one of the primary reasons to stick with them. They are very fast and always provide an in-depth solution.
  • The targeting options are good too, they give you the liberty to test a different set of audiences as well.
  • There is a problem with creating responsive tests. The process involves creating two sets of test for mobile and web audiences. Which is time-consuming.
  • Their reporting could be better. At times there is just too much data to see on the reporting page and the viewer gets confused.
  • The tests are slow to load on slow networks. Which gives away the purpose at the start itself.
VWO is best suited for running fast and efficient A/B tests. If you are just starting with A/B testing, it is the easiest option out there. VWO is very cost efficient as well. Haven't worked too much to point out the flaws, but responsive tests are something which I am looking forward to.
Read Parth Shrivastava's full review
August 21, 2018
Brian Joyner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is used throughout our company across multiple assets.

We use VWO as the primary A/B testing platform in our optimization efforts. This lets our product, optimization, and engineering teams test out anything from simple changes to large impact concepts with minimal resources.
  • Easy to use for most tests. The learning curve is generally low so we have been able to ramp up use quickly.
  • Multi-goal reporting. This is highly valuable and easy to setup.
  • Editor that allows for simple changes and major changes. With a bit of Javascript knowledge, the editor is quite robust.
  • Limited real time targeting. VWO lacks in behavioral segmentation such setting up segmentation by 'people who add something to their cart'.
  • Reporting at scale is a very manual process. The API allows access to data, but that requires more dev work to setup useful reporting at scale.
It's great for small to medium size businesses or really any business that needs page load level changes.

Enterprise level and highly mature companies that are at a point where they need real-time behavioral segmentation (user has an item in their cart) are out of luck with VWO.
Read Brian Joyner's full review
November 12, 2018
kate ambrose | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently only use VWO for our e-commerce division. While it does solve intra-personal ideas on what designs work, it allows us to maximize our ability to provide a better customer experience. When we use testing, we aren't looking for little lifts in conversions but large leaps - and VWO allows us to do that easily and quickly.
  • Easy Set Up
  • Easy Modifications
  • Fantastic Support
  • With cons - keep in mind it may be we are just not aware of functionality. I would say targeting segments could be better
  • Better flexibility with 3P design integrations (to test their effectiveness)
  • Being able to see test elements in various screen sizes
It is well suited for quick & dirty user interface testing! Good for changing elements around on landing pages, change pricing etc.
Read kate ambrose's full review
September 21, 2018
Craig Orser | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've leveraged VWO assets to optimize our process journey flow and provide meaningful performance metrics to boost our KPI. I found the interface of this solution.

Easy to use, great support staff. The platform has a slight learning curve but is a welcome and necessary tool for anyone who wants to expand their marketing operations to include A/B testing and site analytic functionality.
  • A/B Testing
  • Heat Maps
  • Reporting Analytics
  • Hypothesis Testing
  • Tag integration
  • Testing methodology
  • Mobile integration
Affiliate marketing excels. Useful for purposeful testing. But less appropriate if expected to provide answers and insights for marketers.
Read Craig Orser's full review
September 14, 2018
Mark Pitt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is being used by the marketing team to conduct A/B tests on our website. Our objectives are to increase loan applications and lead capture from downloadable guides.
  • Calculates test duration - VWO instantly calculates the duration your test will need to produce a significant result based on the level of certainty you require.
  • Editor - The page editor is very useful for making simple edits to use for A/B tests. It makes the job of editing HTML very easy with no technical expertise needed.
  • Reporting - real-time reports for test are kept very simple and are very easy to understand.
  • Mandatory hypotheses - VWO recently made it mandatory to add a hypothesis to each test. I dislike the structure I am given to write each hypothesis so I simple fill it empty text.
Very good if you want to carry out simple tests which are not too technically demanding. There is not a huge learning curve for newcomers who are using the platform.
Read Mark Pitt's full review
September 05, 2018
Michael Bausano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had a not-so-standard use case for VWO. Our product is a browser extension and we wanted to split test certain parts of it with having control on what was being split tested. It was used by our relatively small dev team and the results were handed to the business team to analyse.
  • Amazing and fast support team
  • Easy to use and very flexible solution for split testing
  • Well structured reports
  • Heatmaps looks really appealing even though we didn't use them
  • An option to load and send split testing data via APIs on front end would be appreciated
I believe that if you have enough traffic it's a great solution for split testing your website. In our case of a browser extension, VWO was more of a workaround which ended up working really great.
Read Michael Bausano's full review
August 21, 2018
Steve Burg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is currently our base testing application for all things A/B and Multivariate testing. This is both on the WWW and within our web app.

Primarily, VWO is used by our product and marketing teams to test headlines, funnel changes, and changes in page design.

From a business perspective, we use it to test for conversion optimization. Essentially, we want to track how users convert, across multiple goals within our platform.
  • A/B Testing
  • Multivariate Testing
  • Funnel Tracking
  • Ease of implementation on advanced AB tests
  • Goal setup
VWO is appropriate for any company looking to engage in advanced testing based on user feedback.
Read Steve Burg's full review
August 17, 2018
Jeffrey Buik | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Visual Website Optimizer (VWO) within the marketing department to improve the conversion rate optimization (CRO) of our website. We're trying to get more demo requests out of our traffic.
  • Easy to use editor
  • Quick
  • Affordable
  • The analysis is difficult in combination with Google Analytics (GA). Data doesn't match so you really have to trust the VWO data.
The editor suits well for making small changes on the webpages.

If you want to make bigger changes you have to rely on split URL testing, which also works good.
Read Jeffrey Buik's full review
December 15, 2017
Bill Finch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize VWO for many of our site enhancements to better understand the impact on customers and ensure our hypothesis around each change is correct. It allows us to quickly set up and run two-tailed tests. Reaching significance is clearly defined with Revenue Per Visitor and Conversions and allows us to clearly see the chance to win or lose so we feel confident the new changes are warranted. We've been able to reduce abandonment rates and improve overall conversions by page and by product type with this service.
  • The set up, configuration and previewing of tests is quick and easy.
  • Checking results throughout the test cycle is clear and easy to report and understand how much more time is needed for the test to run.
  • Calling a test and implementing the changes is done with confidence.
  • There are some minor adjustments where changing the title of the control or variation or even the test can present an alert that a change was made which can't be cleared. I understand alerting when something may affect the data results but label changes in the VWO portal should not affect the metrics and therefore shouldn't add an alert message to the test.
  • We're just getting started with their analysis set of tools to better understand customer interactions through click and heat map data but there could be improvement. For example, I've had challenges ensuring the tool showed the total available data for a particular page which required some regular expressions to ensure the total was displayed. It's a bit awkward to get working properly.
Visual Website Optimizer is a great tool for anyone on the team to be able to set up and track multivariate changes. It has flexibility for more control and variations by front-end devs and engineers using JavaScript and CSS as well. The ability to segment tests to particular audiences is also very easy. It even provides an estimate based on the changes in a variation as to how long it will need to run to gain significance.
Read Bill Finch's full review
May 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our marketing team uses VWO as our primary A/B testing tool. We are able to use VWO to make changes to copy and imagery and measure the success of conversions for those tests. VWO solves a major problem for us -- which is that we no longer have to rely on IT and deployments in order to do some basic to moderate A/B testing on our websites.
  • VWO is pretty easy to implement on websites and doesn't require a heavy technology lift
  • The VWO interface is pretty intuitive and let's non-technical users make variants for testing
  • The VWO reporting dashboard is excellent for determining statistical significance and understanding whether differences in conversion rates are meaningful or not
  • VWO can be difficult to implement more advanced A/B tests (such as modifying page layouts or forms)
  • VWO can cause a slight slowdown and flicker of the website for users, though it is often not noticeable to the untrained eye
  • The statistical engine sometimes declares a winner too soon and if you were to check back a week or two later, it may have changed its decision as to the winning variant
Our marketing team does a lot of creative testing around messaging and imagery. VWO is well suited for this type of testing and can yield great results if you define your conversion goals correctly. However, when we have tried to do more substantial/advanced changes through VWO (such as re-positioning content or modifying elements in a form), we have had some challenges and not been able to get the desired tests working correctly.
Read this authenticated review
September 16, 2016
Robyn Benensohn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We develop test plans for clients. Our clients can select any testing tool they'd like, and when they select Visual Website Optimizer (VWO), we help implement and monitor the tests for them. We then analyze the results and create follow-up tests.
  • Easy to implement
  • Easy to monitor tests
  • Much simpler to learn than other testing tools
  • Affordable
It's perfect for a client who is just starting a testing program, or who wants to implement tests in-house rather than outsourcing. It's also priced affordably for entry-level clients.
Read Robyn Benensohn's full review
March 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is used by the UX & CRO department of our digital marketing agency to facilitate running A/B tests on client websites. It solves the business problem of not needing to much developer resource to run tests, allowing our team members to mostly set up tests themselves rather than needing complex code.
  • Quick to set up AB tests on sites, with multiple variations allowed and the ability to use segments to control who sees the test.
  • Easily links with GA for accurate analysis
  • Heatmaps are included which allow you to see differences between test variations
  • Setting up multivariate tests can be very difficult, particularly if you want to test something which requires custom code rather than using the VWO editor.
  • Using the VWO editor to create tests can create excessive amounts of code to do quite simple changes, compared to if custom code written by a developer was used.
  • The heatmaps could be more detailed, and seeing how far users had scrolled would be useful.
  • Integration with more tools, such as Hotjar, would be very handy
VWO is useful when you need to run AB tests on websites which have been set up well. Problems can arise when the tests are more complicated, especially multivariate tests, or when the website is quite old/doesn't function as well as it should. Then tests can become quite buggy. It can also be difficult previewing tests via the preview tool, as that sometimes doesn't display the test correctly. It is also difficult allowing clients to preview live tests when there is more than one variation. The test can be set live to the client's IP, but to guarantee them seeing a specific variation it has to be set to 100%, so you can only show one variation at a time.
Read this authenticated review
March 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used by CRO and UX department, it's main focus is to AB test.
  • Allows split testing
  • Allows any traffic split
  • Allows segmentation
  • Horrible usability - the navigation within each account is quite something, not clear where you find certain features, imagine someone using it daily and having to deal with these issues - it's really a perfect recipe to ruin anyone's day.
  • The reporting isn't great either, it's difficult to understand how VWO reports as it never matches up with data in other platforms i.e. GA.
  • Another issue is related to the glitches and bug fixing, sometimes VWO agents don't have an answer and it can be frustrating.
  • Site speed - it can negatively affect the website and user experience, however not much has been done about it over the last few years.
  • MVT testing is too complex and in many ways impossible to actually execute.
It's well suited for the AB testing simple tests, which tie in nicely within the CRO strategy. Not ideal for personalisation and wanting to do tests which are more sophisticated.
Read this authenticated review
February 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used to analyze our marketing and e-commerce site. We use A/B testing, recordings, heatmaps and surveys to gather information about how users are able to use our sites and what they are understanding. A/B testing has been valuable in getting buy-in from decision makers as we are able to directly prove the effectiveness of the changes we are proposing.
  • Visual editor for A/B testing is really solid, especially if your site is fairly static. It gets a bit tougher when you have very dynamic content but it's still much easier than having our dev team make two versions of a page and try and split traffic.
  • Recordings and Heatmaps are invaluable assets for figuring out how well certain pages are working. While they don't replace standard user testing they can supplement it very well and reinforce your position to make a design change.
  • Support has been fairly quick to resolve rather complex issues, even with a bit of a language barrier a lot of the time. Discussing technical challenges over chat is not easy but I can usually get these difficult challenges ironed out in a day or so.
  • I don't really use the "plan" features much. They seemed nice at first but they are too slow and cumbersome to use in practicality. I don't like being forced to use it to do testing.
  • Goal tracking seems limited. I'd love to be able to use advanced e-commerce goals (like how many people bought a specific product) for my test but have to use overall revenue and 3rd party tracking like GA to fill in the gaps.
  • Dynamic content is really hard to edit. Anything built on a modern JS framework is hard because manipulating multiple states on the same page starts to get really complex. There's a lot of workarounds, and I haven't found a better solution, but it's not as easy as point and click if you have something more complex than a static site.
I wouldn't recommend VWO to non-enterprise users. Hotjar does a lot of the tracking equally as well at a fraction of the cost and there are split testing options out there that are much, much cheaper. It's convenient if you have the budget to have it all in one place, but if you don't, then doing it on two different platforms is still workable. If I'm price sensitive I'd probably explore some other options in combination with Hotjar.
Read this authenticated review
June 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO across two markets. It helps us extend a test beyond the fundamental of AB Test. It has a 360-degree view of funnel and goal. Each test can be customized depending on traffic volume and specific to its conversion rate. As no pages value are equal, it makes sense to adjust conversion or improvements as you'd expect. It solves the issue of a number of concurrent tests you can run on the case of Google Optimise. Solves some flicker issues and nuances you get from using free testing tools. Tool also helps us from hypothesis to agile recording of insights and conversions to implementation, reporting and insights.
  • 360 degree view of your tests helps you frame insights. It's always challenging to put together reports if you're using multiple testing tools.
  • I like the collection of hypothesis and problems to solve, and you can reuse them to other tests rather than starting from scratch.
  • The best thing is that it's simple to use. Features are arranged in a simple and easy to understand manner.
  • Form tracking is one of its features that I really like. However, our websites are using Angular forms and it needs a bit of customization from their support.
  • For us the volume of traffic is not yet that huge, I had to spend quite a bit of time to calculate what should be the right conversion rate to achieve.
  • Would be great to also cater for low volume traffic in running tests.
Definitely better for high volume traffic. And probably not ideal for low volume traffic.
Read this authenticated review
April 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO primarily for its A/B testing functionality, secondarily for its ability to edit website content on the fly and implement flexible customer experience surveys. We use VWO in our EBSCO Mags business line, a B2B magazine agent. It allows us to implement A/B tests based on user behavior and other criteria and it allows the marketing department to make changes to the website before the Web Development team is able to implement permanent changes.
  • A/B testing. VWO users are able to use all sorts of criteria to trigger and serve an A/B test, and the editor functionality is extremely flexible in editing page content.
  • Surveys. We're looking to expand our surveys with the new logic functionality that VWO is beta testing.
  • Web content editing that circumvents the web development "wait time". If marketing needs something simple changed on a webpage, all we have to do is go in VWO and edit or hide it.
  • Continued learning. I think that quarterly product update calls would help us understand what's new in the VWO universe.
VWO is great if you're looking to learn more about your customers' online behavior, even if you've never had any kind of formal A/B website testing plan.
  • Online training
  • Self-taught
VWO support is honestly one of the best customer support setups I've ever worked with. All of the customer support reps are extremely knowledgeable about their product and how it applies to my website. My tickets are answered quickly and professionally, often giving me just the trick to do what I want to do with a short bit of code, or notifying me of a part of the VWO admin that I haven't used yet. VWO customer support is great.
Read this authenticated review
April 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO within our digital design team to conduct on-site surveys, observe how users interact with our site, and perform A/B tests, all with the aim of improving the usability of our site.
  • On-site surveys allow us to gather information directly from our users without having to seek them out and ask in person. For example, what information they would find useful for specific pages.
  • Recordings of users allow us to see exactly how people use our website, so we have a greater idea of where improvements can be made.
  • A/B tests give us vital information on if an idea really does work or not.
  • As a UX designer myself, I appreciate how well VWO has been designed. It really is easy to use, especially for something complex like creating A/B tests.
  • Our front-end team has a huge issue with how long VWO takes to load, which obviously will have a negative impact on user experience. More needs to be done to reduce this issue.
VWO is great for gaining a better understanding of your users and testing ideas to know if they work. Heatmaps, surveys, session recordings, hypothesis, and A/B tests make a complete set of tools to figure out what people are struggling with/need, and to analyze and test what will help make your service/product better.
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO for A/B testing smaller features on site (e.g. hiding some text) and split testing with larger features (e.g. layout and image changes). It's primarily used by engineering currently, but we are trying to move priorities to product and marketing (with some constraints) for the majority of tests.

It allows us to make business decisions around the wording of text that's shown, or the user experience around a new UI.
  • General overview of which test variation is doing better
  • Simple A/B and Split URL tests
  • Simple testing mechanics (e.g. blanking the page before simple tests are run like with the WYSIWYG editor)
  • UI/UX for finding certain options are confusing. Even having used the tool for a bit, can't remember where certain editing options are .
  • Bugs with the visual editor and preview mode (having to refresh the page until it works)
  • More complicated tests (which may involve mechanics specific to certain companies)
Good:
Simple tests like hiding and showing a button, text, etc.
Adding text onto the page
Changing the color of things
Split tests where the whole page can change

Bad:
Complicated tests regarding custom JavaScript that's run (there may be asynchronous actions happening in that script that we need the page blank for until those actions finish)
Want a smarter visual editor (e.g. we can change the layout and the test would still work, by class or id selectors)
Read this authenticated review
November 17, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is being used by our marketing department for optimizing our website. We will have a look at the heat maps to see what people click on and think is most useful. And we use A/B tests for continuous optimization of our homepage and landing pages. We try to answer questions like: how can we best serve our (potential) customers on our website?
  • Heat maps
  • Easy set up of A/B tests
  • Easy implementation of the tool
  • Last time I wanted to add a B-variant in a A/B-test on our homepage. I changed the existing content (that was separated in two columns), but in the preview it kept showing elements I already deleted. In the end I decided to skip this test, because I couldn't find a solution.
  • Integration of Google Analytics can be more easy, so I can easily use my existing measurement goals for example.
  • Exporting of the made heat maps into images.
VWO can be used well if you want to see how your website is used. Where do people click on the page? How can we optimize our conversion path? And you can easily test your improvements on part of the visitors, so it won't have too much impact on your running business.

If you use an iframe, in our case it will not be tracked. Probably if you add the VWO code in the iframe, but it is something you should be aware of.
Read this authenticated review
March 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to run A/B tests, surveys, form analysis, and web recordings. It is primarily being used by the product team and to a certain level by the marketing team. It helps us to analyze how users behave and respond to various pages. Apart from this, it helps us choose one variation over the other while running experiments at any scale.
  • Conducting A/B tests. Segmenting their reports to get deep insights into which variation is performing well for what segment of users.
  • Form analysis. Knowing how users are interacting with the survey.
  • Surveys. Conducting various levels of surveys via the platform.
  • Segmentation in Surveys.
  • Connecting it with other tools like CRM, GA, etc.
  • Running multiple experiments on the same page simultaneously.
Running A/B, split URL tests easily without having to worry about any setup process. Connecting them with GA for advanced analytics could be done in a better way. It is also a great tool for conducting surveys and doing form analysis on a bunch of different landing pages. They have great customer support as well.
Read this authenticated review
November 12, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our marketing department uses it to A/B test new website organizations, promotions, and product page layouts. It lets us make temporary changes to our website strategy, see the effects, and then decide whether or not to commit to them on the live site for our entire audience.
  • Live previews of changes as you make them
  • Direct HTML access or a simple UI, as needed
  • Google Analytics integration
  • The first-party analytics are harder to use than the Google Analytics integration and show more inconsistent results - would be nice if these were improved
  • The web editor is sometimes slow to load or reflect changes, and occasionally locks up
  • Preview screenshots seem to be spliced together, so they often show multiple instances of the site header spaced down the page
It's the best A/B testing solution we could find for our own website and it's mostly very good at what it does. It has some usability issues on occasion, and the interface can be clunky, so it's not the easiest thing to pick-up-and-go, despite appearances; simple changes should be easy enough for a beginner to make but it takes some time with the interface to understand all its quirks.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

a/b experiment testing (1)
8.2
Split URL testing (1)
9.1
Multivariate testing (2)
7.8
Multi-page/funnel testing (2)
6.4
Cross-browser testing (1)
8.2
Test significance (1)
7.3
Visual / WYSIWYG editor (1)
7.3
Advanced code editor (1)
9.1
Visitor recordings (1)
6.4
Preview mode (1)
6.4
Test duration calculator (1)
6.4
Standard visitor segmentation (1)
9.1
Behavioral visitor segmentation (1)
7.3
Traffic allocation control (1)
9.1
Website personalization (1)
7.3
Heatmap tool (1)
6.4
Click analytics (1)
6.4
Scroll maps (1)
6.4
Conversion tracking (1)
8.2
Goal tracking (1)
8.2
Test reporting (1)
7.3
Results segmentation (1)
5.5
Experiments results dashboard (1)
8.2

What is VWO?

VWO is an A/B testing and conversion optimization platform that enables growing businesses to conduct qualitative and quantitative visitor research, build an experimentation roadmap and run continuous experiments on their digital properties.

With its 5 capabilities Plan, Track, Test, Analyze, and Target, it brings the entire CRO (conversion rate optimization) process at one place. VWO helps online businesses follow the process- and data-driven conversion optimization to boost their conversion rates.

With features like heatmaps, surveys, visitor recordings, and others, VWO enables businesses to develop an in-depth understanding of on-site visitor behavior. VWO facilitates conducting research-driven A/B testing to optimize web experience across desktop, mobile, and other devices, to deliver a unique experience based on visitor preferences.

According to the vendor, VWO has helped more than 4,500 brands across the globe to run over 600,000 experiments to date. VWO’s global customer base includes brands like Vodafone, Samsung, Toyota, and eBay.


VWO Features

Testing and Experimentation Features

Has featureMultivariate testing
Additional Features
Has featureA/B Testing
Has featureSplit Testing
Has featureCode Editor
Has featureMulti-Page Tests
Has featureGeo Behavioral Targeting
Has featureOn-Page Survey
Has featureSelf Hosting
Has featureComprehensive Reporting
Has featureRevenue Tracking
Has featureIntegrated Heatmaps, Clickmaps and Scrollmaps
Has featureDIY Visual Editor (WYSIWYG)
Has featureAdvanced jQuery based API
Has featureEnterprise Level Security
Has featureLog Observations
Has featureTesting for Mobile and Tablet Websites
Has featureAdvanced Segmentation
Has featureCross-Browser Previews
Has featureMobile App A/B

VWO Screenshots

VWO Video

VWO is a leading website testing platform used by more than 3,600 brands in 75 countries to analyze Web activity and increase conversions. Companies including Microsoft, General Electric, Rackspace and the American Red Cross use VWO to understand how website visitors engage with their digital properties. VWO offers marketers an easy-to-implement and use, but highly effective A/B testing, Multivariate testing, behavioral targeting, usability and heat map testing solution that requires no coding knowledge. For more information, please visit: http://vwo.com/

VWO Integrations

WordPress, Drupal, BigCommerce, Mixpanel, Shopify, Google Analytics, Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Joomla

VWO Competitors

VWO Pricing

Starting Price: $49

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TESTINGGet a DemoThe classic VWO A/B testing solution
CONVERSION OPTIMIZATIONGet a DemoThe all-in-one platform for all your optimization needs
ENTERPRISEGet a DemoCustomized solution with advanced AB testing and conversion optimization capabilities
Subscription$99.00Per Month

VWO Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

VWO Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does VWO cost?

VWO starts at $49.

What is VWO's best feature?

Reviewers rate Availability and Support Rating and Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses VWO?

The most common users of VWO are from Mid-size Companies and the Marketing & Advertising industry.