ActiveCampaign Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
403 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 283)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
July 20, 2021
Jessie Lucas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I can create custom campaigns quickly.
  • I can see the activity of each contact in a simple snapshot.
  • I can set up easy automations without going down tech rabbit holes.
  • While ActiveCampaign has many campaign templates to choose from, I would like to see more! I don't see any that really are a fit for my brand and don't have the design skills to create one myself.
  • I love the landing pages, however I have had some issues moving the blocks around and keeping spacing even, a little more simplicity here to customize would be great.
  • I seem to have a good handful of contacts that are unconfirmed, maybe this is user error on my end, but I wish there was an easy way a DIY, non-tech person like myself could capture more of these contacts without losing them in the double opt in space.
Read Jessie Lucas's full review
June 23, 2021
Ryan Schullo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Their forms are phenomenal, you can embed them directly on your site and the data flows right into your Active Campaign CRM.
  • ActiveCampaign is great at allowing you to target specific lists with email. Their segmenting feature is super useful once you learn how to use it, you can have your main list and then get very granular in segmenting people out of the list that you don't want to email.
  • It has a great integration with Zapier. This allows you to connect Active Campaign to hundreds of other programs. This is SUPER useful for things like sending notifications to Slack, sending DocuSigns, updating other CRMs like PipeDrive & Keap, the list goes on.
  • I'd like to see them build int 2nd and 3rd emails into each contact, so you can easily merge contacts who you know have more than 1 email.
Read Ryan Schullo's full review
May 19, 2021
Suzie Flynn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Deals in ActiveCampaign is amazing as it allows you to track your leads and revenue for each of your clients
  • I love the automation feature on ActiveCampaign. It really simplifies my life and automates so much stuff for me so that I'm not feeling hectic and dropping balls in my day
  • I love the campaign feature and how easy it is to create a newsletter using the blocks or templates provided.
  • Being able to link Calendly with ActiveCampaign so that the questions my leads answer in the Calendly form then get populated into the notes section of AC.
Read Suzie Flynn's full review
April 22, 2021
Daniel Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tracking the customer behavior across multiple marketing channels
  • Adapting and aligning our marketing strategies to the interests of the customer
  • Keeping records of our customer history in a single database
  • A drip functionality can help avoid spam filters especially when sending campaigns to an extremely large list.
  • A blank image box may appear below the image when I use the drag and drop option to add an image
Read Daniel Cooper's full review
July 28, 2021
Andrew Boylan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Automations
  • Forms
  • Tagging for segmentation
  • Site tracking setup is a bit tricky without a tech background. My clients find it tricky to use.
  • Paying for the number of contacts you use is pretty annoying
  • When a contact unsubscribes they are still counted as contacts, therefore, increasing your bill - this is annoying
Read Andrew Boylan's full review
April 02, 2021
Cora Matheson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • They have incredible customer service. There is a chat option right in your account, they are quick to reply, and always so kind and patient.
  • The whole system is so user friendly. Campaigns/emails are easy to write and design, and segments and tags are easy to manage.
  • I can also create incredibly good looking lead pages right in my account. They are quick to make because AC's templates are all really wonderful. Saves me a lot of time!
  • I'm not sure.
Read Cora Matheson's full review
July 21, 2021
Valerie Saindon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Automation for emails
  • Some good templates to choose from for both automation and emails
  • System is user friendly
  • The email design tool is not always very intuitive, making it hard to have emails looking as you want them
  • Form design could be improved
Read Valerie Saindon's full review
July 21, 2021
Frederico Estante | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to create complex automations
  • Great pricing structure
  • Great customer support
  • More up-to-date documentation in Portuguese.
Read Frederico Estante's full review
July 14, 2021
Robin Trum | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great customization possibilities in automation flow, everything you could imagine is possible.
  • Superior support helps you with problems around the clock. Especially since we're in the Netherlands, the support still is insanely fast.
  • ActiveCampaign is well known in the market and does offer lots of integrations as well as a great API.
  • Sometimes ActiveCampaign could be hard to understand. Since it comes with a big package of functionality you need to understand its flow
Read Robin Trum's full review
July 13, 2021
Nadine Burton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Automations are easy to set-up and change
  • Contacts can be easily grouped in different segments and lists
  • Very good and detailed reporting options
  • The detailed automation reporting can not be tracked by day or weeks the last month
Read Nadine Burton's full review
July 12, 2021
Hermelindo Ruiz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to send broadcast emails.
  • Great tools to capture leads and organize the contacts.
  • Great platform to make broad emails look professional.
  • Amazing data analysis for email marketing.
  • Super affordable prices at all levels of companies.
  • The company stays relevant with changes in the industry.
  • More artificial intelligence tools to manage data.
  • Website form designs can improve.
  • Tutorials for starting out to use the software.
Read Hermelindo Ruiz's full review
July 12, 2021
Dawn Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reaches out to new customers with offers of support making you feel welcome from day 1
  • Simple structure that is very user friendly so that you can avoid paying for outside technical help and still focus on what you do best
  • Offers free training, tips, and support for you to learn more about how to leverage email communications with your followers, customers, and future customers.
  • There is no 'free' version, but is very cost effective even for the beginner
Read Dawn Williams's full review
March 16, 2021
Aaron Steinberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The automation capabilities are robust and capable.
  • The CRM is plenty robust for a company our size.
  • The integration between the CRM and the automation capability is quite good and very useful for us.
  • The interface is not always intuitive and it can be confusing troubleshooting automations that don't always work as they should.
  • Support is spotty. Our account rep is not as responsive as we would like.
  • Information/insight/education on how to use AC better exists but it is hard to find.
Read Aaron Steinberg's full review
June 29, 2021
Michelle Hill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Extremely user-friendly. If I can use it...anyone can.
  • The dashboard on their website makes it easy to view information at a glance.
  • Never "breaks." Talk about reliable. Active Campaign exemplifies reliable.
  • Provide helpful tips on how to grow my email list.
  • Provide helpful tips on what types of "freebies" I should provide to website visitors.
  • Keep emails short and concise.
Read Michelle Hill's full review
March 05, 2021
Ben Marcoux Roofing Lead Generation Expert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple, easy, and fast setup for lists. You can set up a new list in just seconds. And also, they allow you to have an unlimited number of lists and tags that keep things organized.
  • Powerful automations and a clean interface to build them. ActiveCampaign is a powerful tool, allowing you to segment users and send them congruent messaging.
  • Great deliverability. Email marketing is only as useful as the number of emails that get received. If your emails don't send or wind up in spam or junk or promotions folders, that will severely inhibit your email marketing efforts.
  • Text message marketing. There are other tools that are specifically designed for text message marketing, but it would be great if ActiveCampaign took over this industry as well, with their same philosophy of simple and fast to build + super powerful.
  • It gets a bit expensive when you have a large list, because they charge in tiers based on the number of contacts. So does everyone else though, so if you have a big list it will be expensive to host.
Read Ben Marcoux Roofing Lead Generation Expert's full review
May 18, 2021
Aldo Ibrahimi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Email automation
  • Sales pipeline CRM (amazing UX/UI)
  • SMS & email integration
  • Behavioral messaging, etc.
  • Doesn't integrate well with Zapier for some Real Estate CRMs.
  • Expensive to get the Sales CRM on the higher plan.
Read Aldo Ibrahimi's full review
May 18, 2021
Dr Olivier Becherel - Leadership and Executive Coaching | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple to use
  • Good value for the price
  • Automation sequences
  • Lead scoring
  • Cannot capture the overall structure of an automation sequence. Would be nice to capture the whole automation sequence as an image file or PDF file to go back to when I want to make amendments.
  • Sometimes the platform is a bit slow to respond.
  • Have more examples of automation sequences of aces studies on how to use automation features with real-life examples of sequence and details of how each step functions. That would help build better automation sequences.
Read Dr Olivier Becherel - Leadership and Executive Coaching's full review
May 17, 2021
Shorombo Mooij | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows you to really customize your email marketing approach to make sure that the right people get the right content.
  • It is a very good tool to also do your CRM.
  • I love the potential of automation where you can have different funnels running at the same time. All customized to the specific prospect.
  • I find navigating sometimes a bit cumbersome and I tend to open multiple windows as a result.
  • It takes a bit of tweaking to receive notification about new subscribers. This is not as easy as turning something on or off if I recall correctly.
  • I would love to see a bit more flexibility in the email editor. It is good but it could be better.
Read Shorombo Mooij's full review
May 13, 2021
Herschel Berkowitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Email Marketing
  • Drip Campaigns
  • Segmentation
  • Sending limits penalises companies that send frequent emails by forcing them to upgrade to a higher subscribers tier.
  • Account manager non-responsive and difficult to get hold of.
  • No transactional email functionality.
Read Herschel Berkowitz's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (249)
8.2
Dynamic content (223)
8.7
Ability to test dynamic content (203)
8.1
Landing pages (108)
7.1
A/B testing (162)
8.6
Mobile optimization (220)
8.1
Email deliverability reporting (314)
8.8
List management (276)
8.6
Triggered drip sequences (251)
9.2
Lead nurturing (187)
8.4
Lead scoring and grading (135)
8.0
Data quality management (150)
7.8
Automated sales alerts and tasks (136)
8.3
Calendaring (114)
7.9
Event/webinar marketing (104)
8.8
Social sharing and campaigns (92)
8.7
Social profile integration (89)
8.0
Dashboards (254)
8.5
Standard reports (251)
8.2
Custom reports (161)
8.4
API (153)
8.8
Role-based workflow & approvals (98)
8.3
Customizability (160)
8.7
Integration with Salesforce.com (33)
8.8
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (21)
8.5
Integration with SugarCRM (19)
8.4

What is ActiveCampaign?

The vendor states ActiveCampaign's category-defining customer experience automation platform (CXA) helps over 130,000 businesses in 170 countries meaningfully engage with their customers. The platform gives businesses of all sizes access to 500+ pre-built automations that combine email marketing, marketing automation and CRM for powerful segmentation and personalization across social, email, messaging, chat and text. Pricing starts at just $9/month.


By removing the silos that typically exist between email marketing, marketing automation, CRM, and account management solutions, businesses can automate truly personalized experiences that feel authentic. The vendor states that over 75% of ActiveCampaign's customers use its 850+ integrations including Microsoft, Shopify, Square, Facebook, and Salesforce.

Additionally, ActiveCampaign offers 500+ pre-built automation templates that make it easy for customers to instantly create and run connected campaigns across all channels, and free customer service, including live chat and phone support, a self-help knowledge base and complementary data migration. Combined with the ActiveCampaign Customer Success Commitment—a set of 14 promises pledging that customers will always be able to get what they need, when they need it—ActiveCampaign aims to deliver value on Day 1 to customers of all sizes.

ActiveCampaign Screenshots

ActiveCampaign Video

ActiveCampaign: Customer Experience Automation Demo

ActiveCampaign Integrations

LiveChat, Survicate, BigCommerce, Calendly, Dropbox, Facebook Pages Manager, MINDBODY, Pipedrive, Shopify, Slack, SurveyMonkey, Typeform, unbounce, Zendesk Support Suite, Twilio Programmable SMS, part of Twilio CPaaS, Magento Commerce, part of Adobe Commerce Cloud

ActiveCampaign Competitors

ActiveCampaign Pricing

Starting Price: $9

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Lite$9.00Per Month [3 Users]
Plus$49Per Month [25 Users]
Professional$129Per Month [50 Users]
Enterprise$229Per Month [Unlimited Users]

ActiveCampaign Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

ActiveCampaign Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android

Frequently Asked Questions

What is ActiveCampaign?

ActiveCampaign integrates email marketing, marketing automation, sales automation, and CRM software into one platform designed for small businesses.

How much does ActiveCampaign cost?

ActiveCampaign starts at $9.

What is ActiveCampaign's best feature?

Reviewers rate Triggered drip sequences highest, with a score of 9.2.

Who uses ActiveCampaign?

The most common users of ActiveCampaign are from Small Businesses and the Marketing & Advertising industry.