ActiveCampaign Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
114 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 44)

Stephen Scott | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 06, 2020

ActiveCampaign - All of the email tools you’ll ever need, in one toolbox.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have used all of the above platforms previously over the past decade, migrating from Constant Contact to iContact, then to Emma and finally GreenRope before migrating to ActiveCampaign, where we have stayed for the past 4 years. All of the previous email platforms had some combination that we needed as we grew our business and needed increasingly sophisticated tools to give our customers the right email with the right information at the right time. After all, that is pretty much what every ESP promises in their ads, right? Constant Contact and iContact were the most basic, and we outgrew them when we started needing to segment and personalize our emails, instead of just doing a weekly blast. Emma and GreenRope were the easiest and most enjoyable to work with—both had great staff that provided excellent support and really cared about their clients. We moved away from them only due to needing tagging and better personalization functionality. We don't need appointment scheduling or booking functionality, as our business is strictly online and email, so a CRM system wasn't as valuable to us as to other types of companies.
Read Stephen Scott's full review
Page Vandiver | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2019

Get off of the email provider you're using and get on this one instead!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We love Mailchimp for beginners in the business. ActiveCampaign exceeds Mailchimp's capabilities when it comes to visualizing automation, tracking data, dynamic content, and support. We recommend ActiveCampaign to our clients who are serious - and growing to their goals.

We love Privy for pop-ups (which lead into flows). ActiveCampaign surpasses Privy in one respect - it's easier for the system to track people who come into the CRM through an ActiveCampaign form.

ActiveCampaign is the right choice for any growing business outside of eCom. Klaviyo is better for eCom owners who do business on Shopify. (easier user navigation, direct integration, simplified user flows, existing templates.) Klaviyo could be used for other businesses, but it's not really built for it - ActiveCampaigns' capabilities exceed Klaviyos for all other businesses.
Read Page Vandiver's full review
Mike Koolwijk | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

ActiveCampaign: A great marketing tool to start with

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We use multiple "marketing automation" products, and each one has its pluses and minuses.
For us, ActiveCampaign is perfect for smaller companies who want to start with marketing automation. Or want to have a good base. The other tools have a lot more options and functionalities, but I would only suggest them if the projects are bigger, and if there are off-course needs for those other functions (built-in CRM, landing pages, sales management, sales funnels, etc.).
Read Mike Koolwijk's full review
Tim Bost | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2019

Choose ActiveCampaign For Its Power & Versatility, If You Don't Mind It Being Affordable, Too!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We had a brief and very disappointing relationship with Infusionsoft a few years ago. They struggled in vain trying to get an API properly configured so that we could move data through one of our flagship web sites. After about half a dozen fruitless iterations, they gave up, we canceled our contract, and we went our separate ways.

With ActiveCampaign, however, integration has never been a significant problem. Just being able to USE the software obviously makes a big difference! We've also been consistently pleased with the capabilities and support provided by ActiveCampaign. And it's much, much less expensive than Infusionsoft as well.
Read Tim Bost's full review
Nehal Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

Wondrous Email Campaign Tool for Sales, Support and Marketing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Learn this tool; it can literally set up a small business on autopilot for initial inquiries, helping you figure out what's working and what's not. Lead scoring tools are rarely used, but should be regardless; you'll know more about your audience using ActiveCampaign - their tracking of visits to the site helped us outspread Pipeline and spot defects promptly, and modify.
Read Nehal Patel's full review
Chad Carman | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

ActiveCampaign should be your next email software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Mailchimp and Constant Contact may be better suited for small business. Each has their own benefits. ActiveCampaign has the best WYSIWIG builder for their emails of the three. Mailchimp seems to have more integrations than all three. Constant Contact was my least favorite to use to this point. Active Campaign also has some of the best pricing for value.
Read Chad Carman's full review
Jake Tacher | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2019

Be weary of AC

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Infusionsoft was terrible for us, but other than Infusionsoft every other CRM product I've used seemed better (from a sales perspective) than AC. HubSpot I think is the nice middle between user-friendly and simple for a company of our size. Again, if you are smaller than we are AC might not be bad. It's a little buggy but not bad for a smaller business.
Read Jake Tacher's full review
Josh Summerhays | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2019

Great place to get started with marketing automation, but reporting is weak

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

HubSpot Marketing Hub is mostly a superior platform, but for a bootstrapped startup or small business, HubSpot is WAY too expensive. ActiveCampaign gets you really critical pieces of marketing automation for a small fraction of what HubSpot costs. HubSpot has landing page tools and a much better CRM interface, as well as far superior reporting tools. Ultimately, though, we couldn't afford $800+ per month for marketing automation when our particular needs were met by ActiveCampaign for $125 per month.
Read Josh Summerhays's full review
Kristi Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

I recommend ActiveCampaign to Everyone!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Ontraport, Infusionsoft, HubSpot, AWeber, GetResponse among several others. I believe that of these choices ActiveCampaign is by far the best option. It is easier to use, less expensive, delivers emails without issues and offers fantastic customer service. ActiveCampaign also pays attention to current trends, and updates what their platform can do accordingly.
Read Kristi Brown's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Great Solution, but could use a little finessing.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • It's way better than Constant Contact (I still use Constant Contact for one of my clients and find it very, very frustrating!).
  • I like some options ActiveCampaign has over Campaign Monitor - tagging, automation, etc. are all a lot better/easier. BUT we have noticed a significant dip in deliverability, based on user feedback. I think that fewer people see our emails since we've switched, and the folks at ActiveCampaign can't seem to find a reason for it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Robust, flexible, and user-friendly!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

ActiveCampaign is one of the most robust marketing automation platforms available today and allows us to integrate with virtually all other marketing tools in our tech stack. When vetting a marketing automation software to support our clients, we did not like that other larger platforms were so focused on their own internal apps, that they tried to force the "all-in-one" message too much. Instead, ActiveCampaign allows us to integrate all other platforms in one central location, without tying us down to a crazy and extensive contract.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Absolutely the best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

ActiveCampaign is far superior in our minds. The most important feature for us is the integration with Shopify Plus. This works far far far better than anything we ever tried with Infusionsoft. We used various connections, which cost us money to use and implement, to various degrees of success. With ActiveCampaign, the data comes across immediately and without any other connectors. This one feature alone was enough to justify the changeover. In addition, campaign creation is simpler in some regards and just as laden with tools, features, and options. It also saves us close to $2500 per year to use, which is just icing on the cake. Overall, there is no comparison in our minds.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2019

ActiveCampaign is a solid option for small business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

ActiveCampaign has a much more powerful and flexible automation builder, as well as the pipeline function (Deal) that is fully integrated with the rest of the product.
For example, you can set up automation with conditions that push a contact across a sales pipeline based on behavioral data: an email is opened, a link is clicked, or a web page is visited.
Ease of use is a key factor too as it allows me to set things up very quickly.
Read this authenticated review
Ben Marcoux Roofing Lead Generation Expert | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2019

ActiveCampaign - The Perfect Combination of Simplicity Plus Power

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

ActiveCampaign is by far my favorite email marketing tool. The other "cheap" options aren't nearly as powerful or intuitive. And then the more powerful tools on the market are super confusing to set up and also very expensive. ActiveCampaign is the perfect blend of powerful plus simple. That's why I use it myself and recommend it to all my clients.
Read Ben Marcoux Roofing Lead Generation Expert's full review
Sarah Bandy | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

ActiveCampaign helps you super sell!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Emma
I selected ActiveCampaign in order to expand our possibilities for sales and exploration in marketing. We've used Emma as well for a long time, and honestly, I think I prefer the mail blast section of Emma/Campaign Monitor because I'm used to it and they have tons of great templates.
Read Sarah Bandy's full review
Ben Gelsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2018

ActiveCampaign: Nailed the Sweet Spot of Power vs. Ease-of-Use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

ActiveCampaign strikes the right balance of simplicity versus power. Unlike heavyweights such as AWeber, ActiveCampaign is a breeze to use. However, at the other side of the spectrum other easy to use tools like MailChimp are severely lacking in their ability to integrate automations with your website's business logic. Based on hitting the sweet spot, I can clearly recommend ActiveCampaign over it's competitors to most website businesses.
Read Ben Gelsey's full review
Nicholas De Salvo | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2018

Great Features, Great Price!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Compared to options like MailChimp and Constant Contact, ActiveCampaign offers a much more robust and granular delivery feature set. Compared to more robust options like Infusionsoft or HubSpot, it offers much of the same functionality for a fraction of the cost. Once your list grows into the thousands, you'll want to consider Infusionsoft or HubSpot for their better CRM features, but if your list is smaller and you want to get aggressive about growing it, this is the tool for you.
Read Nicholas De Salvo's full review
Audréa Trinh | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2018

Effective and not expensive marketing automation tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have selected ActiveCampaign because it has all the basic features in marketing automation we wanted. It is a cheap and effective Marketing Automation software when you are a small business. We simply wanted a tool powerful enough to help us increase the number of new leads for a very low cost.
Read Audréa Trinh's full review
Viktor Nagornyy | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2018

ActiveCampaign is one of the most flexible marketing automation platforms out there!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Before ActiveCampaign we were using both MailChimp for some stuff as well as Hatchbuck for other stuff. The main reason we went with ActiveCampaign is the comprehensive automated campaigns you can set up. Hatchbuck's automated campaigns were very limited, you couldn't do much behavioral targeting. Same applied for MailChimp, automated features were limited. Plus, with MailChimp your contacts are stuck on one list and you can't easily move them around or segment across lists based on keywords/tags. That's where ActiveCampaign truly shines.
Read Viktor Nagornyy's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (41)
8.0
Dynamic content (40)
8.0
Ability to test dynamic content (36)
7.9
Landing pages (15)
6.9
A/B testing (35)
8.2
Mobile optimization (42)
8.4
Email deliverability (46)
8.7
List management (45)
8.7
Triggered drip sequences (42)
9.6
Dashboards (45)
7.4
Standard reports (45)
7.6
Custom reports (33)
7.4

About ActiveCampaign

The vendor states that ActiveCampaign's Customer Experience Automation Platform presently helps 90,000+ businesses in 161 countries meaningfully engage with their customers. The platform gives businesses of all sizes access to hundreds of pre-built automations that combine email marketing, marketing automation, CRM, and machine learning for orchestration, segmentation and personalization across social, email, messaging, chat, and text. 300+ integrations. Pricing starts at $9/month.

Email Marketing
Subscription Forms
Dynamic Content
Email Segmentation
Split Testing

Marketing Automation
Site Tracking
Event Tracking
Automation Goals
Automation Map
Attribution
Split Action

Sales & CRM
Gmail Extension for Chrome
Contact & Lead Scoring
Mobile App
Salesforce App

Messaging
SMS
Site Messages
Facebook Custom Audiences
Conversations

Machine Learning
Win Probability
Predictive Sending
Predictive Content Beta

ActiveCampaign Integrations

ActiveCampaign Competitors

Mailchimp, HubSpot, Klaviyo, Marketo, Campaign Monitor, Constant Contact, Keap (formerly Infusionsoft), ConvertKit

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

ActiveCampaign Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No