TOPdesk Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
238 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-50 of 116)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

TopDesk! Can't imagine my work space without it!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's a great way to manage incidents and changes. Also, a great product to keep track of a CMDB which makes it all very organized.
  • Very well organized for incident and change management
  • Great way to manage a CMDB
  • It's a bit hard to find all the features if you're an admin and new to the product. Could be a little bit more specific
I can't imagine myself in a support environment without TopDesk. It's plain but very user-friendly.
I haven't really spoken to the support side of TopDesk but they are alright. Questions are answered quickly enough so I have no problem with it at all.
Read this authenticated review
Jason Barker | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2019

TOPdesk is TOPs in the field of Helpdesk/Knowledge Base systems.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The ECNO Shared Technology Services team uses TOPdesk as a one-stop ticket management and queue system for both our internal processes via Change Management, and for our external clients at 33 different school boards to enter support requests for our products and services. It provides both real-time monitoring of our current support requests shared between a team of 3 remote technicians, and allows historical data to be stored and accessed by both our clients and internal teams.
  • TOPdesk provides easy to customize reports based on user or organization designed selections, allowing the data stored inside the helpdesk solution to be extracted, analyzed, and acted upon. Using simple visual queries, any user is able to build data extracts on the fly
  • Importation of data is easy to arrange and insert into the system. From existing support requests to a customer knowledge database, the data can be imported once, or as part of a constantly updating system for user changes, asset management, or user-facing data.
  • The ability to reply to emails to update tickets, both as the person making the support request and as the person working on the support request, makes it much easier to keep everyone informed as to the progress of the tickets and the eventual resolution.
  • The initial setup curve is very high, with it being strongly recommended that you involve the company in the design and setup phases to be able to get the most out of the program. The complexity of the setup is more than offset by the functionality of the product.
TOPdesk is well suited to any information technology department or organization that operates on a ticket based system. The tracking and management of workloads is excellent, and in fact, the system is appropriate for any organization that track work based on tickets.
Any appointment based system can be modeled inside TOPdesk using the appointment planning board, allowing managers to see the planned appointments of employees.
TOPdesk support is TOPnotch. The support engineers and setup people we encountered during our setup phase were knowledgeable and experienced with the design and setup of the optimum TOPdesk based on our requests, and were able to help us avoid snags that we would have otherwise encountered based on our unique setup. Requests since the initial setup period have been met with quick, easy to follow instructions to resolve the issues.
Read Jason Barker's full review
Edith Baijens | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2019

Lesli is very happy with TOPdesk Lite!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Lesli uses TOPdesk Lite for incident management: all IT-related calls are registered in TOPdesk. In this way, we are able to follow up on the calls and monitor them. The reports give us an idea of the number of calls, but also of the area in which the most calls come in.
  • TOPdesk Lite is easy to implement.
  • The Dashboard shows at a glance how many calls are open, which categories these calls relate to and how the calls are received.
  • In addition, there is a multitude of reports available to help you find out for yourself what you would like to know from your data.
  • The mail import functionality saves a lot of work: by sending all calls to one email address, they are automatically imported into TOPdesk Lite.
  • One of the improvements I would like to have is the ability to make my own reports in TOPdesk Lite. At the moment I can use (quite a number) of pre-defined reports. But for the report I really want, I still have to export the data to Excel and create in Excel my TOPdesk report.
  • For Topdesk Lite, I would like to have the possibility (at the start) to do the import of old calls that were registered in another system (or in Excel, in my case) myself. The only way it can be done now is to let Topdesk do/make the import itself (and this means extra costs). Also, the template for People (Pesonen) could do with more instructions.
TOPdesk Lite is an excellent investment for a small organization: a complete incident management system at very low costs.
Starting from pre-sales, my experiences with TOPdesk Support are very positive: Job Van Grieken (account manager) told me about hte possiblity of TOPdesk Lite, the onboarding was fast and efficient. The only little thing that went wrong (incorrect email address) was corrected immediately. Until now, I experienced once that that the SAAS environment was unavailable. This was solved very fast and the information about the unavailibility was appropriate.
Read Edith Baijens's full review
Marcio Vizoli | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2019

TOPefficiency with TOPdesk

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company, we use TOPdesk in technical customer support and also in any Customer Service department. TDPdesk has allowed us to do this with more organization and agility using its intuitive billing system where we can manage the tickets and chats of our clients. With this rapid communication generated by TOPdesk, it is possible to have a quick visualization of what is happening and what problem our client faces so our team of support is organized and can find the most appropriate solution to the problem quickly.
  • Ease of use: TOPdesk has intuitive interfaces, you find everything you need without problems.
  • Another positive point, and this I believe to be unanimous among its users, is the quality of the self-service portal. It is fantastic if you manage to insert a good database and knowledge, this will help in cases of small problems where the client will quickly find the solution and they don't need a call, saving the time of the support and relationship team.
  • Another point I like about TOPdesk is its constant upgrades. this shows that the development team remains committed to bringing improvements to the customers of the product.
  • The TOPdesk support and customer relationship team are incredible, they are solicited and provide quick service to any problem you have with the product.
  • I would like the form designer that comes integrated with TOPdesk to be improved, not that it is horrible or something that can not be used, but it would be interesting if it was given more resources that would allow you to make forms that are not so basic and limited.
  • The process of installing TOPdesk is somewhat complex. I think it could be more intuitive, although if you have a serious problem with it, their technical support offers great support and accompanies you throughout the installation process.
I believe that TOPdesk will be useful for companies and establishments that deal with the public, its ticketing system will be a great facilitator, as well as a great self-service portal that will provide a pre-service for the client that faces a small problem, saving you the spend and also helping to maintain quality service with your customer.
Well, whenever we face some problem in TOPdesk the support has always been very fast and considerate. For example, the process of installing TOPdesk is a bit complex, we had some doubts about configuration and the support team helped us from start to finish.
Read Marcio Vizoli's full review
Peter Scantland | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2019

Customer sherpa can get you there, a journey together.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
After a lengthy review of our internal processes, procedures and systems we identified a need for an ITSM framework and application to help support it. All business requirements were defined and documented, prior to completing a formal RFP for a new platform. After a lengthy analysis TopDesk was able to meet all our documented requirements and deployment timelines. We are currently running TopDesk to manage how we work with IT requests for our 4000 users. Our current deployment is focused inside the IT department, but we have growing interest from other departments for workflow management and request tracking. We are on track to becoming a business partner with our departments and sites by improving IT's responsiveness, documenting expectations and over-communicating. Along with the platform we have defined 100 "cubed" mantra; 100% of all reactive issues will be tracked, 100% of all proactive work will be scheduled and 100% of IT work will be documented. We are now consistently getting IT done!

  • Consulting approach to implementation
  • Ease of use
  • always on (Cloud)
  • System is made up of modules which is good for the scalability, however, there is duplication of configuration effort if you have many of the modules. Ie. L1 and L2 tickets require all actions and events to be duplicated if they are the same.
  • Survey module might be better suited as an integration with market leader engine.
  • SSP forms could be more flexible if they were HTML capable to provide users a better UI
  • Enable the ability to import and export forms, templates, configurations via a customer marketplace. We could upload a good template or rule and other customers could down load it and use it (with a few configuration changes)
  • Knowledgebase articles could be HTML capable for improved user UI. Allow users to subscribe to KB articles and social media.
  • Allow users to update their user profiles with additional details (ie cell #, social media links, education, courses etc.)
  • Add education and training/courses to user profiles. This could provide organizations the ability to manage training.
  • Add task management. Not everything is a ticket. Many department activities that are requested or managed do not need to be a support ticket. Often meetings generate tasks that could be added to Topdesk. A task could be attached to an operator with task name, description, due date, perhaps even a checklist. Then email templates can be added to notify the requestor when complete.
  • Project module is lacking some of the basic details and metrics found in portfolio management (budget, summary, start date, target date, expenses, assets, time management). Project templates could be improved.
  • Could use a time and expense management. Expenses, time by ticket, project, task and/or a simple timesheet and expense sheet for approvals.
  • Finish the Asset modules to eliminate working with 2 asset modules.
Well suited for IT tickets and IT operations. Not well suited to manage all of the business work done. How to manage people, vs tickets, task management, project overview details, costing, budget.
This is TopDesks competitive edge. They are less focused on the application and more focused on the customer and their success.
Read Peter Scantland's full review
Dan Moncion | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2019

Great product for ease of implementation, but back-end customization can be limited.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it within IT for: Ticket management, change management, inventory control, and the self-service portal
We are planning to onboard the maintenance department.
  • Change management request for cell phones with dual approval.
  • Change management request for VPN access with dual approval.
  • Inventory control with TOPsis scan.
  • More customizing flexibility in the SSP... ex.: iFrames.
  • All change management approval process visible within the SSP during manager approvals.
Good for users with little programming knowledge, but for someone who has lots of programming knowledge they are limited on what they can customize.
Support is quick and responsive, but the answers we often get is ''Sorry that option is not possible''
In-house, we have very knowledgeable DBA and programmers that can customize TOPdesk, but often we are limited due to the way TOPdesk is designed.
Read Dan Moncion's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2019

TOPdesk? Simply the best.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk to register IT-related incidents. The program is used primarily by the IT department but other departments are seeing the benefits of TOPdesk and some of them are starting to use it as well.
  • Registration of incidents is very easy and doesn't take a lot of time. By pre-configuring options for the registration process, you can add a first or second line incident very quickly with all the information needed for the person who is going to solve the problem.
  • Registering new hardware is simple and goes very quickly. For example, adding 100 new laptops (all the same model of course) is done in a few minutes time. Just add one complete new item and after saving this item you can copy 99 more. Just change the serial number and your ready.
  • If anything goes wrong with the program, or you just simply do not know how to register something or how a certain list has to be made, you can just call or e-mail the TOPdesk tech department and they will help you get on your way again.
  • I really cannot think of anything that I miss or would like to improve on TOPdesk. Every update or new version has the right tweaks so you do not have to learn the program all over again and this is a big plus.
Adding new hardware quickly in your CMDB can be done within minutes. You can also create a list of specific incidents for a customer so you can easily see how many hours you have to register on a monthly invoice.

Features or scenarios where Topdesk is less appropriate? If you have less appropriate situations, you're using the wrong program in my opinion! You do not use MS Word to make a spreadsheet either right? And still Word is a good program for what it does, so use a program for what it was meant. TOPdesk is a good program to add hardware to your CMDB, register incidents quickly, and create a variety of lists. And, of course, TOPdesk as a program will evolve because the industry will come up with new ideas for service desks and IT.
Support is simple. You call or e-mail them and they will help you. Whether it is a question about upgrading to a new version or a more in-depth problem with the program, the right person will contact you. A lot of companies can learn from TOPdesk in that way.
Read this authenticated review
Lode Bruyninckx | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2018

Topdesk upgrade succesfull at Thomas Regout International B.V.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Thomas Regout International we are using TOPdesk for about 10 years now in the ICT department for Incident Management.
Because of the restrictions of our version of TOPdesk we didn't have the opportunity to use it for more.
We did finally upgrade our light version to the professionel cloud version of TOPdesk and intend to use Problem Management, Change Management, Operation Management, Knowledge Management, and Asset Management.
  • Very good incident management tool. Within one year we will be using this for almost all our departments to manage their incidents and questions.
  • Good Change Management Tool. From the incident management module we can start change management for some issues with a nice workflow beyond it.
  • The Self Service Portal is for the users an archive for a lot of procedures, users can manage their own call, questions etc. And because we are gonna use TOPdesk for HRM and Payroll all our employees will have an account and we will all be speaking the same language.
  • Because we are using the new Topdesk version just for a short time it is difficult to answer this question.
  • We will be evaluating the application all the time and will communicate any missing functionality with Topdesk.
After two weeks live with the new version we already have our benefits in working with Incident Management. Communication with the users is much easier and very efficient.

Because we are still a work in progress we haven't seen any processes yet that we couldn't get resolve in TOPdesk.
In our contact with TOPdesk we experienced a very professional way of doing business without pushing any pressure on the decision.

The consultancy in the project was very good with professional consultants and the project done within the proposed time window.
Read Lode Bruyninckx's full review
Pieterjan vanderWerf | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2018

TOPdesk helps to organise your IT department

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used within the organisation as SPOC for IT related problems and questions.
  • It is a easy to use tool, with many out of the box standard utilities which help defining the IT process.
  • The CMDB module is a great way of keeping sight of hardware en software. We use it for creating reports and keeping track of our items.
  • The change process is very comprehensive and can be used for different types of workflows.
  • For us the change module is to comprehensive, and we use it only in a light form.
If you want a easy to use IT service tool, this is it. The TOPdesk consultant can translate wishes into a good working process. Adaptions are easy to make. Also the Self Service Portal is easy to configure and easy to use and helps creating a good workflow for services. Perhaps it is less appropriate in non-IT departments.
The support is very good, from implementing to adopting. The consultant who helped us had a good view of our organisation and could translate it into a good working tool. Over the years we had good support, for example with the creation of standard forms for billing.
Also the change of contract was very well and customer friendly.
Read Pieterjan vanderWerf's full review
Martin 't Hart | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2018

TOPdesk a TOP application for ITSM processes

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk for our whole organization. We use it for incident management, configuration management, and contract management. It helps us to know our contracts with our suppliers, but also the contracts when we are the supplier. We follow up on all incidents and by doing this we have a good picture of our assets.
  • Incident management and following up. The knowledge base is very helpful for us to look back to previous issues and to know what the solution was.
  • We like the plan board so much - it is easy and native.
  • Contract management is helpful for us to know when contracts are ending and with the e-mail warning, we are able to extend the contract before the contract is overdue.
  • Sometimes the interface is a bit confusing as there are parts in ettings management and other parts in the module management.
  • Here in Rwanda internet is not stable, so when there is a short hick-up the connection has been lost and will not come back automatically
For me as an experienced user, I can use TOPdesk for many many things, so it is well suited for the whole ITSM process.
  • I'm very happy with the service of TOPdesk.
  • I've been using it already from almost the start of the application.
  • Even now in Rwanda, the support is great. Fast and trustable.
Read Martin 't Hart's full review
Dana Matthes | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2018

Review of TOPdesk

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses TOPdesk as a signaling system and a knowledge database. IT as well as facilities colleagues use it as a signaling system. All colleagues can use it as a knowledge database and they can also make mention of problems or requests.
  • The signaling system is outstanding. Everybody can work with it. It is clear and easy to use. Information can never be lost.
  • The new knowledge system works really well. Colleagues are able to search for items. The connections between several items make it all easier.
  • The variety of possibilities and connections between items is very nice.
  • Some features within the knowledge database could improve. Such as layout possibilities, inserting images (quite difficult), search possibilities (does not search for half words for example).
  • We would like to have more flexibility within the system. For example, we would like to be able to determine which items are obliged within the reservation module.
  • The possibility for more 'open' courses at TOPdesk would be nice. I would like to follow some courses, but most are for a team internally. I'm alas alone.
I've not yet experienced much, but the support I have experienced was very good.
Read Dana Matthes's full review
Robert van Geenen | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2018

Excellent versatile service management tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've rolled out TOPdesk to the entire organization. Another museum whom we offer IT support also uses TOPdesk to log their issues and request. The most used modules are Incident Management and Change Management. Metrics provided by TOPdesk are used to monitor Key Performance Indicators. Reporting is also an important feature used to aggregate metrics into reports for the Management Team.
  • It's very easy for users to log calls.
  • The knowledge base is a very powerful tool to assist in self-service.
  • Since TOPdesk is based on ITIL it's very easy to grasp how the individual modules relate to one another.
  • Insightful reports are relatively easy to set up.
  • The ability to use a smartphone (or even tablet) to scan a barcode or QR-code to log a call relating to that asset would be a great improvement.
  • When logging a call, the user could benefit from instant suggestions taken from the knowledge base.
  • Integrated chat w/ internal support staff would be a nice feature.
As with any tool, it's important to take the time to get a good understanding of which particular issue in your organization you're trying to address. TOPdesk does a very good job in larger organizations where the team of operators is differentiated according to specialization and where continuity is a factor. Smaller organizations and operator teams will not benefit as much.
TOPdesk offers great support. Questions and issues are picked up very promptly and handled by a highly expert staff. Promises are kept.
Read Robert van Geenen's full review
Dennis Schanschort | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2018

Great stuff!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Whole organization uses it. Addresses all application questions about use, errors and malfunctions.
  • Registering incidents (quick and complete)
  • Monitoring status incidents
  • Reports and overviews of incidents (for management)
  • Sometimes hard to find incidents and other items, also regarding to the configuration
  • Complicated menu structure
  • Hard to understand the process flow
Suited for registering incidents, and for status control complicated processes.
Not really need for support
Read Dennis Schanschort's full review
Frans Kool | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2018

Topdesk a must do

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use topdesk for SLA and IT ticketing system. Also our complete inventory, both IT and facility is stored in Topdesk
  • Servicedesk ticketing
  • ITIL based
  • IT calls
  • Change management
  • Reservation system
  • User management
  • Administration tasks
IT management, service desk, facility management are well suited. Reservations are less appropriate.
The implementation of Topdesk was perfect, clear consulting and a good follow up. I personally like the newsletter with all upcoming releases and demo's
Read Frans Kool's full review
Emin Sahin | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2018

TOPdesk

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used by the IT department, to register and manage incoming help desk calls. As an add-on, TOPdesk is also being used for inventory management.
  • Inventory Management
  • User information
  • User management
  • Nothing [needs improvement]
Wel suited: inventory management
Less appropiate: project management
Support is quick and the expert levels are high
Read Emin Sahin's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2018

TOPdesk review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk for streamlining our service management to our internal customers. The IT and Facility teams use TOPdesk primarily for incident and change management. With TOPdesk we can help our customers in an efficient manner and find trends within the issues they are having. Known solutions are recorded in our knowledge base, so that colleagues can easily find them themselves. This saves time for other activities and increases customer satisfaction.
  • The Self Service Portal is very powerful and easily customized with forms. Also getting results from within the knowledgebase while typing the subject of a new call, prevents some users from submitting a new call, because they already found the solution to their issue.
  • Intuitive interface for the Self Service Portal and the operators. TOPdesk is not difficult to use.
  • Inegration between the different modules in TOPdesk. For instance: an incident can easily be promoted into a change.
  • The Self Service Portal can use some more customizability. It would be great if it would be possible to drag and drop certain modules on different places on a (sub)page. For instance the location of knowledge items of major incidents and field with just text.
  • KPI's could be better. For instance a KPI that could trigger on the percentage of calls that have gone past their target date. Absolute number don't work in all situations.
TOPdesk is a complete service management tool with lots of possibilities to increasing customer satisfaction by helping them efficiently. However, to fully use its potential, you need a big organization. For smaller organizations the benefits don't weigh up to the costs.
Support is very fast with answering calls submitted and all answers that I've received so far have answered my questions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2018

TOPdesk as a service desk tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my organization we use TOPdesk as the service desk tool for all IT calls. We also use TOPdesk as our CMDB. TOPdesk is used only by the IT-department. Although we have looked into implementing TOPdesk for usage in another Department (our info desk) they decided to use another tool.

For the IT department TOPdesk fulfills it's role as a service desk tool and CMDB. We have all the businesses we support listed and their hardware in the CMDB. And hardware and user are linked.
  • TOPdesk is very good in automating emails.
  • All user questions can be routed through TOPDesk.
  • Powerfull CMDB.
  • Ease of editing the CMDB.
  • Mailing updates to customers with a one click button (though that might be a local (lack of) configuration).
  • Timer for working on tickets.
We use TOPdesk for Incident Management. And it is well suited for this task. Though it is important that the whole team uses the tool in the same way, to keep all incidents in the tooling. But the ability in TOPdesk to pick up mail makes it easy if a co-worker mails outside of the tool. Add the ticket number to the mail and drag it into the mail folder used to sync and the answer is added to the right ticket.
Support is knowledgable and helps with any issue you have in TOPdesk. Our application manager always seems to find little things that don't work as he expected. And when he contacts support he is always serviced very quickly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Smooth transition from on premise servers to SaaS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used TOPdesk for many years now. As a MSP we provide IT-support for hundreds of primary schools in our country . TOPdesk enables us to provide our customers an efficient and easy way to report and communicate about incidents. Our IT support staff can manage incidents and retrieve all information with TOPdesk and keep the end-customer informed about progress.
  • Incident management
  • Custom made portals and web interface
  • Reporting and monitoring
  • A public web - space or forum without the need for login would be a welcome addition.
It provides the services it promises and is easy to use.
Our TOPdesk consultant gave professional advice and took care of a smooth transition from on premise to SaaS. All our custom build options were successfully migrated within one weekend without any interruption.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 02, 2018

Perfect tool for small and medium size businesses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used globally across the whole organization. It allows us to support the lifecycle of our IT services.
  • Ease of use: TOPdesk is straightforward and easy to use for both operators and users.
  • Support: the support provided by TOPdesk is of high quality level. I have always been satisfied with support.
  • Flexibility: TOPdesk is customizable enough to allow it to fit within your organisation.
  • Security: it is not so easy to set up and maintain a different level of access to the actual data in TOPdesk.
  • Reporting: Reports are not so flexible. The new Reporting API is allowing for more flexibility but still needs improvement and focus.
I believe TOPdesk is perfect for small and medium size organizations.
Top quality support and consultancy
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2018

Great tool for the bussines

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk to support users, incident management, make use of operational task, recurring tasks, inventory management, CMDB, contract management and change management for different type of changes.
  • Self Service Desk for endusers works fine. Information about our services is easy to present. We use forms to guide user input and present the info to the right operator.
  • We use incident management, change management and operational managent (recurring activities). It is all presented in one tool. Dashbords can be better to give more overview but the current release is almost fine.
  • Single Sign On with Azure AD works great!
  • Topdesk offers a Kanban planning overview. Incident management uses the Kanban board. Change management does not. This is a big loss.
  • New asset managent is not completed. Reports and selections on assets are not availible. Basic function I think.
  • Contract managent version history is not always easy to understand.
Because change management is not integrated in Kanban using TOPdesk for long term planning is not full recommended by me. Incident management is fine!
Skilled helpdesk. In most of the times first time fix.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2018

Happy TOPdesk user

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk to register our customer issues, software builds and bugs.
  • Self service portal so customers can register their own issues
  • Automatic reply when registering, updating incidents and changes
  • Automatic mail import into TOPdesk
  • Using multiple mail server accounts when sending updates to customers. Now you can only use one email account with aliases.
  • Directly pasting pictures in incident comments without having to save them first.
  • Registration of spend time on incident and changes could be better.
It makes registration, communication with customers so much easier
Quick and helpful responses and very customer friendly
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2018

TopDesk 5.7 review, still thinking about whether to update to TD-SaaS

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used as our main IT Service Management tool. It helps us to log incidents and changes and establish the CMDB. Changes are mainly on the level of the IT-department, but also to support HR-processes like employee-in & -out for the part of processing the access-rights and enable/disable (mail-)accounts. It does not really support our business-process, it is merely there for facilitating those who do. It helps us as an IT-department to use preset flows with automatic updates to the users.
  • For the (client)user: easy to use Self Service portal
  • If a flow is set-up, it works like a charm
  • Possibility to build your own dashboards
  • It takes quite some time to master TOPdesk enough. You need some dedicated people then to do this (we have version 5.7).
  • Some functionality that I would perceive as basic these days, is not standard. The extra modules you'll have to buy then are then full of stuff you don't need...
  • The new SaaS-version is quite costly.
  • Interfacing with some other applications (for instance HR) comes with some hassle and consultancy. Feels like you have to tailor too much. Should we not be the only company with some interfaces?
For general ITSM it's ok for sure. But be aware that if your organization is small, it takes some effort to tailor it to your needs. It's not LEGO, it's more Playmobil.
Their support desk is very friendly and helpful. Of course, they are sometimes too eager to send you a consultant. If the set-up would be somewhat easier, or the how-to, you'd not need that.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2018

A good product & professional people

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Topdesk is used by the Managed Services department of our organization. Our clients use Topdesk to register their incidents & changes. Our business is Microsoft Office 365 & Azure.
  • Dashboards, it is possible to create all kind of dashboards in Topdesk, that help us to improve our services
  • Self Service Portal, the Self Service Portal is very user friendly. We don't even need manuals for our customers.
  • Monitoring, it's very easy to monitor all tickets & changes from all our customers. With one click you can see the status overview
  • More detailed financial reports
We've decided to switch to Topdesk which helps us to professionalize our Services to our customers.
The implementation went very smoothly and the account management takes our requests very seriously.
Overall we are happy with the collaboration with Topdesk at all levels
Read this authenticated review
Adrie Bergwerff | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2018

TOPdesk: TOPproduct, TOPservice

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used almost across the whole organization. But also our customers have access to it. TOPdesk is used by customers and our internal user for filing Incidents and Changes. My department is using is to support customers and internal users, but also for planning and registering hardware. Currently, we have approximately 20 TOPdesk operators.

For our customers, we also have planned reports for SLA reports.
  • Support by TOPdesk is excellent. Until now, we didn't have any issues when support was requested.
  • The latest version supports ADFS/SAML authentication. In the former version, this was an add-on you should buy.
  • Continues development of the product bearing in mind the user's input.
  • Copy and paste functionality of pictures.
  • Approval by "managers" of simple changes. Currently, only Extensive Change has this functionality.
  • Rich text formatting in Change Management module.
  • Rating of Changes, currently only a rating of an incident can be used.
Well suited for Incident Management!!!

Less suited for: For Change Management (simples changes) we miss the functionality that a "Manager" can approve a change from within the Self Service Portal.
We had filed a few questions with TOPdesk support. We were served within time and the engineers are very kind. Even if they didn't have a direct solution they informed us that someone of a higher echelon was planned.
Read Adrie Bergwerff's full review
Bob Gruett | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2018

TOPdesk - A potentially great product currently burdened by a handful of shortcomings

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When fully implemented, TOPdesk will be used across my whole organization. It will be primarily used to manage ticketing (help desk, maintenance, etc...), as well as to provide a nice front-end for the user community.

We also hope to implement the project management and change control modules in the near future.
  • Provides a very nice front-end interface for the end-user community.
  • Provides a thorough web-based interface for the operators (back-end technicians).
  • Provides a great deal of flexibility concerning the organization of operators into groups, as well as delegating very granular control over what they can/cannot do in the operators interface.
  • The inventory system - while boasting some cool features such as historical modifications to a system - suffers from one core issue: It is very easy to introduce duplicate records into the system and lose connections between PCs and other objects (licenses, users, support tickets) due to TOPdesk's use of the host name as the primary key in their database.
  • The AD import system is not properly fleshed out, and requires extensive modifications by TOPdesk before it will work. For instance, it won't pull in any addressing information for any of your users by default. It will also pull in blank entries if an account lives in the OU structure you're scanning and that account has a manager whose account lives outside the OU structure in question. Likewise, similar blank entries can be created if an Exchange contact is set as the manager of a user account within your OU.
  • The knowledgebase is decent, but it lacks [A] any real formatting (no numbered or bulleted lists, making procedures difficult to write) and [B] granular control over who can do what (if you give someone in HR the ability to write/edit knowledgebase articles, they also have access to all the IT knowledgebase articles). I believe TOPdesk will be improving this approach in the future, but nothing yet.
  • The trigger/action system (handles all email notifications) is very difficult to set up. It's a powerful system in that you can compose highly customized emails, but without any sort of basic guide or templates it's a very steep learning curve to get working. In my own system I have nearly 40 triggers and nearly 70 actions just to handle who should get what, and it took months to set up - a core reason it took so long to roll out the product. These triggers are not well documented either, so many of them require trial and error to the nth degree.
  • Some aspects of the system are inherently broken. For instance, you can create a trigger to trip whenever someone posts a comment to a ticket, then have an action set up to email all the linked users of a ticket. But if there aren't any linked users then the operator gets a post-comment prompt asking who they want to send the email to, instead of the system being smart enough to know that it shouldn't try sending the email at all.
  • Linked users have no visibility into someone else's ticket. This is odd, because TOPdesk has enabled this feature for [A] users of the same location (where it isn't always applicable) and/or [B] users of the same department (where again, it isn't always applicable). What TOPdesk should do is give *ANY* linked user the ability to see another user's ticket via the self-service portal, but they haven't done this. The result would be a linked user getting an email notification for a ticket which they don't have visibility on, resulting on additional emails back and forth looking for information.
  • On a related note, the two existing visibility options listed above (location-based and department-based) can introduce security holes. Consider a handful of users at a single location or within a single department, then consider that two or three of them are basic users, then there is an assistant manager, and finally there is a manager above everyone. You can easily give the manager visibility of all of his/her subordinates' tickets, but if in order to give the assistant manager visibility over his/her subordinates, you must also give him/her visibility to the manager's tickets.
  • The mobile operators site restricts ticket visibility to only [A] an operator's own tickets and [B] unassigned tickets within that operator's group. So if you have a 10-person support team with a single manager, then as soon as the manager assigns at ticket to one of his/her techs, the manager loses visibility of the ticket. This is especially problematic if you have a manager working in the field on a mobile device 100% of the time (as I do). The only way for the manager to see all tickets is to simply not assign them to anyone, a pretty dumb approach to a problem introduced as part of a poor design choice.
  • As a general rule, TOPdesk has introduced many great ideas, but they are often burdened by the singular approach the TOPdesk designers have taken. As stated above, yes, you have an inventory, but it's borderline unusable because of their choice of primary keys. Or yes, you can link multiple users to a single ticket, but they can't actually SEE the ticket. Or an operator can use the mobile website, but they can't SEE tickets assigned to other members of their team within the mobile website. Things like that. And the most frustrating element is that when you bring these points up their response is almost always 'Why is that a problem?', or 'Why would you want to do it that way?', or something similar which avoids confronting the design issue head on in favor of putting the onus on the customer to justify why something should work the way it works in countless other help desk applications.
  • Don't get me wrong - TOPdesk is a very decent product and has the potential to be GREAT - but after 8 months of prepping before we turned it on, it didn't surprise me in the least that so many individuals (operators) in our organization reported problems and frustrations with it.
  • UPDATE: Since my first review we have upgraded TOPdesk to the latest version and found several previous problems have been fixed (so they no longer appear in this review). One such example was documents attached to KB articles, which show up out of alphabetical order (still a problem), but which previously were not returned during searches. They now are, making the misordering of the files not much of a problem any longer.
  • The point is that TOPdesk is always improving their products, and this gives me great hope going forward that our satisfaction with it will only grow.
Absolutely great if you want to provide a nice interface to your end-user community. Also, pretty good ticket management. Decent (not great) form designer.

Horrible if you want to use inventory, write elaborate knowledgebase procedures, or set up any sort of intelligent email notification system without spending years of your life getting things set up. Very poor documentation (getting SSL set up was a chore, installing the product was not easy, etc...).
Pre-sales support was decent, but the onboarding was not so helpful. This was due mainly to the fact that it was delivered in the form of a series of information-heavy tutorials that were too overwhelming too early on. I also found the online documentation somewhat lacking, as it was often written for a different version of TOPdesk than the one I was using.

The support site is pretty good, and makes it very easy to report and get updates on problems (they utilize their own engine to drive the site). The one drawback I ran into was tickets being closed with the assumption that the recommended resolution was one I was familiar with, requiring no in-depth explanations or background info. This meant re-opening many tickets in order to get clarification on an answer, or to ask a follow-up question.
Read Bob Gruett's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (116)
8.5
Expert directory (77)
7.3
Service restoration (71)
7.7
Self-service tools (107)
8.9
Subscription-based notifications (80)
8.2
ITSM collaboration and documentation (89)
7.9
ITSM reports and dashboards (93)
7.3
Configuration mangement (91)
7.1
Asset management dashboard (81)
7.7
Policy and contract enforcement (66)
7.5
Change requests repository (88)
7.8
Change calendar (74)
6.9
Service-level management (73)
8.3

About TOPdesk

Excellent service management made easy
TOPdesk is a service management solution that aims to help users improve customer communication, manage workflows and keep track of assets. According to the vendor, the software is simple and attractive, making it pleasant to use and quick to adopt. On-premises and SaaS deployments are available.

4 key differentiators:
1. Easy to use, quick to set up
2. Suitable for IT, FM or HR.
3. Seamless integrations with other packages.
4. Guaranteed service excellence.
5.Attractive and flexible licensing model TOPdesk has 20+ years experience in helping 5000+ organizations worldwide deliver the best service.

TOPdesk Features

Incident and problem management Features
Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Has featureExpert directory
Has featureService restoration
Has featureSelf-service tools
Has featureSubscription-based notifications
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureITSM reports and dashboards
ITSM asset management Features
Has featureConfiguration mangement
Has featureAsset management dashboard
Has featurePolicy and contract enforcement
Change management Features
Has featureChange requests repository
Has featureChange calendar
Has featureService-level management
Additional Features
Has featureResource Plan Board
Has featureOperations Management
Has featureOpen API
Has featureIntegrations Market Place
Has featureReservations Management

TOPdesk Video

The Total Economic Impact™ Of TOPdesk Enterprise is an October 2016 commissioned study conducted by Forrester Consulting on behalf of TOPdesk. For more information: page.topdesk.com/tei

TOPdesk Integrations

Snow License Manager, QlikView, Qlik Sense, Lansweeper, Nagios Core, Okta Workforce Identity, Microsoft Azure, Microsoft BI, OneLogin, Microsoft System Center, BeyondTrust Remote Support (formerly Bomgar), Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central (formerly Dynamics NAV), Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM), Skype for Business (formerly Lync), Ivanti IT Asset Management Suite (formerly LANDESK IT Asset Management Suite), Ivanti Endpoint Manager (formerly LANDESK Management Suite), Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), RES Service Automation, Microsoft Active Directory, UMRA Access & Identity Management, Mavim Rules, ISM

TOPdesk Competitors

ServiceNow, Planon Universe, Cherwell Service Management, Freshdesk, SysAid, Solarwinds Service Desk (formerly Samanage)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

TOPdesk has a unique license model: - Modular: Select the modules you need and easily expand as your business grows - Saas or On premise - Unlimited number of assets. Successful asset management should not be dependent on the license of your product. - End users OR service agents based, whichever fits your situation best. If you are looking for flexibility in the number of agents for e.g. extra busy times of the year, the flexible end user license lets you add agents without any restrictions, no day passes needed.

TOPdesk Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
5%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
55%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

TOPdesk Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

TOPdesk Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, French, Portuguese, Dutch, Danish, Swedish, Hungarian, Italian, Polish, Norwegian