Namely Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
158 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 99)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 04, 2021
Becky Fleming Strittmatter, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Manage employee information
  • Timely reports available after payroll is processed
  • User friendly platform for all employees
  • Speed of tech support response
  • Accuracy of reports
  • Ability to update all custom report fields on the user's end
Read Becky Fleming Strittmatter, CPA's full review
March 28, 2021
Haleigh Catalano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows for customization across the board—for example, as an administrator with employees in multiple states, we can create PTO policies that match the labor laws for each employee depending on what state they live in.
  • Namely’s customer service is phenomenal; they have a large, dedicated team of representatives that work tirelessly to help resolve issues.
  • Cuts out the need to reach out to the HR team for things like name and address changes, and once an employee changes their address in Namely, HR is notified and can immediately pull that information.
  • Does not have the level of KPI management that we would like.
  • Have had issues with assigning tasks.
  • Want more out of their news feed social media-esque feature.
Read Haleigh Catalano's full review
November 06, 2020
Kai Briones-Lee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer Support.
  • With the new Namely service pod models, issues are handled quickly and a timely manner. Communications with our organization's service pod team is very easy.
  • Ease of Use for End Users.
  • From experience with other HRIS systems, many employees I worked with have a hard time navigating the system. With Namely's user-friendly interface, our employees adapted to the system quickly. Our employees usually don't have questions or concerns about the use of the system.
  • Easy Payroll Processing.
  • This was my first job where I am responsible for payroll processing. I received all the support I needed when setting up our payroll system two years ago. Currently, the payroll system is so easy to use that payroll processing is a breeze for us.
  • Unique Sick Time Calculations.
  • For our company, we calculate sick time by providing one hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked. Namely was not able to automate this sick time calculation, so every payroll processing, I have to manually calculate and update sick time in the system. We're lucky that we are a very small organization, but I can see this being very cumbersome for a bigger organization.
  • Sick Time Tracking between Namely and Namely Time.
  • When our employees request sick time, the request doesn't automatically connect with Namely Time. Every payroll processing I have to make sure that all sick time requests are manually transferred to Namely Time.
  • Namely eSignature.
  • We have problems with connecting our Adobe Sign account with Namely eSignature. Because Adobe Sign is not working, we are unable to update and add new documents for our employees to sign.
Read Kai Briones-Lee's full review
March 29, 2021
Sana Sardar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Responsive support team.
  • Provide HRIS, Payroll, PTOs, compliance and Benefits solutions.
  • User friendly system.
  • Nothing that I could name as of now.
Read Sana Sardar's full review
November 18, 2020
Sana Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer support
  • Reporting
  • User Friendliness
  • New enrollments
  • Notifying brokers about changes in benefits/401K
  • Notification emails for employees changing their benefits or profiles
Read Sana Khan's full review
November 11, 2020
Chantal Berube, PHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Response time to service cases
  • Friendly service
  • Broad range of features offered
  • Level of knowledge and expertise from service reps
  • Payroll integration with GL mapping
  • Custom and preset data reporting
Read Chantal Berube, PHR's full review
November 11, 2020
Gina Meier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use for team members.
  • Payroll process is fairly simple.
  • Vacation balances: Currently Namely does not breakdown employee salaries to an hourly rate that can be used to calculate the dollar value of vacation balances. I am unable to run a report in Namely that shows me, by person, how much vacation they have earned YTD, how much used YTD, and the current remaining balance in hours and dollars.
  • More gender choices.
  • More diversity tracking choices.
  • Uploading forms can be difficult sometimes.
Read Gina Meier's full review
November 10, 2020
Tim Samuel, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Single Sign On. Users don't need to remember a new password. They use their google login.
  • Simple tools for performance reviews.
  • User Interface is top notch.
  • Payroll and HRIS don't always talk to each other.
  • Customer Support is a 1800 and ticketing system.
  • Timesheets on mobile phones required an upgrade to plan.
Read Tim Samuel, CPA's full review
November 10, 2020
Patricia McNeill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Pushing the Help Community to clients regularly.
  • Better client servicing.
  • Meeting the needs of the business by way of addressing concerns.
  • We would like to see tickets answered within a 24 to 48 hour time frame.
  • Service reps who have the answer and know how to address issues and concerns.
Read Patricia McNeill's full review
November 06, 2020
Chayse Henrie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Almost all HR functions are now one place.
  • The home screen allows our employees to see new hires, anniversaries, company news.
  • The benefits wizard was easy and intuitive for our employees to use.
  • Namely Time does not interface well with Namely HRIS.
  • Managed Services has been scaled back drastically and looks more like a helpdesk.
  • Setting up the EDI feeds for benefits has been very challenging.
Read Chayse Henrie's full review
November 05, 2020
Maria Munoz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Nothing. This has probably been the worst payroll platform I have ever used and I previously processed in-house payroll.
  • The systems don't talk to each other. The support level is based on each rep and some communicate better than others.
  • We recently found out that a rep has to manually update our PTO accrual amounts in Namely Time, as the system isn't robust enough to capture multiple levels of accrual rates.
  • There is limited support for companies in the West Coast. You have to wait until the next day to get service if something happens after 2 p.m.
Read Maria Munoz's full review
February 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy interface for employees
  • It looks nice from the employee perspective
  • People like the birthdays and anniversaries
  • Not being able to make a correction to deduction without voiding out a check and reissuing it. Crazy.
  • Reporting in the system is painful.
  • Time Keeping is limited and hard to make set up changes without Namely support
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Selling a sub-par product at a premium price (payroll is terrible, but the "extras" are well developed in some other areas such as onboarding and workflows).
  • Aesthetics of web site.
  • Onboarding employees.
  • Customer Service- they have tried to improve this area, but it is still very deficient.
  • Payroll functionality- ability to report General Ledger by departments/locations using job codes.
  • Nickel and dime charges for things included with other payroll services.
Read this authenticated review
February 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Payroll is done very well, especially by Christin Taylor. She is the best.
  • Review tracking is easy and efficient.
  • Calendar is great.
  • Definitely in benefits. I decided not to use Namely benefits with how poor communication was.
  • Namely Time is not user friendly, also don't like how it's separate from HRIS.
  • Project Services is poor in communication. I have to ask for updates from them.
Read this authenticated review
March 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Bring employees together (socially).
  • User friendly
  • Can store large amount of data.
  • Rehire ex emp on same record
Read this authenticated review
March 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • One Stop Shop - Employees are able to access personal/professional info, benefit info, and payroll info all in one place.
  • Ease of Use - Both administrators and employees are able to easily navigate the Namely system to complete tasks. A welcome change from other HRIS systems we have used as an organization in the past.
  • Continuous Improvement - Namely is committed to continuous improving their product and regularly sources feedback directly from clients to inform these improvements.
  • Reporting - Reporting capability has room for growth in terms of being able to build truly customized reports or point-in-time reporting, but they are making this a focus during 2021.
  • Performance Management - The goals and performance management cycle is clunky.
  • EDI Feeds - The file feeds for benefit connections needs work. The timeline to set up a new feed can sometimes take upwards of 6+ months.
Read this authenticated review
December 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Updates & Improvements - Namely is always implementing updates and new features for the users. This is very important in payroll as things changes constantly.
  • Time Keeping Integration - the integration with the time keeping piece is inconsistent. When we enter employee info into HRIS, it should feed to payroll and time keeping. It often won't make it to the time keeping portal correctly. There are also a number of places that need to be set up in multiple places (manager, hours benefits, etc)
  • Reporting - Reports are lacking. When asking for a simple, standard report that most other companies have, Namely does not have it. I have to compile a lot of my information manually by piecing their reports.
Read this authenticated review
March 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The interface looks attractive.
  • The mobile app is very user-friendly.
  • Payroll previews are available in real-time.
  • Namely's customer service is the worst I've experienced. The representatives are not on the same page, and they frequently provide different answers, depending on who you speak with.
  • You can not run a report with data for active or terminated employees as of a certain date. You have to manually adjust a lot of their reports to get what you need.
  • The system can not accommodate our 401k matching scale, so everything is manual.
Read this authenticated review
November 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Social feed is great for company-wide communications
  • Relatively easy to use for employees
  • No centralized data platform which creates a ton of disparate data processes and errors
  • Does not sufficiently support the most basic employee lifecycle processes and pay practices.
  • Customer support is challenging since there seems to be a huge disconnect with the Namely teams. They don't seem to interact and work together.
  • Namely is constantly "improving" their platforms but does not always communicate the changes to customers. We're often surprised by changes in functionality.
  • Inadequate reporting for very common HR and payroll reports.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (89)
7.4
Employment history (96)
6.5
Job profiles and administration (2)
10.0
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (93)
6.7
Organizational charting (93)
6.2
Organization and location management (90)
6.6
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (56)
6.8
Pay calculation (84)
6.8
Support for external payroll vendors (39)
4.8
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (35)
6.8
Benefit plan administration (81)
6.6
Direct deposit files (87)
7.7
Salary revision and increment management (75)
7.3
Reimbursement management (44)
6.7
Approval workflow (87)
7.1
Balance details (84)
6.2
Annual carry-forward and encashment (72)
6.4
View and generate pay and benefit information (93)
7.8
Update personal information (97)
7.9
View company policy documentation (87)
7.7
Employee recognition (81)
7.5
View job history (92)
7.2
Tracking of all physical assets (45)
7.6
Report builder (82)
6.1
Pre-built reports (79)
5.8
Ability to combine HR data with external data (54)
4.8
New hire portal (73)
7.2
Manager tracking tools (59)
6.8
Corporate goal setting (67)
6.1
Individual goal setting (69)
6.5
Line-of sight-visibility (52)
5.9
Performance tracking (68)
6.4
Performance plans (69)
6.7
Performance improvement plans (49)
6.6
Review status tracking (73)
6.6
Review reminders (73)
7.1
Multiple review frequency (64)
6.9
Candidate search (14)
5.9

What is Namely?

Namely is an HR, Payroll, and Benefits platform. It is designed around end-user usability, and can be configured to fit the company culture. Namely allows users to manage all their HR data in one place, with personalized service to help quickly improve HR management. Namely is used by companies in media, technology, and commerce, as well as other industries.

Namely Features

Human Resource Management Features

Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition

Asset Management Features

Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Has featureAsset issue and transfer management
Has featureAsset return
Has featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking

HR Reporting Features

Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency

Succession Planning Features

Has featureCandidate search

Onboarding Features

Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking

Namely Screenshots

Namely Video

Namely Integrations

Namely Competitors

Namely Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Namely$12.00Per Employee Per Month

Namely Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Namely Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Namely?

Namely offers a cloud-based HR platform for integrated core and specialized HR services, including time and employee performance management and onboarding processes.

What is Namely's best feature?

Reviewers rate Update personal information highest, with a score of 7.9.

Who uses Namely?

The most common users of Namely are Mid-size Companies from the Computer Software industry.