TOPdesk Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
267 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-50 of 127)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
July 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Topdesk as a service management tool to support the organization and to have one tool where the IT department can do all administrative work.
  • Single source of data for administrative purposes
  • Quick tickets are real time savers!
  • Showing relations between objects.
  • No WYSIWYG editor, real pain in the ass.
  • Building configurations of different objects can consume relatively a lot of time
  • Search engine can be optimized
Your organization needs to fit in the framework that Topdesk provides, we didn't get a proper image of the framework beforehand so we made a lot of (needed) changes in the organization to make Topdesk work. With these changes in places it works like a charm.
Support knows what they are talking about and have a quick response time!
Read this authenticated review
September 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for logging incidents, questions, problems, and operational tasks. The departments that use TOPdesk are IT, central helpdesk, HR, Finance, Communications, Innovations, Healthcare administration, and some project groups. Except for the Facilities department, they use another application for their work called Wish. All healthcare personnel within our organization are authorized to use our self-service portal.
  • Service
  • Saas
  • Easy to manage
  • Innovation
  • Personalization
In our organization, we use another application for facilities management. This department does not think TOPdesk is suitable for their work. But TOPdesk is well suited for logging incidents for other departments.
The support department of TOPdesk is excellent. I can always call them and almost every time my question is answered on the phone immediately. They have a lot of knowledge of TOPdesk.
TOPdesk is easy to use as a service management tool.
You don't need to have a lot of IT knowledge to make it a good working program for you.
Read this authenticated review
September 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's a great way to manage incidents and changes. Also, a great product to keep track of a CMDB which makes it all very organized.
  • Very well organized for incident and change management
  • Great way to manage a CMDB
  • It's a bit hard to find all the features if you're an admin and new to the product. Could be a little bit more specific
I can't imagine myself in a support environment without TopDesk. It's plain but very user-friendly.
I haven't really spoken to the support side of TopDesk but they are alright. Questions are answered quickly enough so I have no problem with it at all.
Read this authenticated review
June 03, 2020
Jorrit Keus | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use TOPdesk for the calls at IT/IM, and our wish is to expand this. We will use TOPdesk so that our employees have one place where they can go with all their questions.
  • Comes up with suggestions when creating an incident
  • Being able to follow your incident
  • One portal for all your questions
  • As far as we are concerned, the scrum board needs attention. It is not possible to add documents, and tacs.

TOPdesk is a very good tool for creating and registering and reporting incidents. The scrum board deserves attention. It is nice to accommodate as much everything as possible in an application, unfortunately, this is not yet a fully-fledged instrument.

We hesitated to use Profit (Afas) to register incidents because this application was already present. However, this was too limited in functionality for us. The forms that can be created in the SSP (Self Service Portal) are often much more flexible.

The start of the implementation didn't go smoothly. There were some difficulties between the consultant from TOPdesk and the employee who would do the software setup. Their working method did not match.

TOPdesk solved this very well. After the rocky start, we went through a smooth implementation.

Read Jorrit Keus's full review
March 12, 2020
Jesse Hertel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using TopDesk for just over 1 year and it has been a great product. Head and shoulders above other products in its field. With the help of the TopDesk support team, we were able to replace our previous ticketing system with this product and it has worked very well. We have not run into any issues that could not be resolved with a quick phone call to the support team. Thank you to Lovlyn and all the others who helped us to get this program running exactly how we wanted it. It is a top-shelf product, with an excellent support and implementation team.
  • Easy for end users.
  • Detailed audit reporting on tickets.
  • Great support team.
  • Great implementation team.
  • We use SSRS for producing reports as the built in reporting system is not quite as granular as our admin team wanted.
We have been using TopDesk for just over 1 year, and it has fit our needs perfectly.
The support team and the implementation team have both been amazing. Any issues that we have encountered have been resolved right away by the support team. I couldn't ask for anything more.
Read Jesse Hertel's full review
March 09, 2020
Jurgen Bravenboer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Topdesk to track and trace incidents for all our end-users, they are spread over multiple organizations. Also, our IT contacts can track all the incidents we work on for their end-users. In this way, they have the opportunity to stay up-to-date all the time if they want and like to. Every month we send out incident reports created by Topdesk.
  • Automatically reads designated mail folder and creates incidents from this; this function is saving us a lot of time entering incidents. In this way, we can respond much quicker to incident calls.
  • Escalation of incidents. We use this a lot, because we don't want our servicedesk to be occupied with stuff they cannot solve in a fashionable time. In this way customers are getting the correct response much quicker.
  • Report engine. Creating reports is really nice and you can make them the way you want them. This gives us the flexibility to create reports with all the necessary information for our customers.
  • Give best practice tips when designing your Topdesk environment, in this way you won't run into discussions with a Topdesk consultant about the way you run things!
  • Make it easier to design some work forms for jobs you do for customers and let them sign off.
  • Get more functionality available as an add-on, there are examples where you need to buy enterprise license just to get a hold on some of those features.
Topdesk is very useful in an organization that has its own IT department, it's possible to run almost everything from Topdesk even beyond IT related stuff. If used as a managed service provider (like we do) expect to run into some issues that you need to think about before starting with Topdesk, It will work great, but not out of the box!
Topdesk has always been very helpful with all questions we've had. When new functionality is introduced there is always a contact moment. Support incidents are always communicated clearly; they use their own product for this (of course!). Topdesk support has a very nice self-service portal with several standard incidents and procedures. We had some discussions about an approach where customers will be able to build their own functional Topdesk environment, the account managers are always helpful and understanding about this, so we've had a very good experience with the Topdesk staff so far.
Read Jurgen Bravenboer's full review
March 04, 2020
Derek Traise | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is currently used as an IT support and ticketing system for all of our schools, school support offices, and the main board office. We started using TOPdesk about 3 years ago. TOPdesk has made a huge improvement in how we manage support and communicate with our staff. We have a dedicated support desk that manages all staff tickets through TOPdesk. Tickets are then assigned to the appropriate operator or group. This ensures tickets are handled correctly and efficiently.
  • Managing the support flow
  • Ticket notifications and communication
  • Flexibility for organization planning
  • Top-notch support
  • Could use better tutorials or a reference for more complex change requests
  • Had some trouble with the API slowing down the SaaS server--too many hits
TOPdesk is suited for a medium to large size organization with a high volume of support needs. It is an excellent way to provide support for end-users who do not want to avoid long interruptions. Placing a ticket is easy to do, and follow-up ticket management is very efficient.
An example of excellent TOPdesk support is our migration to Saas from a local install. We were provided checkpoints and a detailed technical meeting to make the migration go seamlessly. We had one dedicated contact for any questions and guidance. Support has been almost immediate, and they will work closely with you until the issue is resolved.
Read Derek Traise's full review
February 04, 2020
Crystal Ruiz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are slowly using TOPdesk across our organization. We've begun with 6-7 departments initially, and as the other departments' ticket system licenses begin to expire, the idea would be to transition them to TOPdesk.

TOPdesk is fulfilling a number of needs within our organization. First, TOPdesk gives us a centralized "help" location within our company so our employees can have a "one-stop shop" for all of their support needs. Secondly, TOPdesk is providing a centralized knowledge base for our departments and specific products for our employees. Lastly, TOPdesk offers an array of modules that many departments can utilize and share information or assets via.
  • Large knowledge base repository that is searchable from basically anywhere, offers suggestions to the users, and can support images and gifs.
  • Interdepartmental workflows--tasks can start in one department but end up triggering activities in tasks for other departments (employee on-boarding, for instance)
  • Because there is so much functionality built in, the UI can look a little clunky for the operators.
TOPdesk can handle different workflows and meets the individual needs of each department during set-up, unlike some products that have a "one-and-done" set-up. TOPdesk is definitely most useful with multiple departments utilizing and collaborating in the different modules and for a large body of users.
TOPdesk would likely be overkill for a smaller organization that can probably get by using a less robust system.
Our account manager, Pamela, has been phenomenal during the entire process; conducting dozens of demos for our team and management, walking us through the process from purchase to implementation, and answering countless questions. Jeff, our implementation guru, has been amazing as well, and his patience and insights have been invaluable to all of our departments.
Read Crystal Ruiz's full review
January 29, 2020
TERESA MANN | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk across our organization. It started with just our IT department using it and the word quickly spread about its cost-effectiveness and ease of use. Now AR, AP, HR, CRM are all using it. All of these departments service all 10K associates. Before TOPdesk all of these departments were working out of their email boxes. This has streamlined all of it.
  • Implementation was super easy and they trained us during this time. We were totally self-sufficient after implementation, meaning we could configure the system without calling TOPdesk for help.
  • The Self Service Portal is my favorite part. We have tried to push adoption of a SSP in the past but until TOPdesk, it never took off. It is so user friendly associates would rather use it then call our help desk.
  • You can only drill down to 2 categories. I would like 3.
TOPdesk is well suited anywhere you need tracking and ease of use related to issues, requests or changes.
The entire experience from the first contact through implementation to now has been stellar.
Read TERESA MANN's full review
January 28, 2020
Jim Scott | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used primarily for IT incident management and change request management. We also use if for some finance functions, including processing requests for new and changed vendors. On the applications side, it forms the core of our SAP change management function, including formal change control processes, audit support, prioritization, and resource management.
  • Change management - Detailed activity management with workflow.
  • Incident management - Simple, user-friendly interface, multiple pathways.
  • More functionality around resolution codes and status.
  • Ability to switch from simple to complex changes more easily.
TOPdesk is well suited to incident management and change management in any support scenario.
It is also well suited for use for finance functions where internal controls are required (like vendor set-up and change). I haven't used some of the other functionalities yet, but expect it would be useful in other areas as well.
TOPdesk support is excellent. Whether it's just getting guidance on how best to set up use functionality, assistance in customizing features or leaning about additional modules, the service is professional, prompt and cost-effective. We've invested in customized training events to improve operator effectiveness, consulting services to evaluate new functionality, and technical support to assist with Power BI integrations over the last 12 months, and every experience was pleasant and productive.
Read Jim Scott's full review
January 07, 2020
Bo Ring | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk to track issues in engineering and information technologies. It is used to track the hiring process for human resources and information technologies. Is used to track information on vehicles. It is also used in conjunction with project management.
  • The tracking of issues is excellent.
  • Data entry is fast and logical.
  • Time tracking is very good.
  • It desperately needs the ability to search multiple categories at the same time.
  • The export tool is very weak and complicated.
  • The ability to edit self-service forms if they are incorrect would be very nice.
I find topdesk very well-suited for break fix situations. It allows me to organize and prioritize very well for those.

It does a very good job of repetitive change management. It is much weaker in off-the-cuff changes for tracking
Support is usually very good once you get them to understand your actual question. I have had many support issues where they give me an answer and close the ticket, but the answer is not what I am needing.
Read Bo Ring's full review
January 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk across the whole school district for all IT-related issues and questions. We were using an older IT ticket system that neither our users nor IT employees liked. When researching ticket solutions TOPdesk was a no-brainer. TOPdesk has a great web self-service portal for our users that is easy, customizable, and with a useful knowledge base. On the back end, TOPdesk is simple and effective for our IT employees' daily work.
  • Easy and simple self-service portal
  • Great automation for workflows, tickets, change management, etc.
  • User sync with Azure AD
TOPdesk is a great product that fits our needs. It is easy to implement. On-boarding with TOPdesk project managers and support was great! We have no complaints. I have worked with TOPdesk on small issues here and there, and they have been very responsive to it all.
On-boarding with TOPdesk was a great experience. Implementation of tickets and self-service required little effort. Getting users synced up and able to enter tickets was easy to do.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
Roel Assenmacher | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used by the entire organization to record, manage, and track incidents. It is used internally for (e.g.) IT and Facility Management, but we also record all questions and incidents from citizens. TOPdesk lets us track every call from start to end and lets us easily collaborate across all departments.
  • It is very easy to use. Explaining it to a new user takes 15 minutes at most.
  • The great API features make integrating other applications a piece of cake.
  • Modular build, and easily customizable, so you only see what you use.
  • Fast and reliable.
  • Its mobile usability could be better. Simple features are missing, like adding photos to an existing call.
  • The self-service portal should be a little bit more customizable.
TOPdesk is well suited for IT, facility, and reservation and asset management. It doesn't matter how many users or incidents you need to register. It is less suited for complex asset management. Linking items, and building up an item from multiple other items is difficult.
They always use their time to give a fitting solution to your problem, and their level of knowledge is outstanding. They respond quickly, and no questions stay unanswered,
Read Roel Assenmacher's full review
October 29, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using TOPdesk for many years in our company. We started out using the incident module and over the years added support for self-service and the change management module. Before TOPdesk we didn't have any tool specifically, so TOPdesk brought a much-needed overview of all incidents and changes. Nowadays it is vital, also for our compliance needs.
  • Cross-referencing tickets is easy by just typing the incident number.
  • There are many reports available out of the box.
  • Single Sign-On using SAML makes it easy and safer to log on.
  • Almost inherent in these products is the sheer volume of forms. TOPdesk doesn't make it easier compared to other products (but also not harder)
  • Probably the version we use (on-prem), but there is a firefox issue where the "x" (lower case) key does not work in the actions field. The capital works fine.
If you need IT Service Management with Incident or changes, this is one of the big names. Of course, nowadays ServiceNow is the hot thing, but if you do not want that for any reason, TOPdesk is a good alternative. The advantage in ServiceNow is the big volume of integrations available where TOPdesk is lagging, especially if you run an on-prem version.
TOPdesk has a good support team and a good Knowledge-Base. Also important is that there is a user community where you also can ask your questions and probably get your answers.
Read this authenticated review
April 11, 2019
Edith Baijens | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Lesli uses TOPdesk Lite for incident management: all IT-related calls are registered in TOPdesk. In this way, we are able to follow up on the calls and monitor them. The reports give us an idea of the number of calls, but also of the area in which the most calls come in.
  • TOPdesk Lite is easy to implement.
  • The Dashboard shows at a glance how many calls are open, which categories these calls relate to and how the calls are received.
  • In addition, there is a multitude of reports available to help you find out for yourself what you would like to know from your data.
  • The mail import functionality saves a lot of work: by sending all calls to one email address, they are automatically imported into TOPdesk Lite.
  • One of the improvements I would like to have is the ability to make my own reports in TOPdesk Lite. At the moment I can use (quite a number) of pre-defined reports. But for the report I really want, I still have to export the data to Excel and create in Excel my TOPdesk report.
  • For Topdesk Lite, I would like to have the possibility (at the start) to do the import of old calls that were registered in another system (or in Excel, in my case) myself. The only way it can be done now is to let Topdesk do/make the import itself (and this means extra costs). Also, the template for People (Pesonen) could do with more instructions.
TOPdesk Lite is an excellent investment for a small organization: a complete incident management system at very low costs.
Starting from pre-sales, my experiences with TOPdesk Support are very positive: Job Van Grieken (account manager) told me about hte possiblity of TOPdesk Lite, the onboarding was fast and efficient. The only little thing that went wrong (incorrect email address) was corrected immediately. Until now, I experienced once that that the SAAS environment was unavailable. This was solved very fast and the information about the unavailibility was appropriate.
Read Edith Baijens's full review
March 21, 2019
Marcio Vizoli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company, we use TOPdesk in technical customer support and also in any Customer Service department. TDPdesk has allowed us to do this with more organization and agility using its intuitive billing system where we can manage the tickets and chats of our clients. With this rapid communication generated by TOPdesk, it is possible to have a quick visualization of what is happening and what problem our client faces so our team of support is organized and can find the most appropriate solution to the problem quickly.
  • Ease of use: TOPdesk has intuitive interfaces, you find everything you need without problems.
  • Another positive point, and this I believe to be unanimous among its users, is the quality of the self-service portal. It is fantastic if you manage to insert a good database and knowledge, this will help in cases of small problems where the client will quickly find the solution and they don't need a call, saving the time of the support and relationship team.
  • Another point I like about TOPdesk is its constant upgrades. this shows that the development team remains committed to bringing improvements to the customers of the product.
  • The TOPdesk support and customer relationship team are incredible, they are solicited and provide quick service to any problem you have with the product.
  • I would like the form designer that comes integrated with TOPdesk to be improved, not that it is horrible or something that can not be used, but it would be interesting if it was given more resources that would allow you to make forms that are not so basic and limited.
  • The process of installing TOPdesk is somewhat complex. I think it could be more intuitive, although if you have a serious problem with it, their technical support offers great support and accompanies you throughout the installation process.
I believe that TOPdesk will be useful for companies and establishments that deal with the public, its ticketing system will be a great facilitator, as well as a great self-service portal that will provide a pre-service for the client that faces a small problem, saving you the spend and also helping to maintain quality service with your customer.
Well, whenever we face some problem in TOPdesk the support has always been very fast and considerate. For example, the process of installing TOPdesk is a bit complex, we had some doubts about configuration and the support team helped us from start to finish.
Read Marcio Vizoli's full review
February 13, 2019
Peter Scantland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
After a lengthy review of our internal processes, procedures and systems we identified a need for an ITSM framework and application to help support it. All business requirements were defined and documented, prior to completing a formal RFP for a new platform. After a lengthy analysis TopDesk was able to meet all our documented requirements and deployment timelines. We are currently running TopDesk to manage how we work with IT requests for our 4000 users. Our current deployment is focused inside the IT department, but we have growing interest from other departments for workflow management and request tracking. We are on track to becoming a business partner with our departments and sites by improving IT's responsiveness, documenting expectations and over-communicating. Along with the platform we have defined 100 "cubed" mantra; 100% of all reactive issues will be tracked, 100% of all proactive work will be scheduled and 100% of IT work will be documented. We are now consistently getting IT done!

  • Consulting approach to implementation
  • Ease of use
  • always on (Cloud)
  • System is made up of modules which is good for the scalability, however, there is duplication of configuration effort if you have many of the modules. Ie. L1 and L2 tickets require all actions and events to be duplicated if they are the same.
  • Survey module might be better suited as an integration with market leader engine.
  • SSP forms could be more flexible if they were HTML capable to provide users a better UI
  • Enable the ability to import and export forms, templates, configurations via a customer marketplace. We could upload a good template or rule and other customers could down load it and use it (with a few configuration changes)
  • Knowledgebase articles could be HTML capable for improved user UI. Allow users to subscribe to KB articles and social media.
  • Allow users to update their user profiles with additional details (ie cell #, social media links, education, courses etc.)
  • Add education and training/courses to user profiles. This could provide organizations the ability to manage training.
  • Add task management. Not everything is a ticket. Many department activities that are requested or managed do not need to be a support ticket. Often meetings generate tasks that could be added to Topdesk. A task could be attached to an operator with task name, description, due date, perhaps even a checklist. Then email templates can be added to notify the requestor when complete.
  • Project module is lacking some of the basic details and metrics found in portfolio management (budget, summary, start date, target date, expenses, assets, time management). Project templates could be improved.
  • Could use a time and expense management. Expenses, time by ticket, project, task and/or a simple timesheet and expense sheet for approvals.
  • Finish the Asset modules to eliminate working with 2 asset modules.
Well suited for IT tickets and IT operations. Not well suited to manage all of the business work done. How to manage people, vs tickets, task management, project overview details, costing, budget.
This is TopDesks competitive edge. They are less focused on the application and more focused on the customer and their success.
Read Peter Scantland's full review
February 08, 2019
Dan Moncion | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it within IT for: Ticket management, change management, inventory control, and the self-service portal
We are planning to onboard the maintenance department.
  • Change management request for cell phones with dual approval.
  • Change management request for VPN access with dual approval.
  • Inventory control with TOPsis scan.
  • More customizing flexibility in the SSP... ex.: iFrames.
  • All change management approval process visible within the SSP during manager approvals.
Good for users with little programming knowledge, but for someone who has lots of programming knowledge they are limited on what they can customize.
Support is quick and responsive, but the answers we often get is ''Sorry that option is not possible''
In-house, we have very knowledgeable DBA and programmers that can customize TOPdesk, but often we are limited due to the way TOPdesk is designed.
Read Dan Moncion's full review
October 09, 2018
Lode Bruyninckx | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Thomas Regout International we are using TOPdesk for about 10 years now in the ICT department for Incident Management.
Because of the restrictions of our version of TOPdesk we didn't have the opportunity to use it for more.
We did finally upgrade our light version to the professionel cloud version of TOPdesk and intend to use Problem Management, Change Management, Operation Management, Knowledge Management, and Asset Management.
  • Very good incident management tool. Within one year we will be using this for almost all our departments to manage their incidents and questions.
  • Good Change Management Tool. From the incident management module we can start change management for some issues with a nice workflow beyond it.
  • The Self Service Portal is for the users an archive for a lot of procedures, users can manage their own call, questions etc. And because we are gonna use TOPdesk for HRM and Payroll all our employees will have an account and we will all be speaking the same language.
  • Because we are using the new Topdesk version just for a short time it is difficult to answer this question.
  • We will be evaluating the application all the time and will communicate any missing functionality with Topdesk.
After two weeks live with the new version we already have our benefits in working with Incident Management. Communication with the users is much easier and very efficient.

Because we are still a work in progress we haven't seen any processes yet that we couldn't get resolve in TOPdesk.
In our contact with TOPdesk we experienced a very professional way of doing business without pushing any pressure on the decision.

The consultancy in the project was very good with professional consultants and the project done within the proposed time window.
Read Lode Bruyninckx's full review
May 29, 2018
Adrie Bergwerff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used almost across the whole organization. But also our customers have access to it. TOPdesk is used by customers and our internal user for filing Incidents and Changes. My department is using is to support customers and internal users, but also for planning and registering hardware. Currently, we have approximately 20 TOPdesk operators.

For our customers, we also have planned reports for SLA reports.
  • Support by TOPdesk is excellent. Until now, we didn't have any issues when support was requested.
  • The latest version supports ADFS/SAML authentication. In the former version, this was an add-on you should buy.
  • Continues development of the product bearing in mind the user's input.
  • Copy and paste functionality of pictures.
  • Approval by "managers" of simple changes. Currently, only Extensive Change has this functionality.
  • Rich text formatting in Change Management module.
  • Rating of Changes, currently only a rating of an incident can be used.
Well suited for Incident Management!!!

Less suited for: For Change Management (simples changes) we miss the functionality that a "Manager" can approve a change from within the Self Service Portal.
We had filed a few questions with TOPdesk support. We were served within time and the engineers are very kind. Even if they didn't have a direct solution they informed us that someone of a higher echelon was planned.
Read Adrie Bergwerff's full review
August 30, 2018
Pieterjan vanderWerf | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used within the organisation as SPOC for IT related problems and questions.
  • It is a easy to use tool, with many out of the box standard utilities which help defining the IT process.
  • The CMDB module is a great way of keeping sight of hardware en software. We use it for creating reports and keeping track of our items.
  • The change process is very comprehensive and can be used for different types of workflows.
  • For us the change module is to comprehensive, and we use it only in a light form.
If you want a easy to use IT service tool, this is it. The TOPdesk consultant can translate wishes into a good working process. Adaptions are easy to make. Also the Self Service Portal is easy to configure and easy to use and helps creating a good workflow for services. Perhaps it is less appropriate in non-IT departments.
The support is very good, from implementing to adopting. The consultant who helped us had a good view of our organisation and could translate it into a good working tool. Over the years we had good support, for example with the creation of standard forms for billing.
Also the change of contract was very well and customer friendly.
Read Pieterjan vanderWerf's full review
April 19, 2018
Bob Gruett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When fully implemented, TOPdesk will be used across my whole organization. It will be primarily used to manage ticketing (help desk, maintenance, etc...), as well as to provide a nice front-end for the user community.

We also hope to implement the project management and change control modules in the near future.
  • Provides a very nice front-end interface for the end-user community.
  • Provides a thorough web-based interface for the operators (back-end technicians).
  • Provides a great deal of flexibility concerning the organization of operators into groups, as well as delegating very granular control over what they can/cannot do in the operators interface.
  • The inventory system - while boasting some cool features such as historical modifications to a system - suffers from one core issue: It is very easy to introduce duplicate records into the system and lose connections between PCs and other objects (licenses, users, support tickets) due to TOPdesk's use of the host name as the primary key in their database.
  • The AD import system is not properly fleshed out, and requires extensive modifications by TOPdesk before it will work. For instance, it won't pull in any addressing information for any of your users by default. It will also pull in blank entries if an account lives in the OU structure you're scanning and that account has a manager whose account lives outside the OU structure in question. Likewise, similar blank entries can be created if an Exchange contact is set as the manager of a user account within your OU.
  • The knowledgebase is decent, but it lacks [A] any real formatting (no numbered or bulleted lists, making procedures difficult to write) and [B] granular control over who can do what (if you give someone in HR the ability to write/edit knowledgebase articles, they also have access to all the IT knowledgebase articles). I believe TOPdesk will be improving this approach in the future, but nothing yet.
  • The trigger/action system (handles all email notifications) is very difficult to set up. It's a powerful system in that you can compose highly customized emails, but without any sort of basic guide or templates it's a very steep learning curve to get working. In my own system I have nearly 40 triggers and nearly 70 actions just to handle who should get what, and it took months to set up - a core reason it took so long to roll out the product. These triggers are not well documented either, so many of them require trial and error to the nth degree.
  • Some aspects of the system are inherently broken. For instance, you can create a trigger to trip whenever someone posts a comment to a ticket, then have an action set up to email all the linked users of a ticket. But if there aren't any linked users then the operator gets a post-comment prompt asking who they want to send the email to, instead of the system being smart enough to know that it shouldn't try sending the email at all.
  • Linked users have no visibility into someone else's ticket. This is odd, because TOPdesk has enabled this feature for [A] users of the same location (where it isn't always applicable) and/or [B] users of the same department (where again, it isn't always applicable). What TOPdesk should do is give *ANY* linked user the ability to see another user's ticket via the self-service portal, but they haven't done this. The result would be a linked user getting an email notification for a ticket which they don't have visibility on, resulting on additional emails back and forth looking for information.
  • On a related note, the two existing visibility options listed above (location-based and department-based) can introduce security holes. Consider a handful of users at a single location or within a single department, then consider that two or three of them are basic users, then there is an assistant manager, and finally there is a manager above everyone. You can easily give the manager visibility of all of his/her subordinates' tickets, but if in order to give the assistant manager visibility over his/her subordinates, you must also give him/her visibility to the manager's tickets.
  • The mobile operators site restricts ticket visibility to only [A] an operator's own tickets and [B] unassigned tickets within that operator's group. So if you have a 10-person support team with a single manager, then as soon as the manager assigns at ticket to one of his/her techs, the manager loses visibility of the ticket. This is especially problematic if you have a manager working in the field on a mobile device 100% of the time (as I do). The only way for the manager to see all tickets is to simply not assign them to anyone, a pretty dumb approach to a problem introduced as part of a poor design choice.
  • As a general rule, TOPdesk has introduced many great ideas, but they are often burdened by the singular approach the TOPdesk designers have taken. As stated above, yes, you have an inventory, but it's borderline unusable because of their choice of primary keys. Or yes, you can link multiple users to a single ticket, but they can't actually SEE the ticket. Or an operator can use the mobile website, but they can't SEE tickets assigned to other members of their team within the mobile website. Things like that. And the most frustrating element is that when you bring these points up their response is almost always 'Why is that a problem?', or 'Why would you want to do it that way?', or something similar which avoids confronting the design issue head on in favor of putting the onus on the customer to justify why something should work the way it works in countless other help desk applications.
  • Don't get me wrong - TOPdesk is a very decent product and has the potential to be GREAT - but after 8 months of prepping before we turned it on, it didn't surprise me in the least that so many individuals (operators) in our organization reported problems and frustrations with it.
  • UPDATE: Since my first review we have upgraded TOPdesk to the latest version and found several previous problems have been fixed (so they no longer appear in this review). One such example was documents attached to KB articles, which show up out of alphabetical order (still a problem), but which previously were not returned during searches. They now are, making the misordering of the files not much of a problem any longer.
  • The point is that TOPdesk is always improving their products, and this gives me great hope going forward that our satisfaction with it will only grow.
Absolutely great if you want to provide a nice interface to your end-user community. Also, pretty good ticket management. Decent (not great) form designer.

Horrible if you want to use inventory, write elaborate knowledgebase procedures, or set up any sort of intelligent email notification system without spending years of your life getting things set up. Very poor documentation (getting SSL set up was a chore, installing the product was not easy, etc...).
Pre-sales support was decent, but the onboarding was not so helpful. This was due mainly to the fact that it was delivered in the form of a series of information-heavy tutorials that were too overwhelming too early on. I also found the online documentation somewhat lacking, as it was often written for a different version of TOPdesk than the one I was using.

The support site is pretty good, and makes it very easy to report and get updates on problems (they utilize their own engine to drive the site). The one drawback I ran into was tickets being closed with the assumption that the recommended resolution was one I was familiar with, requiring no in-depth explanations or background info. This meant re-opening many tickets in order to get clarification on an answer, or to ask a follow-up question.
Read Bob Gruett's full review
April 16, 2018
Karl Schuele | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TOPdesk to receive IT Incidents and Change Orders from our users in the Offices in Germany, Spain, Italy, Turkey, and Poland.
  • Easy to enter tickets by mail from the users.
  • TOPdesk could be used directly out of the box.
  • SaaS makes it easy to setup it up and scales within the region.
  • Excellent support during and after the go-live by the people from TOPdesk.
  • SaaS implementation could be easier if it would be done by TOPdesk as an extra service. My IT department had some difficulties due to lack of knowledge in this area.
TOPdesk is well suited if you are implementing your first ticketing tool and/or if your organization is less than 2000 users. Also, if your organization has no high ITIL skill level. The TOPdesk team helps a lot to compensate this.
Perfect Project Management, Excellent Support in terms of Processes, Documentation and user training.
Based on my short experience with TOPdesk, but long experience with Service-Now, I am very happy with the product.
Read Karl Schuele's full review
April 04, 2018
Ian Short | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We originally implemented TOPdesk as a join venture between IT Services and our Estates and Facilities department. Both departments were using separate systems prior to TOPdesk. Since then we have also been able to include 3 others areas of the University as users of TOPdesk. Primarily it is used for call/issue management but we also make use of the change management, asset and property management features. Very soon we are looking to implement the Survey Module.

TOPdesk has enabled us to have a more consistent experience for issue management across the areas which are using it. This includes a more streamlined way to pass calls between different areas of the University and track progress. Use of the other features such as asset and property management has allowed us to more tightly couple this data against call data and avoid having to manage them in disparate systems.
  • Self-service Portal is very good, particularly with the latest version. If you populate the knowledge base well, users can often find the help they need before needing to raise a call
  • Escalation and routing of calls is very straightforward which allows the operators to work efficiently when dealing with calls
  • Separation of different teams within TOPdesk works very well so that they can manage their own calls without seeing each others
  • The tools for configuring events and actions need improving, especially the tool for events which, whilst very powerful, is cumbersome to use when configuring event criteria
  • The built-in form designer within TOPdesk is adequate but could do with better features to allow for more dynamic forms. It would also benefit from being able to post data to custom fields rather than just into the Action box. There is quite a step up between the built-in form designer and the custom XFG form engine which is the only other solution which TOPdesk provide
  • Asset management could do with some improvements as it can be a little inflexible when needing to customize the data being held as well as build processes around it
TOPdesk works well for call/issue management and benefits from being based on the ITIL model. It can help if you have different teams/departments which need a service management tool but want to manage their calls separately. Whilst the concept of having a number of modules which link together is good, in practice it can take quite a bit of effort to get them working well together.
The support team is very good, responding quickly to support calls and showing an excellent knowledge of the product. Pre-sales have been a little hit and miss with some ambiguous information presented which led to misunderstanding. The implementation consultants have proved to be very good when on site but not so good at follow up on queries raised on the day or subsequently. However, our account manager seems to be able to sort most of these out for us.
Read Ian Short's full review
November 14, 2018
Martin 't Hart | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk for our whole organization. We use it for incident management, configuration management, and contract management. It helps us to know our contracts with our suppliers, but also the contracts when we are the supplier. We follow up on all incidents and by doing this we have a good picture of our assets.
  • Incident management and following up. The knowledge base is very helpful for us to look back to previous issues and to know what the solution was.
  • We like the plan board so much - it is easy and native.
  • Contract management is helpful for us to know when contracts are ending and with the e-mail warning, we are able to extend the contract before the contract is overdue.
  • Sometimes the interface is a bit confusing as there are parts in ettings management and other parts in the module management.
  • Here in Rwanda internet is not stable, so when there is a short hick-up the connection has been lost and will not come back automatically
For me as an experienced user, I can use TOPdesk for many many things, so it is well suited for the whole ITSM process.
  • I'm very happy with the service of TOPdesk.
  • I've been using it already from almost the start of the application.
  • Even now in Rwanda, the support is great. Fast and trustable.
Read Martin 't Hart's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (127)
8.6
Expert directory (84)
7.0
Service restoration (80)
7.9
Self-service tools (117)
8.6
Subscription-based notifications (88)
8.0
ITSM collaboration and documentation (96)
8.3
ITSM reports and dashboards (102)
7.3
Configuration mangement (100)
7.6
Asset management dashboard (85)
7.0
Policy and contract enforcement (71)
8.4
Change requests repository (98)
7.6
Change calendar (81)
6.9
Service-level management (81)
7.3

What is TOPdesk?

Excellent service management made easy
TOPdesk is a service management solution that aims to help users improve customer communication, manage workflows and keep track of assets. According to the vendor, the software is simple and attractive, making it pleasant to use and quick to adopt. On-premises and SaaS deployments are available.

4 key differentiators:
1. Easy to use, quick to set up
2. Suitable for IT, FM or HR.
3. Seamless integrations with other packages.
4. Guaranteed service excellence.
5.Attractive and flexible licensing model TOPdesk has 20+ years experience in helping 5000+ organizations worldwide deliver the best service.

TOPdesk Features

Incident and problem management Features

Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Has featureExpert directory
Has featureService restoration
Has featureSelf-service tools
Has featureSubscription-based notifications
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureITSM reports and dashboards

ITSM asset management Features

Has featureConfiguration mangement
Has featureAsset management dashboard
Has featurePolicy and contract enforcement

Change management Features

Has featureChange requests repository
Has featureChange calendar
Has featureService-level management
Additional Features
Has featureResource Plan Board
Has featureOperations Management
Has featureOpen API
Has featureIntegrations Market Place
Has featureReservations Management

TOPdesk Video

The Total Economic Impact™ Of TOPdesk Enterprise is an October 2016 commissioned study conducted by Forrester Consulting on behalf of TOPdesk.

TOPdesk Integrations

Snow License Manager, QlikView, Qlik Sense, Lansweeper, Nagios Core, The Okta Identity Cloud, Microsoft Azure, OneLogin, Microsoft System Center, Microsoft BI (MSBI), Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central (formerly Dynamics NAV), Skype for Business (formerly Lync), now part of Microsoft Teams, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), BeyondTrust Remote Support (formerly Bomgar), Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM), Ivanti IT Asset Management Suite (formerly LANDESK IT Asset Management Suite), Ivanti Endpoint Manager (formerly LANDESK Management Suite), RES Service Automation, Microsoft Active Directory, UMRA Access & Identity Management, Mavim Rules, ISM

TOPdesk Competitors

TOPdesk Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

TOPdesk has a unique license model: - Modular: Select the modules you need and easily expand as your business grows - Saas or On premise - Unlimited number of assets. Successful asset management should not be dependent on the license of your product. - End users OR service agents based, whichever fits your situation best. If you are looking for flexibility in the number of agents for e.g. extra busy times of the year, the flexible end user license lets you add agents without any restrictions, no day passes needed.

TOPdesk Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
5%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
55%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

TOPdesk Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

TOPdesk Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, French, Portuguese, Dutch, Danish, Swedish, Hungarian, Italian, Polish, Norwegian

Frequently Asked Questions

What is TOPdesk?

TOPdesk is the flagship highly-modular cloud-based or installed ITSM service desk and asset management solution from the Dutch company of the same name, for enterprise companies.

What is TOPdesk's best feature?

Reviewers rate Organize and prioritize service tickets and Self-service tools highest, with a score of 8.6.

Who uses TOPdesk?

The most common users of TOPdesk are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.