Paycom

Paycom

Customer Verified
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.3 out of 100
Paycom

Overview

Recent Reviews

Buyers Beware!

1 out of 10
May 04, 2022
We purchased the entire package: Payroll, HR, General Ledger, Talent Acquisition/Background Checks, EDI feeds that do not operate or …
Continue reading

Paycom - The Future

8 out of 10
April 18, 2022
We use it as our Payroll & human resource dashboard. All payroll and benefits are ran through the Paycom system. The product helps us …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Feature Set 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Usability 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Feature Set 2021

Popular Features

View all 48 features

Update personal information (243)

8.5
85%

View and generate pay and benefit information (243)

8.2
82%

Direct deposit files (235)

8.1
81%

Pay calculation (234)

7.6
76%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews (4)

Record

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Paycom?

Paycom is a core HR management software solution. It includes features such as talent acquisition and management, time tracking, and payroll management. It offers some automation capacities, particularly regarding payroll.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

18 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

N/A
Unavailable

What is ADP Workforce Now?

ADP Workforce Now is a cloud-based HR platform for mid-sized businesses. It features customizable modules of various HR services that businesses can tailor to their specific needs, as well as regulatory monitoring and alerts to help businesses remain compliant.

What is Paylocity?

Paylocity provides 24/7 access to your online payroll and human resource data management. Paylocity offers highly customizable payroll functionality, as well as HR, benefits administration, and time and talent management programs.

Features Scorecard

Human Resource Management

7.2
72%

Payroll Management

7.6
76%

Leave and Attendance Management

7.7
77%

Employee Self Service

8.0
80%

Asset Management

4.6
46%

HR Reporting

6.5
65%

Onboarding

7.0
70%

Performance and Goals

5.8
58%

Performance Management

7.3
73%

Succession Planning

6.7
67%

Recruiting / ATS

6.4
64%

Product Details

What is Paycom?

Paycom provides HR and employee-driven payroll technology to enhance the entire employee life cycle. It is designed to support employee management from hire to retire in one system. Through a self-service app, employees can request time off, clock in and out, and do their own payroll, so they to be accountable for the accuracy of their personal data. Beti automatically builds and manages payroll through an employee-driven experience.

Paycom Features

Human Resource Management Features

  • Supported: Employee demographic data
  • Supported: Employment history
  • Supported: Job profiles and administration
  • Supported: Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
  • Supported: Benefits information
  • Supported: Organizational charting
  • Supported: Organization and location management
  • Supported: Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Payroll history for each employee
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Payroll tracking and auditing
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management
  • Supported: Statutory form management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

  • Supported: Approval workflow
  • Supported: Email notifications
  • Supported: Balance details
  • Supported: Annual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

  • Supported: Employee login
  • Supported: View and generate pay and benefit information
  • Supported: Update personal information
  • Supported: Request time off
  • Supported: View job history
  • Supported: View company policy documentation
  • Supported: Employee recognition

HR Reporting Features

  • Supported: Report builder
  • Supported: Pre-built reports

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor

Performance Management Features

  • Supported: Performance plans
  • Supported: Performance improvement plans
  • Supported: Review status tracking
  • Supported: Review reminders
  • Supported: Multiple review frequency

Onboarding Features

  • Supported: New hire portal
  • Supported: Manager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

  • Supported: Individual goal setting
  • Supported: Performance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

  • Supported: Job Requisition Management
  • Supported: Company Website Posting
  • Supported: Publish to Social Media
  • Supported: Job Search Site Posting
  • Supported: Duplicate Candidate Prevention
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Notifications and Alerts

Paycom Screenshots

Paycom Videos

The Paycom Experience
The Old Way
Inefficiency at Work
Data Overload
Why Not at Work?

Paycom Competitors

Paycom Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Paycom?

Paycom is a core HR management software solution. It includes features such as talent acquisition and management, time tracking, and payroll management. It offers some automation capacities, particularly regarding payroll.

What is Paycom's best feature?

Reviewers rate Create succession plans/pools highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses Paycom?

The most common users of Paycom are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Non-profit Organization Management industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 258)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Billy R Parsons, MBA, SPHR, SHRM-SCP, Navy Veteran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Paycom has allowed the company to grow quickly through M&A activities as well as through organic, ground-up growth strategies. It has all the functions we need to facilitate the full life cycle of employment. These include payroll, time & attendance, HRIS, applicant tracking, benefits enrollment, learning & development, expense management, performance management, ACA reporting, etc.
  • Employee life-cycle transactions (HRIS functions)
  • Benefits enrollment
  • Time & attendance
  • Payroll
  • Applicant tracking
  • Performance management
  • Learning & development
  • Analytical reporting - deep dive analytics
Paycom is a "single database solution" that allows my organization to avoid bridging with other systems for data. In other words, an employee's name is only utilized once for every aspect of their employment life cycle. This avoids repetitive data entry as well as the errors of multiple entries competing from multiple sources. Essentially, Paycom is a "do it all" solution that does not require additional systems to be "bolted on" to ensure every function is available. For example, it does not need to bridge to an external applicant tracking system (ATS) since it provides a robust version itself that farms its data directly from all of the organizational input already in the system. However, it can bridge to existing systems when necessary. These all impact my job directly by ensuring my team does not spend more time than necessary creating transactions or maintaining information.
Jill Cole, SPHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Paycom for our payroll and HRIS needs. It serves as a full-service provider for all of our HRIS needs. We had 2000 employees across 18 states so we needed a system that was seamless and easy for our employees to use. Paycom delivered! The implementation was incredible, the go-live was fantastic, and we had an overall 5-star experience. We used the system fully for reporting, benefits administration, surveys, exit interviews, status changes, etc. Employees and managers alike enjoyed using the system due to its ease and intuitiveness of it.
  • Implementation
  • Customer Service
  • Reporting is the best!
  • Constantly updating the products to make them best in class
  • Quick, but accurate, implementation
  • Allow customers to see the backend of benefits implementation so that they can confirm the setup is accurate
I have worked with Paycom at companies that have as few as 125 employees and as high as 2300. It is a great product regardless of company size. The system is the best in class and works so effortlessly! Anyone can use the system because it's so intuitive. The report feature is, by far, the best I've ever experienced. Paycom is constantly updating its products to be better and better. It is more expensive than its competitors but, as I've experienced first hand, you definitely get what you pay for! Don't skimp on a system that impacts everyone company-wide... employees, HR, payroll, accounting/finance, and management. Invest in the system that will definitely make you look professional, give you the information that you need (via reporting, widgets, and metrics), and stay ahead of its competitors!
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Paycom is very easy to use and its user interface is very simple compared to the other HR management software in the market. Paycom empowers your entire organization with an employee life cycle all in a single software from payroll to hire and retire everything you can manage from this software. You can update employee data and their daily performance. HR can do staffing and recruiting-related work easily and manage with Paycom.
  • You can do expense and payroll management work with Paycom.
  • HR related work like recruiting and staffing new employee.
  • Update employee details and their daily performance report work.
  • They can improve the direct deposit returns issue, Paycom doesn't always let us know when direct deposits are returned.
  • Took a long time to implement and takes a bit of time to load.
  • Sometimes we not get the same help support from the Paycom support team.
Paycom is a secure and more reliable HR management software, everything is so easy with Paycom software payroll management, attendance tracking, employee performance report everything you can update and manage with Paycom. Its easy and simple user interface makes this software more user-friendly. They can do some improvement with their help support team.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was sold Paycom as a payroll service that would be up to date on California payroll laws. What I found out is that Paycom is payroll software, and it's up to you to learn how to use its incredibly complicated software and get it to work with California laws. We use the Timekeeping (glitchy), payroll, expenses, scheduling, HR, and talent acquisition functions. The expenses were sold as highly customizable, but the reports they use do not show any of the custom fields you created unless you run a custom report, so you lose the ability to sort the information in a meaningful way. I turn off the expense portion since it has never worked or imported into my QuickBooks correctly, and they removed all access to past reporting, so I've lost a year of expense backup.
  • Sales
  • Access to people who know how to use the software
  • Honesty in the sales process
  • Access to the tax department to fix issues
  • Quick response to problems
  • Following through with employee promises
The people you work with do not know how to use their own product.
The system is very complex, and was not set up for our use. They expected me to finish the set up, but the people I worked with didn't know the system, and I was frequently given wrong answers. Our service techs switch between service items on their time card several times a day, specifying class (for QuickBooks) and customer. If I have to create a manual check, none of that information is able to be pulled into the manual check. On top of that, it does not calculate blended OT required by California law, so I must edit the rates after entering all the lines. This means a manual check takes me anywhere from 20 minutes to an hour to create. Currently, if I go into edit the check, it corrupts and must be deleted and reentered. I have sent them 2 videos showing the error. It's been over a month, and they still won't acknowledge it's a real problem, let alone fix it. All communication must go through your "specialist" who is really just a handler, who sends an email to another department, and waits for that department to respond. It's a terrible game of telephone that always drags out problems since you have to spend weeks convincing them a problem even exists.
Heather O'Malley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Paycom as an employee and I also manage 30 employees who use the system as well. The system is user-friendly. Easy to explain to new hires. My staff uses it to enter their PTO, print their pay stubs and W2, and sign documents electronically. As a manager, I can easily keep track of and approve time-off requests. I haven't had any major issues with the system. I look for a system that is easy to use for all levels of my employees. I don't want to have to take time out of my day to handle Payroll issues and with Paycom I don't have to.
  • As a manager, the time off request calendar is helpful.
  • Easy of pulling up paycheck stubs.
  • Documents are electronic and easy to sign.
  • I'd prefer days off instead of accrued hours.
Onboarding for new hires is easy and seamless. Prior to Paycom, we were filling out paperwork. The app works well to get the new hire ready to go right away.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Paycom to process our agency's payroll. I also use it for recruiting purposes. I run various reports from Paycom to perform reconciliations, including but not limited to benefit reconciliations and tax reconciliations. I use Paycom to provide staff with their year-end tax forms. All staff at our agency use Paycom to record their time and attendance.
  • Reporting
  • Benefits
  • HR and Payroll integration
  • Customer service
  • Report formating
  • Custom forms
Paycom is well suited to processing your agency's standard biweekly payroll. If your agency does not have unique/difficult benefits or retirement plans, then Paycom is good at processing payroll. There are workarounds for those issues that make payroll processing more cumbersome, but Paycom can still accommodate unique/difficult plans if you work with your client specialist and make your needs clear.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am the top Paycom administrator. Paycom handles all of our HRIS and Payroll functions. We currently use their entire platform.
  • Excellent HRIS and Payroll Platform
  • They have a great learning management system
  • Their governance platform handles our WC program, COBRA compliance, and OSHA reporting
  • Their ATS system is not intuitive enough to drag and drop information
  • Their ATS interface needs to be more open to exporting information to recruiters such as Glassdoor
  • It would be amazing if we could track temporary labor that are not W2 employees
As an overall HRIS and Payroll product, few can compete with Paycom. Their ATS system could be spruced up and could improve with drag and drop ability. I would also help if employers could track non-W2 temporary staff in their HRIS system.
Bailey (Gaither) Potucek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Paycom to do many things, from hiring and onboarding to payroll to performance management and more. We switched from another provided to Paycom for the more usability of the platform for Employees as well as Management. They are also cost-effective.
  • Ease of Use
  • Payroll
  • Customer Service
  • Cost
  • Performance Management
The transitions team was readily available at every step. They genuinely seem like they care about you and your business. They leave no stone unturned. I think that this platform is great for companies of any size and they have their core module that includes many systems and then you can add others if needed. I can't think of an industry that wouldn't benefit from this system.
May 04, 2022

Buyers Beware!

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We purchased the entire package: Payroll, HR, General Ledger, Talent Acquisition/Background Checks, EDI feeds that do not operate or disseminate accurate information, etc. We are currently only utilizing payroll, HR, and background checks as the rest of the products are hopelessly inefficient, we were promised the system could do things it cannot do, and very dissatisfied with the lack of resolution, communication, and an effective system. WE have had 5 account managers in two years! We never should have changed, went from mediocre to just bad overall. We do not recommend any of their products.
  • Background checks
  • COBRA Administration
  • All areas, HR, Payroll, Talent Acquisition, Taxes (which you can never speak with), GL, stopped using this and the Expense Management is less than stellar in its functions.
There are too many to list to bore you with the details. If asked by a specific company considering changing to Paycom, plan on spending an hour with us on the phone there is so much to cover.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Paycom has been our payroll processor for at least the past 5 years or more. I have been using Paycom for the last 3 years and have been learning something new that makes it easier for us to use. The system has so many features that we were not aware of and we are now trying to find the time to learn. As I learn more, I don't want to change.
  • Reviews our payroll for mistakes.
  • Won't allow us to submit until errors are fixed
  • Has many features that would make it easier to use.
  • PTO - easier sign on for supervisors to add.
  • Salary increases, be able to have more than one report
  • Work Org Chart - have a button for it
Paycom has so many features that could be useful, we just haven't learned them yet. Paycom should have a notification for those that forget to clock in/out without us having to ask the employee for their time.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I love using Paycom! It has amazing reporting features and is overall a solid platform. Their Beti program makes payroll super easy and quick. It cut our payroll time in half. The applicant tracking is super user-friendly and Paycom is also really user-friendly for our employees. I have used competitors in the past and prefer Paycom for so many reasons. They also have super friendly customer service which I love!
  • Reporting
  • Payroll
  • Ability to go paperless
  • No ability for 360 feed with other software which means more manual work
  • Sometime it can seem a bit dated
Paycom is great with reporting and analyzing data. It makes payroll a breeze. At my former company, we switched from Paylocity to Paycom and it cut payroll time in half which was incredible. Paycom is great if your company has multiple entities that you want to manage under one account. They are constantly working on making their features better and listening to customer feedback. I have been very happy using Paycom!
Kristen Flynn, SPHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Paycom is our system of record for human resources and payroll since 2016. But, over the last year, we have expanded how we've used Paycom for learning, COVID tracking, benefits administration, and applicant tracking with great results in efficiency and integrated processes. By consolidating these processes into the Paycom system, we have reduced errors, costs and improved our delivery of information.
  • Reporting ease - both prepopulated and custom
  • Solid account support for building out capabilities
  • Continued learning opportunities for users
  • International capabilities - only can be used domestically now
  • 360 integration with 401k vendors - limited to 180 now
Paycom works for our size and scope of activities, and the Clue module (for tracing vaccinations and testing) was delivered at exactly the right time for our organization. I think Paycom anticipates the client's needs but also reaches out to its clients to get input into the next steps in their offerings. We needed support to transition our benefits administration to Paycom from 2 outside vendors and despite a lot of challenges, through the partnership, we have a robust Ben Admin solution now.
April 18, 2022

Paycom - The Future

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as our Payroll & human resource dashboard. All payroll and benefits are ran through the Paycom system. The product helps us stay organized, stay in compliance with state and federal regulations, better and accurate check processing, and it keep everything we need about employees in one place.
  • Payroll
  • Keep all information in one place
  • Easy access for our employees
  • The packages and bundles we wish they weren't all separate or additional cost
  • Navigation when making a change to take you back to the previous page you were on instead of the main menu
  • Reporting features
Paycom has help keep the company up to date with technology and evolving to a paperless system. It really does it all and could eliminate any manual processes you may currently have in place. We love that it provides accurate information at anytime to our employees, managers, and administration staff.
April 13, 2022

One Stop Shop

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Paycom as our primary HCM for all things HR and finance.
  • There's nothing they haven't thought of, it does everything.
  • The YouTube videos are short and to the point and engaging.
  • The user manuals are very detailed.
  • I would love to see Positions eliminated in favor of Position Seats. This just seems to be like a duplication of work.
  • Maybe this already exists, but I could benefit from a process map of some sort that lets you know if you change A it will affect B, and so on and so forth.
  • It would be nice if system users were automatically deactivated upon termination since that info can be linked in their user profile.
Paycom has thought of everything and they are open to suggestions.
Renata Falbo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Paycom for performance reviews, tracking pay rate changes and amounts, time and attendance, disciplinary actions, i9s, covid tracking, EEOC-1 reporting, and much more. Paycom has made things easy with reports as it helps us gather all of the information that we need
  • Payroll - We use semi-monthly payroll and the system recognizes when people work overtime when the week crosses between 2 pay periods.
  • Time and Attendance Changes - Very easy for employees to submit correction requests in Paycom
  • Reporting - I can easily create reports based on what is needed.
  • Clue - The covid tracker is amazing and helps us a lot with being able to track and report on our covid trends.
  • Reporting - Some reports will not allow us to include everything we need in one report. Meaning we may need to run 2 different reports in order to get the information we absolutely need.
I would recommend them over ADP. They are wonderful to work with and their system is very easy to use. Their dedicated reps actually answer your calls, questions, and concerns.
Incredible. I love how when I email my reps, they answer immediately. Another great thing about their support is when I have a question and my dedicated rep is out of the office, someone from their overall team is there to answer your questions and they actually do answer your emails. Calling them is also amazing because they are always there. You don't have to wait hours or days before hearing back.
Very user friendly.
March 25, 2022

Administer with Ease

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Paycom for my own personal use. I also work with Paycom as a Third Party Administrator for billing and administration through Payroll deduction and file feeds. The product addresses ease of administration for the employee and employer. Easy and user-friendly both for the employee and employer. I like the format easy to access
  • Make Changes Easily for employee and employer
  • Easy to do business with from and administrator
  • Good support
  • Its pretty standardized, programming customization.
Great system ease of use to roll out as more "canned" product. Customization, for example, payroll cycle billing. Product can't handle this payroll deduction scenario.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Paycom as our HRIS, payroll system, applicant tracking, recruiting, hiring, personnel files, learning management system, and communication system with employees.
  • Enables electronic personnel files
  • Automates discipline
  • Administers clock in procedures
  • Paycom does not provide customers with any access to upper management so issues can not be escalated when needed.
  • Paycom's first response to all of our requests is 'no.'
  • We have requested fixes to issues four years ago that still aren't resolved. For example, the system only knows Central Time so if you are located in another time zone all of your transactions are stamped in Central Time.
  • Paycom is a better option for small companies with small payrolls. ACH is not an option for large payrolls and they will not change this for large, investment-grade organizations.
  • There is no way to run a headcount report with an 'as of' date.
  • The front line team to assist customers changes a lot and often is hard to reach.
  • Paycom will not permit automated background checks unless you use their background check solution.
  • Paycom normally will not integrate with other providers of systems that companies use.
Paycom is well suited for small companies with small payrolls; if you want to set up electronic personnel files; and if you want to set up access down to the user level. Paycom will work well for companies that are satisfied with the solution the way it comes. Paycom is not well suited for medium to large size companies as Paycom limits the dollar amount of the ACH for payroll. Paycom is not well suited for a company that likes customization or companies that want to link Paycom to other vendors they use. Paycom will not permit you to automate background checks unless you use their option.
March 18, 2022

Paycom Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Paycom for all of our HR needs from payroll, benefits administration, applicant tracking, onboarding, offboarding, data management, etc. There's a large scope of use for the platform and because it encompasses so much there are a lot of modules that we would like to continue to implement in the future.
  • Applicant Tracking
  • Onboarding
  • Notifications
  • Better implementation
  • Customer service is hit or miss
  • Hard to navigate some of the customizations
  • Expected customizations are not in the system
Best use: large organizations with a clear understanding of what they want and wanting to consolidate all of those things to as few platforms as possible. Paycom is great in getting all of the things you really want in HR/Employee Management in one location and the data talks to each other well, but organizations that are figuring this out will have some difficulty.
Tracy Reitan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Paycom at a previous employer for 2 years. I was Project Manager when we went through the implementation. We were extremely pleased with the implementation process and the product. After 30+ years of HR experience, and having gone through system conversions 6 times, in addition to having worked with 8 HRIS/PR products, Paycom was by far the one I ended up comparing everything else too. When we found ourselves in the unexpected situation of having to find a new provider at my new job - Paycom was definitely the first vendor we contacted. In the end, Paycom was our product of choice, and we began implementation in Nov. 2021. Even in the 5 years since my prior implementation - things have improved and the process was definitely the easiest implementation I have ever been through. The team was tremendously knowledgeable, they did the majority of the building work, and they made the entire process feel so seamless. We love that it is an all-inclusive system - this eliminates so much error, makes our jobs significantly easier, and places a lot of the ownership of data onto the employees themselves - they know their data best!
  • PAF - Personnel Action Forms, makes changes easier, faster, electronic, and through routing and approval, are life and driven by the effective date
  • Online benefit enrollment - the easiest process I have ever seen
  • BETI - the new functionality that allows employees to review and approve their paychecks prior to posting payroll - catches errors before payroll is finalized, and helps employees have a better understanding in acknowledging the accuracy of their pay.
  • On-line Self On-boarding. Saves our team time and improves accuracy!
  • Applicant tracking - from posting the job to the offer and hire - keeps track of candidates through the entire process - all in one system!
  • Payroll has never been so easy! BETI has cut down my processing time by more than half!
  • Excellent App! Our employees and managers LOVE it! They can approve things with ease right from their phones.
  • Ability to customize (add fields) to some of the canned reports
  • The minor issue of setting up payroll processing schedules - if you have different deductions based on the payroll within the month - some additional ability to set it up and forget it... it does require some additional monitoring
  • The manual check process is easy - but it would be helpful if the printed check included the routing numbers and account numbers coded at the bottom - we have had to do some editing to print the checks to match our check stock - apparently that is not a current option for them.
1) All-inclusive system - GAME CHANGER! 2) Philosophy and practices within Paycom place ownership of employee data onto the employee themselves - this not only saves our HR/PR team time but increases accuracy and removes liability for the company. 3) BETI payroll process has streamlined our payroll processing, saving time and catching errors prior to posting. 4) Mobile App is amazing, easy to use, and the majority of our employees & manager love it. 5) As everything is managed electronically, it does require all employees to have an email address and have access to an electronic device (computer, tablet, smartphone). Most people do, but our company still has a population of individuals where this can be a challenge. We are working through it and have found the majority of our employees this is not an issue.
Our implementation team was the best!
Knowledgeable, prompt, friendly, excellent project managers.
They made the entire implementation process tremendously painless!
March 01, 2022

Paycom Fails

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Paycom was implemented within our organization in 2020. We utilize the time and attendance, payroll, reporting, training, benefits administration, talent management, and talent acquisition functions of the system. Time and attendance, payroll, and reporting are the most user-friendly functions. The remaining offerings are cumbersome to manage, with the least user-friendly being talent acquisition and the documents within onboarding. My department´s struggles within these platforms have made for a poor candidate experience and have forced the company to utilize external options like Docusign to manage the onboarding. Outside of the software itself, Paycom fails in all aspects of customer service. The sales team informed me that we would have a dedicated specialist. While we do have an assigned specialist (we are on our second because the other was transferred), we rarely are able to contact them on phone (this was the same for the first assigned specialist). It has gotten so bad that we have a tally of how many times we can contact her on the phone (it has become a joke with a sour punchline). When our specialist is not available we are sent to another team member for assistance. The issue with this is they provide solutions, my team executes them, something goes wrong and when we finally do get feedback from our assigned specialist we are told that the instruction given to us was incorrect. This has happened a minimum of seven times within our time with Paycom. There is also a lack of urgency for Paycom issues dealing with our executive staff. We have been working on benefit integration for over a year. Our carriers have requested that Paycom assign another representative due to a lack of response. Paycom is likely a great option for companies with less than 200 employees. We will be exploring other options and terminating our contract.
  • Time and Attendance
  • Employee Self Service
  • Customer Service
  • Talent Acquisition
  • Security Administration
  • Tax Compliance and Timeliness
  • Onboarding Experience
  • Benefit Administration
  • Scheduling
There is a major lack of customer service and too many functions within the platform that works poorly.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use the Paycom app as an employee and it allows me to keep up with time-off requests, payroll, tax documents, and more. There are additional links to help me better understand how the app works as well as important documents regarding my place of employment. This is a super useful and user-friendly app.
  • Keep up with time off requests
  • Easy to access paycheck information
  • Paycom responds to and addresses any issues within our organization
  • Easy access to important payroll documents
  • I cannot think of anything at this time
Using the Paycom app allows me access to all the important information for my payroll, time-off, and other documents instantly.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am the HR Generalist for a company of 300+ that utilizes Paycom on a daily basis for all our HR and Payroll needs. We use almost all of the available modules, including HR, Time Management, and Talent Acquisition. Each of the interfaces of the modules with the others, allowing for a seamless HR and Payroll system. The struggle of remote onboarding for new employees is easily solved with this system by allowing companies to have all the pre-hire documentation completed prior to the first day of employment!
  • On-Boarding of Employees
  • Benefits Administration
  • Payroll
  • HR Document storage
  • More user ability to customize screens for ease of use
Paycom is very well suited for your entire HR and Payroll processes. Changes that are made to benefits are seamlessly transferred to payroll so only one entry is necessary, rather than two which can lead to data entry errors. Onboarding and reduction in paper processes are probably some of the things I like most about the Paycom platform. Being able to focus on more critical issues rather than shuffling paper is a huge advantage to using Paycom. It helps us reduce our paper costs, thus helping our company be greener in nature.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I do not see any problems with my profile and services. I see some complications/hassles with the client-side login provided. Batch approval of time off requests does not work many times. Batch approval of goals was not possible and when we approve a goal, it navigates back to the main list and we have to search for the next goal to approve and it is a time-consuming process. A single page to update goals for performance and development using drop-down menus and comment sections can be of much help.
  • Time Management.
  • Information & Documents.
  • Checklists, Performance management.
  • Company Information.
  • Bulk approval of time off requests.
  • Bulk approval of performance goals using a drop-down and comment section.
  • Bulk approval of development goals.
For personal management, it feels fantastic. For client-side login, it needs some tweaks.
Julie Wagner, MBA, PHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Paycom for onboarding, payroll, expense management and performance management. We have always manually cut checks to employees for expenses (mileage, meals, etc.) but now use expense management to add it to their paycheck. It has saved countless hours of employees' time and accounting!
  • Expense management.
  • Payroll.
  • Time management.
  • Org chart only allows for one owner (instead of two).
  • Does not integrate with our 401k provider.
The system works great for our organization that has 50+ employees across 6 states.
February 01, 2022

Paycom Usage

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Paycom has made payroll a much more efficient process. The reporting system makes transmitting our retirement contributions clear and simple.
  • Reporting
  • Payroll
  • Handles tax filings
  • Scheduling
  • Applicant tracking
We are a smaller business so we do not require all modules of Paycom but I have used them in the past and there are many pros to help any business.