TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/eP/Rz/UU33POO8RCPA.JPEGTime Doctor Saved My TailWe have assistants that work remotely. We have had issues in the past with them logging many hours that should have not been "on the clock" hours. Time Doctor allows accountability for remote work and the screenshots that let me know that they are really staying on task. Both of my employees are using it.,Screenshots. Very great feature. Prompts when employee is away...reminding them to clock their time. Ease of dashboard use.,No screenshots for mobile use time logging...though I don't know how that would be done anyway. My employee said that Time Doctor was slowing down her computer, so she was logging her time on her phone--but then I couldn't see the screenshots. Tech support is a little hard sometimes.,7,Positive and definitely worth it.,,Wunderlist, Google DriveVery helpful time measuring tool for administrativesTime Doctor is really a pleasure to use. It makes controlling our freelancers so much easier. Although you have a work diary on platforms like Upwork, the screen shot feature and especially the "poor time use" report provide us with all the necessary info in case of an issue regarding the freelancer's use of time. In addition, to that, the frequent pop-up and question feature in regard to what someone is doing right now makes capturing time for projects really easy. Also, I like the auto pause function. It helps to stop the time while not being on the computer and asks you on return if you spent the time working. The only feature that is not there at the moment and which I would love to see in the future is the "time budget for project" feature. All in all, we love to use time doctor and do so every day. Thank you so much for the great software.,Poor time use reports Daily nice formatted overview emails Question of time use after returning to PC,No time budget can be set up on projects Every user costs extra Sometimes the prompting question is annoying,9,On one issue we could ask the freelancer to review his work again and delete the time spent on useless things like watching movie trailers or visiting Facebook. On the other hand, workers seem to tend to book in more time if they use time doctor.,,Asana, Slack, Google DriveEasy and Time consumingDue to its nice features, I like this product. So for my personal work, I have been it for the last 6 months. Also, I m working as remote developer so my client company is using time doctor and I'm part of that. I got the info about time doctor from my client. They need it because they are hiring remote developers and time doctor is good for that.,Record the time in very accurate way. Web dashboard and application both are easy to use. Gives us warning if we are doing non-important things like Facebook, YouTube etc. Time doctor support is very kind, they hear our problems and that I like most.,In billing once a card is added we cannot delete that. So it should be like we can delete the old one and add the new one. In the desktop application its starts recording time when we set the task name and press enter, instead of that we should click on a start button. In an account we need to define some sites' URL, so whenever a user opens that it stops recording time without his permission.,10,Save time with unwanted stuff At the last no issue with time reports We can show a screen shot also, so anyone can trust that yes you worked.,Most convenient and cost effective way to manage your small freelancing teamI use it to manage my own small team and in few cases, I submit time log report to my clients with whom we use it to provide services outside the Upwork marketplace. So far, I don't face any problems.,Good management of team members. Accurate time log reports. Access.,Allow small freelancing teams like ours to use our own branding in the report. Add some more features to request payments from the clients.,9,Ensure perfect time usage of the team members which save a lot of unnecessary salary costing. In my case, for 3 employees, I save almost 40%.,,Slack, Skype, UpworkTrack remote teams efficientlyTime Doctor is used by our organisation as a whole. Since our team works remotely, it is extremely useful for tracking time spent on each project and allows us to monitor overall efficiency. It also helps us in employee evaluations and provides accurate billing information for our clients.,Distractions such as YouTube and Facebook are tracked accurately and are reported as poor use of time. Random screen shots taken at regular intervals gives insight on the progress of a project. Daily and weekly reports are extremely helpful in providing a broader look at the team's efficiency.,User Interface and design looks a little dated,9,Tracking employees and time sheets has been reduced by 50%.,Hubstaff,HipChat, Skype, Google Drive,10,The onboarding process was really simple and ready made. Had a detailed email and step by step guide that made the whole setup very easy.Time Doctor ReviewWe use Time Doctor to accurately track and pay contractors for the work the do on various projects. That way no discrepancies between us and contractors arise.,It allows for you to manage multiple users effectively. Which means it is a one stop shop. Screen shots become necessary when you are having issues with someone getting a task done on time and can have an honest discussion. It has many channels and ways it can be used for all different kinds of work.,UI/UX it can get a bit bulky and hard to use.,9,We have been able to help individuals see how much time they waste.,,Trello, Asana, Microsoft AzureTrack activities of your team with Time DoctorWe have a technical support group located in a separate office from our headquarters. So we need to track the activities of our technicians and how much time they are using for different tasks. We have seen that after using this tool, the technicians start to care more about working hours and about the efficiency of their work.,We start to measure how much time they are using for different tasks so we optimize the tasks. Also people start to see how much time they work and they start to care more about working hours.,We need integration with ManageEngine Service Desk Plus. We also need integration with Assembla.,10,In my case, we have a positive impact and we will continue to use this tool in the future.,Productivity Rules[Time Doctor is] Used by office staff, many work remotely as well as me. Time Doctor allows me to monitor time spent on routine and priority projects without being intrusive to the staff. It Is actually better than actively supervising in office and allows a means for remote workers supervision.,A staff member was using most of the day for usual and mundane tasks so I was able to contact her and get her back on the priority task. A staff member was using company time to do personal shopping, which is not allowed. All staff members have an opportunity to see where their time can be better utilized that has increased productive work to 90% as opposed to 40% before Time Doctor.,Projects and tasks could be improved, if tasks are created for a project, the user is not able to select a task.,10,Increased productivity which in turn increases botom line.,I Done This,Adobe Acrobat DC, Microsoft Access, Microsoft Office 2016, Microsoft Project, Articulate StorylineTime is the FIRE in which we BURN, track yours now! With some great software.I started with Time Tracking using the Freelancer.com built in tracking but Time Doctor is vastly superior and I use it to track my own time and that of subcontractors who work on the development of my website at heart-is.co.uk. I love it because I'm a bit of a nerd for tracking things, I use Fitbit for my steps and sleep tracking for example.,Screenshots are excellent. Being able to break time down into tasks is very useful. Reports and analysis are great at the end of each week.,I'd like to see more whole life tracking for example being able to put sleep hours in but not have that on a work report etc. When tracking 3 people I'd like 3 different screenshots streams 1 for each person at the moment they are combined into 1 stream.,10,It's cost effective at a few dollars per month and gives peace of mind when tracking remote workers or subcontractors.,,Trello, Kayako, SkypeTime doctor everyday will keep non-productivity away.It is used by the technical teams in our organisation to report on project time sheets. It mainly addresses the issue of time tracking for remote employees and it improves the productivity of the team while they are not in the workplace by allowing them to keep track of their work and delete non-productive work that was tracked.,Tracking time of remote employees is a breeze. Even when there is poor connectivity or no connectivity, the use of time doctor enables positive reporting. The flexibility in tracking time and monitoring productivity at the same time by giving control to the users to track their own time is genius.,The mobile app for owners/managers managing the team can have an overhaul. The tracking app can have conditional alerts, example if I have facebook.com on a list, and when the user visits the site, it could pop-up that you are on a non-productive site.,10,ROI on using time doctor is definitely there in terms of monitoring productivity without denting employee morale.,AceProject and Slack,SlackTime Doctor is essential to graphic design studiosTime Doctor is helping us with our daily tasks that are integrated with Trello, and any task that requires time management. Time Doctor also helps us to improve our relationship with our small budget clients, sending to them detailed reports. We are still finding out more about integrations and possibilities. Combi Digital is a small boutique agency focused on WordPress, graphic design for small business and inbound marketing in Australia.,Tracking time Reports Integration with Trello,User interface Client and tasks columns visualisation Desktop popups deserve a better design,9,Increase small tasks Increase the revenue of the small tasks Accuracy in our quotes,,Trello, Dropbox for Business, QuickBooks for Mac, Adobe Acrobat DCTime Doctor ReviewIt is being used by the SEO and software development departments. It addresses the lack of task prioritization and time management problems. With the tool, we are able to track which tasks bring what kind of work load to the company. Plus, it is good to have the chance to see time issues project by project.,Daily check of timesheets and time use details given for each project On a monthly basis having an overview of time use and project timing Keep people on track - it is good to show the pop-up so that they are not distracted with social media or non-work related websites,API Quicker, easier project addition to the panel Better task management tools integration,10,Detecting unnecessary time spendings on monthly client performance reportings Decreasing time for unnecessary client meetings Having an overview of monthly plans and making plans accordingly,Harvest,Asana, JIRA SoftwareTime Doctor is the solopreneurs trusted tool to manage remote workersI employ part time admin and marketing freelance workers and use time doctor to manage workflow and track working hours, making it quick and easy to approve payroll based upon hours worked per month.,Screenshots of workflow and activity levels Daily time worked tracking Payroll management and integration with 3rd party payment,Easier integration with TransferWise No other points,8,Trust in my freelancers that what they say is being done, is being done. Easy for me to manage my freelancers as I can see complete history of work completed through screenshots. Allowed me to focus on my own tasks.,,Skype, Google Drive, WordPressWorks greatUsed among the whole team for bookkeeping and managing projects. Works great.,Project scope Improving time efficiency Staying on budget,Would be nice to be able to manage frequency of popups,10,Unsure,Healthier time usage with Time DoctorWe are all using it in the company. Also, we sometimes send links to our clients so they can see what we have done and when - especially when we are using it for working per hour.,I can see when my employees were working on a project and when they are not. I can later check how much time we spend on each task. Our clients can see that we were working on.,When we archive project on asana it is not archived in time doctor. Sometimes it calculates wrong, actually adding to the wrong task. We had that issue earlier but hopefully we won't anymore. Most important thing: if we by mistake turn on the wrong task, and then later realise that, it would be great if when we edit the task name, the software is able to add print screens which already exist with the new name, and actually keep them. At the moment, when we change a task name, time doc looses print screens, and that is hard to explain to clients.,10,Positive - because now I can calculate how much time we really spend on each project and task in it, which is surprisingly different from what I was expecting.,,Asana, Google DriveIntuitive solution to help keep track of time[It's used to] Track project related time (internal and external employees) and to manage contractors' time. It is used by a selective number of team members. Some other solutions are also in place.,Easy to use, intuitive. The prompts work well.,There's no perfect solution for managing a pattern of many things in a short period of time yet.,10,Time reduction in time monitoring and because of the reporting capabilities,Teamwork Project Manager and QuickBooks Online,QuickBooks Online, Adobe Connect, Teamwork ProjectsTime Doctor a Clear WinnerWe use Time Doctor to track everything. It's helpful to track billable time. We also use it to monitor education and training hours. The problems Time Doctor solves are quite extensive: it shows exactly how much time a project takes. So if we underestimate, now we know better. Second, it shows where time is fragmented or lost (via screen captures) so that helps us realize where we can be both more efficient and more effective.,Tracked time both macro (categories) and micro (down to the project and the tasks) Reminded us when we went off task and got lured in via social media Provides us with detailed reports to share with joint venture partners, clients and more,Navigation on the website: chunk the information into smaller categories so things won't be missed. More graphical displays of time usage other than bar graphs More tips on how to categorize time and how best to track it,9,Positive: helped us revise our estimates and billing rates since we have more intel on where the time is going. Helpful and positive with tracking joint projects with other companies where a revenue split is directly related to time invested.,Kanbanflow,Harvest, Smartsheet, Bill.comTime Doctor reviewAs a start up it enables me to manage a small number of support staff efficiently especially as my support staff are remote based whilst being able to keep cost base down.,Easy site to set up on inception Intuitive site so little need to consult help staff for user support Price point ideal for start ups,8,Positive and I will continue to use this even when the team expands Time efficiency which is key for start ups who operate with limited resources and a shoestring budgetRecommendation for Time DoctorWe use Time Doctor for some of our developers who work with very demanding clients. Now clients are very satisfied and they can follow all activities of developers.,Works without bugs. We don't have problems with any OS platform. Very detailed reports. Easy to use.,I have no objections.,10,We no longer have problems with justifying the time we spent The productivity of the teams is increased Simpler tracking progress,,Trello, Bitbucket, GitHubTime Doctor is goodI use it to track the freelancers that work for my company remotely.,Screenshots Reports Handles many users,Automatic tracking Easier onboarding procedures,6,I can pay exactly what freelancers work - not based on estimations,Timely,TimelyTime Doctor - Does what it promisesWe use it in 2 areas. First, to track time consultant's use when working on customer projects. Secondly to track time that freelancers spend working for my company.,Automatically starts recording. So time is accounted for. Be able to allocate time to projects. Produce time sheets for users.,Be able to have a task tagging system or multiple categories so I can track categories of time in different ways at the same time.,8,It provides a low cost easy to use time recording solution,,InfusionsoftTime Doctor ReviewIt's used across the whole organization. We use it for productivity management.,Screenshots Dashboards Prompts and Work Tips,Expensive for small teams,9,Diligence Summary ReportingWorth every pennyWe have started using Time Doctor to track the team members work, and also because it offers integration with Asana, a task management tool used to assign tasks to members. We are small organization and all of us are using Time Doctor. We are assigning development tasks to the team members.,Keeps the developers focused on the tasks by taking screen shots from their workstations.,I hope to see integrations with some payment gateways, so the team payment can also be managed through Time Doctor,10,Not sure we just start using couple of months ago.,Toggl,Asana, Toggl, dapulseIt's Good. Serves a Very Specific PurposeI keep track of my own time using Time Doctor. It is a sophisticated timer. I log my hours in Google Spreadsheets and biweekly email them to my leader.,Let's you time multiple projects in one day. Emails you your times so you have them even if you didn't record them. Has a widget in the top menu bar of your desktop that's easy to read whether it's on or off.,I wish I could tamper with when it asks me if I'm working. I find it annoying. It could be prettier. I like the floating progress bar, but when I use google inbox it's always in the way.,6,I am more accurate with my time. I like being honest. Without Time Doctor I would guess my times and that would be unfair to the man who pays me.,rescue time and egg timerAutomate your time sheets to save time!Time Doctor has been a lifesaver for me. I am a one-person design company and I need to track the time I spend on many different projects all at once. My previous solution was to write down the time on sticky notes or note pads, but there was always the chance that I might misplace it or lose it. Nor could I generate my invoices from my home office if I'd left the billing hours info at my office. So this was a great all in one solution. Now I can choose the task I'm working on and don't have to worry about writing things down. If for any reason I forget what I was doing for a client and didn't make my task name specific enough, I can go back and take a quick look through the automatic screenshots. I also love that I can see how much time I spend on email and other admin tasks vs the actual design work. Love the reports that Time Doctor gives me as well.,One click to choose projects and tasks you've already created so that you can quickly choose what you're working on and basically set it and forget it. Automatic screenshots so that I can always reference back to what I was working on. The reports! There are reports for every project and time use. Helps me see exactly where my time is going and how I can better maximize it.,One thing I would love to see is integration with my cell phone. Time Doctor already has an app, but I want it to automatically capture the time I spend on my phone with clients. For now I have to manually enter in this time and must note when the call started and when it ended. Integration into Wave apps where I generate my invoices. I'd like to be able to select a project from Time Doctor in my invoice and have it automatically populate the time I spent on it and the dates I worked on the project rather than manually finding and entering this information.,10,I have better time management and better organization overall. Less paper makes me happy.,Wunderlist, Accounting by Wave
Windows, Linux, Mac, Chrombook
Time Doctor
72 Ratings
Score 8.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Time Doctor Reviews

Time Doctor
72 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 72 vetted Time Doctor reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 47)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
Hillary Smith profile photo
September 07, 2017

Time Doctor Saved My Tail

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have assistants that work remotely. We have had issues in the past with them logging many hours that should have not been "on the clock" hours. Time Doctor allows accountability for remote work and the screenshots that let me know that they are really staying on task. Both of my employees are using it.
  • Screenshots. Very great feature.
  • Prompts when employee is away...reminding them to clock their time.
  • Ease of dashboard use.
  • No screenshots for mobile use time logging...though I don't know how that would be done anyway. My employee said that Time Doctor was slowing down her computer, so she was logging her time on her phone--but then I couldn't see the screenshots.
  • Tech support is a little hard sometimes.
I don't really have any "less appropriate" scenarios in our usage. It has been just what we needed. I wished I had known about it a year ago.
Read Hillary Smith's full review
Timothy Maximilian Scherman profile photo
July 18, 2017

Very helpful time measuring tool for administratives

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Time Doctor is really a pleasure to use. It makes controlling our freelancers so much easier. Although you have a work diary on platforms like Upwork, the screen shot feature and especially the "poor time use" report provide us with all the necessary info in case of an issue regarding the freelancer's use of time.

In addition, to that, the frequent pop-up and question feature in regard to what someone is doing right now makes capturing time for projects really easy. Also, I like the auto pause function. It helps to stop the time while not being on the computer and asks you on return if you spent the time working.

The only feature that is not there at the moment and which I would love to see in the future is the "time budget for project" feature.

All in all, we love to use time doctor and do so every day. Thank you so much for the great software.
  • Poor time use reports
  • Daily nice formatted overview emails
  • Question of time use after returning to PC
  • No time budget can be set up on projects
  • Every user costs extra
  • Sometimes the prompting question is annoying
Time doctor is very good when it comes to controlling the time of freelancers that are very far away.

Time doctor is not that suitable when a customer has paid for a specific time, like let's say 24 hours per month SEO optimisation and you would like to know if that time budget is already exceeded and got billed or not.
Read Timothy Maximilian Scherman's full review
Hitesh Trivedi profile photo
July 18, 2017

Easy and Time consuming

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Due to its nice features, I like this product. So for my personal work, I have been it for the last 6 months. Also, I m working as remote developer so my client company is using time doctor and I'm part of that. I got the info about time doctor from my client. They need it because they are hiring remote developers and time doctor is good for that.
  • Record the time in very accurate way.
  • Web dashboard and application both are easy to use.
  • Gives us warning if we are doing non-important things like Facebook, YouTube etc.
  • Time doctor support is very kind, they hear our problems and that I like most.
  • In billing once a card is added we cannot delete that. So it should be like we can delete the old one and add the new one.
  • In the desktop application its starts recording time when we set the task name and press enter, instead of that we should click on a start button.
  • In an account we need to define some sites' URL, so whenever a user opens that it stops recording time without his permission.
It is a very useful tool for companies who are going to hire a remote developer. Installation and use are very easy compared other products. The record time accuracy is good. It also provides a mobile app. So it's good if we go outside and we can work on the mobile app. We’ve been using it for 2 years and it feels good that I don’t have to worry about time because at last, we can send a report to a client in a very easy way.
Read Hitesh Trivedi's full review
Shohani Uzzaman Joarder profile photo
July 18, 2017

Most convenient and cost effective way to manage your small freelancing team

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it to manage my own small team and in few cases, I submit time log report to my clients with whom we use it to provide services outside the Upwork marketplace.

So far, I don't face any problems.
  • Good management of team members.
  • Accurate time log reports.
  • Access.
  • Allow small freelancing teams like ours to use our own branding in the report.
  • Add some more features to request payments from the clients.
From my experience, I can say that it's the best tool to manage a small team at less price.

But, when it comes to managing a large team like more than 20-30 team members, then I guess, the cost will be an issue.
Read Shohani Uzzaman Joarder's full review
Sidharth Kavalu profile photo
July 18, 2017

Track remote teams efficiently

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Time Doctor is used by our organisation as a whole. Since our team works remotely, it is extremely useful for tracking time spent on each project and allows us to monitor overall efficiency. It also helps us in employee evaluations and provides accurate billing information for our clients.
  • Distractions such as YouTube and Facebook are tracked accurately and are reported as poor use of time.
  • Random screen shots taken at regular intervals gives insight on the progress of a project.
  • Daily and weekly reports are extremely helpful in providing a broader look at the team's efficiency.
  • User Interface and design looks a little dated
Well suited for companies that are in the outsourcing business or have people working remotely.
Not suited to track personal distractions like you do on RescueTime.
Read Sidharth Kavalu's full review
Ezra Okuro profile photo
July 18, 2017

Time Doctor Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Time Doctor to accurately track and pay contractors for the work the do on various projects. That way no discrepancies between us and contractors arise.
  • It allows for you to manage multiple users effectively. Which means it is a one stop shop.
  • Screen shots become necessary when you are having issues with someone getting a task done on time and can have an honest discussion.
  • It has many channels and ways it can be used for all different kinds of work.
  • UI/UX it can get a bit bulky and hard to use.
Working with remote employees who are having productivity issues.
Not as effective with developers as they work on many different devices.
Read Ezra Okuro's full review
Turan AYDIN profile photo
July 18, 2017

Track activities of your team with Time Doctor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a technical support group located in a separate office from our headquarters. So we need to track the activities of our technicians and how much time they are using for different tasks. We have seen that after using this tool, the technicians start to care more about working hours and about the efficiency of their work.
  • We start to measure how much time they are using for different tasks so we optimize the tasks.
  • Also people start to see how much time they work and they start to care more about working hours.
  • We need integration with ManageEngine Service Desk Plus.
  • We also need integration with Assembla.
Time Doctor definitely is good if you want to track the activities of your team, However at the end, every thing is pointed to each person.
Read Turan AYDIN's full review
Sandra Knigge profile photo
July 17, 2017

Productivity Rules

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Time Doctor is] Used by office staff, many work remotely as well as me. Time Doctor allows me to monitor time spent on routine and priority projects without being intrusive to the staff. It Is actually better than actively supervising in office and allows a means for remote workers supervision.
  • A staff member was using most of the day for usual and mundane tasks so I was able to contact her and get her back on the priority task.
  • A staff member was using company time to do personal shopping, which is not allowed.
  • All staff members have an opportunity to see where their time can be better utilized that has increased productive work to 90% as opposed to 40% before Time Doctor.
  • Projects and tasks could be improved, if tasks are created for a project, the user is not able to select a task.
I would recommend Time Doctor to anyone who wants to increase productivity.
Read Sandra Knigge's full review
David Southall profile photo
July 14, 2017

Time is the FIRE in which we BURN, track yours now! With some great software.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I started with Time Tracking using the Freelancer.com built in tracking but Time Doctor is vastly superior and I use it to track my own time and that of subcontractors who work on the development of my website at heart-is.co.uk. I love it because I'm a bit of a nerd for tracking things, I use Fitbit for my steps and sleep tracking for example.
  • Screenshots are excellent.
  • Being able to break time down into tasks is very useful.
  • Reports and analysis are great at the end of each week.
  • I'd like to see more whole life tracking for example being able to put sleep hours in but not have that on a work report etc.
  • When tracking 3 people I'd like 3 different screenshots streams 1 for each person at the moment they are combined into 1 stream.
I use it for tracking remote workers and it's excellent.
Read David Southall's full review
Kishore Kumar A profile photo
July 13, 2017

Time doctor everyday will keep non-productivity away.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the technical teams in our organisation to report on project time sheets. It mainly addresses the issue of time tracking for remote employees and it improves the productivity of the team while they are not in the workplace by allowing them to keep track of their work and delete non-productive work that was tracked.
  • Tracking time of remote employees is a breeze.
  • Even when there is poor connectivity or no connectivity, the use of time doctor enables positive reporting.
  • The flexibility in tracking time and monitoring productivity at the same time by giving control to the users to track their own time is genius.
  • The mobile app for owners/managers managing the team can have an overhaul.
  • The tracking app can have conditional alerts, example if I have facebook.com on a list, and when the user visits the site, it could pop-up that you are on a non-productive site.
It is suitable for teams where productivity is measured based on the time they put into the work, especially on a computer. It is not so applicable for remote teams that do both online work and offline work (non-computer work).
Read Kishore Kumar A's full review
Rick M. Worth profile photo
July 13, 2017

Time Doctor is essential to graphic design studios

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Time Doctor is helping us with our daily tasks that are integrated with Trello, and any task that requires time management. Time Doctor also helps us to improve our relationship with our small budget clients, sending to them detailed reports. We are still finding out more about integrations and possibilities. Combi Digital is a small boutique agency focused on WordPress, graphic design for small business and inbound marketing in Australia.
  • Tracking time
  • Reports
  • Integration with Trello
  • User interface
  • Client and tasks columns visualisation
  • Desktop popups deserve a better design
Websites development is a good one. I have not tried Time Doctor with more than 2 users yet, I don't know how easy would be to analyse and control the tool.
Read Rick M. Worth's full review
Ömer Yıldız profile photo
July 13, 2017

Time Doctor Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the SEO and software development departments. It addresses the lack of task prioritization and time management problems. With the tool, we are able to track which tasks bring what kind of work load to the company. Plus, it is good to have the chance to see time issues project by project.
  • Daily check of timesheets and time use details given for each project
  • On a monthly basis having an overview of time use and project timing
  • Keep people on track - it is good to show the pop-up so that they are not distracted with social media or non-work related websites
  • API
  • Quicker, easier project addition to the panel
  • Better task management tools integration
I highly recommend Time doctor to other clients as well. Since it is good to have the chance to look for what the team is doing and how well the time is managed, Time Doctor brings the best result when compared to its competitors. A consultancy service is quite the fit for using the tool since there is hourly rating for its clients.
Read Ömer Yıldız's full review
Christian Rodwell profile photo
August 09, 2017

Time Doctor is the solopreneurs trusted tool to manage remote workers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I employ part time admin and marketing freelance workers and use time doctor to manage workflow and track working hours, making it quick and easy to approve payroll based upon hours worked per month.
  • Screenshots of workflow and activity levels
  • Daily time worked tracking
  • Payroll management and integration with 3rd party payment
  • Easier integration with TransferWise
  • No other points
Great for one person business owners who work with freelancers or have a full / part time assistant who works remotely.
Read Christian Rodwell's full review
Neil Reeve-Newson profile photo
July 21, 2017

Works great

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used among the whole team for bookkeeping and managing projects. Works great.
  • Project scope
  • Improving time efficiency
  • Staying on budget
  • Would be nice to be able to manage frequency of popups
Best for people who bill and pay by time and use it to see how long tasks actually take.
Read Neil Reeve-Newson's full review
Svetlana Mojic Dzakula profile photo
July 18, 2017

Healthier time usage with Time Doctor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are all using it in the company. Also, we sometimes send links to our clients so they can see what we have done and when - especially when we are using it for working per hour.
  • I can see when my employees were working on a project and when they are not.
  • I can later check how much time we spend on each task.
  • Our clients can see that we were working on.
  • When we archive project on Asana it is not archived in time doctor.
  • Sometimes it calculates wrong, actually adding to the wrong task. We had that issue earlier but hopefully we won't anymore.
  • Most important thing: if we by mistake turn on the wrong task, and then later realise that, it would be great if when we edit the task name, the software is able to add print screens which already exist with the new name, and actually keep them. At the moment, when we change a task name, time doc looses print screens, and that is hard to explain to clients.
For a small architectural company, it is really great software.
Read Svetlana Mojic Dzakula's full review
Corne de Jong profile photo
July 18, 2017

Intuitive solution to help keep track of time

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's used to] Track project related time (internal and external employees) and to manage contractors' time. It is used by a selective number of team members. Some other solutions are also in place.
  • Easy to use, intuitive.
  • The prompts work well.
  • There's no perfect solution for managing a pattern of many things in a short period of time yet.
Well suited for an organization in which team members work with computers for the majority of time. Less well suited when most of the work is offline, or at least less of an advantage versus traditional time recording solutions.
Read Corne de Jong's full review
Marc Harty profile photo
November 28, 2016

Time Doctor a Clear Winner

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Time Doctor to track everything. It's helpful to track billable time. We also use it to monitor education and training hours. The problems Time Doctor solves are quite extensive: it shows exactly how much time a project takes. So if we underestimate, now we know better. Second, it shows where time is fragmented or lost (via screen captures) so that helps us realize where we can be both more efficient and more effective.
  • Tracked time both macro (categories) and micro (down to the project and the tasks)
  • Reminded us when we went off task and got lured in via social media
  • Provides us with detailed reports to share with joint venture partners, clients and more
  • Navigation on the website: chunk the information into smaller categories so things won't be missed.
  • More graphical displays of time usage other than bar graphs
  • More tips on how to categorize time and how best to track it
Suited well for service-based industries where time tracking is essential for billing and revenue. It's also appropriate for both business and personal use. (For example, to track studying hours or education and training time. Less appropriate? Blue collar usage where the traditional time clock/timecard may still come into play.
Read Marc Harty's full review
Kristel del Rosario profile photo
July 17, 2017

Time Doctor review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a start up it enables me to manage a small number of support staff efficiently especially as my support staff are remote based whilst being able to keep cost base down.
  • Easy site to set up on inception
  • Intuitive site so little need to consult help staff for user support
  • Price point ideal for start ups
Manage remote working of support staff
Read Kristel del Rosario's full review
Bojan Vukovic profile photo
July 17, 2017

Recommendation for Time Doctor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Time Doctor for some of our developers who work with very demanding clients. Now clients are very satisfied and they can follow all activities of developers.
  • Works without bugs. We don't have problems with any OS platform.
  • Very detailed reports.
  • Easy to use.
  • I have no objections.
Everybody can use Time Doctor for their teams to follow productivity and connect them with some of the project management tools like Trello or other tools from the Atlassian package.
Read Bojan Vukovic's full review
David Holland profile photo
July 14, 2017

Time Doctor - Does what it promises

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in 2 areas. First, to track time consultant's use when working on customer projects. Secondly to track time that freelancers spend working for my company.
  • Automatically starts recording. So time is accounted for.
  • Be able to allocate time to projects.
  • Produce time sheets for users.
  • Be able to have a task tagging system or multiple categories so I can track categories of time in different ways at the same time.
Time doctor is well suited if you wish to enforce compliance of time recording.
Read David Holland's full review
Blagojce Josifoski profile photo
July 13, 2017

Worth every penny

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have started using Time Doctor to track the team members work, and also because it offers integration with Asana, a task management tool used to assign tasks to members. We are small organization and all of us are using Time Doctor. We are assigning development tasks to the team members.
  • Keeps the developers focused on the tasks by taking screen shots from their workstations.
  • I hope to see integrations with some payment gateways, so the team payment can also be managed through Time Doctor
Best solution for time tracking so far.
Read Blagojce Josifoski's full review
Takara Sights profile photo
November 21, 2016

It's Good. Serves a Very Specific Purpose

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I keep track of my own time using Time Doctor. It is a sophisticated timer. I log my hours in Google Spreadsheets and biweekly email them to my leader.
  • Let's you time multiple projects in one day.
  • Emails you your times so you have them even if you didn't record them.
  • Has a widget in the top menu bar of your desktop that's easy to read whether it's on or off.
  • I wish I could tamper with when it asks me if I'm working. I find it annoying.
  • It could be prettier.
  • I like the floating progress bar, but when I use google inbox it's always in the way.
Time Doctor is great if you need to time how long you spend on different projects throughout the day. I am editing multiple books at once and I need to keep track of how long I spend on each one.

It is not worth it if you don't need to keep track of how long you spend on a large project. I find it too cumbersome to time individual tasks and not useful enough to time just one project.
Read Takara Sights's full review
Ruby Javaid profile photo
November 18, 2016

Automate your time sheets to save time!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Time Doctor has been a lifesaver for me. I am a one-person design company and I need to track the time I spend on many different projects all at once. My previous solution was to write down the time on sticky notes or note pads, but there was always the chance that I might misplace it or lose it. Nor could I generate my invoices from my home office if I'd left the billing hours info at my office. So this was a great all in one solution. Now I can choose the task I'm working on and don't have to worry about writing things down. If for any reason I forget what I was doing for a client and didn't make my task name specific enough, I can go back and take a quick look through the automatic screenshots. I also love that I can see how much time I spend on email and other admin tasks vs the actual design work. Love the reports that Time Doctor gives me as well.
  • One click to choose projects and tasks you've already created so that you can quickly choose what you're working on and basically set it and forget it.
  • Automatic screenshots so that I can always reference back to what I was working on.
  • The reports! There are reports for every project and time use. Helps me see exactly where my time is going and how I can better maximize it.
  • One thing I would love to see is integration with my cell phone. Time Doctor already has an app, but I want it to automatically capture the time I spend on my phone with clients. For now I have to manually enter in this time and must note when the call started and when it ended.
  • Integration into Wave apps where I generate my invoices. I'd like to be able to select a project from Time Doctor in my invoice and have it automatically populate the time I spent on it and the dates I worked on the project rather than manually finding and entering this information.
Very well suited to freelancers or anyone who works on projects that must keep track of billable hours, especially when you have many projects going all at once.
Read Ruby Javaid's full review

About Time Doctor

Time Doctor provides detailed analytics of where time is spent during the work day. Companies can see the websites and applications their employees visit while working, and screenshots of the computer screen every few minutes while they work.

Time Doctor not only tracks the total time worked by every person on your team, but also provides a breakdown of how much time is spent on each project, client, or task. The time tracking data is accurate to the second so managers can see exactly where time is spent, verifying how much time is spent on which activities. Companies can use this data to bill clients or to have an accurate record for paying staff.

The vendor claims that company employees will get a lot more done each day, increasing productivity and reducing wasted time.

Managers receive a weekly report outlining which websites and applications were used by their team and for how long. Individual users will receive the same report outlining their own time usage statistics. The vendor promises that this report maximizes productivity tracking and helps to identify productivity issues.
Categories:  Time Tracking

Time Doctor Features

Has featureTime Tracking
Has featureWebpage & Application Monitoring
Has feature35+ Integrations
Has featureAvoiding Distractions
Has featureScreen Monitoring
Has featureClient Login
Has featureAutomatic Payroll
Has featureAPI
Has featureMouse & Keyboard activity monitoring
Has featureWork time/holiday scheduling
Has featurePowerful reporting
Has featureDesktop, Web, Mobile apps and Chrome extension
Has featureProject management
Has featureIneffective time-use report
Has featureGPS tracking (optional)
Has featureWeb-cam shots (optional)

Time Doctor Screenshots

Time Doctor Integrations

Time Doctor Competitors

Toggl, Hubstaff, Rescue Time, Getharvest

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Enterprise15% discount10 or more users
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Enterprise15% discount10 or more users

Time Doctor Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Time Doctor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Chrombook
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English, Russian, Spanish, Portuguese, Arabic, French, German, Turkish