Adobe Marketo Engage

Adobe Marketo Engage

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.3 out of 100
Top Rated
Adobe Marketo Engage

Overview

Recent Reviews

WYSIWYG in Marketo

9 out of 10
June 25, 2022
We use it as our primary marketing automation tool in regards to the management of the leads/customers in our database, for all of our …
Continue reading

Marketing

7 out of 10
June 14, 2022
We use it for automatically sending emails to target the company and lead. We create a landing page with a form to track the end-user …
Continue reading

Satisfied Marketo User

8 out of 10
May 29, 2022
We use Marketo for all outbound email marketing campaigns, web forms, webinar event invites and tracking, and web activity tracking. We …
Continue reading

A Marketing Must Have!

8 out of 10
May 09, 2022
Adobe Marketo Engage is used within my current organization to capture and score leads before passing them through to salesforce. Although …
Continue reading

Great software!

9 out of 10
April 29, 2022
We primarily use it for creating and sending out newsletters to create brand awareness. We send the newsletters we create to our customers …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 26 features

Lead nurturing (841)

8.5
85%

List management (855)

8.4
84%

Email deliverability reporting (1469)

7.9
79%

Standard reports (840)

7.5
75%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Adobe Marketo Engage, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Adobe Marketo Engage?

Adobe Marketo Engage (acquired by Adobe in 2018) is a marketing automation platform whose basic features include email marketing, drip nurturing, landing pages, and lead scoring, but other editions offer additional advanced features. Typical customers are B2B firms with complex sales cycles.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optionalOptional

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

43 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is HubSpot Marketing Hub?

HubSpot's Marketing Hub is an all-in-one inbound marketing engine that includes tools for email marketing, landing page creation, social media marketing, content management, reporting & analytics, search engine optimization (SEO), and more.

What is Pardot?

Pardot is a marketing automation platform. Its key features include lead management, lead generation, social selling, and email marketing.

Features Scorecard

Email & Online Marketing

7.8
78%

Lead Management

8.3
83%

Campaign Management

7.7
77%

Social Media Marketing

7.3
73%

Reporting & Analytics

7.2
72%

Platform & Infrastructure

7.9
79%

Product Details

What is Adobe Marketo Engage?

Adobe Marketo Engage, from Adobe since 2018, aims to help marketing teams drive demand and growth in their companies by delivering exceptional experiences in concert with sales at every stage of the customer journey.

The challenge these teams face is that everyone today expects a personalized experience whenever they interact with a company - they don’t have patience for generic marketing and the last thing they want is a cold call from sales. So to stay competitive, marketing teams are scrambling to understand customers better, so they can give them a better experience, because this is disrupting entire industries. And a big part of what’s needed is figuring out how marketing and sales can do a better job together.

The vendor states Adobe Marketo Engage redefines Marketing Automation by helping these companies bring together the customer data, content, automation and analytics needed for marketing and sales to coordinate engagement with customers that’s personalized and measurable at every touchpoint - and do it with efficiency and scale.

Adobe Marketo Engage Features

Email & Online Marketing Features

  • Supported: WYSIWYG email editor
  • Supported: Dynamic content
  • Supported: Ability to test dynamic content
  • Supported: Landing pages
  • Supported: A/B testing
  • Supported: Mobile optimization
  • Supported: Email deliverability reporting
  • Supported: List management
  • Supported: Triggered drip sequences

Lead Management Features

  • Supported: Lead nurturing
  • Supported: Lead scoring and grading
  • Supported: Data quality management
  • Supported: Automated sales alerts and tasks

Campaign Management Features

  • Supported: Calendaring
  • Supported: Event/webinar marketing

Social Media Marketing Features

  • Supported: Social sharing and campaigns

Reporting & Analytics Features

  • Supported: Dashboards
  • Supported: Standard reports
  • Supported: Custom reports

Platform & Infrastructure Features

  • Supported: API
  • Supported: Role-based workflow & approvals
  • Supported: Customizability
  • Supported: Integration with Salesforce.com
  • Supported: Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM
  • Supported: Integration with SugarCRM

Adobe Marketo Engage Screenshots

Marketo Lead Scoring - Marketo dynamically scores your leads in real-time and can trigger a timely sales call based on website or other activity - all integrated with your CRM.Marketo Moments - Stay in touch with your marketing efforts anywhere, anytime with a mobile app designed to deliver timely, actionable insights.Simple or advanced workflows can be built using drag-and-dropPerform sophisticated lead nurturing, without having to be a programmerQuickly understand the revenue influence of each program and channelMarketo Sales Insight filters out the noise, so reps can focus on what matters mostAll areas of the platform can be accessed in one convenient placeSimply enter your login credentials, and the rest is automatic - no need to map fields, etc.

Adobe Marketo Engage Video

Adobe Marketo Engage Downloadables

Adobe Marketo Engage Integrations

Adobe Marketo Engage Competitors

Adobe Marketo Engage Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Adobe Marketo Engage?

Adobe Marketo Engage (acquired by Adobe in 2018) is a marketing automation platform whose basic features include email marketing, drip nurturing, landing pages, and lead scoring, but other editions offer additional advanced features. Typical customers are B2B firms with complex sales cycles.

What is Adobe Marketo Engage's best feature?

Reviewers rate Integration with Salesforce.com highest, with a score of 8.8.

Who uses Adobe Marketo Engage?

The most common users of Adobe Marketo Engage are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 1020)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
June 25, 2022

WYSIWYG in Marketo

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as our primary marketing automation tool in regards to the management of the leads/customers in our database, for all of our emails and hosted webinars, and the production of our forms and landing pages. It is the best tool we have found in regards to our company size and the integrations that it enables.
  • Email production, sending, and testing.
  • Form creation.
  • Lead scoring.
  • Multiple integrations (SFDC, On24, Openprise, etc.)
  • Clunky UX.
  • Bugs and customer service.
  • Analytics dashboards could be built out more.
It's well suited for any asset production, like emails and landing pages. It helps you track a lead's lifecycle and how they interact with your brand from creation all the way to conversion and a little beyond that too (e.g. lead scoring, Bizible, etc.) It no longer tracks email send activity past 90 days, so any long-term tracking in regards to email touchpoints is a no-go. It also is not suitable for any opportunity information or large-scale analysis that pulls in more than leads and contacts.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We primarily stick our net new leads into nurture programs and let them choose their adventure in terms of the messaging that they want to receive. Once a lead exhausts from nurture, the rest of our comms tend to be more batch and blast with newsletters, event invitations, etc.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We previously used Pardot and ran into a lot of issues. It wouldn't allow for full customization and automation and would lead to a lot of redundant work. We needed a MAP that could allow us to scale campaigns as we were growing fairly quickly.
  • Folder management
  • Automations
  • Ease of use
  • Analytics aren't terribly comprehensive and sometimes doesn't load correctly
  • Can't access the HTML of individual emails (only templates)
  • How certain filters and triggers are labeled is very confusing
  • You can't use a keyword search for images unless you are in the correct folder (versus being able to search across ALL image folders)
It's great for marketing teams that are growing. If you determine a strong organizational foundation, then the programs and folders can make your life a million times easier than other MAPs. It is, I think, maybe not necessary (especially at the price point we are paying) for smaller teams.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
At the moment, its primary function is one-off and nurture emails - one-offs are helping us announce product launches to a wide audience (both customers and prospects) while nurtures are warming up net new leads. We've gone through a few iterations of how to set up nurtures so that they are easy to update and send at optimal times, and it's working well to help us hit our MQL goals.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a small enterprise working within the telecommunications industry. As we are a company operating in over 20 countries with a relatively small TAM, we need very targeted marketing to reach our prospects. We use Marketo Engage for mass emails, and events (live online/webinars) and integrate it with programs such as Salesforce Marketing Cloud and Komiko (owned by ZoomInfo).
  • Great integration with Salesforce CRM
  • The ability to clone campaigns quickly
  • Dynamic content is a great feature to personalise content for different segments.
  • The use of tokens to simplify processes
  • Poor form builder - very clunky.
  • Poor landing page builder - very unintuitive.
  • Can be slow at times (especially when you have lots of smart lists).
  • Very limited reporting and analytics - needs feature updates.
  • Revenue Explorer loads as slowly as if I was using dial-up.
Marketo can work well if you have a dedicated person to work on your instance. I would not recommend it to small businesses because of the time and effort required to learn how to use it for your specific company needs and goals. Once you get the hang of it, Marketo has many functionalities, which can be tailored to your company/industry/audience, however, it is very clunky with an outdated UI and time-consuming to fix any bugs.
  • Upsell
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Lead generation and raising product awareness (PR/thought leadership emails) with new prospects is our primary use for Marketo. We try to limit the number of users in our instance and sales do not directly use Marketo, due to its complexity and risk of ruining our company's best practices on how we use it for our business. We occasionally use it for internal initiatives, such as collecting data for business cards and company gifts, but the time it takes to set up, is often longer than if we were to do it manually/with other tools.
Rohit Barhe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Generally, I use Marketo for building & maintaining Email, Events, Nurture programs & CRM activities. It is one of the best Marketing Automation platforms that I have ever used. Marketo's integration with Salesforce is very seamless and that makes it stand out from other MA tools.
  • Building Smart Lists / Segments
  • Flow Actions
  • Smart campaigns are efficient and very helpful in operating critical tasks
  • Reporting
  • Lead Management
  • Reporting can be improved.
  • While editing columns under view people, there should be an option in the pop-up to rearrange the columns according to user needs.
Pros: Marketo is a good fit for anyone who uses Salesforce as CRM. Without any second thought just go for it. Remember Marketo is a powerhouse and a very powerful tool. You can customize it according to your business needs.

Cons: Sometimes while applying for complex login, it becomes slow and needs to be refreshed. Good that they have an auto-save feature.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Prospecting / New Business
Marketo is a great B2B marketing platform. It is the best suite for the business Demand generation process. making your of Marketo's Nurture program you can plan out a complete year's marketing funnel and spread more awareness about your brand or business. Marketo's various capabilities help us target leads across multi-channel networks.
June 14, 2022

Marketing

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for automatically sending emails to target the company and lead. We create a landing page with a form to track the end-user experience and determine how interested they are with our products. We also created a nuture campaign to share resources with the company and lead. We also create webinars with Marketo and On24.
  • I like the automatic email send-out function. And after the email is out, you can track which link people click on.
  • I like the form tracking feature too. It's really useful to have a hidden field on the form, so that we can use it to track different lead backgrounds.
  • I also like the report feature, it has a lot of different types of reports to show us which work and which do not.
  • For the subscription on the report, there is always errors in it. The people we put in for subscription always complain that they have not received any reports in their email. We have contacted the customer service to find out why. It is because the report is too big and the back end only has limited time to process the reports.
Marketo, in general, is really useful and easy to use when we are trying out different marketing ideas. Basically, if you can dream it, you can do it in the program.
  • Product Launches
  • Cross-Sell
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
We are more using Marketo for nurturing customers by creating a webinar page, a resource page, and sending out a marketing email.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My overall experience with Marketo Marketing Automation is satisfactory. I am using it daily for various marketing operations for different team members and I found this platform very helpful and amazing. Marketo is a robust platform for content creation that is tailored for some really great marketing experiences. The dashboards and reports features are amazing and this is the best thing about this tool.
  • Marketo customer support team is super responsive and always ready to help.
  • Marketo's simple and easy user interface is amazing and very easy to use.
  • Amazing dashboards and reports features are very informatics.
  • Whatever you can think of in terms of marketing automation, lead management and email marketing, chances are Marketo can do it.
  • There is a significant rampup and onboarding period, the tool is designed for a more technical user, which can cause some frustrations and leads to a learning curve.
The way the system is structured really clicked with my way of thinking, and some of the capabilities and flexibility felt like something that would scale far more easily with our organization's growth and future plans. Having an understanding of what your prospect is most interested in, creates a much more effective first conversation, rather than attempting to connect cold. Overall, Marketo has been a crucial part of our sales processes.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adobe Marketo Engage on a daily basis at our company. The integrations Adobe Marketo Engage has helps connect our entire MarTech stack. The lead scoring and other automation features help our sales team prioritize leads. The email platform is robust, but does have some technical challenges associated with it. The email side of the product has had few feature upgrades/improvements compared to other ESPs over the years.
  • Personalization & Segmentation
  • Marketing Automation
  • Email Metrics & Reporting
  • Not a lot of changes and upgrades to the platform
Adobe Marketo Engage is great for organizations look for a broad platform that allows you to manage leads, send emails, personalize, and more. It is a great tool to integrate the entire MarTech stack because it integrates with several products. If you're solely looking for an ESP, other platforms offer more features and are more user-friendly compared to Adobe Marketo Engage. Despite the lack of innovation in the ESP, Adobe Marketo Engage offers great analytics and segmentation to improve your email performance.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Other
We use Adobe Marketo Engage to identify audiences that would be best suited to receive our email blasts. When there are new product launches, cross-sell or upsell opportunities, new blogs, or breaking intel, we use Adobe Marketo Engage to segment our database and send an email. Marketo is used for lead management to identify prospects who are marketable and would be interested in the information in our email.
Juliana Leary | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I primarily use Marketo for building nurture programs, event programs, and email batch programs. I've used Marketo and their competitors and I have to say I prefer the logic in Marketo. It makes more sense to me when setting up smart lists, smart campaigns, and reporting, and easy to show people who are not as well versed in the platform to self-serve reports if needed. We've been able to target segments created within our database to lighten the load of emails we need to prepare using dynamic content.
  • Segmentation.
  • Reporting.
  • Dynamic content.
  • Un-approving things can be confusing.
  • Editing can be weird if not done in the CSS.
Definitely great for enterprise companies that are looking to amp up their email marketing with large volumes of lists. Great for html based emails and automated sales enablement. It's great to integrate with salesforce (can't speak to other CRM platforms) and usually has the option to integrate with most of our tech stack, since it is a leader in the industry.
  • Product Launches
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
With product launches we are looking to inform/engage our existing customer base, reengage our lapsed customer base and appeal to our prospecting list. When it comes to prospecting we measure success on email engagement and lead conversion. Marketo is great for pulling reports for converted leads, especially for marketers who may not be as savvy in SFDC or CRM reporting.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I implement lead management programs, demand gen and lead gen campaigns. I work as an admin within my company and also implement and consult on best working practices for other companies.
  • I think the structure and overall usability of smart campaign are very good
  • I am a big fan of the new experience look, feel and layout
  • I am a fan of the structure for forms. Having used Pardot and MC these are a good and welcome relief.
  • Having a functionality for forms that is similar to a snippet with regards to the approval process would be a massive help.
  • Increasing the number of custom program member fields would be great.
  • Fixing the "saving" bug when working within smart lists
  • Potentially some form of drag and drop or canvas area for when creating engagement programs. This could be very helpful especially when the nurture is quite complex.
I work with Hubspot, Pardot and Salesforce Marketing Cloud, all of which have their merits and drawback. However, I by far and large prefer working in Adobe Marketo Engage and recommend it due to the fact that it can be a powerful tool when used correctly. Also, it's quite nice to work within it when you get used to its quirks.
  • Product Launches
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo for all outbound email marketing campaigns, web forms, webinar event invites and tracking, and web activity tracking. We also use it to build our marketing database and create lists of customers for segmenting marketing campaigns and for export to use in external calling and outreach campaigns with our dedicated business development team.
  • Email creation and program management.
  • Web activity tracking.
  • Email and content creation tools and warehousing.
  • Ability to drill down on reports is non-existent.
  • Lots of bugs in email editor.
  • Organization of programs and folders is cumbersome.
Marketo is well suited as a medium-level email marketing tool where you need to get basic emails out using their templates or customizable modules. Trying to use complex graphics and custom templates can cause issues in my experience. Tracking web activity is fine but could use some work with being able to drill down on reports, and easing the visibility of web activity metrics for specific accounts or contacts.
  • Product Launches
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We use Marketo to send information to our customers and prospects regarding the services we offer, new tools we develop to save time and resources and communicate case studies to make customers consider alternative ways of handling the complex jobs we deal with. Marketo is effective at helping us communicate these objectives and get us visibility into how that outreach is being received by customers.
Oyo Examol | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adobe Marketo Engage has helped us improving overall customer retention and engagement. As an e-commerce brand we should use dynamic content to target our audiences. Marketo Engage is the best platform when it comes to using dynamic content. With Dynamic content we can show user what is most relevant to them.
  • Account Based Marketing
  • Analytics
  • Engagement
  • User Interface
  • Pricing
  • Spam checker
We are using Marketo Engage to engage our user and sell our products. Marketo helps us to understand users buying behavior with its advance analytics and helps us to target using personalized and dynamic content. One of the best feature of Marketo Engage is creating user segmentation. Retargeting and user engagement are made easier due to it.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
The great thing about Marketo is that it allows us to automate all marketing communication. Based on the class and the target examination of each student, we create multiple user journey and segments. Marketo Engage creates the program without any error and the campaigns are executed efficiently.
Bruno Mostafa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adobe Marketo Engage has been boosting our sales and marketing strategies. This is a very easy to use platform, that has a very User Friendly Interface that is easy to navigate and customize according to how we want.
I love the capabilities of giving us marketers the complete tool kit which enables us to deliver winning lead-based and account-based marketing, from acquisition to advocacy.
  • Easily build and automate marketing campaigns.
  • Delivers personalized user experience with active listening and triggered content.
  • Boost engagement and growth with marketing automation.
  • Adobe Marketo Engage is a very powerful and innovative tool that has really transformed our organization by boosting engagement and growth with marketing automation. For my experience I have not encountered any negative experience.
Adobe Marketo Engage gives us the complete and ability tool kit to deliver winning lead-based and account-based marketing strategies. It uses in-depth profiles, real-time behavioral and demographic data, and the power of AI to personalized web experience, landing pages, emails and many more. The consistency of this tool is something that I highly appreciate so much and has boosted marketing and growth of our company.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
Adobe Marketo Engage gives our marketing and sales team the ability to create more coordinated journeys with tools like Sales Connect, which run marketing data right into our CRM for effective marketing strategies and enhanced sales experience.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adobe Marketo Engage is used within my current organization to capture and score leads before passing them through to salesforce. Although our marketing operations team is the main owner of the application, it is a lifesaver for tracking leads and their behavior and acts as a central place of truth. I highly recommend Adobe Marketo Engage to my colleagues running demand generation campaigns at other companies!
  • Great for lead scoring
  • Advanced integration with salesforce
  • Central place of truth for lead tracking
  • Not as intuitive as other competitors
  • Can be confusing if you’re not properly trained
Adobe Marketo Engage is highly recommended for marketing teams running any level of demand generation programs. It allows you to see what behaviors your leads took and how they were captured. It’s also great for running email and retargeting campaigns. The marketing operations team at my company heavily utilizes the lead scoring feature, which allows the sales team to prioritize higher qualified leads.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Our main goal with using Adobe Marketo Engage is to increase net new leads that convert into product sales (revenue). As a month-to-month SaaS organization, we track MRR more heavily than ARR. The focus is to increase MRR and this is accomplished by tracking lead behavior and scoring them appropriately through Adobe Marketo Engage.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Adobe Marketo Engage to connect with individuals in the trucking industry who have different job titles, experience levels, and organization functions at a variety of types of transportation organizations. The tools allows us to use Account Based Marketing methods to connect with these individuals by creating audiences, reaching them through the appropriate channels, and designing a more customized touchpoint instead of a blast email campaign.
  • AI Driven Audiences
  • Personalized Touch points
  • Campaign Cloning
  • Account Based Marketing
  • The user interface of Adobe Marketo Engage has room for improvement to make the tool easier to use and understand.
  • Compared to tools like HubSpot, Marketo requires much more training and is less intuitive.
Adobe Marketo Engage is well suited for creating consistent messaging for audiences you create in the system. Then, you can deliver the messaging consistently through personalized touch points using the technology. If you find a campaign works well, you can clone it across similar audiences as well, which is a huge time saver. The tool is less suited as a fully functional CRM system. Integrations to CRMs are available and viewing full lead journeys through the CRM is more appropriate in my opinion.
  • Lead Management
Using the Lead Management tool in Adobe Marketo Engage allows you to view the lead, the account that lead is associated with, the 'last interesting moment' tracked (email opened, landing page viewed, no activity, etc.), and engagement rating all in one dashboard. This is helpful to both sales and marketing to have a complete view of your customers' engagement and activity.
April 29, 2022

Great software!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use it for creating and sending out newsletters to create brand awareness. We send the newsletters we create to our customers and new prospects to promote our company. We follow up on send-outs by monitoring the customer's interactions with our newsletter. We will assign the customer as a lead based on a lead scoring system.
  • A wide variety of email templates allows the user to be creative in designing newsletters.
  • You can implement a lead scoring system to nurture leads before you assign them to your sales team.
  • After a campaign has been sent out, there are a wide variety of reports you can run to track the customer's interaction with your newsletter.
  • Better integration with other software's.
  • Implementing photos into newsletters can make them come out as blurry.
If you are a company looking to promote your products or solutions, Adobe Marketo Engage can be very beneficial. It gives you the ability to send out and track newsletters you send to customers. It also gives you the ability to create a professional way of sending out webinar invites to attract more customers.
  • Product Launches
For product launches, we use Adobe Marketo Engage to promote the product and make sure all of our customers and prospects are aware of the new product we offer.
Mithil Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adobe Marketo Engage to manage our customer data (inbound lead traffic) from form fills through the website and other paid media campaigns and then market to them integrating email and other native display platforms. Lastly, we use the platform to influence our pipeline reportings and make optimizations to our content based on certain KPIs and progression.
  • User experience and the design of the platform is very good
  • Customer support and research library
  • Brand presence and networking opportunities are good
  • I think there is some room for improvement in terms of competitive pricing
  • The tool sometimes has bugs and I wish there was a more clear product road map
  • The platform can get complex at times if you do not have previous experience with an enterprise level tool.
I would rate Adobe Marketo Engage a six on a scale of ten given the fact that they are still leading competitors in many segments like the ease of setting up campaigns, creative templates available, etc. I think they have leveraged that from the parent Adobe brand. Their library of templates and assets is good.
  • Product Launches
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Product Launches - We use the platform for brand awareness and email campaigns
  • Cross-Sell - We target campaigns to our existing customers to try and cross-sell them other products
  • Lead Management - We use the platform to keep track of our database and segment them further into sales territories, predictive analysis, etc.
Chhaya Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Marketo for user engagement and generating sales for the last two years. With Adobe Marketo Engage, we have understood user behavior and activities. Adobe Marketo Engage provides advanced reporting and analytics. We integrate this with a third-party tool to generate reports and dashboards.
  • Account-basedd marketing
  • B2B lead generation
  • User engagement
  • Smart programs
  • Fast integration
  • Adding multiple channels
  • Reducing the price of the product
Account-based marketing is what we do. So for us, it is essential to understand user behavior. Adobe Marketo Engage has helped us understand this, and as a team, we can make changes in marketing strategy.
  • Upsell
  • Lead Management
April 26, 2022

Great Asset!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used it to learn about Marketo through the training videos, found out about the Adobe Summit, and use it for Analytics for work.
  • Organized well.
  • Is very adaptable to company and job function.
  • Offers a variety of tools.
  • Runs slow sometimes.
  • Is changing so often that it is difficult to ever become an expert on it.
  • Isn't thorough enough.
It is easy to work with other employees on the same project at the same time.
They are usually very responsive with tickets and when my company has questions on things that are not working well.
It is pretty easy to navigate, the only thing that gets challenging is when the software is making changes and adding new features shortly after I am starting to get a hang of the old process.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize the product to support client KPIs and needs. In my role, I use it to automate communications from nurture sends to move leads through the funnel or get them re-engaged, to housing more complex programs such as scoring, applications for advocacy programs, etc.
  • User Interface - easy to use
  • Providing Training/Resources - learn online easily
  • Marketing Nation Community - a lot of supportive people and help
  • More advanced reporting so that a 3rd party tool isn't needed
Marketo Engage is less appropriate for smaller companies that may not have the budget to utilize marketo. However, for companies that can afford the product, it is a great product suited for global communications. It is convenient to add in personalization with tokens and dynamic content to tailor communications to global audiences.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Prospecting / New Business
The sales outcomes can be different from client to client. For some, it may be increased product sales, for others, it may be creating more advocates for a product that will then help sell more of the product. The platform does well with many options to help clients achieve the goals that they are trying to get to.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo for a variety of purposes, including but not limited to keeping our customers engaged and reselling to them lead acquisition and forms multi-touch tracking and attribution creating email nurture campaigns keeping Sales Reps informed of activities and status of customers through scoring sales enablement landing page creation
  • Dynamic content and snippet features
  • Landing page and email builders
  • Ability to clone assets, automations, entire campaigns
  • Ability to customise links for assets
  • Marketo Sales Insight should be a native feature
  • Email builder could be improved to have more out-of-the-box modules
One of the best Marketing Automation softwares on the market and covers the majority of needs for digital marketers. It is great for medium to large enterprise businesses, but it would be overkill for smaller businesses as there is so much functionality to make use of. In the future, it would be good to see more of the extras become out-of-the-box features.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Prospecting / New Business
Launch a product successfully, create demand, and build adoption Upsell existing customers Cross-sell relevant products to existing customers Lead acquisition through Marketo forms, optimizing as time goes on
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently use Adobe Marketo Engage for customer success tech touches. I also use it for current customer nurturing, welcome, and onboarding. Use case includes being able to send welcome emails based on the "closed-won" status in SFDC. Additionally, building out a program that allows an email track (not opened, follow-ups, reminders.) Another business problem is reporting, this is where Adobe Marketo Engage really lacks.
  • Email programs
  • A/b testing
  • Salesforce integration
  • Reporting of email programs. We have to report for individual emails, but no dashboard or reports for programs that have multiple emails.
  • Building out an email template and layout. The options and customization lacks compared to Act-On.
  • Managing the many folders in marketing activities. I wish it was cleaner and the user interface was improved.
It is well suited for marketing communications to customers. It is also well suited for Salesforce integration. Adobe Marketo Engage is not appropriate if you want thorough reporting and dashboards for programs.
  • Customer Service
  • Other
I am on the post-sales, current customers/customer success team. My job is to initiate the first tech touch experience. As far as revenue, I'm not driving $$ but I am reducing churn by increasing product implementation % and product usage %.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our case, Marketo Engage is used a the main marketing automation tool and key element for activation, what entails emails, automated programs, landing pages, etc. As our business is B2B, some of the Lead scoring functionalities are utilised as well, together with the marketing datamodel (Leads, Accounts, Opportunities, etc.) that is synched automatically with our CRM
  • Lead Management
  • Email Content Blocks framework
  • API Integrations
  • Account Based Marketing
  • More flexibility on the filters of the campaigns
  • Possibility to work with files (import/export)
  • Reduce some of the limitations on the number of marketing objects, such as max. of engagement programs (100) or max. number of Segmentations (20)
Adobe Marketo Engage is great for B2B businesses where no ETL of data is needed (done outside of the tool). Also, it works particularly well with SalesForce CRM (OOTB integration) and it provides an extensive API for integrations with many other tools. The event management part is also quite powerful, as the same landing pages, communications and campaigns can be easily duplicated from one event to another, even between business units or countries.
Thomas Komar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is our main tool for marketing automation. We use it across the company to automate email send, upload and capture lead information, and host various gates for documentation. This reduces the number of hours that get wasted on manual send by automating various processes.
  • Reliable platform.
  • Industry standard.
  • Templatization with ease.
  • Loads slowly.
  • UI is not user friendly.
  • Error warning comes after you activate a campaign, could come before while importing data.
Email sends, gated documents or videos, event landing pages, lead uploads, lead scoring and data analysis are all things Marketo is well suited for.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Marketo allows us to achieve out goals in these areas using less man power allowing us to invest more time into strategy.
Karan Ramani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adobe Marketo Engage is used as a deployment as well as segmentation marketing tool in my organization. I am using the same for sending ABM campaigns as well as one of the major segments of Marketing called Nurture campaigns.
  • Audience generation
  • Email configuration
  • Email deployment
  • Audience segmentation
  • Response tracking
  • Audience updation for DNC
  • More complex segmentation
  • More area for adding customized email templates
  • More area for sending more dynamic email templates in form of different blocks
Since I am using Adobe Marketo Engage in my organization to create ABM as well as nurture campaigns, it has been very helpful in generating more leads, and due to more leads generated, the probability of converting leads into customers has increased.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
For lead management Adobe Marketo Engage has been helpful to send a greater number of leads email communication to join our platform and due to which the number of actual customers has increased which in turn has increased the overall revenue for our business.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adobe Marketo Engage primarily for on-going email journeys and ad-hoc email sends across 2 Marketo instances, B2C on behalf of a client and B2B. We also host some landing pages on it, and send sales alerts to our sales teams about potential inquiries, as well as use its data to create various reports on performance. The "problems" Adobe Marketo Engage addresses are the creation and sending of various email marketing campaigns, hosting of other marketing assets, connectivity to our Salesforce CRMs, and reporting capabilities-both in basic metrics and more in-depth ones
  • WSIWYG editor for emails. Easy to pick up and learn for our creative team, while myself and my team can get into the weeds and edit code, troubleshoot advanced issues
  • Easy segmentation-no SQL needed (although I know it), yet the logic lets you apply and/or filters at your discretion, with parentheses it makes it possible to use complex segments
  • Reporting templates- Easy to pull basic metrics, email link performance, etc. as those are default report options upon creation
  • Dynamic emails-Can't edit code!
  • Code editing in general-some features like CTA text color are only editable in code, and the HTML is pretty messy in my opinion.
  • SUPER BUGGY- constantly having to refresh the page, make edits a second time b/c they didn't save, etc.
  • Not being able to delete assets being used by other things ( fields, segmentations, etc.). Most of those assets using them are archived, so I have to go into each individual asset, delete or edit it, then make changes or delete the thing I started with. Total pain and ridiculously time-consuming from my experience.
  • Limited amount of segmentations per account.
Less appropriate- Smaller, more simplistic businesses. They just wouldn't have the bandwidth to dive into code, clean out old assets as needed, among other things. I've also been disappointed by the "out of the box" templates, and creating that kind of stuff from scratch is difficult.
Well-suited- A company connected to Salesforce, as data can be sent both ways, almost instantly. Easy to connect with SF campaigns and fields, segment using them, and report using SF fields.
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Upsell/Cross-sell- We use this to ladder current customers to the next level in hopes that they make the leap from one stage to another
Prospecting/New business- We want to take inquiries, and advance them further down the funnel. Our business has a long funnel from interest to purchase, so it's important to get the inquiries to reach out to us
Lead Management- We have re-engage campaigns we send out, and newsletters of an informational purpose for inquiries, with a soft sell