VWO Reviews

176 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (51-75 of 99)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is being used to analyze client's sites and improve their conversion rates. It addresses issues related to UX or poor conversion performance. We use this tool across a variety of templates and sites to gather insights on user journeys and flows.
  • Insights.
  • Reporting.
  • Integration.
  • Hard to build tests when dealing with dynamic content.
  • The WYSIWYG can be confusing as most tests require development.
  • It would be good to have an easier integration with Google Analytics.
It can be quite tricky to implement tests when you don't know JS.
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is being used primarily by a consultant agency of ours, who is using it to facilitate work on our website. My team has full access to the results, but we rely on the consultant to develop the tests and analyze the results. I personally access VWO mainly to dive deeper into the results and approve testing plans.
  • A/B testing in a way that does not require changes to the website instance itself.
  • Heatmap testing with minimal negative impact on load times and performance.
  • Specific user recordings for more information when desired.
  • We still have to rely on Google Analytics for a lot of user data and tracking.
  • No good way to connect to Google Analytics goals and funnels, so there are redundant options.
  • Forms do not provide better UX than other survey tools, so we have to choose UX over data collection.
An excellent product to bridge the gap if you want to create an environment of constant testing and tracking in a low-risk way, but don't have the tools to handle it within your core website development platform. It lacks integration options and the ability to push out changes, so there are still manual steps needed in both data analysis and web development.
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization, we manage the UX and CRO on our client's websites and use VWO to give us the ability to AB test on the sites. It only gets used by the UX and CRO team, and not in other departments. Mainly it helps us by giving us the ability to test the impact of making changes on websites, so we can build the changes in house and direct traffic to the appropriate percentage of users, with less time required for the clients.
  • Ability to direct test traffic to specific user types, devices, IP addresses allows easier test previewing and allows you to direct relevant traffic to the tests.
  • It is easy to set up new sub-accounts and sub-users so relevant people can view relevant accounts.
  • Ability to send preview links and QR codes of test variations.
  • The idea of having heatmaps with test variations are great. However, I find the VWO heatmaps largely unreliable, and don't show much data.
  • The previews links are really important so we can send our tests to clients before setting them live. However, they are really unreliable and are quite difficult for clients to use. You have to ensure the client clears their cookies and views the test in incognito, which is fine, but even after doing this it does not always work.
  • Building tests can be quite awkward as the code editors are overlaid over the view of the page, so you can't instantly see what the changes to the code do to the page -- you have to close the code editor, then select to correct variation. If you then find something isn't right, you find yourself repeating this a lot.
This is a great tool to use if you are wanting to change something on your site, but want to make sure it is the best thing to do for the user. You can use this tool to track user conversion and engagement on the website to track the success of the changes you are made. Although, if the changes are quite large on the page/site, it may not be appropriate to do this on VWO, as it can break and cause more issues on your site. For instance, major changes to the page, such as new navigation, may be too big for VWO.
Read this authenticated review
February 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is being used only by the e-commerce department. We use them for on-site A/B testing. We use the tool to learn more about our customers, their behavior, and how to improve the overall site experience. We have leveraged this data to share with our retail partners. There are a few tests we can run based on branding, but are also able to test based on behavior, which is great.
  • Very communicative.
  • They come up with great ideas on their own.
  • Easy tools.
  • Great reporting.
  • They try to push their ideas on you instead of learning your brand.
  • Time zone differences (based in India) make it difficult at times.
They were able to unlock a few issues our customers were having on site, which lead to great CVR increases. However, they can be a bit pushy about what they want to test at times, leading to frustrating conversations. They have a great pricing structure, which makes things more tolerable.
Read this authenticated review
February 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using VWO in the e-commerce department, together with an external consulting agency.
  • We got some great insights and could fix some issues by watching the VWO's recordings.
  • It's great that A/B tests can be paused and changed. In Google Optimize, we were struggling when we needed to add some minor changes while a test was running.
  • We love Smart Decisions. It's a time saver and helps whenever we aren't sure if should keep a test running or not.
  • A bit pricey
  • We had a few problems when we set up tracking codes - support helped us and everything works flawlessly now
VWO is a great testing platform. There are several functions within one software. We were able to get rid of several tools that we used before. We have them all in one place now with VWO.
Read this authenticated review
September 24, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is currently being used with a section of our business to optimize website performance and conversions.
  • You have the ability to have heatmaps recorded on any A/B or Split URL test, allowing you to investigate where users are concentrating most of their time within a control or variation.
  • VWO's ability to allow custom conversion tags to be placed and triggered on the website allows for more robust conversion tracking.
  • VWO's UI is very easy to use and navigate allowing users who are not familiar with coding the ability to test a website without the need of a developer in most cases.
  • Creating more technical documentation in the library, not just high level information. Example would be documentation on how you can run a test on your internal network before having a test go live.
If you are a marketer with no technical background VWO's UI makes it extremely easy to manipulate existing elements on a webpage to create an A/B test. Whereas if you are looking to create a more complex A/B test and need to create more advanced code it can be slightly difficult to find technical specs to answer some questions a developer may have.
Read this authenticated review
September 03, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our growth department works with clients using VWO to address potential areas in which their e-commerce sites could attract and keep more customers. It's the primary tool that we use to turn conversion rate optimization proposals into concrete data that we can then use to inform clients and make actionable recommendations.
  • Organization and management of multiple A/B tests paused or running at once is very well laid out and intuitive.
  • Heatmaps have provided a huge amount of actionable data in focused testing areas.
  • A/B test overview data is very easy to make inferences from because of its simple and visually outstanding presentation.
  • The Chrome extension tends to have issues loading Heatmaps. It's not uncommon to go to a Heatmaps page and have to refresh the page at least once in order for the extension to load correctly.
  • The visual editor for making variations for A/B tests feels clunky and often doesn't appear in the final version (previewing the variation as a page on its own) as it does in the editor. At times the undo button has caused erratic behavior such as duplicating or "redoing" several of the same action at once rather than stepping backward.
  • Overall, if there were any way to decrease the amount of time that the Chrome extension takes to load, I could see workflow across several areas being greatly improved.
I would say the primary determinant of Visual Website Optimizer's usefulness is the amount of data coming from the website(s) you're analyzing. In the case of sites less focused on conversions or those with less traffic, data can be volatile and/or confounding (your hypothesis might be strong but the data isn't actionable). I would recommend its use for any conversion-focused sites that have a relatively predictable and steady flow of traffic.
Read this authenticated review
August 24, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is used to help improve our web store products. As a SaaS company recently leaving the start-up world, we wanted to be scientific about the performance of our customer's web stores. VWO allows us to measure multiple domains and aggregate the data to get a better picture of average performance. We have several hundred stores spanning 40 brands, so in order to properly diagnose conversion rate performance, we decided to create a small group (like the S&P 500), and measure them. VWO helps us optimize conversion rates.
  • Goal Measurement. I enjoy the different objects you can target, and how easy they are to set up. Specifically, targeting elements and measuring their usage.
  • Survey Data. The survey data is very interesting. I do wish you could make the parameters for showing a survey more complex, but it works very well as is.
  • A/B Testing. I much preferred the UI layout of these screens over Google Optimize. It's easy to set markers utilizing goals and visualize the performance of variations.
  • A/B Testing Goals. Sometimes when I conduct an A/B test, I want to measure a goal I'm already tracking. However; I can't see these goals from the Test set up screen, so I end up having to recreate them. You might consider a method for adding them similar to the way funnels are built.
  • The documentation and integration with GA is under-stressed. GA is a staple for all web companies, so I might suggest working to integrate this better and bring it to the forefront. There are some measurements that are difficult to accomplish with VWO, such as conversion tracking or bounce rate.
  • I ran into constant problems distinguishing between https:// and http:// . I actually ended up just using "contains" with the url, which was less than ideal. I might suggest a better way to clarify this -OR- a setting that will accept either.
VWO is great for funnel analysis, multiple domains, surveys and A/B testing of any kind. I really enjoy the way that you can build custom segments to separate groups of domains. This is useful if you're working with aggregate data like we are and you want to make a comparison. Surveys are easy to integrate, and their triggering can be customized sufficiently. A/B testing is a breeze, but I believe this has been mastered across other platforms as well.
Read this authenticated review
August 24, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is used within one division of our company, CRO (conversion rate optimization). We use it to run tests on our clients' websites and improve their performance.
  • Setting up tests is fairly easy, setting up URL's, saved goals, and experiment-wide JS
  • Predictive text for CSS
  • Good response time with general questions about the product, live chat is much appreciated
  • There should be a preview button within the visual/code editor. Sometimes I need to see a page outside of the VWO window and it is a hassle to back out of the editor, click on the preview tab, open a preview, go back to the variation tab, and reopen the the editor.
  • Sometimes hard to remember where certain settings are in the menu layout. Customize traffic allocation can be difficult to find, and the 'other' tab in settings is not the most intuitive name.
  • Opening the test editor should be more prominent, since that is the main tool used for developers.
It is a good option for our clients that don't want to pay Optimizely prices to perform A/B testing. VWO support is responsive. Knowledge base can be a bit hard to search sometimes, if you have a very specific issue that you are trying to solve
Read this authenticated review
August 24, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO within the product development department to test new product ideas before implementing them and make data-driven decisions of changes to our e-commerce website. Only one person in the organisation uses VWO, but experiments and hypothesis are developed in collaboration with the CEO, CTO and Head of Customer Support. It helps us address the business problem of identifying what changes can have the most impact on increasing conversion rates, while prioritising new product ideas and validating assumptions.
  • Relatively easy for people without a developer background to make tactical changes to website content that may influence customer behaviour while comparing effects on both desktop and mobile.
  • VWO provides a good overview of results and data captured, allowing teams to collaborate and structure multiple tests simultaneously with endless segmentation options that are particularly useful when optimising certain user groups.
  • The A/B testing feature is particularly useful with clear indications of when results are significant and easy interfaces to compare versions.
  • I only use A/B testing because that's the only thing someone has taught me hands-on to do.
  • I know there is more functionality available but it is not clear when you're logged in which features require an upgrade vs. which ones you can access.
  • The Demo that was organised previously was not practical with poor connectivity and not tailored to the audience (ie. our CTO and Head of Customer support were attending but learned nothing useful other than the things I had already shared previously by going through the platform.)
Very well suited for running A/B tests that require no developer support/html/code editing. Our developer team is very time-poor so any experiments that can run without their input are much easier to implement.

A lot less suited for more advanced tests that require developer support/html/code editing. The Hypothesis tool is not very practical and could be a lot more user-friendly and should not be a premium tool...
Read this authenticated review
November 16, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has several online products which are operated by different teams. Members of these teams who are responsible for product development (we simply call them our customers) along with our UX team come to our department with their ideas and tweaks on how to enhance their product and then we discuss together what should be A/B tested before they would go into any kind of development. After a test has finished we evaluate the results together and decide upon them whether to apply the tested changes or not.
  • Visitor segmentation. There is a good amount of metrics that can be used to target those visitors you desire.
  • Estimation service. The provided results sometimes look strange. It is hard to figure out if the estimated run-time of a test is a result of a buggy calculation or you simply put in the wrong numbers for calculation.
We like to use VWO for testing smaller changes which don't necessarily require coding skills as it can speed up the creation and execution of our tests.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO has high functionality and great support. I was pretty amateur at CRO, but VWO's team really helped me fix problems when my tests weren't set up correctly—and they were fast to respond. The only downside is the price and annual commitment. They're cheaper than some alternatives, so I don't doubt it's a good deal. But it's an investment so make sure you have someone dedicated to getting the most out VWO.
  • Functionality.
  • Customer support.
  • Price.
  • From a UX perspective, it take a lot of clicks to see the results of something.
A marketing team that's ready to dedicate time and resources to CRO.
Read this authenticated review
September 21, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is being used by our front end design and development team. We split test new ideas frequently in hopes of increasing our overall conversion rate over time and we have recently contracted a conversion rate optimization company to provide additional ideas for tests. The 3rd party contractor has been using VWO to set up surveys and perform additional research through the platform to provide more insight into the visitors on our website which helps structures additional tests.
  • Allows for easy split URL testing and goal tracking through an intuitive user interface
  • Provides easy to interpret analytics and graphs on all the various research and testing components that the VWO platform offers
  • Includes a research component which tracks a subset of overall visitors which helps us decide what to test and why
  • The VWO team is very knowledgable and provides excellent customer support
  • Really easy to implement and start testing with their tracking code
  • Setting testing parameters can be confusing sometimes (or I just have no idea what I'm doing)
  • Billing and upgrading your account can be challenging, although it seems like they are figuring it out with the latest release of their platform
VWO is well suited to split url and a/b testing. Using this tool properly is key to improving conversion rates on your website. Performing research on your visitors is crucial to learning how people are interacting with your website and VWO's research and funnel platform have allowed for a much better analysis.
Read this authenticated review
September 14, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO within our ECommerce department on all 4 of our websites. We use it for A/B testing, user surveys, visit recording, and much more. Since we've had VWO it's helped us make informed decisions on the user experience elements on the site, and showed us where we may have potential problems.
  • Visit recording
  • Form drop out
  • A/B Testing
  • Multivariate testing
  • Smoother interface
VWO is very suited to MV and AB testing, finding where people are dropping out of forms, and user recording. We've also used the user survey function that works as expected. It wouldn't be appropriate to use VWO for permanent site changes, only indications of what works and what might not work.
Read this authenticated review
August 28, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently using Visual Website Optimizer for clients to test large business questions, test out new products and/or features, and continuously optimize and improve their websites and other marketing channels. The business problems vary from client to client and is very dependent upon the business context and particular industry.
  • When QAing experiments, it is extremely quick as goals fire immediately greatly reducing the time it takes to QA.
  • Dashboards are easy to understand.
  • The enterprise package has comprehensive add ons.
  • Redirect experiments are difficult to create and the wildcard rules are often incorrect and can create problems for the user of the platform as well as the visitors.
  • The main dashboard for experiments is actually based on cumulative transactions, not conversion rates of the specific variations which is confusing for newer users. Not communicated very well.
  • The support and resources center are not very robust and often I find myself with more questions than answers.
Basic A/B testing of websites as well as redirect experiments - If you are testing CTA colour, headlines, etc. and are just starting out your experimentation program, this will be very beneficial and help get you started. Conversely, if you are looking for a more robust solution, are more familiar with experimentation, and need more technical questions answered, it may not necessarily be the best place to start.
Read this authenticated review
August 24, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Online Growth team is using VWO for A/B testing the website. The main goal is to increase website conversions, specifically for people to sign up for a trial of our cloud software. The plan for A/B testing is to also increase the conversion rate of our trial users to become paid users by A/B testing specific pages in our software. We're testing copy and images and integrate the data with Google Analytics for a wider view of the results.
  • The support has been fantastic and they really do all they can to explain or help you set up experiments or account settings. The chat access is awesome because I can get help immediately while I'm setting up my account, whereas other companies only have email support, which disrupts my flow.
  • The options for testing is practically endless. They've thought of almost everything! I've trialed other A/B testing tools which did have limits on how I could set up the tests, which is one of the reasons why I chose VWO instead even though the other ones were cheaper.
  • The additional features besides A/B testing made this a very useful and valuable tool, such as heat maps, form analysis and website surveys, where I didn't have to purchase other tools, and they were pretty full featured in themselves that I didn't find much shortcomings that would make me look elsewhere for a better solution.
  • I have to admit, the phone support was difficult for me to use because of the language "barrier". I use that in quotes because even though they know English fluently, the thick Indian accents made it very very difficult for me to understand what they were saying, and I was trying really really hard to understand.
  • Their visual editor didn't work as well as I had hoped for. For some copy changes, doing a direct text edit didn't work. They ended up giving me code to use in their CSS editor, which inadvertently, messed up our popup trial signup form (which we didn't realize it was messing it up until months later).
  • I think the "quota" amounts are pretty low, especially when using them for their research features, when compared to the competitors I was trying out.
I think VWO is great for small to small-medium sized companies, because of the breadth if features it offers, but at a higher price tag than the lower priced competitors. I think they're trying to compete with the bigger A/B testing platforms that charge much more such as Optimizely. I think the lower priced options are suitable for small companies with smaller budgets. VWO can get pretty expensive if you want their advanced features, which a company of any size could use but may stay away from because of the higher pricing.
Read this authenticated review
August 24, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product team uses it to A/B test copy, images and design across our website. It allows us to roll out and test features quickly instead of having to go through the dev team for minor requests. Once the A/B test is concluded, we put the change in the dev queue.
  • Easy to design and implement tests
  • Hypothesis feature makes it easy to keep track of tests
  • The A/B test designer doesn't always work well with pages that involve multiple steps to get to (i.e., the last page of an order flow)
  • The dashboard doesn't seem to change based on what level subscription you have, which is confusing
Suitable for companies that have a decent amount of web traffic and want to quickly and easily test out new features without going through their dev team. Less appropriate for companies that with small web traffic (won't get statistical significance) or whose websites are very complex (in which case the tests may break design).
Read this authenticated review
August 21, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use it for A/B tests - our product owners define a test they want to run - and the web team runs it.
We also use user recordings in order to locate potential problems in our flows.
We use heatmaps the least, because the info is not that actionable - we get the same data from GA and recordings
  • Intuitive UI
  • Easy to set up A/B tests
  • Integration with different tools for more detailed insights
  • Testing preview functionality is weak
  • Products behind general paywall - I need to pay $300/mo more in order to get scroll maps for the heatmaps
  • Support could be faster and take more of a personal approach
  • VWO is suited for most websites - The tool works with classical websites as well as SPAs.
  • Tests are easy to implement and success metrics are defined for each test individually - which gives accurate insights.
Read this authenticated review
August 17, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Website Optimizer (VWO) is being used to track and run A/B tests on our website.
  • It's visually appealing
  • It's easy to implement
  • And yet it's still has very sophisticated capabilities
  • Faster Load times
  • Better directions for setup
  • Provide ideas for different tests to run
Overall, it's a beneficial tool for any company. The issue is that it is yet another tool to manage. Unless you have dedicated resources, you probably aren't getting the most out of it.
Read this authenticated review
November 13, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO to test new website designs and to tweak existing designs improve conversion rate.
  • We run A/B tests for page design changes.
  • We also run split URL tests for major page redesigns.
  • We run ongoing conversion campaigns.
  • I've found that creating a campaign which involves multiple pages is extremely time-consuming to set up. I haven't done this in a while so maybe the process has improved, but I'm not aware if it has.
I think it's well suited for many types of testing. I'm not sure where it would not be appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2015
Jose Terrier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Visual Website Optimizer (VWO) to run tests on our lead gen sites in order to improve conversion rates. The Marketing Department identifies pages that we would like to improve and then we set up A/B split tests to test enhancements to these pages.
  • Once it's set up, one of the best features of VWO is that the WYSIWYG editor allows us to make comprehensive revisions to the layout, images and content without needing to get designers or IT involved. Of course, we use these resources on the more important tests, but this flexibility makes the testing process much smoother.
  • I think that the heatmaps/clickmaps are a very cool feature. VWO gives us the option of collecting clickmap data with every test that that we run. This data is fantastic to have as it shows us what elements on the page are getting the most attention from visitors. We can then adjust these elements in future tests to draw more or less attention, as needed.
  • Not only does VWO support A/B split tests, multivariate tests and split URL tests, but it also lets us segment the traffic that sees a test by different criteria such as geo location and traffic source. Also, when running tests concurrently, we can prevent visitors that see one test from seeing another. This is a great feature because it allows us to speed up our testing process without skewing results with "cross-over" visits.
  • The revenue tracking feature is not one that we currently use since our sites are built for lead generation. But I've used this feature with e-commerce sites before and it is very helpful to see the impact on revenue in addition to the impact on conversion rates, especially when your products or services have different price points.
  • VWO support is outstanding. They have always responded to my questions and requests quickly, and have assisting in helping us solve complicated technical issues.
  • I really don't have anything bad to say about VWO. If I nit pick, I would say that I'd like to see graphs displayed in the dashboard so that we can get a snapshot view of our tests without having to click into the test details.
  • I also wish that it would save a snapshot of the test variations instead of pulling them live. After a test has run its course, we sometimes update the page and, in doing so, we lose an example of what the original variation looked like. I capture screenshots before updating the pages, but it would be great if VWO did this for me.
VWO requires very minimal coding to set up. Typically, the set up can be handled by someone who is proficient in HTML without needing to get the IT team involved. Since VWO allows you to do things like drag and drop page elements in its WYSIWYG editor, switch out images and content easily, a marketer with a good eye can make many of these changes with limited resources.
Read Jose Terrier's full review
April 08, 2015
Jeremy Weis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Trinity Insight uses VWO to implement and conduct A/B/n and Multivariate tests, heat maps and click maps, and geo-targeting initiatives. VWO is utilized by our Engineering Dept. and allows us to help our clients test and target pain points of their website's goal funnels to collect data that will assist them in making more informed decisions about the evolution of their business.
  • Great UI and features available for beginners or advanced developers.
  • Excellent support with great response time.
  • Created by a company that is very forward thinking.
  • Complete integration with Universal Analytics.
Heat maps are sometimes challenging as you cannot use a regular expression to collect heat map data across multiple pages. You're only allowed 1 page at a time.
Read Jeremy Weis's full review
September 18, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently only one department for improving conversion.
  • Form analysis is pretty cool.
  • Targeting and segmentation is quite extensive.
  • Implementing A/B tests works well.
  • More filtering options for form analysis.
  • Increase sampling ratio for heatmaps.
  • Increase sampling ratio for recordings.
Suitable if your company has a big budget to afford the Enterprise edition. Cheaper subscriptions lack a lot of the most usable features.
Read this authenticated review
September 17, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is mostly being used in our marketing & product team. It mostly solves the research problem with its visitor recordings.
  • Visitor research.
  • User friendly for multiple users / departments.
  • Good workflows.
  • Goal tracking is hard to setup and confusing to use.
VWO is great when you have an AB testing team and want to organize AB testing flow end-to-end including user research & hypothesis creation.
Read this authenticated review
September 14, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our marketing team has assembled a core conversion rate optimization team to monitor our partner's microsites to ensure that they're as effective as they can be and that the conversion rates are performing well. We use VWO to discover shortcomings in the websites and hypothesize about potential solutions in addition to running tests.
  • Easily track test performance and stats as it runs
  • Seeing heatmaps and user recordings
  • Form usage statistics
  • Integration with Google Analytics
  • Split URL tests with multiple pages are notoriously difficult to setup
  • Form usage statistics, while helpful, are incomplete
If you have a substantial amount of traffic on a website that you put a lot of money (ie. advertisements, search engine marketing) into. Without a substantial volume of traffic, the stats take a while to accumulate and you could be waiting a while to see a result. The results you do get are somewhat incomplete. Much better with a large audience sample
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

a/b experiment testing (1)
8.2
Split URL testing (1)
9.1
Multivariate testing (2)
7.8
Multi-page/funnel testing (2)
6.4
Cross-browser testing (1)
8.2
Test significance (1)
7.3
Visual / WYSIWYG editor (1)
7.3
Advanced code editor (1)
9.1
Visitor recordings (1)
6.4
Preview mode (1)
6.4
Test duration calculator (1)
6.4
Standard visitor segmentation (1)
9.1
Behavioral visitor segmentation (1)
7.3
Traffic allocation control (1)
9.1
Website personalization (1)
7.3
Heatmap tool (1)
6.4
Click analytics (1)
6.4
Scroll maps (1)
6.4
Conversion tracking (1)
8.2
Goal tracking (1)
8.2
Test reporting (1)
7.3
Results segmentation (1)
5.5
Experiments results dashboard (1)
8.2

What is VWO?

VWO is an A/B testing and conversion optimization platform that enables growing businesses to conduct qualitative and quantitative visitor research, build an experimentation roadmap and run continuous experiments on their digital properties.

With its 5 capabilities Plan, Track, Test, Analyze, and Target, it brings the entire CRO (conversion rate optimization) process at one place. VWO helps online businesses follow the process- and data-driven conversion optimization to boost their conversion rates.

With features like heatmaps, surveys, visitor recordings, and others, VWO enables businesses to develop an in-depth understanding of on-site visitor behavior. VWO facilitates conducting research-driven A/B testing to optimize web experience across desktop, mobile, and other devices, to deliver a unique experience based on visitor preferences.

According to the vendor, VWO has helped more than 4,500 brands across the globe to run over 600,000 experiments to date. VWO’s global customer base includes brands like Vodafone, Samsung, Toyota, and eBay.


VWO Features

Testing and Experimentation Features

Has featureMultivariate testing
Additional Features
Has featureA/B Testing
Has featureSplit Testing
Has featureCode Editor
Has featureMulti-Page Tests
Has featureGeo Behavioral Targeting
Has featureOn-Page Survey
Has featureSelf Hosting
Has featureComprehensive Reporting
Has featureRevenue Tracking
Has featureIntegrated Heatmaps, Clickmaps and Scrollmaps
Has featureDIY Visual Editor (WYSIWYG)
Has featureAdvanced jQuery based API
Has featureEnterprise Level Security
Has featureLog Observations
Has featureTesting for Mobile and Tablet Websites
Has featureAdvanced Segmentation
Has featureCross-Browser Previews
Has featureMobile App A/B

VWO Screenshots

VWO Video

VWO is a leading website testing platform used by more than 3,600 brands in 75 countries to analyze Web activity and increase conversions. Companies including Microsoft, General Electric, Rackspace and the American Red Cross use VWO to understand how website visitors engage with their digital properties. VWO offers marketers an easy-to-implement and use, but highly effective A/B testing, Multivariate testing, behavioral targeting, usability and heat map testing solution that requires no coding knowledge. For more information, please visit: http://vwo.com/

VWO Integrations

WordPress, Drupal, BigCommerce, Mixpanel, Shopify, Google Analytics, Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Joomla

VWO Competitors

VWO Pricing

Starting Price: $49

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TESTINGGet a DemoThe classic VWO A/B testing solution
CONVERSION OPTIMIZATIONGet a DemoThe all-in-one platform for all your optimization needs
ENTERPRISEGet a DemoCustomized solution with advanced AB testing and conversion optimization capabilities
Subscription$99.00Per Month

VWO Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

VWO Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does VWO cost?

VWO starts at $49.

What is VWO's best feature?

Reviewers rate Availability and Support Rating and Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses VWO?

The most common users of VWO are from Mid-size Companies and the Marketing & Advertising industry.