TrustRadius
TOPdesk is the flagship highly-modular cloud-based or installed ITSM service desk and asset management solution from the Dutch company of the same name, for enterprise companies.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/DY/sg/CARZX2SALMK8.JPEGGreat product with a ton of possibilitiesAs a software development company, we use TOPdesk for our clients to report bugs, ask questions etc. Our own employees will also submit tickets for their own support needs that go straight to our systems administrator. Change and operational management are also successfully implemented to adhere perfectly to our strict security policy.,100,Change management Object management The ability to link every object and change an issue with each other.,Right now we're on a bit of an older version (updating soon!), they could use better browser compatibility Parts of configuration are still on the server instead of in the app. It takes a bit more time,8,Building a change process to make sure new employees get everything they need on the day they start here. This made sure that new employees actually have a good start here with everything at their disposal from day 1,8TOPDesk - The right tool to get the job doneWe use TOPDesk within our organization to register and follow up on issues that users have with the various other systems that are used. It is very useful to track each issue and communicate with users without the hassle of sending/reading separate emails. Users can also use the self-service desk to see what the status of the issues is, without the need to check with someone within our department.,100,Very easy to use, it's rather self-explanatory. Default it offers a lot of functionalities, like Plan Boards, Task Boards, Time Registration, Knowledge Management, Contract Management etc. and one can choose to use it (or not to use it, if it's not needed). Very configurable so that you can set up your organizational needs very well.,Can't name any real Cons for the system. There will always be some small improvements which would be nice to have, but in general, everyone should be able to get up and running in no time and reap the fruits of being able to track issues decently.,10,TOPDesk did bring us great traceability of issues. Instead of trying to find all emails related to an issue, read them in the correct order and sharing them with other colleagues it is now easy to see all info about an issue with a single click. Users can use the self-service modules to report issues, track the status of issues and close the issues once they're satisfied with the answer. This leaves us more time spending on actually solving issues instead of constantly answering to emails, phone calls etc.,10A good product & professional peopleTopdesk is used by the Managed Services department of our organization. Our clients use Topdesk to register their incidents & changes. Our business is Microsoft Office 365 & Azure.,100,Dashboards, it is possible to create all kind of dashboards in Topdesk, that help us to improve our services Self Service Portal, the Self Service Portal is very user friendly. We don't even need manuals for our customers. Monitoring, it's very easy to monitor all tickets & changes from all our customers. With one click you can see the status overview,More detailed financial reports,9,Better Service management Increased efficiency More Self Service,Freshdesk,9TOPdesk helped in professionalizing our service and supportOur service and support organization depends on the use of TOPdesk and the ticketing module. More modules are available and are soon to be implemented.,300,Very intuative for our end-users Easy to make adjustments in forms and pages Nice self-service portal functions for out-of-the-box use,Copy and past-ing of images isn't possible E-mail forms will Always need to create a ticket. It would be nice to create forms without a ticket function.,8,The use of the self-service portal takes the pressure of our call center The use of standard solutions gives us the ability to close tickets faster,9TopDesk! Can't imagine my work space without it!It's a great way to manage incidents and changes. Also, a great product to keep track of a CMDB which makes it all very organized.,500,Very well organized for incident and change management Great way to manage a CMDB,It's a bit hard to find all the features if you're an admin and new to the product. Could be a little bit more specific,8,I can't give any specific answer on this question im afraid.,BMC Remedy Asset Management,8
Windows, Linux
TOPdesk
207 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TOPdesk Reviews

TOPdesk
207 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 207 vetted TOPdesk reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (26-50 of 97)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
June 25, 2018

TOPdesk Review: "Great product with a ton of possibilities"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a software development company, we use TOPdesk for our clients to report bugs, ask questions etc. Our own employees will also submit tickets for their own support needs that go straight to our systems administrator. Change and operational management are also successfully implemented to adhere perfectly to our strict security policy.
  • Change management
  • Object management
  • The ability to link every object and change an issue with each other.
  • Right now we're on a bit of an older version (updating soon!), they could use better browser compatibility
  • Parts of configuration are still on the server instead of in the app. It takes a bit more time
TOPdesk is perfect for your internal support needs, but also for external needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 15, 2018

Review: "TOPDesk - The right tool to get the job done"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPDesk within our organization to register and follow up on issues that users have with the various other systems that are used. It is very useful to track each issue and communicate with users without the hassle of sending/reading separate emails. Users can also use the self-service desk to see what the status of the issues is, without the need to check with someone within our department.
  • Very easy to use, it's rather self-explanatory.
  • Default it offers a lot of functionalities, like Plan Boards, Task Boards, Time Registration, Knowledge Management, Contract Management etc. and one can choose to use it (or not to use it, if it's not needed).
  • Very configurable so that you can set up your organizational needs very well.
  • Can't name any real Cons for the system. There will always be some small improvements which would be nice to have, but in general, everyone should be able to get up and running in no time and reap the fruits of being able to track issues decently.
I've used several issue tracking systems and I must admit that TOPDesk is the first system which actually got it right! Even though we're not using the very latest version, it's clear that the system even gets better with each update!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 13, 2018

TOPdesk Review: "A good product & professional people"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Topdesk is used by the Managed Services department of our organization. Our clients use Topdesk to register their incidents & changes. Our business is Microsoft Office 365 & Azure.
  • Dashboards, it is possible to create all kind of dashboards in Topdesk, that help us to improve our services
  • Self Service Portal, the Self Service Portal is very user friendly. We don't even need manuals for our customers.
  • Monitoring, it's very easy to monitor all tickets & changes from all our customers. With one click you can see the status overview
  • More detailed financial reports
We've decided to switch to Topdesk which helps us to professionalize our Services to our customers.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 06, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk helped in professionalizing our service and support"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our service and support organization depends on the use of TOPdesk and the ticketing module. More modules are available and are soon to be implemented.
  • Very intuative for our end-users
  • Easy to make adjustments in forms and pages
  • Nice self-service portal functions for out-of-the-box use
  • Copy and past-ing of images isn't possible
  • E-mail forms will Always need to create a ticket. It would be nice to create forms without a ticket function.
TOPdesk is a nice and fast system for ticketing and workflow change management. Less appropriate for CMDB like functions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 18, 2018

Review: "TopDesk! Can't imagine my work space without it!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's a great way to manage incidents and changes. Also, a great product to keep track of a CMDB which makes it all very organized.
  • Very well organized for incident and change management
  • Great way to manage a CMDB
  • It's a bit hard to find all the features if you're an admin and new to the product. Could be a little bit more specific
I can't imagine myself in a support environment without TopDesk. It's plain but very user-friendly.
Read this authenticated review
Adrie Bergwerff profile photo
May 29, 2018

User Review: "TOPdesk: TOPproduct, TOPservice"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used almost across the whole organization. But also our customers have access to it. TOPdesk is used by customers and our internal user for filing Incidents and Changes. My department is using is to support customers and internal users, but also for planning and registering hardware. Currently, we have approximately 20 TOPdesk operators.

For our customers, we also have planned reports for SLA reports.
  • Support by TOPdesk is excellent. Until now, we didn't have any issues when support was requested.
  • The latest version supports ADFS/SAML authentication. In the former version, this was an add-on you should buy.
  • Continues development of the product bearing in mind the user's input.
  • Copy and paste functionality of pictures.
  • Approval by "managers" of simple changes. Currently, only Extensive Change has this functionality.
  • Rich text formatting in Change Management module.
  • Rating of Changes, currently only a rating of an incident can be used.
Well suited for Incident Management!!!

Less suited for: For Change Management (simples changes) we miss the functionality that a "Manager" can approve a change from within the Self Service Portal.
Read Adrie Bergwerff's full review
Bob Gruett profile photo
April 19, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk - A potentially great product currently burdened by a handful of shortcomings"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When fully implemented, TOPdesk will be used across my whole organization. It will be primarily used to manage ticketing (help desk, maintenance, etc...), as well as to provide a nice front-end for the user community.

We also hope to implement the project management and change control modules in the near future.
  • Provides a very nice front-end interface for the end-user community.
  • Provides a thorough web-based interface for the operators (back-end technicians).
  • Provides a great deal of flexibility concerning the organization of operators into groups, as well as delegating very granular control over what they can/cannot do in the operators interface.
  • The inventory system - while boasting some cool features such as historical modifications to a system - suffers from one core issue: It is very easy to introduce duplicate records into the system and lose connections between PCs and other objects (licenses, users, support tickets) due to TOPdesk's use of the host name as the primary key in their database.
  • The AD import system is not properly fleshed out, and requires extensive modifications by TOPdesk before it will work. For instance, it won't pull in any addressing information for any of your users by default. It will also pull in blank entries if an account lives in the OU structure you're scanning and that account has a manager whose account lives outside the OU structure in question. Likewise, similar blank entries can be created if an Exchange contact is set as the manager of a user account within your OU.
  • The knowledgebase is decent, but it lacks [A] any real formatting (no numbered or bulleted lists, making procedures difficult to write) and [B] granular control over who can do what (if you give someone in HR the ability to write/edit knowledgebase articles, they also have access to all the IT knowledgebase articles). I believe TOPdesk will be improving this approach in the future, but nothing yet.
  • The trigger/action system (handles all email notifications) is very difficult to set up. It's a powerful system in that you can compose highly customized emails, but without any sort of basic guide or templates it's a very steep learning curve to get working. In my own system I have nearly 40 triggers and nearly 70 actions just to handle who should get what, and it took months to set up - a core reason it took so long to roll out the product. These triggers are not well documented either, so many of them require trial and error to the nth degree.
  • Some aspects of the system are inherently broken. For instance, you can create a trigger to trip whenever someone posts a comment to a ticket, then have an action set up to email all the linked users of a ticket. But if there aren't any linked users then the operator gets a post-comment prompt asking who they want to send the email to, instead of the system being smart enough to know that it shouldn't try sending the email at all.
  • Linked users have no visibility into someone else's ticket. This is odd, because TOPdesk has enabled this feature for [A] users of the same location (where it isn't always applicable) and/or [B] users of the same department (where again, it isn't always applicable). What TOPdesk should do is give *ANY* linked user the ability to see another user's ticket via the self-service portal, but they haven't done this. The result would be a linked user getting an email notification for a ticket which they don't have visibility on, resulting on additional emails back and forth looking for information.
  • On a related note, the two existing visibility options listed above (location-based and department-based) can introduce security holes. Consider a handful of users at a single location or within a single department, then consider that two or three of them are basic users, then there is an assistant manager, and finally there is a manager above everyone. You can easily give the manager visibility of all of his/her subordinates' tickets, but if in order to give the assistant manager visibility over his/her subordinates, you must also give him/her visibility to the manager's tickets.
  • The mobile operators site restricts ticket visibility to only [A] an operator's own tickets and [B] unassigned tickets within that operator's group. So if you have a 10-person support team with a single manager, then as soon as the manager assigns at ticket to one of his/her techs, the manager loses visibility of the ticket. This is especially problematic if you have a manager working in the field on a mobile device 100% of the time (as I do). The only way for the manager to see all tickets is to simply not assign them to anyone, a pretty dumb approach to a problem introduced as part of a poor design choice.
  • As a general rule, TOPdesk has introduced many great ideas, but they are often burdened by the singular approach the TOPdesk designers have taken. As stated above, yes, you have an inventory, but it's borderline unusable because of their choice of primary keys. Or yes, you can link multiple users to a single ticket, but they can't actually SEE the ticket. Or an operator can use the mobile website, but they can't SEE tickets assigned to other members of their team within the mobile website. Things like that. And the most frustrating element is that when you bring these points up their response is almost always 'Why is that a problem?', or 'Why would you want to do it that way?', or something similar which avoids confronting the design issue head on in favor of putting the onus on the customer to justify why something should work the way it works in countless other help desk applications.
  • Don't get me wrong - TOPdesk is a very decent product and has the potential to be GREAT - but after 8 months of prepping before we turned it on, it didn't surprise me in the least that so many individuals (operators) in our organization reported problems and frustrations with it.
  • UPDATE: Since my first review we have upgraded TOPdesk to the latest version and found several previous problems have been fixed (so they no longer appear in this review). One such example was documents attached to KB articles, which show up out of alphabetical order (still a problem), but which previously were not returned during searches. They now are, making the misordering of the files not much of a problem any longer.
  • The point is that TOPdesk is always improving their products, and this gives me great hope going forward that our satisfaction with it will only grow.
Absolutely great if you want to provide a nice interface to your end-user community. Also, pretty good ticket management. Decent (not great) form designer.

Horrible if you want to use inventory, write elaborate knowledgebase procedures, or set up any sort of intelligent email notification system without spending years of your life getting things set up. Very poor documentation (getting SSL set up was a chore, installing the product was not easy, etc...).
Read Bob Gruett's full review
Karl Schuele profile photo
April 16, 2018

TOPdesk Review: "Implementing a first ticketing system in our organization"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TOPdesk to receive IT Incidents and Change Orders from our users in the Offices in Germany, Spain, Italy, Turkey, and Poland.
  • Easy to enter tickets by mail from the users.
  • TOPdesk could be used directly out of the box.
  • SaaS makes it easy to setup it up and scales within the region.
  • Excellent support during and after the go-live by the people from TOPdesk.
  • SaaS implementation could be easier if it would be done by TOPdesk as an extra service. My IT department had some difficulties due to lack of knowledge in this area.
TOPdesk is well suited if you are implementing your first ticketing tool and/or if your organization is less than 2000 users. Also, if your organization has no high ITIL skill level. The TOPdesk team helps a lot to compensate this.
Read Karl Schuele's full review
Ian Short profile photo
April 04, 2018

User Review: "TOPdesk is a solid solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We originally implemented TOPdesk as a join venture between IT Services and our Estates and Facilities department. Both departments were using separate systems prior to TOPdesk. Since then we have also been able to include 3 others areas of the University as users of TOPdesk. Primarily it is used for call/issue management but we also make use of the change management, asset and property management features. Very soon we are looking to implement the Survey Module.

TOPdesk has enabled us to have a more consistent experience for issue management across the areas which are using it. This includes a more streamlined way to pass calls between different areas of the University and track progress. Use of the other features such as asset and property management has allowed us to more tightly couple this data against call data and avoid having to manage them in disparate systems.
  • Self-service Portal is very good, particularly with the latest version. If you populate the knowledge base well, users can often find the help they need before needing to raise a call
  • Escalation and routing of calls is very straightforward which allows the operators to work efficiently when dealing with calls
  • Separation of different teams within TOPdesk works very well so that they can manage their own calls without seeing each others
  • The tools for configuring events and actions need improving, especially the tool for events which, whilst very powerful, is cumbersome to use when configuring event criteria
  • The built-in form designer within TOPdesk is adequate but could do with better features to allow for more dynamic forms. It would also benefit from being able to post data to custom fields rather than just into the Action box. There is quite a step up between the built-in form designer and the custom XFG form engine which is the only other solution which TOPdesk provide
  • Asset management could do with some improvements as it can be a little inflexible when needing to customize the data being held as well as build processes around it
TOPdesk works well for call/issue management and benefits from being based on the ITIL model. It can help if you have different teams/departments which need a service management tool but want to manage their calls separately. Whilst the concept of having a number of modules which link together is good, in practice it can take quite a bit of effort to get them working well together.
Read Ian Short's full review
Alex Vermeulen profile photo
May 31, 2018

User Review: "TOPdesk GO"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used to collect issues from our employees and support clients with questions. The database is used to see where the most questions came from and will be used to aim for upgrading and improving our business line. It also benefits the use of 1 entry (E-mail address or SSD) for all questions. The internal handling is not a problem [for] our clients.
  • Keep track of all the items, solved or unsolved. It is a database where you can track and trace all the issues.
  • With this information, you can find the best and worst of the supported products.
  • The TOPdesk application makes it much easier as the previous mail solution for support. An incoming issue can be sent to help desk member. If it can't be solved by his knowledge it is easy to transfer it to a second line help desk and even go to our development team.
  • There is never a question lost in this situation.
  • For me, it suits our needs.
Read Alex Vermeulen's full review
Ap Matteman profile photo
May 31, 2018

"TOPdesk - the way we administrate our time and work"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is our main program for our hour registration. We work for a lot of customers and the time we spend for our customers is booked in TOPdesk. The administration department is using the time in TOPdesk for creating invoices. We also use TOPdesk for the registration of our hardware and creating records of interruption or dysfunction.
  • Easy to administrator the worked time on a ticket and also when multiple users work on the some ticket
  • There is a great function to let different TOPdesk environments [work] together, in this way you can share tickets with your customers
  • Great report generator to get management information from TOPdesk
  • It is a super way to register hardware and create tickets on the hardware to see the complete history of a product
  • It would be nice if there was a clock function, [so you could] start the clock when you start working on a ticket and stop the clock when you are ready.
  • No mobile version (app) for the phone. Field engineers are now using the web version.
  • Super for registration of hardware and work. Easy to use and good detailed information.
  • You cannot use it as a CRM or to make offers or invoices.
Read Ap Matteman's full review
Jurgen Bravenboer profile photo
May 31, 2018

User Review: "Thinking about TOPdesk?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Topdesk to track and trace incidents for all our end-users, they are spread over multiple organizations. Also, our IT contacts can track all the incidents we work on for their end-users. In this way, they have the opportunity to stay up-to-date all the time if they want and like to. Every month we send out incident reports created by Topdesk.
  • Automatically reads designated mail folder and creates incidents from this; this function is saving us a lot of time entering incidents. In this way, we can respond much quicker to incident calls.
  • Escalation of incidents. We use this a lot, because we don't want our servicedesk to be occupied with stuff they cannot solve in a fashionable time. In this way customers are getting the correct response much quicker.
  • Report engine. Creating reports is really nice and you can make them the way you want them. This gives us the flexibility to create reports with all the necessary information for our customers.
  • Give best practice tips when designing your Topdesk environment, in this way you won't run into discussions with a Topdesk consultant about the way you run things!
  • Make it easier to design some work forms for jobs you do for customers and let them sign off.
  • Get more functionality available as an add-on, there are examples where you need to buy enterprise license just to get a hold on some of those features.
Topdesk is very useful in an organization that has its own IT department, it's possible to run almost everything from Topdesk even beyond IT related stuff. If used as a managed service provider (like we do) expect to run into some issues that you need to think about before starting with Topdesk, It will work great, but not out of the box!
Read Jurgen Bravenboer's full review
Stijn Buitenhuis profile photo
May 29, 2018

Review: "Asset management is TopDesk’s best asset"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, it’s mainly being used by one department. Other departments, however, are using the data registered in TopDesk. We’re currently planning to use it for other departments as well. It helps us to keep track of all issues and gives us an insight of our configuration management.
  • It transforms from static to flexible.
  • It implements new functionalities like asset management.
  • They listen to the wishes and needs of their customers.
  • Flexibility in incident management (like asset management)
  • Artificial intelligence based on categorization etcetera are very welcome
  • Easier use of filters
The asset management is very flexible and easy to manage and design. It gives you the ability to create custom fields and filter on these fields. The incident management lacks artificial intelligence or flows/dependencies. This would be very welcome or give more flexibility to customize the cards.
Read Stijn Buitenhuis's full review
Ton van Kaam profile photo
May 24, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk the best tool for maintenance and support"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk for several processes, supplier contracts, and software licenses. Hardware equipment. Machinery registration. Periodical Maintenance. Machine failure registration. We use a third of the processes in other countries and in different languages. All the processes are well supported by TOPdesk. The functions within TOPdesk are more than available. The helpdesk of TOPdesk is very good. Help is provided within a day by normal tickets. If a call is needed, quick service is perfect. TOPdesk is a professional company that knows what customers need. I can recommend this company to everyone!
  • Software/ hardware lease contracts. You can add end dates, alert dates, lease amount, duration number in days/months/years. Activate and not active anymore. But still, have a good overview
  • Machine registration. You can sort by date who is the supplier. Estimated end of the live period. Maintenance plan. Contract info. Repair history. Contact info. This is a very complete module
  • Organisation overview is also very complete.
  • One thing that can be better is the configuration for sending emails. For this, you need the help of TOPdesk. This would be better if a customer could set this by them self
  • As I already mentioned. Sending mail configuration could be better and should be maintained by customer.
  • Maybe more mobile friendly
Topdesk is well suited for companies that manage machines, software, hardware, contracts, mobile's, customer complaints. International companies.
Read Ton van Kaam's full review
Jeff Walters profile photo
January 19, 2018

User Review: "TOPdesk is Top Notch"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use TOPdesk as our IT Service Desk ticketing solution. We were looking for a solution that would allow our employees to submit, manage, and review their IT requests from any location. TOPdesk provided flexibility with the configuration and customization on a modular hosted platform. We don't have to worry about server maintenance and upgrades either. Next steps are improved asset management and workflow automation through change management. Additionally, we are looking at expanding the ticketing capabilities to other support areas outside of the IT department.
  • The greatest win for our organization was moving to a managed hosted platform. This gave us improved access for our remote users and increased service availability.
  • The modular nature of the TOPdesk products allows us to only use the features we need. Additionally, the license model gave us increased opportunity with who can use the products.
  • Almost all aspects of the product are customizable which means we can expand the product to other departments for their service needs.
  • Sometimes desired feature sets are only available with additional modules such as change management module for workflow automation.
  • Process automation can be the trickiest to configure and self-help documentation can be lacking.
TOPdesk is well suited for the medium-sized enterprise that wants to have a customizable solution for their service management. It is fairly scalable and intuitive to use. Some system administration is necessary, but minimal end-user training is needed. Every once in a while you find a limitation with a process where better automation is desired, but usually, those can be addressed by TOPdesk support services.
Read Jeff Walters's full review
Sven van der Waal van Dijk profile photo
April 19, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk - a winner for standard service management tasks"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used for everything concerning service management and ISO-related administration. It's the central point for all operations.
  • Modular
  • Keeps developing
  • Excellent price / quality ratio
  • Needs more rich text options
  • Response time reporting
  • Renaming fields / changing lay-out would be nice
  • Self-service portal has very limited reporting options and no export functions
Ideal for small and midsize organisations with a focus on service management.

Will work fine as a guideline for setting up your business but is a no go for situations where organisations want to deploy very elaborate and customized processes.
Read Sven van der Waal van Dijk's full review
Jean-Marie Adam profile photo
April 17, 2018

Review: "Choose TOPdesk for your Service Management activities!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TOPdesk in several departments. Especially the incident and change module. Now I am implementing the Contract and SLM module to maintain and control the contracts with our suppliers. The most important issue to resolve in our organization is to get a commitment from the users.
  • customizing the tool to their own needs
  • flexible, powerful
  • good reporting facilities
  • make it easier to delete records which not being used
  • a better overview of following process steps and show the consequences of doing some actions.
  • improvement of the user guide
TOPdesk is well suited as a complete Service Management tool. All the operational ITIL-processes can easily be configured. On a tactical level, the contracts and their service levels can be stored and triggers can be set. Improvements can be made in defining categories en subcategories. This is less convenient.
Read Jean-Marie Adam's full review
Zeo Smeijsters profile photo
April 10, 2018

TOPdesk Review: "High level of customizability for a out of the box solution."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used to track all customer contacts in the after-sales processes (reporting on issue origin, amount of issues raised and the total response and handle times towards our customers).
  • TOPdesk can be used for contact tracking during support sessions.
  • Support documentation on the self service desk is limited in the options and workflow.
  • Reporting options are limited.
  • Simultaneous updating of one issue by triggers or other representatives gives "Already updates" errors.
If you have limited requirements and are satisfied with a paid out of the box solution for aftersales contact tracking TOPdesk can offer a solution.

For an out of the box solution there is a high level of customability, however as every out of the box solution it will never support your processes fully and there is the risk of altering your well appreciated existing business processes to suit the tool.
Read Zeo Smeijsters's full review
Mike de Lima profile photo
April 10, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk is a good product to use in any kind of industry"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is being used by our IT department for the call registration of daily incidents. Also, to have a CMDB of all our assets within the company. Besides IT-related questions, we also register all incidents our students are having with their schoolbooks.
  • Incident management: In my opinion, is the core process for TOPdesk. Call agents can easily register tickets, you can send status updates to your clients and send an information email when the problem is solved.
  • Selfservicedesk: You can give customers access to the SSD so they can apply a new incident, but they can also follow any ticket they applied earlier.
  • Possibility to connect with Azure AD. We run LDAP connection so we can import all our employees and students. In the future, all our users will be known in the Azure AD instead of our on-premise AD.
I worked with other programs that are similar to TOPdesk, but they are not easy to use. You do not need any IT knowledge before you can make use of TOPdesk. If you have a problem with TOPdesk you can send an e-mail to the support desk and they always respond within 1 workday.
Read Mike de Lima's full review
Benthe Duppen profile photo
March 30, 2018

TOPdesk Review: "Good support!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk at the reception [desk]. We are using it to register visitors and keep a detailed employee list in order to give out lockers. We are currently in the process of starting to use the self-service portal for tickets and visitors.
  • Very good customer service
  • In general a nice product to use, too bad we do not use it to full extent
  • Honestly, I don't have any examples. if I have to say one thing it is that I have to search often for features in the admin part. Maybe because I don't use it often enough maybe because its a little confusing?
I think it it is suited for a reception [desk] but the rest of the organization should be using it as well then. Since our IT department does not support it it is a little hard to get the whole organization on board.
Read Benthe Duppen's full review
Eddie van der Weide profile photo
March 30, 2018

Review: "How TOPdesk can help you with software development"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use incident management for our customer base to support our AMT Product Suite at Asysco. We use change management for our software development (Extensive changes). We use knowledge base management for news items and feedback.

The self-service desk is used for customers to enter their problems. For projects, we use the operator part.
  • Simplicity in use. Incident management is straightforward.
  • Ease of configuration. Users and permission groups can easily be added. Graphical overview is a pro.
  • Modularity. Incident management and change management.
  • Self-service desk: Option to be able to add more functionality for certain goals. In our situation, we would like to have the possibility to change some fields when the incident is created. For example the customer priority or status. In that way, we can use the self-service desk in projects
  • The Kanban board is new. We would like to have it in Change management also. Extra columns on the board - you should be able to configure it per operator group.
  • The user interface is not the same in all places. In certain cards the edit button is visible while on other cards it muc be chosen from the drop-down menu.
  • Incident management suited for facility management.
  • For use of ticket handling a project, it is less appropriate. There you should log in as an operator.
Read Eddie van der Weide's full review
Jon Faulkner profile photo
March 19, 2018

User Review: "TOPdesk really is TOP notch!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As part of the delivery of the IT Strategy to deliver an improved digital, collaborative, optimised and flexible working environment at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine I recommended that we introduce a service management tool for the whole organisation. So far it is in use by IT, Estates, Payroll, Communications, Catering, Library & Archives, Student Registry and parts of Finance. In the coming months, more of HR and Finance together with the Grants Management Office will be using the TOPdesk platform. Through this one successful implementation, the school has benefited from greater customer experience and satisfaction, improved efficiency and collaboration for support services, reduced loss of working time across the staff and student communities, advancement of digital capabilities and much improved management information. Much value has already been gained and there is still more to come.
  • Versatile enough to be usable and add value across multiple support functions - makes ROI and efficiency conversations more obvious
  • Great modular building blocks - enabling progressive development and improvement in planned phases
  • Readily configurable to fit in with desired style and branding - adding to the alignment and common experience for end users
  • Has all the essentials for empowering the end users to self service - shifting support level, delivering more timely and cost effective resolutions
  • The only area of challenge for us with TOPdesk fitting in with our wider technical architecture is that not all of our more obscure tools had existing interfaces or APIs, but this is hardly a bad reflection on TOPdesk
  • TOPdesk provides a clear, cohesive and intuitive customer experience
  • Self-service portal enables reduced contact via less ideal modes i.e. email or phone
  • Promotes effective parallel resolution to complex calls and more effective collaboration between support service areas
  • A customer-focused, people-centric pan-organisation support tool which has done all we were seeking - even though we were seeking a lot!!!
Read Jon Faulkner's full review
Peter Reus profile photo
June 07, 2018

"Museum multi-department TOPdesk review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used in a mix of 3 (totally different) departments in our organization, it's caught incidents, requests, and informational items. The total number of engineers is about 20 at this time. The ease of use is a big plus for our organization, and that it is available in the Dutch language.
  • Feedback to the employee is very flexible
  • Ease of use
  • SAAS application, available anywhere, anytime
  • Way of editing feedback email is in HTML, what can be a pain to edit for some
TOPdesk can be used in any scenario, as we did. It is used in 3 totally different departments and for different uses. There are other places I can think of a few more departments who could make use.
Read Peter Reus's full review
Bart Wessels profile photo
June 04, 2018

User Review: "Topdesk, Easy and effective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TOPdesk to service our customers and manage our devices.
  • managing incidents
  • hardware configuration
  • self service portal
  • Mobile apps where you can sign a signature by the customer.
Incident management, configuration management. Maybe also project management, but we do not use this right now.
Read Bart Wessels's full review
Marc Roest profile photo
June 04, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk advanced but easy to use program"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used by the ICT department as a back office tool at Coloriginz.
  • Friendly and simple user interface
  • Easy incident management
  • HRM module - the intake procedure could be better. To make your own intake procedure is complicated.
  • For incident management and follow up it is well suited.
  • TOPdesk is very scalable.
Read Marc Roest's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (97)
8.2
Expert directory (65)
6.6
Service restoration (61)
7.4
Self-service tools (90)
8.0
Subscription-based notifications (72)
7.4
ITSM collaboration and documentation (75)
7.6
ITSM reports and dashboards (78)
6.9
Configuration mangement (79)
7.1
Asset management dashboard (69)
7.6
Policy and contract enforcement (58)
6.8
Change requests repository (72)
7.9
Change calendar (64)
6.9
Service-level management (65)
7.1

About TOPdesk

Excellent service management made easy
TOPdesk is a service management solution that aims to help users improve customer communication, manage workflows and keep track of assets. According to the vendor, the software is simple and attractive, making it pleasant to use and quick to adopt. On-premises and SaaS deployments are available.

4 key differentiators:
1. Easy to use, quick to set up
2. Suitable for IT, FM or HR.
3. Seamless integrations with other packages.
4. Guaranteed service excellence.
5.Attractive and flexible licensing model TOPdesk has 20+ years experience in helping 5000+ organizations worldwide deliver the best service.

TOPdesk Features

Incident and problem management Features
Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Has featureExpert directory
Has featureService restoration
Has featureSelf-service tools
Has featureSubscription-based notifications
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureITSM reports and dashboards
ITSM asset management Features
Has featureConfiguration mangement
Has featureAsset management dashboard
Has featurePolicy and contract enforcement
Change management Features
Has featureChange requests repository
Has featureChange calendar
Has featureService-level management
Additional Features
Has featureResource Plan Board
Has featureOperations Management
Has featureOpen API
Has featureIntegrations Market Place
Has featureReservations Management

TOPdesk Video

The Total Economic Impact™ Of TOPdesk Enterprise is an October 2016 commissioned study conducted by Forrester Consulting on behalf of TOPdesk. For more information: page.topdesk.com/tei

TOPdesk Integrations

Bomgar Remote Support Software, Snow License Manager, QlikView, Qlik Sense, Lansweeper, Nagios, Okta, Microsoft Azure, Microsoft BI, Microsoft Dynamics NAV, OneLogin, Microsoft System Center, Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager, Skype for Business (formerly Lync), Ivanti IT Asset Management Suite (formerly LANDESK IT Asset Management Suite), Ivanti Endpoint Manager (formerly LANDESK Management Suite), Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), RES Service Automation, Microsoft Active Directory, UMRA Access & Identity Management, Mavim Rules, ISM

TOPdesk Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

TOPdesk has a unique license model: - Modular: Select the modules you need and easily expand as your business grows - Saas or On premise - Unlimited number of assets. Successful asset management should not be dependent on the license of your product. - End users OR service agents based, whichever fits your situation best. If you are looking for flexibility in the number of agents for e.g. extra busy times of the year, the flexible end user license lets you add agents without any restrictions, no day passes needed.

TOPdesk Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
5%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
55%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

TOPdesk Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

TOPdesk Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, French, Portuguese, Dutch, Danish, Swedish, Hungarian, Italian, Polish, Norwegian