Google Analytics Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
2514 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-50 of 126)

Lisa Palombo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2019

The KPI King!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Analytics to measure specific KPIs related to our website and social media activity. For example, we recently completed a redesign of the website and the user experience, so we are tracking metrics like time on page, number of page visits, unique visitors and the blog roll very closely.
  • Ability to manipulate the time frame to see historical data vs present data
  • Percentage increase or decrease at a glance for important metrics
  • List of pages and how they are performing from a UX perspective
  • It can be hard to navigate at first.
  • The settings are cluttered and setting it up on your website isn’t intuitive - the script is often hidden
  • Sharing the dashboard with others should be easier and more clear
It’s great for a high level overview of how certain parts of your business are performing. If you’re looking to dive deeper, you certainly can but it gets a little trickier to see data in that format. It does a great job at giving you a “state of the union” if you will.
Read Lisa Palombo's full review
James Arnold | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

GA is a must-have analytics offering for most sites

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is the best, easiest and least expensive analytics platform on the market. We use it to monitor the health of our web site and see the customer journey. Specifically, with our current company, which is relatively small and new, it teaches us quickly what topics are of most interest to our prospects. Without GA, we just wouldn't know.
  • Implementation: Adding a snippet of code to the site is easy.
  • Metrics: It's pretty easy to tell one of 100 stories in the first 10 minutes with the platform.
  • Automation: Setting up dashboards and automatic email of information makes it even more powerful.
  • Depth: There is depth here but takes some work to get accustomed to the platform to find it.
  • Agility: Sites change but GA doesn't always take that into consideration.
  • E-Commerce: I would typically recommend another tool if the real money is needing to be tracked.
You have to have site analytics. GA does a great job supplying the metrics most people need. Plus, there are integrations that allow it to be even more powerful. It's a must. However, if you are tracking e-commerce, I would suggest upgrading from GA to another offering.
Read James Arnold's full review
Vitali Kosyrau | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Great analytics tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is a powerful, great analytics tool for visitors to your site. The main thing is that it is absolutely free! Lots of settings, slices, and options.
  • Free tool.
  • Track visitors in real-time.
  • Custom report designer.
  • Difficult first set-up.
  • Not simple for new users.
  • Manual setting of all goals.
It helps to analyze what visitors do on the site, and it helps to increase the viewing time and what interests potential customers the most. Once it's set up everything works great.
Read Vitali Kosyrau's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Killer Data With Little To No Effort

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Analytics to monitor all of our web traffic and referral sources. It is our tool that is used to know if the content that is created is being read if there are any issues with our website, and if a promotion or plan is working or not for a web presence.
  • It shows the data in an easy to use fashion.
  • It is quick and easy to install.
  • It really tracks everything that is done on a website.
  • I wish I could see more on mobile.
  • I think it is hard to learn how to use at first.
  • I think some of the "search" traffic isn't properly separated.
I honestly believe that anyone who has a website should have Google Analytics installed. I don't care if you are a multimillion-dollar company or a blogger who is just getting started, Google Analytics can provide you with some valuable data that can be used over the lifetime of your website.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Google Analytics -- A must have for anyone on the web

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a media company, we rely on Google Analytics to monitor the performance of our contents -- mostly news stories. We track what type of articles performs best and at which platform, to know what we should focus on and where we can improve. Google Analytics is used by the Editorial, Sales, and Marketing departments.
  • Tracking what content performs best.
  • Monitoring the performance of our content across different distribution platforms.
  • Tracking the performance of our campaigns, especially paid ones.
  • Comparing the effectiveness of two similar distribution platforms, so we can get the most out of our budget.
  • Specific dashboards, for media companies, for registered users and paid subscribers.
  • Sometimes an article has different UTMs, and since it's shared on different platforms, and GA treats different UTSs to mean different pages, this results in separate pageviews counts, which can be misleading.
  • It will help a lot if GA provides a guidebook, or best-practice, for media companies and publishers so we can maximize efforts.
Google Analytics is a must-have if you have a website, let alone if your performance depends on traffic, user, and other related metrics. As a media company, we must know what type of contents perform best so we can produce more or focus on boosting the content to satisfy our readers and reach more readers. However, focusing on pageviews alone can be misleading as sometimes pageviews do not translate to conversion (registered users and paid subscribers), hence the need to see other metrics such as user counts, pages per session, and time spent. In the three years of working in national media, I've witnessed multiple times when important reports are not being read, as shown by analytics, but this does not mean that we should not do a follow up, it just means that the social media team has to work harder in pushing the news to more audience.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Quick down and dirty analytics software

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is being used to track and analyze any web traffic. It addresses questions like: "How many people are filling out our trial form?", "How many use this web page?", "Who's coming to our site and from where?" and more. It's mostly being used by the Marketing department, but is being used by some product teams to track key KPI's and determine the performance of prototypes or production products.
  • Wealth of data. There is too much data, honestly.
  • It's very customizable. It's very easy to drill in and out and modify parameters to meet a specific need.
  • It's easy to get set up. Right out of the box, it requires no customization.
  • It doesn't think for the user much. It basically overwhelms them with information, which can be hard to digest and can lead to some false assumptions.
  • Oftentimes, nuanced questions are really hard to find good answers for. Something that should be simple like: "how many users logged in?" is often really difficult depending on how your web application is built.
  • Data visualization isn't very useful. The graphs seem useful at first, but honestly end up using the tables most of the time. Occasionally I'll spot some trends in the data vizualization, but it's pretty uncommon.
Need some free quick and dirty data on your web-based project? Plug it in and get some idea. If you have a lot of e-comm requirements for analytics, I would not recommend it. It requires a lot of setup for that to work well. If you are using Tag manager it's probably a good fit as well, but most other analytics platforms have integrations there also.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Google Analytics -- A great option for individual and small businesses

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Analytics across our whole organization for dozens of websites, but primarily for our flagship corporate site. It addresses our business need of measuring traffic to web pages and other measurements such as bounce rate, time on page and demographic information. We do some work with different types of segmentation and advanced analytics, although I personally do not delve into that area.
  • It's relatively easy to use even for beginners -- basic reports are simple to run.
  • The user interface is pretty intuitive.
  • Real-time stats and usage are very beneficial.
  • Demographics information is easy to access.
  • Not all measurements are easy to understand intuitively (i.e., page value).
  • Being able to easily add additional dimensions for filtering results would be nice.
  • It does not report on file downloads from your site, at least from what I have seen.
Google Analytics is well suited for smaller companies and individuals who are looking to get basic analytic info for their website. Because you can run even basic GA for free, it is a very nice option for those who don't have a large budget and/or don't want to invest in long-term commitments or contracts with other analytics tools. If you are a large corporation that needs advanced data or integration with other tools you use, you may want to look at other products.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Google Analytics Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is being used to track visitors and conversions across multiple sites to understand acquisition by channel for optimizing lead generation. It provides a solution in understanding where leads are coming from and the ROI from marketing activity to better optimize the marketing budget for growth.
  • Web tracking and conversions across multiple channels.
  • Out-of-the-box attribution reporting.
  • Individual and device tracking.
  • Integrates well with Data Studio for extended reporting.
  • Limited or costly integration with other Marketing Technology platforms (MAPs, CRMs, etc).
  • Resources to learn, train others can be modernized or organized.
Google Analytics is essential for web sites used to generate traffic and leads, especially with the free version, as there is no excuse not to use it as it provides invaluable information for your online properties. However, for web sites that do not serve such a purpose and are merely there to display information and not generate leads, it would not be necessary.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Google Analytics Review

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Google Analytics (GA) to help many of our clients run A/B Tests and other personalization campaigns through tools such as Adobe Target, Optimizely, Google Optimize, etc. While we also used GA for general site deep-dive data inquiries, we were primarily focused on leveraging it to aid our analysis regarding our testing programs.
  • GA is obviously the price-conscious choice of the group. Bottom barrel product for a bottom-barrel price (especially the free version). But to its credit, it can be cheap (or free).
  • GA can be routed through Google's Data Studio platform, which I believe is a far superior and significantly more intuitive tool.
  • The integration between Google Optimize and GA is pretty seamless and does provide a basic/cheap method of starting a testing program.
  • There were times where data was literally incorrect (not even close to being correct at times).
  • There is little to no tech support (obviously if you are using the free version especially). Adobe's tech support, in contrast, isn't amazing, but it at least exists.
  • GA's data sampling can lead to confusing or unhelpful results.
  • It may be the single least-intuitive tool I've ever used.
  • It's not built for A/B testing and personalization campaigns if that's what you're considering leveraging it for (in other words, it will be a bit duct-taped together to get it to do what you need it to do).
  • 2 segment maximum is extremely limiting.
  • No ability to gather HIT-level insights.
  • Segment builder is cumbersome.
GA is best suited for high-level data pulls for marketing teams (e.g. how many visitors are hitting our site every day, how many products are we selling every month, what are people most frequently clicking on our site). It's not as great if you're trying to start and/or develop a testing program.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2019

Analyze your companies online presence with Google Analytics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is being used by the marketing department and shared with the owners of the company. We use Google Analytics to determine what our presence is online, how people are finding us and what they are looking for in our services.
  • We like the snapshot of how many customers called us.
  • We like and look at how many asked for directions to get to us.
  • The analytics tell us exactly how many visited our website. We use this information to make enhancements on the web materials.
  • The insights are probably what we use most to understand exactly what our customers are searching for when looking for us.
  • The reviews are nice to see, but when a client posts an inappropriate review it is very difficult to have it removed if you can even remove it at all. This area could use some improvement.
  • We would like to see what search engine or browser they are using. If this were possible, we could enhance our web capabilities.
  • If we could have more information like where they are searching for us, this would be beneficial to understand our reach.
We really like a few things that Google Analytics provides us.
1. How customers search for our business: the options include a direct search, discovery search, and brand search. We do a good mix of the first two, but all improve our branding.
2. What kind of queries people use to find us: I am amazed at what they type in and how we come up as a match. This might need a little improvement.
3. Where customers view us, on the web in a search versus a listing on a map: This is ok and could use some work. I particularly like the finding us on a map and giving the exact direction.
4. What actions do potential customers take: Do they call? Do they ask for directions? Or do they visit the website? We seem to have a good mix here too.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

One place for all of your data

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to track all our traffic analysis. Along with our traffic analysis, we are also using this for conversion tracking as we set up the goals in the analytics. For now, it is only used by the Marketing department but we have a plan to introduce this platform to the whole organization.
  • Understanding customers' behavior and interaction with the website is essential to study carefully to understand their likes and dislikes before making any changes.
  • Google Analytics provides important data on whether your web traffic is coming from desktop or mobile devices.
  • Looking at aggregated data gives us a much better read about which channels influence performance.
  • While Google Analytics offers amounts of information on your website performance, it is still somewhat limited.
  • Google Analytics can be confusing and overwhelming for new users.
Google Analytics is free of charge so everyone can use it. Plus you will get plenty of resources online to help you with getting started with Analytics.
Read this authenticated review
Sean Patterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2019

Amazing Basic Metrics with Little Effort

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Analytics with a lot of our clients that want to get detailed information about their viewers and their basic browser metrics or profiles. Additionally, we will track user traffic within their site. Gathering these metrics helps identify which sections of the site needs more growth, which sections could be trimmed, and also helps target code optimizations based on the browser base of the users visiting their site.
  • Quick and easy to set up.
  • Powerful metrics and traffic flows.
  • Ability to enable detailed metrics through action tracking.
  • Visualizing metrics on detailed actions can be tricky to set up.
  • Exporting dashboards/reports could be a little more emphasized.
Google Analytics can easily be recommended for most websites, particularly if the goal is to gather basic metrics about the visitors and their flow. Having basic actions in place, particularly when refining the tracking of user flow, would also be a good candidate for Google Analytics. Google Analytics would be a little less appropriate when you're trying to get a full tracing stack of analytics and performance in something like a web app.
Read Sean Patterson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2019

Google Analytics should be everyone's first web analytics solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our business is an online website. We use Google Analytics to track site traffic, overall engagement on the site, key events that happen -- all with an aim toward understanding our user base and what is working and not working on our site and our efforts to increase traffic and engagement (and monetization!)
  • Aggregates statistics along multiple dimensions for quick analysis -- geography, traffic source, campaigns, landing pages, etc.
  • With goal tracking, it allows you to see conversion rate metrics (be they site registration, purchase, or whatever) across various landing pages or audience segments
  • It's very simple to create sets of queries and group them together in dashboards of key metrics and trends and share them with colleagues across the organization
  • Google Analytics does allow you to filter results based on a primary or secondary dimension (e.g. landing page and source) -- but it would be better if the user could pick finer grained segments utilizing more dimensions (e.g. "visitors from Canada who visited Landing Page X via Inbound Referral Link)
  • Comparing results over time (week on week, etc) should have shortcuts for common analyses (vs same day last week, vs same month last year, etc)
  • With Google Analytics (and all their products really), Google will change things by adding functionality or changing the names of concepts (recently they changed "Visits" to "Sessions") without so much as a peep alerting the user base. While most of the changes are for the better, a heads-up would be professional and appreciated.
Google Analytics is a very solid tool. It is appropriate for web sites of zero to moderate size -- after some tens of thousands of events or visitors in a short period they can subject you to sampling. So if you're running a Top 100 website with millions of visitors another larger solution is probably better for you. But if you're just starting out or dealing with tens or a few hundreds of thousands of monthly uniques and a relatively straightforward site structure and set of events [which is 99% of us] then Google Analytics is a great tool. Especially given that it's free!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2019

Track your website's visitors in no time.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been working on an SEO project for the past 2 years and I use Google Analytics to see every visitor's activity on my client's website. Other than counting website visitors, I also conclude whether the traffic is Organic, Refferal, or Direct. Google Analytics is like my spy for learning my visitor's activities.
  • Visitor's Location
  • Landing Page of Every Visitor
  • Goal Completions
  • The Not Provided Section can be a bit more liberal instead of hiding the entire Data set.
  • Admin section should have Live Help Section as it is a bit confusing for beginners.
Google Analytics is a perfect platform for E-commerce and IT Companies. Also, local businesses should focus on Google My Business instead of Google Analytics.
Read this authenticated review
Kyle Reichelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 22, 2018

Invaluable, if you come in with clear focus.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used Google Analytics to set up and optimize sales channels for customers, we use Google Analytics to optimize our own website, as well we've integrated GA with our ETL & BI solution, OnMetric.
  • GA tracks user behaviors wonderfully
  • GA provides invaluable insights regarding the geographic dispersal of customers.
  • Paired with embeddable click events, GA is an indispensable solution for website conversion optimization.
  • The learning curve is steep.
  • There are so many features, you really run the risk of information overload.
  • There is little effort made to provide context, and so one must draw their own conclusions to drive actions.
For optimizations of anonymous tracking, google analytics is second to none--and it's free! Unless you have extremely high traffic... then it get's very expensive very fast. It is well suited for tracking multiple sales channels, across multiple devices, and allows for very granular tracking. GA supports annotations, providing invaluable context when viewing trends.
Read Kyle Reichelt's full review
Reita Silvis | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2018

Google Analytics Improved our Constant Contact Campaigns

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our constant contact relies mostly on Google Analytics in regards to measuring engagement with our brokers and agents, especially when it comes to bonus opportunities to bring in new business accounts to underwrite. We noticed that since analyzing our outreach through Google, it's helped us pinpoint where we could improve in order to get more of a response and become more personalized to our biggest agents.
  • It's a great platform for mobile app analytics and not only on desktop/website
  • It's a good free option but also the paid version is not outrageous
  • There is a learning curve and not much support or guidance
  • The free version doesn't analyze as many data sources as our previous IBM analytics
In the free version, it's less helpful as the data it's using is limited compared to other software out there. It doesn't help us pinpoint where to focus our campaigns on, however, which has helped a lot in getting agent participation up.
Read Reita Silvis's full review
Fred Lunt | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2018

Essential Tool for the 21st Century Marketer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is used by the marketing department of my company to determine best SEO practices, drive content and email campaign strategies and boost eCommerce sales. The Analytics platform allows us to get a real-time view of our audiences and make adjustments in our growth and execution of marketing strategy. Additionally, we're able to better grasp where customers are referred to our site, which parts of the sales funnel are most successful, and where we need to improve. We set KPI's through our dashboard and are able to see current updates on when we meet our goals.
  • Excellent, real-time statistics
  • Great for building a picture of your demographics and buyer persona's.
  • A great tool to see which third party referral websites are giving your site the best traffic.
  • Can be a bit bulky when you've built a large amount of data up.
  • Can be challenging to learn, even with their online program, unless you use it every day.
  • It would be nice to add a 'test' function for new users to experiment with.
A fantastic tool for eCommerce companies who need accurate measurements and are concerned with converting leads and sales. While Google Analytics is best served for eCommerce, I would argue that its tools can be purposed for anything from a professional service site to a simple online portfolio as the platform allows one to dig deep into the data and market themselves.
Read Fred Lunt's full review
Daniel Murage | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2018

Google Analytics: The –almost–best analytics tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Use Google Analytics to track views on website and determine the visibility that I gain with my website.
  • Shows the different regions from which users of your website are from
  • Shows time of day when users access your website
  • Shows what type of device users of your website are using, which is extremely helpful for the design process.
  • The graphs could use more color variation to show different data points. Currently, Google Analytics uses different hues of blue, which is fine, but this is repeated over different graphs, which could mislead users.
  • The mobile app is very compact. This is understandable given the small screen sizes of most phones, but I wonder if there is a better way to present the information in mobile devices.
Perfect for tracking marketing strategies, understanding where visitors of your site are from, what time of day they visit your site, and what pages they frequent.
Critical for user research and understanding where design might fail.
Read Daniel Murage's full review
Mathias Amodu | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

Google Analytics Best for Business

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is used by me as an administrator in my company. We basically use it to target most of audience when advertising with this platform, because it converts well.
  • Advertising my blog pages and post
  • Selling my ebooks
  • Increasing my blog audience
  • The site should be made simpler to use
  • The site should all forms of ATM cards
  • The site be able to send monthly reports to users
To send monthly reports
Read Mathias Amodu's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2018

Google Analytics - the best free tool for website behavior

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I love Google Analytics. It's a free tool and fairly easy to understand once it's installed by a developer team. All my clients at the agency use Google Analytics to understand their web traffic
  • User activity
  • Time on page
  • Location of user
  • Source of website visitors
  • Hard to install
  • Can be challenging to find the information you are looking for
  • Cannot look at specific users - data is aggregated
It's the best thing on the market that's 100% free to find user behavior into a website or app of any size
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2018

The best analytics solution for any website.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now, we primarily use Google Analytics to measure and analyze our website's performance across digital marketing channels. Google Analytics is the best tool on the market - no other analytics solution can provide the insights into our website visitors and how they behave when they reach our site. Eventually, we plan on implementing Firebase Analytics, which is Google's solution for tracking mobile app analytics. It will be great to see and understand how our customers interact with our app.
  • Reporting is definitely a strong suit of Google Analytics. Data is useless if you can't interpret it, and Google makes data visualization very easy.
  • Google has a built-in Analytics Intelligence feature - what this does is provide actionable insights into your data without you having to do anything. Google can understand what your data means and make suggestions based on that data.
  • Another strength is that Google Analytics seamlessly integrates with all of Google's other products. The big ones for us are Optimize and Google Tag Manager. Being able to connect these services and use them in parallel with each other saves us a lot of time.
  • Google Analytics' integration with Salesforce requires you to be using the Google Analytics 360 suite, which is their paid version. This is surprising considering most GA integrations don't cost anything.
Google Analytics is a tool that anyone with a website or mobile app should be using. Whether it's a public facing site, an internal site, a customer knowledgebase, or an app in the Play Store - Google Analytics is perfect for helping you understand your visitors and users. The best part is that it's free with pretty much every analytic tool you could want.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 05, 2018

Google Analytics - Love It

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is currently being used to track the number of users and multiple conversion points across our site, across various channels, including but not limited to PPC, Paid Social and Organic. It helps to bring all the conversion and revenue numbers together for all the channels as a total, which helps the client see how their business is performing as a whole.
  • Google Analytics allows for very detailed remarketing lists that can be pushed in AdWords.
  • Tracking of the traffic and various conversions through each channel.
  • Google Analytics tracks users that are not only in your country but across the world. This helps when you are building a strategy that has an international component.
  • Great attribution section, which shows the user journey for each conversion.
  • It would be good to see labels from AdWords to be visible in Google Analytics.
  • The dashboard and unique features can be a bit cumbersome and difficult to use if you are using it for the first time.
The reason I'd recommend Google Analytics is because, firstly, it can track the traffic from multiple channels, such as email, paid social, as mentioned earlier this helps when planning strategy or deducing reasons for lower traffic or conversions for a particular channel. Secondly, the remarketing lists and custom reports section works very well when it comes to creating and reporting on campaigns.
Read this authenticated review
T. Blane McMichen | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2018

You get MORE that you pay for!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is being used to understand website traffic and content consumption by anonymous site visitors. It allows me to evaluate the site path and most important content for visitors. It also allows me to track visitors form ad campaigns to determine the source of site traffic and promotional effectiveness.
  • Site content analysis of readership and page bounces as an indicator of poor content/navigation
  • Crating goals for analysis and conversion rate calculations
  • Ad tracking and ROI data
  • It is very powerful, but can be confusing at time in the UI
  • Changes to the product require a bit of re-training.
  • It is a little tricky to Anonymize IP to improve GDPR compliance.
It is well suited for website analysis. I have not used it for apps, so I cannot speak to that. There are so many integrations with GA that you can find just about any solution you need, such as WordPress plugins.
Read T. Blane McMichen's full review
Jeffrey Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2017

Analyzing Google Analytics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While Analytics has a laundry list of really great features involving real-time audience tracking, behavior factors on website visitors, and various event tracking services, I primarily utilize it to find origination points in our client pipelines. It is important that we are able to tell if a recent blog entry is doing exceptionally well, or if a referral source is seeing a traffic spike. Analytics, like most of the offerings in the Google ecosystem, is extremely easy to pick up and use but has a ton of complexity under the hood.
  • Tracks clients along digital pipelines well.
  • Follows client behavior on your website effectively.
  • Excellent support for multiple websites.
  • There are some redundant systems in place.
  • Tracking isn't always consistent, but it's more accurate than competitors.
Google Analytics handles every level of the user experience on your website exceptionally well. It is easy to jump quickly between a macro level view of every visitor currently active on your website, to a micro level view of a user on a specific page from a specific source. I genuinely have no complaints when it comes to Analytics doing the specific job it is built for.
Read Jeffrey Smith's full review
Melanie Singer | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2018

Google Analytics has made everything smoother!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is a great tool to see how many active users are on our site at that moment. Additionally, it's helpful to see where incoming users are coming from (i.e. Google, Flipboard, Twitter). It is being used across my department, as the business team, but also among other teams such as the marketing team and social team.
  • Informs you of how many active viewers are on our site in real-time.
  • Allows you to go deeper and see what companies are reading our site -- C-Suite, Fortune 500 etc.
  • Allows you to track which times of the day or which day of the week attracted the most people to our site and qualitatively thinking why this may be.
  • It would be helpful to have more insight into our audience. If it shows that they're working in government, it would be helpful to see what sector of government they're working in.
Google Analytics is well suited for scenarios where you want more insight on your active and daily users. Being in ad ops. When we see a spike in our users it helps to figure out why, and what our readers are most interested in.
Read Melanie Singer's full review

About Google Analytics

Google Analytics is perhaps the best-known web analytics product and, as a free product, it has massive adoption. Although it lacks some enterprise-level features compared to its competitors in the space, the launch of the paid Google Analytics Premium edition seems likely to close the gap.

Google Analytics Integrations

Google Analytics Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Google Analytics Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No