Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Paylocity

Paylocity

Overview

What is Paylocity?

Paylocity provides 24/7 access to your online payroll and human resource data management. Paylocity offers highly customizable payroll functionality, as well as HR, benefits administration, and time and talent management programs.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Paylocity is Cool!

9 out of 10
May 06, 2024
Incentivized
We use Paylocity for onboarding, employee record management, and payroll. We use Paylocity on a daily basis, multiple times a day. We do …
Continue reading

Paylocity, 4/5 Stars

9 out of 10
April 26, 2024
Incentivized
I use Paylocity for HR and Payroll. It makes it easy for me to keep track of all employees and their information as well as an easy and …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 48 features
  • Direct deposit files (824)
    8.9
    89%
  • Update personal information (852)
    8.6
    86%
  • Pay calculation (825)
    8.6
    86%
  • View and generate pay and benefit information (838)
    8.5
    85%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Paylocity?

Paylocity provides 24/7 access to your online payroll and human resource data management. Paylocity offers highly customizable payroll functionality, as well as HR, benefits administration, and time and talent management programs.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.paylocity.com/our…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

Alternatives Pricing

What is Bitrix24?

Bitrix24 is a local-hosted or cloud-based social intranet and project management platform that also contains core HR (HRMS) and CRM features. Bitrix24 also provides time management services and employee self-service.

What is BrightHR?

British company BrightHR offers a human resources platform which helps replace paper documents with edocuments and contains features for managing employee scheduling and ROTA, sick leave and tardiness, vacation and holiday shift planning, as well as providing employment law legal advice.

Return to navigation

Features

Human Resource Management

Organizing, tracking and providing instant access to critical employee data, job profiles, transfers, promotions, and benefits information.

7.8
Avg 7.9

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

8.1
Avg 8.0

Leave and Attendance Management

Streamlines communication between HR and employees and facilitates efficient management of employee leave including requisitions, approvals, balance calculation, and annual carry-forward.

7.6
Avg 8.1

Employee Self Service

Employee portal allowing employees to view and update their personal information.

8.3
Avg 8.1

Asset Management

Maintaining a record of assets such as laptops, pagers, cell phones, etc. issued to employees. Record typically includes asset type, number, serial number and date of issuance.

7.5
Avg 7.8

HR Reporting

Pre-built and custom reports, and integration with external data.

7
Avg 7.6

Onboarding

Employee onboarding is the process of orienting new hires to the social and performance aspects of their jobs so that they are able to function in their new roles as quickly as possible.

8.2
Avg 8.0

Performance and Goals

Goal alignment is the practice of ensuring that all employees have clearly defined goals in support of the overall corporate strategy.

7.4
Avg 8.2

Performance Management

Performance management is the process of ensuring employees meet pre-determined objectives and goals through regular check-ins and appraisals.

7.4
Avg 8.0

Succession Planning

Succession planning is the identification and development of internal employees with the potential to fill key business leadership positions in the company.

7.1
Avg 7.9

Recruiting / ATS

Recruiting or Applicant Tracking Software is software used to manage the recruitment process electronically by handling job postings, applicant status, resume management, etc.

7.7
Avg 7.8
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Paylocity?

Paylocity is a software platform designed to give HR pros a way to manage daily tasks in payroll, benefits, talent, and workforce management. The vendor states their technology is backed by a culture that cares about client success, and that they take the time to get to know customers and understand their needs. Paylocity works with users to identify the solutions that will benefit a business today, while paving the way to a better tomorrow.

Paylocity Features

Human Resource Management Features

  • Supported: Employee demographic data
  • Supported: Employment history
  • Supported: Job profiles and administration
  • Supported: Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
  • Supported: Benefits information
  • Supported: Organizational charting
  • Supported: Organization and location management
  • Supported: Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Support for external payroll vendors
  • Supported: Off-cycle/On-Demand payment
  • Supported: Payroll history for each employee
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Payroll tracking and auditing
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management
  • Supported: Statutory form management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

  • Supported: Approval workflow
  • Supported: Email notifications
  • Supported: Balance details
  • Supported: Travel absence management
  • Supported: Annual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

  • Supported: Employee login
  • Supported: View and generate pay and benefit information
  • Supported: Update personal information
  • Supported: Request time off
  • Supported: View job history
  • Supported: View company policy documentation
  • Supported: View company news and information
  • Supported: Employee recognition

Asset Management Features

  • Supported: Tracking of all physical assets
  • Supported: Asset issue and transfer management
  • Supported: Asset return
  • Supported: Warranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking

HR Reporting Features

  • Supported: Report builder
  • Supported: Pre-built reports
  • Supported: Ability to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

  • Supported: Performance plans
  • Supported: Performance improvement plans
  • Supported: Review status tracking
  • Supported: Review reminders
  • Supported: Multiple review frequency

Succession Planning Features

  • Supported: Create succession plans/pools
  • Supported: Candidate ranking
  • Supported: Candidate search
  • Supported: Candidate development

Onboarding Features

  • Supported: New hire portal
  • Supported: Manager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

  • Supported: Corporate goal setting
  • Supported: Individual goal setting
  • Supported: Line-of sight-visibility
  • Supported: Performance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

  • Supported: Job Requisition Management
  • Supported: Company Website Posting
  • Supported: Publish to Social Media
  • Supported: Job Search Site Posting
  • Supported: Duplicate Candidate Prevention
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Notifications and Alerts

Paylocity Videos

Paylocity - Care at the Core
Ritch Price Operational Controller, New England Authentic Eats 2,200 Employees

Paylocity Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone

Frequently Asked Questions

Paylocity provides 24/7 access to your online payroll and human resource data management. Paylocity offers highly customizable payroll functionality, as well as HR, benefits administration, and time and talent management programs.

Paycom, Paycor, and Paychex Flex are common alternatives for Paylocity.

Reviewers rate Direct deposit files highest, with a score of 8.9.

The most common users of Paylocity are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(1525)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 308)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I am the controller of the organization. I use Paylocity for Payroll and time keeping. I use Paylocity for journal entries in Quickbooks and to run reports for time on jobs. The business problems the product address is Payroll and time keeping. The scope of my use case is for these same purposes.
  • Payroll
  • Employee data source
  • Taxes
  • Customer Service is number one
  • Availability
  • Customer attention
  • Journal entry import to Quickbooks
  • Help resources are very complex and hard to find answers to problems
Paylocity makes it very easy to process payroll and have time keeping records for employees. Paylocity makes payroll taxes very easy. Paylocity has the potential for journal entry into QuickBooks, but I have not yet taken advantage of this feature as I heard from a friend that it was not useful. Paylocity does not completely remove the need for a bookkeeper or accountant.
Amy Cornwell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity primarily for Payroll and have started using it for expenses as well as training.
  • Payroll is very user friendly
  • Switching between modules is easy
  • The recruiting module is great
  • I would like to be able to create expense reports in administrator mode
  • I also wish I could easily map my own expense codes for the exporting into our accounting system.
  • Implementation team should also be more hands on, not just a guide to read
Paylocity is great for a medium-sized company and probably even a larger company. It is a complete HRIS system so everything can be streamlined instead of using different software or manually completing tasks. The onboarding feature is a great tool and I like how the employees are responsible for adding there own banking and tax information taking the responsibility off of HR.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I run the HRIS system for my company. I like the ease of Paylocity versus other HR systems. It is a little quirky at times but it isn't hard to figure out once you dig into it. Paylocity integrates nicely with our other benefit systems like Fidelity and Ease. One the other end, my employees are not totally impressed with the employee portal piece. It is a bit confusing for them but once I show them it is pretty easy to use.
  • Onboarding
  • E-verify
  • Integrating with other systems
  • Employee portal is not up to par
  • Some times the system glitches out
Onboarding is really easy for my new hires. It isn't to difficult to program but there are a few pieces that could use some work. When I make fillable pieces for onboarding I have to redo every page vs. making changes to one page. This is cumbersome and requires a lot more time.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Payroll processing, Tax filing, Benefits and FSA administration. We use Community for announcements and recognition, we do not have business problems that need addressing.
  • Payroll Processing
  • Reporting
  • Onboarding
  • Recruiting
  • Flexible Spending Account and Health Reimbursement account administration. Pulls from the wrong account occasionally, allows use of HRA funds for spouses who are not on the plans.
  • Tax reporting - we have received several late notices and fees that needed to be rectified.
  • Multiple Worksite report is inaccurate
I would recommend Paylocity for Payroll processing and the ease of recruiting and onboarding.
Tax filings could use improvements as well as the functionality of benefit enrollments, and FSA, HRA account administration.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I am the Payroll Specialist using the system for processing, tax reconciliations, GL downloads and journal entries and 941 reconciliations as well.
  • Reporting
  • Payroll processing
  • Taxing set-up verification, in particular local taxing requirements
For the size of our company, it works very well in terms of processing and reporting.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Employee files, payroll, EEO1, ACA, time and labor, reports, organization. Paylocity is a software that I am using pretty much at all times and helps make my job so much easier! Whether it is pulling timecard reports, or more specialized reports.
  • Payroll
  • Report options
  • Organization of employee information
  • Make the same options available on the mobile version and computer version. The updates have taken some things away, such as employees being able to update their taxes.
I wish it was easier to audit timecards. I had to do an audit in 2023 of timecards over a long period of time and it was difficult as a user to navigate that.
April 26, 2024

Excellent Product!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our organization uses Paylocity for all our payroll processing needs. This includes everything from scheduling and time clock management to payroll and tax payments. We also utilize the Paylocity software for our learning management system and employee reviews.
  • User friendly software
  • Quick response from support
  • No downtime
  • More consistent features between app and online portal
  • Customer service for end users, not just administrators
Paylocity is excellent for organization that have remote or hybrid employees. It is also an excellent program to keep all HR software needs (payroll, benefit information, onboarding, employee evaluations, learning management systems, etc) in one location.
April 16, 2024

HRM system that works

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity for all our time and attendance, payroll processing, compensation and performance management, recruiting and onboarding. We continue to build on these modules as well as dive deeper into learning, the use of community and data insights. Document Library has become a bigger use storing many of our employee employment documents for easy to find access. We have Paylocity handle our tax reporting, W2 filings, etc. If we have any questions, we are able to contact Paylocity and get answers. Our managers find Paylocity effective and efficient. Our employees utilize Paylocity for all their employment needs. The system is user friendly and easy to get around. Works very well for us.
  • Time and attendance
  • Payroll processing
  • Staying up with technology for all generations
  • Performance management
  • Compensation management
  • Recruiting
  • Onboarding makes it easier
  • Sometimes hard to get in touch with a representative
  • Getting too big missing the small stuff
Paylocity works well for our organization. Ease of use for our managers and employees is very important. Makes it easier for us in HR to manage. Time and attendance works very well. Efficient and effective. Payroll runs very smoothly. We appreciate the performance and compensation module for tracking employees performance, journals and getting feedback and annual compensation.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Time and Labor, HR and Payroll, Training, and Performance. I am the company's administrator. Anytime I have problems or questions, I reach out to my service person, who is always helpful.
  • Quick response to questions.
  • Updated state taxes.
  • Keeps us informed of changes/enhancements.
  • Floating holidays and vacation time does not always move over to payroll and to update the balance.
  • Mobile app does not always record punches.
Overall, the system works well, but it still has some glitches. I have to try the new pay entry system, but I hope it makes processing payroll easier.
April 15, 2024

Read Me

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Municipal Payroll-we have many different situations that arise during our payroll cycle, including union, non-union, military differential, workers' comp, holiday pay, overtime.
  • Reports are updated very fast
  • The website is well organized and the pages load very quickly
  • Information provided to employees is very thorough
  • tax set up is a little bit confusing
  • setting up new payroll codes is challenging
After the most recent update, I was unable to submit payroll due to a hold on certain employees' records. I called Paylocity and was immediately transferred to someone who could help me resolve the issue. She was well versed in the issue I was having and walked me through it. She stayed with me until I completely fixed the problem.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity to process Payroll and manage our Benefits and also Onboarding of new employees. Paylocity makes these processes work smoothly and seamless.
  • Payroll processing for Salaried and Hourly employees is a straightforward and easy process. Makes processing the payroll less stressful.
  • Time punching is flexible and easy for employees - they can use their phones and also their computers to punch. This works well with employees who work both in an office or at an offsite location.
  • Benefits were previously process by paper forms and the addition of being able to do it online within Paylocity has made this process easier for both the employees and the administration of benefits. Employees can always see what their benefit costs are what choices they are enrolled.
  • Onboarding allows us to send forms to new employees for them to complete on their own prior to starting and gets them set up in the payroll system for the first day start. It makes the process of following up easier and faster and allows us to make sure the forms are clearly filled out.
  • Payroll processing has changed - I still like to look at the details when reviewing just to make sure everything is correct. The new way only shows a portion of the paycheck calculation, so I have been going back into Pay Entry to review some of the staff that have exceptions.
  • In correcting punches - it's good that you are not able to overwrite an existing punch but sometimes that is what you need to do to make a correction, so currently you need to delete the bad punch before correcting the punch. Just sometimes slows the process down or maybe allow to revise a punch but that would probably violate an audit feature.
  • When signing in to look up sensitive information, like Social Security numbers and W-4 tax withholding, it will have me sign in not once but twice to see the information - not sure why I need to sign in twice in a row to prove I have access.
For our company - we have staff that work at remote locations and the punching allows for them to use their phones when they do not have access to a computer to punch in/out. This works well for us. I am not sure where it would not be suited well - it seems to be a flexible platform that can cover a number of different business operations well.
April 12, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity for the total HR experience - talent acquisition, onboarding, payroll, benefits enrollment, COBRA administration, FSA administration, and HCM
  • processes payroll easily and accurately
  • accurate data maintenance
  • outstanding customer service
  • state tax registration
  • It is difficult to customize reports
  • time & labor balances require manual intervention
Paylocity is very user-friendly on both the administrative and employee side. Payroll batches are easy to edit, if necessary. The customer service is outstanding; there is always someone knowledgeable available to assist - immediately. (unlike ADP where you could be on hold for hours.) I am happy to hear that as our organization grows, Paylocity can service more than 1,000 employees. As I mentioned previously, the cumbersome tasks are the ability to create custom reports with the data and in the format needed and the accuracy of time off balances.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I work at a nonprofit organization with close to 300 employees. We utilize Paylocity to track timecards as well as leave balances. I am a tertiary user myself and work closely with the Payroll staff.
  • Relatively user friendly
  • Tax document integration
  • Single sign on (SSO) capability
  • Mobile app access + remote clock in/out option
  • User dashboard
  • Wait times to receive customer service
  • Lack of customer support knowledge regarding labor laws for California
  • Pricing
Having used similar software previously, Paylocity is the best option for our agency at this time. With that being said, there's room for improvement, particularly when it comes to customer service and specifically, labor law knowledge/built in controls for California. Paylocity is well suited for use by Payroll and HR teams as this software really integrates both. Certain payroll calculations may have to be completed in an outside system such as Excel.
March 31, 2024

Paylocity Rocks

Hadi Azhar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity for HR & Payroll, Time & Labor. HR Performance and goals. General Ledger. Onboarding.
  • Payroll and taxes
  • Time and Labor
  • Onboarding
  • The new Payroll system, i think more training required of more good videos required.
  • I felt that when we try to search employee in detail view something they just not display anything
  • Employee search needs to be improved
It is well suited for business. very user friendly and quick response .
March 30, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I am a heavy user of Paylocity. We have 55 FEINs, the environment is very user friendly for both Admins and Employees. Payroll is quick and easy. The reporting functions are amazing and makes it easy to get useful information out to managers and CEOs
  • Reporting
  • Ease of Use
  • Onboarding
  • Recruiting
  • GL Management
  • Tax Management
  • Company Set Management
  • Company Set Auditing and Updating
I love data insights and the ability to easily customize dynamic reports. I do not like that when having to update something, it usually results in having to repeat the action 55 times because it is not available to update on a Company Set level. I also wish we could have access to update our own GLS. Also, Tax issues in onboarding have recently become a pain point for us.
March 30, 2024

I love Paylocity!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Paylocity is our HRIS system. IT is used to give us a single sign on solution for Payroll, benefits, 401k, onboarding, offboarding, PTO management. It helps us have a next generation platform that we can use to onboard and offboard employees, with a single point of entry for the entire employee experience.
  • Great mobile app
  • easy to use employee interface
  • terrific HRIS enrollment solution
  • Sometimes service responses are slow in quarter 4
  • A bit difficult to find where I can update my tax withholdings
  • Not always intuitive to find PTO balances
Paylocity is a great HRIS solution for groups that have about 100 employees. They are very engaged and provide a thorough implementation process. I appreciate the process and getting to know the service team. I always know that if the process is not done correctly up front, there will be issues down the road, and Paylocity is committed to an excellent set-up so that we don't have a "garbage in garbage out" situation. I am very happy! It's hard to find hands on assistance when you only have 100 employees, but Paylocity did it.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use the system for payroll and HR.
  • Onboarding
  • Payroll
  • HR
  • Customer Service
  • Account Reps
  • Time to complete an issue
Paylocity is well suited for small businesses. The customer service in need of improvement via phone call and email.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity basically for keep track of our employees Personal information, hire date, salary and then also for running payroll. Payroll consists of the time sheets as well as the processing of payroll each pay period. We are able to keep track of certain cost codes in order to bill grants as well as time off etc.
  • Customer Service
  • Ease of submitting payroll taxes
  • Supervisor Approval is clear and concise
  • Accrued time is difficult to track and understand
  • Sometimes the same information is different on different pages/modules
  • more one on one time especially during implementation
We have had AWESOME customer service. If there is EVER anything that I cannot understand or anything that I haven't learned, etc. the service team is ALWAYS ready to help.

I think that there are SO many hands in each account and set up that a person doesn't know about at implementation that it would be nice to know if there is a way for all of us to meet at one time or warm hand offs instead of just emails that come to the Administration individual(s) saying this is who I am and this is what I need!
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Paylocity is used for HR / Payroll/ Time & Labor, onboarding.
  • The onboarding module is easy to use and modify as needed. I really like the availability to use different Event Packets for the various types of employees.
  • We recently added additional work states and Paylocity has been easy to work with to add the various different taxing requirements based on work location.
  • The availability of the system to hold various onboarding documents to include training, certifications, etc. is great for our organization to track renewal of credentials, etc.
  • I feel like the quality of the service reps at Paylocity is varied, some are highly qualified and some not as much.
  • At times the new product enhancements are not communicated clearly. It seems that sometimes I login to the system and changes have been made to the product that I was not aware of.
I would have no problem recommending Paylocity for all aspects of Time/Labor and payroll processing, taxing, on-boarding, etc. The reports are robust and easy to work with as well. I am not as familiar with the Performance Management or Rewards/ Recognition modules.
March 29, 2024

Paylocity review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity for Payroll, timekeeping, COBRA, FSA, Employee Navigator coordination.
  • Time keeping audits
  • Onboarding
  • East of submitting FSA claims
  • Tracking PTO
  • Faster implementation of PTO for next year
Payroll is so simple and easy a monkey could do it.
I cannot think of any scenarios where it is less appropriate.
March 29, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity for recruiting and it has very definitely streamlined the process for us. Although it is still in process, we are integrating Paylocity with our benefit platform which will provide us with total automation during our open enrollment.
  • Customer Service is always helpful with little wait time.
  • Always improving; for example, the recent change to processing payroll. So much easier.
  • Onboarding makes it simple and the fact that the company can personalize the messaging to new hires allows us to make it more personalized.
  • Having an assigned account manager regardless of company size is definitely a plus.
  • The Knowledge based articles are sometimes frustrating because they have so many other links embedded in them, it can be challenging to just figure out the specific issue needing to be addressed.
  • Finding specific reports can be difficult because they don't always seem user friendly and customer service have the same challenges.
  • Paylocity is so robust it can be overwhelming, and I don't feel like we maximize everything available to us.
  • I have received complaints from managers about the time off request approval process. They say the approval request could be much easier if it linked directly to the place where they need to approve instead of being a two-step process and they find it confusing.
Having state mandated training as part of onboarding is really helpful for tracking and ensuring legally required training is assigned timely to new hires.

I can't think of any scenario where it isn't appropriate.
March 29, 2024

Paylocity

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Time keeping, paid days off, full payroll services.
Integrated with Employee Navigator for benefits and deductions.
272 W-2s per year, 175-193 paid each payroll.
You produce our W-2s and 1095 forms annually and we use your reports for retirement plan compliance and our EEO data.
We use electronic onboarding, recruiting (connects to indeed) and communications in the recruiting process. We attach forms and use onboarding saving of forms as electronic personnel files.
  • [...] provides excellent administrative, configuring and consultation support
  • [...] return time on answers is within reasonable limits (24-48 hours in 95% of cases)
  • Great EEO report
  • VERY fast integration with NAVIGATOR
  • Good recruiting module to allow applicants to be saved...and application to be customized ++.
  • Historically (with other employers and a different service team) would receive inaccurate answers, vague answers or had customer service consultants who were not timely - would not get back - and were very hard to trust answers and follow through.
  • Differences between the employee user interface on the App and desktop (browser) applications is confusing to me and to employees.
  • There was a substantial phone app change in about September/October 2023 that I was unaware was happening. (Maybe I missed something, but we were all surprised).
  • I would like there to be capacity for two supervisors to be able to proof and approve certain timesheets when the employee works for more than one cost center. We have to muck around behind the scenes due to only one supervisor approving timesheets for multiple cost centers
  • Would love the supervisor AND the "alternate supervisor email person" to BOTH receive an email when someone requests time off
  • Separately, would like the alternate supervisor email to be notified if requested time off is not approved. (we use this feature to have the alternate supervisor email go to the person who arranges substitute teachers for our school, and when PDO or vacation is rejected/not approved/ cancelled, we may already have a sub for the day unless we are sure to close the loop.)
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity to process payroll for multiple companies. Paylocity simplifies the payroll tax reporting process by handling everything.
  • Payroll reports
  • Tax reporting
  • Year end w2's
  • Contacting the account representative can be hard
  • The Paylocity FSA website is not user-friendly
Paylocity makes setting up a new company easy by the way they handle the implementation process.
March 27, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity for our HR and Payroll needs. It allows us to run reports that help us gauge our business needs, it also helps us with the HR onboarding process which can be cumbersome, but because it is a prepopulated event it makes it so much easier to onboard someone and know that you are checking all the boxes.
  • Payroll
  • Time and Attendance
  • Reporting
  • Human Resources
  • Being able to run longer then 2 years of historical data
  • Having and HR Dashboard like Bamboo does
It's a little more cumbersome than Bamboo when it comes to some of the HR functionality around benefits, being able to utilize it more for an HR data center where I can go and get HR reports, see uploaded information into personnel files and functionality is ok but I see this more as a time and attendance portal and less of an overall system, it would be nice if it had some of the same features and competitors.
David Olthoff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I am the technical recruiter for [...], so I use Paylocity for recruiting purposes. It starts from when they apply, then dispositioning them in Paylocity. Whether they are qualified or not, etc. I typically get their resume from Paylocity when they upload it there. They are also able to upload certifications, etc.
  • Payroll
  • Self-service for employees
  • Recruiting piece/ATS could be improved.
  • A candidate being able to save progress on their application is really a must as they can't leave and come back to their application without having to restart, i.e. if they need to get a phone number for a reference for example.
  • Could use more room in entering the job for internal notes.
  • Quirky when doing cut and paste of job details that leaves spaces that aren't in the document being pasted.
As mentioned, Paylocity is great as a payroll service for getting employees paid and also for them to get information using their self-service. Definitely could be improvements in the ATS/recruiting piece of the plaform. Paylocity is a payroll first platform and recruiting is an add-on, so the functionality is not as good as it is with stand-along ATS.
Return to navigation