Act-On Reviews

371 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (201-215 of 215)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2014

Solid Program with Great Potential

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Monitoring lead score
  • Sending notifications to sales people when a new lead comes in
  • The functionality isn't as straight forward as it could be. The naming of some options/settings is not intuitive and doesn't always mean what it sounds like.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2014

Satisfied First-Time Customer

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use: Act-On is very user friendly, and it is fairly easy to become familiar with the way the platform works. The automated program builder is especially user friendly.
  • Customer service: Before and after purchasing Act-On we received great customer service from our sales rep, who is still in touch with us today, and our customer success manager.
  • Webinar Integration: The integration with WebEx is great, so that we can promote and measure the attendance of our webinars with ease.
  • Reporting: The reporting capabilities are not as robust as we would like
  • Automated program flexibility: Although the automated programs are very useful, since they are so user friendly we've found that they are not capable of advanced intelligence that we would like to experiment with
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2014

Easy to Pick-Up, a Rewarding Challenge when Mastered

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to understand reporting on response rates for emails.
  • Incredible integration with CRM, specifically Salesforce.
  • Easy to build emails, landing pages, and forms; all of which help you to engage clients more readily.
  • Open rates in reports can be a little suspect; but that's not necessarily the fault of Act-On. Open rates are determined when a client downloads images in an email, which is an industry standard.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2014

It's simple; client service is everything...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The real highlight of our experience is working with Jacob Monserrat as our primary point of contact. Jacob is extremely well-versed in the capabilities and functionality of Act-On. Our business is built on client service, so Jacob's involvement in our implementation and use of Act-On has been very much appreciated. I would highly recommend Act-On to anyone looking for a great client service experience. They seem to hire and train people who place a high value on making a process simple without dumbing it down.
  • I wish it was a little more consistent in dealing with the professional services (consulting) department.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2014

Review of Marketing Automation Platform

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Email campaigns and landing pages.
  • List management.
  • Marketing automation - based upon behavioral triggers.
  • Analytics and insights.
  • Responsive design - optimized for mobile devices.
  • Social media scheduling and publishing across multiple channels.
  • User interface.
  • Set-up and implementation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2014

At Least the Support is Good...

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Timely and friendly support staff who are generally knowledgable. They are very responsive and helpful.
  • Constantly making additions/revisions to the platform. They roll out updates pretty frequently, though this is somewhat to be expected.
  • The sync with Salesforce is pretty strong, and they have a nice app that works within the CRM to identify web activities the customer has undertaken.
  • Platform performance. Slow, laggy, and don't you dare hit "Refresh" or you'll be pushed back to the home screen. Often, when editing landing pages or emails, edits won't save or will be lost if you leave them idle for more than a few minutes.
  • WYSIWIG editor. It's so bad, I don't know why they even bother. We had been using Act-On templates and modifying them, which was a mistake. They don't preview correctly, and don't provide support for responsive templates. If you select them, you're better off getting web designers to write everything from scratch.
  • Overall solution. I've just been very frustrated across the entire platform. As I write this, I can't even access the system. I have several support tickets in place. It's made my instance of Google Analytics look like a mess because the URL parameters that it generates are unpredictable and unwieldy. Act-On feels clunky, and it looks like it was made for 2004. Clearly a budget buy, and nothing more.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2013

Act-On: Great Base for Start-Ups and Small Companies

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integration opportunities are helpful and work well: Salesforce.com CRM, GoToWebinar, website Google Analytics tracking integration
  • Automated programs are easy to build and very flexible.
  • You can't beat the price!
  • Landing pages and forms are particularly hard to design, with no templates available. Unlike Marketo you cannot embed a form directly into a landing page (must use an iframe) and you cannot use absolute positioning to place objects.
  • The Lead Scoring mechanism is not very advanced, cannot change score based on negative activities (did not open, did not visit) and cannot change score based on custom fields filled out on forms.
  • Unsure of deliverability due to shared IP servers and poor sending practices of other customers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2013

Marketing Automation That Isn't Overkill for Your Department

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It helps us generate leads and help nurture them so we can help better qualify them for sales whether that be through monitoring lead scores or education through email campaigns.
  • The inability to create real custom forms is a bit troublesome and could be improved.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2013

Would like more form customizability.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Act-On is easy to use and offers so many powerful tools beyond just email campaigns. My sales team loves the lead scoring and activity history because they can really evaluate a lead's level of interest before having to pick up the phone. My executive team loves the high-level reporting that shows campaign effectiveness beyond the first email because it includes subsequent activities including web visits, form submissions, webinar attendance and more. I love Act-On because it has greatly reduced my workload in terms of manual intervention with campaigns and data management between platforms.
  • We have not found anything lacking from Act-On's included features. If I were to create a wish list it would include greater customizability of form layout and styling without having to upload custom HTML stationery. I would also like to see the out-of-the-box reporting be more customizable.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2013

Great, but CRM integration could be better.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Act-On handles a content marketing strategy to perfection. Deploying emails with white papers for prospects to download (among other content types) is simple and not time consuming. It makes a marketing "team" of one be able to handle all the details of a complicated campaign and lead scoring process -- without the complicated interface.
  • I feel Act-On could integrate better with my CRM. Specifically - it uses a report to generate the basic building blocks for my email campaigns. Other than that, it's performed very well, and the Act-On dev team is always cranking out new, useful tools.
  • I'd also like to see multiple lead scoring models. I have a manual workaround to produce a lifetime lead score.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 15, 2013

First-rate tool. Excellent client service.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The streamlined platform puts first-rate marketing tools at our fingertips, making campaigns and programs easier and faster. We integrate our CRM, webinar management and other tools so our analytics are accessible. with one click.
  • Our company would benefit from more detailed ROI reports for offline campaigns in Salesforce.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2013

Fantastic product has really made an impact.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Act-on has been a revolutionary product for us as it has given us transparency into the top of our funnel. We've been able to fine tune our value propositions and marketing messaging to learn what each segment of our prospect base identifies with and then turn this into actionable leads for our sales team. Through the lead score process we know which of our prospects are responding to our marketing and that allows us to contact them and engage them in further development with the ultimate objective of moving them to a sales ready lead.
  • The product is fantastic at mass email marketing, webinar integration, social media marketing, CRM integration and providing transparency into your sales and marketing funnel
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2013

Highly recommended for email automation.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Email automation. This is so easy to use. We've been using for about a year now and it's very intuitive and easy to set up campaigns. Segmentation requires a little learning bit of a learning curve, but it's not hard. I was walked through how to do it by an Act-On trainer.
  • Visitor tracking. This tells us who visited the website. Not just the person's name, but also the fact that they visited this page and read this content, and are interested in this product, etc. We relay this data to the sales team so they can they follow-up. We also use Google Analytics, which is useful, but does not provide us with this level of granularity.
  • Integration with salesforce is seamless. This works very well indeed.
  • The HTML editor is a little wonky - we have to mess with it quite a bit as content doesn't always look the way we want it to. IT has a WSYWIG editor which is fine for most things, but if we want to write custom HTML for more complex templates, it doesn't work well. The tool does let you write in HTML, but it doesn't always work very well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2013

Tracking and analytics spot-on.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The tracking and analytics capabilities are spot-on and it is very useful for large marketing lists and for interfacing with Salesforce. (We don't actually use Saleforce however - we use a custom CRM system). Act-On helped a lot in building a simple integration to our custom CRM.
  • Tracking is particularly helpful for our ad-word campaigns. Act-On allows us to capture information even if someone doesn't enter specific data. Analytics provides us better data than we would get from Google.
  • The product does not emphasize all of the functionality clearly enough at times. we struggle in the beginning in not knowing exactly what the product could do which hampered our initial campaigns. Training is too rushed and does not cover all the details you need to know. You really need to spend a week to 10 days using the system to really understand all the functionality before going live.
  • For example, we struggled with email templates. Their training module on this (forms) was very light. After that, they added a lot more functionality and variation and templates. Although we were not aware of it, one month in, they had added many more templates which I was not aware of and which would have given us some of the template flexibility I needed. Also, we didn't even realize that it was possible to design our own templates by writing HTML directly.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (108)
7.4
Dynamic content (88)
6.9
Ability to test dynamic content (88)
7.1
Landing pages (104)
7.5
A/B testing (91)
7.2
Mobile optimization (99)
8.1
Email deliverability reporting (108)
8.1
List management (107)
8.4
Triggered drip sequences (84)
8.3
Lead nurturing (100)
8.3
Lead scoring and grading (100)
8.1
Data quality management (99)
7.1
Automated sales alerts and tasks (91)
7.7
Calendaring (8)
6.8
Event/webinar marketing (72)
8.2
Social sharing and campaigns (66)
6.6
Social profile integration (60)
6.1
Dashboards (105)
7.1
Standard reports (108)
7.4
Custom reports (80)
6.3
API (63)
7.0
Role-based workflow & approvals (67)
7.6
Customizability (85)
7.1
Integration with Salesforce.com (62)
8.3
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (32)
8.4
Integration with SugarCRM (26)
8.8

About Act-On

Act-On is an adaptive marketing platform that drives personal and purposeful multi-channel marketing. We spark better inbound and outbound marketing, enable a tighter alignment with sales, and turn your data into substance you can act-on.

Our customers range from start-ups and fast-growing young companies to well-established enterprise institutions; from marketing teams in small and medium-sized businesses, to independent teams in large enterprise corporations. They use Act-On in many different ways to realize their marketing objectives. What’s the one common denominator? The success they achieve with Act-On.

Categories:  Marketing Automation

Act-On Features

Email & Online Marketing Features
Has featureWYSIWYG email editor
Has featureDynamic content
Has featureAbility to test dynamic content
Has featureLanding pages
Has featureA/B testing
Has featureMobile optimization
Has featureEmail deliverability reporting
Has featureList management
Has featureTriggered drip sequences
Lead Management Features
Has featureLead nurturing
Has featureLead scoring and grading
Has featureData quality management
Has featureAutomated sales alerts and tasks
Campaign Management Features
Does not have featureCalendaring
Has featureEvent/webinar marketing
Social Media Marketing Features
Has featureSocial sharing and campaigns
Has featureSocial profile integration
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureRole-based workflow & approvals
Has featureCustomizability
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM
Has featureIntegration with SugarCRM
Additional Features
Has featureEmail Marketing
Has featureLead Scoring
Has featureWebsite Visitor Tracking
Has featureAutomated Programs (Trigger & Drip Campaigns)
Has featureSocial Publishing
Has featureReporting & Analytics
Has featureSEO
Has featureForms
Has featureEvents & Webinars

Act-On Screenshots

Act-On Integrations

Act-On Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Professional$900per month (starts at 2,500 active contacts)
Enterprise$2,000per month ( starts at 2,500 active contacts)

The Professional package starts at 2,500 active contacts, 3 marketing users, 50 sales users and 30,000 API calls per day. The Enterprise package starts at 2,500 active contacts, 6 marketing users, 100 sales users and 30,000 API calls per day. Annual contract required.

Act-On Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
29%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
67%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
4%

Act-On Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Act-On Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Available Internationally
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Danish, Swedish, Norwegian, Finnish, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Hindi, Thai, Arabic, Hebrew