UltiPro Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
903 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 662)

Bonnie Downey | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2020

Customer For Life!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro is being used across our company. The ability for employees to see their own data when needed by them cuts down the number of calls to the Payroll and Human Resources departments. Having their information available 24/7 allows our employees access to their data on their own time. Opening up UltiPro to allow changes initiated by our employees allows them more control of their data and gets them personally involved with the process.
  • Manages updates in a timely manner.
  • Forward thinking.
  • Stays up with technology changes.
  • Built a software for end users!
  • I would like to see history on job allocations.
  • I would like the ability to print multiple check stubs at 1 time.
  • I would like to see more standard workflow reports.

We have been a customer of Ultimate Software since 2004. We are so pleased that this is a solution for our whole company; Benefits, Payroll, Training, Safety and HR. We do not have to worry about our data being out of sync because it is being ran in several different software's.

Each year there are new and exciting enhancements added to the software platform that are relevant to our needs or a way to make our life's easier.

  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
  • Security and peace of mind
In our first year of leaving ADP to go to Ultimate Software, we saved over $100,000 and that was with conversion cost. With our previous provider, we had to wait on them for payroll. Now we have more control over the system and the data within.
Read Bonnie Downey's full review
Mallori Barg | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

UltiPro - Bringing all of HR under one roof

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We just recently added Ultipro to our arsenal to combine a few systems that we were utilizing. We are using UltiPro for onboarding of our new employees from recruiting to new hire employee forms, performance reviews, benefits administration with self serve enrollment of benefits, and are working on rolling out the training portion to deliver training to our new hires and refresher training for existing employees. Previously, we were using one site for training, another for recruiting, another for benefits administration etc.
  • Training on how administrators use the system. They put in a lot of effort into ensuring you are set up correctly.
  • Improvements - they seem to be updating their system constantly to respond to their customer's needs.
  • Pulling in multiple functionalities into one system.
  • With the training feature, you can get to it from the main UltiPro login, but you can't get back to the main screen in UltiPro from the training menu. It's a one way link.
  • Setting up security access is very individual. This can be good so that you can define what each user actually needs, but it is tedious so that you can't just assign a pre-defined set of rules for a role and assign it to a list of individuals wholesale.
  • The benefits administration feature would be better if it would total up your costs for you as you chose your benefits from the available lists. You don't get a total until the end, which isn't ideal.
I think UltiPro will be a great solution if they keep updating and adding to their offerings. They are able to accommodate a lot of different functions within a business, but they need to focus on how their products are being used. Some of the linking and pairing would function better if it felt like an all encompassing system, rather than several systems linked together. If you like to customize items yourself for your business needs, you can do some of that with it's out of the box offerings, but a lot of it would have to be configured by their team. This puts limits on you as you would have to pay them to do these things for you.
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
We are saving time by not having to enter employees information into several systems before being able to use them. We had employee data in several hubs, all disconnected from each other, so something as simple as changing an employee address had to be updated in several systems to be accurate. Using UltiPro, we have consolidated most of our HR administration uses under a single solution. We still have to enter some HR related information into our business system for project management purposes, but everything else is housed under one roof.
Read Mallori Barg's full review
Michelle Ober | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Ultipro offers a great payroll, HR, and reporting tool.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use UltiPro for timekeeping, HR, and payroll across the whole organization. It gives our employees access to their information, securely, gives HR access to the employees, and helps us process payroll more efficiently.
  • Payroll processing: seeing instant results as opposed to mainframe processing and waiting for calculation results.
  • Ultimate listens to clients! If we're in the software and have an idea for an enhancement, we just click a button and submit that idea. If other clients vote on it, Ultimate implements it and delivers it to all of us.
  • HCM: flows seamlessly from on-boarding to payroll, and timekeeping.
  • Having a 225 day calculation for state taxes for baseball teams would be huge.
  • The ability to apportion taxes based on location (i.e. 20% CA, 10% TX, etc).
  • The ability to select mutiple W2s for different employees based on either job code, pay group, or department would be great as we have to save these to pdfs and email them for our players who have no access to the system.
I can't think of any scenarios where UltiPro is not well suited.
  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
Ultipro has helped us work more efficiently, and besides the costs for service requests, the price is very reasonable for the processing and maintenance that we have to do.
Read Michelle Ober's full review
Jay Dotson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

UltipPro from a Recruiting Focus

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire organization utilizes UltiPro. It addresses recruiting, onboarding, payroll, self-service, and performance.
  • Ulti manages payroll very well.
  • Ulti manages the performance management aspects well.
  • Ulti has good customer service.
  • Ulti is able to onboard effectively
  • The recruiting module has room for improvement.
  • Better communication to candidates in recruiting.
  • Emails should be able to CC others in the system.
  • White label email communication to candidates and managers. No-reply is easy to ignore.
  • Reporting needs to really improve in recruiting.
UltiPro is a very good HRIS system. Better tracking of candidates in the recruiting system would be an improvement. Req approval process is good. They recently made improvements to the offer letter process but the data is not reportable nor does it show up in the candidate presence. You have to check too many sections to know where someone is in the process.
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
There is a lot less double-entry of information now that we have a seamless and integrated system. The ATS is not best in the breed but we make do with the system since it naturally integrates with the rest of the HRIS solution. The new offer letter function saves lots of time for us.
Read Jay Dotson's full review
Adam Jolley | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

UltiPro Review by an HR Payroll Specialist and Onboarding Expert

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro is used by all employees. Employees use it to track time management, request PTO, show PTO, etc. Employees also use it to complete their onboarding paperwork before their first day. Current employees use UltiPro to make changes to tax withholding and also have access to pay stubs, W-2s, and benefits enrollment. Managers can track PTO requests, time management, and OT.
  • Simple layout
  • Emergency helpline
  • Case management
  • Good customer service
  • Ulti Universe, layout is confusing.
  • Some customer service reps aren't thorough and don't read everything in submitted cases.
  • Better front page functionality.
UltiPro is a great system, especially for those with larger companies. I like the idea of case management, however, it is not effective with our company and it's size. Great onboarding layout, we've just implemented it and so far it seems easy to use and simple. Having time management in addition to UltiPro is convenient.
  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
  • Security and peace of mind
Security seems like a priority with UltiPro with password requirements, two-point authentification, etc. However, sometimes it seems painful when an employee needs to reset a password and has to answer three security questions each time this happens. Maybe it's the way ours is set up, but I don't even know why those security questions are even asked. I haven't seen a time when they're asked besides making new ones whenever passwords are reset. That seems like a waste of time. We wanted to use UltiPro for safety classes with our employees, but it costs too much which prompted us to go with someone else. The new onboarding portal seems very simple and easy and saves a lot of time.
Read Adam Jolley's full review
Juan Osegueda | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

UltiPro is now my favorite Payroll & HR Platform, hands down!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Nov 2018 Update: I have used Ultipro now at two different organizations. One that used the Enterprise solution, and more recently another that used only Core. Ultipro continues to thrive by implementing innovative customer suggestions and implementing stellar upgrades with their Spring/Fall releases. I love that Ultimate Software is making Core more like BackOffice, in that Core is now able to handle a lot of the heavier things once possible only to experts and Ultipro account managers, all while providing the awesome customer support that Ulti is known for!

April 2016: Ultimate Software's UltiPro is so simple to use, that I'm raving about it to my former colleagues! I've used other platforms for payroll, but UltiPro is by far the simplest to use. Did I mention that it's easy to use?

My organization uses UltiPro for Payroll and Benefits, for Onboarding and ad-hoc reporting, and uses Ultimate Software's Payment Services to file and pay our taxes and wage garnishments. I love that the product is web-based, accessible from anywhere, and that it really is very simple to navigate and to work with, that it seems as though it covers everything and anything that you can possibly think of. They truly listen to their customers, too. For instance, if you come up with an idea to improve the platform, you can share them with Ulti and they'll get right on it and if it makes sense, they implement it!

  • Tax and wage statements, as well as the new 1095C reporting available online for all users.
  • Quick processing of payroll, simple execution of benefits and open-enrollment, great reporting suite.
  • Technical support and training available at all times.
  • Online and on-site training available for all sorts of learning paths.
  • Impactful integration of Ultipro with Cognos Business Intelligence.
  • Easy to use Onboarding.
  • No cons. Absolutely the best HCM platform I've used!

Nov 2018 Update: I've had the opportunity to use UTM--Ultipro Time Management in the U.S. and it seems to rival Kronos' suite quite well. Distinctively, it handles complex timekeeping rules (OT: California, hint hint!, and other qualms brought on by each state's labor departments). And I've also seen UTM used effectively across the pond, working really well in EMEA (especially in the United Kingdom) and APAC (India a plus!)

April 2016: UltiPro gets the job done! Not only can Human Resources use it for Onboarding and processing new hires, but all employee information flows so well into Payroll and benefits. It's easy to assign security roles based on multiple prompts and controls. The web-based platform is ideal for most, and it's "BackOffice" Citrix-based window portal is powerful as well, ideal for more advanced users.

I'm well-versed in tax and unemployment, handling all state and federal reporting in-house, so it's great to see that UltiPro offers this service for those who might be overwhelmed with each state's monthly/quarterly reporting requirements, and they do a good job of working with you to ensure that all taxes are paid and reported on time.

  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
  • Security and peace of mind
Ultipro really does allow organizations the ability to create time -- by this I mean when admins learn to use Ultipro to capacity, Ultipro has the ability to do things behind the scenes that give workers the opportunity to do more with their time. For instance, analysts and admins can use Business Intelligence reporting to find errors in collected data BEFORE there is a problem, cutting down on payroll processing errors and better benefits administration. And as of 2017, Ultimate Software's XANDER brings artificial intelligence to Ultipro, helping recruiters and managers make informed decisions based on millions of data points already housed in a customer's environment. And now Ultipro's ability to generate surveys also makes any organization well-informed on what employees favor or dislike about an infinity of topics that the employer wants to know about.
Read Juan Osegueda's full review
Belva Newman | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2020

UltiPro: Great Product!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for Payroll, Benefits, and On-Boarding.
  • Cases are created to address problems we are having; great customer support.
  • Good training modules.
  • User-friendly system.
  • The time management section of UltiPro needs improvement.
UltiPro has a very strong, easy to understand payroll module. Time management, not so much.
  • Time savings
  • Security and peace of mind
Read Belva Newman's full review
Judy Thomas | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Time to overhaul some processes!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro is being used across the entire company. It is our main HRIS and payroll processing software. We use it daily for reports for several different functions.
  • Processing payroll: spot on every time.
  • Learning library: abundance of information.
  • Reporting options: anything you need, some easy, some complex.
  • Case management: Stop closing cases. Let the customer do it. Sometimes I enter a case, then get pulled into 4 other things and can't address the case for a bit. If it's closed I have to go search for it if I even remember it.
  • Stop over-communicating: I get emails I just posted a case, then maybe no email on the case and have to chase resolution or get 4 to 5 emails about it along with phone calls.
  • If I call rapid response don't tell me you will get me the answer and I don't hear for 20+ days. Just tell me you don't know but will work on it and update me weekly.
  • Tax processing needs a lot of improvement—too often I get a notification a filing is late/never received. What/why should we pay for the service if I am constantly chasing resolutions?
#1 is tax processing.
  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
No, we use benefit enrollment, 1095s, 401 enrollment, and ancillary benefits through another vendor as we are not confident with Ulti offerings.
Read Judy Thomas's full review
J.R. Rowenhorst, PHR, SHRM-CP, CTRM | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Strong HCM suite for midsize organizations but lacks some integration and standard features many clients would expect

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the entire organization by all employees. It greatly helps us manage and engage our workforce from recruiting to performance management.
  • Payroll and time off management is great for personal employee use.
  • Job applicants are easily brought into onboarding and core with little effort.
  • Menus, branding, look, and feel are very consistent and user-friendly across the platform.
  • UltiPro Recruiting is far behind other ATSs on the market especially given how crucial it is to recruit good talent; strong integration is needed with third parties like Linkedin, Glassdoor, Indeed, CRMs, email marketing, etc.
  • Data flow from one module to another and true integration needs to be improved.
  • All UltiPro data needs to be available in Cognos Analytics.
Great for midsize organizations. It might be too much for small businesses and not enough for large enterprises. It makes sense if you are looking for an integrated HCM suite, but is not the best if you need all the bells and whistles from best of breed solutions.
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
For the most part, we have. We wanted a single platform for a consistent employee experience across our entire workforce and it has helped with that although we have lost quite a few features after moving from best of breed modules.
Read J.R. Rowenhorst, PHR, SHRM-CP, CTRM's full review
Sarah Ferguson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Ultipro is da bomb!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use several modules with Ultipro: Payroll, Time Management, Recruiting, Onboarding, Reviews.
We used to have different programs for all of the above. Now, it is more user-friendly and convenient for all employees. We are hoping to roll out the Ultipro mobile app in the coming weeks, which will be great for on the go. Having all data in one area is also useful for managers (especially during the pandemic) for ease of reaching out to employees. The Time Management module is adaptable with the changes, with new codes being added within a day, so we can track employee's activities during the pandemic.
  • Time Management: It is constantly evolving - an easy way to track time off and link it to pay
  • Payroll: A clean platform for running payroll, very user-friendly.
  • Onboarding: New employees have commented on how much they liked the onboarding process.
  • Time Management: A function where employees can see their future accrual for the year (so they can go into the negative and not worry).
Ultipro has changed the way payroll is processed. Although it takes longer to process and submit, the data we get out of payroll each period is much more substantial than what we used to do. Now we can track the cost of sick/vacation time. Employees can see their history or pay/salary changes, etc. in one area—a great user-friendly system.
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
Yes! Modules were previously all with different systems, many were just an Excel spreadsheet/word document. With Ultipro, everything is housed in one area making a great employee experience. There are many more modules which can be added to help enhance the user experience, and also assist with administrators who work in Ultipro on a daily basis.
Read Sarah Ferguson's full review
Susan Shires | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Wonderful System. Would like to expand to other modules.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Payroll and HR. Automated the PR system for us.
  • Reducing time for employee new hire entry for Payroll and HR.
  • Back office payroll is easy to use.
  • Reports, reports, reports. Wonderful.
  • Lookup for employees or supervisors: Make it the same, either search by name or lookup
  • A way to delete multiple uploads of Payroll without calling the Help Desk.
  • Controlling where direct deposit goes without calling Help Desk.
  • Easier BI reports.
Multiple payroll groups.
  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
  • Security and peace of mind
We Got Ultipro to convert from a very antiquated system, so all looked good and did many things we needed.
Read Susan Shires's full review
Scott Buckingham | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2020

UltiPro: Great customer service, with areas to improve in functionality and user friendliness

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro is being used across all of Sciens right now for payroll, PTO, COBRA, benefits admin, etc. It has been a huge help so far in helping us centralize our payroll and taxes, accounting, PTO, year-end activities, ACA activities, EEOC, and we will continue to use it for many years to come.
  • Great customer service
  • Great tax department, no issues so far!
  • Intense learning programs
  • Helpful employees
  • Intuitive interface
  • BI reporting is not very intuitive.
  • Would recommend having one integration team for all of the different companies we acquire.
  • Make the system faster: getting from start payroll to process payroll is very lengthy.
UltiPro is well suited for small and large organizations. The customer service number and rapid response team is usually very helpful and follows through on their commitments. We would like to have a dedicated team to help us integrate new businesses as we are acquiring multiple companies a year, and having to start all over again with a new team is quite a waste of everyone's time.
So far we have experienced ups and downs. As I said earlier, having multiple implementation teams has been quite a trial. However, it has consolidated our payroll experience, even though we are still dual processing in our legacy systems for job costing and AP services. Ulti seems to be on its way to helping us on a broader scale.
Read Scott Buckingham's full review
Donna Van Landghen, CPP | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 24, 2020

Forward thinking

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SECURA Insurance is managed within the HR department. We use the ESS and MSS and set up roles to all associates. We utilize Recruit, On Boarding, and Salary Planning. We have associates update their own address, direct deposit and tax forms and they can print their pay statements, W2 and 1095 forms as well. Managers have access to all job information, review, and career. We have been making great strides is creating reports and scheduling them to run.
  • I like that they stay current and plan ahead of legislative changes.
  • They offer training online, by webcast, online class, recordings to cover everything you might be in need of.
  • PPAC, all the steps to keep our information as accurate as possible or the reviewing of data to update and correct associate information. The entire area is complicated.
  • Org charts, improving the functions which is in the plans for a 2020 release.
They are interesting to customer needs. The customer service has many options to assist you based on your comfort levels. Always improving, having webcasts and updating their learning documents.
  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
  • Security and peace of mind
  • Other
We do receive most outcomes. Ultimate isn't the cheapest solution, but customer service weighs heavy for me.
Ease of use is essential and it is for the most part. As a long time customer and user of the 'back-office' solution the one click to get somewhere or to make changes is AWESOME. The use of the 'web' product you have to go thru wizards which can be many clicks to do a super simple task of changing a supervisor.
Read Donna Van Landghen, CPP's full review
Debbie Weaver | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

UPstanding Customer Service!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the whole organization, working specifically with HR & Payroll, and with any reporting needs for both.
  • Customer service is outstanding.
  • Features for both Admin & Employee are easy to use.
  • Always has training available for any aspect of the organization. i.e. Payroll, Taxes, Reporting, etc.
  • The back office needs to have the visibility enlarged.
  • The back office is rather plain - no color.
  • I do not like entering garnishments in the portal because it is cumbersome.
Very pleased - can't think of anything.
  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
  • Security and peace of mind
As a payroll administrator, I feel very secure using UltiPro as it contains all of our personal information.
Read Debbie Weaver's full review
Nancy Blue | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

A High Performance Team

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using On-boarding products, Payroll, Tax Services, Payment Services. It is being used by HR, Recruiting, Payroll, Accounting.

We are looking to address the business problem of high turnover through Perspective reporting.
  • Payroll: The product is simple and can handle all payroll process.
  • Garnishments: Services are almost seamless and responses are immediate when needed.
  • Year-end/W2: Process simple and easy.
  • Taxes: I believe although I have made major strides since 2018 taxes still are very slow and still do not have the expert knowledge needed.
  • Compliance: More awareness of compliance earlier needed to be added.
  • Recruiting: Needs to be simplified with more reporting to assist in hiring candidates.
I believe the overall service is extremely high and feel that UltiPro cares, and stays connected to the customer, which is absolutely necessary to understand the changes and business needs.
  • Costs savings
No, but we are hoping to achieve them this year with UltiPro.
Read Nancy Blue's full review
Krista Makos, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

Always Improving!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses UltiPro. We implemented 4 years ago to replace our 6 individual HR-related systems that did not work together or "talk" to each other. We use most modules - Recruiting, Onboarding, Core, Payroll, Learning, Performance, Comp, Documents, Employee & Manager Self-Service. It allowed us to reduce a lot of manual work and duplicate work. It gives employees a lot of independence and puts ownership back on them which freed up time for those of us in HR.
  • Brings many HR related modules into one system to streamline processes.
  • Continually asks for feedback from customers and implements enhancements.
  • Gives the employees and managers the ability to do a lot of things themselves.
  • Tax Payment Services - They are working on a new system that will hopefully help but the last 4 years we have had many issues with customer service, payments, NTR turnover, etc.
  • Integration Feeds with Carriers - I haven't implemented one in over a year but the 4 that we setup previously all had their struggles and issues.
  • Looking forward to what is ahead - the new Culture Inspired User Experience will be great. The current user experience is just okay.
  • Customer Service - Our previous account managers and ERMs did not do much for us. We were recently reassigned and communication has been much better.
While overall, UltiPro has provided us with wonderful improvements to our processes and has been a positive, it has not been without its struggles as I previously mentioned in Cons. It still provides a lot of value for someone looking for an HRIS and I am excited about the future with the merger with Kronos as well.
We hope to continue to use UltiPro to streamline processes. We do monthly 1x1's that are currently documented outside of UltiPro and we want to be able to put those in the system. We want to streamline more of our recruiting & onboarding process. We also want to be able to track leaves much better in UltiPro - leave of absences, FMLA, STD. 2 years ago when I was here at Connections they "live coded" it but I haven't heard anything since and there is currently no good way to track that. I don't understand why it hasn't been implemented yet if they worked on it 2 years ago.
Read Krista Makos, SHRM-CP's full review
Alissa Balsamo | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

UltiReview

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization's Human Resources and Payroll departments utilize UltiPro. Speaking from HR's perspective, UltiPro houses all of our employee's personal information, paid time off, and benefit elections. We also utilize UltiPro's recruitment module and onboarding module.
  • Communication - UltiPro is proactive about communicating changes and updates to their clients.
  • We've recently begun using the onboarding module and would like to see the ability to translate it into Japanese for some of our employees. It doesn't seem that this language is available currently.
I like UltiPro's ease of use and that they continue to add new features.
  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
  • Security and peace of mind
I think that integrating our HR and Payroll processes into one system that streamlines things and leaves less room for error is important for our organization and so far we have been successful in utilizing UltiPro and their solutions for this. After previewing some of the new and upcoming features today during an open session, I am anticipating we will continue to do while also remaining compliant.
Read Alissa Balsamo's full review
Kate Nere | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Mixed Feelings

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as our HCM. We have the payroll, recruiting, and onboarding modules running. It is mainly used by my HR dept, but all employees have access to view pay stubs, w2s, etc. Hiring Managers use it for recruiting too. It addresses our need to keep employee data all in one place. We can limit access so finance can see specific data vs what a manufacturing employee can see.
  • Model My Pay - My employees love using this function so they can change their taxes and 401k, and see how it changes their pay before they make the change.
  • Recruiting - Everything from start to finish is there, from job posting to onboarding a new hire.
  • Payroll is relatively easy, especially when I need to run an off cycle.
  • Taxes - We have huge issues with our taxes. For example, Ulti just processed NY taxes for Q4 2017. We constantly get tax demands and are hit with interest and penalties.
  • Communication - It feels like once you get through implementation, you're on your own. It would be nice if someone from Ulti connected with us quarterly to help us optimize and use new features.
  • Customer Success Portal - Everytime I create a case, it feels like it takes weeks for someone to just look at it.
UltiPro has a lot of functionality but you have to have time to figure it out and use it. I don't think it would be good for a one man HR dept or a smaller business. I think it works well for us in the mid-market sector.
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
I think we can use it a lot more than we currently are but we just don't have the time to figure it out. I'd like someone to come in, see what we're using, what we do, and what we can start using to make HR easier.
Read Kate Nere's full review
Carolyn Intal | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

UltiPro Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using UltiPro for payroll and HR. UltiPro made our company consolidate different systems into one. It is very user-friendly.
  • UltiPro is very user-friendly.
  • Processing payroll and making changes made it really super fast.
  • Any update or changes made is always real time.
  • Earnings or deduction changes need to go through a lot of processes for it to become effective.
  • You cannot process payroll simultaneously, one payroll needs to close before you can start a new one.
UltiPro is on point when it comes to payroll taxes. They always tell you if there are any discrepancies.
They manage state taxes so well that they actually let you know if you have a state that is not properly set up and they make the adjustments for you. I love the Year-End amendments, they handle it so accurate and fast. Customer support is also well-trained.
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
Read Carolyn Intal's full review
Erin Henderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

A great tool with some constraints. Still worth it though!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro is utilized throughout the company, for time management and HR solutions. Our field/operations use manager and self-service for HR administration and time and attendance. We as a company utilize performance management, perception, compensation management, manager and employee self-service, BI reporting to assist in analytics. Primary users are HR and payroll teams.
  • UltiPro has many different modules to assist in completing all functions or HR. These allow us to be more efficient in our handling of all aspects of our HR responsibilities, such as using the compensation management module for increases.
  • Integration between modules is helpful, for example the recruiting module feeding directly into onboarding, which then feeds into core. Allows for less manual data entry points.
  • BI reporting is another strong area, the data that can be mined and manipulated makes it easier to make business decisions.
  • I have had a very difficult time with the historical reporting or being able to capture historical snapshots of the company as a whole - or certain employees. It would be better if we could easily access snapshots of history, and if historical reporting was easier.
  • UltiPros file feed builds out leaves a lot to be desired. We worked on the same file feed for 3 years and it is still not completely built out.
  • Communication on help requests could be better as well, as a whole. There are some all-stars on the team that are very helpful and make you feel valued, but it can often be like pulling teeth to get an answer, the answer may initially not be correct once given.
It can be a great solution in any HR function if you have the time to learn the program, and you have someone dedicated to troubleshooting. It is a lot to learn and manage when you have multiple other duties that require attention. I can't say when it wouldn't be appropriate, the modules that you can choose from don't all come together, so you can take what you need even if just a basic core package with e-files, or a solution for all HR/payroll functions.
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
We are still really trying to figure out how to get our company on board with all Ulti has to offer, but when we do, it will be a great one-stop-shop to assist in performing all aspects of the HR payroll function, with compliance and uniform application. It is much better than the paper forms we are coming from and allows for our team to quickly and efficiently get their HR needs met without having to rely on spreadsheets, forms, email and the like.
Read Erin Henderson's full review
Kyle Pearson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Great product but there is room for improvement

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro is our HCM and payroll software. It is used organization wide by all levels of employees from employee self service, to performance/comp reviews, to payroll and HR administration. It is primarily used by HR and management but it touches all aspects of the organization.
  • The core product is solid, it does payroll and HR admin very well.
  • In recent years UltiPro has been great at introducing innovative products and features that increase its return on investment (Onboarding) and allows a high degree of customization (Platform Configuration).
  • From an Admin perspective, UltiPro's resporting capabilities are great. The recent integration with Informatica has also allowed us to better utilize HR data and integrate with other parts of the organization.
  • I've been supremely disappointed with the new File Management software. Specifically the implementation team we have been working with. They do not know the first thing about Core UltiPro and I am constantly told they can't help because they know File Management, not UltiPro. It can be very frustrating as they work for Ultimate not Peoplesoft and should have basic knowledge of the suite or resources who do.
  • I feel like at times UltiPro is more interested in releasing new modules that they can charge customers more for rather than fixing the shortcomings of their existing products. A great example of this is Benefits Prime. Rather than improving the core benefits module, they release Prime and try to upcharge to fix issues we're been dealing with for years.
  • Sometimes dealing with support can be frustrating. Depending on who your case is assigned to. I get the feeling some of the support reps just want to get me to close the case as soon as possible rather than research and come up with the best solution.
UltiPro is best suited for an organization who has the resources to dedicate individuals to build out and customize the product. It really is a great product with a lot of innovative features but it takes time and expertise to get these set up correctly.
  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
  • Security and peace of mind
UltiPro has certainly helped us to come closer to achieving these goals. Of course there is always room for improvement.
Read Kyle Pearson's full review
Cindy Frost | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Happy Customer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for payroll processing, onboarding, recruiting, compensation, and reviews. It is used across our organization. It has streamlined our recruiting and onboarding immensely. It has also saved a lot time with reviews and annual pay increase process. It makes it easy to build reports and extract for the management team.
  • It has made the 1094/1095 process very simple to provide.
  • Year-end and quarter-end filings are very easy.
  • I like the payroll process.
  • I don't like how every new feature ends up being at a cost.
  • Security is good but the reset process for employees doesn't function very well.
I like the ease of the set-up. It has made our payroll process easy. The review and compensation process is easy to complete for employees and managers.
  • Costs savings
  • Time savings
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
  • Security and peace of mind
I feel we have achieved all of the above except for the cost. There is a hefty cost and continues to increase each year, I feel that older customers have a continued increase each year and new companies that go on UtiliPro end up getting cheaper pricing.
Read Cindy Frost's full review
Ashley Pavich | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Employee Self-Service Rocks!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using UltiPro for our HRIS system. Including the following modules/areas, payroll, benefits, onboarding, recruiting, core, etc. Our main goal when implementing was to have one record of truth administratively and for our employees. We now have payroll and benefits in the system and our employees are able to change and update their information on their own. The self-service portion eliminated emails to our HR reps on a daily basis. We also implemented UltiPro to help with our financial reporting.
  • Employee Self-Service allows employees to make their own indicative data changes.
  • BI Reporting.
  • Payroll - Easy payroll process.
  • Benefits/Life Events in the Core system - Very generic.
  • Off-boarding - Currently there isn't a space in the system for off-boarding employees.
UltiPro is well suited for an HRIS system, payroll, generic benefits, onboarding, and recruiting. It could use some work in the implementation of UTA. I felt like we didn't have a smooth implementation with enough training.
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
We have achieved a few of the areas that we wanted to consolidate. We are still continuing to make improvements with different modules.
Read Ashley Pavich's full review
Sheri Dillinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

UltiPro Connections Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use UltiPro for HR, Payroll, Onboarding, Recruiting, Succession Management, and Time Management.
  • Succession Management - Easy to use, allows for ranking of candidates, and good BI Reporting capabilites.
  • Platform Config allows for customs configs on key pages, good documentation for setup, PC SME's are helpful.
  • Workflow configuration - Easy to use and track, BI Reporting is available.
  • Platform configuration - Needs to be available on more tabs.
  • Customer service - Ticketing is frustrating. Cannot speak directly with an SME without waiting for a call-back on most issues. With ADP, you can speak directly with someone who can help you right away.
  • Import Tool - This can be laid out a little differently to allow a 1,2,3 process. The tab order doesn't make sense.
UltiPro is a great tool for HR, and offers good tracking of employee data from recruiting to onboarding to core. Onboarding needs to allow for the I-9 and tax forms to be toggled off. This is frustrating for us since we can't leverage it for our contractors and temps who do not need to complete these forms.
  • Consolidating HR administration under a single solution
We combined all former processes into one system, which was vital to ensure data was correct and the same across all functions. We would love to use Onboarding for all of our employee types as previously discussed. HR and Finance can work together better now while "in the same house," and the tracking of employee data has really improved.
Read Sheri Dillinger's full review
LaTonya Madison, PHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

UltiPro is the best HCM hands-down

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UltiPro is used by the entire organization. UltiPro address the business need of having all employee information in a centralized location which allows for efficient payroll processing, data management, robust reporting, and analytics.
  • UltiPro empowers the users to customize the system via Platform Configuration.
  • UltiPro is very intuitive which makes even the least technical person comfortable with using it.
  • UltiPro is a solid HCM tool that allows companies to leverage the technology in driving business decisions.
  • I would like to be able to make change/termination reasons and drop-down values active or inactive and display placed on that status.
  • I would like to see more pages that are platform configurable.
  • I would like the capability to import to the business rules tables.
UltiPro is well suited for any company looking for an easy to use yet robust tool.
  • Time savings
We are achieving this goal through implementing Manager Self Service.
Read LaTonya Madison, PHR's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (498)
8.9
Employment history (515)
8.4
Job profiles and administration (493)
8.6
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (486)
8.4
Organizational charting (418)
7.5
Organization and location management (437)
8.4
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (349)
7.9
Pay calculation (471)
8.8
Support for external payroll vendors (226)
8.2
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (7)
8.6
Benefit plan administration (440)
8.3
Direct deposit files (466)
9.2
Salary revision and increment management (370)
8.4
Reimbursement management (61)
8.8
Approval workflow (322)
7.9
Balance details (340)
7.7
Annual carry-forward and encashment (285)
7.3
View and generate pay and benefit information (517)
9.0
Update personal information (516)
9.2
View company policy documentation (367)
8.4
Employee recognition (206)
8.0
View job history (508)
8.8
Tracking of all physical assets (134)
7.3
Report builder (487)
8.1
Pre-built reports (491)
7.9
Ability to combine HR data with external data (345)
7.4
New hire portal (340)
8.7
Manager tracking tools (276)
8.5
Corporate goal setting (184)
7.7
Individual goal setting (222)
7.9
Line-of sight-visibility (165)
7.5
Performance tracking (210)
7.9
Performance plans (268)
7.7
Performance improvement plans (218)
7.6
Review status tracking (273)
8.1
Review reminders (252)
7.7
Multiple review frequency (211)
7.9
Create succession plans/pools (111)
7.3
Candidate ranking (109)
7.5
Candidate search (111)
7.8
Candidate development (106)
7.2
Job Requisition Management (286)
8.1
Company Website Posting (277)
8.5
Publish to Social Media (214)
8.0
Job Search Site Posting (251)
8.0
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (214)
7.2
Applicant Tracking (272)
8.2
Notifications and Alerts (258)
7.8

About UltiPro

Ultimate Software’s UltiPro® cloud HR, payroll, and talent solutions promise to help organizations improve the employee experience. It includes everything from personalized recruiting and onboarding that foster long-term relationships, to convenient, role-based access to pay, benefits, and career development information.

The vendor says that with UltiPro, companies can:
  • rapidly process payroll
  • manage employee requests with HR service delivery
  • leverage flexible time solutions
  • offer a modern approach to learning
  • facilitate productive performance, succession, and compensation management
  • and measure employee sentiment through advanced surveys powered by Xander®, Ultimate’s portfolio of “People First” artificial intelligence technologies.

The vendor says UltiPro is supported by powerful business intelligence to help organizations drive smarter, people-focused results.

UltiPro Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Does not have featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Does not have featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Has featureAsset issue and transfer management
Has featureAsset return
Has featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Has featureCreate succession plans/pools
Has featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Has featureJob Requisition Management
Has featureCompany Website Posting
Has featurePublish to Social Media
Has featureJob Search Site Posting
Has featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts
Additional Features
Has featureRich Workforce Insight
Has featureOne Unified Solution
Has featureSimple, Person-Centric Tools and Experiences

UltiPro Screenshots

UltiPro Videos (2)

UltiPro Integrations

Infor Learning Management, NetSuite, Informatica, Certpoint, TTN learning, Ping Identity

UltiPro Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

UltiPro Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

UltiPro Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:UltiPro Global HCM captures country-specific localizations for over 65 countries
Supported Languages: US English, UK English, Canadian English, Canadian French, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Dutch, German, Italian, French (France), Filipino (Tagalog), Malay, and more