Formstack Reviews

133 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-50 of 72)

Julie Harding | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2017

Formstack is a great way to generate any form you need.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack for every area of ministry in our church, from event registration and payment to online donations. It may be a simple RSVP or signup form, or a complicated, logic-driven event registration. Formstack is easy to use and helps me to be able to craft sign-up forms for every application.
  • The conditional logic built into Formstack helps me craft forms and registrations with multiple options. It's pretty easy to pick up on how to use.
  • Mobile friendly forms that can be used directly in our app is a big plus.
  • The submission stats and charts have been invaluable to me in planning and keeping those in leadership informed.
  • I'd like to see Formstack be able to send each registrant a custom QR code for quick check in.
Formstack is well suited for times when options need to be available for people to choose. I can create a simple form with our online givine/CMS system, but there is no flexibility there in asking for options and especially with conditional logic. We do a music theatre camp each summer and offer optional extra childcare times before and after for a fee. Formstack makes it easy for parents to sign up and select all their options.
Read Julie Harding's full review
Al Depoutot | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2017

Easy and efficient

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across our whole company to be able to do our business - forms are created and used by each department. It enables us to be more efficient and gives our students a smoother and more user-friendly process. It is one piece that we are using to transition from paper to all electronic.
  • It enables our students to do most of their admission process electronically.
  • It enables future athletes to apply by filling out the appropriate form stack forms and allows us to make an immediate evaluation.
  • It allows my department to keep track of student information electronically.
  • It gives flexibility to be able to create whatever electronic forms are needed.
  • The creation process could be made so that anyone could do it.
  • The use of electronic signatures and the writing of notes.
It has helped my department the best making it easier for us to collect student information and to be able to create the forms we need. It is also helpful with inter-office communication of information that other offices need.
Read Al Depoutot's full review
Ian Burnette | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 29, 2017

Formstack - an expensive choice if you use it for as much as we do.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use forms from Formstack to implement applications for pilot testing, as well as for certain lead retrieval tasks that Hubspot is unsuitable for. We also use it as a tool internally to manage group events and to collect information about the team, as well as a type of internal ticketing system for various requests (design, copyediting, etc.)
  • Compatibility with old browsers.
  • Fairly easy to build forms, even for users who haven't been explicitly trained.
  • Versatility in form building styles, which allows us to use it for many different purposes.
  • Integrations with other software platforms, like Hubspot.
  • Managing form designs in Formstack is very difficult, and we've had numerous problems with design/styling.
  • Certain features are missing from the form builder, like "same as above" functionality.
  • The form storage backend is difficult to navigate, and it is difficult to find forms in any way but searching for them.
  • Sometimes features in the form builder require reverting to the old form builder to implement.
For well-funded institutions with a large number of forms needs, Formstack is well-suited for a variety of tasks. However, the styling limitations held us back numerous times and the we've reached the form limit frequently and have had to upgrade our account. For smaller, less well-funded organizations, the cost would quickly get prohibitive if they use it like we do.
Read Ian Burnette's full review
Matt Morris | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 22, 2017

For a small non-profit Formstack is major time saver

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is the technology for our volunteer applications. We have a very long and involved application form and Formstack has the features to allow us to capture all the information that we need. It is also able to present the questions over multiple pages thus allowing the applicant to partially complete and return. Upon submission the application form creates a Lead record in our Salesforce instance, from there we can quickly take them through the selection process.
  • Strong integration with Salesforce - can create multiple records within or across multiple objects
  • Quick to build forms
  • CSS allow small changes to formatting
  • Support are always speedy in their responses
  • Sometimes updates to fields don’t happen and you have to refresh the page and try again
  • Changing field types has unexpected consequences
  • With the Salesforce integration it is not possible to create a record and attach a file in one form submission.
With Formstack and Salesforce together you can automate the sending on emails that contain links to forms with record IDs pre-populated. This way you can automate updates/feedback/surveys from your clients.
Read Matt Morris's full review
Caleb Unruh | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2017

Formstack - The ultimate data collection tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack to gather data from our employees and customers. We use it across several departments, including Marketing, Sales, Finance, and HR. Formstack helps us collect important information and funnel it to the right people, organize it for detailed reporting purposes, and make good decisions based on the facts.
  • Formstack has a very robust form-builder that allows multiple field types, conditional logic, and calculations.
  • Formstack has a huge number of supported integrations to get your data where it needs to be.
  • Formstack's database of submissions allows for a lot of detailed reporting to be done on collected data.
  • It can be a little tricky to modify a form's appearance with Themes. This has gotten better with some recent updates, but there are still some issues on the appearance of forms that aren't perfect.
  • It's not always clear what users will see after they submit a form.
  • It would be great if Formstack supported an on page confirmation instead of redirecting to another page once forms are submitted.
We have used Formstack in a variety of ways, but it is extremely helpful for us in our Product Claims Management processes. We've built a very large multi-page form to collect data from our customers if they are having a problem with one of our products. We use a lot of conditional logic, field calculations, and alternate values to get detailed information. We then use Formstack's great integrations to create reports and summaries of the data on the fly that are sent to appropriate people based on the information collected in the form.
Read Caleb Unruh's full review
Cassie Dull | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2017

Formstack is a Game Changer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is used across our entire institution. Its uses vary from event registration to lead generation, data collection, applications and more. Departments who get the most use of Formstack are marketing/communications, alumni relations, fundraising, admissions, and human resources. As a preK-12 school, Formstack has saved countless hours for several employees as we have eliminated many paper forms. The convenience of being able to submit a form quickly at any time of day is also a great benefit to our users.
  • Easy drag and drop form-builder
  • Share links that allow anyone without a login to view the data in real-time
  • Customizable notification and confirmation emails
  • More visual reporting in the submissions
  • Would like an easy way to batch send pre-filled forms (name, email, etc.)
Formstack is a premier online form solution. They are always working to improve their product and make it applicable to any organization, whether it's a small business, local nonprofit, or global industry leader. The various integrations for payment processing, email marketing, documents and more can really amp up your automation, saving you time and money. They've made a product that's easy to use for both Formstack users who build the forms and users who complete the forms.
Read Cassie Dull's full review
Donna Gray | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2017

Check it out

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack for forms for any web/digital projects that require forms. It's easy to navigate and customize which is important for our team as well as our clients. Historically, forms had been a problem area for consistency and flexibility, and Formstack has created a platform for us to successfully meet the needs of our clients.
  • Customization of how forms work - so many times in the past a client has asked for something in a form that was not an easy deliverable for us. Now it's much easier.
  • Design options are really nice. It's a seamless transition in a branded website with these forms.
  • Easy for clients to navigate if changes need to be made. Fewer errors.
  • It would be great to offer a bit more flexibility with the branding/design options.
  • Wish it was free :) - but seriously, the value is good.
For us, we work with a variety of clients who need forms. Being able to use and rely on a single source for all of our clients needs saves us time and headaches. Each client has different needs, but Formstack has the flexibility and integration options that addresses all of the different scenarios we deal with on a weekly basis.
Read Donna Gray's full review
Rafal Szczypka | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2017

Easy to use yet advanced solution for all you forms needs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is used for all form needs within the company. The main purpose is to onboard new clients.
  • Simplicity - it's very easy to create new forms or edit them when you have them ready.
  • Integration options - there is a wide range of integrations available. With the webhook option you can do anything you wish.
  • Peace of mind. Creating complex forms with field logic and validation has always been quite difficult or at least it has been taking a lot of effort. Formstack solves it for us.
  • When you add a matrix field, that is a really nice way to present some questions, it's impossible to change the questions later on without loosing your data because the data is assigned to the labels and not to ids.
  • With the webhooks you can't get the Description fields. For example, we send data to a webhook and in the webhook we create a PDF file. It would be perfect to have the headers and description available in the data sent to webhook in order to better build the PDF.
  • Client onboarding
  • Automating data entry for third parties. You create a form and a webhook. The form fields ensure you get the data you need and with the webhook you can perform all sorts of tasks with the data.
I can't really think about a scenario where Formstack is less appropriate. As long as you need to create a form, Formstack is a good way to go.
Read Rafal Szczypka's full review
Mihail Bojonca | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 08, 2017

Forms with Super Powers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack across the entire institution however mainly we use it to automate and localize some important business processes localized Student Admission and Evaluation. It has been the best to automatize our Evaluation and Admissions processes replacing other high cost systems.

The approving and other workflow logic are useful in streamlining other business processes.

I have presented our model of the admission process to companies selling Admission software or plugins with the request to provide a simple and easier model they could now. Since our administration body is very small simplicity and ease of use for our students and administration is key.
  • Streamlining Procedures
  • Simplifying Processes
  • Ease of use
  • Limited Localization
  • Some issues in third party integration (Gsuite - Authentication, email relaying issues)
  • Email Limitations
Any kind of data collection plus streamlining of different business processes.
Read Mihail Bojonca's full review
Susan Feller | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2017

It's like having three employees

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's used for] Conference registration, volunteer assignments and recruitment, fund raising, scholarship applications, award nominations, and a myriad of other tasks associated with managing an international conference.
  • Integrated with PayPal.
  • Produces databases in a variety of formats.
  • Allows users to save information and return later to complete the form.
  • Allows users to upload information.
  • Is fairly intuitive.
  • Allows for the easy customization of forms using in-house graphics.
  • It is not always easy to find assistance.
  • When changes are made to functionality, the question needs to be asked, "is this really an improvement?"
  • The huge price increase is not appreciated.
Conference and event management are the only thing we do with Formstack.
Read Susan Feller's full review
Tracy Raimondo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2017

Bare Bones Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is used for firefighters to submit electronic forms required for training. It easily tracks and maintains a database of all of our information in one place.
  • Easy to use via links
  • Multiple format types and question types
  • Easy to pull data and submissions
  • Love the approval function but the cost is outrageous. We only need approvals for 2 forms and the cost of over $100 a month is crazy when you only need the feature for a few forms.
It is best suited for transferring paper forms to electronic forms.
Read Tracy Raimondo's full review
Michael Honeycutt | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2017

RCA loves Formstack!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack to capture product registrations, support requests and repair authorizations. Formstack also has an API that allows us to easily send form submissions to our customer support portal, Zendesk. Formstack allows us to easily retrieve customer data and assist customers with possible concerns.
  • Form logic
  • API integration
  • Easy form building and customizations
  • Auto delete-all and export for instances when submissions are reaching a predefined threshold.
Formstack is ideal for companies looking to create a powerful form with logic.
Read Michael Honeycutt's full review
Brett Doucette, ABC, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2017

Formstack is intuitive, easy-to-use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack was used by the marketing department where I used to work. I use Formstack for all of our lead capture across our whole website, but mainly the contact us page. Since starting with Formstack over several years ago, I've seen an average lead conversion rate of around 20% -- most are marketing-qualified leads.
  • Formstack is [easy] to use. For example, building forms is a breeze.
  • I love that it integrates seamlessly with Unbounce and regular .PHP sites to give us quality, high converting lead pages.
  • Dashboard stats are a bit rudimentary but do a nice job giving a birds-eye view of lead capture progress.
  • Different types of form formats are available which is great.
  • Form stylizing on your website, without deep knowledge of CSS, can be a bit tricky.
  • Dashboard is a bit unimpressive; needs UX/UI improvements.
  • Integration APIs are a bit limited and its web hook function (if employed) can be a bit intimidating to set up the first time.
Depending on what your lead capture goals are, this a good solid, entry level option for building and maintaining lead capture forms. If you're considering Formstack, I would recommend signing on for a free trial first so you can play around in it and see how easy it is to create forms and how your team could use the product most effectively. Feel free to make your own form templates with your brand's colors to really visualize how the forms could look and function.
Read Brett Doucette, ABC, MBA's full review
Brock Alexander | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2017

Formstack for the win!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use formstack to manage all approvals and requests at our school. This includes surveys, requesting days off, purchase requests and so on.
  • Multi level approvals
  • Receipts
  • Ease of use
  • More templates
  • Payment integration with Wells Fargo
Perfect for our organization.
Read Brock Alexander's full review
Jeffrey Scherer | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2017

Formstack make forms fun

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack for clients to submit print jobs, nominate people for recognition, obtain subscription upgrades, registration for events. It makes it very easy to collect information and data. It is easy to use and keeps everything in one place. Before Formstack we used code to format forms and most people were not comfortable doing that.
  • Collects data
  • Is super easy to use
  • Keeps your forms organized
  • I'm not sure really, I find it easy to use
We use Formstack for numerous applications. Anytime we need a form for anything, it is our go-to. It is very handy for people who want to sign up for subscriptions, or to sign up for events. We use it for people who want to put announcements in our newspaper.
Read Jeffrey Scherer's full review
Daniel Berditchevski | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 22, 2017

Formstack makes it secure for our clients

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for all our registration and lead generation forms. We collect credit cards as well using forms.
  • Secure method to collect credit card information
  • Collect client data
  • Connect with Salesforce
  • Easy to manipulate and change
  • Integrate with other systems directly
  • Sometimes international clients have issues with the address fields
  • Availability in other languages would be helpful
To collect credit card information and client data
Read Daniel Berditchevski's full review
Clorisa Cowell | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2017

Formstack - Changing the data collection game!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is used for multiple departments in our business. We use it to get feedback from guests that visit the waterpark and campground. This allows us to make modifications to create a better experience for our guests. We use it for hiring as well! From the start to finish Formstack allows us to gather the info we need from our family members. Everything from taking reservations to guest follow-up is or has been handled by Formstack!
  • Guest Feedback!
  • Hiring
  • Being innovative
  • More integration with 3rd parites
Hiring and guest feedback!
Read Clorisa Cowell's full review
Rich Kreuzburg | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2017

Onboarding Dream come true.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is used by various departments in our organization as workflow, setup form. We use it to on board new customers, track fuel use in our delivery trucks and submit requests for new crew members. It gives us a place to track requests and make sure the correct fields are filled out.
  • The triggers in Formstack to hide / unhide fields based on other answers is extremely helpful. It keeps the form on target and doesn't clutter up the question list with useless fields.
  • The forms are extremely easy to set up and deploy.
  • We don't have to worry about supporting the backend or writing the scripts for the work flow.
  • The only issue I had with when starting with formstack was the workflow/approval. This has since been corrected.
  • It would be nice to have the data file that is created from the form submission to be formatted in a certain way so it can flow into an automated system.
  • Options for data file delivery would be nice too, FTP, SFTP or email.
It's very handy for onboarding new customers, crew members and product setup.
Read Rich Kreuzburg's full review
Emily Wickerham | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2017

Formstack Features and Why you should try

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HR Forms: PTO request
Marketing Forms: Website data collection and connected to SalesForce
Client Services: Executional recruitment forms for blogger programs


It's used across the organization. It collects data and stores and organizes it for us. Super helpful.
  • Connects with third party platforms to help ensure your data is collected efficiently and stored in the right places.
  • I like that it is a secure platform for both personal information and credit card.
  • Love the workflows and approval systems within the platform.
  • Workflow could allow for more routing and approval options. If two people need to approve before it goes to 3rd person for final approval.
  • More forms - we have the gold plan for $99 a month and have 100 forms. The next jump in price and forms is more than we need/can afford. So I am constantly deleting forms and cleaning out formstack.
Well suited - collecting data/ website forms

Less appropriate - surveys (we use a different survey tool)
Read Emily Wickerham's full review
Laura LaMonica | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2017

I think it has more to offer than our usage

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is being used only by our department. It is the program we use for our surveys, conference attendee registration, internal and external reservation requests, as well as our marketing items.
  • Creating a customized form for just about any business purpose
  • Tracking and storing information on clients and requests
  • Only from personal experience can I make this statement. In our department we use Banner (university wide) Formstack and KX and none of them "talk" to each other. If it were easier to link them together, or cheaper as cost is always a factor, it would make our job significantly easier.
We use a custom form to have attendees log in to their event via a link we email the organizer. They are able to provide all their info with a picture making it easier to track the number and the photos for the event and create the ids for each.
Read Laura LaMonica's full review
Nathan Brunetti | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2017

Formstack is a great product and I would highly recommend it

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization to support the needs of each department.
  • Provides many options when building the forms
  • Easy to share the data that is being collected with non users
  • 3rd party integrations
  • Better integration with 3rd party systems that are not widely used
  • Number of submission per form could be increased
  • Notification of which forms are not used frequently
- Well suited for HR Departments
- Well suited for Creative Teams or Project Managers
Read Nathan Brunetti's full review
Brian Mather | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 25, 2017

Formstack is a Homerun! A Must Have For Sports Teams

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack has been a very useful tool that had provided us the ability to connect with our fans by capturing their information, providing easy to use sign ups for events, and making efficient user-friendly purchases. Other features such as usage of the data and seamless integration on our website have made the experience even better.
  • Easy to create forms
  • Good customer support
  • Ongoing opportunities for trainings to better use the products
  • Formstack is not an application specifically designed for tickets sales, so its lacks features directly related to the sports industry.
  • Mobile app has limited functionality.
  • The ability to reset your password for encrypted forms - if you forget it or one of the only people who knew it leaves the organization you need to lose all the submissions. This might be a legal thing however, which is understandable.
[Formstack is well suited for:] Sign-ups, Surveys, Sales, Web sales. I'm not sure about situations where it wouldn't be suited.
Read Brian Mather's full review
Mindy Myers | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2017

Education and cooking company

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use formstack daily as a means for enrolling children into our various programs state wide.
  • Immediate response from enrollment to sending information to company
  • Easy to use
  • Interfaces well with Stripe
  • Continuous changes and updates with no notification changes are being made
  • Terrible search capacity; inaccurate; unable to locate name in search field
  • Great for enrollment; great for a simple acquisition of information
  • Less great for something complicated like a multi-payment program (i.e. we wanted a sibling discount for enrollment but not a discount for pre-care, both on the same form. Formstack was only able to do the 10% discount on the entire order)
Read Mindy Myers's full review
Mitchel Laman | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

Formstack is Solid in SaaS Data Collection

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Formstack with multiple organizations I have volunteered and consulted with over the past five years. Some of the uses include:

  • Event registration data collection and payments with PayPal for High Performance driving events
  • Event registration and payment collection for various charitable and non-profit events
  • Fannie Mae form 1003 data collection for the loan origination process
  • Small merchandise sales and order fulfillment
  • Salesforce and general 'form' data collection and request processes
In all but one case, each of my use cases and experience with Formstack has been connecting and integrating it with WordPress sites. My driving reason for using Formstack was the ability to easily connect to WordPress and begin the collecting and routing of end-user data.
  • Formstack integrates very well with WordPress. A simple plug-in install and any WordPress site is ready to begin collecting data.
  • Formstack has a plethora of options for the actual routing of data. Not only can you store data in the FormStack cloud for future retrieval, you have the ability to route the data to your own email, others email (for confirmation), or integrate with Google Docs
  • The management and flow process of forms is quite advanced. From calculations to conditional based logic, Formstack is capable of quite advanced, quasi-'systems' type data routing. This makes data collecting and the conditional collecting of data (i.e. if this, then collect that) very easy
  • Formstack is missing what I might consider some major integrations: it has Salesforce, but no NetSuite; it has Google Apps, but no Office 365
  • While the data routing options are impressive, one area that would be incredible would be the integration or data feeding of third party databases. For example, if data collected could be pushed to another cloud-based on on-premise PostgreSQL or Microsoft SQL Server instance, the ability to use the collected data with other integrated systems would be incredible.
  • In my opinion, Formstack can be a little pricey in the tiers. For not much money you can get into the service, but it's easy to quickly run out of space and need to jump to a more expensive tier
Formstack is best suited for (1) customer-facing, web-based form collection and (2) advanced form functionality. If your company is a subscriber to Google Apps or Office 365, basic form functionality is provided as part of the service. However, in both of the cases listed above, the functionality and options are nowhere near what is available through Formstack.

Said another way, if you need to quickly collect shirt sizes for the employees of your organization, there are plenty of easy to use web-based form mechanisms. But if you need conditional routing or are sensitive to the look-and-feel of your data collection, Formstack is the way to go. It is possible to seamlessly connect to your web site where customers will not even know you are using a third party data collector.
Read Mitchel Laman's full review
Tim Roe | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2015

Simple, Effective and Affordable

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Several years ago, we grew tired of using development time to create what were, in most cases, simple forms. Although some divisions of the University would use Survey Monkey from time to time, we wanted to choose a product that was simple enough to use that would serve most of the usual needs around campus. We were impressed with the simplicity of Formstack's product for our end users, but also appreciated their integration modules, service and pricing. We currently have over 800 forms that have been created. Having a tool available for the entire Butler community has normalized our form-building processes and freed up technical resources for more challenging projects. The credit card integration was a huge win as well. It is no longer "rocket science" to get a department setup with credit card processing, even for smaller initiatives. The Authorize.net integration enabled us to take what used to be a major headache and turn it into a no-brainer. We've also appreciated how Formstack has involved us in their feedback loop and listened to our suggestions for product improvement. They are also a local company, which is an added bonus. We get to support a local vendor and can meet face-to-face if it is ever required.
  • Simple interface. They have created the tool to enable form building via several different methods, depending on how a person wishes to work. You can choose elements, then modify them to add them to a form. Or, you can simply drag and drop them where you want them. You can even choose from templates or a wizard to get you started. The tool couldn't be simpler to use.
  • Reliability. We can't think of a single time that Formstack has not been available. With extremely rare exception, any time we have a submission or process issue, it's usually due to something we've done incorrectly or because one of our systems dropped the ball.
  • The good people at Formstack seem to genuinely care about making their product better all the time. We are told about or shown new features, or proposed features, several times a year. In fact, they will often let us experiment with features before they unleash it system wide. They value our feedback and we feel that we've actually played a small part in shaping what Formstack has become.
  • Price. Compared to other form tools, Formstack is very reasonably priced. The analysis and reporting tools are not nearly as robust as some other large, extensible survey products. But, if you're just trying to get out of the form business and provide a solid platform to your users for building forms and surveys, this is a good option.
  • Online "stores." Formstack did away with their store module some time ago and replaced it with a form field type that is really better suited to events than products. If you're trying to build out an entire online catalog of products that may have various colors, sizes, styles, etc. Formstack is NOT the tool to use. However, if you just have a FEW items you wish to make available for sale, that can be done fairly well with a little effort and know-how.
  • Although Formstack is infinitely more customizable style-wise with it's graphic templates and CSS tools (much more so than, say, Google Forms), it is sometimes challenging to get granular control over certain form elements--even WITH a CSS guru on staff. As long as you're willing to say "close enough" and not get TOO picky, you can certainly create beautiful forms and surveys that complement your branding or graphic design elements.
  • Reporting and analytics. If you're looking for Qualtrics-like reporting, you won't find that here. You can certainly get base stats such as usage, geolocation, aggregate survey results, abandonment points and comparative graphs. But if you're a real data nerd who wants microscopic data analysis, you'll likely be disappointed.
As with anything, ask yourself: "What am I hoping to accomplish with this tool?" Be thorough. Be honest. If you're looking for Survey Monkey, get Survey Monkey. If you're looking for Qualtrics, get Qualtrics. If you're needing to empower your user base to create and manage their own forms (and even share that data with a few non-users) without all the complications that come from a more expensive tool, then give Formstack a try. With Formstack's ability to do conditional items and now even provide some simple workflow (approve/decline) processes, it is a powerful tool for many circumstances.
Read Tim Roe's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Survey templates (50)
7.7
Themes (54)
7.0
Custom logo/branding (56)
8.0
Changes to live survey (51)
8.7
Question design help (1)
8
Multiple question types (56)
8.8
Survey logic flexibility (56)
8.5
Response tracking (1)
10
Data export (57)
8.8
Standard reports (54)
8.3
Custom reports (46)
7.4
Analytics (1)
10
Access controls (53)
8.2
Compliance (48)
8.6
Vendor-offered crowdsourcing (1)
8
Respondent restrictions (1)
8

About Formstack

Formstack is a cloud-based online form building solution designed to help organizations build powerful web forms without any coding knowledge.

The form builder serves over 500,000 people in 112 countries. Users can embed mobile-friendly forms on their websites and social media profiles to capture leads, gather feedback from customers and employees, collect online payments, and much more.

The platform integrates with over 50 web applications, including apps for CRM management, email marketing, payment processing, and document management.

Formstack offers a specialized Workflows product that helps users turn time-consuming processes into seamless digital workflows. Users can track their workflows across departments, and use special analytics tools to identify system and communication bottlenecks.

Other product offerings include conversion rate optimization tools for marketers and HIPAA compliance for healthcare and HR users.

Formstack Features

Survey Format & Appearance Features
Has featureOnline surveys
Does not have featurePaper surveys
Does not have featurePhone surveys
Has featureSurvey templates
Has featureSurvey library
Has featureThemes
Has featureCustom logo/branding
Does not have featureSingle page survey
Has featureProgression bar
Has featureResponsive design
Survey Content Features
Has featureMultimedia content
Has featureDrag-and-drop editor
Has featureChanges to live survey
Does not have featureQuestion bank
Does not have featureQuestion design help
Has featureMultiple question types
Has featureMatrix questions
Has featureTranslation/multi-lingual
Survey Logic Features
Has featureSurvey logic flexibility
Has featureResponse requirement/validation
Has featureSkip logic
Has featureConditional questions
Has featureQuestion branching
Does not have featurePiping logic
Does not have featureRandomization
Survey Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureResponse tracking
Has featureData export
Does not have featureReal-time results
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Has featureVisualizations
Does not have featureAnalytics
Survey Integrations Features
Has featureCRM Integration
Has featureSocial media integration
Has featureE-commerce integration
Does not have featureTestimonials widget
Survey Automation Features
Has featureNotifications and alerts
Has featureCalendar/scheduling
Has featureFollow-up emails
Survey Distribution Features
Has featureIn-tool invites
Does not have featureEmail distribution
Has featureCross-channel distribution
Does not have featureCustom survey URLs
Has featureEmbeddable surveys
Does not have featureSite intercept surveys
Has feature360 Degree feedback
Has featureAnonymous responses
Does not have featureVendor-offered crowdsourcing
Has featureUnlimited questions per survey
Has featureUnlimited responses per survey
Does not have featureRespondent restrictions
Survey Administration & Security Features
Has featureMultiple users
Has featureAccess controls
Has featureCompliance

Formstack Screenshots

Formstack Integrations

Act-On Software, Authorize.Net, AWeber, Batchbook, Box, Campaign Monitor, Capsule CRM, Chargify, Constant Contact, Dropbox, Drupal, Dwolla, Emma, First Data - ICICI Merchant Services, FreshBooks, Google Analytics, Google Drive, GoToWebinar, HelpSpot, Highrise, HubSpot, iContact, Keap (formerly Infusionsoft), Mailchimp, OneDrive, Pardot, Pipedrive, Slack, Stripe, Trello, TypePad, WePay, WordPress, Xero, Zapier, Zendesk, Formstack Documents (formerly WebMerge), BriteVerify, Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Beanstream, Email Center Pro, Microsoft Excel, Facebook, Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Contacts, Google Sheets, PayPal, PayPal Payflow, PayPal Pro, QuickBooks, Salesforce, Salesforce Desk, Salesforce Marketing Cloud, Twitter

Formstack Competitors

Wufoo, SurveyMonkey, Typeform, JotForm, 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm), 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm), 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Silver$39All Base Features + 5 Users
Gold$99/moAll Base Features + Facebook Tab Embed + Salesforce & HubSpot Integrations + 100 Forms + 10,000 Submissions + 10 Users
Platinum$249/moAll Base Features + Facebook Tab Embed + Salesforce & HubSpot Integrations + Priority Support + 1,000 Forms + 100,000 Submissions + 25 Users
Bronze$19/moAll base features + 1 User

We also offer a variety of Add-on features: Workflows, Conversion Kit, Portals, Approvals

Formstack Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media

Formstack Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Albanian, Arabic, Chinese, Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Kazakh, Norwegian (Bokmål), Russian, Slovak, Spanish, Swedish, Polish, Portuguese, Thai, Turkish and Vietnamese