TrustRadius
Marketo is a marketing automation platform with a range of capabilities spanning SMB to enterprise. Basic features include email marketing, drip nurturing, landing pages, and lead scoring, but other editions offer additional advanced features. Typical customers are B2B firms with complex sales cycles.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/2C/bR/K0CNIBPW0UWO.JPEGThe best software for global companies, the options are limitlessMarketo is the best software for global companies, the options are limitless.,Campaign Building Easy email send No software The best Metrics cool dashboards that are easy to read,Long waiting loading times The pain when you approve drafts May be hard to start using it,9,Product Launches Upsell Cross-Sell Lead Management Prospecting / New Business,,100,000 to 250,000,Both,3,3,Outbound trackinc Inbound lead generation Forms,I would like to see a social management platform,I cant think of one rigth now, I think that we are using it relly good,10,HubSpot, Pardot, MailChimp,Increased employee efficiency Fast lead conversion Better customer service,Yes,Product Features Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product Analyst Reports,I would do the same,Professional services company,Change management was a small part of the implementation and was well-handled,-,8,Online training In-person training Self-taught,8,5,The Marketo community is a library for this, honestly I have learn more from them,9,I was creating a template and I end up doing a "demo" of how it would look and how it words and they actually help me to get it better and understand the "tokens" way more that they need,Landing Page Creation Form Creation Trigger for automations,Paid Media tracking,Yes, but I don't use it,9Marketo - making some great changes in the field of Marketing Automation.Marketo is the Hub for all our marketing efforts. We leverage Marketo to capture leads, capture activity, and push alerts to those who need them. We use Marketo for Marketing, Sales and Customer Success communication and tracking. All of our efforts circle around the capabilities of Marketo. For example, we run direct mail campaigns for sales that include activity tracking and engagement. We also utilize it for building our NPS program, Customer onboarding, customer renewal and training needs.,Listens to activity and reacts to it. We are able to build programs that are based on lack of activity, or actions that help the user move along the journey and do not get left behind. Follows the lead across the funnel that alerts those who need it and maintains SLA's with Marketing and Sales. Helps the Marketing team understand what makes a qualified lead and gives tools to adjust the definition. Connects to other tools through various ways to allow a seamless mar-tech stack.,The landing page experience needs to be more flexible as they are still more or less static. We are able to code as needed, however, it does require a developer to build a template and even then they have limitations. Needs to open up some of the processes to allow for more robust workflows Custom Objects are great, however not being able to update them via workflows or forms is a miss.,8,Product Launches Upsell Cross-Sell Customer Service Lead Management Prospecting / New Business,Eloqua, HubSpot and Pardot Marketing Automation,More than 5 million,Both,10,10,Email distrobution Content distrobution Lead performance,Training Partner Marketing Sales,Brand awareness Lead routing Decision engine,7,Employee efficiency has increased and each employee is able to do more. Better Lead flow and visibility I am able to hold individuals accountable for the work they are doing now.,No,Price Product Features Product Usability,I would not. I do not look back at the decisions about the tools as Marketo is a safe bet.,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was a big part of the implementation and was well-handled,IT delays SFDC integration Planning,8,7,No,7,Yes,Sending emails Building forms Building emails from templates Building landing pages from templates Basic reporting,Advanced engagement programs - matching what other systems can do RCA reporting,Yes, but I don't use it,8,6,7,The standard terms of a contract include options such as length, database size, and add-on features. For the length, you are able to sign a multi-year deal to get a better price. The rule of thumb is the longer you sign, the more discount you can get. Database size is able to be adjusted as needed. The sizes get adjusted in small to increments at first and then jump to larger increments you get up to the hundreds of thousands. Marketo has many add-on features from the basic, that you can add as needed.,Start with a database size that fits your need over the next year instead of getting what you think you want. You can always adjust it as you move along your agreement. Decide which add-ons you want early. If you need to add a feature later in the agreement, it tends to take some time and negotiation and will most likely cost you more in the long run.The heart of our companyWe use Marketo primarily in marketing but it is also used in sales and customer support. Mainly we use it to handle all outgoing emails, approximately 150 webinars per year, our extensive Automated Lead Generation programs and customer engagement.,Marketo is customizable which means you can adapt it however you want to your needs, it has allowed us to push the boundaries in lead generation. It's a data machine, we gather so much data that is stored and is useful and accessible months down the road. Often we don't fully appreciate how valuable a certain subset of data will be until later on, yet it is still there to access. Marketo isn't code based which is a true blessing to those who only have light coding skills. Everything can be connected together with workflows and campaigns which makes it very versatile yet easy to learn.,Customer support is useless. I found that after using Marketo for 6 months I knew more about the product than the support reps. Marketo can't do calculations other than basic lead scoring so I have to use our SFDC instance to do those need calculations and plug them back into Marketo. The update to Marketo's back-end has been slower than expected so the functionality released 12 months ago has not been realized.,9,Product Launches Upsell Cross-Sell Customer Service Lead Management Prospecting / New Business,Pardot and Oracle Eloqua,25,000 to 100,000,B2B,2Marketo from a B2C perspectiveWe are currently using Marketo to manage our email programs including our regular newsletters and our triggered nurture content. The thing I like most about Marketo is the ability to test and optimize campaigns and content. More specifically, in my experience using other enterprise level ESPs and marketing automation platforms this platform gives you the most flexibility to test anything without having to engage engineering, or the ESP themselves to make those tests happen. Marketo is a very powerful platform focused on empowering you to do more quicker.,Reporting Targeting Segmentation,B2C specific data structures, currently they is only an option to format data in a B2B perspective, i.e. won opportunity is not what we would say in B2C, that would be a sale, :). More B2C focused pre-existing templates for programs.,10,We've improved our email program by leaps and bounds with Marketo, granted we moved from MailChimp. Anything would have been an upgrade but Marketo helped us 10 times in our second biggest season in 2015 and more than 3 times in our biggest season. Which is ridiculous. Reporting is a pain in the you know what, for example there are no heat maps for click behavior on emails. That is an incredible waste of time to build these manually.,,,100,000 to 250,000,B2C,9,10Marketo makes me feel like a little fish in a big pondMarketo is currently being used in the marketing department of our company. We use it as part of our content marketing strategy for gated content, as well as for our weekly newsletter to email subscribers. Marketo is also used to send our sales staff leads based on certain criteria we set.,Automated reporting. You can set reports at basically any interval you want, sending automated messages to sales staff or others who need up to the minute lead information. Lead nurturing based on triggers. We can set up several different nurturing campaigns based on actions leads take. The setup is fairly straightforward and simple. Smart Lists are easy to make with drag and drop capability to quickly sort your database based on anything you find relevant.,Forms are not very responsive or pretty. Marketo needs to get rid of fixed width forms, period. There is no excuse for this and we shouldn't need a dedicated web developer to make these work. Responsive and more email templates. The baked in email templates are just OK. There needs to be some variety with easy customization to meet a brands needs. Landing pages are also difficult to make responsive. Need an easier interface to make these easy to build and implement.,6,Hubspot,25,000 to 100,000,Both,9
Unspecified
Marketo
1537 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

Marketo Reviews

Marketo
1537 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 27 of 1537 Marketo ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 27)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
May 22, 2018

Marketo Review: "The best software for global companies, the options are limitless"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

5
It’s vonfusing and if you get stuck there’s no one to help
Read Christian Martinez's full review
December 11, 2017

Review: "Marketo - making some great changes in the field of Marketing Automation."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

7
This training is basic and good. Could be better if they pushed for more interaction. Good practical examples and tests would allow for actual thought instead of following directions.
Read Anthony Figgins's full review
November 09, 2017

Marketo Review: "The heart of our company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
June 20, 2017

User Review: "Marketo from a B2C perspective"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
June 30, 2017

Review: "Marketo makes me feel like a little fish in a big pond"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
June 17, 2017

User Review: "Marketo is a must!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
June 13, 2017

Review: "Marketo - the future of Marketing Automation"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

7
They have explained the basic only. But if a new person will face issue he has to move to community to get better clarification.
Read this authenticated review
March 06, 2017

User Review: "Why Marketo is What You Need"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
December 27, 2016

Review: "Marketo is the best for marketing automation"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
November 28, 2016

Marketo Review: "Customization and Launchpoint Partners are Key"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
March 20, 2017

Marketo Review: "Avoid if you are the end - user"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
March 30, 2016

Marketo Review: "Strong enough for IT, but made for a Marketer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

10
I had never used Marketo prior to taking this job so online training was my starting point. I was able to follow along, it was interesting and quickly and efficiently taught me what I needed to know without a lot of fluff. It was far from boring and really helped me get my hands dirty with Marketo.
Read Robert Barrett, MBA's full review
June 07, 2016

Marketo Review: "Nurtures Great, Reports Clunky"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

10
I have attended virtual training sessions in the past where I have left feeling confused on what steps to move forward with. That was not the case with the Marketo basic foundations class! the class is over the span of 3 full days. Their are instructions and exercises or each individual to complete throughout all days of the training. The breakdown of the system and how the training begins to unpack all the features is put together very well. I attended the class prior to our implementation and would recommend everyone to do it that way. You get a familiar understanding and then can take a deep dive with your professional company that is there to ensure you will succeed.
Read Brittany Stover's full review
November 17, 2015

Marketo Review: "Highly intuitive."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

6
Marketo is a powerful product and is capable of so much, but training is really basic. It's not nearly advanced enough. If you don't have time to dig into the system and learn its capabilities on your own, you will never quite be able grasp all of its capabilities. The training needs to cover a lot more.
Read Jennifer Robertson's full review
November 11, 2015

User Review: "Marketo beats the competition"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

8
The courses are concise and informative, but not necessarily comprehensive. They don't always explore the broad array of implementation possibilities along with their pros and cons.
Read Elliott Lowe's full review
November 05, 2015

Review: "Marketo LOVES its Customers and We Love Marketo"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

10
Great training system- mostly just a matter of setting aside the time to get in there and learn the system.
Read this authenticated review
June 19, 2015

Marketo Review: "Awesome. Salesforce integration very easy."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

10
The instructor was engaging and friendly. They covered multiple topics and ensured we had time to practice. By the end of training we already had built our first campaigns and they were ready to run.
Read this authenticated review
June 19, 2015

Marketo Review: "Sales team loves Sales Insight module."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

7
It was very basic. I was in a unique situation because I had used Eloqua for so long and had done a lot of research. We got the higher level and it was still not advanced enough.
Read this authenticated review
June 16, 2015

"Marketo Review: The Good, Bad, and Ugly"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

9
Excellent community forum! Many questions can be answered there.
Read this authenticated review
November 13, 2013

Review: "Selected Marketo for strong Salesforce integration."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

Have not completed the online training yet.
Read this authenticated review
February 21, 2013

Marketo Review: "Good product, but don't be blinded by vendor marketing."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

8
Online training is quite good. This is something of a strength.
Read this authenticated review
December 21, 2012

Marketo Review: "Issue with lack of reporting from Sales Insight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

9
There used to be very structured online training by topic which took place over a number of days via a live webinar. This has changed and now the training is all pre-recorded, but it's of pretty high quality.

Our deployment partner (Pedowitz Group) also scheduled 1:1 calls to help us get set up.
Read this authenticated review
November 30, 2012

Marketo Review: "Love ability to clone existing programs."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

8
Marketo puts a lot of effort into making sure their customers succeed, and their training reflects this. There's a lot to learn, but it's presented in a way that 's digestible, and if you want more, there are plenty of advanced tips, tricks, etc. to find in their Community.
Read this authenticated review
November 09, 2012

Marketo Review: "Expensive, but works well."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

I wasn't part of it but it sounded fine.
Read this authenticated review
October 23, 2012

Marketo Review: "Switched from Eloqua and very glad we did."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Online Training

7
I would give basic training a 10, but advanced training just a 3 or 4. They weren’t prepared for advanced training and handling conversions. Enablement managers are not geared for conversions. They are more oriented for new-starts. We paid $5-7k for expert sessions which were very good.

Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (477)
7.4
Dynamic content (448)
7.5
Ability to test dynamic content (439)
7.3
Landing pages (493)
7.4
A/B testing (466)
7.4
Mobile optimization (455)
7.2
Email deliverability (502)
8.1
List management (503)
8.6
Triggered drip sequences (445)
8.6
Lead nurturing (495)
8.6
Lead scoring and grading (479)
8.4
Data quality management (479)
7.7
Automated sales alerts and tasks (458)
8.4
Calendaring (378)
6.6
Event/webinar marketing (444)
8.1
Social sharing and campaigns (273)
7.0
Social profile integration (253)
6.8
Dashboards (456)
6.8
Standard reports (491)
7.2
Custom reports (464)
6.8
API (416)
7.9
Role-based workflow & approvals (361)
7.7
Customizability (445)
7.8
Integration with Salesforce.com (431)
8.9
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (111)
7.7
Integration with SugarCRM (72)
7.0

About Marketo

Marketo is a leading marketing automation platform with a range of capabilities for small and medium businesses and large enterprises, across various industries. Some common features include email marketing, nurturing, SEO, landing pages, scoring, and analytics while other editions offer advanced features such as website personalization, mobile engagement, social and web retargeting. Typical customers include both B2C and B2B brands of all sizes.

Marketo Features

Has featureAttract - Your potential customers are out there researching solutions. Help them find and learn about yours more easily.
Has featureEngage - Easily build automated campaigns that engage prospects in a personalized way, without help from IT.
Has featureDrive Revenue - Convert more potential buyers into customers by triggering a relevant message at exactly the right time.
Has featureMeasure and Optimize - Move beyond opens and clicks. Quickly determine how each of your campaigns and channels impact revenue.

Marketo Screenshots

Marketo Integrations

Marketo Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Spark$895per month up to 10,000 records
Standard$1,795per month up to 10,000 records
Select$3,195per month up to 10,000 records

For the Enterprise edition, contact Marketo for a custom quote.

Marketo Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Marketo Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS