Marketo Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1831 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 38)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Steve Susina | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2016

Marketo: leverages marketing database with full-featured lead generation, email marketing, lead scoring.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

10

1. Have a content marketing plan to run in parallel with the marketing automation installation--you'll need a lot of content to make full use of Marketo's capabilities.
2. Work with sales (and ISRs) to define and document a workflow--build your Marketo installation around how you do business--not figure out how to apply your business to the tools
3. Spend time of data cleaning--both an initial project as well as a strategy for ongoing data management. We found some change manaement issues (no more appending ZZZ to the first name to identify contacts who have left the company, for example, or prohibiting the entry of "info@company.com" email addresses).
4. Find some champions in the sales and ISR teams. You'll have both fans and detractors--work with the fans to build some success stories
Read Steve Susina's full review
Frank Carpenter | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2016

Marketo Super User, North America and Latin America

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

10
With Marketo implementation support, our "Super Users" were trained and the product was implemented in four months from the day we signed the contracts. This was an amazing feat for us. It went smoothly and with great speed.
Read Frank Carpenter's full review
Brittany Stover | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2016

Nurtures Great, Reports Clunky

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

8
I am happy that we had a professional company come alongside our team to help with the implementation of Marketo. Had we not had this company we would have significantly increased our implementation time. The implementation itself was fine and for the most part smooth. My suggestion for new companies looking to implement with Marketo or any automation platform would be to make sure you have enough time to future cast. It's easy to get in the weed and day to day needs, but if you want your Marketo instance to run smoothly and be able to scale as time goes on what you do on the front end is important. Even if you don't do something that is suggested in your scoring or tokens leave it in their as a consideration for the upcoming years.
Read Brittany Stover's full review
Kristi Eide | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2015

Marketo LOVES its Customers and We Love Marketo

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

9
Think long and hard about how you want your background programs/campaigns to run (those that score people who come to your site- what scores you give them, what campaigns you bucket people into, etc.) These form the basis of your system and are not necessarily easy to change down the road because it can mess up your overall company analytics, so make sure you have a well thought-out solid plan in place before you begin to achieve maximum success.
Read Kristi Eide's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2018

Awesome. Salesforce integration very easy.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

10
Quick and easy. We anticipated having a lot of difficulties with the sync between Marketo and Salesforce, but it was surprisingly smooth (despite our many custom fields in SFDC). We were pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to sync.
Read this authenticated review
Brigid Greenway | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2015

Long-term user willing to give credit where due and concern where warranted

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

6
CLEAN database is critical before you connect
Knowing what you are tracking and when
Know that Marketo is designed to work against a truly native CRM setup (customizations can work - but have to know what it expects). For example, Marketo de-dupes against the Lead object by email address but at the Contact level, it goes by the record id - which most people say it prevents dupes but it prevents dupes the way that SFDC would have most people treat their lead and contact objects.
Determine how you plan to connect updates (using Programs, changes go over instantaneously; using smart campaigns you can build wait steps).
Read Brigid Greenway's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2017

My Web Development Marketo

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

1
As long as things are "super simple" in terms of technical tooling, then, you'll have a nice time with Marketo. Add any "fancy" web communications, effects, etc... and you might be stumped.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2016

Marketo easy to integrate with custom CRM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

8
Person assigned to us to help get campaigns up and running was very good. We purchased some help with API to have extra technical support from Marketo to assist our developer and that was helpful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2015

You get a lot baked in.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

5
Get help, the channels tags, lead lifecycle and lead scoring are fundamental parts of the infrastructure that need to be very well thought out or you will pay for it later.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2015

Marketo to the rescue

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

9
Implementation was easy. The problem that we had as a company was not having in-house Marketo users. The sync with Salesforce took a while to figure out what we wanted to map over, but other than that everything was good. I would suggest you to take training courses so that you can know what you're about to face.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (594)
7.1
Dynamic content (572)
7.8
Ability to test dynamic content (557)
7.5
Landing pages (612)
6.7
A/B testing (590)
7.4
Mobile optimization (577)
7.2
Email deliverability reporting (1255)
8.1
List management (631)
8.4
Triggered drip sequences (568)
8.4
Lead nurturing (623)
8.2
Lead scoring and grading (605)
8.2
Data quality management (604)
8.0
Automated sales alerts and tasks (580)
8.0
Calendaring (469)
6.4
Event/webinar marketing (557)
7.9
Social sharing and campaigns (351)
6.3
Social profile integration (328)
6.4
Dashboards (585)
6.7
Standard reports (623)
7.0
Custom reports (590)
6.8
API (536)
8.0
Role-based workflow & approvals (462)
7.8
Customizability (562)
7.6
Integration with Salesforce.com (540)
8.2
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (158)
6.8
Integration with SugarCRM (99)
6.0

About Marketo

Marketo Engage aims to help marketing teams drive demand and growth in their companies by delivering exceptional experiences in concert with sales at every stage of the customer journey.

The challenge these teams face is that everyone today expects a personalized experience whenever they interact with a company - they don’t have patience for generic marketing and the last thing they want is a cold call from sales. So to stay competitive, marketing teams are scrambling to understand customers better, so they can give them a better experience, because this is disrupting entire industries. And a big part of what’s needed is figuring out how marketing and sales can do a better job together.

The vendor states Marketo Engage redefines Marketing Automation by helping these companies bring together the customer data, content, automation and analytics needed for marketing and sales to coordinate engagement with customers that’s personalized and measurable at every touchpoint - and do it with efficiency and scale.

Marketo Screenshots

Marketo Video

Marketo Downloadables

Marketo Integrations

Marketo Competitors

Marketo Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Marketo Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Marketo Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS