Marketo Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1885 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 818)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 18, 2020
Emily Thornton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

With Marketo's logic capabilities, it's possible to build nurture programs that are extremely dynamic and personalized to the user as their data profile changes and they move through the lead funnel. From a reporting standpoint, if implemented with a solid strategy, the reports and insights you'll be able to gain are extremely valuable. That said, it's not a magic wand (no platform is). You'll get out of it what you put in. Also, while the out-of-the-box reporting capabilities are a great and do show revenue attribution data from a connected CRM, I've found it to be more useful to use Marketo in conjunction with a BI tool such as Tableau.
Read Emily Thornton's full review
December 18, 2020
Colton Slauson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Marketo is really robust and can help produce amazing campaign tracking. Marketo does a great job at tracking a leads creation, stamping lead source, scoring that lead, and pushing to the designated lifecycle/funnel stage. It allows for sales to spend less time cold calling and more time calling actionable hot leads.
Read Colton Slauson's full review
December 15, 2020
Peter DeMichele | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Marketo has been an absolute game-changer for our organization and I feel we are still only scratching the surface. In my opinion if/when you would implement a solution, I highly recommend giving administrator(s) flexibility of testing capabilities to help move your organization along. This tool has leapfrogging capabilities if enough capacity is dedicated to it.
Read Peter DeMichele's full review
December 01, 2020
Ellie Bublick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Marketo is well suited for an organization that is a bit larger, with a need to reach a lot of customers and on several platforms in order to justify the price. If your team also has someone well-versed in HTML there's a lot of great design functions you can make happen in the platform. Marketo also has a trigger email function which allows you to set up emails that automatically go out when someone matches the conditions and I find that very helpful rather than sending batches of scheduled emails.
Read Ellie Bublick's full review
January 20, 2021
Kali Charan Rajput (KC) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Marketo has helped our organization to get 360 view of our prospects by looking their activities on our website, landing pages and emails. This tool has been well suited for all type of email campaigns in b2b marketing. It is not much helpful in B2C marketing activities.
Read Kali Charan Rajput (KC)'s full review
January 13, 2021
Richard Thelwell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Marketo is well suited for our fast-paced business because it allows us to quickly spin up marketing programs and the various elements needed (LPs, forms, emails, lists, segmentations etc.). It's great for our business as we look to mature a lot of our marketing operations as it has more deep functionality than a number of its competitors. However, it's still relatively easy to use.

However, the reporting functionality in Marketo leaves a lot to be desired so we often have to pull reports through other integrated systems.
Read Richard Thelwell's full review
December 30, 2020
Ashley Morse | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I've used four different email service providers and Marketo is by far the easiest and most robust to use. It is perfectly suited for large enterprise customers, as it is easy to scale and train internal colleagues. The support is superb and hyper-responsive. The only negative is that there are little bugs that pop up here and there that are not easy to replicate - we are using this platform for a ton of contacts and a lot of campaigns, so the more content we have and the larger our customer segment, the more likely we are to see a bug.
Read Ashley Morse's full review
December 22, 2020
Sander Buitelaar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Marketo is best suited for large companies with tens of thousands of people in a database with emails being sent every day and where complex marketing automation is needed. For smaller companies, Marketo is probably too much.
Read Sander Buitelaar's full review
December 21, 2020
Darshil Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

B2B Marketing
Closed Loop reporting and data transfer between Marketo and crm like SFDC, Revenue Cost Explorer,
Lead Lifecycle, Reporting, API Support, Integrates with ease with social channels and online event partners like GoToWebinar Zoom meetings, tokenised approach, web personalisation - which is a new feature introduced lately - is also worth exploring and using in advanced audience targeting and personalisation,
Email Marketing


Read Darshil Shah's full review
December 15, 2020
Jana Lass | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Marketo can be a great tool for a small team who needs to be flexible and move quickly if you already have a strong foundation with it, but it seems like it is becoming more and more an enterprise focused solution and there are probably a number of other options now available that would be better for small teams without the hefty price tag particularly as they seem to have stopped focusing on features that just make day to day easy to use.
Read Jana Lass's full review
December 14, 2020
Yoav B. Guttman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you want to target specific groups in your database, splice and dice different user profiles or build lists, Marketo is great. It also is easy to overcome the Lead/Contact dichotomy from Salesforce and just look at your contact list as 1 list, based on different inputs.

For easily building landing pages, it is great. For reporting the impact of marketing activities, it has a lot of improvement still to be done.
Read Yoav B. Guttman's full review
December 09, 2020
Mihaela Bisnel, MSc | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would recommend Marketo for enterprise-level organisations who are not IT-driven and want to drive Marketing and Sales Alignment. I am platform agnostic in the sense that I worked will all major MAP platforms in the past 9 years but Marketo Engage is by far the one I would recommend.
Read Mihaela Bisnel, MSc's full review
November 25, 2020
Chris Willis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Marketo is well-suited for organizations that understand that marketing is a revenue driver and need to structure it's marketing programs in such a way that you can measure the impact of touches towards Sales, Pipeline, and Revenue. It is less appropriate if you are looking for an "email tool" and do not need to be well-aligned with your revenue pipeline.
Read Chris Willis's full review
November 11, 2020
Samantha Cossum | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Best for organizations marketing on large scales who are able to put in the time to build complex programs/sequences. There is a lot of advanced functionality you can do in Marketo, but it can be cumbersome to set up, so you really need to be able to put in large amounts of time on the platform. The platform is also harder to use if you do not use Salesforce or Microsoft Dynamics. We have a custom integration, as we use NetSuite. Thankfully we have an in-house dev team that helped us get it set up and manages it, but it would have been extremely difficult had we not had those resources.
Read Samantha Cossum's full review
October 30, 2020
Matt Sturm (he/him/his) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Marketo is well-suited to enterprise and high-growth organizations that have at least one full-time marketing ops person, and/or a meaningful commitment to a marketing ops agency. Marketo would be a poor solution for a team that knew nothing about marketing automation and did not want to invest the time to be successful.
Read Matt Sturm (he/him/his)'s full review
January 19, 2021
Thomas Komar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Email sends, gated documents or videos, event landing pages, lead uploads, lead scoring and data analysis are all things Marketo is well suited for.
Read Thomas Komar's full review
September 22, 2020
Amit Jain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I highly recommend Marketo because of many reasons but a few top of the mind things are it's tracking mechanism, engagement engine, email, and web personalization, native integration b/w Marketo and SFDC.
Read Amit Jain's full review
August 24, 2020
Matt Tonkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Marketo is great for mid to enterprise size companies that can:
  • Dedicate a resource (or many) to system maintenance
  • Have many users that will require customized levels of access
  • Have a mature Tech Stack that will benefit from full integration
This isn't to say that Marketo can't be used by small teams, I have done so myself. However it really starts to show its value when it is being used across many types of initiatives. It is far more than an email platform.

Marketo's interface definitely can be difficult to get into, particularly for users migrating from friendlier platforms. For content users the base landing page and email builders are not really usable. Highly recommend investing in some well structured and designed templates with plenty of variables otherwise you'll end up with a wide array of non-standard content.
Read Matt Tonkin's full review
January 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If your business has a full time Marketo specialist and they are committed to staying with your company, this product might be worth it. Otherwise avoid at all costs. Our team of developers and designers had this product dumped on us by a marketing team in the parent company who were soon moved on to other things. Keeping on with this ridiculous system was nothing but trouble. Trying to figure out how to do basic things is a massive time sink. The UI is convoluted and the documentation does little to help. Building a serious API integration is likely to be costly and end up not meeting expectations. We had no positive experiences with Marketo and celebrated when our contract ran out and we were able to move to a sane service.
Read this authenticated review
January 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Marketo has worked well for us to manage our trigger campaigns. By having an MA expert on staff we have been successful coordinating several campaigns all at once while allowing email action trigger additional campaigns
Read this authenticated review
December 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If your organization constantly sends large volumes of emails to a very large database, Marketo is your answer. However, on-boarding of new users and learning all the functions, tricks, settings, etc. will definitely take time and multiple training sessions.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Marketo is perfect for companies with large databases or with high growth, it really is built to scale and is highly customizable and flexible. It does require a dedicated resource to use and implement effectively. It may not look as good as some of its competitors but this means it is much more flexible and the focus is on what you can achieve with Marketo than how it looks.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For industries where customer decision making and buying cycles are longer (weeks or months), Marketo can play a significant role in moving the needle to improve conversion rates and customer lifetime value. Marketo's implementation may take longer depending on your CRM, but once it is implemented, it can be a well-run engine.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (629)
7.1
Dynamic content (601)
7.7
Ability to test dynamic content (585)
7.3
Landing pages (642)
6.7
A/B testing (623)
7.4
Mobile optimization (609)
6.9
Email deliverability reporting (1288)
8.1
List management (665)
8.3
Triggered drip sequences (600)
8.5
Lead nurturing (658)
8.2
Lead scoring and grading (636)
8.3
Data quality management (633)
7.9
Automated sales alerts and tasks (610)
8.0
Calendaring (495)
6.4
Event/webinar marketing (589)
7.8
Social sharing and campaigns (373)
6.1
Social profile integration (350)
6.2
Dashboards (619)
6.6
Standard reports (657)
6.8
Custom reports (623)
6.9
API (565)
8.2
Role-based workflow & approvals (488)
7.9
Customizability (592)
7.7
Integration with Salesforce.com (567)
8.2
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (169)
6.8
Integration with SugarCRM (106)
6.0

What is Marketo?

Marketo Engage aims to help marketing teams drive demand and growth in their companies by delivering exceptional experiences in concert with sales at every stage of the customer journey.

The challenge these teams face is that everyone today expects a personalized experience whenever they interact with a company - they don’t have patience for generic marketing and the last thing they want is a cold call from sales. So to stay competitive, marketing teams are scrambling to understand customers better, so they can give them a better experience, because this is disrupting entire industries. And a big part of what’s needed is figuring out how marketing and sales can do a better job together.

The vendor states Marketo Engage redefines Marketing Automation by helping these companies bring together the customer data, content, automation and analytics needed for marketing and sales to coordinate engagement with customers that’s personalized and measurable at every touchpoint - and do it with efficiency and scale.

Marketo Screenshots

Marketo Video

Marketo Downloadables

Marketo Integrations

Marketo Competitors

Marketo Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Marketo Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Marketo Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS