Formstack Reviews

133 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 72)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Better User Experience and Administration, but Sales Process Needs Improvement

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

There is no question that we gained significant functionality in terms of analytics and page and question logic by choosing Formstack over the free survey tool we had used previously. The feedback from users who had taken the survey was that it was user-friendly and looked much more professional. There were some discussions in the sales phase that did not accurately represent the functionality, and while they were extremely accommodating to our changes based on user experience, and training was phenomenal, it wasn't conveyed at point of contract that the service we were provided as part of that contract was limited to an hour of edits, and that our additional time was at an additional cost. Finally, the fact that they connected us with another software that was supposed to make our data integration easier made it appear that they either didn't understand the scope of our project request or they didn't have a good handle on the other company's capabilities.
Read this authenticated review
David Steininger | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Formstacking the deck

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have a need for advanced forms with conditional logic and payment integrations, Formstack is a great pick. If you only need a handful of simple contact forms, there are more affordable solutions. Likewise, if you need a much more robust solution with front-end user accounts (to login and complete a form) or bulletproof integrations with an existing CMS, you might want to find a different dedicated enterprise solution. Formstack can fill in a pretty wide space between the two ends of the spectrum.
Read David Steininger's full review
Patrick Stephens | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2018

Formstack Gave Us Back the Heart to Our Business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would use it for Admissions, HR, and Administrative purposes. It automates and streamlines processes like no other. However, I would not recommend it for someone unaware of the third party integrations. You can pull a CSV, but that can become burdensome. If you know Google Sheets, you can create a filter to make the data manageable. For someone who knows how to do this, Formstack is wonderful; if you don't, be prepared to feel lost on data until you get the hang of it.
Read Patrick Stephens's full review
Josh Summerhays | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2018

Great way to expand form functionality for marketing automation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Formstack is great for creating lead generation forms since it integrates so well with third party marketing automation platforms. You get more options for your forms than are standard with, say, HubSpot. One of the drawbacks that you need to be aware of is regarding design. If you are very concerned about the forms being able to match very specific branding and typography, you will not get what you need. Custom fonts are possible, but it takes more engineering work than is ideal. If you are a small team or don't have development resources to help you set it up, you're gonna have to compromise on the visuals.
Read Josh Summerhays's full review
Jared Whitley | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 06, 2018

Formstack integrations save time!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We use it for Pardot Form Handler integration to allow us full control over the forms. We also have some forms that link to multiple systems for logging and access to data. These work great as it doesn't depend on a third-party app (Zapier/IFTTT) for most of the integrations.
Read Jared Whitley's full review
Kristen Hay | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2018

We use Formstack every day and we love it!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you're considering Formstack, I would recommend signing on for a free trial first so you can play around in it and see how easy it is to create forms and how your team could use the product most effectively. Feel free to make your own form templates with your brand's colors to really visualize how the forms could look and function.
Read Kristen Hay's full review
Brandon Wells, MPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2018

Formstack is a One Stop Shop for all Things Forms!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Formstack is functional, easy to use, and really helps organizations get organized. I find myself referring people to Formstack all of the time, which to me, is a great indicator of how well they address a customers need in their space. If you are looking for a tool that will help you build professional online forms, Formstack should be the first and last place you look.
Read Brandon Wells, MPA's full review
Kow Samman, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2018

Formstack is great, and keeps getting better. Best form creation tool out there

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It has great features and they continue to add features. Formstack works great for standard forms but has many limitations with workflow forms, the biggest limitation being you can only route forms to Formstack users.
Read Kow Samman, MBA's full review
Laurance J. Specht | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2018

Formstack needs a refresher

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Formstack is a flexible tool for an organization to gather and track data required to support the work your organization does. It is particularly useful in tracking supply and equipment requests, internal work orders and time requests. There are other tools that work better for IT support requests and have a better user interface.
Read Laurance J. Specht's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2018

Formstack - quick, easy, powerful

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Formstack makes it easy to create a variety of forms. I have used it for event interest and registrations, email list sign-ups, and surveys. I have found it easy to customize, and easy to export data for import into other systems (e.g., CRM).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2018

Formstack: Easily Build Complicated Forms

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Formstack is great at most things in bulk. It supports multiple users, lots of forms, lots of submissions, lots of addons, and lots of lots - you get the point. If you're looking to get a bunch of content off of dated systems, and into an online system/email workflow/crm, etc., Formstack will do just that.

What it won't do - it won't wow the end user with a beautiful form, though you can skin it to look native to your website.

Good for Midsize to Enterprise, doesn't need a programmer: Aside from the semi-complex Wordpress integration, Formstack is really easy to use. Secretary types without coding experience would have no problem building a form and sharing it. Technically minded folk will enjoy the complex conditional logic and the support it provides with third party addons and payment systems.

Bad for small businesses: Formstack's not economical, and with the budget-friendly competition, most small businesses are out. Formstack does a good job at complex integrations and spends a sizeable amount of effort on its paid addons rather than improving its core product, so unless you plan on spending a lot monthly and need a bunch of forms, you probably can look elsewhere (Gravity Forms, Ninja Forms, etc).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2018

Formstack allowed us to complete our reports months ahead of schedule.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are wasting your time with Word documents, Excel sheets, or simply have to create a more inviting form for your clients or members, this will work. Our CFO and Marketing team inquired about using this for their department reporting.
Read this authenticated review
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2017

A versatile and powerful tool for integrating contact forms and surveys into just about anything.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you need a generic, embedded solution for forms, where you can keep all of your forms and form responses in one place (Even for multiple clients), FormStack deserves a serious look. If you're comfortable using CSS to help style the forms how you want, then FormStack might just be the ideal solution for you.
Read Ben McClure's full review
Aaron Lucas | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2017

Formstack: A great addition to winning workflows

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I have seen Formstack add great value to a company's marketing strategy when it comes to gathering information about potential customers. We see a lot of clients who add forms to proposals that they send to clients. We have also seen Formstack add value as a guided selling solution. I have not yet seen any environments where Formstack is not well suited.
Read Aaron Lucas's full review
Charles Leon Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2017

Formstack makes form creation easy and efficient.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Our Registrar has a request form that has 26 separate scenarios, each with custom notification and confirmation emails. The notification emails go to at least 10 different employees in the Registrar. The ability to have a single form handle vastly different requests, provide both custom info inside of all emails, delivered to the appropriate employees is critical to their success as a department.

Our International Admission department has a pre-app form to capture interested international students as they begin our complex application process. The department is able to help guide them through that process by exporting their names from Formstack and comparing that list to an internal list of incomplete applications. They also integrate the form with Mailchimp to be able to communicate deadlines, important College information, etc.
Read Charles Leon Thompson's full review
Jim Kramer | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 12, 2018

Formstack fits our need

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For our website utilization, Formstack has met all of our needs. Again, we use Formstack to create giving forms, registration forms, subscription forms, etc. Embedding is easy, form creation is easy. We have not had a situation where it hasn't served us.
Read Jim Kramer's full review
Anthony Nijmeh | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2017

TrustRadius readers - Why we use Formstack!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Formstack is well suited for collecting information for events which require a more complex selection of fields and logic. You won't get this sort of flexibility with standard event registration systems. It's also very well suited for collection nomination information and biography profiles. It might not be well suited in situations where tier pricing and access levels are required.
Read Anthony Nijmeh's full review
Brendan Babish | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 25, 2017

Formstack actually makes formbuilding fun

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Great for an organization with complicated workflows and where forms are viewed on mobile. Also, relatively easy to learn since Formstack has a big knowledge base and helpful webinars. If security is a huge concern, Formstack can be a great solution because they have a HIPAA compliant version.
Read Brendan Babish's full review
Scott Gara | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2017

Great for Customer Data Collection!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think any data collection you are trying to do with Formstack would be well suited for you. I think it does a really great job of being able to organize on the backend in the Formstack platform and the search intent is very good too. There is a ton of information that comes along with every submission down to the IP address of the person submitting so the ability to target your data and understand the consumers who are filling out the forms is unprecedented.
Read Scott Gara's full review
Shannon McDonald | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2017

Love me some Formstack!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Great for capturing data or counts for specific things. Not as easy when we are trying to do a form that we need to capture multiple data points from various attendees in one form.
Read Shannon McDonald's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Survey templates (50)
7.7
Themes (54)
7.0
Custom logo/branding (56)
8.0
Changes to live survey (51)
8.7
Question design help (1)
8
Multiple question types (56)
8.8
Survey logic flexibility (56)
8.5
Response tracking (1)
10
Data export (57)
8.8
Standard reports (54)
8.3
Custom reports (46)
7.4
Analytics (1)
10
Access controls (53)
8.2
Compliance (48)
8.6
Vendor-offered crowdsourcing (1)
8
Respondent restrictions (1)
8

About Formstack

Formstack is a cloud-based online form building solution designed to help organizations build powerful web forms without any coding knowledge.

The form builder serves over 500,000 people in 112 countries. Users can embed mobile-friendly forms on their websites and social media profiles to capture leads, gather feedback from customers and employees, collect online payments, and much more.

The platform integrates with over 50 web applications, including apps for CRM management, email marketing, payment processing, and document management.

Formstack offers a specialized Workflows product that helps users turn time-consuming processes into seamless digital workflows. Users can track their workflows across departments, and use special analytics tools to identify system and communication bottlenecks.

Other product offerings include conversion rate optimization tools for marketers and HIPAA compliance for healthcare and HR users.

Formstack Features

Survey Format & Appearance Features
Has featureOnline surveys
Does not have featurePaper surveys
Does not have featurePhone surveys
Has featureSurvey templates
Has featureSurvey library
Has featureThemes
Has featureCustom logo/branding
Does not have featureSingle page survey
Has featureProgression bar
Has featureResponsive design
Survey Content Features
Has featureMultimedia content
Has featureDrag-and-drop editor
Has featureChanges to live survey
Does not have featureQuestion bank
Does not have featureQuestion design help
Has featureMultiple question types
Has featureMatrix questions
Has featureTranslation/multi-lingual
Survey Logic Features
Has featureSurvey logic flexibility
Has featureResponse requirement/validation
Has featureSkip logic
Has featureConditional questions
Has featureQuestion branching
Does not have featurePiping logic
Does not have featureRandomization
Survey Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureResponse tracking
Has featureData export
Does not have featureReal-time results
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Has featureVisualizations
Does not have featureAnalytics
Survey Integrations Features
Has featureCRM Integration
Has featureSocial media integration
Has featureE-commerce integration
Does not have featureTestimonials widget
Survey Automation Features
Has featureNotifications and alerts
Has featureCalendar/scheduling
Has featureFollow-up emails
Survey Distribution Features
Has featureIn-tool invites
Does not have featureEmail distribution
Has featureCross-channel distribution
Does not have featureCustom survey URLs
Has featureEmbeddable surveys
Does not have featureSite intercept surveys
Has feature360 Degree feedback
Has featureAnonymous responses
Does not have featureVendor-offered crowdsourcing
Has featureUnlimited questions per survey
Has featureUnlimited responses per survey
Does not have featureRespondent restrictions
Survey Administration & Security Features
Has featureMultiple users
Has featureAccess controls
Has featureCompliance

Formstack Screenshots

Formstack Integrations

Act-On Software, Authorize.Net, AWeber, Batchbook, Box, Campaign Monitor, Capsule CRM, Chargify, Constant Contact, Dropbox, Drupal, Dwolla, Emma, First Data - ICICI Merchant Services, FreshBooks, Google Analytics, Google Drive, GoToWebinar, HelpSpot, Highrise, HubSpot, iContact, Keap (formerly Infusionsoft), Mailchimp, OneDrive, Pardot, Pipedrive, Slack, Stripe, Trello, TypePad, WePay, WordPress, Xero, Zapier, Zendesk, Formstack Documents (formerly WebMerge), BriteVerify, Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Beanstream, Email Center Pro, Microsoft Excel, Facebook, Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Contacts, Google Sheets, PayPal, PayPal Payflow, PayPal Pro, QuickBooks, Salesforce, Salesforce Desk, Salesforce Marketing Cloud, Twitter

Formstack Competitors

Wufoo, SurveyMonkey, Typeform, JotForm, 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm), 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm), 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Silver$39All Base Features + 5 Users
Gold$99/moAll Base Features + Facebook Tab Embed + Salesforce & HubSpot Integrations + 100 Forms + 10,000 Submissions + 10 Users
Platinum$249/moAll Base Features + Facebook Tab Embed + Salesforce & HubSpot Integrations + Priority Support + 1,000 Forms + 100,000 Submissions + 25 Users
Bronze$19/moAll base features + 1 User

We also offer a variety of Add-on features: Workflows, Conversion Kit, Portals, Approvals

Formstack Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media

Formstack Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Albanian, Arabic, Chinese, Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Kazakh, Norwegian (Bokmål), Russian, Slovak, Spanish, Swedish, Polish, Portuguese, Thai, Turkish and Vietnamese