Marketo Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1885 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 649)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 18, 2020
Emily Thornton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've done some analysis for clients as to why an enterprise MAP such as Marketo is necessary and the main thing it comes down to is the logic capabilities. Marketo is completely customizable and can be architected to suit the needs of a particular business. This is necessary for scalability.
Read Emily Thornton's full review
December 18, 2020
Colton Slauson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

HubSpot is great for smaller businesses, but once you get to a certain point you want the flexibility that Marketo has. Marketo has a great list of native integration and it's connection with SFDC is great. I would compare Adobe Photoshop and Canva to these two platforms. Photoshop (MKTO) isn't as pretty as Canva (HubSpot), but it can do way more.
Read Colton Slauson's full review
December 15, 2020
Peter DeMichele | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In our brief research before, and continued research over time, as a Salesforce CRM house, the importance of integration to Salesforce is critical to our MAP. As we have continued to investigate, many of what we see/hear about from SFDC marketing cloud ends up including multiple products/line items that Marketo sees to have as part of their out of box solution
Read Peter DeMichele's full review
December 01, 2020
Ellie Bublick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We reviewed Microsoft's offering and Salesforce, but neither at the time were offering much more and for less than Marketo at the time. Marketo has been in use at our organization for more than 5 years now and every year we seem to use more and more features making it of greater value to us. With us being able to mature along with the software I think it would be hard to switch to another platform.
Read Ellie Bublick's full review
January 13, 2021
Richard Thelwell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We previously used HubSpot, which was a great platform for a small, fast-growing startup. However, as we looked to mature a lot of our marketing operations to support a greater volume and complexity of campaigns, we found HubSpot to be lacking in a number of areas. Marketo has much deeper functionality and is able to support our requirements much better in areas like nurture, lead scoring and segmentation.
Read Richard Thelwell's full review
January 01, 2021
Christina Dearman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We came from Silverpop Engage (before it had much automation). Honestly, I personally don't have much of a comparison to look at considering I have worked in Silverpop or Marketo for the entirety of my time working in this type of role. I can compare pitches, and Marketo seems to do everything the other guys do.
Read Christina Dearman's full review
December 30, 2020
Ashley Morse | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Marketo is a user-friendly platform with an uber responsive and helpful customer support team. I love that we have dedicated support people that are familiar with our account and not random associates every time we reach out. I love how easy and quick you can learn the platform, no matter what your background is.
Read Ashley Morse's full review
December 22, 2020
Sander Buitelaar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Marketo is much more powerful than Mailchimp. Marketo can be used for complex drop email campaigns, customizing and personalizing based on tokens, and much more. Mailchimp is easier to use but it's more for SMB users.
Read Sander Buitelaar's full review
December 21, 2020
Darshil Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Single tool to provide the features of a live db, campaign management, reporting, lead lifecycle, auditing for leadership and insights, using REVENUE cost explorer, custom integration using marketo open api rest and soap, ease of setup, IP restrictions, ease of navigating admin section, good customer service, ease of access to community, sources and powerful documentation
Read Darshil Shah's full review
December 15, 2020
Jana Lass | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Marketo is still a good tool and comfort level and good foundation of growing with the product over the years has made it my go-to. I haven't done a proper evaluation of other tools on the market lately and a number of new options have surfaced that I am going to take a look at before my next renewal date.
Read Jana Lass's full review
December 14, 2020
Yoav B. Guttman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Marketo brings the actions you want to execute into one place easily, on a lead level. While other tools may give you insights into snippets of a lead activity or even anonymized lead activity, the activity history on a lead in marketo is unmatched, when compared to any other tool. It is the most comprehensive place to easily see what has been logged in salesforce and also what they have done on a behavioral perspective. So not just that our team reached out to a lead, but also what the lead has done in response (or proactively potentially).
Read Yoav B. Guttman's full review
December 09, 2020
Mihaela Bisnel, MSc | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It s a full platform for enterprise companies and it s built for Marketing teams with a long term ambitious vision.
Read Mihaela Bisnel, MSc's full review
November 25, 2020
Chris Willis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Marketo functions better than these tools as you have more flexibility for dynamic engagement with Marketo, which functions as a platform. These competitors tend to excel in smaller marketing environments where marketing is focused on brand and basic lead generation. Where Marketo shines above these tools is with it's ability to be easy to use while being enterprise-scale. You do need experts to run Marketo, but the investment is well worth it.
Read Chris Willis's full review
September 22, 2020
Amit Jain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Eloqua in past. The most important thing that I get in Marketo is the activity log. As a platform owner, you need to understand how things are working and investigate how certain things are not working as expected. The activity log helps us to see how various flow is affecting a certain lead. It also helps the organization be compliant and helps us to see when and how someone got subscribed/unsubscribed, etc.

Marketo has several other features that help marketers to easily carry out the day to day campaigns and several other tasks. The way Marketo organizes the marketing asset is really great. You have all the things you need in a single place, you don't have to go to multiple places to look back and change something. The way Marketo allows you to tokenize the assets is another great thing to be more productive.
Read Amit Jain's full review
August 24, 2020
Matt Tonkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Marketo is the most customizable Marketing Automation Platform that I've used. In terms of creating a well integrated marketing stack it has a huge amount of native integrations and almost anything else can be accomplished via API.

It however does not have as simple of a user interface, particularly for Email and Landing page creation. Non-technical users, especially those used to WYSIWYG editors in Mailchimp/HubSpot, etc., may be frustrated without well designed templates.
Read Matt Tonkin's full review
January 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Marketo looses on all fronts to all competitors we explored. In every other service we tested when looking for a replacement, our team could easily figure out the product in a matter of hours. After three years with Marketo, our team members were still regularly sinking hours into figuring out how to do basic tasks.
Read this authenticated review
January 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Marketo was the platform that when in place when I arrived at the organization. I have extensive experience with the SFDC suite of tools, particularly Pardot, I find that some of the functionality of Marketo to not be as intuitive to use as Pardot. They have been slow to adopt their new interface and the lack of a complete solution built on a consistent interface is troubling. I will have to comment that since Marketo was acquired by Adobe, their lack of customer service astounds me. There has been a night and day difference in the level of support we used to get directly from Marketo, versus our present level which is very lackluster at best.

The lack of quality and consistent customer service will be a significant part of our review process at contract renewal time.
Read this authenticated review
December 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Hubspot was good for a simpler, smaller time in the company's history. Its main benefit was its ease of use. We made the switch to Marketo for its ability to support enterprise-level needs, such as high capacity limits, adaptive testing and ABM campaigns - which we are still in the process of utilizing.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I switched my org from Hubspot to Marketo. At the time Marketo was the best enterprise-level solution out there. It simply allows you to scale your activities at a greater pace and has an outstanding array of integrations. However, in recent years, Hubspot has caught up in many regards. It still remains the most flexible solution though.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Marketo was out of the question, as the main users within our company had great experience using the product already with previous companies. At Avrios, we used hubspot before, but were not convinced because of the poor setup we found when joining the company. To be honest - for a professional and scalable approach, there are not many alternatives to Marketo.
Read this authenticated review
December 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used hubspot for a very brief time before we integrated Marketo. I wasn't in hubspot long enough to compare the two but my manager preferred Marketo which is why we made the switch.
Read this authenticated review
December 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I think Marketo is most comparable to Pardot, as it is one of the more enterprise solutions. At this point I would rank them on the same level, but I have high hopes for future development and integration of Marketo and Adobe. On the other hand, the big advantage of Pardot is obviously the integration with SalesForce. So it really depends on what CRM is already in place, as both tools have quite similar functionalities (or workarounds to build what you intend users to do). Hubspot, SharpSpring, and Sugar I would recommend to smaller organizations.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (629)
7.1
Dynamic content (601)
7.7
Ability to test dynamic content (585)
7.3
Landing pages (642)
6.7
A/B testing (623)
7.4
Mobile optimization (609)
6.9
Email deliverability reporting (1288)
8.1
List management (665)
8.3
Triggered drip sequences (600)
8.5
Lead nurturing (658)
8.2
Lead scoring and grading (636)
8.3
Data quality management (633)
7.9
Automated sales alerts and tasks (610)
8.0
Calendaring (495)
6.4
Event/webinar marketing (589)
7.8
Social sharing and campaigns (373)
6.1
Social profile integration (350)
6.2
Dashboards (619)
6.6
Standard reports (657)
6.8
Custom reports (623)
6.9
API (565)
8.2
Role-based workflow & approvals (488)
7.9
Customizability (592)
7.7
Integration with Salesforce.com (567)
8.2
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (169)
6.8
Integration with SugarCRM (106)
6.0

What is Marketo?

Marketo Engage aims to help marketing teams drive demand and growth in their companies by delivering exceptional experiences in concert with sales at every stage of the customer journey.

The challenge these teams face is that everyone today expects a personalized experience whenever they interact with a company - they don’t have patience for generic marketing and the last thing they want is a cold call from sales. So to stay competitive, marketing teams are scrambling to understand customers better, so they can give them a better experience, because this is disrupting entire industries. And a big part of what’s needed is figuring out how marketing and sales can do a better job together.

The vendor states Marketo Engage redefines Marketing Automation by helping these companies bring together the customer data, content, automation and analytics needed for marketing and sales to coordinate engagement with customers that’s personalized and measurable at every touchpoint - and do it with efficiency and scale.

Marketo Screenshots

Marketo Video

Marketo Downloadables

Marketo Integrations

Marketo Competitors

Marketo Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Marketo Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Marketo Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS