UltiPro Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
822 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 596)

Cortney Reese profile photo
January 07, 2020

Amazing UltiPro

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro is being used across our entire company. We use UltiPro for payroll, recruitment, employee reviews, employee documents, PTO just to name a few. UltiPro keeps our company on track.
  • Time management
  • PTO
  • In recruitment it is a little hard to resend new hire paperwork.
  • PTO is always up to date for employees to see.
Instead of using a punch time clock, you can just enter your time in UltiPro and it keeps track for you. The downside to this is that employees can fib on what time they are in and leave since it isn't a punch.
  • Costs savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
  • Security and peace of mind
UltiPro is an excellent way to save money and paper. Green is always better. Having all the HR in one program is wonderful and efficient. The security of UltiPro definitely gives us a peace of mind. To know that our personal information is safe is big deal.
Read Cortney Reese's full review
Paul Idos profile photo
September 12, 2019

UltiPro - HCM that cares!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use UltiPro across the entire organization. We currently have UltiPro Core and Onboarding. Onboarding is used by our recruitment team to help facilitate and streamline the document completion of our new hires. UltiPro Core is used as our main point of reference for employee data.

UltiPro is used sparingly as far as employees and managers are concerned. We have not opened up the portal extensively as far as self-service is concerned. Employees, however, can change their private information, direct deposit, and W2. They can also check basic information and download pay information. Managers do not have any type of self-service. We also have the app, but mainly it used by administrators to approve workflows.

The main users of UltiPro are HR and Payroll. Payroll processes payroll in the back office. We currently run payroll for US employees and a handful of global employees. However, we collaborate with a third party vendor (Celergo) to assist with global payrolls. HR uses UltiPro extensively. HR relies on business intelligence for reporting. The problems UltiPro solves are database, onboarding, reporting, customizing, UDES/SFTP, notifications, and payroll.

  • Platform Configuration - This is a great feature of UltiPro that allows the administrators to create an unlimited amount of custom fields. This can range from data fields, dates, or numbers. This feature is excellent because each organization is different. Each organization needs a certain amount of flexibility and customization. Platform configuration allows for that flexibility. Moreover, it allows users to customize pages. Based on roles, fields can be moved, hidden, disabled, or enabled. This is tremendous. This increases the capabilities of workflows, privacy, and security. Lastly, users are able to report on these fields from Business Intelligence. This feature has endless possibilities as it ties into many of the powerful aspects of BI.
  • Business Intelligence (BI) - The reporting tool for UltiPro is outstanding. Users are able to report on any fiends housed in Ultipro. Additionally, users are able to schedule reports so that recipients can receive the data they need when they need it. We scheduled several PTO reports to managers currently. Another powerful took in BI includes bursting. Bursting allows for triggered events to send reports or email blasts. TREMENDOUS! We have automated countless notification sent internally (in HR) and throughout the organization. For instance, when new hires are entered, an email gets sent out with all their login information automatically. When LOA's are about to end, a notification gets sent to remind the HR department. When coupled with the platform configuration, the possibilities are endless.
  • Customer Support - UltiPro cares about its people. It is their culture. Each account has a relationship manager and technical manager. Each is very helpful and engaged at all the needs of the client. Additionally, UltiPro has a robust learning website. New and old users alike can go in and learn the basics of their product or sub-products. Finally, the case system is very easy to use and fast. Whenever we run into issues internally, UltiPro's case management tool is quick and painless. UltiPro reps usually respond very quickly which is helpful when emergencies happen. When something is super critical, our relationship managers are always available to expedite help.
  • Continuous learning and improvement - UltiPro is always improving their product. They are always adding features such as the new EEO reporting. They are always developing new products such as document and case management and onboarding. Finally, since new features/products keep arising, UltiPro does a great job of teaching the population. They hold several webinars, create documents and send out emails that detail updates and changes. They want to ensure the users have the tools to be successful within their system.
  • Integration - UltiPro is not our only product. And while we enjoy using it, we must rely on the integration between UltiPro and other products, vendors, and clients. UltiPro can improve on the ease of creating these integrations. When the integrations are established, they more or less work great. The setup is a little harder. We have to jump through service hoop which may or may not have an added cost to it.
  • App - The app is a new feature and they did a recent update. While the app looks and feels great, it does need additional improvements. Our population does not use the app often because it does not provide them the tools to make them useful. If more functionality was available on the app as it was on the web, I feel that our employees, managers, and administrators would use it more.
  • LOA Administration - Ultipro can work on creating a more robust LOA administration section. Right now the LOA status area is very limited - status, start dates, end dates, and a few detail fields. A platform where employees can come in and notify of an impeding leave would be outstanding. The employee should also, at that time, should be given documentation related to those leaves. Lastly, UltiPro should have a better way of managing and tracking LOA.
UltiPro Core is a great overall HRIS product. It provides organizations with the tools needed to be successful in many HR activities. It is well suited for all types of organizations across all industries. It also can accommodate small organizations and very large ones. UltiPro is also well suited for organizations that require robust reporting and automation. They utilize Cognos business intelligence which is a power reporting tool. This tool is widely used throughout the reporting industry which makes it even better for users in need of reporting. UltiPro also offers a wide suite of products - onboarding, benefits administration, document management, performance management, etc. Organizations can mix and match products which is fantastic. Lastly, the customer service is excellent. They give everyone the amount of attention they need.

UltiPro is less appropriate for advance dashboards. Many of the HCMs out there feel more modern and slick. UltiPro does not. Furthermore, while UltiPro is a jack of all trades, it is not necessarily a master of them.
  • Other
I believe UltiPro achieves our business outcomes - to store employee data with the options to expand to other HR functions such as onboarding, performance management, recruitment, and succession planning. UltiPro does a great job of reporting and data management. They also are very responsive, helpful and flexible. I can always count on them to provide the level of expertise and assistance when executing new projects within the workplace. UltiPro is very robust or simple depending on how your organization wants to use it.
Read Paul Idos's full review
Regina D. Jones, PHR profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use UltiPro for our corporate office along with 155 of our center locations throughout the United States. UltiPro has addressed many of our issues with performance management allowing managers to complete the review in the system as well as allowing HR to track status etc.

We also use it for salary planning and merit increases which has reduced the time it takes for us to complete this process from 7 weeks to 4 weeks.
  • UltiPro is a true partner for us, not just a vendor.
  • The education for life option is a true value add for our users. It allows me to assign training to get new employees up to speed without having to spend a large amount of my time helping them to get familiar with the system.
  • The UltiPro platform is configurable allowing us to be nimble and make changes to the system as needed by the business without requiring an outside resource.
  • I would love an option in UltiPro to better assist us with administering FMLA. This is functionality that I think would move UltiPro ahead of other HCM systems.
  • The salary planning module could use some improvements. It's much better than it was, but I would like to see it be more of a workbench type module than just a system functioning spreadsheet.
UltiPro has been a great HCM for our population and changed the way we interact with managers. Employee and manager self-service are both very beneficial to help us keep information updated in a timely way.

UltiPro is well suited for any company that needs a configurable and reliable HCM. I would say it is less appropriate for super large companies with highly complex pay needs.
  • Other
We are now able to complete both the competencies review and the personal goals review at the same time. This reduces the amount of time it takes to complete this process. Managers appreciate being able to do it all at one time and it gives an overall view of the employee performance.
Read Regina D. Jones, PHR's full review
Jeanne Nuara, PMP, CSM profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We leverage UltiPro for payroll, tax services, and some self-service functionality to our employees. We strongly leverage the BI reporting, document acknowledgment, benefits administration, and UTA features as well. We have experience streamlined processes, automation, and compliance with UltiPro.
  • Tax Services.
  • Setting up scheduled reporting to stakeholders throughout our organization (set it and forget it).
  • Benefits administration for Open Enrollment and Life Events.
  • Document Acknowledgment tool has been incredible for our Policy Manual sign-off for new hires and annual sign-off process.
  • Occasional escalation to get tickets to be processed faster.
  • UTA needs improvement, but understanding that it was originally a 3rd party integrated tool.
  • Cognos Event Studio, Benefits Admin types/plans where free-text boxes are available need to have better formatting capability. When copy/paste content into these fields, the formatting of the text becomes distorted, and difficult to fix.
Great for manager self-service such as cost center or manager changes that happen frequently. Easy to run payroll and off-cycle payroll runs are unlimited for direct deposits. Allows staffing to scale up or now without adding to payroll or benefits staff. Would not recommend for multiple subsidiaries (i.e. separate companies with different tax IDs) as these come at a cost and can be tedious to setup.
  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
  • Security and peace of mind
We reduced our payroll FTE from 1 to 0.5 through automation and ease of use. Integration allowed us to reduce data entry by 50% and turn onboarding processes to a completely paperless experience. The ACA compliance and tax filing services keep us within compliance of major pay and benefit regulations.
Read Jeanne Nuara, PMP, CSM's full review
Xavier Knight profile photo
December 02, 2019

New Hire Ease

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro is used primarily for payroll purposes. We utilize it in our organization to keep track of new hire information and data regarding vacation time, sick time, accrued time-off, etc. It has been extremely helpful with the turn over rate in our field of work to have an easy way to access New Hire information and to input information in a timely manner for those just starting off.
  • Ease of access to new hire information - We can easily input information for new staff members.
  • Ability to edit our personal information - We can go into UlltiPro and update things such as phone numbers and address changes quickly and efficiently.
  • Manually entering schedules does get to be a bit time consuming for our non-salary employees, so perhaps a way to save templates as a saved time card would be helpful.
  • Viewing benefits can be a bit of a struggle - I think changing this module may be beneficial to all who utilize this program for this purpose.
  • I think some of the job postings linked to LinkedIn have posted missing vital information - just fixing this bug would be very helpful.
As previously stated, UltiPro is great for tracking our vacation, sick, and personal days. It allows us to see real-time updates and track employees' days off. This program is great for a company with a high turnover rate such as ours, due to its ease of access to new hire information. This makes onboarding and the overall new hire process painless and quick.
  • Time savings
This program truly has been a time-saver for our organization. The ease of new hiring and gathering all that pertinent information has been irreplaceable. Another positive feature has been employees' access to W2s and tax information. This has saved our payroll department a large amount of time when it comes to answering questions and searching for information themselves.
Read Xavier Knight's full review
Kate Knight profile photo
November 26, 2019

UltiPro for Ease of Mind

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a federally funded organization, there are many steps to our hierarchy and "who is in charge of who" can be a bit complicated. With funding coming from different accounts, it is difficult to keep track of who is who. With UltiPro, our mother organization is able to provide us with easy access to our payroll information, our W-2s, and anything related to direct deposit. We use it to keep all employees information organized, easily accessible, and also easily edited as life brings changes such as name change, marriage, etc. While there have been a few snags along the way, I believe UltiPro is helping the success of our organization.
  • The first would be their Customer Service. When something comes across as confusing or just not right, our organization has reached out to UltiPro's Customer Service numerous times. They were patient and understanding as we explained our dilemmas and helped us find quick but accurate answers!
  • Overall UltiPro platform is easy to use. It has given us access to information quickly and giving us the ability to edit and erase information as we need to.
  • Every employer stresses when it comes to tax season. The number one concern is, where and when will W-2s be accessible. The tax services offered with UltiPro take this stress away and make tax information easy accessible for all employees, relieving stress from both the employee themselves and the accounting department from answering numerous questions repeatedly.
  • There were a few hiccups with the vacation accruals early on with the program, but I believe (to the best of my knowledge) this has been sorted out.
  • I don't think the app has proven to be very useful, therefore our agency has chosen to just not utilize it to avoid frustration and confusion.
UltiPro is perfect for organizations with numerous employees especially with a high turnover rate. When there is a high turnover rate, there is a higher risk for information to be lost in the shuffle and things to be overlooked. Through utilizing UltiPro, our organization has stayed extremely organized while having easy access to information. It has also proven to handle changes very well, allowing employees to update and edit their personal information when it comes to new addresses, new names, or changing tax information. Overall, this is a great organizational tool for companies looking for that edge on the competition when it comes to caring for employees and their information.
  • Security and peace of mind
UltiPro has made gathering, organizing, and maintaining information a breeze. This has taken a load of stress off our accounting department as well as our HR department. The information we input into UltiPro is confidential and accurate and that allows both management and employees to have peace of mind with their personal information. I would say UltiPro is doing nothing but providing the security in an easy and user friendly fashion.
Read Kate Knight's full review
Gabrielle Wayman profile photo
November 14, 2019

UltiPro Five Stars

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro is our payroll and talent management software. We use the recruiting functions for posting jobs and screening applications, the digital onboarding for new employees, and the employee portal for time cards, important corporate notifications, career tracking, and more.
  • Easy to navigate! Whether as a recruiter or employee, it is simple to find the links and resources you need and to update information.
  • Great mobile app!
  • Customer support from UltiPro while onboarding the software to our company was outstanding. Clear timeline to launch and clear expectations of the investment of time and resources needed from us.
  • It would be nice if salaried exempt employees could save their weekly schedule in the time card rather than only save their departments. Having to manually enter hours is tedious especially if your time is divided regularly across multiple departments.
  • We use Workfront for project management and have not been able to figure out how to pipe billable hours from Workfront into UltiPro. This means that operations employees need to enter their time twice, in two different systems each pay period.
Great for large organizations with a dedicated HR department! Probably overkill for a small company where the owner also does payroll.
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
  • Security and peace of mind
Yes! UltiPro streamlined our administrative functions and makes it much easier for employees to self-service their records or retrieve information they’re looking for. Clear management tracking also means less subjective reviews.
Read Gabrielle Wayman's full review
Amy Lundeen profile photo
August 29, 2019

UltiPro Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro is used to process payroll and administer benefit programs. It is the system of record for our employees. UltiPro is used across the organization. Employees have self-service access to pay statements, benefits information, and are able to update certain records such as direct deposit, tax withholdings, emergency contacts, benefit selections, etc.
  • Self-service - employees have access to their information on demand.
  • Workflow - employee changes can easily be made and approved and has made the process paperless.
  • Client support - enjoy having a dedicated Ultimate Software representative. The last couple of Exec Relationship Managers have been good and our current one, Chris Nesbit, is great.
  • Benefits administration - we continue to struggle 14 years later, even after several benefit changes on our end to fit into the module's out of the box functionality.
  • Reporting - would like more standard reports such as a basic turnover report.
Best suited for payroll processing.
  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
  • Security and peace of mind
We have achieved the business outcomes listed above.
Read Amy Lundeen's full review
Calli Nermoe profile photo
August 29, 2019

UTM and Payroll user

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for our entire organization for human resources, time management and payroll. It addresses our timekeeping, payroll, and employee tracking needs.
  • I really like the payroll module and it is easy to use.
  • Once I got the hang of Business Intelligence it can make a lot of employee reports that are helpful.
  • Able to track of all of our employee information in one spot.
  • I struggle with Events Studio in Business Intelligence.
  • The UTM module could be more intuitive when adjusting punches.
  • We have had issues with our vacation accruals and don't seem to be getting good results.
It is a great system for an all in one HRIS system. It has time management, payroll and human resources all in one module. There are some issues that have come up but UltiPro continues to evolve and makes system enhancements twice a year from customer suggestions.
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
  • Security and peace of mind
One solution for all of our HRIS needs. We do keep some things outside of UltiPro like employee files so integrating that would be helpful so it is a one stop shop for all of our HR needs.
Read Calli Nermoe's full review
Jameshia Welch profile photo
August 23, 2019

UltiPro or Bust!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro is our primary HR Systems platform for the entire organization. UltiPro allows the employees' as a whole to independently manage their profile which saves time for administrative tasks in HR. It also saves an enormous amount of time for new candidates by allowing them to complete their onboarding portal from the comfort of their home.
  • Keeps our company up to date with the latest bulletins regarding tax issues.
  • Allows us to contribute to new ideas on a customer portal.
  • Offers the best annual conference to network and learn innovative practices.
  • Repair the onboarding task by correcting the issue of allowing candidates with icloud and @me email addresses to receive their portal.
  • Provide a way to enter future or past dates in payroll that is effective on the date instead of a change being active for an entire pay period (pay rate).
  • Have the new hire documents auto uploaded instantly.
UltiPro is an amazing product! I have used it for over a decade from the client-side and the provider-side. One of the most admirable values of UltiPro is the tireless commitment to customer service and the willingness to make things right! The product is constantly improving and the customers play a big part in that.
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
  • Security and peace of mind
I feel we have achieved the time savings, security, and peace of mind with UltiPro. We are still working on consolidation under a single solution. I'm sure we will resolve this as soon as possible.
Read Jameshia Welch's full review
Ted Reed profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use UltiPro across our entire organization. We use it to process payroll for the corporate offices and all 105 hospitals that we currently own. We are also using the recruiting and onboarding modules for the entire organization which has provided us with excellent savings over the cost of using Taleo. We have recently started using the performance management module at corporate for our annual review process to eliminate the paper forms.
  • UltiPro's support structure is simply phenomenal. They excel in customer communication for reported issues and they also have a fast track process to escalate issues of importance.
  • The payroll system is robust enough to handle the intricacies of a corporate and subsequent hospital structure where unions are also involved.
  • The recruiting and onboarding processes have proven to be a cost-saving over using the Taleo product. Although this product is not as robust as Taleo, UltiPro is constantly adding updates and features.
  • As mentioned earlier, the recruiting and onboarding processes are being updated constantly to improve it.
I believe the payroll solution is robust enough to handle any organizations needs. The recruiting and onboarding modules are working for us and are being improved on a monthly basis. We have only recently started using the performance management product so it's a work in progress as it'd rolled out our departments here at the corporate offices.

The time and attendance solution does not work for us due to the inherent complexities of an organization of our size.
Read Ted Reed's full review
Samantha Denoncour, MBA profile photo
August 22, 2019

UltiPro is excellent

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use UltiPro to track employee data, utilize recruiting tools, and track benefits of employees. The entire organization uses it to track the time taken off/track time worked. They also use it to retrieve payroll information or other need related to their pay stubs. Overall its widely used and the business problems it has addressed for our organization has been that it efficiently organizes and holds all employee data. Before everything we had been doing was done manually and UltiPro really works to streamline processes and make the HR team's lives a bit easier in terms of data organization and recruitment.
  • Tracking applicant data in the recruiting gateway - one of the easier ATS's I've used.
  • Easily can be integrated with a variety of other platforms which simplifies certain processes.
  • Simplifies the onboarding process by being intuitive and efficient.
  • No ability to customize performance management as much as other areas in the software.
  • When posting roles through the recruiting gateway to LinkedIn, the job descriptions don't post as you want them to.
  • Time management is sometimes incorrect.
In terms of performance management, I wish there were more options to customize UltiPro towards an individual's organizational needs. I also wish you could add questions to job postings after they are posted as opposed to deleting the entire post and starting over again. The one part I use the most is the recruiting gateway and it is absolutely amazing!
  • Time savings
Yes, we have enabled the HR department to save time by streamlining certain processes utilizing UltiPro.
Read Samantha Denoncour, MBA's full review
Pam Hercik profile photo
October 31, 2019

Great Product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At this time we use UltiPro for primarily time, attendance and report writing. This system is used most by Supervisors, Accounting and Human Resources. The system is very user-friendly to all users and can be accessed by multiple pieces of technology.
  • Payroll - the report writing makes completing payroll very simple.
  • Time Management - actual live data as well as information from the past when running reports.
  • Information Housing - so much information is housed and you can easily drag and drop to make reports.
  • Customer service- While you can call them 24/7, chat online or get your account manager to assist, sometimes it would be nice if your account manager was more helpful.
Great for a one-stop solution, but with high pricing. This product has everything you're looking for and then some. They actually listen to their customer's likes and dislikes to make the solution better in the future.
  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
I have saved 3 days a week on payroll alone by using UltiPro. The process is completed in about 3 hours from start to finish instead of 3 days. This system is pricey, however, we're saving money by having one solution instead of paying for multiple platforms.
Read Pam Hercik's full review
Schundrelle Williams profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using UltiPro with the organization. Some users just have web access and others have front and back-office access. Although everyone's access is different, it is somewhat utilized in the same way. I currently use it to process my payroll and use it for HR purposes as well.
  • UltiPro allows you to view 2 different screens at the same time without having to toggle back and forth to view screens.
  • I love that when you make changes to payroll timesheets, it is immediately seen. It's the same thing when you are approving timecards or when I have to make update's to an employee's record. Users are able to see the changes immediately with the assurance it has been entered accurately.
  • I love how UltiPro gives more of the control to you as the user.
  • Overall I have been happy using UltiPro at the company I am presently at and even before at the company where I was a part of the implementation. It took a long time, but it is an upgrade from the system we were previously on.
  • I would like a faster response to our issues/tickets. Sometimes I or our HR rep has to place multiple calls and multiple tickets before (or if) she gets a response.
  • It would be nice to be informed once an issue has been resolved, like a notification that it has been done so without just taking a chance and finding out that "oh it's fixed now." It can be quite frustrating if I'm in the middle of processing payroll and waiting on a response, only to find out by diving in and trying a function that it's fixed now.
The fact that UltiPro is steadily changing and upgrading for the best is simply wonderful to me. Looking for ways to upgrade clients to keep them with the best solutions is great.
  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
Overall, the final outcomes are being met in my personal opinion. We ask for what or how we need the system to operate and it does the job. Are there some other kinks that can be worked out? Of course, but I am excited that UltiPro/Ultimate as a whole are keeping up with the ever-changing dynamic field to make sure "we" as the customers are being updated and satisfied.
Read Schundrelle Williams's full review
Kathy Logan profile photo
August 23, 2019

Payday

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro is being used for HR and payroll including onboarding and background checks.
  • Payroll processing
  • Reports
  • Ease of use
  • More intensive training especially in report writing.
UltiPro works well.
  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
  • Security and peace of mind
We are still working on consolidating more functions but yes for the most part we have achieved this. Ultimate saves time in processing employee changes and managing our payroll department and saves us money by allowing use to implement processes which otherwise would be forced to use several vendors to achieve the same outcome. I have great security and peace of mind knowing UltiPro will perform as it should and if I run into an issue there is always support to help me.
Read Kathy Logan's full review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ultipro for Payroll, HR and Talent Acquisition. UltiPro keeps us in compliance with both federal and state regulations and gives our current and future employees a guided, friendly user experience from beginning to end. Starting with applying for a position on our careers page to retrieving pay stubs and W2's after termination in their employee self-service.
  • UltiPro's customization helps to keep our organization in sync and is able to keep changing with us as we grow.
  • Detailed payroll reports help to know exact accounting and business expenses before we even process.
  • Our company feels protected from the great security features that UltiPro offers. The audit feature gives details on every click.
  • Payment services needs to improve their ticket functionality and response time to tax issues.
  • Onboarding and Recruiting modules should have the ability to customize fields and requirements similar to Core.
  • Canadian payroll processing is not on the same level as US and should be improved.
  • PTO request in Core should be able to be entered for previous pay period without being a manual process to pay in payroll.
UltiPro would be best for a population where employment type and compensation is more consistent. We have a larger seasonal population that causes some issues for us when it comes to key dates due to rehiring and terminating frequently. Overall, they keep us in compliance and up to date with state and federal regulations without having to use an outside service.
Streamline HR processes and enforce policies on a more consistent basis. Staying up to date with tax laws and requirements. We are working towards implementing more workflows and approvals to help meet these goals.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 19, 2019

UltiPro Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro is used for payroll, employee information, time tracking, and a few other purposes. UltiPro is used by both our corporate and field teams. UltiPro has been effective in providing transparency and clarity into my documentation, time tracking, and current information. Overall it's easy to use and straight forward.
  • Housing supporting documentation.
  • Tracking sick days/PTO.
  • Securely relaying W2 documents.
  • Integrate with additional software.
  • Include benefits program software.
It's great for a fairly basic option for employee management and HR purposes. I can't say there's anything amazing about it.
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
I'm not an HR Administrator but as the end-user, I feel that it meets expectations as a software.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use UltiPro to manage our hourly employees' timesheets, all employees' pay stubs, and all time-off requests. This software is used throughout the entire organization - supporting 15+ brands across the organization and supporting 15+ offices around the US (including remote team members). UtiliPro is a convenient system based on the various features it offers in one place, including the delivery of payroll forms such as direct deposits and W2s!
  • Allows employees to see how much paid time off they have accrued.
  • Allows managers to approve or deny time off requests.
  • I wish this program allowed you to see what team members are currently "clocked in".
  • I wish UtiliPro showed you which team members have upcoming PTO.
UltiPro is likely best used for hourly employees - as they are utilizing all features including clocking in and out. For salary employees, it may not be as useful as these employees would not need to clock in and out. However, there are still some very useful features such as the paystub delivery and time off request function.
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
The ability to have various functions in one software has eliminated the problem of jumping from program to program, paying for things that are not needed, and providing multiple logins to team members and managers. Our team members know that for anything pay and/or time-related they need to go to UtiliPro. This eliminates multiple program confusion for team members and thus decreases questions coming into HR.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro is used at our company as our human resources software. We complete and store W-2s, complete and store goal planning objectives, receive and store paystubs, complete benefit applications during open enrollment or during a life event, and complete direct deposit and income operations. UltiPro is our one-stop-shop HR software.
  • Easy to use software.
  • Manages paystubs.
  • Difficult to navigate the goal planning section.
As an employee I use UltiPro primarily to check paystubs for corrections, update goal planning used to merit increases and bonuses, and to keep W-2s and other documents accurate. The only difficulty I find with Ultipro software is how to navigate the goal planning area. To submit the goals, the process is tedious and could be simplified.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 17, 2019

New User to Ultipro

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[UltiPro is] Used for payroll, onboarding, taxes, wages, reports, reviews across the whole organization. It addresses any compliance issues from the reports it can pull.
  • Integrates Kronos timekeeping very well
  • Reminds each employee when their review/license expiration date is
  • User-friendly
  • Access to the primary manager is difficult to access, you have to go through other departments to get something you need done (transfers, document uploading, etc.).
  • The PTO request in UltiPro does not go to appropriate manager (could be a quick settings fix, but I haven't found where to do that).
  • Reports are not always accurate.
UltiPro is well suited for all onboarding, payroll, compensation and any other HR related duties.
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
Not quite yet, I am still using Kronos and ICIMS to integrate payroll functions and onboarding applicants.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro has been implemented company-wide. We utilize as many modules within the tool as we can (Payroll Processing, Time Management, Performance Reviews, File Management, Case Management, Reporting, and a central place for employee information). UltiPro has the ability to pull information via API and FTP connections, which we utilize across other IT applications.
  • BI Reporting: In-depth reporting tool. The access to Cognos Analytics Business Intelligence is essential in data validation, running analytics, audit trails, and reporting to both internal and external parties.
  • Enhancements: UltiPro is continually striving to enhance the customer's experience and capabilities. The roadmap is communicated and implements items the UltiPro community has requested as well.
  • Internal Integration: Building an HRIS platform that integrates with other modules, such as Time Management or PeopleDocs Case/File Management, enhances both the management of these items but also the user experience.
  • Platform Configuration: Our company is constantly changing and trying to adapt with requests from our internal department asks, we utilize platform configuration to build custom fields, add new rules, and use role permissions to ensure security is accurately set up.
  • Performance Management: The tool is limited. We are able to utilize this for our simple performance template (as it is limited in how the workflow is configured, the overall experience of the tool and design), but we utilize an outside tool for our in-depth 360 reviews.
  • Recruiting Module: Our company used both Recruitment and Recruiting, but recently decided to change to an outside ATS system. We have an in-house recruiting team and needed a system that would make scheduling easier, house recruiting forms and templates, and fast ways to pull where candidates are in the pipeline.
UltiPro has expanded our ability to better document, set up automation, and think about workflow.
  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
  • Security and peace of mind
Our company operates with a leaner team. We heavily rely on UltiPro for the source of accurate information and to automate workflow. We are challenging ourselves to adopt new strategies of the way we operate, in order to better incorporate automation and modules provided within our HRIS tool. Being able to report both delivered reports and ad-hoc reporting assists in the peace of mind that whatever metrics we are asked to pull, we can.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses UltiPro as our primary Human Resources Management System. We depend on UltiPro for everything from org charts, to benefits management, to time-off requests, to employee reviews. We do not use it for recruiting and hiring new talent. Prior to UltiPro, we had multiple point solutions for specific HR functions, some of which were excellent software, but didn't connect well with others or simply weren't easy for users to remember and log into. UltiPro allows us to manage nearly all of our personnel records and processes in a single system.
  • UltiPro's employee directory and org chart are intuitive and enjoyable to use.
  • UltiPro makes it easy for employees to access pay statements and compensation info.
  • UltiPro's mobile app provides essential managerial functionality (especially PTO approvals) in an even easier UI than the web app.
  • The general UI is not intuitive - it's not easy to find basic functionality or to consistently accomplish basic actions like continuing through a process or saving progress in a task.
  • Notifications are extremely frustrating. Usually, both in-app and email notifications alert the user to needed action without ANY details of the needed action, any link to that functionality, or any ability to complete the action from the notification itself. For instance, an email notification of the need to review a PTO request shows no details of the request (not even the requested dates!), no link to the request itself, and certainly no way to approve or deny the request from the notification.
  • Employee reviews are unintuitive. The notifications don't link to the review tasks, finding past employee reviews to reference during current review cycles is difficult, and the review process is bizarre - you constantly wonder whether an action might save or forward the review to the next person accidentally.
UltiPro is good for larger organizations that need a highly robust system for managing and storing all HR info and processes in one place. While not overly intuitive, it is powerful and comprehensive. The large and more disparate an organization is, the more that positive outweighs the poor usability. I wouldn't recommend UltiPro for small/medium businesses that don't struggle with cross-departmental communication about HR topics.
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
Other than recruiting/hiring/onboarding, we have consolidated all HR administration under UltiPro as a single solution. This has been successful in that UltiPro is reliable and comprehensive, and therefore a dependable resource. However, it is not widely loved as a system in our company because of its difficulty of use. We realize that we've outgrown the ability to depend on disconnected point solutions, but many of us who use limited functionality miss the ease of best-of-breed point solutions that we've sacrificed for consolidation of data and processes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro is being used across the entire company as our choice self-service portal. To everyone in the organization, we are able to check vacation and sick accruals, pay stubs, print our yearly W-2's, edit tax deductions and request time off. For HR and payroll, it is our all in one system. I personally use it as an applicant tracking system and also to check current employees' eligibility status for transferring and compensation tracking.
  • UltiPro excels as an all in one system. It is a great asset to many departments within the organization.
  • UltiPro is incredibly user friendly. Their in-depth reports are easy to run and program and it is also easy for users who only have access to the self service portal to access all they need.
  • UltiPro gives the users a way to change their tax documents at any point through the year helping to streamline the payroll process and eliminate paperwork and appointment setting to just simply change information.
  • The applicant tracking portion of UltiPro is incredibly useful and helpful. They allow candidates who are applying to do most of the work for you when they create their candidate profiles.
  • My biggest con is one that 2018 or newer users won't necessarily face any time soon, but when transferring from the ATS of Recruitment to their newest version of Recruiting it only transfers over 3 years worth of data. I understand that legally that is 2 years more than needed but our organization likes to keep records of the past 5 years and we weren't given that option.
  • The reports, as mentioned in the pros, are pretty user friendly and easy to follow but because of the ease of use it does eliminate some of the customization options that I would like to see.
  • Lastly, I don't think that they have the best customer service. Their sales team always leaves me unsatisfied when we meet with them. They don't seem to give options and solutions but almost always leave us with more problems! I also feel like without our own in-house team of techies, we wouldn't have a clue what we are doing. The quarterly updates can also leave bugs and kinks in the system that never really seem to be fixed all the way. Again, I am in UltiPro daily and I realize not many users across my organization would see these issues but because I am behind the scenes I see it all.
UltiPro is well suited for payroll and many HR functions. I would recommend it to a friend because, although there are kinks, it is a good system that meets most needs! I think their new Recruiting ATS is excellent and the fixes they implemented are helpful and if used as designed could really streamline the recruitment process.
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
In the last 3 years since we began using UltiPro, we have successfully consolidated everything we need to run through UltiPro. It has been a successful self-service portal for all of the employees across our organization and has been easy to implement for Recruiting/employment, Benefits, record keeping, and payroll.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 04, 2019

UltiPro is great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for payrolling and onboarding.
  • User-friendly
  • Uploading of new hire documents
  • Access to payroll information such as pay stubs and W2s
  • Would like to see emails being recorded in UltiPro
  • New hire templates for onboarding
  • E-verify integrated into UltiPro for I-9 verifications
It’s a great system, very easy for training. I would like to see what other process can be used in UltiPro for recruitment and onboarding processes in the company. Streamlining processes to one program would make things run smoothly in our organization. I would like to use it as a one stop shop.
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
No, currently using 2 other programs for recruitment and onboarding. These two systems do not communicate with each other. A lot of moving parts when vetting out candidates and getting the onboarding started. The onboarding system we currently have isn’t paperless yet. Very time consuming to print out new hire forms for Onboarding completion.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 29, 2019

Very happy user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the organization for time management, payroll, HRIS and recruiting.
  • User support is great and has improved greatly over the last few years.
  • Proactive communication- giving a heads-up to things coming ahead.
  • Great employees, friendly and helpful.
  • It's been a while since I accessed online training, but I've found this to be not intuitive. May have already been fixed.
  • BI could be easier to use.
  • We've recently used it for performance reviews. The process is clunky and not easy to change/adjust.
UltiPro is great for the employee interaction. Actions such as downloading tax forms, requesting time off, and accessing links is super simple. We've price checked other payroll/HRIS systems and UltiPro is very competitive.

We used UltiPro for employee reviews this year and it's not the greatest module. Would like to see some improvements here.
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
  • Security and peace of mind
For the most part, I feel that we've achieved these outcomes.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (438)
9.0
Employment history (451)
8.9
Job profiles and administration (433)
8.8
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (422)
8.8
Organizational charting (364)
8.2
Organization and location management (383)
8.8
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (305)
8.5
Pay calculation (412)
9.1
Support for external payroll vendors (202)
8.8
Benefit plan administration (385)
8.6
Direct deposit files (409)
9.3
Salary revision and increment management (323)
8.8
Reimbursement management (61)
8.8
Approval workflow (278)
8.3
Balance details (297)
8.0
Annual carry-forward and encashment (249)
7.7
View and generate pay and benefit information (454)
9.3
Update personal information (451)
9.4
View company policy documentation (317)
8.8
Employee recognition (181)
8.6
View job history (445)
9.2
Tracking of all physical assets (120)
8.3
Report builder (427)
8.5
Pre-built reports (429)
8.2
Ability to combine HR data with external data (302)
8.0
New hire portal (290)
8.8
Manager tracking tools (239)
8.5
Corporate goal setting (159)
8.2
Individual goal setting (194)
8.5
Line-of sight-visibility (145)
7.9
Performance tracking (184)
8.5
Performance plans (234)
8.1
Performance improvement plans (192)
8.1
Review status tracking (236)
8.3
Review reminders (216)
8.2
Multiple review frequency (186)
8.3
Create succession plans/pools (94)
8.0
Candidate ranking (91)
8.1
Candidate search (94)
8.6
Candidate development (90)
7.8
Job Requisition Management (248)
8.3
Company Website Posting (239)
8.8
Publish to Social Media (185)
8.1
Job Search Site Posting (218)
8.3
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (190)
7.9
Applicant Tracking (236)
8.7
Notifications and Alerts (222)
8.2

About UltiPro

Ultimate Software’s UltiPro® cloud HR, payroll, and talent solutions promise to help organizations improve the employee experience. It includes everything from personalized recruiting and onboarding that foster long-term relationships, to convenient, role-based access to pay, benefits, and career development information.

The vendor says that with UltiPro, companies can:
  • rapidly process payroll
  • manage employee requests with HR service delivery
  • leverage flexible time solutions
  • offer a modern approach to learning
  • facilitate productive performance, succession, and compensation management
  • and measure employee sentiment through advanced surveys powered by Xander®, Ultimate’s portfolio of “People First” artificial intelligence technologies.

The vendor says UltiPro is supported by powerful business intelligence to help organizations drive smarter, people-focused results.

UltiPro Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle checks
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Does not have featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Does not have featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Has featureAsset issue and transfer management
Has featureAsset return
Has featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Has featureCreate succession plans/pools
Has featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Has featureJob Requisition Management
Has featureCompany Website Posting
Has featurePublish to Social Media
Has featureJob Search Site Posting
Has featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts
Additional Features
Has featureRich Workforce Insight
Has featureOne Unified Solution
Has featureSimple, Person-Centric Tools and Experiences

UltiPro Screenshots

UltiPro Videos (2)

UltiPro Integrations

Infor Learning Management, NetSuite, Informatica, Certpoint, TTN learning, Ping Identity

UltiPro Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

UltiPro Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

UltiPro Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:UltiPro Global HCM captures country-specific localizations for over 65 countries
Supported Languages: US English, UK English, Canadian English, Canadian French, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Dutch, German, Italian, French (France), Filipino (Tagalog), Malay, and more