ActiveCampaign Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
274 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 195)

Davide Conti | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2020

Great email campaign system!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Intuitive and clear dashboard. The categories are well divided and easy to use.
  • Create automations is great. It takes some time to understand the initial settings, but then it becomes very intuitive and easy. Many many options are available.
  • The balance between quality and price is very good. Similar competitors are often more expensive with less options available.
  • The interface for creating and designing emails has all the options and functionality. However it could be more user friendly and dynamic, especially in the way it integrates pictures inside the message (which is quite limited).
Read Davide Conti's full review
Stephen Box | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2020

Great for small business owners and solopreneurs looking for automation but cost can quickly escalate if you want certain features.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The automation feature is easy to set up and allows me to deliver digital products and important information to new and potential clients.
  • The ability to create tags and custom fields on the lowest pricing tier helps me personalize the content I send out which results in better open rates and more sales.
  • While the "lite" price tier is powerful and works great for my small business there is a huge increase in cost to access certain features. For example, the ability to create dynamic content is possible on the "lite" tier if you do it manually with tags and custom fields. However, if you want to use the actual dynamic content feature then the cost of jumping from the "lite" tier to the "plus" tier is 5x the cost.
Read Stephen Box's full review
cristina fuertes mosella | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2020

Email marketing with customer service better than receiving actual mail in the mailbox :)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Really good segmentation.
  • Nice visual to plan your funnels.
  • The scaling pricing is fine and fair, not only because the more people you have, the more you get charged, but also because it forces you to have a quality list, not numbers for the sake of numbers.
  • Ok, I like Active Campaign, but the email editor is horrendous: zero usability, lots of editing mistakes, lots of difficulties just to put one paragraph after another. Lots to be improved there.
Read cristina fuertes mosella's full review
Aryeh Brickner | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2020

ActiveCampaign or bust - why it should be your go-to service for email marketing. Don't settle for anything else!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Our onboarding process was amazing. The account management team is super knowledgeable and was supremely helpful with getting us started. The service is like no other I have ever experienced.
  • The tool itself is exceedingly intuitive. It was important to have a tool which was simple yet robust.
  • The reporting systems are perfect for what we need and are also easily accessible and understandable. They are delivered and reported in a format which makes it easy to follow.
  • I would offer a tutorial for each function as sometimes once you start a function you can't change it along the way. We started "playing" around with the forms only to find out each time we made changes it meant resubmitting it to our site dev.
Read Aryeh Brickner's full review
Jonathan Avalos | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Highly Recommend ActiveCampaign

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer Service is exceptional - they always point me in the right direction
  • Automations - easy to set up
  • Clean - the dashboard isn't cluttered with a bunch of tabs that distract or confuse
  • Scheduling - It would be nice if they could combine their features with calendly to set appointments
Read Jonathan Avalos's full review
Michael Moreno | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

ActiveCampaign gets you results fast

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple to use.
  • Multiple automation tools.
  • Works with every other online platform I use.
  • Audience tracking and segmentation is very useful.
  • I cannot immediately see open rates from the main page.
  • Some details are deeper in menus and could be a little more obvious.
  • The mobile site is difficult to navigate easily.
Read Michael Moreno's full review
Mark 'The Copy Father' Kington - Freelance Copywriter | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

ActiveCampaign is much better than Mailchimp

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use.
  • Great automation options.
  • Compatible with everything I need.
  • The mobile app could be clearer.
  • Open rates and CTR aren't visible on the main page.
  • The site on mobile isn't formatted very well.
Read Mark 'The Copy Father' Kington - Freelance Copywriter's full review
Ruth Douglas | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

An excellent next step when you want more than just a newsletter delivery service

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is easy to set up automations.
  • Great contact tracking across interaction points.
  • Reporting is clear.
  • Easy to see the full relationship with a contact.
  • The drag and drop email designer isn't the best looking.
  • Could have more elements in the email designer.
Read Ruth Douglas's full review
Alex Iglecia | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

Thanks, ActiveCampaign, for all the Marketing!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Automation: the setup is simple and straightforward.
  • Formatting: again, simplicity rules.
  • Delivery: I've never noticed a major deliverability problem.
  • Sign up form - I still use a form plugin to dress up the ActiveCampaign form.
  • Not as pretty, well-designed or elegant looking as ConvertKit.
  • I run into occasional formatting issues when selecting font to make it bold, and the entire line gets wonky. This has been the one consistent glitch over the years.
Read Alex Iglecia's full review
Phil Reichner | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2020

Great product, but deliverability can be an issue

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy to create templates.
  • Vast automation tools.
  • New app integrates well with Salesforce Lightning.
  • Immediately after renewing our service (twice) our sending servers were switched which created deliverability issues. After considerable back and forth with their deliverability team, we were finally switched to a third server which was better for deliverability.
  • Automation sometimes is delayed.
  • Salesforce app only works in Lightning.
Read Phil Reichner's full review
Max Ong Zong Bao | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2020

Developer Looking to Build their Own Audience & Personal Brand

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use due to their awesome documentation whenever I need to add new automation for my marketing effort.
  • Best in class customer support despite the fact that I was on free trail.
  • Provides continuous education to allow me to become better at using it through webinars.
  • Static site generators integrations like Hugo & GatsbyJS.
  • Better and more variety of email templates for newsletters.
  • Finer control in adding tags to hyperlinks for the email.
Read Max Ong Zong Bao's full review
Ben Egbert | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

Not intimidating at all

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The automation is simple to use.
  • I can write a letter anytime and have it go out at anytime in the future. This saves me quite a bit of time.
  • Because I can time block and do multiple emails at one time to be sent later, I am saving myself hours of going back and forth.
  • I would like to see Active Campaign have a mobile version.
  • Possibly a reminder feature would be useful to some.
Read Ben Egbert's full review
Dimitris Gkiokas | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

ActiveCampaign is the best choice for small businesses in the information product market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Automations - this is the primary feature that got us to make the decision for ActiveCampaign.
  • Integrations - ActiveCampaign is integrated with almost any service your company will use.
  • Analytics - We love how ActiveCampaign allows us to understand so much about our customers and their behavior.
  • Price - We think that it's a little higher-priced than some of its competitors. But, we've been more than happy to pay for it anyway!
  • Ease of use - We are a highly technical team, so we can use all features of ActiveCampaign with no issues, but a little less tech savvy team would probably face some issues.
Read Dimitris Gkiokas's full review
Harry Verma | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2020

The most versatile and logical CRM I've come across

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Excellent for complicated user flows, mapping out emails depending on user behaviour. The simple flow chart way of creating automations is very easy for anyone with a logical thought process.
  • Fantastic at managing and segmenting large contact bases because you can tag people through automations depending on almost anything you can think of.
  • Very strong at deliverability, because it flags when spam warnings are there and gets us over 90% open rates.
  • It could have better options for templates and making emails look good on mobile.
Read Harry Verma's full review
Jessica Warnecke | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2020

Small Business Review For ActiveCampaign

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use/organize automations and campaigns.
  • Good analytics.
  • Good options for email layout and style depending on the marketing purpose.
  • It would be helpful to be able to create a new list after starting a new campaign/automation but currently you have to create the list first and then go back and start the campaign/automation.
Read Jessica Warnecke's full review
Laura Pickard | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Competitively Priced and Innovative ESP

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Personalization - Easy to set conditional content based on location, tags, custom fields.
  • Contact Management - Easy to organize lists and segments and edit contacts by bulk or individually.
  • Email design - User-friendly drag and drop features or the option to add in custom HTML.
  • Automations - Able to effectively use automations based on criteria.
  • Price - Competitively priced software and get lots of bang for your buck!
  • Deliverability - Can be hard to get emails out of the junk folder.
Read Laura Pickard's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (176)
8.1
Dynamic content (158)
8.2
Ability to test dynamic content (141)
7.9
Landing pages (63)
7.0
A/B testing (114)
8.4
Mobile optimization (153)
8.2
Email deliverability reporting (188)
8.8
List management (190)
8.6
Triggered drip sequences (174)
9.4
Lead nurturing (115)
7.7
Lead scoring and grading (85)
7.8
Data quality management (92)
7.2
Automated sales alerts and tasks (85)
8.3
Calendaring (72)
7.1
Event/webinar marketing (63)
8.7
Social sharing and campaigns (58)
8.9
Social profile integration (54)
7.6
Dashboards (175)
7.8
Standard reports (174)
7.7
Custom reports (112)
7.7
API (91)
8.8
Role-based workflow & approvals (59)
7.8
Customizability (92)
7.8
Integration with Salesforce.com (18)
7.9
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (9)
8.3
Integration with SugarCRM (9)
8.2

About ActiveCampaign

The vendor states ActiveCampaign's Customer Experience Automation (CXA) Platform helps over 100,000 businesses in 170 countries meaningfully engage with their customers. The platform gives businesses of all sizes access to hundreds of pre-built automations that combine email marketing, marketing automation, CRM, and machine learning for segmentation and personalization across social, email, messaging, chat, and text. Pricing starts at $9 a month.


By removing the silos that typically exist between email marketing, marketing automation, CRM, and account management solutions, businesses can automate truly personalized experiences that feel authentic. The vendor states that over 70% of ActiveCampaign's customers use its 300+ integrations including Shopify, Square, Facebook, Eventbrite, Wordpress and Salesforce.

Additionally, ActiveCampaign offers 280+ pre-built automation templates to aim to make it easy to create and run connected campaigns across all channels, and free customer service, including live chat and phone support, a self-help knowledge base and complementary data migration. Combined with the ActiveCampaign Customer Success Commitment; a set of 14 promises pledging that users will always be able to get what they need, when they need it, ActiveCampaign aims to deliver value on Day 1 to customers of all sizes.

ActiveCampaign Screenshots

ActiveCampaign Integrations

ActiveCampaign Competitors

Mailchimp, HubSpot, Klaviyo, Marketo, Campaign Monitor, Constant Contact, Keap (formerly Infusionsoft), ConvertKit

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

ActiveCampaign Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

ActiveCampaign Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android