BambooHR Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
109 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 28)

Kendra Zondervan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Great All in One Software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is used across our organization for onboarding, as well as facilitating employee records, reviews, time-off management, document management, pay stubs, and payroll processing.
  • User friendly
  • Great Mobil App
  • Payroll Processing is an add on, and that has issues.
  • It cannot split multi-department roles for employees who hold dual roles with different department classifications.
  • Bamboo HR is great for mid-sized companies who want to eliminate paper and utilize electronic document management, handbook roll-outs, tax forms, etc. Also great for performance reviews, and peer feedback with customizable questions and data analysis. Onboarding is a great user experience and allows HR administrative staff to complete almost all necessary documentation without requiring direct meetings with the new hire.
  • As the Payroll Processing feature is an add on there are some issues with the intuitiveness of payroll processing; therefore, it still requires a fairly manual overview. Also, there are account reps that have to push the payroll itself through after the company has submitted it. If there are changes in job classification, deductions, etc. what is updated on the bamboo HR side does not always cross over to the Payroll side, which is why a thorough review is required every payroll processing cycle.
Read Kendra Zondervan's full review
Jay Dalton | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

BambooHR and you !

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR in a lot of ways. One way is that it is our “feeder” program. Once the staff is loaded into the system, it auto-creates profiles in Humanity for scheduling and payroll functions such as clocking in and out, and it will create a user profile in our LMS. We also request time off through BambooHR and approve time off. We also track performance development through BambooHR. We a visible folder to supervisors that shows PIP’s, Employee Warnings, Reviews, and Termination forms.
  • Inter grating with other software.
  • Organized, You set up lots of folders with different permissions. You can house everything from onboarding forms to bonus reports.
  • Permissions need more levels. Some of them do not allow all the things you need people to see while restricting other items. Example- you can’t see vacation time allowed without seeing Payroll and salary dollars.
  • The app is horrible. Push alerts never work and it kicks you out all the time.
If you are Inter grating with several SalesForce systems, this a great feeder program. We onboard staff from Workable into BambooHR, and it auto creates both Humanity and Lessonly LMS Accounts. When an associate leaves, we deactivate them in BambooHR, and it will deactivate those accounts as well. BambooHR would be better if it had some of the functions of a Humanity and allowed shift planning and time in and out options.
Read Jay Dalton's full review
Zack Uzzle, ITIL, ATD Master Trainer | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

BambooHR makes HR administration mostly painless.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR as our human resource information system for the entire company. It serves as a home base for all of our employee information as well as a document repository for HR-related content. We use the Trax payroll integration for payroll administration and the BambooHR API to integrate with our LCMS (Lessonly). We also use the performance review and goals functions.
  • Organization directory / chart
  • Performance reviews
  • The reporting function is cumbersome and doesn't allow for much flexibility in terms of role permissions.
  • The file viewer window is pretty small, much easier to download the file for offline viewing.
  • BambooHR does well in cataloging and managing employee information. From the user side, the UI / UX is polished and user-friendly. The tab structure makes it easy to find the information you're looking for, and the ability to integrate with other HR-related platforms is excellent.
  • From the admin side, my only gripes are the reporting function being a little difficult to get only the information you want, but it is possible with the proper know-how.
Read Zack Uzzle, ITIL, ATD Master Trainer's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

BambooHR is HUGE

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR for everything HR-related... time off request, sick days, company holiday scheduled, onboarding information, benefit guides, company policies, etc. It also announces company new hires, work anniversaries, birthdays, etc.
  • Time off requests.
  • New hire onboarding information.
  • We have unlimited PTO but it still don't understand why it will say you're OOO over the weekends.
  • Mobile app is decent.
I think it's appropriate for companies that have remote offices and are growing quickly. An easy way for information to be shared across all offices.

Not sure it's necessary for small teams but if it's in the budget, I'd recommend it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Easy to use for employees!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is used across the organization for onboarding, employee reviews and all things HR management like signing important documents, updates/notices, etc.
  • Onboarding checklist - really easy to use
  • Quick links to important documents
  • Honestly nothing - it’s so easy as an end user.
BambooHR has worked particularly well for our small / all-remote company. The onboarding in particular is laid out in a really clear and easy-to-use way. Having used other HR Systems in my past, I greatly prefer BambooHR.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Effective HR data management tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR to track vacation days/sick days, all paperwork associated to the job, employee directories, etc. It is convenient because it houses all information in one place.
  • Directory of all employees - I like that you can search by name or view the department hierarchy.
  • Holds important documentation for me in one place.
  • The birthdays/work anniversary feature is fun.
  • It can be a little confusing to find specific pages within my profile.
I have nothing to compare BambooHR to in terms of other HR platforms. It's not flashy, it's just efficient and effective at what it is.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

Great appearance, but diminishing returns for growing companies

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize BambooHR as our primary HRIS across our entire company, which spans nationwide and across multiple countries. BambooHR handles our on-boarding, record keeping, PTO tracking, and off-boarding. Additionally, we use BambooHR to retrieve signatures from employees when we roll out new policies or procedures and store these documents in personnel files.
  • BambooHR has a slick interface.
  • Great social features such as automatically announcing new hires to the organization.
  • On-boarding and off-boarding checklists make organizing tasks a breeze.
  • Basic data set with few dynamic fields (i.e., it's difficult to build complex data).
  • Limited payroll integrations (no integration with ADP).
  • Integrated solutions (such as performance reviews) aren't nearly as robust as you'll find elsewhere.
BambooHR is well suited for smaller companies that require a system of record that looks great and introduces some basic automation. Companies may begin to experience some growing pains with BambooHR as their company grows, and complexities are introduced that the system won't readily be able to handle.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

BambooHR is great: easy to use, cloud native, intuitive

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is being used across the entire organization to help manage PTO, give a centralized directory of employees, and organize departments. It's especially helpful in keeping employees in contact with each other. Personally, I like his way it is to use. Very simple to log in and see how much PTO you have remaining.
  • Organize people: easy to pull cell phone numbers to reach your colleagues outside of work.
  • Manage PTO/all time off: intuitive interface.
  • Integrates with our SSO: easy to manage the application.
  • Could use more in-app training of features to take advantage of.
  • Easier dashboard for daily consumption.
  • More integrations with apps I'm already using. I.E. Google Calendar
I feel that Bamboo HR is well suited for start-up environments where employees are changing/ being added at a rapid pace. May be less appropriate for massive organizations where there needs to be a lot of customization done within the platform. Overall, I feel the majority of companies could benefit, however.
Read this authenticated review
Hayden Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2019

Bamboo HR made my life so much easier at a new company.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bamboo HR is primarily used by our recruiting and HR teams, but all of us have access to it. It is very helpful when trying to find a phone number for a co-worker who isn't in the office or monitoring Slack (etc). I also love that you can get more information such as addresses, departments, and more in the tool as well.
  • Organization and UX is a huge plus.
  • The experience is simple and fast.
  • The website/app is easy to navigate and use for all sorts of things at work.
  • I think that better trainings would be great.
  • It would always be nice to have awareness raised for specific use-cases in each given department.
  • Integrations with other tools would be awesome as well.
It is well-suited for medium to large sized companies who need to keep benefits, data, employee info, and more all in one safe and clean place. It may be less appropriate for teams that don't need this sort of data on a daily basis. It is definitely an "internal-use only" tool from what I can tell.
Read Hayden Anderson's full review
Richard Gichangi | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2019

The software for small and mid-sized organizations in managing their workforce

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is human capital management software that is designed for use in small and medium organizations to support them in managing their employees in an efficient manner. It's a software that we use in our company to manage our employees, and it has helped us in great detail to manage our employees, keep them motivated, and administer their benefits on time-- as well as helping in other HR functions.
  • The software keeps the employee's details and employment history safely in a secure database, therefore assuring their confidentiality
  • Helps our company hire the right talent and employees through its applicant tracking system
  • Manages and submits our payroll on time ensuring that the employees dues and benefits and processed on time
  • It's an online solution and it's affected by poor internet connections.
  • Does not integrate much with other third-party business software
BambooHR is suited in all functions and processes of human resource management, from hiring, tracking attendance and absenteeism, payroll management, and employee onboarding among others. It may fluctuate in some functions and appear not suited but it's accurate, and the fact that it's accessible even from a mobile device makes it reliable and versatile to use.
Read Richard Gichangi's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Simple, clean, employee-friendly HR software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is our HR software. We use it to manage human resources information across the entire company. Employees can use BambooHR to request time off, look up other employees' titles / managers / roles, see new hires, view company-wide announcements, and see who is on vacation that day. It allows employees to get insightful information about their colleagues instantly. Employees can also see an overview of their own job and information: hire date, benefits, documents, travel info, and more. This is helpful to HR as they plan events, arrange travel, etc.
  • Helpful homepage that includes lots of useful information at a glance. I especially like the "Who's Out" section which shows photos of all the employees not in the office. Because we are a global company with lots of offices in different time zones, it's essential to know who's on vacation for communication purposes.
  • The interface is very user friendly. The functionality felt intuitive the first time I used it: I instantly knew how to request time off, look up other employees, etc.
  • The employee directory is very useful. It displays everyone's title, photo, LinkedIn, contact info, etc. It's easy to search by name, title, department, etc. and to create custom filters.
  • I receive lots of BambooHR email notifications announcing new hires. I'd like to reduce the volume of these, or have them combined into a single email (our new employees always start in batches at the start of every month). However, I can't see a way to opt out or disable these notifications as a user.
  • When I initially onboarded and filled out my employee information, the phone number field was uneditable. Not sure if this was a glitch, but I ended up having to contact my company's HR and have them manually add my number for me on their end.
  • I almost never use the "Files" section of BambooHR -- the documents don't seem to be grouped or organized in an easy-to-follow way. Our company uses a different platform to host our wikis, department info, etc.
BambooHR is a wonderful tool for medium sized companies with lots of employees. It offers a very smooth onboarding process for new hires, even before their first day of work, and will reduce the need for copious printed onboarding materials. The ability to look up other employees' information, managers, team info, etc. at any time after onboarding is extremely valuable.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2019

We love our HR suite

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While working at my current organization, as the company size grew and we started hiring more contractors from different regions, we needed a Human Resources Management system to better handle our growing needs. For a mid-size enterprise, we decided to purchase BambooHR since it's a cloud-based HRIS system that offers us the flexibility that we needed. It is used by our HR personnel to process payroll, compensation, and new applicant hiring process as well.
  • The user interface for the software is simple and intuitive. They release new updates frequently, which makes the app even better.
  • The applicant tracking module has some really nice features. Hiring managers can set up workflows to automate tasks.
  • The software does not provide a good integration path from other tools. We had difficulty migrating our employee data over from Workday.
  • Customization can be a challenge as well, and we have to reach out to the support team to help us out on that front.
This software is very flexible and comes with lots of add on modules that can be used as needed. Some of the modules we frequently use are: Employee self-service, the HR reporting tools with notifications and alerts, and the applicant tracking system for recruiting purposes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2019

Good Basic HR system for employee and recruitment tracking.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is our talent management tool for recruiting and for employee management. The whole organization used it to maintain their personal profile as well as see members of the company and organizational charts. It was really a employee directory across our 4 regions and all departments were represented.
  • Online organizational chart
  • Compensation historical tracking
  • Recruiting tool for applicant tracking
  • We did not have it integrated to our ADP payroll system so historical compensation tracking was prone to manual entry error
  • Printing or exporting of the Visual org chart was clunky. Would be so useful if could export a full image clearly to use in PPT deck
  • When tracking interviewing feedback, could not open the job posting to all collaborator without showing salary information. There should be profile option to have interviewers who can enter comments, without seeing salary details of post
BambooHR is a good basic HR system as a stand-alone for employee tracking and recruiting. It needs more integrations to be truly enterprise-level scale.
Read this authenticated review
Sonny Spencer, ACA | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2018

Outstanding UI and Flexibility from BambooHR!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is a flexible HRMS that the business uses to manage employee on-boarding, off-boarding, PTO, etc.

Its excellent reporting module and great UI make for a great experience. Having never used BambooHR before and not receiving any official training, I found it very simple to use and navigate.
  • Intuitive and user friendly UI. They really did a great job with this.
  • Great reporting module. Good set of base reports and ability to easily customize and create your own.
  • Great on-boarding experience. Simplified our workflow and helped automate the process.
  • I found the playform not so intuitive when it came to customizing user role permissions. Again, I had no formal training, so I suspect this is more user inexperience vs a system issue.
  • Very minor, but to access the main company calendar you have to hover over a particular section of the homepage. Employees would often struggle to find this.
  • I honestly cannot think of anything else. It really is a well thought out and designed platform.
I would definitely recommend for smaller companies looking for a SaaS HRMS. It’s cost effective and flexible offering makes it ideal for smaller companies.

I would also recommend for larger companies too - role permissions, workflows, etc. can all be set and managed at a global level. Speaking of which, this system is also suitable for a global company as it allows for differentiation between locations for reporting, work calendars, on-boarding, etc.
Read Sonny Spencer, ACA's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2018

The Unsearchable HR Recruiting Software

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used BambooHR for a HR consulting agency supporting Pharmaceutical Clients who also use BambooHR.
  • Clean, simple, nice looking, easy-to-use interface.
  • Very intuitive. As a user, it's nice to be able to jump in and use immediately. Requires zero training.
  • Minimal clicks to get where you want to go and what you want.
  • Responsive, friendly, and helpful customer service.
  • NO SEARCHABLE CANDIDATE DATABASE!!! What kind of ATS system doesn't have ability to search all candidates in a database? No search, no boolean, no semantic capability, no ability to directly import candidates from any external job boards, LinkedIn, Indeed, etc. This should be what all good ATS's do.
  • Good for HR and handling all administrative functions of recruiters, but really poor capability for sourcers and recruiters.
Appropriate for small HR departments who are looking to automate workflow.

Less appropriate for recruiting firms, staffing agencies, and any HR departments who are serious about having their own in-house talent acquisition or recruiting team.
Read this authenticated review
Mary Racter | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2018

Great tool for digitizing HR processes

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR has been used to automate HR department tasks such as leave approvals, benefits, loans, and tracking of personal goals for our SME. Previously the above tasks were manually administered, but as the team grew, it was no longer feasible for a small HR team to manually manage certain tasks.
  • Good self-service interface for requesting time off
  • Good centralised employee contact directory and organisational structure management
  • Simple, easy-to-use interface for employees
  • Better integration with project management and finance tracking tools so that leave days and travel expenses do not need to be entered into the system twice
  • Performance tracking interface seems too simple to be effective, but this could be a customisation issue
BambooHR has worked well for our small-to-medium, non-profit organization.
Read Mary Racter's full review
Raphaele Pelaez, SHRM-SCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2017

BambooHR is an onboarding dream

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bamboo for on-boarding activities, to streamline paperwork, and to manage tracking vital employee information. We are able to run reports on a daily basis for Vets, EEO, ACA, and other demographic info we need. We also like the feature of being able to send a form out company wide and gather all of the signed forms in one place.
  • The ability to create and send a fillable PDF form is critical to us, we use it daily.
  • We like the ability to be able to add new fields to track info that is important to our company, such as security clearances, or certification an employee holds.
  • This system has made onboarding paperwork a dream.
  • When we use a form that is sent to all employees, we then must print each one individually, there is no ability to select ALL of them and hit print all.
It makes onboarding easy, new hires like the ease and convenience of it, and all your paperwork is stored in one place.
Read Raphaele Pelaez, SHRM-SCP's full review
Andy Lutz | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2017

Know your people with BambooHR!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used to welcome new employees to Segment, to track vacation days, birthdays, work anniversaries, org charts, directories, company benefit files, tax information, address and personal info, start dates, equity info, etc.
  • Tracks vacation.
  • Provides bios for new employees.
  • Provides access to important docs.
  • The user experience on expanding the org chart.
  • Linking up with Lesson.ly on training.
  • Mobile experience.
BambooHR is a great piece of software, I'd really recommend it after using it for the past two years. It's great for a small-ish company size (we've scaled from 70 to 190 since I joined and it's been ideal).

It's not the best tool for onboarding.
Read Andy Lutz's full review
Emilee Rank | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2016

A happy Bamboo-er!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR as our HRIS to manage all employees, salaries, job changes and update. We also use BambooHR as our platform of all our onboarding needs. BambooHR is the platform we us to manage all aspects of the employee life cycle and track all of our employees' vacation, sick and personal days.
  • Bamboo has excellent reporting. Along with custom reports that I can run, Bamboo provides a list of standard reports that are extremely helpful.
  • Bamboo's interface is so user-friendly. It makes it fun to work within the platform!
  • I like the automated onboarding task list items. They make it easy to notify everyone of new hires.
  • You are unable to view the Get to Know You emails before they are sent out to all employees - to me this is a huge oversight because you definitely need to be able to view and make sure that the answers are appropriate before they send out.
  • Task list items are only for onboarding and offboarding - which limits the usability. I wish I could create tasks for anyone at anytime or have separate lists for things other than onboarding and offboarding.
  • Customer support is nice but they have gotten more lax with answers. Instead of helping with solutions they often just answer with a simple "no, you can't do that" when I would prefer to be given some ideas of a work around or solution to the issue.
Bamboo is an excellent HRIS system. We use it for tracking vacation, sick days, and personal days. Bamboo is also well suited to keep track of all employee personal information, such as phone number, addresses, social security and birth dates. Bamboo has a wonderful org chart that we use to share with our employees so they are able to view the breakdown of departments.
Read Emilee Rank's full review
Alayna Tomasone | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2016

BambooHR is Great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR to automate onboarding and termination processes which eliminates the administrative burden and paperwork. It is used to keep track of employee personal information and to keep track of PTO hours. The HR team uses BambooHR the most and some supervisors [use it too]. The supervisors use it if their employees request to use PTO and they have to approve it. It helps a lot with keeping track of employee information, and sending signature requests. It really helps automate a lot of our processes.
  • Onboarding new employees. It makes the new hire process very simple. You just add in their information about their job and contact. It then automatically sends them a link to register on BambooHR and to fill out the needed documents.
  • Requesting signatures. If there is a time when an employee moves to a new state, you need to ask them to fill out a new tax form. To make that process easier, we use BambooHR to request that signature and you receive that document quicker rather than trying to email and call them. It saves a lot of time.
  • It is user friendly. Employees understand how to navigate their account and the electronic signatures are very straightforward.
  • Adding reports. I have been asked a couple times to generate customized reports via BambooHR. It is a little confusing to select what kind of information that I would like to be added to the report. We have standard reports that we can easily access but when it comes to creating a new report, it can be made a little easier.
BambooHR is well suited for new hire and termination processes and keeping track of updated employee information. It is not well suited for keeping track of benefits and payroll.
Read Alayna Tomasone's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2018

BambooHR is a good HR hub

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this to keep track of employee contact information, to store all HR related documents and links, to help with benefits packages and to manage certain HR workflows. It is used in the entire organization and can be seen as the HR hub. It always shows the org chart and gives great insight into who is doing what.
  • Easy to use
  • Great org chart feature
  • Great iPhone app to find a phone number quick
  • Some links are hard to find
  • iPhone app features are light
  • Cleaner document storage
This software works great to manage HR in a growing organization. The org chart is always nice especially for a quickly growing organization so you can keep up with new people, moves, and changes. At the entry level security access, the application is very limited in functionality and it gets more useful as you gain more responsibility.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 20, 2017

BambooHR- the best HRIS out there!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bamboo HR is currently being utilized by my entire organization. We use it for all things related to time off, vacation/personal days, overall employee information and company announcements. The business problem that Bamboo HR helps solve is that since it is so easy to use, it cuts down on the amount of time employees have to contact HR for requests.
  • Requesting time off- it is as easy as a click of one button to request time off within the system. It is easy to follow and syncs up with your calendar so not only you, but the rest of the company knows when people are out of the office and for what reason
  • Storing and organizing your personal employment information- It is very simple to find your employee information under the My Info tab. You can see the exact dates of promotions, job title changes, salary changes, etc. Makes it very simple to keep track of your records.
  • Storing important documents- you can easily upload specific company documents in a secure folder, where your employees can access them whenever they need to. It serves as a centralized location to store relevant information as opposed to having the documents stored in a random, unprotected folder. Very easy to navigate and find the relevant information.
  • It is pretty simplistic. I would like to see it have a little more functionality with deeper reporting capabilities. The features are a bit limited.
  • Lack of customization. It doesn't allow for you to move things around to highlight the areas that are most important to your organization. The layout is very straight forward but I would like the ability to change things around and make it more visually appealing to my end users.
Bamboo HR does a really good job at the things that it is supposed to do. As a standard HRIS it is very clean, modern and intuitive. It is great for a small/mid sized company that doesn't need a ton of bells and whistles but just needs a system of record. It may be less appropriate for larger organizations who need very detailed reporting and analytics to pull from.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2017

BambooHR - HR software of choice for a growing small businesses.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now, BambooHR is used in a variety of different ways. Our HR team uses it for onboarding new employees, in which every new hire creates a profile and the rest of the organization receives a notification about the employee. For the rest of the company, this is our centralized platform where we request time off, pull information about our role, how long we've been at the company, our salary, and electronic signatures we've completed in the past.
  • User-friendly Platform
  • Robust tracking
  • Rich database and records
  • Email notifications are strictly in Bamboo branding
  • Not a great resource for managing training
  • Cannot customize fields
Well suited: A scenario in which Bamboo is well suited is when a growing company recently implements a time-off/vacation policy. In the past, at my company, we were manually tracking this activity through spreadsheets and most of the data would either get muddied or lost. Bamboo allows smaller HR teams to focus on more important items like recruiting rather than worrying about tedious tasks like tracking vacation.

Less suited: An enterprise organization with over 1000 employees may require more robust features, but Bamboo focuses on smaller companies and isn't targeted towards these larger companies anyway.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2017

A very usable HRIS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR as a central repository of our HR information and processes, from compensation reviews, to time off scheduling, to tracking of training, etc. We're not yet using it for tracking of benefits because that's tracked by our payroll system, but it's in our pipeline to at least have it synchronized with BambooHR.
  • Usability is great
  • Customer service is very responsive
  • Has a nice set of features that serve different HR functions
  • The ATS is rather basic, works if you're hiring a couple of positions per month, but if you're hiring intensively, you might want to upgrade it to something else, using one of the plugins.
  • Has some good default reports and allows you to create your own, but there are still things that you can're report on, or you need to export as an XLS and work there, to create more meaningful reports.
  • The OrgChart generator is a nice thought, but it's not suitable for large teams, and if you need to show all your team, all you can do is zoom out until it's unreadable.
Works well for smaller companies with limited needs and less ties to existing applications. Once you pass the barrier of 150 - you probably start to experience some of the limitations. Or if you have to integrate with other tools, it can be done through the API, but requires you to do your own development.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2017

Bamboo HR is perfect for start ups and smaller orgs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bamboo HR is our HRIS system for our global organization. We store personnel records there, use it to track employee onboarding and off-boarding tasks, PTO accrual, requests and approvals and as our organization directory. For US employees we also use it for benefits tracking.
  • Task lists are very helpful to assign responsibilities to a variety of users and track progress on employee onboarding activities.
  • For a small start up like us, the file storage with customizable controlled user access provided us with an easy solution for employee manuals, forms, performance review, etc.
  • Employees can easily request and approve (where applicable) time off from the mobile app.
  • The interface is very user-friendly and we've had virtually no questions, but when we do the customer service is superb.
  • We'd love to see integration with our accounting system for PTO accruals and payroll.
  • We have employees in locations outside the US so some areas of the system (benefits module for example) are too US specific preventing us from utilizing the full functionality globally.
  • Would love to be able to export the org chart!
It's very appropriate for small to middle size companies. It also has served us well with employees in multiple geographies/multiple currencies/multiple PTO accrual policies and holiday schedules. The fact that all employees can access the full organization across geographies has been very helpful. I can imagine that it's not as appropriate for large organizations that need a full-scale PEO and the fact that it doesn't have an API integration with major accounting systems will be challenging as we grow.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (38)
8.0
Employment history (40)
8.3
Job profiles and administration (41)
7.8
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (32)
7.8
Organizational charting (39)
7.6
Organization and location management (34)
8.0
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (21)
7.3
Pay calculation (19)
7.5
Support for external payroll vendors (16)
6.9
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (2)
4.5
Benefit plan administration (25)
7.8
Direct deposit files (22)
8.2
Salary revision and increment management (22)
8.1
Reimbursement management (11)
7.1
Approval workflow (40)
8.9
Balance details (33)
8.7
Annual carry-forward and encashment (31)
8.4
View and generate pay and benefit information (27)
7.6
Update personal information (43)
8.5
View company policy documentation (38)
7.9
Employee recognition (30)
7.9
View job history (41)
8.4
Tracking of all physical assets (18)
7.3
Report builder (32)
7.3
Pre-built reports (32)
7.5
Ability to combine HR data with external data (26)
7.4
New hire portal (33)
8.4
Manager tracking tools (32)
8.1
Corporate goal setting (19)
6.7
Individual goal setting (22)
7.3
Line-of sight-visibility (16)
6.4
Performance tracking (17)
7.1
Performance plans (23)
7.6
Performance improvement plans (22)
7.3
Review status tracking (22)
7.7
Review reminders (24)
7.9
Multiple review frequency (20)
7.0
Create succession plans/pools (13)
7.2
Candidate ranking (15)
6.9
Candidate search (16)
7.5
Candidate development (14)
7.3
Job Requisition Management (17)
7.2
Company Website Posting (19)
7.2
Publish to Social Media (18)
7.1
Job Search Site Posting (18)
7.4
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (16)
7.0
Applicant Tracking (21)
7.4
Notifications and Alerts (23)
7.8

About BambooHR

BambooHR is an on-line human resources solution. Some key features include: Customizable Dashboards and Reports, Automated Time-Off Management, and Employee Self-Service.
Categories:  HR Management

BambooHR Features

Has featureCustomizable Dashboards and Reports
Has featureAutomated Time-Off Management
Has featureEmployee Self-Service
Has featureOpen API
Has featureGlobal Settings for Multi-National Businesses

BambooHR Screenshots

BambooHR Integrations

CATS Applicant Tracking System, JazzHR, NimbleSchedule Unpublished, Cornerstone OnDemand, NetSuite, TraxPayroll.com, BeneTrac, see a full list at http://www.bamboohr.com/partners/

BambooHR Competitors

Sage People, FinancialForce HCM, WebHR, HRMSSoft, Sage, iCIMS, Ultimate UltiPro

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

BambooHR Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

BambooHR Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:BambooHR supports any country worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Dutch, Portuguese, Spanish